Chiefs charge into play-offs

JON CARDINELLI watched the Chiefs beat the Highlanders 27-21 in Dunedin to book their place in the Super Rugby knockout rounds.

This victory, as so many of the Chiefs’ results in 2012, was built on a robust and accurate performance at the breakdown.

Their option taking and tactical kicking wasn’t always good, but they maintained their intensity at the tackle throughout the game. This allowed them to resist the Highlanders in the first 40, and then secure the result in the second stanza.

The Highlanders had the best of both territory and possession in the first half, but were undone by the determined Chiefs defence. They enjoyed frequent surges into the Chiefs’ 22 but surrendered the ball when the visitors loaded the rucks and pressured scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The All Blacks No 9 was forced to rush his pass or drop the ball as the rabid Chiefs forwards piled into the ruck with unstoppable momentum.

The Chiefs showcased their counter-attacking threat during this period, using a breakdown turnover to create a try for wing Tim Nanai-Williams. However, they were fortunate that they didn’t concede more points in the first half. Their tactical kicking was poor, and several wayward kicks by Aaron Cruden prevented them from escaping their own territory.

The Highlanders weren’t good enough to use this territorial advantage to edge ahead on the scoreboard. In fact, a late lapse allowed the Chiefs to score eight points right before half-time, a purple patch of scoring that effectively won the game for the visitors.

Cruden extended the Chiefs lead to 21-9 right after the break, and from there the Highlanders were chasing the game. Given their impotency on attack during the early stages and the manner in which they were losing the collisions, it appeared an impossible task.

They enjoyed some good fortune when the TMO awarded a controversial try. The Chiefs had done well to contest a lineout and tip the ball back on their side, but the Highlanders reacted quickly to put the visitors under pressure.

It seemed as if Tawera Kerr-Barlow had the ball on the ground before Andrew Hore ripped it away and planted it beyond the tryline. It seemed a clear case of hands in the ruck, although between the officials it was decided that Hore’s steal was legal and that the try would stand.

Chris Noakes missed the subsequent conversion but the Highlanders were suddenly just seven points behind. The Chiefs enjoyed more territory in the period that followed, and although Cruden would miss a shot at goal, the pressure applied by his forwards created another opportunity. The three points stretched the Chiefs’ lead to 10 with only 15 minutes remaining.

The Highlanders grew more desperate and this impacted on their discipline. They infringed right in front of their own poles and Cruden banked another penalty.

Hosea Gear managed to power over from close range in the 77th minute to set up a frantic finish. But in the end it was the Chiefs defence that had the final say.

The result sees the Chiefs consolidating their position at the top of the log. Their next two matches will determine whether they host a play-off or not, but it will be a comfort to know that they’ve already booked their place in the final six.

The defeat is a blow to the Highlanders’ play-off ambitions. They have just one match remaining before a bye in the final round. Even if they win next week, they will need a few other results to go their way in order to make the final cut.

408 Comments

• 1.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

goooooooo chiefsssssssss

• 2.TAJ BAR: Reply to this comment

C’mon chiefs you have the momentum keep going!

• 3.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

chiefs losing will make it a fight amongst the kiwi franchises for a playoff spot but highlanders losing will help sharks.
    catch 22.

• 4.TAJ BAR: Reply to this comment

Looking good for the sharks but Otago at home is always a worry.

• 5.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

good evening dragons from mid-winter in cairns

• 6.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Its 1730 and 25 degrees C for you poor punters in the south

• 7.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

great try Chiefs

• 8.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

i have a brilliqant picture at vip dot tv enjoy everyone and thanks to the haciker who gave me ythe site last week.

• 9.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

SBW gets away with a very high tackle

• 10.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

chiefs looking the likeliest.

• 11.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Cheers all,I am off to the dam:-)
    “The unbearable lightness of being Chunt du Fernly”.
    Looking forward to a nice roadtrip with only SA music.
    Ladysmith Black Mombazo
    Johhny Clegg
    Karen Zoid
    Die Heuwels Fantasties
    Jack Parow
    Die Kalahari Boere Orkes
    My weekend is gonna be braai,beer,sunshine and ghoenlek.
    Admire,don’t desire.
    Take it easy,but take it!
    Have a kief weekend all.

• 12.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good riddance

• 13.willievz: Reply to this comment

Nadal losing.

Germany losing.

Bulls and /or Stormers losing? :roll:

• 14.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

Go the bloody Highlanders. (Even if only to save my Superbru…)

• 15.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-13: Before the tournament began, I called it would be an Italy vs Spain Final, with Italy taking it. Next underestimate Azzuri

• 16.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-15:

that’s why they pay you the big bucks….

• 17.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-13: that would be nice :wink: lol dagse Willie my maat

• 18.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

A. Smith doing the silly traffic cop simulation.

Cant remember him doing it vs Irish where his service was clean and zippy.

Seems to be something many scrumhalfs start doing as soon as they start getting a bit of hype around them, ai.

• 19.ossewa: Reply to this comment

Common Highlanders…..klap hulle!!!!!

• 20.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

match turning into a bit of a bore fest

• 21.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

GOOOOOOOOOOO Chiefsssssssssssssssssss

• 22.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

SBW might be a great attcker, defensively he is poor

• 23.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Good try chiefssssssssssssss

Gooooooooooooo cowgirls and injunssssssssssssssss

• 24.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-22:

He’s no F. Steyn on D but poor is pushing it a bit.

Don’t know much about basketball but I think SBW would’ve been great at that.

• 25.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-23:

Sjoes fish ‘n chips!!!!

Why you supporting the chiefs anyway????

• 26.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-24:

Sounds like something a stormer would say!!!

• 27.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-25: I’ll leave the reaqsoning to your imagination :lol:

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-24:

Nah boet seen him miss so many tackles with ariy fairy grapping in the air

• 28.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-16: When you good, you good, what can I say?

• 29.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Cruden’s been a mixed bag so far.

Trying too much on a few occasions.

• 30.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-29: Cruden is ok, Carter just so much better

• 31.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Now GOOOOOOO Chiefs keep kicking Landers butts

• 32.viewer: Reply to this comment

Lots of handling errors. A good contest nonetheless

• 33.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-27:

Would have made sense if the sharks stood a chance of winning but we all know they dont!!!

So why are you going for the highlanders???

• 34.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-26:

What gave you that impression, the nic? :)

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-27:

Well I don’t see too many holes being punched down his channel, everything seems to be skipped passed to out wide.

SBW is not as aggressive on D but he makes his tackles and his organisation and reading of the game is good.

Meyer Bosman D – Poor

SBW & JDV – Solid

F. Steyn, J. Fourie – Aggressive defenders.

• 35.willievz: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-17: Dagse my maat, hoe lyk dit aan jou kant?

Nee, nee, nee, beide spanne moet wen!!

• 36.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-35: Goed die kant broer

• 37.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-33: See typically the Stormer supporter arrogance comes to the fore!!!

It is ok for you guys to support the Landers as it would bennifit you to stay on top of the pile?? not so??

So how come it is not ok for Sharks supporters to support the Chiefs as it would take the Landers off their backs and enhance their chances for the play offs??

Now you guys have done well and deserve to be up there but you aint won jack S*hit yet?

And lemme tell you no team has won this thing untill they have beaten the Saders come crunch time, THATS A FACT

• 38.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

And lemme tell you the Sharks are still very much alive, whether in your own arrogant way you want to believe it or not, just like the Bulls are still in it

• 39.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-15: Where did you call it? Post the link.

• 40.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-35: lol willie dit sal Natuurlik one Sharks pas as Stormers an Bulls verloor

Die dag as my Sharks werklik uit is?? damn sal ek die ander SA spanne ondersteun

• 41.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-39: I was about to ask the same

Hindsight is a bugger lol we can all look like geniuses :lol:

• 42.willievz: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-40: Kom ek se jou so: die Sharks se diepte gaan een of ander tyd begin tel.

As hulle onder die top 6 eindig kan hulle ‘n paar spanne verras. Ek het ook meer vertroue in die Sharks om oorsee te wen as die Stormers of Bulle.

• 43.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Anyone see that tall Czech fella, Lucas Rosol, take Nadal apart last night? That was one of the most intense performances in sport that I’ve seen for some time. If you ever want to know what someone looks like “in the zone”, take a look at him in that final set. I can’t see him keeping it for five more games, but it was something to behold.

• 44.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Don’t know who I want to win here, to be honest.

All I know is I want the Crusaders to lose.

• 45.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-37:

Bulls supporter here….3 cups

I know this comp is tough for the sharks but it seems like things will go your way tonight…..

