Chiefs charge into play-offs

JON CARDINELLI watched the Chiefs beat the Highlanders 27-21 in Dunedin to book their place in the Super Rugby knockout rounds.

This victory, as so many of the Chiefs’ results in 2012, was built on a robust and accurate performance at the breakdown.

Their option taking and tactical kicking wasn’t always good, but they maintained their intensity at the tackle throughout the game. This allowed them to resist the Highlanders in the first 40, and then secure the result in the second stanza.

The Highlanders had the best of both territory and possession in the first half, but were undone by the determined Chiefs defence. They enjoyed frequent surges into the Chiefs’ 22 but surrendered the ball when the visitors loaded the rucks and pressured scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The All Blacks No 9 was forced to rush his pass or drop the ball as the rabid Chiefs forwards piled into the ruck with unstoppable momentum.

The Chiefs showcased their counter-attacking threat during this period, using a breakdown turnover to create a try for wing Tim Nanai-Williams. However, they were fortunate that they didn’t concede more points in the first half. Their tactical kicking was poor, and several wayward kicks by Aaron Cruden prevented them from escaping their own territory.

The Highlanders weren’t good enough to use this territorial advantage to edge ahead on the scoreboard. In fact, a late lapse allowed the Chiefs to score eight points right before half-time, a purple patch of scoring that effectively won the game for the visitors.

Cruden extended the Chiefs lead to 21-9 right after the break, and from there the Highlanders were chasing the game. Given their impotency on attack during the early stages and the manner in which they were losing the collisions, it appeared an impossible task.

They enjoyed some good fortune when the TMO awarded a controversial try. The Chiefs had done well to contest a lineout and tip the ball back on their side, but the Highlanders reacted quickly to put the visitors under pressure.

It seemed as if Tawera Kerr-Barlow had the ball on the ground before Andrew Hore ripped it away and planted it beyond the tryline. It seemed a clear case of hands in the ruck, although between the officials it was decided that Hore’s steal was legal and that the try would stand.

Chris Noakes missed the subsequent conversion but the Highlanders were suddenly just seven points behind. The Chiefs enjoyed more territory in the period that followed, and although Cruden would miss a shot at goal, the pressure applied by his forwards created another opportunity. The three points stretched the Chiefs’ lead to 10 with only 15 minutes remaining.

The Highlanders grew more desperate and this impacted on their discipline. They infringed right in front of their own poles and Cruden banked another penalty.

Hosea Gear managed to power over from close range in the 77th minute to set up a frantic finish. But in the end it was the Chiefs defence that had the final say.

The result sees the Chiefs consolidating their position at the top of the log. Their next two matches will determine whether they host a play-off or not, but it will be a comfort to know that they’ve already booked their place in the final six.

The defeat is a blow to the Highlanders’ play-off ambitions. They have just one match remaining before a bye in the final round. Even if they win next week, they will need a few other results to go their way in order to make the final cut.

408 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-348:

I see.

Would you say that your last paragraph is an accurate description of the average Italian?

• 352.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-347: Mormon secret greeting ^5 Bruvva.

• 353.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

At the end of Meyer’s tenure we would have had an uninterrupted period of 12 years of Bok rugby that lacked creativity

The White-Matfield-Du Preez-Meyer era.

We are on dangerous ground; Steve Hansen and Robbie Deans would have noticed the obvious step in the wrong direction.

Boks rely on breaking the adv line with forwards but as they are too slow it gives the opposition time to reset. Your 10-12 axis should do that and THEN offload!

Why are we so retarded??

• 354.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-349: marshall recognised that meyer is implementing what he, marshall, perceives as the blue bulls style and that if steyn is struggling like he is now it will be difficult for the boks as this gameplan (in marshall’s view) is tailored around morne. he even chirped that if he was in charge he would change it.

those kiwis saw what the bokke did to england in the 1st half in jozi and acknowledged that it was direct & brutal & yielded success however fleeting.

the question is can the boks maintain that same intensity for 80 mins like the all blacks managed to put the oirish to the sword until the 80 mins were up?

• 355.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I didn’t see the AB game against the Irish

But to beat them 60-0 I knew they must have done the following:

* Speed up the game (quick ball from ruck)
    * Breach with back-line players and offload
    * Support runners both left and right

It’s as simple as that; when I saw the hilites it was 100% that.

• 356.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-351: no. mario is uniquely bonkers..

