Chiefs charge into play-offs

JON CARDINELLI watched the Chiefs beat the Highlanders 27-21 in Dunedin to book their place in the Super Rugby knockout rounds.

This victory, as so many of the Chiefs’ results in 2012, was built on a robust and accurate performance at the breakdown.

Their option taking and tactical kicking wasn’t always good, but they maintained their intensity at the tackle throughout the game. This allowed them to resist the Highlanders in the first 40, and then secure the result in the second stanza.

The Highlanders had the best of both territory and possession in the first half, but were undone by the determined Chiefs defence. They enjoyed frequent surges into the Chiefs’ 22 but surrendered the ball when the visitors loaded the rucks and pressured scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The All Blacks No 9 was forced to rush his pass or drop the ball as the rabid Chiefs forwards piled into the ruck with unstoppable momentum.

The Chiefs showcased their counter-attacking threat during this period, using a breakdown turnover to create a try for wing Tim Nanai-Williams. However, they were fortunate that they didn’t concede more points in the first half. Their tactical kicking was poor, and several wayward kicks by Aaron Cruden prevented them from escaping their own territory.

The Highlanders weren’t good enough to use this territorial advantage to edge ahead on the scoreboard. In fact, a late lapse allowed the Chiefs to score eight points right before half-time, a purple patch of scoring that effectively won the game for the visitors.

Cruden extended the Chiefs lead to 21-9 right after the break, and from there the Highlanders were chasing the game. Given their impotency on attack during the early stages and the manner in which they were losing the collisions, it appeared an impossible task.

They enjoyed some good fortune when the TMO awarded a controversial try. The Chiefs had done well to contest a lineout and tip the ball back on their side, but the Highlanders reacted quickly to put the visitors under pressure.

It seemed as if Tawera Kerr-Barlow had the ball on the ground before Andrew Hore ripped it away and planted it beyond the tryline. It seemed a clear case of hands in the ruck, although between the officials it was decided that Hore’s steal was legal and that the try would stand.

Chris Noakes missed the subsequent conversion but the Highlanders were suddenly just seven points behind. The Chiefs enjoyed more territory in the period that followed, and although Cruden would miss a shot at goal, the pressure applied by his forwards created another opportunity. The three points stretched the Chiefs’ lead to 10 with only 15 minutes remaining.

The Highlanders grew more desperate and this impacted on their discipline. They infringed right in front of their own poles and Cruden banked another penalty.

Hosea Gear managed to power over from close range in the 77th minute to set up a frantic finish. But in the end it was the Chiefs defence that had the final say.

The result sees the Chiefs consolidating their position at the top of the log. Their next two matches will determine whether they host a play-off or not, but it will be a comfort to know that they’ve already booked their place in the final six.

The defeat is a blow to the Highlanders’ play-off ambitions. They have just one match remaining before a bye in the final round. Even if they win next week, they will need a few other results to go their way in order to make the final cut.

408 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

• 301.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-297: thanks…how accurate are those stats (do you know the methodology) as i watch the morning games at home and the afternoon/evening ones mostly at the pub?

• 302.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-272: Your numbers were falling dude. Viewership, registered players, bums on seats in stadiums etc. Which is why I for one (and I know I am in a minority group of Saffas here) was not at all distressed when NZ won the World Cup.
    The rejuvenation is evident in your S15 numbers.

• 303.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Mitchell suspension not only player-driven
    Ockert de Villiers, Sapa | 28 June, 2012 16:160 Comments

Golden Lions Rugby Union (GLRU) president Kevin de Klerk on Thursday denied that the suspension of coach John Mitchell was based purely on players’ complaints.

“It is inaccurate to say it is a player-driven thing and I would like us to move away from that,”De Klerk told reporters in Johannesburg.

“It was inclusive of a number of processes and it wasn’t necessarily the players on their own, and that is the way the position stands.”

News reports last week stated that Mitchell was suspended due to players lodging a “list of grievances” with the GLRU.

De Klerk said he could not divulge details of the allegations levelled against Mitchell.

“We are not at liberty to disclose that information and I think you would also have empathy with the Lions’ situation in terms of the subjudice nature of the case,” he said.

“We cannot divulge information around that action obviously, for presenting John (Mitchell) with the opportunity to defend [himself against] the allegations, and without exposing ourselves as the Lions to certain further actions against us.”

He denied that captain Joshua Strauss led the reported player revolt against the coach.

“This is still subjudice and we can’t say that Josh led that process towards that, and it is inaccurate to say that,” he said.

“There are a number of issues that we are addressing that involve the suspension.”

De Klerk said he could not give a deadline for the process to be finalised, but they would deal with it expeditiously.

“It could take a week, it could take two weeks,” De Klerk said.

“We would seek to obviously wrap the thing up as quickly as possible but you know, how long is a piece of string with these type of actions? We are hopeful that we will have a quick resolution to it.”

Mitchell last season led the Lions to their first Currie Cup title since 1999, but the outfit has managed just two wins in the Super Rugby competition this year. They languish in 14th position on the log. They also lie bottom of the South African conference log and will not be able to improve their placing with just three games remaining.

