Chiefs charge into play-offs

JON CARDINELLI watched the Chiefs beat the Highlanders 27-21 in Dunedin to book their place in the Super Rugby knockout rounds.

This victory, as so many of the Chiefs’ results in 2012, was built on a robust and accurate performance at the breakdown.

Their option taking and tactical kicking wasn’t always good, but they maintained their intensity at the tackle throughout the game. This allowed them to resist the Highlanders in the first 40, and then secure the result in the second stanza.

The Highlanders had the best of both territory and possession in the first half, but were undone by the determined Chiefs defence. They enjoyed frequent surges into the Chiefs’ 22 but surrendered the ball when the visitors loaded the rucks and pressured scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The All Blacks No 9 was forced to rush his pass or drop the ball as the rabid Chiefs forwards piled into the ruck with unstoppable momentum.

The Chiefs showcased their counter-attacking threat during this period, using a breakdown turnover to create a try for wing Tim Nanai-Williams. However, they were fortunate that they didn’t concede more points in the first half. Their tactical kicking was poor, and several wayward kicks by Aaron Cruden prevented them from escaping their own territory.

The Highlanders weren’t good enough to use this territorial advantage to edge ahead on the scoreboard. In fact, a late lapse allowed the Chiefs to score eight points right before half-time, a purple patch of scoring that effectively won the game for the visitors.

Cruden extended the Chiefs lead to 21-9 right after the break, and from there the Highlanders were chasing the game. Given their impotency on attack during the early stages and the manner in which they were losing the collisions, it appeared an impossible task.

They enjoyed some good fortune when the TMO awarded a controversial try. The Chiefs had done well to contest a lineout and tip the ball back on their side, but the Highlanders reacted quickly to put the visitors under pressure.

It seemed as if Tawera Kerr-Barlow had the ball on the ground before Andrew Hore ripped it away and planted it beyond the tryline. It seemed a clear case of hands in the ruck, although between the officials it was decided that Hore’s steal was legal and that the try would stand.

Chris Noakes missed the subsequent conversion but the Highlanders were suddenly just seven points behind. The Chiefs enjoyed more territory in the period that followed, and although Cruden would miss a shot at goal, the pressure applied by his forwards created another opportunity. The three points stretched the Chiefs’ lead to 10 with only 15 minutes remaining.

The Highlanders grew more desperate and this impacted on their discipline. They infringed right in front of their own poles and Cruden banked another penalty.

Hosea Gear managed to power over from close range in the 77th minute to set up a frantic finish. But in the end it was the Chiefs defence that had the final say.

The result sees the Chiefs consolidating their position at the top of the log. Their next two matches will determine whether they host a play-off or not, but it will be a comfort to know that they’ve already booked their place in the final six.

The defeat is a blow to the Highlanders’ play-off ambitions. They have just one match remaining before a bye in the final round. Even if they win next week, they will need a few other results to go their way in order to make the final cut.

408 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95:

Good to see you’re still hanging in there Tac.

Post another rugby thesis on the superior rugby conditioning of the Bulls, open up a can of whoop-*** while you idolize St. Heyneke.

• 102.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’m Djokovic fan.

Don’t like Nadal’s look.

• 103.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95:

So much of oestrogen.

• 104.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95: Tearful apologies and washing of feet is so 1990′s TRC. I bet they want reparations too.

• 105.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-89: “upset”? i ask you one question and i’m “upset”

sbw is the kobe bryant of rugby – star quality.

• 106.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-93:

good girl.

come back when you’ve finished.

• 107.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105:

Wasn’t that Bryant dude accused of rape at one stage?

• 108.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Penalty Chiefs

• 109.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105: maybe a star to you buddy.

to me he is a blight on the game and must make tracks.

i always enjoy your hypocrisy though :lol:

• 110.viewer: Reply to this comment

Adam Thompson is making so many errors

• 111.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-106:

Ohk funny guy, now go away.

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-97: blah blah blah, who is upset now? :lol:

• 113.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

LEKKER Chiefs, hou dit so

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: yes he was,

• 115.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: according to transformations reasoning its fine because he isnt the first player to be accused of rape.

nothing can take away from his star quality.

haha, sunni duffs it, the crowd gives him the bird.

• 116.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Ok. I’m a bit out of the loop with the Super Rugby log permutations and so on, what with me still getting used to super rugby being back AFTER the Bok tests.

So can someone please explain to me why the Stormers fans like WPstormerbok above seem to be supporting the Chiefs?

I thought they are competing with the Chiefs to top the log? Or have they just not thought it through properly..

• 117.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-112: upset? :lol:

i am educating you.

i learnt how to convey a message from comrade balde “consumer communist” nzimande.

• 118.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

OK, Landers to score converted try and I am spot on SBru. Go Landers.