Unfortunately the Bulls are done this year and as hard as it is to say this, the Stormers is the only team flying the flag now…

• 46.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-33: And just so you know? , unlike stormer supporters? the majority of Sharks supporters would suport the Stormers if they play in the final and it is against another team but their own, MOre so if it is a Foreign team, and that too is a fact

• 47.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-39:

He called the sub prime crisis too.

I think him and fukkadilly drink the same brand of soya milk.

• 48.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

SBW preparing for his boxing bout in SA already :)

• 49.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-45: Boet there is still hope for Bulls and Sharks, till then i will support to the fullest

You forget your team won in 2007?? when they were damn lucky to make the play offs??

untill dead?? never say die

• 50.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-41: Yes, and I called Rosol to beat Nadal. Just can’t remember where I said so.

• 51.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-47: :lol:

• 52.viewer: Reply to this comment

Fight fight fight

• 53.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-46:

So don’t you think an apology to the decent Stormers supporters would be in place after your sweeping statement at @sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-37:

• 54.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Kiwi handbags.

Someone should put them on a small island ad let them slug it out.

Oh wait…..

• 55.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-53: This is true, and there are many decent ones at that, just also so many which makes it difficult to like them all :lol:

And yes you are one of the decent ones, like PA and Stormerboy UFO etc

• 56.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

SBW goes for the attempted headbutt.

And then whines like a girl.

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sonny b i t ch williams.

what a class ars e h o le.

he just told the ref to ” f uk off” when told he was being penalised?????

seriously, is this the type of image we want for rugby union?

not me.

• 58.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

SO appologies to you Stormerbevokindiekop :lol:

• 59.viewer: Reply to this comment

Sheesh SBW is strong. They couldn’t knock him over

• 60.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

and the kiwis are clean

yeah rught

nice sweet words to the naughty little boys

but if it was an sa player….

two guesses

• 61.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57: Hiyas Ranger brudda, yeah i heard that too, he forgets his own high tackle that was over looked in the first half

• 62.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-55:

We all have our bad apples, HG fern & of course in the blue corner Tac representing the North etc :)

• 63.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hahaha, and a try for the landers lmoa!

well done sunni.

looks like every team in world rugby now knows that getting under sunnis skin is like niggling bakkies, the oke looks like a snorting stallion all pumped up with “outrage”

• 64.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57:
    yeah, does he think he’s blogging on Keo? :lol:

• 65.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Joh Gear!

That ball was still in motion, should’ve stuck his foot outside!

• 66.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57: He is my LEAST favourite Kiwi of all time.

And boy, are there a few fuckwits.

• 67.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-37:

We are in the fortunate position of NOT having to rely on about 25 other results going our way to determine our fate :)

So wave your ponytail and jingle your bells for the Chiefs all you like, once this game is over – you fellows only need 24 results to go your way.

But, at least you get to travel the rugby world as you support a different team each weekend from hereon in – neh?

• 68.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-43: I watched that game, think he would have beaten anyone last night. If they never changed the balls every 10 games or so they would have not have lasted the game. He was belting them.

Will be surprised if he gets throught the 3rd round though. Going to be interesting to see.

• 69.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-58:

Backhanded one but on Keo that’s the best you’re gonna get so dankie :)

• 70.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-62: this is true, just so many from your side of the world though lol, but yeah this is also why i said majority of Sharks supporters,

• 71.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57: He is leaving I believe. I too say good riddance. (Although he has been a pleasure to watch at times)

• 72.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-61:
    that scuffle was because of a shoulder charge by him.
    yet he’s indignant.

referee discretion is a joke as well the home town ref bias.

• 73.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-49:

You are right….i should not loose faith….

Wouldn’t it be awesome if Sonny let his hands roll one day….see how he told the ref to f-off!!!

• 74.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-67: LIke you guys have done since the birth of Super rugby :wink: NEH??

Your statement again proves my point thanks for that :smile:

• 75.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-68: Rafa was not looking very composed when they left the court for the ‘roof closing ceremony’. He reckoned he was in the zone at that stage – fighting back.
    When he threw that little topless tantrum before the break, the writing was already on the wall – huge pity.

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57: is he the first player to ever say that? :roll:

• 77.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sharks Lover weer befok vanoggend.

• 78.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-61: haha, i have just chuuuuned in.

passing time til i go spearfishing at 1 oclock lol.

@David(David)-64: are you saying we are role models davey?

thats awesome!

• 79.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-53:

dry your ikuku buddy.

you’ll catch a cold in this weather.

• 80.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76: Possibly.

• 81.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:

Dont think so

If you watch with the sound off you can see it!

• 82.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-68: Ja, you get the feeling he’s got to blink at some point before the QF. But last night no one would have beaten him.

• 83.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Someone else enters to prove my point :lol: its a good day i say

• 84.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-79: :lol:

• 85.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-75: Yep, totally rattled. Power play like that is usually his thing. Gave Rosol a little shoulder at one of the change-overs as well, which showed just how rattled he was.

• 86.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:
    certainly the first time in my life i’ve seen someone so brazely say it right to a ref.
    its usually done a lot more discreetly from a distance and never directly.
    also is punished if done blatantly, but these are kiwis looking after their own of course.

• 87.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Chiefs making heavy weather of it

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO chiefs hammer the nails in ffs

• 88.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Come now Chiefs, settle this one!

• 89.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-66: he is not good for rugby imo, the kiwis on reunion were practically giving him a hummer and i honestly dont think he is anywhere near the class of a lomu, on or off the field.

jonah was all class

.@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-71: ja he can get knotted.

@Transformation(Transformation)-76: ag dont get all upset because i chirped a kiwi buddy.
    rather just comment on whether you think it is acceptable?

• 90.viewer: Reply to this comment

The breakdown is a war zone here

• 91.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-74: @sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-74: And your reaction proves my point. Thanks for that.

Do you Sharkettes have any advice for the Stormers on how to beat the Lions?
    No wait…
    Do you Sharkettes have any advice for the Stormers on how NOT to play to beat the Lions?

At least if the unthinkable happens, we Stormer fans can join your little support group and share our feelings of despair with those who are expert in negative human emotion. The laughs would be worth the R10-00 entrance fee (which I guess covers the Savannah and Tennis biscuits you okes serve after the sob fest?)

• 92.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-86: ask your self this? why didnt he tell the ref to F*off when he got over looked for the high tackle in the first half??

• 93.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-79:

Ohk.

• 94.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-80: yeah right, and you don’t recall schalk telling willie roos “maak you ****** oor oop(sp)”?
    hehehe :D

• 95.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-79:

These Stormers fans are calling for apologies all over the place these days.

Very indignant bunch.

• 96.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

In other news I am much taken with Zoomer’s new jet.

I’m thinking of trading the Piccanto in on one.

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sunni b i tc h said “******* off” directly to the ref?????????????

and you want to argue about wether its happened before transformation?

are you mad?

this isnt roundball buddy, in rugby that kind of behaviour isnt tolerated and rightly so, thank goodness we dont have to watch roundball poofs charging the ref and screaming in his face, its sickening behaviour.

he should have received a yellow or red like james small got after a less blatant chirp IN NZ all those years ago.

but sbw is the kiwi lovechild at present so its cool i suppose.

• 98.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-91: the sharks ure as hell knew how to whip your stormers though

My reaction had nothuing in it but a smile, but get yourself some tissues, see i didnt wish at all for a Stormer loss, thats Stormer supporter style, i wish for a Landers loss as it suited the Sharks, so get that chip off the shoulders, it;s seemingly very heavy on your shoulders

• 99.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-82: I guess the thing with a guy like that is if he could keep that up he wouldn’t be ranked 100 in the world. Good luck to him though, if he can he will be near impossible to beat.

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-94: didnt schalk get sent off?

whats your point?

• 101.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95:

Good to see you’re still hanging in there Tac.

Post another rugby thesis on the superior rugby conditioning of the Bulls, open up a can of whoop-*** while you idolize St. Heyneke.

• 102.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’m Djokovic fan.

Don’t like Nadal’s look.

• 103.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95:

So much of oestrogen.

• 104.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95: Tearful apologies and washing of feet is so 1990′s TRC. I bet they want reparations too.

• 105.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-89: “upset”? i ask you one question and i’m “upset”

sbw is the kobe bryant of rugby – star quality.

• 106.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-93:

good girl.

come back when you’ve finished.

• 107.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105:

Wasn’t that Bryant dude accused of rape at one stage?

• 108.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Penalty Chiefs

• 109.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105: maybe a star to you buddy.

to me he is a blight on the game and must make tracks.

i always enjoy your hypocrisy though :lol:

• 110.viewer: Reply to this comment

Adam Thompson is making so many errors

• 111.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-106:

Ohk funny guy, now go away.

