Chiefs charge into play-offs

JON CARDINELLI watched the Chiefs beat the Highlanders 27-21 in Dunedin to book their place in the Super Rugby knockout rounds.

This victory, as so many of the Chiefs’ results in 2012, was built on a robust and accurate performance at the breakdown.

Their option taking and tactical kicking wasn’t always good, but they maintained their intensity at the tackle throughout the game. This allowed them to resist the Highlanders in the first 40, and then secure the result in the second stanza.

The Highlanders had the best of both territory and possession in the first half, but were undone by the determined Chiefs defence. They enjoyed frequent surges into the Chiefs’ 22 but surrendered the ball when the visitors loaded the rucks and pressured scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The All Blacks No 9 was forced to rush his pass or drop the ball as the rabid Chiefs forwards piled into the ruck with unstoppable momentum.

The Chiefs showcased their counter-attacking threat during this period, using a breakdown turnover to create a try for wing Tim Nanai-Williams. However, they were fortunate that they didn’t concede more points in the first half. Their tactical kicking was poor, and several wayward kicks by Aaron Cruden prevented them from escaping their own territory.

The Highlanders weren’t good enough to use this territorial advantage to edge ahead on the scoreboard. In fact, a late lapse allowed the Chiefs to score eight points right before half-time, a purple patch of scoring that effectively won the game for the visitors.

Cruden extended the Chiefs lead to 21-9 right after the break, and from there the Highlanders were chasing the game. Given their impotency on attack during the early stages and the manner in which they were losing the collisions, it appeared an impossible task.

They enjoyed some good fortune when the TMO awarded a controversial try. The Chiefs had done well to contest a lineout and tip the ball back on their side, but the Highlanders reacted quickly to put the visitors under pressure.

It seemed as if Tawera Kerr-Barlow had the ball on the ground before Andrew Hore ripped it away and planted it beyond the tryline. It seemed a clear case of hands in the ruck, although between the officials it was decided that Hore’s steal was legal and that the try would stand.

Chris Noakes missed the subsequent conversion but the Highlanders were suddenly just seven points behind. The Chiefs enjoyed more territory in the period that followed, and although Cruden would miss a shot at goal, the pressure applied by his forwards created another opportunity. The three points stretched the Chiefs’ lead to 10 with only 15 minutes remaining.

The Highlanders grew more desperate and this impacted on their discipline. They infringed right in front of their own poles and Cruden banked another penalty.

Hosea Gear managed to power over from close range in the 77th minute to set up a frantic finish. But in the end it was the Chiefs defence that had the final say.

The result sees the Chiefs consolidating their position at the top of the log. Their next two matches will determine whether they host a play-off or not, but it will be a comfort to know that they’ve already booked their place in the final six.

The defeat is a blow to the Highlanders’ play-off ambitions. They have just one match remaining before a bye in the final round. Even if they win next week, they will need a few other results to go their way in order to make the final cut.

408 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

SBW biggest name in the game, shame you boys can’t accept that. Mobbed from London to Cape Town to Tokyo.

• 152.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

TRY Landers!

Gear worked hard all night, seems to be playing with more belief after last weekend’s Test.

• 153.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133: no, thats how transformation tried to spin the discussion.

i simply dissaprove of a player telling a ref to “f u ck off” when he is penalised.

transies argument is that sbw has star quality and isnt the first player to do it.

as usual though, he doesnt actually state anything or pin his colours to the mast, simply implies that its fine for sunni to behave like scum because of his aforementioned star qualities.

he is a slippery one this transformation :lol:

try landers!

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-137: no my little kiwifruit. its rugby, these things dont happen. understand?

• 154.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I don’t really get the Sonny hype. He has a good offload, but he’s kind of slow.

He makes a lot of tries with that one trick of his.

But he most certainly is no Chritian Cullen in terms of his impact on the game.

He’s good, but he doesn’t even make the All Black starting line up on a regular basis.

If he does, good for him, if he doesn’t, that’s also OK. Doesn’t make much difference to me.

I worry about Carter and Dagg a lot more than Sonny Boy.

• 155.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-139: Hopefully though he is not a toolbag like Ollie was

• 156.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Landers back in it

• 157.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

game on!

• 158.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151: Bigger than DC?

• 159.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-153:

why so bitter though, surely SA must also have a global superstar?

• 160.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-158:

• 161.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-146:

throw in a lady gaga ticket?

• 162.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-140:
    it should actually work out for him.
    luke is all about the money first and himself second.
    two teams of awsomeness on the field would be awesome squared for transie :lol:

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-127: hahaha no such luck… :mrgreen:

just not closeminded like some.

