Boks must make mental shift

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly column for Business Day, writes the anger Heyneke Meyer will feel this morning is that a new group of Springboks mentally couldn’t front for a Test match because a three-Test series against England had already been won.

The Springboks never had the mongrel to beat an opponent that – by rights of a season that has been going since the 2011 World Cup last September – should have been the disinterested and reluctant participant.

England’s players had the appetite for Test rugby in Port Elizabeth. They had the collective will to play for 80 minutes, motivated by a first win against the Boks in 10 starts.

That they didn’t get the win was because they were not good enough to put away a Bok team whose forwards were ordinary in what they produced as a unit and who individually offered very little intent in the collisions.

The Springboks, when dismissed as pretenders, invariably always rise to the occasion and find the extraordinary in ambition, persistence and resistance, but in 20 years of writing about South African rugby’s elite the one consistency is that when the players believe there’s nothing at stake there’s never quite the same urgency.

Springbok midweek teams, so many of them a collection of outstanding players, often played like a bunch of clueless club players and rarely produced performances worthy of their provincial pedigree.

Watching the Boks in Port Elizabeth was like watching a midweek Bok team with individual ambition but not collective hunger or cohesion.

Attitude is everything in Test rugby because with attitude comes intensity, confrontation and refusal to be beaten in the collisions.

We saw it with the All Blacks against Ireland in Christchurch a fortnight ago. Mentally they lacked the urgency because of a disregard of Ireland’s challenge and they nearly lost.

Not so in Hamilton where they apologised with the most emphatic performance in humiliating Ireland 60-0.

It was not the nine tries that spoke of New Zealand’s ambition and desire for sustained excellence. It was the refusal to give Ireland any consolation in the final minutes of the Test – a passage of play that saw All Blacks captain Richie McCaw chase down an Irishman with the urgency of a man whose team was defending a one point lead. Instead the All Blacks, 2-0 up in the three-Test series, were leading by 60 points.

McCaw, who as captain of the All Blacks, has won everything and lost just 12 of 106 Tests, was a man possessed in Hamilton, such was his embarrassment that the All Blacks had let themselves down in Christchurch.

McCaw’s attitude epitomised why the All Blacks are the only team in the world with an 80 percent winning record in the professional era. There is no such thing as a meaningless Test. He defended his tryline in a supposed dead rubber (with his team leading by 60 points) with the same conviction he did in last year’s World Cup final.

Meyer, if you asked him what he covets most as Bok coach, will tell you that every South African player understands the importance of every Test match – not just the ones at the World Cup.

The Bok coach has said he knows his team will lose matches, but he will only accept defeat when he knows his players were not good enough to win; not because it wasn’t important to win.

The mentality in South African rugby for too long has been that it is okay to deliver mediocrity as long as it does not happen at the World Cup or in a series decider.

In Port Elizabeth the Boks showed Meyer that the fight within his own camp to change this mentality will be his greatest challenge.

No Bok player ever wants to lose and there wasn’t a lack of individual commitment in Port Elizabeth. There just wasn’t the bloody mindedness you would have seen had this been the series decider.

The usual clichés of inexperience, human error in decision-making and a failure to adapt to the wind and rain were offered as mitigating factors, if never as an excuse.

Don’t believe any of it and don’t believe the purple prose so willingly offered in respect of England’s performance.

The visitors had determination, desire and enthusiasm, but they didn’t play particularly well. A team with greater attacking pedigree would have embarrassed the Boks and would have won comfortably.

South Africa’s determination and refusal to be beaten at home has historically masked the limitations of many a Bok team, but the greatest positive for Meyer is that nothing was masked in Port Elizabeth.

Some of those who wore green on Saturday are not good enough to wear it with the necessary authority if the Boks are to consistently be among the game’s best and the Boks will never reach the consistent level of winning that Meyer so desires if they can’t reach a consistent level of attitude the players need take to every Test.

It was a poor result for the Boks but it was also a very necessary one because it will force Meyer to acknowledge that he has players who talk about consistently being number one but he doesn’t yet have a group who plays with the belief and conviction every Saturday to be number one.

Follow Keo on Twitter

274 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I am starting to wonder whether Schalk will even make it back.

And if he does, will he be the same?

• 152.toulon says: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan(Bok fan)-146:
    admittedly, juan was first on my lips.

i didnt think it was so serious that we needed juan though. i just thought we needed physicality… not necessarily a ‘thinking man’s’ physicality…just physicality.