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-97: blah blah blah, who is upset now? :lol:

• 113.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

LEKKER Chiefs, hou dit so

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: yes he was,

• 115.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: according to transformations reasoning its fine because he isnt the first player to be accused of rape.

nothing can take away from his star quality.

haha, sunni duffs it, the crowd gives him the bird.

• 116.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Ok. I’m a bit out of the loop with the Super Rugby log permutations and so on, what with me still getting used to super rugby being back AFTER the Bok tests.

So can someone please explain to me why the Stormers fans like WPstormerbok above seem to be supporting the Chiefs?

I thought they are competing with the Chiefs to top the log? Or have they just not thought it through properly..

• 117.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-112: upset? :lol:

i am educating you.

i learnt how to convey a message from comrade balde “consumer communist” nzimande.

• 118.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

OK, Landers to score converted try and I am spot on SBru. Go Landers.

• 119.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:

to cover mental anguish and loss of face wpstormerbokkie is insisting on the Twilight Special Edition Box Set, a training bra and a signed photo of little Joe.

makes the treaty of versailles look like picnic.

• 120.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-109: did you see him demolish the oirish last week? masterclass! :D

hypocrite? potkettle? :lol:

• 121.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-115:

SBW is a double international, a WC winner and the biggest name in the game, why are you so bitter?

• 122.viewer: Reply to this comment

Ref is f#cking up his call of “engage”

• 123.rangerman: Reply to this comment

awesome when your opponent is reduced to “blah blah blah” as a retort.

i win.

ranger 1
    tansie bill williams 0

• 124.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Good physical game this. Tipped Landers for an upset, and upset I am.

• 125.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

He said “Fair enough”

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: yes he was, hence the comparisons with sbw and tiger woods too :D

• 127.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Transie likes everything New Zealand, in fact I think he is a closet Eastern Cape Crusader. :lol:

• 128.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-98: Now Now Hugh. No need for amateur dramatics.
    The Sharks beat the Stormers (and I am delighted you realize THAT was your peak, and that the season can now be called a success) But whilst you celebrate a victory over us, a few of us still have to focus on the rugby at hand – as our seasons aren’t quite over yet.
    But because I am in a generous mood, I’m going to make you feel even better about that Sharks victory (yes,I am a caring person): Think of it – you fellows now have a 25% win record against us in the last 2 seasons. 1 out of 4 (dancinglikeamaniacandairpunchingsmiley) – so yes, that is reason to celebrate: pack out the fireworks, and enjoy.

• 129.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-116: Yes true chiefs must lose. But there is still superbru!

Chiefs will get it against Crusaders then Stormers will surge to the top of the log!

• 130.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105:
    no trans, the guys a doos-

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107:
    for transie it would seem, the moral make up of the individual is incidental or secondary or accidental to his exhibited sporting prowess on the field.

not really neccessary and somewhat better for him not to have any. far more desirable to see them display the finest of behaviour which ‘capitalism gone wild’ has to offer.

most shallow, no honour, big money, big car, big house, big women, no scruples jusr greed.

• 131.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

27-14 chiefs ,

• 132.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-120: @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-121: what does this have to do with him telling the ref to “fu c k off”??

reaching for justification of his behaviour are we now?

ho ho ho, its a slippery slope chaps, what applies to one applies to all.

• 133.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-126:

Ok. I picked up the tail end of this discussion, but it seems you guys are arguing over whether someone with star quality should still be appreciated for their talents despite being really horrible, horrible people who commit some horrible actions. E.G. Tiger Woods, Mike Tyson etc?

Is that the gist of it?

• 134.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-116:

Next week i’ll be shouting for the Crusaders to beat the Chiefs, how confused I got you now neh? :)

Obviously for the ‘Bru standings the Landers had little chance to beat the Chiefs, that’s why I’m backing them for a win but in the case of an upset I would’ve been OVA THA MOON.

• 135.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102: What the beejezus does Rafa’s LOOK have to do with you not liking him?
    Unless of course……..(villagepeopletennis101)

• 136.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-121:

he’s trailer park.

who loves himself even more than you do buddy.

another friday night in?

• 137.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-132:

its rugby these things happen, why are you so bitter about SBW?

• 138.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-129:

Dankie. Hope Tac gets it now.

• 139.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Tameifuna reminds me of Ollie Le Roux type prop, has great go forward and exceptional handling skills for a big bloke

• 140.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130: its sad, the bling culture.

i fear transformation will have a moral dilemma next year when the kiwis play against his kings.

i hope he comes through it all right :lol:

• 141.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130:

but hey… did you see his no look offload!!…

pfffftt

• 142.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133:

Sbw will be a star in my eyes if he donners somebody….and gets a red card….

• 143.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-100: @rangerman(rangerman)-100:
    schalk burger is a thousand times the man sbw will ever be.

• 144.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-136:

Hi funny guy, he a great athlete end of story, why are you so bitter toward him?

• 145.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-121: Not to mention his fabulous hairdo

• 146.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-119: Is that negotiable at all. Can we offer a Groupon voucher for a back wax and see if he bites?

• 147.spartan: Reply to this comment

SBW real one trick pony

• 148.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

Goeie f o k. The Chiefs should not be competing in Superugby against able bodied athletes. They have no arms and as such should be in the ‘Para-disabled rugby leagues’ – surely?

• 149.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-129: But why would any true rugby fan want that? Chiefs to pump Highlanders and Sharks to squeak into the top 6…(smiley face wif a winking eye)

• 150.viewer: Reply to this comment

Here we go, here we go

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

SBW biggest name in the game, shame you boys can’t accept that. Mobbed from London to Cape Town to Tokyo.

• 152.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

TRY Landers!

Gear worked hard all night, seems to be playing with more belief after last weekend’s Test.

• 153.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133: no, thats how transformation tried to spin the discussion.

i simply dissaprove of a player telling a ref to “f u ck off” when he is penalised.

transies argument is that sbw has star quality and isnt the first player to do it.

as usual though, he doesnt actually state anything or pin his colours to the mast, simply implies that its fine for sunni to behave like scum because of his aforementioned star qualities.

he is a slippery one this transformation :lol:

try landers!

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-137: no my little kiwifruit. its rugby, these things dont happen. understand?

• 154.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I don’t really get the Sonny hype. He has a good offload, but he’s kind of slow.

He makes a lot of tries with that one trick of his.

But he most certainly is no Chritian Cullen in terms of his impact on the game.

He’s good, but he doesn’t even make the All Black starting line up on a regular basis.

If he does, good for him, if he doesn’t, that’s also OK. Doesn’t make much difference to me.

I worry about Carter and Dagg a lot more than Sonny Boy.

• 155.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-139: Hopefully though he is not a toolbag like Ollie was

• 156.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Landers back in it

• 157.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

game on!

• 158.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151: Bigger than DC?

• 159.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-153:

why so bitter though, surely SA must also have a global superstar?

• 160.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-158:

• 161.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-146:

throw in a lady gaga ticket?

• 162.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-140:
    it should actually work out for him.
    luke is all about the money first and himself second.
    two teams of awsomeness on the field would be awesome squared for transie :lol:

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-127: hahaha no such luck… :mrgreen:

just not closeminded like some.

• 164.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-144:

he’s a ****.

I’m not suprised you can’t see that.

your homerotic hero worship won’t change a thing.

• 165.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-142: :lol:

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-143: they arent even remotely comparable. schalk is respected by his peers worldwide, sunni is widely viewed as a tunc.

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151: maybe in your world buddy, then again chinese censorship really seems to be takling its toll.

• 166.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

30 seconds to go and I’ll be 100% so far for the weekend on the Bru.

Like St. Heyneke after the 1st Test :)

• 167.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-154: I think SBW is a really good player and more than a one trick pony, he is defensivley sound and I don’t think he is slow by any strech. He also seems to have good vision. With that said though I don’t think he is a superstar, I think DC is more of a rugby superstar than SBW

• 168.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Love Taumalolo’s attitude in the game, real bulldog mentality. The guy lives or contact.

• 169.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133:
    Jooste?

• 170.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

For*

• 171.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-160: I dunno about that…he may be more of a superstar in a hollywood sense but in terms of pure rugby for me DC is way ahead of SBW…No slight on SBW but for me DC and even more importantly Ritchie Macaw are yards ahead of him

• 172.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-161: I’m afraid she’s considered a bit butch round these parts. They do like Josh Grobin though.

• 173.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-159: :lol: keep trying buddy, you can have him as your hero, i am cool with that.

why cant you accept that he is viewed as a tunc by most of the rugby world?

like reechee is known as the worlds most proficient cheat?

• 174.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Hou Chiefs hou!

• 175.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-164:

why is that, because he’s an international star, humble and makes lots of money, so bitter.