• 357.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-354:

No they wont be able to sustain it; it’s a recipe to drain energy

The ABs will have a very simple recipe for the Boks; see post 355

Boks anyway always nervous and tentative when playing the ABs so it will become one big massive party for Dan Kara to then do this and then that

I guess what Justin is saying that it is sad to see a team with so many talented players play such stupid rugby

And to my mind it is classic Afrikaner mentality: he wants to say that he dominated physically but lost on the scoreboard

• 358.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-335: @Sheriff(Sheriff)-339: Jeez, is it National Admire My People Day again? Doesn’t feel like a year has gone by.

• 359.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Wynand Olivier has played so many games in the Bok jumper and did not deliver at any stage

He is so predictable and must be a pleasure to play against

With Meyer leaning towards Olivier it shows his lack of understanding of backline play; but they will prolly blame Ricardo Loubscher again

Meyer’s 9-10-12 trio will cause his downfall if he does not re-imagine this part of Bok play; they will carve us up in pieces

• 360.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-349: And take off a firing JP or Habana?

• 361.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-355: best example of that was the 1st sbw try, 1st phase cruden receives the ball at pace with hosea on his left shoulder tearing the track up, cruden shows it to his left – sexton commits to gear, cruden steps to the right, runs straight at paddy wallace breaks the line, wallace grapples and gets his hands on him, 20 cm or so off the ground cruden throws the no-look sbw collects at pace….BOOM.

that was sublime.

• 362.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

The angst towards Sbw from some is bewildering. If they were honest Sbw has brought a consistent skill level to the game that marks him a superstar, it is not his fault that there is no other player out there that can bring to the game what he can and be humble about it.
    The direct approach of the Boks will definitely cause Abs a heap of trouble, but the counter punch of the Abs can be devastating, will come down to who has the belief over 80 min

• 363.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-358:

Would you have preferred for me not to ask the question?

Why not? With whites trying to be darker and blacks trying to be lighter it seems some of us hit the desired sweet spot- don’t blame me kwedini, it’s the way the world is going

• 364.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-360:

Olivier or Morne Steyn the obvious ones to come off

• 365.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-357: “And to my mind it is classic Afrikaner mentality:” are you suggesting that Afrikaners like Hawies Fourie, Carel du Plessis who enjoy(ed) and coach(ed) intelligent backline play were veering away from their “cultural” heritage/mentality?

• 366.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-362: For me it’s not about whether SBW is a good player or not, clearly he is, but DC is a great. SBW may be a superstar sportmans man due to his ability to suceed in three different sports but in just Unions eyes he is currently very good but not yet a great, he needs a couple more years of consistent performances (the way he is going now) and then he will be a great.

• 367.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-364: Exactly…and that’s why i said not Basson

• 368.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-361:

A bit of commentary right there – wasn’t sure whether I should hear it with Blades or Stransky’s voice :-) Or worse Nesbo

Before I forget: I wanted to give you a compliment about your blogging here on keo. And I only say this because I know how much sacrifice it takes and remembering your ‘days of humble beginnings’ here on keo

But right now, you must me among the top 3 bloggers here on keo.co.za; remember I never rate quantity – only content or quality

• 369.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-363: Blah blah blah… Where is your little rant about Mark Lottering being overlooked for some comedy gig? Or Gerald Morkel no longer running the show here in Cape Town? Your little inferiority shoulder chip is so predictable.

• 370.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-366:
    Yes longevity is the mark of greatness but Sbw’s skill level sets him apart as a superstar in my opinion.

• 371.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-365:

We must never focus on exceptions and pretend its the norm.

Afrikaners’ biggest strength is also their biggest weakness; the German and Dutch genes give them a physical adv in physical sports like rugby

Where they’re getting stuck is the inability or unwillingness to understand that rugby must be played ‘smarter’

Direct rugby is naive; playing into space is smarter

• 372.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-369:

When I come to //Hui! Gaeb again I will drive you into the c

c u there

• 373.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-370: I don’t disagree and I do think he have brought something fresh to the game but for me he has a way to go still to be mentioned in the same breath as say DC, Ritchie Maccaw, Fourie Du Preez or Victor Matfield etc….

• 374.willievz: Reply to this comment

Answer to your question: yes, but…

The “but” bit includes picking a better bench.

• 375.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-372: I’ll be honest with you, I don’t use minibus taxis very often. So the chances of you driving me anywhere are pretty slim.

• 376.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Have to dash mates

(I think I need to excl katman in my last word in the sentence above, I think its fair)

• 377.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-373:
    Agree…Sbw will have to play a heap more games to be up there with those guys.