• 153.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-144: in your mind, when matched by england’s sold defence what was our coach’s alternative plan?

• 154.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-144:

its obvious you got zero understanding about where the ACTUAL fallout occurred in Heyneke’s poor selection .. it is in the FORWARD grunt..

No Brussow.. No enforcer No.7.. no enforcer No. 4.. and FOUR loose forwards ALL playing identical ball carry roles .. getting in each others way.

POOR – shocking selection of loose forwards.. Potgieter was NOWHERE… Coetsee goes to ground as much of a flurry of activity he shows his effectiveness is nullified by the LACK of offload … Spies is a passenger and only good at line outs… and Kankowski is just another from exactly the same lightweight stable as the other 3.

No. No.4 enforcer.. WHO’s fault is THAT.!!

you wanna blame the absence of F. Steyn or Alberts .. or the poor show of Hougaard and M. Steyn..

It was the COACH who selected POORLY that created the platform for the inept display by the lack of grunt in the FORWARDS.. not in the backs.

• 155.mako: Reply to this comment

I would like to see the sharks play Bissie at 6 for a game and Burden at hooker. Bismarkl seems to think he is a 6 anyway, and might fit in well there. He is losing ground as a hooker. During the world cup there was much frenzied calling for JS to be dropped due to Bismark’s perceived awesomeness. A bit like Heinrich Brussow is getting better and better in people’s minds the longer he isn’t picked.

• 156.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-151: Unlikely. As I said the other day, Meyer I reckon confirmed Jean as Bok cappie for the year after speaking to the medical staff down here re:Schalk.
    Schalks comeback has been delayed AGAIN, and it seems he won’t be playing any Super rugby at all. This is not a good sign, but might be a blessing in disguise for the Boks come the EOYT. (I can’t seem him playing rugby championship either at this rate, so EOYT is the earliest we will see him possibly?)

• 157.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@toulon says(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-149:
    SHOCKING selections

How more SIMPLE does it have to BE..!!

• 158.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-131:

Why is a he a scapegoat? He played horribly. Do you think he had a good game?

He is obviously not the only one at fault but his position is a focal point. If he is off our whole game is off. The flyhalf also put us under pressure by giving the English easy ball to kick back to us. Most of the players on the park lacked some urgency but the fact that our scrumhalf was horrendous killed off any chance of our guys picking up some synergy as they went along.

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-137:

*lol* I can actually picture you at our screen; sweaty, flushed, veiny forehead throbbing and spittle flying.

@Transformation(Transformation)-139:

Really? I remember both Deysel and Johnson being anonymous at times. It happens. Potgieter was immense for the Bulls this year. I haven’t seen Deysel that much this year, wasn’t he injured? Johnson had a good year but certainly did not have more of an impact than Potgieter had for the Bulls. All you are doing is speculating. Potgieter made not have made a huge spectacular debut, but that happens. Assuming that someone else would’ve done better when they haven’t out performed Potgieter at S15 level is ridiculous.

Rossouw is unavailable and if he had been picked you would just be moaning again about another Bull or “has been” player or whatever floats your boat on the day.

Potgier was not picked on his performances for the Kings two years ago. He was picked for his performances for the Bulls this year when he did really well. By your theory Willem Alberts should not be anywhere near the Bok team because once upon time he was rather anonymous for the Lions.

• 159.toulon says: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-147:
    yip agreed.
    major work needs to be done on the basics of player’s positions and functions.

basics, basics, basics….

if you are a kicker… you must kick
    if you are a front rower… you must scrum
    if you are a lock you must take clean ball in the lineout or clean opposition out.

and so on….

• 160.cane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-151:

Burger has had some very bad injuries over the years gunna.

Both knees, broken neck, plus one or too many head knocks.

In the Amateur Era, he would have retired years ago.

• 161.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-145:

So what exactly would a plan B be?

We kick when in our half (everyone does that, including the ABs).

We gain momentum with the forwards and then take the ball wide (same as the ABs).

Flyhalf kicks to the corners when the opportunity presents itself (same as the ABs).

So what, pray tell, should plan B be? Or are you just regurgitating the same empty line that every other idiot on here does?

• 162.toulon says: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-151:
    well, if you take skop’s word on it then he is finished, finito, klaar with a capital f.

• 163.toulon says: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-157:
    ok, so what should have been the loose trio as well the locks for this test?