@rangerman(rangerman)-165:

not in my world buddy all over the world did you not see him mobbed in Cape Town he’s bigger than the Bokke in Cape Town, you shouldn’t be so bitter just appreciate the athlete that he is

• 176.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

victory to chiefs

• 177.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-162: :lol:

luke has been rested a lot this year haha.

• 178.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-142:
    he’s have to pull out one of those sharpened metal shanks popular with jailbirds and stab someone in the farking kidney before any kiwi ref would weigh up the balance of probabilities and use refs discretion to maybe give him a card.

• 179.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151: The fact that you like SBW says a lot about you as a person…

And possibly about your nation.

• 180.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Oooo weee :) 100% op jou brood!

• 181.viewer: Reply to this comment

Tough encounter but the chiefs hold on

• 182.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Nice the Chiefs will finish top of the tree this year.

• 183.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175: Have you ever been to Cape Town, Noodleboy?

• 184.TAJ BAR: Reply to this comment

That was close the Otago boys went down fighting.

• 185.rangerman: Reply to this comment

chiefs win it.

an accepotable result :lol:

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175: humble?

BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you are a funny guy china.

• 186.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

OK that helps my Sharks a little, atleast one off the back

• 187.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-179:

he’s a great athlete

• 188.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175: HUMBLE??? :shock:

And I thought English was your first language

• 189.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-183:

i’ve been to J’burg Durban and unfortunately Pretoria Biltong boy

• 190.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-182: arent you a blues fan? :lol:

where will they finish this year?

• 191.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-165:

Seriously!!! Boys watch him play and think the game is about offloading and flair….it should always be a bit dirty!!! He keeps his nose too clean!

Congrats chiefs…..And sharks lover….

• 192.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-187: lets not get sidetracked, you believe swearing at the ref is cool right?

• 193.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175:

why don’t you get out a bit.

meet some friends for a beer.

see the sights?

@>^..^< katman(katman)-172:

it’s the meatkini.

plays havoc with their delicate constitution.

• 194.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130: are you talking about joost? :D

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133: no, whether sbaw had say “thank you” to the ref it wouldn’t have changed rangerman, gallilie & willievz’s opinion of him…

i enjoy the way he plays his rugby and recognise his star quality…if that gets up rangerman’s nose then he can f.uck off and shoot fish :D

• 195.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-188:

have he ever done a Jake Fourie or a Spies, i’m the best in the world call, he donates money to charity and is a superb athlete whats the problem?
    I forgot to add his name to the SAFFA whine list last night, its getting so big its taking too long to type.

• 196.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-189:

Somebody say biltong…..would kill for some biltong….about to put a hairdrier against a frozen lambchop!!!!

• 197.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-190:

I am, they have had a terrible year, thats the way it goes sometimes i’m realistic unlike yourself you still think the Sharks can win the comp lol

• 198.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195:

you sound like a groupie.

• 199.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-192:

take up watching another sport you precious twat

• 200.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-198:

you sound like a guy who didn’t get enough when he was younger

• 201.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-200: SA DOES have a global superstar

his? her? name is Casta Semanya..

apparently a true representation of Saffa males… quality athlete :D

• 202.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-197: come now, excuse Rangerman, he can mock the Blues all he likes, its jealousy really….they still have 3 times the amount of Super trophies his team has..

• 203.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-201:

lol , we’ll have to add SBW to the SAFFA whine list, fark me it gets bigger by the day

• 204.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-200:

you sound like a guy who never gets any unless he slips the babysitter a lazy twenty for a happy ending.

and then sits alone on a friday night on a south african rugby blog complaining that people dont respect his idol.

not ideal.

• 205.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-168: When did he come on?

• 206.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-199: you have some problems buddy, take some time out, maybe a cup of greentea would help? :lol:

@Transformation(Transformation)-194: :lol: who is getting upset now.

we are all entitled to our opinions transformation. mine is simply the correct one in this instance, you are often correct though so dont let it get to you.

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-198: bud if you still have my mail addie, send me a mail i have something i want to discuss with you.

its along the line of what we discussed last time, although a different product.

• 207.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-154: he is certainly faster than francois steyn and more skills than wynand olivier, for a guy with a league background he’s down superbly well to keep a top notch player like nonu on the sidelines.

forget the “hype” and how much it is an antethesis of how you were raised (because we all know you cringe everytime you see francois hougaard’s tattoos or read that he is boning louis fish)

the boy has skills, klaar.

• 208.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-204:

yer but its true funny guy you didn’t get enough did you?

• 209.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-207: I think SBW only got the starting spot to give Nonu a rest, hes been playing rugby since the WC non stop… think Nonu will be starting in TRC personally..

• 210.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-201: Hey Pops, so how much is it?

• 211.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-206:

weren’t you the one asking me to get my turtle out the other night, perhaps its you who has the problem, just saying

• 212.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-202: easy now popps, i didnt mean to hit a nerve there, please dont go postal on us again :lol:

• 213.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-194:
    @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195:

he is just another believer from the sh**pshaging land, what is he to you boys?

• 214.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-210:

biltong boy, why did you want to know if i’d been to Cape Town I’m still waiting for the witty retort

• 215.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Sasuke

Came on in the last 15 minutes or so.

• 216.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-210: how much is what Katman? oh, are you mentioning my one post yesterday that got about 15 responses? mainly from the likes of you?

beautiful, good to see the red mist rises so easily when I post..

• 217.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195: Bakkies goes to church on Sundays, but if he told a ref to **** off to his face I can bet you he would have been banned for a few games. Star quality nothing, that is chav behaviour and something rugby prides itself on not having to deal with.

• 218.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-213:

stick to reffing conspiracies please

• 219.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-211: no, i called you a turtle.

dont go into your shell now, we are all mates here.

• 220.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-217:

Bakkies goes to church, he’d spend all morning in the confession cupboard.

• 221.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-207:

I don’t take your last paragraph as an insult, but rather see it as a compliment to you on how well you know me.

You are completely right that Hougaard’s tattoos make me cringe, as does whatever he gets up to with whichever tart.

Just like I can’t stand the De Jongh/Aplon foxtrot, or JP Pietersens swandive (which Jean has thankfully ordered him to stop doing with immediate effect).

Can’t stand that type of stuff, but I realise it is very much part of your culture.

Different strokes for different folks.

• 222.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-219:

nah you didn’t buddy

• 223.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-208:

what’s enough for me is more than enough for you.

why don’t you take the missus out for dinner and see where it takes you?

make a change from handski’s from nanny.

• 224.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-194:
    joost was rightly shamed for his actions.

some days you are really tjatjarag, trans.

• 225.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-217: thats my point, but to transformation its fine?

i dont really take the kiwis poiint of view on this too seriously as they are far too emotional to be rational about it.

• 226.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-214: You seemed to know an awful lot about what was and wasn’t popular here, so I assumed you must know the place intimately. Turns out you’re just another bulshitter, sitting on the other side of the world with little better to do. Can’t even make noodles, it seems.

• 227.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-217: so, is headbutting an opponent when his back is turned what we should expect from a church going boytie?

much like the kinghit from behind that broke Daltons jaw, tough guys you Saffas when your opponent isnt looking?

please, do give us more examples of what we dont need in rugby..

hilarious..

• 228.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-223:

no need to bring my wife into it you’re better than that son

• 229.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-220:
    bakkies is not catholic.

• 230.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-226:

we have the internet in China now I saw the TV pictures of him being mobbed in Cape Town, how does this make me a bullshitter?

• 231.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-220: That’s the attitude bud, proves the point though doesn’t it. Disgraceful act from a kiwi ‘superstar’ is coooool, just don’t let anyone else act like that.

Nice

• 232.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Oh FFS we are back to your peepee is smaller then my peepee, Bakkies is not even playing in the Super 15,

• 233.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-216: Sky TV, you tottie. You went off to ask your uncle or something, and the disappeared. Either he hijacked you to mow the backyard, or you still haven’t managed to find us a definitive answer.

• 234.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-228:

don’t be precious.

I suggested you get out a bit.

might cure you of your interest in other peoples lives.

@poppa69(poppa69)-216:

so how much is it?

• 235.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-233: dont have sky in Aus mate, but glad to see you cant help yourself..

wonderful… so, how many people in the townships have sky guy? Id imagine not many, but you keep yourself safe in your ivory tower mate… do you require a password to leave your gated community?

• 236.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-230: we also have the internet.

we get some pretty strange images here.

for instance, when the boks arrive in nz there are often a bunch of people standing around who are clearly so excited that their tongues are hanging out and they have taken off all of their clothes?

its strange but we are used to diversity.

• 237.spartan: Reply to this comment

SBW is the Justin Bieber of the rugby world
    whole lot of zero substance

• 238.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-236: :lol:

• 239.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-206: hahaha “mine is simply the correct one”

last outposr dynamic :mrgreen:

• 240.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-227: What really is hilarious is a kiwi pointing fingers in this instance, instead of actually criticising. Hypocrite much?

