Saders edge Hamilton epic
6 Jul 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a compelling spectacle in which the Crusaders survived a late onslaught to win 28-21 against the Chiefs in Hamilton.
This match lacked for nothing, purists and thrill-seekers alike having plenty to satisfy their respective tastes. An excellent advertisement for Super Rugby and a showcase of everything that is great about New Zealand rugby, this match kept you riveted until the very end, where the Saders’ refusal to allow their determined opponents a path to goal was heroic.
Brutal collisions, breathtaking individual and collective skills, appreciable tactical intelligence, resillience and passion, bags of it, this match made you wish the suits at Sanzar would put aside commercial interests and personal aspirations and reduce the number of teams in the tournament, pitting only the strongest teams against each other so that these types of showcases become more commonplace, not rare gems in an otherwise barren landscape.
That fanciful idea aside, the Saders did much to advance their cause for a play-off spot. This was always going to be the measure of their credentials and establish whether they are genuine contenders or just posturing pretenders. There can be no question now that they have all the attributes of champions. If they realise that goal it will have to be through a number of away wins like this one, but you wouldn’t bet against them.
Chiefs flyhalf Aaron Cruden nearly got his side off to the perfect start when he broke free early in the match, only to be scragged short of the tryline. The youngster’s transition from a talented but raw pivot into a truly world-class one is progressing nicely. Experience will refine him, but he is already a formidable opponent and indispensable asset to his franchise.
He got the scoreboard going with a penalty, but the Saders dominated for a large period thereafter, feeding off numerous Chiefs errors. The hosts look back at that passage as being decisive to the outcome.
Dan Carter banked a penalty to level the scores and soon thereafter converted a Kieran Read try in which they kept the ball alive brilliantly through multiple phases. Cruden responded with a penalty, but Carter’s experience told when he dropped a goal to keep the Saders ahead.
The visitors stretched their lead to 14 points when Andy Ellis broke blind and put in a delicate grubber which rebounded off a Chiefs player into the path of Luke Ramano. The second rower scooped the loose ball up and drove over the chalk, Carter adding the extras.
But the Chiefs refused to be steamrolled, and rebounded from the Saders’ flurry with a counter of their own, Brodie Retallick powering over from close range. Cruden’s conversion was the last score of the half, the Saders leading 20-16.
There was an unrelenting urgency and intensity about both sides after the break, Ellis scoring a contentious try but the Chiefs again coming up with a telling rebuttal – Sonny Bill Williams negotiating the attention of four defenders and, clutching the ball in one hand, he reached desperately over a mass of bodies to score.
The Chiefs had opportunities to cut into the Saders’ lead, but a combination of poor decision making in good positions, a misfiring lineout and inspiring scrambling on defence denied them. They would also have hoped for a strong bench to galvanise them, and although you could not fault those players’ effort, the Saders’ mettle under pressure came to the fore to deny their determined opponents.
There was a golden opportunity with the siren having sounded, the Chiefs having created a two-man overlap. But Williams failed to pass the ball, instead going in search of his second. The play broke down and referee Steve Walsh ended a captivating contest.

574 Comments
6 Jul 2012, 08:50 am
Red and Black Dragons !
6 Jul 2012, 08:54 am
do it chiefs
6 Jul 2012, 08:57 am
Go Crusaders!
6 Jul 2012, 08:59 am
HG and Fern: I have stumbled across a Shark’s website. To my amusement, I see that those who frequent this Sharky site are a little more grounded than you fellows.
In fact, this extract from an article written by a dude called ‘Big Fish’ says it all, does it not?
“The Sharks do not have the pedigree of the Bulls (great history and awesome set-up), WP (incredible talent-pool) or the Cheetahs (Grey College – say no more). We are a jumped up team of B-Divisioners who bought our way to the A-Division and had the audacity to stick around. We will have to be very clever if we hope to compete with the natural leaders in SA rugby. And sadly, right now we are not being that.”
Big Fish – Sharksworld.
6 Jul 2012, 09:00 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-4: that’s the rooibaard talking
6 Jul 2012, 09:06 am
Saders jou lekka ding haha
6 Jul 2012, 09:08 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-4: Well Said
6 Jul 2012, 09:08 am
Do or die this morning … Cant believe we have a meeting
6 Jul 2012, 09:09 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-4:
haha
fish much
6 Jul 2012, 09:15 am
@stew(stew)-8: me too. would have loved to follow this game
6 Jul 2012, 09:18 am
Today the Sharks and Crusaders are the greatest rugby teams on earth.
Love,
Everyone, Cape Town
6 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-11: Thanks we will enjoy today !!!!! lol
6 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
Apparently Cruden’s out??? There goes my fantasy weekend…
6 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
OK never mind, Supersport guys confused me…
6 Jul 2012, 09:26 am
I’m hoping for a draw, and no bonus points!
6 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
Feeling the Chiefs tonight. Crusaders to score four tries and come close by six points.
6 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
Crusaders to win, preferably both getting bonus points.
6 Jul 2012, 09:31 am
@stew(stew)-12: The things we are willing to do for number one!
@RainbowBanana(RainbowBanana)-15: Dude, what else do you want, Megan Fox and 50 million dollars!?!? Would be appreciated, though!
6 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@Nils(Nils)-17: Here we go !
6 Jul 2012, 09:37 am
At work…have drifta…awesome…!
6 Jul 2012, 09:38 am
cracking start from the Chiefs…
toddy vs the incredabrain…
I’m no Justin Marshall fan… but old Bob and friends can get some tips from him commentating on rugby games.
I hope I picked the chiefs.
Even if they have half dressed men for cheerleaders.
Every time I see Kieran run out I ask myself why the Boks have been stuck with Morph the Plasticine man at 8 for 50 games. Then I see Cruden doing what he is doing now – and Carter strutting round on the other end, and I feel even worse…..we have the Stain. Nee man.