• 378.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-374: I think if we continue the way we are playing, a 5-2 forward split on the bench is a must to keep up the intensity.

• 379.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-373: what you’re referring to is legendary status and not star quality. derrick rose, carmelo anthony, kevin durant all have star quality but cannot be named in the league of his airness at the moment.

sbw, for a guy in his 2nd year of union is something special!

• 380.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Snaaks

• 381.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-316: I’ll raise you one Lucas van Biljon.

• 382.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

.@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-333: And a fine dentist.

• 383.ufo: Reply to this comment

gotta love this…

http://www.fin24.com/Business/SA-man-top-earner-in-Australia-20071217

• 384.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-383: Ha ha, that won’t go down well with Wallabie.

• 385.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-383:

In Oz, they refer to saffas as the boat people. Because after 5 years there, every saffa seems to a bleeding boat.

• 386.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-385:

seems to have a …

• 387.ufo: Reply to this comment

katman
    iaas

:evil:

• 388.cab: Reply to this comment

Nee kak – meyer is quite right that rugby is about winning the collisions – 90% right – I’ve listened to okes talking about playing into the spaces but u got the wrong game that us roundball and god knows when it’s played right there few better playmakers but there very few of them maybe beckham but he is a poefda – bottomline meyer is right but he must tweak his bloubul **** otherwise he get fkd fkd upbwoese than all tge other coaches and left wondering who kicked his knaters in – pick variety – 1 or 2 ballrunners at most and that’s at no 8 – pick an enforcer and let him enforce, pick a ball carrier and let him dra bal ekse.

• 389.cab: Reply to this comment

Must say tho I think both etsebeth and juandra are pretty good – fk me who else got such young locks and still competing? But I suspect that elstadt must get picked at 4 and etsebeth and Kruger compete for a few years for 5 – what a lekker stukkie.

• 390.cab: Reply to this comment

Yessus these etoyers can etitr kak – chiefs accuracy at the breakdown – I didn’t even watch this game and I know it’s going to be between the highlanders steamrollers andctge chiefie strikerunners and I would normally go for krag but chiefs got just enough upfront to rip them a new one outwide unless u really dominate them

• 391.cab: Reply to this comment

Writers can write kak…

• 392.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-391:
    Hi cab…we bloggers can blog a bit of kak too..!!

• 393.cab: Reply to this comment

Lol carol – cracker – exactly right

• 394.cab: Reply to this comment

I’ve got no go-forward myself these days – WTF is wrony with Africa – they all like happy joker naka drotske of hoe?

Between keo and joost all the powder sniffed – what more is there to say – any intelligent conversation or just rutting pretend maar net?

• 395.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-389:
    Abs do with Romano and Retallick

• 396.viewer: Reply to this comment

Sona Taumololo really clears a ruck properly. I noticed he pays attention to the timing of his clean, & then bang! It doesn’t matter the size of the men lying there

• 397.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-255:

“NZ needed a rockstar rugby player to re-ignite the increased lack of interest in union.”

really ?

‘In figures released ahead of the tournament’s return following the three-week international break, Sanzar said a cumulative figure of 9.92 million people in New Zealand watched the 100 matches in the first 15 rounds on television, an increase of 32 per cent on last year.

New Zealand stadia averaged 16,842 fans per match compared to 12,217 at a similar stage last season, an increase of 37 per cent.’

On population ratios (NZ 4m, SA 50m) an average crowd of 16,842 in NZ is equal to an average crowd of 210,525 in SA.

Maybe its about time SA needs to find their own rockstar, Elvis Presley is apparently available and has a handy sidestep.

• 398.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-288:

“Our 35 million viewers still represent well over 60% of the equation.”

SA at 50m peoples still has 2 X as many people as Australia (21m) and NZ (4m) put together.

As for attendance figures, SANZAR also reports that “South Africa’s average match attendance also dipped”

The average crowd attendance in SA is 26,651 which is equivalent to a crowd of 2,132 in NZ.

• 399.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-398:
    Not too sure, too simplistic
    Ticket buyers in SA are mostly whites, about 5 Millions which are approx 10% of the whole population?
    Soccer is almost 100% africans watchers, while cricket is really dwindling in attendance last 20 years whichhas been a relief to those living around the Wanderers in Melrose and Illovo

• 400.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-398:
    Oh my, another keewee trying to big up the little islands.I bet if there was a wanking competition you would try and tell us you are the best.Guess what you are.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.