Chiefs playmaker cleared

Chiefs flyhalf Aaron Cruden has recovered from an Achilles injury and will start against the Highlanders on Friday.

Last Saturday, Cruden left the field with an injury and it was feared that he would not be fit for the Chiefs’ next clash. The problem with his Achilles is not a new one, and the player revealed that he had aggravated it.

However, Cruden was given the all clear on Wednesday to take his place for the Chiefs. They are currently on course for a top-place finish and a home semi-final.

Chiefs – 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Jackson Willison, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Toby Smith.
Subs: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Sona Taumalolo, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Andrew Horrell, 22 Lelia Masaga.

82 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-45: I think you are right but do you get what I’m trying to get across ? Sometimes the guys are too eager to get the big bucks instead of learning from the senior guys like Bekker (who we know is currently very much injury prone) and Vermeulen. Kolisi has spoken with high regard about Vermeulen’s contribution to his development.
    Once you have established yourself, then go for the big bucks! Roux still has at least 10 years’ of playing ahead (provided he stays injury free) and if he is like Brad Thorn you can add another couple of years.
    Way back when I was still playing “koshuis”rugby at Stellenbosch, before I could step up to the club rugby, they used to have training days for specific positions on Mondays: the senior club guys like Hennie Bekker, Hempies du Toit, Henning van Aswegen and Shaun Povey taught us valuable lessons. I learnt a lot from just listening to Shaun Povey – I was a hooker – and I am still using some of that knowledge today when I’m coaching. I know it was a very different era but the principles remain the same.

• 52.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

the lure of the Irish punani strikes again.

• 53.David: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-51:
    Did he recommend a left or right uppercut to the opposing locks chin? :lol:

• 54.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-49: ja, i wish it had been me.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-50: ag they can support whoever they want i dont really care but i think they are pathetic.

as for getting scary, surely the capesaders were outnumbered.

• 55.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-46: Reniel Hugo is a good club player and perhaps Vodacom Cup but unfortunately that is his limit IMO. Reniel was a good under age player but needs more to succeed in the big league. Kloppers has more “grunt” but he might be lacking a couple of centimetres to compete for a lock position higher up. Both of them can perhaps land a contract at a smaller union. Hugo is studying accounting – I spoke to his dad earlier this year and he is quite realistic in terms of his abilities. (He is a very good and dedicated student by the way)

• 56.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-51:

that’s the caveat though.

the way the game is these days forwards playing beyond their 30th birthday is going to be a distant memory.

Guys will have 5 or six years at the top and that’s it.

If he can get better money elsewhere then so be it. Someone else here will get an opportunity. If the money spent on them at the accademy is an issue then put it into the players contract that the club who buys him must pay it back if he leaves within a certain time frame.

• 57.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-51: Therein lies the crux of the problem. These kids aren’t prepared to wait and earn their stripes.
    Not their fault entirely, as rugby is no longer about loyalty, but about how much money everyone involved can milk from rugby in a period of time.
    Broadcasters, players, unions, sponsors – Bling is King, whilst loyalty and a desire to represent your nation is something most of them have to look up on Google.
    Then again, if Quinn Roux was my kid, I would say: Run Forrest Run, take the money and the (as Gunther so eloquently puts it) Paddy punani.

• 58.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-54: They were MASSIVELY outnumbered on Friday night :) It was glorious.

• 59.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-52: lol if i had coffee in my mouth when i read that it would be all over the office!

• 60.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-54: Sorry didn’t read the question correctly. They were outnumbered Friday night, but NOT at the round robin game last year, it was a 50/50 call I reckon. Although, there could have been 70% Stormer fans and 30% Sader fans – but what happened around the stadium when for example the Saders team bus arrived – was SCARY.
    People were crushed dude – the Capesaders felt feathers, they ran to that bus and if that meant knocking over people in wheelchairs so be it.
    Newlands security sucked that day – but fortunately they fixed it for the semi-final.

Scenes from the ‘Day After Tomorrow’……It wasn’t a very pleasant experience, and eeeeeeeeeeeejits from both sides of the fence were guilty that day. Stormer fan and Capesader alike.

• 61.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-54: At Kings Park would they be made felt as welcome as in Newlands? I think at Ellis and especially Loftus they gonna have to learn to Box quite quickly imo.

• 62.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-54:

there were a few there on Friday night.