6 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-23: He is my fave. Out of all the commentators in all the lands……He just GETS IT.
6 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-4:
Big Fish is clearly a rational Sharks fan.
6 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@stew(stew)-19: A must win game for the Crusaders, otherwise they will have to pray really hard for the Bulls win tonight – only to have hopes to meet them and recently Loftus is not a happy hunting ground for the Crusaders unlike the ABs.
So Crusaders must win to cheer rather for Sharkies for a home playoff.
6 Jul 2012, 09:42 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-23: agree HHS…he really is a pleasure to listen to…
6 Jul 2012, 09:44 am
@Nils(Nils)-28: We will have to face the Cheifs sometime – let it be now
6 Jul 2012, 09:44 am
bloody great rugger…!
6 Jul 2012, 09:45 am
try…!
6 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
Crusaders look really really mean. That’s nice.
TRY!
6 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
Sofar very promising start for the game, fast and furious from both sides.
6 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
nows the time to keep calm and carry on chiefs
6 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
@Nils(Nils)-33: Go Read
6 Jul 2012, 09:50 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-24: are those folks maori?
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-35: No negative waves from you Bakkies please !
loblocking and obstruction from the vuilsaders
as per usual
6 Jul 2012, 09:51 am
@stew(stew)-38:
too late
i blame the saders
6 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@stew(stew)-38:
lol he’s stabbing his McCaw voodoo doll as we type
6 Jul 2012, 09:53 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-41: ha ha he will come to the dark side of the force one day
@Transformation(Transformation)-37:
Im not sure transie.
We will need Poops to give us official verification.
They look pretty authentic to me.
thats the spirit chiefs
hold your heads
these cheats are beatable
6 Jul 2012, 09:55 am
@stew(stew)-42:
How good is Read, Spies is in for some niggle this year when they meet.
6 Jul 2012, 09:56 am
mmm…The saders looking good…sigh, Kieran Read is just a powerhouse…i want one for the bokke!
6 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
20 mins gone and the only mentioning about SBW has been wondering whether he is playing.
‘get outta there 7 red..way quicker than that…’
larf
TRY again!
Crusaders are on a mission today.
6 Jul 2012, 09:58 am
offsides freebie
6 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
@RDOT(RDOT)-46: @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-45: Don’t even get me fecking started. R(ei)D my earlier post on the issue….
At this stage, I am feeling physically sick at the thought of Morph Spies.
6 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
Carter, McCaw, Read.
This Saders team is an entirely different beast with those 3 playing.
6 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
Love the kiwi derbies. Always quality.
6 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-43: ok!
i saw a program the other day on new zealand and this one lady said the word maori mean “natural” and she was in this museum with moerse big wakas, i tell you one can mount a canon on that thing…bigger than galilleo’s catamaran!
6 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-51:
Read has a fantastic rugby brain, loves the tight stuff and can also play on the wing when required, Spies not sure what he does well.
6 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
cynical saders
6 Jul 2012, 10:05 am
This game is obviously fixed, to allow the ‘Saders a home playoff whilst the Chiefs believe they won’t be overtaken by the Stormers at the top.
Read is as pure a rugby player as I’ve ever seen. Works hard, fundamentally sound and has no second thought about the collision zone. Best number eight since zinzan in NZ.
tackles and doesnt releas the player
6 Jul 2012, 10:06 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-54:
To be sure.
#newzealandnavy
nice
Ab’s locks looking very good.
Game on, Chiefs score.
6 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
Hell yeah Chiefs…try…
6 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
there’s fear in the crusaders
6 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
no plan B
what do you do when your cheating is punished
Hokey cokey pig in a pokey. Good morning job seekers.
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-65:
look at the skills you can only dream
6 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
Taumalolo!!!! Haha, great stuff
Big man needed to put the big no argue on Dagg
It’s Friday evening.
Must be time for China to c(l)ock in?
6 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-68:
they are superbly filthy, the crusaders.
6 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-71:
hi funny guy, you got another big weekend planned?
6 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-72:
lets hope they meet the Bulls in the playoffs, Read V Spies he he
crusaders wilting
i knew it
Tuamalalo is like a warthog on tik.
Superb!
6 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
Come on Saders …. Attack attack attack we need all 5 points
Hell of a game
The chiefs are really showing a lot of self belief here. The Saders have been the dominant team for so many years that just playing against them is too much for many of the teams. Not so much the Chiefs. Really going at them, nice to see.
Having said that, really hoping for a Saders win here.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-71: It’s Fliday, Fliday, gotta get down on Fliday…
6 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
Indeed my china.
You having another quiet one in?
6 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-74:
at loftus.you will lose
still larfing..?..
6 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
Indeed katters.
Noodles check
Greentea
6 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-76:
true
he’s like a gurthro version 2.0
6 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79:
Yeah, by more than 7 points. Can’t see it happening though.
6 Jul 2012, 10:17 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-76: a wathog on tik…hehehehe
6 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
@RDOT(RDOT)-86: warthog
6 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-67:
I absolutely love that show.
Hilarious.
6 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
Not a kicking maestro, but Carter seems like he is rushing his kicks compared to when played against the Irish he took his time and slotted them over.
6 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-67:
“Everything I know about people I learned from pens. If they don’t work, you shake them. And if they still don’t work, you chuck them away. Bin ‘em.”
6 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-67: Worthless dole scum.
6 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
@David(David)-85: Saders really needed this break to collect themselves.
Who knows.
6 Jul 2012, 10:22 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-91:
Hello, Dave….Is Dave here?
You’re my wife now!
6 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
crusaders so desperate for kicks… any kicks… haha
reechee crying to the ref
larf
6 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
This is a local shop, for local people.
