Argentina gets sevens tournament

The IRB Sevens World Series has been expanded for the 2012-13 season with Argentina joining as a 10th venue.

La Plata will host the second tournament of the series on 20-21 October, with the Gold Coast Sevens kicking off the new season in Australia a week earlier.

Every continent now hosts at least one round of the Sevens World Series with tournaments in Africa (one), Asia (three), Europe (two), Oceania (two), North America (one) and South America (one).

Next season also sees the last Sevens World Cup (it is being scrapped because of sevens’ Olympics inclusion) in Moscow on 28-30 June, while the inaugural IRB Women’s Sevens Series will also kick off.

Sevens World Series 2012-13 schedule
Australia (Gold Coast): 13-14 Oct 2012
Argentina (La Plata): 20-21 Oct 2012
Dubai: 30 Nov – 1 Dec 2012
South Africa (Port Elizabeth): 7-8 Dec 2012
New Zealand (Wellington): 1-2 Feb 2013
USA (Las Vegas): 8-10 Feb 2013
Hong Kong: 22-24 Mar 2013
Japan (Tokyo): 30-31 Mar 2013
Scotland (Glasgow): 4-5 May 2013
England (London): 11-12 May 2013