Most of them took their jerseys off after the final whistle.

• 63.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-53: In my first practice at club level at Stellenbosch I got one hell of an uppercut in the first scrum. There were some provincial players in both teams (Victorians – the 2nd first team and the second team) and the guys rucked jerseys off the bodies whenever someone landed on the wrong side of the ruck. Some big hits were handed out.
    Povey was my hero at school level and never imagined that he would “coach” me in the future. I played with Hempies Du Toit in a couple of matches – he was a powerhouse of note. In one practice (against him and Guy Kebble amongst others) he almost broke my neck in a scrum – he used to scrum inwards towards the opposing hooker (me in that case). I just pulled my head out of the scrum and shouted at him and Dawie Snyman (our coach) – “you are going to break my f..king neck” Hempies just smiled !!

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-48: grant said he was there and the “feeling” was stupendous.

grant and jr said hi by the way. :D

• 65.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-51: Yes i get what you saying. Guys are not willing to bide their time and step up in the pecking order.

Maybe the yougsters that leave come back as better players and play for the Bokke.

• 66.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-57: I know – cash is king!!

• 67.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-65: Let’s hope he doesn’t like it too much in Ireland and get picked for them in time and does indeed come back to SA

• 68.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-62: They didn’t outnumber us Bok fans though……not even close. In my row on the Grand stand I counted about 5.

• 69.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-63: Yoh sounds heavy

• 70.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: When is he coming back?

• 71.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-70: not coming back

• 72.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-41:

Nothing new here… not even a drop in the ocean compared to the amount of young degreed (and not yet) young RSA kids leaving the country for anywhere… why would sportsmen be different?

The trick is getting them back…

• 73.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-48:

It seems one of the AB U20 guys also stuck it to a Cape Sader fan…

• 74.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Aaron Crudens backup for this game Andrew Horrell from Hawkes Bay, highest points scorer in ITM cup last year,who made a fist of it at fullback,is a more than competent replacement, yet if Chiefs are to to be last man standing then Cruden is the one. Geez they have an outstanding bench.

• 75.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-28: U cant compare guys like jaques fourie who spent nearly a decade at the lions and stormers to SBW who’s rugby career has been a 2 year joke at 2 different clubs and has already drawn to a close

• 76.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: the sydney roosters will be SBWs 4th club in 3 years. For any profession no employer values someone who just jumps from one company to the next every year. It shows an innate lack of dedication or ability to stay focused. And as i said before, his earning potential as a rugby superstar far eclipses what he’d make in league commercially. Rugby is a global sport and the all black superstars are backed by brands like adidas…superpowers. League is a sport played predominantly in 2 australian cities. Its foolish even financially from Khodder nasser. very short sighted.

• 77.willievz: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-76:

Maybe he wants less contact (which he will get in league vis-a-vis union) to assist his boxing aspirations?

• 78.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-75: jaque fourie did NOT spend a decade at the stormers, in fact he left them in the lurch as he was a starter and they allowed boys like sadie & whitehead to leave because they thought he was going to come back. he displayed no loyalty to WP who extricated him from the kak situation @ the lions! he left for the money, period!

NZRU Chief Executive Steve Tew:

“If Sonny Bill Williams stays and plays rugby in New Zealand at this next decision juncture or he goes away, we will be very comfortable with the interaction we’ve had with him and his people – and would welcome the opportunity to continue to talk to him whether he stays or goes.

“He has been one of the best people we’ve dealt with in that regard.”

they knew what they were getting into, and i’m sure he gave them enough mileage before & during the world cup… win win!

professionalism!

• 79.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-74:
    Yes you can’t compare jack to Sbw….futile really.

• 80.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-76:

maybe he wants a different challenge in life not everybody is the same, he will attract huge sponsoprship $’s in Aus through league and will come to SA next year knock out your champ and pocket a million dollars for his troubles, you should be more concerned about him carving you up this year in the 4 nations

• 81.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-77:

Quite the contrary… in league he’d see more contact… they make more than double the amount of tackles… particularly where he used to play in the forwards in league…

• 82.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-78:
    SBW comes from a staunch league background,he was brought up in the game in Mt Albert. and League has a long proud history in Auckland. He has unfinished business in the game and will return as a true prodigal son of the NRL. League supporters wait in anticipation for what was once described as a once in a generation player,who is bred for the game.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.