You’re not welcome here.
6 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-88: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-91: Fireman!
6 Jul 2012, 10:28 am
The whole of July will be quiet fortunately
.@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-82:
Look at the diffence in skill set
6 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-96:
I have some rather upsetting news…
6 Jul 2012, 10:30 am
Hello, gents…oh, it’s half-past nine. Time for men, men with jobs, to go to work! Other men stay in bed ’til dinner time, watching tots TV, thinking about how worthless and pathetic they are… Good morning Jobseekers!
6 Jul 2012, 10:30 am
Interesting to see Bakkies Botha winning the no 4 position for the world xv in June – will we see a come back for the Rugby Championship ???
6 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-97:
you have lost many times at loftus before
same skill set
Crusaders.
I hate them, but dammit I respect them.
Decent crowd.
Must be 10 or 12,000 there for this top of the table clash.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-95: love it..!
6 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
@stew(stew)-100:
No.
6 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
@willievz(willievz)-102:
I must admit I have often fantasized about Dan Carter playing flyhalf for the Stormers and Springboks.
6 Jul 2012, 10:33 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-98: Mr Chinnery?
6 Jul 2012, 10:34 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-103: Indeed. Must have bused some in from out of town to get the number that high.
6 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
chiefs scrumming well
dont think they’ll get 60 put on them again any time soon
6 Jul 2012, 10:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-107:
Perhaps you are a naturally slothful person, sluggish and indolent, a dawdling flaneur, content to waste his life spread eagled on pillows forever indulging himself in the pleasures of the palm.
6 Jul 2012, 10:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-99: The poms have a way of saying things…..
6 Jul 2012, 10:37 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-108:
Well it’s handy that the New Zealand Cowbell festival is taking place in Hamilton this week.
6 Jul 2012, 10:37 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-103: Yes the telly must be on the blink.
6 Jul 2012, 10:39 am
now that was a great scrum by the saders…
What a great match. The speed and skills of the NZ derbies are on another level. Havent seen a bad one yet in contrast the the dire Aussie derbies in particular.
crusaders went early
good ‘walking around’
6 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
wheeling
6 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-110: Ha ha. My favourite is 1981 Eurovision finalist band Crème Brûlée’s sad and regret-filled former rhythm guitarist, Les McQueen.
“It’s a sht business. I’m glad I’m out of it.”
6 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
chiefs lineout is KAAAAAAK!
6 Jul 2012, 10:42 am
no try
6 Jul 2012, 10:43 am
Good pressure by Crusaders.
And still Panasonic Bill Williams is completely anonymous.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-112: Is it true they trucked in a set of traffic lights from Auckland specially for this weekend?
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-103: We are carrying these guys, 12 000 crowd is what you get at schools derby game, not at professional level
6 Jul 2012, 10:44 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-118:
“Everyone knew me round here, I’d walk in a urinal and heads would turn.”
Bryce is trying to make good with Saders after last week…
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-117: Lol, all you see is Saders dis, Saders dat all day. Must be really nervous.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-122:
No.
They used a mule train.
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-123:
fuckoff then, you win more in the NH
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-123: And almost 10% of that is non-paying WAG’s.
6 Jul 2012, 10:45 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-55: Read is just outstanding. Superb rugby brain to go with uncompromsing physicality and great skills. One of the great All Blacks in a key position.
6 Jul 2012, 10:46 am
Bryce Lawrence is one incompetent twat!
Bryce probably messed up this time. Bad decision.
Ha ha! Old Brycie is absolutely clueless!! He can’t even get the TMO decisons right. What a plonker…
6 Jul 2012, 10:47 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-124: Ha ha. The band managed to ditch Les for their reunion, but still got him to fork out his savings to pay for their recording. Here they are performing their hit “Voodoo Lady” in a pub in Royston Vasey: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPE7bOmdP9w
HAHA. What a finish !!!!
@Nils(Nils)-121:
ahem…
Wow, Panasonic Bill scores. Justice wins.
6 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
Thats not true, WO would have scored as well.
6 Jul 2012, 10:49 am
Don’t you love that there’s 2 sets of rules in rugby: one for everyone and one for bryce lawrence. Nz ref of the year. What a disgrace.
6 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
fark you bryce
6 Jul 2012, 10:51 am
The NZRU will want 2 teams in the finals – watch them do everything they can to ensure the Saders make it.
Bruce is protected by his daddy and the POB cabal.
Cosa Nostril
@>^..^< katman(katman)-134:
It’s a **** business.
6 Jul 2012, 10:52 am
@jeest(jeest)-141:
we used to have 3
6 Jul 2012, 10:53 am
What the hell didn’t even know Sonny-boy was on the field
Last year in the quarter beast were penalized for dangerous scrumming when the scrum was not yet engaged…..guess who the ref was that day.
@onerb(onerb)-139: Cmon, he may be peculiar, but definitely not the only one around. I remember even Kaplan messing up big time awarding bogus try (like Hurricanes v Crusaders a few years ago).
great rugby…hard…confrontational…no one backing down, a pleasure to watch.
Chiefs or Crusaders will win it this year.
6 Jul 2012, 10:54 am
Wish we had Wayne Smith coaching the Boks. The stuff dreams are made of.
6 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
Guildford.
What a chop.
@onerb(onerb)-146:
you had 80% possession and still didn’t win, your own fault
@RDOT(RDOT)-148: Agreed. The NZ derbies have been so entertaining. There crowds are also up across the board and TV ratings too I think.
Fuckkk off Zac..
Their*
@jeest(jeest)-141:
Yup, the worst scenario for SA is a 5 point Crusaders win by less than 7 and the Chiefs to get a 2nd BP for 4 tries.
@onerb(onerb)-146: You mean the same ref who thought Beast scrums better than Vickery?