• 241.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-235: So you don’t know, in other words. You just watch and someone else pays. I bet you don’t pay for your own beer and bogroll either. The welfare state shrunk down to a manageable family size.

• 242.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-234:

i’m heading to a mountain tonight overlooking the city you can get a couple of nice loungers and watch the sun go down whilst drinking green tea, a very pleasant way to spend the evening

• 243.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-240: funny, arent you pointing fingers also?

looks like it to me, hypocrite much?

• 244.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-235: the question is “how much is it”?

• 245.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-206:

I will get it from agent dawn.

• 246.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I have to go, good night KEO friends.

• 247.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-242: Tell us about the noodles, Wokboy. That’s what really sells the place.

• 248.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-241: wow, so because you make an assumption its gospel?
    fark , you have the biggest opinion of yourself dont you katgirl, you really are a mamparra..

I pay 60 a month for the sport package on foxtel, worth every cent to watch SA teams lose consistently..

• 249.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-236:

Post of the day, that will upset Transie. :wink:

• 250.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-242:

that’s awesome.

you deserve some time off.

• 251.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-243: Fair enough, although it’s the first game of the weekend, yet to see any saffa’s play to point any fingers.

For the record a headbut to the back of the head is low. Should be a red card, as should swearing at the ref.

• 252.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-221: it wasn’t meant as an “insult” in the 1st place…i’m just saying not everyone that plays a sport i enjoy will mirror my values or upbringing. IMO that doesn’t detract from their obvious talent because goodness knows everyone thought michael jordan was a saint & he carried himself that way until his wife found out all his dirt and took HALF!

have a look @ joost too.

if sbw was a catholic or born-again christian zealot or a f.ucking Mormon it would change a thing about how enjoy the way he plays rugby! :D

• 253.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-248:

so satellite is not more expensive in oz and pongoland?

now shutthefuckup.

• 254.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Greenfever(Greenfever)-251: I agree with you on the swearing tbh… didnt see the game so cant really comment on the incident..

• 255.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-207: SBW is a supremely talented athlete and if he was South African most of us (myself inlcuded) would be singing his praises as is worthy of a Messiah like player.

I don’t think he is a ‘bad’ person, but I do think his management team have turned him into something that is not good for rugby union. NZ needed a rockstar rugby player to re-ignite the increased lack of interest in union. SBW did that in a big way.
    But that manager of his, don’t think he has helped SBW’s image much.

• 256.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-221: you don’t know my “culture” :D

• 257.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-253: gees, looks like someone really needs another reefer, withdrawals already dope boy?

• 258.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-257:

calm down.

admit you were wrong.

you tried to be a smug superior little twat and it ended badly for you.

keo is a forgiving place.

• 259.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Pooper
    You get “township tv” in a lot of townships.
    5 by 9m screens with speakers that are on a platform,these are situated in parks and all the major sports events are shown and people go and relax,braai and watch sport.
    @china
    Do you ever take your wife out to dinner or visit friends?
    You are always here.

• 260.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-245: cool

@poppa69(poppa69)-248: so presumably you turn the tv off when sa teams win?

• 261.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

I know SBWs manager, know him quite well, whatever negative comments you have of him, I can confirm, the guys is well, you know what I mean…

• 262.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-258: so how much is “satellite” in SA gunther?

• 263.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-248: That’s suspiciously affordable. Is it because it’s largely made up of Neighbours reruns? And does the whole $60 come off your pocket money?

• 264.willievz: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-255: Quite the contrary.

Us Saffas are very quick to criticise sportsmen who are charismatic, seem overly confident. Think Herschelle Gibbs, Llewellyn Herbert, Phillip Burger, Andre Nel, etc.

We like the more traditional kind who do what we tell them to and behave on the field.

Guys like SBW and Shane Warne would not have had distinguished careers in SA.

• 265.poppa69: Reply to this comment

anyone?

how much is satellite tv in SA per month?

• 266.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-258:

• 267.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-263: so how much is it Katman?

• 268.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-262:

we call it satellite tv because that’s how it works apparently.

yours must work differently.

around R600 ZAR.

• 269.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-265:
    its about 70 or 80 ozzie dollars i think.

• 270.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-268: ours is actually cable TV Gunther, we have the infrastructure to run fibre optics directly into homes… maybe one day you guys will too..

• 271.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-267: @poppa69(poppa69)-262: R655 per month for Extraview (more than one set in the house).

If you lived here, you’d probably opt for Top TV, which is about a quarter of that.

• 272.stew: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-255: I really dont think there is a lack of interest in union in NZ ?

• 273.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The origin of the satelite TV cost debate was to find out how much each country actually contributes to the Super Rugby broadcast deal.

As it turns out, we easily pay as much per subscription as the Aussies and Kiwis do. Only we have twice as many viewers of Super Rugby as the Aussies and Kiwis combined.

Meaning we contribute two thirds of the pie, and yet get only a little above one third back.

Time to prepare properly for the next round of negotations, when the current TV deal expires. Then its our way or the highway.

• 274.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-255: i don’t know sbw’s manager and don’t care about him in the same way i don’t know james o’connor or francois steyn’s agents!

my opinion of sbw ends when he shakes hands with other players after 80 mins of rugby, what he does outside of the field is of no interest to me.

the other day i posted a quote of what Steve Tew said about how their dealings with sbw have been (meaning his manager) and i don’t know if you got the impression that they think he is a “knobber” :D

• 275.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-270:

that’s so awesome.

now explain how south africans pay less to watch the rugby

that’s the bit I want to hear.

• 276.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-271: so you guys pay more then us, well done.. guess the extra must be for all the tenderpreneurs salaries?

• 277.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-273: We actually pay around 80 Aussie dollars, which is more than they pay. But we get KykNet and Generations for the extra bucks, so definitely worth it.

• 278.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-271:

he’ll be able to get all his cartoons though.

• 279.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-264: exactly, a showboat like hougaard is only tolerated at the bulls because they think he is the best the country has and he got an endorsement from fdp!

• 280.stew: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-274: The only good thing about DSTV is the sport – it is world class imo the best sports channel provider in the world – the rest of it is pure S@H*I*T

• 281.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-276: I think he’s dividing the population into a monthly subscription and then multiplying this by the cost of a Big Mac, less the spot price of Brent Crude to the power of his pocket money.

• 282.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-273: of course, because its only viewers from those 3 countries who watch super rugby isnt it?

please, if you guys had any decent administrators they would bargain for a better deal, but we all know that without Aus/NZ, you guys would have to revert back to playing like you did in isolation..

the NH dont want you guys either… rather a sad state of affairs really..

• 283.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-277:

I see the PayTV channels say that unbundling of PayTV channels will lead to the loss of a lot of niche channels that can’t support themselves otherwise.

Bring it on, I say.

Why should I be subsidizing the HomefoodNetwork or Fashion TV or Malawi TV or whatever those strange African channels are that I always skip at speed.

Can’t wait for unbundling to happen.

• 284.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-264:

you mean like Fleckie?

• 285.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-283: Swazi TV would go down, alongside Rhema TV and the Learning Channel. Fck em, I say. All I want is the sports plus the movies plus BBC plus Discovery.

• 286.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-270: so you are saying running cable is far more advanced than wireless?

you live in aus also, so what is this “we”?

as an aside to these questions, who gives a toss really, aussies will soon drink seawater and nz has the economy of a small dairy farm in the kzn midlands.

we will tell you how much it is.

and you will pay and say thank you sir.

or we will send you back to standing on the sidelines of a paddock in the driving rain, drinking far too much to try and keep warm.

lets see you take your kit off and pull funny faces then.

• 287.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-264:

how can you say that and then use Hercshey as an example who did have a distinguished career?

it makes no sense.

I

• 288.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-282:

“There have also been reports of some great viewing numbers in the United Kingdom, with BSkyB reporting an average of 35,000 live in-home viewers per Super Rugby match”

That means UK viewers are around 3.5m cumulatively. That’s 10% of the South African viewership, and barely half of the Aussie viewership.

Our 35 million viewers still represent well over 60% of the equation.

• 289.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-286: No, those are their normal faces.

• 290.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-285:

Pretty much my view too.

• 291.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-283:

“Why should I be subsidizing the HomefoodNetwork or Fashion TV or Malawi TV or whatever those strange African channels are that I always skip at speed.”

BWAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!

come now, who doesnt indulge in a nice nigerian thriller full of convoluted plot twists and amateur actors filmed on a sony vhs handicam from time to time?

• 292.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-288: I went to a restaurant in the Seychelles that had Supersport on. And I also caught Supersport in a bar on Zanzibar once. So you can also take those 2 off the 35 000 000.

