Chiefs charge into play-offs
29 Jun 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched the Chiefs beat the Highlanders 27-21 in Dunedin to book their place in the Super Rugby knockout rounds.
This victory, as so many of the Chiefs’ results in 2012, was built on a robust and accurate performance at the breakdown.
Their option taking and tactical kicking wasn’t always good, but they maintained their intensity at the tackle throughout the game. This allowed them to resist the Highlanders in the first 40, and then secure the result in the second stanza.
The Highlanders had the best of both territory and possession in the first half, but were undone by the determined Chiefs defence. They enjoyed frequent surges into the Chiefs’ 22 but surrendered the ball when the visitors loaded the rucks and pressured scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The All Blacks No 9 was forced to rush his pass or drop the ball as the rabid Chiefs forwards piled into the ruck with unstoppable momentum.
The Chiefs showcased their counter-attacking threat during this period, using a breakdown turnover to create a try for wing Tim Nanai-Williams. However, they were fortunate that they didn’t concede more points in the first half. Their tactical kicking was poor, and several wayward kicks by Aaron Cruden prevented them from escaping their own territory.
The Highlanders weren’t good enough to use this territorial advantage to edge ahead on the scoreboard. In fact, a late lapse allowed the Chiefs to score eight points right before half-time, a purple patch of scoring that effectively won the game for the visitors.
Cruden extended the Chiefs lead to 21-9 right after the break, and from there the Highlanders were chasing the game. Given their impotency on attack during the early stages and the manner in which they were losing the collisions, it appeared an impossible task.
They enjoyed some good fortune when the TMO awarded a controversial try. The Chiefs had done well to contest a lineout and tip the ball back on their side, but the Highlanders reacted quickly to put the visitors under pressure.
It seemed as if Tawera Kerr-Barlow had the ball on the ground before Andrew Hore ripped it away and planted it beyond the tryline. It seemed a clear case of hands in the ruck, although between the officials it was decided that Hore’s steal was legal and that the try would stand.
Chris Noakes missed the subsequent conversion but the Highlanders were suddenly just seven points behind. The Chiefs enjoyed more territory in the period that followed, and although Cruden would miss a shot at goal, the pressure applied by his forwards created another opportunity. The three points stretched the Chiefs’ lead to 10 with only 15 minutes remaining.
The Highlanders grew more desperate and this impacted on their discipline. They infringed right in front of their own poles and Cruden banked another penalty.
Hosea Gear managed to power over from close range in the 77th minute to set up a frantic finish. But in the end it was the Chiefs defence that had the final say.
The result sees the Chiefs consolidating their position at the top of the log. Their next two matches will determine whether they host a play-off or not, but it will be a comfort to know that they’ve already booked their place in the final six.
The defeat is a blow to the Highlanders’ play-off ambitions. They have just one match remaining before a bye in the final round. Even if they win next week, they will need a few other results to go their way in order to make the final cut.

408 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All
29 Jun 2012, 11:34 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-200: SA DOES have a global superstar
his? her? name is Casta Semanya..
apparently a true representation of Saffa males… quality athlete
29 Jun 2012, 11:36 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-197: come now, excuse Rangerman, he can mock the Blues all he likes, its jealousy really….they still have 3 times the amount of Super trophies his team has..
@poppa69(poppa69)-201:
lol , we’ll have to add SBW to the SAFFA whine list, fark me it gets bigger by the day
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-200:
you sound like a guy who never gets any unless he slips the babysitter a lazy twenty for a happy ending.
and then sits alone on a friday night on a south african rugby blog complaining that people dont respect his idol.
not ideal.
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-168: When did he come on?
29 Jun 2012, 11:37 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-199: you have some problems buddy, take some time out, maybe a cup of greentea would help?
@Transformation(Transformation)-194:
who is getting upset now.
we are all entitled to our opinions transformation. mine is simply the correct one in this instance, you are often correct though so dont let it get to you.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-198: bud if you still have my mail addie, send me a mail i have something i want to discuss with you.
its along the line of what we discussed last time, although a different product.
29 Jun 2012, 11:37 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-154: he is certainly faster than francois steyn and more skills than wynand olivier, for a guy with a league background he’s down superbly well to keep a top notch player like nonu on the sidelines.
forget the “hype” and how much it is an antethesis of how you were raised (because we all know you cringe everytime you see francois hougaard’s tattoos or read that he is boning louis fish)
the boy has skills, klaar.
29 Jun 2012, 11:38 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-204:
yer but its true funny guy you didn’t get enough did you?
29 Jun 2012, 11:39 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-207: I think SBW only got the starting spot to give Nonu a rest, hes been playing rugby since the WC non stop… think Nonu will be starting in TRC personally..
@poppa69(poppa69)-201: Hey Pops, so how much is it?
@rangerman(rangerman)-206:
weren’t you the one asking me to get my turtle out the other night, perhaps its you who has the problem, just saying
29 Jun 2012, 11:40 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-202: easy now popps, i didnt mean to hit a nerve there, please dont go postal on us again
29 Jun 2012, 11:40 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195:
he is just another believer from the sh**pshaging land, what is he to you boys?
29 Jun 2012, 11:41 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-210:
biltong boy, why did you want to know if i’d been to Cape Town I’m still waiting for the witty retort
Sasuke
Came on in the last 15 minutes or so.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-210: how much is what Katman? oh, are you mentioning my one post yesterday that got about 15 responses? mainly from the likes of you?
beautiful, good to see the red mist rises so easily when I post..