6 Jul 2012, 10:56 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-128: We aren’t fcukingofff, we just want to get more of the money that we are putting in, we love playing against you guys, we don’t want to play in the NH, however having said that,we just want our money, until you guys can get 35 000 at every game.
6 Jul 2012, 10:57 am
@Nils(Nils)-147:
Grasping at straws there bud. Brycie is a trainwreck of a ref. And now he can’t even get a basic TMO call right. The guy needs to be stood down immediately…
6 Jul 2012, 10:57 am
Nils – kaplan? As the tmo or ref on the field? Tmo has no excuse to make such elementary mistakes.
Quite strange that brycie is always involved in these decisions…
6 Jul 2012, 10:58 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-152: Exactly. While having 2 Steyns on the pitch – best place kicker in the world plus best long range missile launcher in the world.
6 Jul 2012, 10:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-152: hehehe this possession keeps going up, now it’s up to “80%”
6 Jul 2012, 10:59 am
@niknaks(niknaks)-159:
That’s no way to treat a national hero…New Zealand Referee of 2011!
6 Jul 2012, 11:00 am
@niknaks(niknaks)-159: What? I am merely pointing that he has been poor while benefitting SA teams, too. Which okes love to ignore and just moan on.
6 Jul 2012, 11:00 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-142: In Bryce’s defence:…..Would you want to be klapped by Toddy B? P Divvy is one thing…..Toddy B (after last week) is a different level of ‘sh y te happens all together
6 Jul 2012, 11:02 am
Try.
6 Jul 2012, 11:02 am
@Spiesisworthless1(Spiesisworthless1)-166:
No try.
6 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-167:
6 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
Why is everyone so befuck this morning
6 Jul 2012, 11:04 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-169:
They read last night’s discussion on alcohol, drugs and ***.
@onerb(onerb)-160: Look, Bryce is poor. Fine, most people agree. But he is not the only poor one around. Look no farther than Jonker or Legoete for starters.
And Bryce has been poor also when you guys got the rub of the green, didn’t hear okes complaining then.
@Nils(Nils)-161:
yip if they had of had a backline they would have been knocked out in the semi’s and not the 1/4′s
@Transformation(Transformation)-162:
yip and 90% territory
6 Jul 2012, 11:05 am
Where are those two heinous Sharkscunts or must I wait till tonight to abuse them
6 Jul 2012, 11:05 am
@Nils(Nils)-171: What game are you referring to where we got the rub of the green?
6 Jul 2012, 11:06 am
@Spiesisworthless1(Spiesisworthless1)-150: You realy shouldn’t believe all the hype! He was pretty kak with his 1st stint with the AB’s. Dave Rennie is a realy good coach. The resultsof the U21′s and a perenial bottom feeder team in the NPC proves that.
6 Jul 2012, 11:06 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-173:
Fern is reading the NZ Herald for the lastest crimes.
6 Jul 2012, 11:07 am
@Spiesisworthless1(Spiesisworthless1)-153: right on…great to watch…Aussie derbies are a yawn fet but the Kiwis let each other have it…big time…as do we…
6 Jul 2012, 11:09 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-175:
pretty kak that team won around 80% of their games and put 50 past you at Loftus
@Nils(Nils)-171:
That’s correct, see the BIL vs the Boks 1st Test in Durban, 2009, a monstrous corrupted refereeing by Brycie Boy if I ever seen one, no Saffa complained though!
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-176:
good one that one!
@Dawn(Dawn)-173: Hopefully they will be on tonight, it would mean the Sharks have won!!!
6 Jul 2012, 11:10 am
@RDOT(RDOT)-177: fest
6 Jul 2012, 11:10 am
Steve Walsh does his best for the
6 Jul 2012, 11:11 am
@RDOT(RDOT)-177:
I beg to differ
Our games are one big yawnfest too
6 Jul 2012, 11:12 am
Steve Walsh does his best for the Chiefs, keeps them in the game
With Kaplan, half of their team would have been yellowed out by half time
@Hondo(Hondo)-182:
The????
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-128: We aren’t fcukingofff, we just want to get more of the money that we are putting in, we love playing against you guys, we don’t want to play in the NH, however having said that,we just want our money, until you guys can get 35 000 at every game.
6 Jul 2012, 11:13 am
there once was a kiwi ref, bryce
who could offer you games at a price.
but not just young lawrence;
you see, this abhorrence
has blackened his family twice.
6 Jul 2012, 11:14 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-185: Steve Walsh does his best for the … pro choice campaign.
6 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
@willievz(willievz)-174:
The 2009 Tri Nations and the BIL series, you were too young to watch I guess?
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-186:
The stadium at Hamilton holds 25,000 so I doubt you’ll see 35k there anytime soon.
@Hondo(Hondo)-184:
Were you a ref in a past life
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-175: Rennie is a really good coach too. The Kiwis don’t want for quality coaching they’ve produced the likes of Gatland, Deans, Penney, Schmidt, Smith who I believe are all top class rugby coaches.
6 Jul 2012, 11:16 am
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-188:
OK let’s start something
Steve Walsh does his best for the ………………………………………………………………
6 Jul 2012, 11:16 am
odd moment 5 mins ago where the ball went forward off a chiefs players legs only to be picked up in front by another chiefs player. Referee, linesmen and commentators all miss it. Rugby is just too fast for the officials these days, it makes a farce of many a game
oh and really stupid try decision earlier to give the Crusaders a try. Bryce obviously feels guilty about last week. farcical all round
6 Jul 2012, 11:17 am
@willievz(willievz)-174: From memory. Sharks win in Hamilton (guess, it was in 2009), BIL series (penalizing Lions scrum all the time and allowing already subbed Smit sneak back on the pitch to save sinking ship – 1st Test, allowing eye-gouger Burger to stay in the game instead of recommending red in the 1st minute of 2nd Test, ignoring Burger’s usual face grabbing antics in last QF).