• 164.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-144:

he’s a ****.

I’m not suprised you can’t see that.

your homerotic hero worship won’t change a thing.

• 165.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-142: :lol:

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-143: they arent even remotely comparable. schalk is respected by his peers worldwide, sunni is widely viewed as a tunc.

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151: maybe in your world buddy, then again chinese censorship really seems to be takling its toll.

• 166.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

30 seconds to go and I’ll be 100% so far for the weekend on the Bru.

Like St. Heyneke after the 1st Test :)

• 167.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-154: I think SBW is a really good player and more than a one trick pony, he is defensivley sound and I don’t think he is slow by any strech. He also seems to have good vision. With that said though I don’t think he is a superstar, I think DC is more of a rugby superstar than SBW

• 168.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Love Taumalolo’s attitude in the game, real bulldog mentality. The guy lives or contact.

• 169.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133:
    Jooste?

• 170.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

For*

• 171.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-160: I dunno about that…he may be more of a superstar in a hollywood sense but in terms of pure rugby for me DC is way ahead of SBW…No slight on SBW but for me DC and even more importantly Ritchie Macaw are yards ahead of him

• 172.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-161: I’m afraid she’s considered a bit butch round these parts. They do like Josh Grobin though.

• 173.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-159: :lol: keep trying buddy, you can have him as your hero, i am cool with that.

why cant you accept that he is viewed as a tunc by most of the rugby world?

like reechee is known as the worlds most proficient cheat?

• 174.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Hou Chiefs hou!

• 175.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-164:

why is that, because he’s an international star, humble and makes lots of money, so bitter.

@rangerman(rangerman)-165:

not in my world buddy all over the world did you not see him mobbed in Cape Town he’s bigger than the Bokke in Cape Town, you shouldn’t be so bitter just appreciate the athlete that he is

• 176.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

victory to chiefs

• 177.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-162: :lol:

luke has been rested a lot this year haha.

• 178.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-142:
    he’s have to pull out one of those sharpened metal shanks popular with jailbirds and stab someone in the farking kidney before any kiwi ref would weigh up the balance of probabilities and use refs discretion to maybe give him a card.

• 179.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-151: The fact that you like SBW says a lot about you as a person…

And possibly about your nation.

• 180.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Oooo weee :) 100% op jou brood!

• 181.viewer: Reply to this comment

Tough encounter but the chiefs hold on

• 182.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Nice the Chiefs will finish top of the tree this year.

• 183.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175: Have you ever been to Cape Town, Noodleboy?

• 184.TAJ BAR: Reply to this comment

That was close the Otago boys went down fighting.

• 185.rangerman: Reply to this comment

chiefs win it.

an accepotable result :lol:

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175: humble?

BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you are a funny guy china.

• 186.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

OK that helps my Sharks a little, atleast one off the back

• 187.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-179:

he’s a great athlete

• 188.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175: HUMBLE??? :shock:

And I thought English was your first language

• 189.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-183:

i’ve been to J’burg Durban and unfortunately Pretoria Biltong boy

• 190.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-182: arent you a blues fan? :lol:

where will they finish this year?

• 191.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-165:

Seriously!!! Boys watch him play and think the game is about offloading and flair….it should always be a bit dirty!!! He keeps his nose too clean!

Congrats chiefs…..And sharks lover….

• 192.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-187: lets not get sidetracked, you believe swearing at the ref is cool right?

• 193.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-175:

why don’t you get out a bit.

meet some friends for a beer.

see the sights?

@>^..^< katman(katman)-172:

it’s the meatkini.

plays havoc with their delicate constitution.

• 194.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130: are you talking about joost? :D

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-133: no, whether sbaw had say “thank you” to the ref it wouldn’t have changed rangerman, gallilie & willievz’s opinion of him…

i enjoy the way he plays his rugby and recognise his star quality…if that gets up rangerman’s nose then he can f.uck off and shoot fish :D

• 195.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-188:

have he ever done a Jake Fourie or a Spies, i’m the best in the world call, he donates money to charity and is a superb athlete whats the problem?
    I forgot to add his name to the SAFFA whine list last night, its getting so big its taking too long to type.

• 196.ossewa: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-189:

Somebody say biltong…..would kill for some biltong….about to put a hairdrier against a frozen lambchop!!!!

• 197.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-190:

I am, they have had a terrible year, thats the way it goes sometimes i’m realistic unlike yourself you still think the Sharks can win the comp lol

• 198.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195:

you sound like a groupie.

• 199.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-192:

take up watching another sport you precious twat

• 200.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-198:

you sound like a guy who didn’t get enough when he was younger

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.