• 164.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-160: If Burger were ANY other player full stop he would have retired eons ago. (Ok, there a few others who soldier on as well).
    Love him or hate him – THE Schalk is some sort of medical miracle.

• 165.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@toulon says(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-149: Bottom line he’s a naive and less than astute coach as some have tried to portray him as..

@STBUR(STBUR)-158: picture away .. your ‘rugby’ assessments are WAY off beam..

Fix the pathetic selections at LOOSE FORWARD.. which is EXACTLY what you are UNABLE to recognize is the REAL problem and most of the problems in that team disappear…

WRONG personnel persisting with the WRONG game plan

and it was NOT Hougaard or Steyn where the problem originated.. it was FAR closer to the cutting edge where the intensity at the collision and the breakdown was ABSENT.. due to the WRONG personnel being deployed on the field of play on the day.. outright obviating denial deluded IDIOT supreme..!!!!

• 166.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-158: i guess hougaard killed off the momentum our loose trio didn’t bring, they were smashed by the english and gave us no go forward ball…now in any language, a half-back combo playing behind a smashed pack will struggle. potgieter/coetzee/spies & kanko/coetzee/spies is a SELECTION error and not the fault of the halfback!

• 167.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-153:

The English defense was good but was not good enough to “change plan”. What would you change anyway? None of you guys that keep on saying we need to change plan actually say what this mythical change of plan would be.

Their defense wasn’t that solid when Pienaar came on and our forwards got good ball to run onto. If fact they looked pretty alarmed at how easily we made ground. We got the penalties but unfortunately the flyhalf could kick either for territory or to the posts. Then finally we lost a crucial line out. None of that has anything to do with us “not breaking their defence” which we did almost immediately after Pienaar came on.

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-154:

You seriously live on another planet. You moan about enforcers and in the same breath mention Brussow? *lol*

Nah, our locks and loosies were good enough. Unfortunately for 55 minutes our 9 destroyed our attacking momentum and then in the last 15 after they got the needed penalty (after Pienaar came on) 10 just couldn’t get them over the posts.

• 168.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-161: Have you seen what the AB’s do when their ‘kicking when in their own half’ isn’t working?
    THAT’S PLAN B.

• 169.mako: Reply to this comment

It is amazing what one week does in rugby. The All Blacks went from zero to hero, Bokke sent their fans from being hopeful and confident, to terrified of what the 4N is going to bring.
    Yes we had a poor game, but all is not lost yet. Come 4N our boys will play for their lives, we will have our first choice players back, and HM has had a chance to see what different players offer in different conditions. Hopefully he uses that knowledge and gets us on track. I was very dissapointed on saturday, but I am still confident going forward that the Boks are going to build into a powerful, winning unit.

• 170.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-158: you clearly thinking potgieter has been immense for the bulls betrays your low standards. i am on record here saying the guy is nowhere, no finesse, no brains, no HANDS just kamikaze, unfocused exuberance! if that to you is “having impact” then good for you.

he is ordinary to me!

• 171.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-156:

But will he be the same?

I fear not.

Juan Smith all over again.

• 172.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-150:

Mate Ruan only really played 10 in 2 seasons-CC 2006 and EOYT 2008-2009 part of it

Otherwise the rest of his career has been at 9.He has played way more games at 9 that he has at 10.

He has over 50 Test caps but he is still one of the most tentative players on the putch.He is in his late 20′s and we are still talking potential this that,same with Spies.

Fact of the matter is that they are good enough but they have been given platform regardless.Talent 7 physical dimensions have been used to usurp other worthy players for years to include these guys.When is it enough?

Hype machine now will be on overdrive to have Pienaar is Bok messiah to replicate Du preez-ness etc

Then the guy will bomb.He never excels under pressure.You look at a guy like Denia who has operated with a pack going backwards for much of his career and he is superb.Im tired of medicrity especially regarding Spies & Pienaar.

• 173.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-166:

Funny how that was not the case when Pienaar came on. We immediately got a try and several penalties. We easily enough clobbered our way up the field into range for a drop goal chance and in another instance for an attacking line out. Half those opportunitites were squandered but not by the loosies.

Rewatch the game. You guys have no idea what you are talking about.

• 174.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@vaaldam(vaaldam)-41: What about his leadership of the tight five it was pisspoor. IMO if you were going to blame anyone for the draw it is Bissie and Morne, they both had kak games. My other observation is that Fourie must come back to SA as he is sorely needed as either a starter or backup to Pienaar.