• 293.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-280: ummm, i don’t work for Multichoice so i don’t care :D

• 294.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-288: well, if you guys arenbt savvy enough to use that as a bargaining tool then you only have yourselves to blame..

SA has 10 times the population of NZ, so you should have at least 4 times the number of viewers shouldnt you?

• 295.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-288: is this 35 millions viewers each weekend?

• 296.poppa69: Reply to this comment

dinners ready, thanks for the entertainment guys… well done Chiefs…

• 297.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-295:

No, it’s the total after 100 matches up to the International break this year.

Hence average of 350k per game, over all games (including games involving Aussie sides, which probably attract only guys stuck in traction in a hospital bed and thus forced to watch whatever’s on TV and maybe the odd homeless guy standing in front of the display window of a Game or Makro store.)

• 298.willievz: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-287: He should still be playing test and ODI cricket.

He never lived up to his potential and, if you read between the lines, got dropped because of his attitude.

• 299.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-296: Don’t get food poison Poppa !!

• 300.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-287: I see our Capo finds himself in the Uk these days: ***-case-1.1330626#.T-2F8Ssthd8" rel="nofollow">http://www.iol.co.za/news/world/husband-guilty-in-dog-***-case-1.1330626#.T-2F8Ssthd8

• 301.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-297: thanks…how accurate are those stats (do you know the methodology) as i watch the morning games at home and the afternoon/evening ones mostly at the pub?

• 302.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-272: Your numbers were falling dude. Viewership, registered players, bums on seats in stadiums etc. Which is why I for one (and I know I am in a minority group of Saffas here) was not at all distressed when NZ won the World Cup.
    The rejuvenation is evident in your S15 numbers.

• 303.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Mitchell suspension not only player-driven
    Ockert de Villiers, Sapa | 28 June, 2012 16:160 Comments

Golden Lions Rugby Union (GLRU) president Kevin de Klerk on Thursday denied that the suspension of coach John Mitchell was based purely on players’ complaints.

“It is inaccurate to say it is a player-driven thing and I would like us to move away from that,”De Klerk told reporters in Johannesburg.

“It was inclusive of a number of processes and it wasn’t necessarily the players on their own, and that is the way the position stands.”

News reports last week stated that Mitchell was suspended due to players lodging a “list of grievances” with the GLRU.

De Klerk said he could not divulge details of the allegations levelled against Mitchell.

“We are not at liberty to disclose that information and I think you would also have empathy with the Lions’ situation in terms of the subjudice nature of the case,” he said.

“We cannot divulge information around that action obviously, for presenting John (Mitchell) with the opportunity to defend [himself against] the allegations, and without exposing ourselves as the Lions to certain further actions against us.”

He denied that captain Joshua Strauss led the reported player revolt against the coach.

“This is still subjudice and we can’t say that Josh led that process towards that, and it is inaccurate to say that,” he said.

“There are a number of issues that we are addressing that involve the suspension.”

De Klerk said he could not give a deadline for the process to be finalised, but they would deal with it expeditiously.

“It could take a week, it could take two weeks,” De Klerk said.

“We would seek to obviously wrap the thing up as quickly as possible but you know, how long is a piece of string with these type of actions? We are hopeful that we will have a quick resolution to it.”

Mitchell last season led the Lions to their first Currie Cup title since 1999, but the outfit has managed just two wins in the Super Rugby competition this year. They languish in 14th position on the log. They also lie bottom of the South African conference log and will not be able to improve their placing with just three games remaining.

In the interim Mitchell has been replaced by assistant coach Johan Ackermann, who had a tough time fielding a barrage of questions from the media on Thursday.

Ackermann said he would only focus on preparing the team for their next Super Rugby match against the Stormers on Saturday and he did not want any part in the matter between the GLRU and Mitchell.

“I had a good relationship with John and I’ve learnt a lot from John, so I can’t fault that,” said Ackermann.

“My passion is just rugby, and with what is happening between John and the Union, I’m not involved with that. I just want to prepare the side as well as I can.

“I am still the assistant coach in my eyes and I want to do as good a job as I can and let it go its way.”

• 304.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-298:

the clue is in your words he never lived up to his potential.

you can’t compare him to shane warne who was a maverick but worked incredibly hard at his game.

the fact is that herschelle had a long and distinguished career, how it ended was up to him.

if what you said was true he never would have had much of a shot in the first place.

look at his average in the first 4 series he played.

He is one of my favourite cricketers but very frustrating.

I would love him to be playing t20 for south africa.

• 305.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-300:

its been removed!

Capo has friends in low places.

• 306.willievz: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-304: He never lived up to his potential, partly his own fault.

But would he have achieved a higher test batting average than 41 in a cricket country that would be more accommodating to his flamboyance / unconventional ways?

It’s just speculation, I know. But it’s also a thought.

• 307.RefuGSpot: Reply to this comment

I’d like to see Sony Bi-tch Williams try that with Etzebeth.

• 308.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-306: what about James Small? Even Bullet…your speculation is just that.

• 309.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@RefuGSpot(garth)-307: didn’t see the game – what exactly happened?

• 310.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-264:
    Willie I completely disagree with that post.

If you good enough and MENTALLY strong to handle the pressure you will rise above the criticism.
    Hersch was so talented that many think he never had a distinguished career but he did.
    I’m sorry but Andre Nel was just plain kak. Yoh, its toss up between him and Jaco Van De Westhuizen as SA craziest sports person.

Oh maybe also throw Kenny Jackson into the mix. :lol:

• 311.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-306:

but why?

herschelles problem was never his flamboyance?

his huge talent was such that he didn’t need/want to work as hard as he should.

he never lived up to his potential.

all his own fault.

however he still had a long a distinguished career and will go down as a great south african cricketer.

he could have been the greatest of all time.

Warne was flamboyant sure but he grafted.

Not apples with apple imo.

• 312.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-311:
    I’m sorry Gunth but Herschelle put allot of effort into fitness.

Just didn’t understand the concept, “their’s a time and a place for everything”

• 313.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Is the guy who scored those 2 goals last night for Italy, Italian?

• 314.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-311: March 2006 at the Wanderers, Hersch at the crease….the Ozzies didn’t like them apples.

• 315.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-310:

hehe, kenny is quite a character- he used to run marathons between or even during cricket matches- i think he is the half brother of jonothan Trott?
    Another crazy SA rugby player was Michael du Plessis.
    he was nearly as mad as Bruce Grobbelaar although Bruce was Zimbo and a soccer player.
    many goalies are crazy or at least eccentric – a bit like drummers in rock bands.
    Gary Bailey is an exception.

• 316.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-312:

But not enough into batting.

He’ll tell you he disliked nets etc.

Barry Richards was the same.

If you tell me he worked as hard at his game as a guy like Warne you are mad.

And towards the end of his career there were a few times when his fitness looked very dodgy.

He is one of the most natural athletes the world has ever seen so he got away with a lot.

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-310:

I see your Jaco and raise you James Dalton.

(James Small gets an honourable mention).

• 317.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-313:

yes, borne and bred.

• 318.willievz: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-308: @the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-311: @Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-312:

I think we are making too big a meal out of this.

All I want to say is that whenever Shane Warne cheats or dopes, or when Freddie Flintoff passes out, their hero-status improves in their respective countries.

If a SA sportsman does the same, he often (in most cases?) gets chastised by the public. Rightly or wrongly.

• 319.RefuGSpot: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-309: SBW was slapping the Highlanders locks.

• 320.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-317:

I thought so – he even has an Italian surname

• 321.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-320:

he is a ‘malletjie” but at the moment probably the national hero of Italy.

• 322.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

It just shows again: don’t cast your pearls before the swine-steiger

• 323.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@RefuGSpot(garth)-319: Coenie wil doodpoes him ;)

• 324.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-318:

I disagree.

Flintoff was derided for his escapades in the press and public domain.

As was Warne for doping.

poor examples imo.

Quade Cooper would be better, what’s his hero status like?

The one you are searching for is probaly Andrew Symmonds.

who got dropped for his poor vibe.

However saffers are more conservative it’s true.

• 325.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-316:
    He probably went to gym to pull the chicks.

Takes a lot of discipline for 1000 throw downs a session. But thats what was needed when his hand eye co-ordination started to let him down from 2007 onwards.

