Lions coaching panel in disarray
26 Jun 2012
Forwards coach Johan Ackermann has been officially appointed as the interim head coach of the Lions, with Carlos Spencer continuing his duties as backline mentor.
In the aftermath of John Mitchell’s suspension for his alleged brutal coaching methods, Spencer and Ackermann were last week handed the interim coaching role, a responsibility they would share. Spencer did not dispute this when keo.co.za spoke to him on Monday about the current dynamics at the embattled franchise.
However, it has since come to light that Ackermann has been appointed as the official interim head coach, with Spencer continuing in his role as backline coach.
‘I’m not sure when the decision was made, but I was made aware of [the new coaching structure] late yesterday morning,’ Spencer told keo.co.za on Tuesday. ‘I was only ever under the impression that I would continue to coach the backs.’
Should Mitchell get his marching orders, this could affect Spencer as well as fitness coach Wayne Taylor on a contractual basis. Spencer and Taylor’s contracts are linked to Mitchell’s contract, allowing them to leave the Gauteng franchise at will if Mitchell gets the axe.
‘I haven’t really thought about that to be honest,’ Spencer added. ‘I’m contracted to the end of the Super Rugby season. I guess I’m going to have to make some decisions over the next three weeks.’
If Mitchell and his coaching team are not retained, this would result in the GLRU having to scramble for a new coaching set-up before the Currie Cup, which starts on 11 August.
By Nick Pawson

273 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
26 Jun 2012, 13:21 pm
Time to lock the coach
26 Jun 2012, 13:21 pm
Dragons in meltdown.
26 Jun 2012, 13:22 pm
stormers have to moer these dragons with a bonus point or nothing!
26 Jun 2012, 13:24 pm
When does Mitch’s contract expire?
26 Jun 2012, 13:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-3:
You listen to Willy Lose?
26 Jun 2012, 13:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-3:
They might moer them but I am not so sure about the bonus point…
26 Jun 2012, 13:28 pm
gatvol….
@cane(cane)-4: end of 2013
26 Jun 2012, 13:39 pm
There is some ambiguity here. This article appears to suggest that Ackermann is the new head coach (replacing CS) whereas in fact Ackermann is merely now the sole interim head coach.
26 Jun 2012, 13:40 pm
*replacing JM
26 Jun 2012, 13:47 pm
wtf!
i thought carlos was gonna run steer the ship?
oh well…
26 Jun 2012, 13:47 pm
New “writer” Nick Pawson. His second article & he’s already treading upon the ambiguity & innuendo quicksand
26 Jun 2012, 13:53 pm
So it’s Spencer’s fault that Keo had their facts wrong?
The Lions just can’t do anything right
26 Jun 2012, 13:58 pm
What a fall for JM. Was in the coaching team of England when they began to dominate Test rugby. All Black coach (won two 3N & a WC bronze). Mishandled Tana Umaga’s comeback from injury at WC03. He subbed a young Dan Carter in a match in which DC came on as a sub. Go figure
26 Jun 2012, 14:00 pm
@willievz(willievz)-6:
26 Jun 2012, 14:01 pm
@cane(cane)-5: he was doing most of the commentary for the JWC, he even did the medals & trophy presentation, i had to listen to him.
26 Jun 2012, 14:14 pm
@viewer(viewer)-11: is Nick Pawson the HDI candidate that Simon and co have appointed after they advertised as post here in KEO?
26 Jun 2012, 14:19 pm
I have lost all respect for Strauss and his troops. What a bunch of sissy-boys. May they disintegrate into Vodacom Cup rugby for many years. At least until these sissy-boys call it quits.
26 Jun 2012, 14:20 pm
@viewer(viewer)-11:
26 Jun 2012, 14:24 pm
in the right structures,
i think spencer could add a lot of value.
perhaps a pro bono consulting role with the boks?
26 Jun 2012, 14:32 pm
@toulon says(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-19: they should swap fleckie for carlos, goodness knows fleckie is kak!
26 Jun 2012, 14:35 pm
Do we have any examples of these “brutal coaching methods”? Are we talking Kamp Staaldraad or Camp’s Bay here?
26 Jun 2012, 14:36 pm
How do coaches apply for and get jobs in SA? Some very weird appointments. Ackerman Lions coach? Paul Adams Cobra coach?
The guys in charge must know way more than I do.