• 119.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-104:

to cover mental anguish and loss of face wpstormerbokkie is insisting on the Twilight Special Edition Box Set, a training bra and a signed photo of little Joe.

makes the treaty of versailles look like picnic.

• 120.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-109: did you see him demolish the oirish last week? masterclass! :D

hypocrite? potkettle? :lol:

• 121.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-115:

SBW is a double international, a WC winner and the biggest name in the game, why are you so bitter?

• 122.viewer: Reply to this comment

Ref is f#cking up his call of “engage”

• 123.rangerman: Reply to this comment

awesome when your opponent is reduced to “blah blah blah” as a retort.

i win.

ranger 1
    tansie bill williams 0

• 124.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Good physical game this. Tipped Landers for an upset, and upset I am.

• 125.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

He said “Fair enough”

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: yes he was, hence the comparisons with sbw and tiger woods too :D

• 127.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Transie likes everything New Zealand, in fact I think he is a closet Eastern Cape Crusader. :lol:

• 128.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-98: Now Now Hugh. No need for amateur dramatics.
    The Sharks beat the Stormers (and I am delighted you realize THAT was your peak, and that the season can now be called a success) But whilst you celebrate a victory over us, a few of us still have to focus on the rugby at hand – as our seasons aren’t quite over yet.
    But because I am in a generous mood, I’m going to make you feel even better about that Sharks victory (yes,I am a caring person): Think of it – you fellows now have a 25% win record against us in the last 2 seasons. 1 out of 4 (dancinglikeamaniacandairpunchingsmiley) – so yes, that is reason to celebrate: pack out the fireworks, and enjoy.

• 129.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-116: Yes true chiefs must lose. But there is still superbru!

Chiefs will get it against Crusaders then Stormers will surge to the top of the log!

• 130.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-105:
    no trans, the guys a doos-

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107:
    for transie it would seem, the moral make up of the individual is incidental or secondary or accidental to his exhibited sporting prowess on the field.

not really neccessary and somewhat better for him not to have any. far more desirable to see them display the finest of behaviour which ‘capitalism gone wild’ has to offer.

most shallow, no honour, big money, big car, big house, big women, no scruples jusr greed.

• 131.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

27-14 chiefs ,

• 132.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-120: @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-121: what does this have to do with him telling the ref to “fu c k off”??

reaching for justification of his behaviour are we now?

ho ho ho, its a slippery slope chaps, what applies to one applies to all.

• 133.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-126:

Ok. I picked up the tail end of this discussion, but it seems you guys are arguing over whether someone with star quality should still be appreciated for their talents despite being really horrible, horrible people who commit some horrible actions. E.G. Tiger Woods, Mike Tyson etc?

Is that the gist of it?

• 134.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-116:

Next week i’ll be shouting for the Crusaders to beat the Chiefs, how confused I got you now neh? :)

Obviously for the ‘Bru standings the Landers had little chance to beat the Chiefs, that’s why I’m backing them for a win but in the case of an upset I would’ve been OVA THA MOON.

• 135.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102: What the beejezus does Rafa’s LOOK have to do with you not liking him?
    Unless of course……..(villagepeopletennis101)

• 136.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-121:

he’s trailer park.

who loves himself even more than you do buddy.

another friday night in?

• 137.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-132:

its rugby these things happen, why are you so bitter about SBW?

• 138.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-129:

Dankie. Hope Tac gets it now.

• 139.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Tameifuna reminds me of Ollie Le Roux type prop, has great go forward and exceptional handling skills for a big bloke

• 140.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130: its sad, the bling culture.

i fear transformation will have a moral dilemma next year when the kiwis play against his kings.

i hope he comes through it all right :lol:

• 141.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130:

but hey… did you see his no look offload!!…

pfffftt

• 142.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133:

Sbw will be a star in my eyes if he donners somebody….and gets a red card….

• 143.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-100: @rangerman(rangerman)-100:
    schalk burger is a thousand times the man sbw will ever be.

• 144.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-136:

Hi funny guy, he a great athlete end of story, why are you so bitter toward him?

• 145.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-121: Not to mention his fabulous hairdo

• 146.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-119: Is that negotiable at all. Can we offer a Groupon voucher for a back wax and see if he bites?

• 147.spartan: Reply to this comment

SBW real one trick pony

• 148.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

Goeie f o k. The Chiefs should not be competing in Superugby against able bodied athletes. They have no arms and as such should be in the ‘Para-disabled rugby leagues’ – surely?

• 149.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-129: But why would any true rugby fan want that? Chiefs to pump Highlanders and Sharks to squeak into the top 6…(smiley face wif a winking eye)

• 150.viewer: Reply to this comment

Here we go, here we go

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.