I could find plenty more, if cared to search properly.
6 Jul 2012, 11:17 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-193: Steve Walsh does his best for the … distilleries.
6 Jul 2012, 11:18 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-183: But our games have passion and brutal intensity and physicality. The Aussie Derbies dont have those But I agree to some degree, we’re lacking the skills and speed of the NZ derbies.
6 Jul 2012, 11:18 am
Steve Walsh does his best for the … players’ best mate award.
6 Jul 2012, 11:19 am
Eish, what a tight finish.
6 Jul 2012, 11:19 am
Brycie should get an extra performance bonus for securing the desired NZ result absolutely spot-on. That takes some officiating.
6 Jul 2012, 11:20 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-179: Exactly, but Burger stays of execution trumps it.
But why let the facts stand in the way of usual whingeing.
6 Jul 2012, 11:21 am
watafuckinfinish!!
the one time an offload from sbw was really needed
Crusaders (albeit slightly controversially) are in. Good game, bad Bryce.
Now go Sharks!
Money Bill Williams.
You big cockeater. Tried to be the big hero once again. Fluffed it.
SBW better than Nonu
YEAH RIGHT!!!!!
6 Jul 2012, 11:22 am
Eventhough Sonnybill shuduv passed, that was yet another penalty tho. Cynical killing of the ball, but that’s the way they roll isn’t it
Another win for Bryce. Useless incompetent Paddy c@cksmoker!
@Hondo(Hondo)-189: he allowed beast to bore in on vickery!
6 Jul 2012, 11:23 am
the cynical play by the crusaders in their red zone time and again
walsh doing nothing about it
Perfect result.
phew…i was the only one in my pools on superbru that went Crusaders…
The TMO robbed the Chiefs on the Andy Ellis try. Steve is still an iffy ref & although I’m a fan, the ‘saders aren’t the same team they were under Robbie Deans.
Chiefs line-out was diabolical
6 Jul 2012, 11:24 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-210:
great result see you in the playoffs, Carter V Steyn Read V Spies going to be epic
6 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
Got it!
Both result and margin, Walsh is in the same despicables, corrupted referees’ league of Brycie, Jonker, Joubert Et el
6 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
Great game of rugby!Jan Serfontein’s hero cost the Chiefs right at the end.
6 Jul 2012, 11:27 am
So for a change the glory boys came up short..First Ronaldo saving himself for the ‘winning’ penalty that never happened and now Igshaan Behaardien Willams chooses to go for the tryline on his own with a four man overlap. When will these characters realize that it’s a TEAM sport?!?!?!?!?!?!?
6 Jul 2012, 11:27 am
That was a great game, cane v Mccaw, Carter v Cruden, front row battle etc, that was epic.
6 Jul 2012, 11:28 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-214:
despicable
but to be expected really
only way can win is dirty
filth
6 Jul 2012, 11:29 am
C’mon Sharkies stuff the Bulls.
6 Jul 2012, 11:30 am
Walsh is a pansy
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-216: I beg to differ. Walsh cost them rather than Sonny. Crusaders had no intention to play within the laws those last few minutes. But like the Kiwi bloggers on here like to tell us, its only transgressing if you get caught.
Nonu would of given that pass with the overlap, no doubt in my mind.
6 Jul 2012, 11:31 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-221:
really?
what is bryce?
you cant blame ref Steve. Blame the TMO ********. great game. Pity Chiefs lost. Surprised the way the game ended. Thought ref gave Chiefs a penalty.
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-219:
why so worried you’ve said many times you’ll take the Crusaders at Loftus, if you do it’ll be a sweet victory
Tipped Reds in the next game
@Hondo(Hondo)-215:
Were you a ref in a past life
6 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
Overall, apart from dubious Bryce decision, it was a great game with right result.
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-222:
you should play amongst yourselves then and go to church on Sundays
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-207:
only way they know how
this comp is a farce
filth
6 Jul 2012, 11:33 am
In their epic drive to the Saders line, the Chiefs dropped the ball at least 3 times past the 80st minute under Walsh watch, I have the feeling that the NZRU’s marketing people were rooting for the Chiefs?
Too transparent
6 Jul 2012, 11:33 am
Now for the Sharks to beat the Bulls.
6 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
for me the best part of the game was when young Cane grabbed McCaw by the scruff of his neck and dumped him. McCaw did not like that. Cane might be out of the Test team now. lol
6 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-226:
i am not worried, chinchin
only disgusted by the filth on show
will back the bulls to beat them at home
6 Jul 2012, 11:35 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-235:
good for you and then you can take the long flight to Hamilton
6 Jul 2012, 11:37 am
whats this Bryce bit. Dont tell me he was the TMO ref?
No one to blame, it is what it is. SBW stuffed the winning opportunity that was presented for them at the end, great game nonetheless. Tameifuna is something special for a prop so young.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-230: Why? Your game is based on cheating mate. Plain and simple. Only reason you get away with it, is because incompetent ref’s are to **** scared to make waves and upset God’s gift to rugby.
6 Jul 2012, 11:39 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-222: I beg to differ.With a Four-man overlap?If he had off-loaded we would not be talking about the ref ,now would we?Poor play from SBW…end of story.
6 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-236:
good
anyone but the crusaders
6 Jul 2012, 11:42 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-231:
Listen
Will you stop calling people filth
It’s getting really old really fast
6 Jul 2012, 11:43 am
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-238:
bullshit
that many infringements was worthy of a penalty try
but we know the script
6 Jul 2012, 11:44 am
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-239:
funny in 09′ when you were winning the refs were great including Brycie, start winning and KEO.whine will stop, I have to go great result tonight a NZ team will win the comp this year
6 Jul 2012, 11:45 am
Fu8@ing ref stuffed it up…we told him in the memo..’Chiefs to not get any bonus points’ Bloody cheat!!!!! Now the Stormers have to score four fu@&ing tries!!!! Totally spoiled my weekend
6 Jul 2012, 11:46 am
Oh you are kidding me.