26 Jun 2012, 14:37 pm
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-21: Kamp Riemruk toe lag iemand vir coach se tollie!!!!
26 Jun 2012, 14:39 pm
@toulon says(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-19:
pro bonio?
Carlos wants to get paid in rands not bonios.
Lions to turn it around and give ther brokebacks the reverse wharthog.
26 Jun 2012, 14:39 pm
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-21:
Most likely nothing more than a good proper “uitkak-parade-afkak-sessie-run-until-you-puke” thing.
26 Jun 2012, 14:41 pm
@Big Jack(Big Jack)-22: are you only picking that up now? ludekak, chester, loffie eloff, muir, hans coetzee, ackers
26 Jun 2012, 14:41 pm
@Big Jack(Big Jack)-22:
Paul Adams would make a great Cobra coach. He has in depth knowledge of the game.
26 Jun 2012, 14:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-26:
Why would I only pick it up now? What gave you that impression?
26 Jun 2012, 14:45 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-27:
Played circa 30 tests too few for SA.
Still only 35.
26 Jun 2012, 14:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-20:
there’s an idea.
or even play them off against one another.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-24:
allright then, maybe not pro bono. they could pay him per game with a few clauses for a minimum number of wins and dazzling backline moves..?..
26 Jun 2012, 14:50 pm
@willievz(willievz)-29:
Willie, believe me, I know the full story, it quiet sad actually.
All started with Terry Jenner, Shane Warne mentor. Then Craig Matthews…….
@Big Jack(Big Jack)-28: surely you saw the ? question mark? could be a “feeling” in your post
Does anyone yet know anything about what the allegations against Mitchell are? Apart from cruel, unusual, and probably thoroughly deserved torture on the training fields.
26 Jun 2012, 14:52 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-33:
Apparently John Mitchell made some highly unrealistic demands of the players, like asking them to win 20% of their matches.
26 Jun 2012, 14:54 pm
carlos must have made a fair bit of moola here in sa by now?
certainly more than they make in nz.
26 Jun 2012, 14:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-32:
It is my “feeling” that you are having a bad hair day? Did you only pick up that Fleckie is kakk now? Notice the ? question marks.
26 Jun 2012, 14:57 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-34:
20% of 13 is 2.6
#justsayin
26 Jun 2012, 14:57 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-27:
I’m interested to know why you think that.
26 Jun 2012, 14:59 pm
@toulon says(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-37:
Exactly.
The Lions have won a half on a number of occasions.
Sometimes they have won the first ten minutes of a game but lost the rest.
#justsayin
26 Jun 2012, 15:01 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-39:
ok
so they are 0.6% short of their target
#ihearyoubrother
26 Jun 2012, 15:01 pm
@Big Jack(Big Jack)-36: learn to keep your feelings to yourself or in check.
was i asking about fleckie being kak like you were about saffa coaching appointments?
ps: about your feelings, ask poppa to refer you to a goo shrink
26 Jun 2012, 15:02 pm
If I was Lions coach I would’ve been even worse.
26 Jun 2012, 15:02 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-31: I believe you.
Apart from the poor support he received form the official authorities, the public also became critical about his play and his bowling action.
Us Saffas are very quick to criticise the unconventional and to favour a more conservative approach to doing things.
I can’t help thinking that someone like Shane Warne, perceived as arrogant on the sportsfield, would not have had a test career if he was a South African, simply because we dislike arrogant sportsmen. When Warne started his Test career he managed just four wickets at a mediocre if not pathetic average of 96.5. We would have dropped him after 4 or 5 tests.
26 Jun 2012, 15:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-41:
Listen Schmuck. I will share my feelings or opinions whenever I want. Now go look for a bad hair day fix somewhere else. I’m not here to council you.
26 Jun 2012, 15:06 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-38:
Seen it first hand Gunther. He does know the game and played at the highest level. The players also respect him in the set up ,
26 Jun 2012, 15:06 pm
@Big Jack(Big Jack)-44:
I really like your pies, by the way.
26 Jun 2012, 15:07 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-34:
26 Jun 2012, 15:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-20: Carlos would be good for the WPRFU in general.
26 Jun 2012, 15:09 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-46:
I’m trying hard to serve the best. Only the best ingredients, whatever I can find…
26 Jun 2012, 15:10 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-45:
look, playing at the highest level does not always a good coach make.
he doesn’t have any real coaching experience and Odendaal is a snake.
I shall watch this one with interest.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All