In the interim Mitchell has been replaced by assistant coach Johan Ackermann, who had a tough time fielding a barrage of questions from the media on Thursday.

Ackermann said he would only focus on preparing the team for their next Super Rugby match against the Stormers on Saturday and he did not want any part in the matter between the GLRU and Mitchell.

“I had a good relationship with John and I’ve learnt a lot from John, so I can’t fault that,” said Ackermann.

“My passion is just rugby, and with what is happening between John and the Union, I’m not involved with that. I just want to prepare the side as well as I can.

“I am still the assistant coach in my eyes and I want to do as good a job as I can and let it go its way.”

• 304.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-298:

the clue is in your words he never lived up to his potential.

you can’t compare him to shane warne who was a maverick but worked incredibly hard at his game.

the fact is that herschelle had a long and distinguished career, how it ended was up to him.

if what you said was true he never would have had much of a shot in the first place.

look at his average in the first 4 series he played.

He is one of my favourite cricketers but very frustrating.

I would love him to be playing t20 for south africa.

• 305.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-300:

its been removed!

Capo has friends in low places.

• 306.willievz: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-304: He never lived up to his potential, partly his own fault.

But would he have achieved a higher test batting average than 41 in a cricket country that would be more accommodating to his flamboyance / unconventional ways?

It’s just speculation, I know. But it’s also a thought.

• 307.RefuGSpot: Reply to this comment

I’d like to see Sony Bi-tch Williams try that with Etzebeth.

• 308.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-306: what about James Small? Even Bullet…your speculation is just that.

• 309.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@RefuGSpot(garth)-307: didn’t see the game – what exactly happened?

• 310.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-264:
    Willie I completely disagree with that post.

If you good enough and MENTALLY strong to handle the pressure you will rise above the criticism.
    Hersch was so talented that many think he never had a distinguished career but he did.
    I’m sorry but Andre Nel was just plain kak. Yoh, its toss up between him and Jaco Van De Westhuizen as SA craziest sports person.

Oh maybe also throw Kenny Jackson into the mix. :lol:

• 311.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-306:

but why?

herschelles problem was never his flamboyance?

his huge talent was such that he didn’t need/want to work as hard as he should.

he never lived up to his potential.

all his own fault.

however he still had a long a distinguished career and will go down as a great south african cricketer.

he could have been the greatest of all time.

Warne was flamboyant sure but he grafted.

Not apples with apple imo.

• 312.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-311:
    I’m sorry Gunth but Herschelle put allot of effort into fitness.

Just didn’t understand the concept, “their’s a time and a place for everything”

• 313.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Is the guy who scored those 2 goals last night for Italy, Italian?

• 314.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-311: March 2006 at the Wanderers, Hersch at the crease….the Ozzies didn’t like them apples.

• 315.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-310:

hehe, kenny is quite a character- he used to run marathons between or even during cricket matches- i think he is the half brother of jonothan Trott?
    Another crazy SA rugby player was Michael du Plessis.
    he was nearly as mad as Bruce Grobbelaar although Bruce was Zimbo and a soccer player.
    many goalies are crazy or at least eccentric – a bit like drummers in rock bands.
    Gary Bailey is an exception.

• 316.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-312:

But not enough into batting.

He’ll tell you he disliked nets etc.

Barry Richards was the same.

If you tell me he worked as hard at his game as a guy like Warne you are mad.

And towards the end of his career there were a few times when his fitness looked very dodgy.

He is one of the most natural athletes the world has ever seen so he got away with a lot.

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-310:

I see your Jaco and raise you James Dalton.

(James Small gets an honourable mention).

• 317.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-313:

yes, borne and bred.

• 318.willievz: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-308: @the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-311: @Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-312:

I think we are making too big a meal out of this.

All I want to say is that whenever Shane Warne cheats or dopes, or when Freddie Flintoff passes out, their hero-status improves in their respective countries.

If a SA sportsman does the same, he often (in most cases?) gets chastised by the public. Rightly or wrongly.

• 319.RefuGSpot: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-309: SBW was slapping the Highlanders locks.

• 320.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-317:

I thought so – he even has an Italian surname

• 321.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-320:

he is a ‘malletjie” but at the moment probably the national hero of Italy.

• 322.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

It just shows again: don’t cast your pearls before the swine-steiger

• 323.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@RefuGSpot(garth)-319: Coenie wil doodpoes him ;)

• 324.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-318:

I disagree.

Flintoff was derided for his escapades in the press and public domain.

As was Warne for doping.

poor examples imo.

Quade Cooper would be better, what’s his hero status like?

The one you are searching for is probaly Andrew Symmonds.

who got dropped for his poor vibe.

However saffers are more conservative it’s true.

• 325.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-316:
    He probably went to gym to pull the chicks.

Takes a lot of discipline for 1000 throw downs a session. But thats what was needed when his hand eye co-ordination started to let him down from 2007 onwards.