The same spolit little brats crying again about cheating etc.
I have never seen such a sad bunch of ballsack supporters in my life.
Are some of you ever happy?
If you hate the game or lets be honest here, hate Kiwis, dont watch the game.
6 Jul 2012, 11:46 am
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-238: Draw at least…
6 Jul 2012, 11:47 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-231:
Well if a South African team wins this comp, i will remember what you said.
@Dawn(Dawn)-242:
look, i dont mean to offend you dawn.
they, the people, are not filth but they are filthy cheaters
and i hate it
i hate how low they have brought the game
it is the truth and i am only stating it
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-240: Only thing I can agree with is the fact he shuduv passed, but when he didn’t, the opportunity was gone. BUT he set up yet another breakdown and the Crusaders killed the ball yet again. Williams didn’t die with it. If Walsh had any balls, a yellow card was appropriate at the previous penalty.
6 Jul 2012, 11:50 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-248:
if a sa team wins this comp
they win it in spite of the australasian deceit and trickery.
what’s your take on the tmo try decision?
6 Jul 2012, 11:51 am
Galileo, have beer mate, relax, join a club and play the game, to much whining, its not healthy.
6 Jul 2012, 11:51 am
Stormers need 4 tries and a win by more than 6 points to top the total log!
Go boitjies!!!!!
6 Jul 2012, 11:52 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-251:
The one tonight in the Chiefs v Saders game?
6 Jul 2012, 11:53 am
@253
Backdoorboy
It’s not gonna happen
As you were.
6 Jul 2012, 11:54 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-190: Exactly my point, you play rugby in your back gardens and expect the same money us, who have invested in proper infrastructure, until you build 40 000 plus Stadia, you guys should get a 3rd of the money, which i equal to your 3rd worth contribution to the pot
6 Jul 2012, 11:55 am
TMO called it,thats it.
I have seen a South African TMO break all the rules and call something he was not even asked.
But thats ok isnt it.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-246: come on Hurricane…why rise to the bait with the bleating…actually, most of us are often happy. especially after watching a great game like this. I ignore the repeated claims of cheating from my country men…none of it can be proven and it all boils down to personal opinion…rather discuss the rugger without having to deal with silly accusations…
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-250: If you actually new anything about rugby you would of seen sbw crawling trying to get over the line, should of been a penalty awarded to the crusaders.
6 Jul 2012, 11:56 am
One down – now go SHAAAAAAAARKSSSSS!!!!! Go Francois Steyn – the greatest centre to have donned the green and gold. Dooooooo eeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!
Walsh deserves to serve a prison sentence in Siberia
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-244: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-246: You fuckers are a blight on the game. I have no problem giving credit where its due mate. None whatsoever. The Crusaders is a champion team. Their record speaks for itself. But the Crusaders of the last 2 seasons?
A ref is not there to pick sides or interpret the laws. His sole mandate is to make sure players play within the laws. And the laws are clearcut. There are no conjecture. Just enforce the damn laws. How difficult can it be
6 Jul 2012, 11:58 am
@RDOT(RDOT)-258:
Yep, good call.
6 Jul 2012, 12:00 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-262:
Now there is the problem.
” The Laws are clearcut ”
No they are not. The laws are the damn problem here.
Rugby has the most rules that any game. That on its own asks much more of a rugby ref compared
to a football ref. People should stop blaming the players and the refs but start looking at what the game has become.
6 Jul 2012, 12:01 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-255: Ah, the gutter mouthed sharks fan, how’s it feel down there in the gutter this morning?
6 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
My opinion was here @chch(chch)-194:
6 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
@chch(chch)-254:
yes
6 Jul 2012, 12:03 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-256:
I think you have no idea in the population differences do you?
6 Jul 2012, 12:05 pm
@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-259:
was he held?
besides, there were countless cynical infringments leading up to it.
6 Jul 2012, 12:05 pm
Well now.
This tourny is getting interesting. Or is the ultimate winner already decided?
I couldn’t watch this game, but I cannot see anyone beating the Crusaders if I were to believe Vrede’s insight and use of superlatives:
“Brutal collisions, breathtaking individual and collective skills, appreciable tactical intelligence, resillience and passion, bags of it”
6 Jul 2012, 12:08 pm
@chch(chch)-266:
yip, agreed its to fast for good decisions to be made. maybe more power to the tmo to intervene?
and yes, absolutely farcical decision by the tmo.
6 Jul 2012, 12:08 pm
I am living the good life well,thanks Backdoorboy.
Got your featherboa ready for tomorrow?
Feckin backspitter.
6 Jul 2012, 12:10 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-264: So, you need a good memory to be a ref but you don’t need to be rocket scientist mate. I agree we have a lot of laws but most of them are pretty clear as to what is allowed or not. What constitutes a ruck and the laws that governs that phase of play isn’t quite the conundrum they are made out to be. 2 players over the top of a tackled player means no hands and staying on your feet… on both sides. Think about it mate, there’s no conjecture. No ambiguity. It’s you fckers demanding a more open, free flowing game that made refs to think about letting the game “flow”. Honest question…since when was it up to the ref to make the game flow?
6 Jul 2012, 12:11 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-262:
too true
but try not to use offensive foul language
dawn does not like it
6 Jul 2012, 12:12 pm
@willievz(willievz)-270:
I would agree with that though …. he just left out the hugely increased number of mistakes and penalties given away.