• 326.ufo: Reply to this comment

met and chatted to hershelle several times…

one of the most genuine, agenda-free, what you see is what you get, likable guys you’ll ever meet… got on with and liked just about everyone… and just about everyone who meets him will like him too…

could’ve taken up ANY sport and been a world-beater at it… he was that naturally gifted… many people who have had anything to do with him sports-wise will tell you he is the most gifted sportsman most of them have ever met… had hand-eye coordination second to none…

but gunther is correct in that he never put much effort into anything dimly because he never had to… he always got by on his natural athletic ability… and will tell you himself he’s never read a book… i think he felt people who practiced so much were somehow inferior and couldn’t understand the need for it… sure he would practice but not with the diligence and purpose of other guys… he’d just do it to have fun and tank the bowlers all over the place… i don;t think hershelle worked on or even thought about his ‘technique’ for a minute in his entire life… he just had it… it was an instinctive, thoughtless process for him…

i always say don’t take yourself too seriously… but hershelle took not taking himself too seriously way too seriously… :wink:

he could have been our best ever and one of the worlds best ever… IF he had taken himself just a little more seriously and put in a little more meaningful practice and effort…

but a great (if less complex) guy…

• 327.ufo: Reply to this comment

dimly = mainly

• 328.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-326: he had other uses for newspapers…

• 329.ufo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-328:

he was not shy to have a good time…

• 330.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-324: Symmonds is a nutter full stop – but a good sort of nutter :) I always had him in my Fantasy league cricket teams over the years.
    I remember reading an interview with him after his final ‘blowout’ and he said after the he had been on a long fishing trip to clear his mind ……and that on it’s own summed up the great man, legend.

• 331.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-326:

in a nutshell.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-330:

I always thought him a co.ck.

I loved it when Makka put him on his arse at Wanderers.

You play fantasy cricket?

You are sure you are a chick?

• 332.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

That “dropped catch” in the ’99 World Cup still pisses me off though. If only.

Apparently Warnie called it in the team discussion before the game.

• 333.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-315: Michael du Plessis was a legend. Some of his outstanding oddities include:
    1) Being pulled out of a girlfriends flat on intervarsity morning by Danie Craven himself to go and play for Maties
    2)Kneeing a would be Northern Transvaal tackler in the face, after getting up after scoring a try at Newlands
    3) Covering the sonsor’s logo on his Bok jersey with duct tape because he thought they did not pay enough
    4) Warming up while “Die Stem” was playing and teamamtes were at attention.

On top of this a brilliant player – probably the best 12 we ever had

• 334.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-331: I am a chick. Girl Guides honour.

Some ‘chicks’ grew up in households where rugby and cricket were more important than grocery shopping and breathing.
    So sport 1st, everything else 2nd – that’s the way I roll.

I loved it when Symmonds SBWilliamsed that ball clanging streaker……career highlight.

• 335.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Paul Adams is finally head coach at the Cobras

My picture will be complete if Bolla Conradie can take up the equiv role at the WP Rugby Union

• 336.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-333:

2) Giepie Nel – NTvl flyhalf…

both competing for the Bok 10 jersey while Naas dallied with the Cowboys…

• 337.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-333:
    @ufo(ufo)-336:

bottom right hand corner of Newlands from the Grandstand…

watched him with binos… brutal… by any standards… he had long hair and beard at that stage…

yeah… our best 12 ever…

• 338.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-336: It’s all coming back to me now

• 339.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Maybe this has been discussed here earlier this week…

Why didn’t Heyneke bring on Elton Jantjies when Morné was not coping?

Only 2 players on the bench did not get a chance to run on – Jantjies and Bjorn Basson??

• 340.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-338:

hehe…

yeah… we could do with some of his attitude in the boks today…

• 341.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-334:

no hands in the ruck.

• 342.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Where is Tegnikus?

I would like to hear his views on why Jantjies and Basson did not get a run?

It’s Heyneke’s 3rd test and the cracks are showing big time

• 343.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-334: You are not female are you?

• 344.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-343: I am. But many seem to question this, so label me whatever you wish (just not a Bulls or Sharks fan)

• 345.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-339: I wouldn’t have brought Basson on but giving Jantjie a run with 20mins to go might have in hindsight been a good call

• 346.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-344: Eish! Ok so on the positive side we have a “chick” who loves rugby but on a negative side one that doesn’t support the sharks…hhmmmmm

• 347.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-339:

Asked and answered.

• 348.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-339: mario is born to ghananian immigrants, because he was sick as kid and they didn’t hve dough they put him to child services and was put in foster care with the balotellis who raised him. he only got italian citizenship when he turned 18 as the balotellis hadn’t adopted him.

he is talented but uber self-destructive, arrogant, belligerent, self-obsessed, CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 349.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-345:

Why not give Basson a run?

He is the best we have in ‘the air’ and the game was completely locked.

It’s not a case of Elton ‘might have been’ a good call – it was the obvious call; Elton would have taken the ball up and created space within minutes.

Justin Marshall said on Reunion that he likes the Bok squad but if they play the same old pattern they will battle. Now Marshall is the most frank and consistent commentator you will find (Mexted no longer preferred)

So Meyer’s style is in effect REGRESSION

The ABs can score 40 against us with our current style of play

• 350.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-347:

Is that your way of blaming me for not blogging every single day? Do you miss me that much?

• 351.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-348:

I see.

Would you say that your last paragraph is an accurate description of the average Italian?

• 352.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-347: Mormon secret greeting ^5 Bruvva.

• 353.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

At the end of Meyer’s tenure we would have had an uninterrupted period of 12 years of Bok rugby that lacked creativity

The White-Matfield-Du Preez-Meyer era.

We are on dangerous ground; Steve Hansen and Robbie Deans would have noticed the obvious step in the wrong direction.

Boks rely on breaking the adv line with forwards but as they are too slow it gives the opposition time to reset. Your 10-12 axis should do that and THEN offload!

Why are we so retarded??

• 354.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-349: marshall recognised that meyer is implementing what he, marshall, perceives as the blue bulls style and that if steyn is struggling like he is now it will be difficult for the boks as this gameplan (in marshall’s view) is tailored around morne. he even chirped that if he was in charge he would change it.

those kiwis saw what the bokke did to england in the 1st half in jozi and acknowledged that it was direct & brutal & yielded success however fleeting.

the question is can the boks maintain that same intensity for 80 mins like the all blacks managed to put the oirish to the sword until the 80 mins were up?

• 355.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I didn’t see the AB game against the Irish

But to beat them 60-0 I knew they must have done the following:

* Speed up the game (quick ball from ruck)
    * Breach with back-line players and offload
    * Support runners both left and right

It’s as simple as that; when I saw the hilites it was 100% that.

• 356.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-351: no. mario is uniquely bonkers..

• 357.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-354:

No they wont be able to sustain it; it’s a recipe to drain energy

The ABs will have a very simple recipe for the Boks; see post 355

Boks anyway always nervous and tentative when playing the ABs so it will become one big massive party for Dan Kara to then do this and then that

I guess what Justin is saying that it is sad to see a team with so many talented players play such stupid rugby

And to my mind it is classic Afrikaner mentality: he wants to say that he dominated physically but lost on the scoreboard

• 358.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-335: @Sheriff(Sheriff)-339: Jeez, is it National Admire My People Day again? Doesn’t feel like a year has gone by.

• 359.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Wynand Olivier has played so many games in the Bok jumper and did not deliver at any stage

He is so predictable and must be a pleasure to play against

With Meyer leaning towards Olivier it shows his lack of understanding of backline play; but they will prolly blame Ricardo Loubscher again

Meyer’s 9-10-12 trio will cause his downfall if he does not re-imagine this part of Bok play; they will carve us up in pieces

• 360.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-349: And take off a firing JP or Habana?

• 361.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-355: best example of that was the 1st sbw try, 1st phase cruden receives the ball at pace with hosea on his left shoulder tearing the track up, cruden shows it to his left – sexton commits to gear, cruden steps to the right, runs straight at paddy wallace breaks the line, wallace grapples and gets his hands on him, 20 cm or so off the ground cruden throws the no-look sbw collects at pace….BOOM.

that was sublime.

• 362.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

The angst towards Sbw from some is bewildering. If they were honest Sbw has brought a consistent skill level to the game that marks him a superstar, it is not his fault that there is no other player out there that can bring to the game what he can and be humble about it.
    The direct approach of the Boks will definitely cause Abs a heap of trouble, but the counter punch of the Abs can be devastating, will come down to who has the belief over 80 min

• 363.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-358:

Would you have preferred for me not to ask the question?

Why not? With whites trying to be darker and blacks trying to be lighter it seems some of us hit the desired sweet spot- don’t blame me kwedini, it’s the way the world is going

• 364.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-360:

Olivier or Morne Steyn the obvious ones to come off

• 365.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-357: “And to my mind it is classic Afrikaner mentality:” are you suggesting that Afrikaners like Hawies Fourie, Carel du Plessis who enjoy(ed) and coach(ed) intelligent backline play were veering away from their “cultural” heritage/mentality?