• 326.ufo: Reply to this comment

met and chatted to hershelle several times…

one of the most genuine, agenda-free, what you see is what you get, likable guys you’ll ever meet… got on with and liked just about everyone… and just about everyone who meets him will like him too…

could’ve taken up ANY sport and been a world-beater at it… he was that naturally gifted… many people who have had anything to do with him sports-wise will tell you he is the most gifted sportsman most of them have ever met… had hand-eye coordination second to none…

but gunther is correct in that he never put much effort into anything dimly because he never had to… he always got by on his natural athletic ability… and will tell you himself he’s never read a book… i think he felt people who practiced so much were somehow inferior and couldn’t understand the need for it… sure he would practice but not with the diligence and purpose of other guys… he’d just do it to have fun and tank the bowlers all over the place… i don;t think hershelle worked on or even thought about his ‘technique’ for a minute in his entire life… he just had it… it was an instinctive, thoughtless process for him…

i always say don’t take yourself too seriously… but hershelle took not taking himself too seriously way too seriously… :wink:

he could have been our best ever and one of the worlds best ever… IF he had taken himself just a little more seriously and put in a little more meaningful practice and effort…

but a great (if less complex) guy…

• 327.ufo: Reply to this comment

dimly = mainly

• 328.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-326: he had other uses for newspapers…

• 329.ufo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-328:

he was not shy to have a good time…

• 330.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-324: Symmonds is a nutter full stop – but a good sort of nutter :) I always had him in my Fantasy league cricket teams over the years.
    I remember reading an interview with him after his final ‘blowout’ and he said after the he had been on a long fishing trip to clear his mind ……and that on it’s own summed up the great man, legend.

• 331.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-326:

in a nutshell.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-330:

I always thought him a co.ck.

I loved it when Makka put him on his arse at Wanderers.

You play fantasy cricket?

You are sure you are a chick?

• 332.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

That “dropped catch” in the ’99 World Cup still pisses me off though. If only.

Apparently Warnie called it in the team discussion before the game.

• 333.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-315: Michael du Plessis was a legend. Some of his outstanding oddities include:
    1) Being pulled out of a girlfriends flat on intervarsity morning by Danie Craven himself to go and play for Maties
    2)Kneeing a would be Northern Transvaal tackler in the face, after getting up after scoring a try at Newlands
    3) Covering the sonsor’s logo on his Bok jersey with duct tape because he thought they did not pay enough
    4) Warming up while “Die Stem” was playing and teamamtes were at attention.

On top of this a brilliant player – probably the best 12 we ever had

• 334.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-331: I am a chick. Girl Guides honour.

Some ‘chicks’ grew up in households where rugby and cricket were more important than grocery shopping and breathing.
    So sport 1st, everything else 2nd – that’s the way I roll.

I loved it when Symmonds SBWilliamsed that ball clanging streaker……career highlight.

• 335.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Paul Adams is finally head coach at the Cobras

My picture will be complete if Bolla Conradie can take up the equiv role at the WP Rugby Union

• 336.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-333:

2) Giepie Nel – NTvl flyhalf…

both competing for the Bok 10 jersey while Naas dallied with the Cowboys…

• 337.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-333:
    @ufo(ufo)-336:

bottom right hand corner of Newlands from the Grandstand…

watched him with binos… brutal… by any standards… he had long hair and beard at that stage…

yeah… our best 12 ever…

• 338.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-336: It’s all coming back to me now

• 339.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Maybe this has been discussed here earlier this week…

Why didn’t Heyneke bring on Elton Jantjies when Morné was not coping?

Only 2 players on the bench did not get a chance to run on – Jantjies and Bjorn Basson??

• 340.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-338:

hehe…

yeah… we could do with some of his attitude in the boks today…

• 341.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-334:

no hands in the ruck.

• 342.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Where is Tegnikus?

I would like to hear his views on why Jantjies and Basson did not get a run?

It’s Heyneke’s 3rd test and the cracks are showing big time

• 343.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-334: You are not female are you?

• 344.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-343: I am. But many seem to question this, so label me whatever you wish (just not a Bulls or Sharks fan)

• 345.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-339: I wouldn’t have brought Basson on but giving Jantjie a run with 20mins to go might have in hindsight been a good call

• 346.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-344: Eish! Ok so on the positive side we have a “chick” who loves rugby but on a negative side one that doesn’t support the sharks…hhmmmmm

• 347.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-339:

Asked and answered.

• 348.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-339: mario is born to ghananian immigrants, because he was sick as kid and they didn’t hve dough they put him to child services and was put in foster care with the balotellis who raised him. he only got italian citizenship when he turned 18 as the balotellis hadn’t adopted him.

he is talented but uber self-destructive, arrogant, belligerent, self-obsessed, CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 349.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-345:

Why not give Basson a run?

He is the best we have in ‘the air’ and the game was completely locked.

It’s not a case of Elton ‘might have been’ a good call – it was the obvious call; Elton would have taken the ball up and created space within minutes.

Justin Marshall said on Reunion that he likes the Bok squad but if they play the same old pattern they will battle. Now Marshall is the most frank and consistent commentator you will find (Mexted no longer preferred)

So Meyer’s style is in effect REGRESSION

The ABs can score 40 against us with our current style of play

• 350.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-347:

Is that your way of blaming me for not blogging every single day? Do you miss me that much?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.