Still great to watch sometimes but damn frustrating other times. They are just like every other team now
6 Jul 2012, 12:13 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-273:
the joke here is they cry for it to be free flowing and open but play entirely to kill momentum willfully when its not going their way.
farce much…
6 Jul 2012, 12:14 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-272:
Fuckoff
6 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-256: You’d be an idiot to build a 40000 stadium for a 20000 crowd. NZ’s stadiums were perfectly adequate for a world cup, so they’re fine for NZ. Remember, Super Rugby/3N is played at NIGHT in NZ in midwinter, when it’s cold and wet. Only the hardest of hardcore fans bother going to a game rather than watch it on TV with the heater on and your warm bed only minutes and a toothbrush away once the final whistle blows. Games in SA are played in the warm daytime and in cities which have a population almost equal to the entirety of NZ. You really ought to fill a 100 000 seater every week. 20000 in NZ is more than adequate.
6 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-273:
Us fkers?
What is your problem?
Rugby has too many laws. Its really easy sitting in your armchair with the remote control and all the angles isnt it?
I myself would hate to be a ref. One crucial wrong call or a miss and you are a called a cheat and you life is threatened by a whole country.
6 Jul 2012, 12:19 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-272: @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-272: Yo “Fern is not a stud, he is merely a chop”, that was funny, had to look up what a “featherboa” was, feel like less of a man now that I do, funny that you know so much about these things.
6 Jul 2012, 12:21 pm
Is the Highlanders thread shut?
6 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-280:
Hurricane, can both our teams still make playoffs?
Free flowing game that only NZ teams play?
6 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@chch(chch)-283: With the right refs, most certainly.
6 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
Good for my Superbru.
Bad for the Sharks. And Bulls.
6 Jul 2012, 12:26 pm
@chch(chch)-283: Don’t know what team you support, but the #6 spot is between the canes, sharks and reds/landers (depending who wins today).
6 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
@chch(chch)-283:
Trying to have a look but for some reason the super15 site is taking so long to load anything up.
I hate waiting
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-276: Sad thing is, or good thing depending of your point of view, they have perfected the game of getting quick ball when they want but slows down opposition ball. This they do thru “aggressively rucking/counter rucking” and going off their feet because of it. How many times have you heard a ref scream ‘NO #whatever number#, leave it. You’re off your feet” (And this is all teams, not just the AB’s), only to watch the offending player make a half assed attempt at getting away from the ball. The thing is…he already succeeded in what he was trying to achieve, ie slow ball for the opposition without penalty.
@chch(chch)-281: Looks like it. Poor Reds kid.
6 Jul 2012, 12:28 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-285:
We know what team wont be there
6 Jul 2012, 12:28 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-287:
From Christchurch as per my thread name. Crusaders
6 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-272:
Living the good life?
On the internet?
Trolling Capetonians?
That’s the good life?
Because it’s all you seem to do. Man I need to stay in more, I’m jealous.
6 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-253:
I think a bonus point win will do it. They would have won more games I think and that and not points difference is now the rule…
6 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-268: I know exactly whats the population difference , so why not accept the hand God dealt you with that small population of yours and let us benefit for ours, the fact that you guys are smaller should also equal your share of the spoils, simply really.
6 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
In any case we don’t believe in bonus points. Its for the weaker teams to stay in touch. Teams losing five games and then expecting to lead the conference. Pathetic really…
6 Jul 2012, 12:31 pm
Does anyone have a list of the teams that do not play each other this season?
This new competition is a farce. The missing match is something they don’t like to publicise.
6 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-293:
Howzit Jock
6 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-287: Yes. I hope its Sharks. If they win tonight and the Reds lose now they will be closer to that number 6 spot.
Stormers need to push now for the bonus point tomorrow so that they can go top!
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-289: When the New Zealanders counter ruck, most of the time they go off their feet. I dont know if I am interpreting the rules wrong or the refs cant see it but isnt that a penalty?
6 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@chch(chch)-297: All I know is that the Stormers havent played the top NZ and AUS team.
6 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
Vrede its time you enrol for some classes so that you can expand your vocabulary.
How is this an “epic’ if the only reason the ‘saders stayed ahead on the scoreboard is due to Walsh’s blatant bias. The result of this match is tainted by poor officiating. Perhaps you were impressed by the ‘saders “epic” defence in the final minutes of play & that’s coloured your opinion on the contest as a whole
6 Jul 2012, 12:34 pm
@chch(chch)-292: Cool, no worries, Saders are through to the quarters at least, they play force next week, but could be an away QF in OZ against Brumbies.
6 Jul 2012, 12:35 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-295:
You have to accept the players that God dealt SA and NZ and so we can ask for the same money as you lot
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-295:
I was only commenting on your question about our stadiums.
So seems you know exactly the cut NZ and OZ get.
Please tell us. How much does NZ gets each year from the Super 15.
Refering is part of the game. Some go your way and others don’t. Whinger changes nothing… Well done Saders…
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-278: Fair point, the accept that the pot should be split 50% SA, 30% Australia and 20% NZ, that’s how much you guys contribute, so its fair to get whats equal to your contribution. I don’t get your argument about equal sharing, based on what?
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-294: Thanks, had not known about the new rule.
6 Jul 2012, 12:37 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-307:
Now let’s hope the Stormers can get a bonus point… It is like a bunny on the shoulder…
6 Jul 2012, 12:37 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-298:
Hiya Dawn
Catch up tomorrow during the game. Off to a meeting now, just checking the scores quickly and can’t believe the same bs going on from the same heroes on this site
Laters…
6 Jul 2012, 12:38 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-299:
” When the New Zealanders counter ruck, most of the time they go off their feet. I dont know if I am interpreting the rules wrong or the refs cant see it but isnt that a penalty?”
