Weepu back for Blues

Piri Weepu will start for the Blues in their match against the Force in Auckland on Saturday.

Coach Pat Lam has made four changes to his starting side from the one from that played a month ago. Weepu, who had fallen out of favour, returns at scrumhalf, while captain Keven Mealamu plays his first Blues game in nearly three months.

With locks Anthony Boric, Ali Williams and Filo Paulo all injured, Andrew Van der Heijden has been brought in to start. Charles Piutau will make his Super Rugby debut at fullback.

Blues – 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Lachie Munro, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Rene Ranger, 10 Michael Hobbs, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Luke Braid, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Andrew Van der Heijden, 4 Liaki Moli, 3 Tevita Mailau, 2 Keven Mealamu (c), 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Angus Ta’avao, 18 Chris Lowrey, 19 Peter Saili, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Orene Ai’i, 22 Hadleigh Parkes.