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-195: Bakkies goes to church on Sundays, but if he told a ref to **** off to his face I can bet you he would have been banned for a few games. Star quality nothing, that is chav behaviour and something rugby prides itself on not having to deal with.
29 Jun 2012, 11:42 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-213:
stick to reffing conspiracies please
29 Jun 2012, 11:43 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-211: no, i called you a turtle.
dont go into your shell now, we are all mates here.
@Greenfever(Greenfever)-217:
Bakkies goes to church, he’d spend all morning in the confession cupboard.
@Transformation(Transformation)-207:
I don’t take your last paragraph as an insult, but rather see it as a compliment to you on how well you know me.
You are completely right that Hougaard’s tattoos make me cringe, as does whatever he gets up to with whichever tart.
Just like I can’t stand the De Jongh/Aplon foxtrot, or JP Pietersens swandive (which Jean has thankfully ordered him to stop doing with immediate effect).
Can’t stand that type of stuff, but I realise it is very much part of your culture.
Different strokes for different folks.
29 Jun 2012, 11:44 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-219:
nah you didn’t buddy
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-208:
what’s enough for me is more than enough for you.
why don’t you take the missus out for dinner and see where it takes you?
make a change from handski’s from nanny.
joost was rightly shamed for his actions.
some days you are really tjatjarag, trans.
29 Jun 2012, 11:45 am
@Greenfever(Greenfever)-217: thats my point, but to transformation its fine?
i dont really take the kiwis poiint of view on this too seriously as they are far too emotional to be rational about it.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-214: You seemed to know an awful lot about what was and wasn’t popular here, so I assumed you must know the place intimately. Turns out you’re just another bulshitter, sitting on the other side of the world with little better to do. Can’t even make noodles, it seems.
@Greenfever(Greenfever)-217: so, is headbutting an opponent when his back is turned what we should expect from a church going boytie?
much like the kinghit from behind that broke Daltons jaw, tough guys you Saffas when your opponent isnt looking?
please, do give us more examples of what we dont need in rugby..
hilarious..
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-223:
no need to bring my wife into it you’re better than that son
29 Jun 2012, 11:46 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-220:
bakkies is not catholic.
29 Jun 2012, 11:47 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-226:
we have the internet in China now I saw the TV pictures of him being mobbed in Cape Town, how does this make me a bullshitter?
29 Jun 2012, 11:47 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-220: That’s the attitude bud, proves the point though doesn’t it. Disgraceful act from a kiwi ‘superstar’ is coooool, just don’t let anyone else act like that.
Nice
29 Jun 2012, 11:48 am
Oh FFS we are back to your peepee is smaller then my peepee, Bakkies is not even playing in the Super 15,
29 Jun 2012, 11:48 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-216: Sky TV, you tottie. You went off to ask your uncle or something, and the disappeared. Either he hijacked you to mow the backyard, or you still haven’t managed to find us a definitive answer.
29 Jun 2012, 11:50 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-228:
don’t be precious.
I suggested you get out a bit.
might cure you of your interest in other peoples lives.
@poppa69(poppa69)-216:
so how much is it?
29 Jun 2012, 11:50 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-233: dont have sky in Aus mate, but glad to see you cant help yourself..
wonderful… so, how many people in the townships have sky guy? Id imagine not many, but you keep yourself safe in your ivory tower mate… do you require a password to leave your gated community?
29 Jun 2012, 11:51 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-230: we also have the internet.
we get some pretty strange images here.
for instance, when the boks arrive in nz there are often a bunch of people standing around who are clearly so excited that their tongues are hanging out and they have taken off all of their clothes?
its strange but we are used to diversity.
29 Jun 2012, 11:51 am
SBW is the Justin Bieber of the rugby world
whole lot of zero substance
29 Jun 2012, 11:52 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-236:
29 Jun 2012, 11:53 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-206: hahaha “mine is simply the correct one”
last outposr dynamic
29 Jun 2012, 11:54 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-227: What really is hilarious is a kiwi pointing fingers in this instance, instead of actually criticising. Hypocrite much?
29 Jun 2012, 11:54 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-235: So you don’t know, in other words. You just watch and someone else pays. I bet you don’t pay for your own beer and bogroll either. The welfare state shrunk down to a manageable family size.
29 Jun 2012, 11:55 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-234:
i’m heading to a mountain tonight overlooking the city you can get a couple of nice loungers and watch the sun go down whilst drinking green tea, a very pleasant way to spend the evening
@Greenfever(Greenfever)-240: funny, arent you pointing fingers also?
looks like it to me, hypocrite much?
@poppa69(poppa69)-235: the question is “how much is it”?
@rangerman(rangerman)-206:
I will get it from agent dawn.
29 Jun 2012, 11:56 am
I have to go, good night KEO friends.
29 Jun 2012, 11:57 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-242: Tell us about the noodles, Wokboy. That’s what really sells the place.
29 Jun 2012, 11:58 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-241: wow, so because you make an assumption its gospel?
fark , you have the biggest opinion of yourself dont you katgirl, you really are a mamparra..
I pay 60 a month for the sport package on foxtel, worth every cent to watch SA teams lose consistently..
29 Jun 2012, 11:59 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-236:
Post of the day, that will upset Transie.
29 Jun 2012, 11:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-242:
that’s awesome.
you deserve some time off.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All