• 366.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-362: For me it’s not about whether SBW is a good player or not, clearly he is, but DC is a great. SBW may be a superstar sportmans man due to his ability to suceed in three different sports but in just Unions eyes he is currently very good but not yet a great, he needs a couple more years of consistent performances (the way he is going now) and then he will be a great.

• 367.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-364: Exactly…and that’s why i said not Basson

• 368.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-361:

A bit of commentary right there – wasn’t sure whether I should hear it with Blades or Stransky’s voice :-) Or worse Nesbo

Before I forget: I wanted to give you a compliment about your blogging here on keo. And I only say this because I know how much sacrifice it takes and remembering your ‘days of humble beginnings’ here on keo

But right now, you must me among the top 3 bloggers here on keo.co.za; remember I never rate quantity – only content or quality

• 369.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-363: Blah blah blah… Where is your little rant about Mark Lottering being overlooked for some comedy gig? Or Gerald Morkel no longer running the show here in Cape Town? Your little inferiority shoulder chip is so predictable.

• 370.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-366:
    Yes longevity is the mark of greatness but Sbw’s skill level sets him apart as a superstar in my opinion.

• 371.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-365:

We must never focus on exceptions and pretend its the norm.

Afrikaners’ biggest strength is also their biggest weakness; the German and Dutch genes give them a physical adv in physical sports like rugby

Where they’re getting stuck is the inability or unwillingness to understand that rugby must be played ‘smarter’

Direct rugby is naive; playing into space is smarter

• 372.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-369:

When I come to //Hui! Gaeb again I will drive you into the c

c u there

• 373.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-370: I don’t disagree and I do think he have brought something fresh to the game but for me he has a way to go still to be mentioned in the same breath as say DC, Ritchie Maccaw, Fourie Du Preez or Victor Matfield etc….

• 374.willievz: Reply to this comment

Answer to your question: yes, but…

The “but” bit includes picking a better bench.

• 375.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-372: I’ll be honest with you, I don’t use minibus taxis very often. So the chances of you driving me anywhere are pretty slim.

• 376.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Have to dash mates

(I think I need to excl katman in my last word in the sentence above, I think its fair)

• 377.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-373:
    Agree…Sbw will have to play a heap more games to be up there with those guys.

• 378.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-374: I think if we continue the way we are playing, a 5-2 forward split on the bench is a must to keep up the intensity.

• 379.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-373: what you’re referring to is legendary status and not star quality. derrick rose, carmelo anthony, kevin durant all have star quality but cannot be named in the league of his airness at the moment.

sbw, for a guy in his 2nd year of union is something special!

• 380.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Snaaks

• 381.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-316: I’ll raise you one Lucas van Biljon.

• 382.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

.@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-333: And a fine dentist.

• 383.ufo: Reply to this comment

gotta love this…

http://www.fin24.com/Business/SA-man-top-earner-in-Australia-20071217

• 384.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-383: Ha ha, that won’t go down well with Wallabie.

• 385.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-383:

In Oz, they refer to saffas as the boat people. Because after 5 years there, every saffa seems to a bleeding boat.

• 386.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-385:

seems to have a …

• 387.ufo: Reply to this comment

katman
    iaas

:evil:

• 388.cab: Reply to this comment

Nee kak – meyer is quite right that rugby is about winning the collisions – 90% right – I’ve listened to okes talking about playing into the spaces but u got the wrong game that us roundball and god knows when it’s played right there few better playmakers but there very few of them maybe beckham but he is a poefda – bottomline meyer is right but he must tweak his bloubul **** otherwise he get fkd fkd upbwoese than all tge other coaches and left wondering who kicked his knaters in – pick variety – 1 or 2 ballrunners at most and that’s at no 8 – pick an enforcer and let him enforce, pick a ball carrier and let him dra bal ekse.

• 389.cab: Reply to this comment

Must say tho I think both etsebeth and juandra are pretty good – fk me who else got such young locks and still competing? But I suspect that elstadt must get picked at 4 and etsebeth and Kruger compete for a few years for 5 – what a lekker stukkie.

• 390.cab: Reply to this comment

Yessus these etoyers can etitr kak – chiefs accuracy at the breakdown – I didn’t even watch this game and I know it’s going to be between the highlanders steamrollers andctge chiefie strikerunners and I would normally go for krag but chiefs got just enough upfront to rip them a new one outwide unless u really dominate them

• 391.cab: Reply to this comment

Writers can write kak…

• 392.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-391:
    Hi cab…we bloggers can blog a bit of kak too..!!

• 393.cab: Reply to this comment

Lol carol – cracker – exactly right

• 394.cab: Reply to this comment

I’ve got no go-forward myself these days – WTF is wrony with Africa – they all like happy joker naka drotske of hoe?

Between keo and joost all the powder sniffed – what more is there to say – any intelligent conversation or just rutting pretend maar net?

• 395.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-389:
    Abs do with Romano and Retallick

• 396.viewer: Reply to this comment

Sona Taumololo really clears a ruck properly. I noticed he pays attention to the timing of his clean, & then bang! It doesn’t matter the size of the men lying there

• 397.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-255:

“NZ needed a rockstar rugby player to re-ignite the increased lack of interest in union.”

really ?

‘In figures released ahead of the tournament’s return following the three-week international break, Sanzar said a cumulative figure of 9.92 million people in New Zealand watched the 100 matches in the first 15 rounds on television, an increase of 32 per cent on last year.

New Zealand stadia averaged 16,842 fans per match compared to 12,217 at a similar stage last season, an increase of 37 per cent.’

On population ratios (NZ 4m, SA 50m) an average crowd of 16,842 in NZ is equal to an average crowd of 210,525 in SA.

Maybe its about time SA needs to find their own rockstar, Elvis Presley is apparently available and has a handy sidestep.

• 398.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-288:

“Our 35 million viewers still represent well over 60% of the equation.”

SA at 50m peoples still has 2 X as many people as Australia (21m) and NZ (4m) put together.

As for attendance figures, SANZAR also reports that “South Africa’s average match attendance also dipped”

The average crowd attendance in SA is 26,651 which is equivalent to a crowd of 2,132 in NZ.

• 399.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-398:
    Not too sure, too simplistic
    Ticket buyers in SA are mostly whites, about 5 Millions which are approx 10% of the whole population?
    Soccer is almost 100% africans watchers, while cricket is really dwindling in attendance last 20 years whichhas been a relief to those living around the Wanderers in Melrose and Illovo

• 400.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-398:
    Oh my, another keewee trying to big up the little islands.I bet if there was a wanking competition you would try and tell us you are the best.Guess what you are.

• 401.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-397:

work those stats… massage them every which way you can… :lol:

well with all the dosh your “equivalent crowd” of 210,525 per game must be bringing in NZ rugby must be one of the richest rugby unions in the world…

or maybe your equivalent crowd is as relevant as the money they pay for their equivalent seats…?

sniiiiiifffff…

mmmm… how i love the smell of desperation in the morning…

• 402.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-401: and yet none of you Saffas complained when NZ’s whinge at the World cup has now brought you guys a windfall from the IRB huh? you all moaned at NZ’s whinge, but quite rightly shut up now you benefit from the extra money each WC year…

says it all really..

• 403.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Transformation@365.Well said

• 404.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-402:

poppa… told you before… i speak for me and me alone… and am responsible alone for what i say…

find me specific comments i made around these issues that vex you so… and perhaps i may respond to those…

i responded to a specific poster who made a specific comment which made little sense…

why no comment about my specific comment about his specific comment…? agree or disagree with me or donkeykong about his specific statistical manipulations…

“none of you saffas” “you all moaned”…? *sigh* generalisation upon generalisation… won’t crack it and are not worthy of a dignified response

told you before… save your trolling for people who are interested or actually care… you may find some of them here… but i ain’t one of ‘em… :wink:

otherwise… trust you’re well…?

enjoying super 15 again…?

how about those hurricanes hey…?

• 405.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-399:

which as if to say 5m white South Africans are the only fans of rugby. Which is, clearly, rubbish.

in NZ, mostly of the 4m population are still divided in rival, successful, codes such as R.League (World Champions, and non-existent in SA), basketball (Champions of Aus pro comp), soccer (unbeaten at World Cup, highly competitive at all youth grades), sailing (best in World) and a host of other minor, albeit popular, sports.

And in Aus, R.Union is about the 5th/6th major Winter code.

Simplistic enough for you ?

• 406.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks(snivelling little kiwi pricks)-400:

Thanks for reminding us of the major rival code in SA.

• 407.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-401:

No, not the richest.

Merely the best.

SA, unfortunately for you, is neither.

• 408.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-402:

and the moral lectures that went with it, with only 2 of the SANZAR partners with enough balls to make what was a major call and great risk.

and yet the Caster partner can win Gold without any. The eunuch nation should hand it all back.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.