• 175.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Brussow gotta be half laughing up his all knowing sleeve watching this doos f’up the team like he has…

Bringing in a wild swinging Tarzan with NO rugby pedigree as his enforcer no. 7 to fill in for Alberts, and then playing 3 other like for like loosies .. ALL wanting to carry the ball.. ALL wanting to showcase their big bravado ball carries… and NOBODY doing ANY of the hard nosed to the ball GRUNT work or the cleaning out at the coal face of the action…

So this Meyer clown expects a KID in Etsebeth to be his enforcer.. and then next he brings in a downbeat ROOKIE nobody who is ALL show and no substance in Potgieter to be his next in line No.7 enforcer clone.

Meyer got ZERO clue.. and its showing bad.

• 176.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-167: we are not the bloody coach! he get remunerated to figure out way to OUTSMART the opposition!

• 177.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-168:

So plan B is to run from your own 22? On a dry pitch we even tried that once or twice in the first 2 Tests. On a wet one like Saturday? Hmm…

• 178.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-173:

if we were so effective when Pienaar came on,which was with plenty time i might add.Why didnt we go and close out the game?

One phase/movement and now the rubbish we have played is validated? what bs

• 179.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-170:

Ag dude. You are just spewing subjective invective. Whatever.

• 180.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

To win a match you need one more point than the oposition. Morne Steyn missed a conversion and that cost us the game.

I like Morne Steyn and he has won many games for us but he is not in form. The Springbok side is not the place to regain your form.

In fact if Steyn kicked better throughout the whole series we would have won the first two test with 12+ point and there would have been less fire in the English bellies for this last test. Steyn’s poor kicking kept the English in this series.

Also, Steyn’s poor kicking defnitaly played a role in the decision not to go for posts. That plus the missed kickes was once again another 10+ point we missed in the 3rd test. We would not even have had these discussions if his kicking was on song.

• 181.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-169: confidence going forward is one thing but the coach has to show a “willingness” to adapt and not make excuses about the weather – they trained in wet conditions and knew it was going to rain. are we to accept losses if it rains in new zealand this year?

• 182.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-171: I think you may be right.

It’s not as if he hasn’t had a full Rugby career.

Just missing a Super Rugby Title.

Even has IRB Player of the year.

• 183.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@mako(mako)-169: I still think we will give the United Islands a go. I am not that negative yet. Bring Albert, Conie, Frans and Vermuleun in the mix and you have a very competent team. Remember the Chiefs just beat the Bulls and lost to the Stormers. The Crusaders lost to the Bulls and we know they are the Stormers Vodoo team so not all hope is lost.

• 184.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-182:

to be fair a lot of stomers players are missing one of those.

how are you bud?

• 185.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-179: as if anything you say is fact, for some reason you have this deluded notion that you’re the only knowledgeable person here or has eyes & insight to analyse a game…

as you were.

• 186.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-167:

BALANCE is the key here.. not FOUR like for like ball carry wanabees ALL trying to be the blue eyed ball carry hero on the day…

Brussow provides WAY more grunt up front than EITHER of Coetsee, Potgieter, Kankowski or Spies..

ALL of them combined don’t come close to Brussow’s involvement in the tight area of contention at the breakdown or at the collisions.. and next comes REAL hard nosed No.7′s like Elstadt LONG before poefta clowns like Kankowski or Potgieter…

it is you who got no clue alongside Meyer who is now LEARNING the cost of omitting real players with REAL grunt…

• 187.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-175: Sounds like you’re bursting vessels in your poepol left right and centre again. I’m no doctor, but I feel I must advise you against this kind of angry excitement. Unless you want to spend your golden years being sponged down by a hairy man with eczema and halitosis.

• 188.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-170:

That Kamikaze BS without precision,skill and effectiveness is what people around here LOVE..It shows “commitment/gees” blah blah blah

Run around everywhere will hair all over the place,bleeding etc without having really achieved any level of success consistently….Awesome gees…

• 189.mako: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-165: Bud, you are partly right, but also off the mark. Hougaard was kuk and slow with his distribution as he was in the first test, even when not under pressure. He made terrible passes, and his kicking was hopeless. Steyn was the worst I have ever seen him, standing way too deep on attack, choosing terrible options, running it when it was not on, not passing it and kicking away good ball all at the wrong times. His kicking was pathetic for an international 10, and that had nothing to do with the forwards. If you put those two into the AB side they would also stuff up the backline play of that team.

• 190.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-184: They are the Liverpool of SA rugby :)

• 191.vaaldam: Reply to this comment

Ruan Pienaar had more chances in a Bok Jersey than WO.
    Surely it is time to move on from that debate.
    He is not the medium or long term answer, maybe the short term stop gap but let’s see how Hougaard finishes Super Rugby.

Play Lambie with Hougaard, and find a fullback. ( or inside centre)
    Pity that Frans Steyn is both our best 12 and 15.

I have no confidence in midgets at no 15.

• 192.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-176:

Exactly, as the coach Meyer knows exactly what is needed. There is no mythical Plan B that you idiots keep on frothing about. You either play smart, powerful Test rugby or you don’t. But ultimately if your 9-10 play like palookas you will struggle.

How many times did Sonny Bill not smash his way through against Ireland? Ok some poor tackling but still if he was a Saffer you would be moaning him crashing the ball up.

People confuse the ABs running from their own territory from turnover ball as some sort of predetermined Plan B. It is not. It is just quick turnover ball with them having the players to do something with it. But it also depends on the conditions. It was slippery and even Aplon was tentative due to under foot conditions.

When the Boks turned over the ball in the first 2 Tests they also ran it.

• 193.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-184: Smartiepants.

I’m fighting off a case of what seems to be some genetically engineered form of Swine Flu or something, but I’m feeling a bit better today lol.

Looking forward to the resumption of hostilities.

How kuk was the Cricket! ?

• 194.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@vaaldam(vaaldam)-191: While on the whole I do tend to agree with you on this post, to be fair it needs to be mentioned that while Ruan was indeed given many chances he was ALWAYS played out of position at either 10 or 15 never given a full chance at 9.

• 195.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-178:

We accomplished plenty when Pienaar came on. We got a try and several penalties. We had a crucial attacking line out. We smashed our way up the field for a drop goal. Unfortunately the set piece and 10 couldn’t take advantage of any of that. That is not the fault of the loosies or “the game plan”.

You guys are mixing and matching different factors together and coming up with a confused mess. I would also be hysterical if I was as confused as you and louis and these other clowns barking up the loosie tree.

• 196.capebull: Reply to this comment

It all started with the T5 that did not dominate, Beast was average , Bizzy also ( line outs useless) and Jannie by his standards good.

The two locks competed but did not dominate.

and WO mom………

• 197.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-173: you are basing your “hougaard was the problem” theory on one segment of the game? ppfftt

so why didn’t we pile on more tries then?

• 198.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-185:

I am one of the few that is actually impartial and willing to look at the facts of the game rather than what I wish had happened so that I can peddle my personal player agenda.

• 199.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Hougaard has been stuffed UP by Bulls coaching trying to re create FdP.. but he should STILL be used.ahead of FdP..

FdP was HOPELESS at WC 2011 one of the players that capitulated our performance alongside john Smit and Schalk Burger and Spies.. and also a bit of coward because when Heyneke called for his services as captain he chickened out…

Pienaar was dropped by PdV from fly half but that was where he should have stayed.. as a play making fly half he is WAY better than Morne Steyn who ONLY offers a kicking game and NOTHING MORE..

So until either of Goosen or Pollard are grown and matured enough to take over the No.10 duties then it will have to be one of Steyn, Pienaar, Lambie and Jantjies sharing the role.

• 200.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-192:

Bullsh*t

The Ab’s:

Run ball back from kicks aimlessly from opposition

Use Guilford & other back 3 players to inject pace off the inside/outside shoulder of 10-12-13

Use Guilford,Smith at pivot(scrums/lineouts) to inject speed and put pressure on covering loosies,vary play from first phase

Loosies vary play from taking it up,to offloads to wider runner in case immediate channel are clogged up with defenders thus not becoming predicable

These are some of the plays that ARENT from turnovers.These are variations instead of stupid bang bang club Boks

Secondly when they do get turnover ball they dont hoof it to midnight sky or take it up just to SLOW it down again and use “caterpillar” etc

So please pass off this Bok gameplan as efficient to someone else,its limited no matter how youy look at it.

And Saffas need to get one thing in their minds; OUR FORWARDS ARENT THAT DOMINANT PHYSICALLY TO THE POINT THAT THEY WILL STEAMROLL PEOPLE AND SET UP PLATFORM/MOMENTUM REGARDLESS.That is a myth.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.