Sasuke, you are correct, it is a penalty. But while you are so interested in watching what the Kiwi teams are doing, you are actaully missing that the South African teams are doing the same thing.
6 Jul 2012, 12:38 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-302:
6 Jul 2012, 12:39 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-306: The split is equal as there iis equal amounts of super rugby teams from each nation, that means equal amounts of matches provided for broadcasting. All teams would get an equal share.
6 Jul 2012, 12:39 pm
@chch(chch)-303: Yes we accept, that’s why you guys win more often on the field than we do, fair, now why should you not accept Gods hand when it comes to us taking the majority of the money that we brought along anyway.
6 Jul 2012, 12:41 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-279: Yes, you fckers! Afterall, the only thing that matters is your winning percentage, isn’t that right? No matter what damage you’re doing to the actual game. You might think I’m a whiner but what I’m realy bemoaning is poor officiating allround. Your Skyspor/NZt propaganda machine made sure that the rest of the world knows that ONLY you can play rugby proper, hence you getting most of the decisions going your way. Just the way it is, I guess… The rest of the world had make do with what we get
6 Jul 2012, 12:41 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-304: I don’t know what NZ get, what I do know, though, is that they shouldn’t be getting anything close to 25% of the share.
6 Jul 2012, 12:42 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-315: Share of what? Are you talking about stadiums or broadcasting contracts?
6 Jul 2012, 12:43 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-310: Really? We dont really counter ruck as a nation. I dont know why though. We should do it more often with our big, powerful forward. We depend mostly on the fetcher to get the ball for us, if not we just dont commit guys to the ruck and get our defence ready.
6 Jul 2012, 12:44 pm
What’s with these Reds’ shirts
Giving me headache
6 Jul 2012, 12:45 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-299: They’ve won ’09 3N’s because of it. And the ref’s still haven’t picked up on it. Nigel Owens did in the 2nd Test vs Ire. Is it any wonder Ireland was in that game for the full 80?
6 Jul 2012, 12:45 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-316: I’m talking about Newscorp money for Super Rugby. Why should the money be split 3 equal ways?, when we are sustaining the existence of the competition.?, why?
6 Jul 2012, 12:46 pm
So it’s looking like Crusaders vs Bulls and just the home ground advantage to be decided.
Looks like I am a Sharks fan this weekend
6 Jul 2012, 12:47 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-317: The off your feet rule is more about how you enter the ruck. Counter rucking by nature needs the players stay on there feet to use their legs to drive over, if they then fall over the ball due to momentum it’s fine and does not constitute as “off your feet”.
That is my understanding anyway.
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-314:
So we are worried about our winning percentage….lol of course we are and so is everyone else.
Do you think we are the only ones that make the rules?
Do you think we just put a rule in and say ‘All you losers, follow us ”
I would have thought South Africa have a say in what rules go into the game as well.
Or are you guys just followers and complainers?
Well get blamed for cheating, conspiracy, cheating refs, and now cheating rules all to help us.
Have you ever thought that once in a while a team is better than what South Africa has to offer?
@Dawn(Dawn)-318: National Aborigine Day
6 Jul 2012, 12:49 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-315:
So you dont know what Nz get?
What is the problem then?
Mate, that would never hold up in court.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-291: That’s coz we wuz cheated.
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-320:
So you reckon we take all the money and play ourselves?
@Dawn(Dawn)-318:
It’s Aboriginal theme week in Queensland
I am sure that is bound to lead to some confusion for Queensland rednecks
What a boring game.
6 Jul 2012, 12:50 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-320: How do we sustain the competition? We only have bigger stadiums and more people watching rugby, but NewsCorp does not broadcast in SA but rather in the US,Europe, Australia and NZ. So Newscorp money is due to the quality of the tournament which is equaly spread because each team contributes to the quality of the competition.
6 Jul 2012, 12:51 pm
@chch(chch)-321:
the bulls will beat the sharks
and they will beat the filthy cheats at home
cant see them beating the chiefs away though but would bet on them against the stormers or brumbies if they were to play them.
6 Jul 2012, 12:52 pm
Uptheguts, have a kitkat mate, relax with your conspiracy theories, must’ve been a tough week for you. Have a beer and just watch the game. Whining is an acquired trait, best to steer clear and give it a wide berth.
6 Jul 2012, 12:53 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-326:
yes, you guys were cheated Kat.
A huge rip off. Disgusting to say the least.
6 Jul 2012, 12:53 pm
Good luck with getting a play off spot Hurricane.
6th spot might be best as it is a more likely semi-final against the Chiefs
6 Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-331:
Why do you have roundness in your nic
While you at it explain the whole damn thing
6 Jul 2012, 12:56 pm
@chch(chch)-334:
Yeah we need some games to go our way and the reds winning isnt it.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-325: Were you always this poor at school?, just because I don’t currently have actual figures, doesn’t negate the principle of the argument, do you understand.
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-331:
This season I think any top 8 side can beat any other top 8 side on a good day. There are no SA or NZ sides with a sure thing home ground.
6 Jul 2012, 12:58 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-336:
oh if the Reds win tonight then you need them to lose next week. Highlanders not doing a good job for you at the moment
6 Jul 2012, 13:00 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-327: Yes we take whats due to us, if it means NZ and Aus go bankrupt so be it. The must know who pays the piper, just because they are better dances doesn’t mean they can call the tunes.
6 Jul 2012, 13:00 pm
What is the story with the Lions leadership?
Are these their last 2 matches?
6 Jul 2012, 13:02 pm
Highlanders try. Game on
6 Jul 2012, 13:02 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-323: Missing the point. My take is AB rugby for the last 3-4 seasons is build on not stretching the laws but breaking them without shame or fear of sanction. Take Breakdown’s view of the ‘off the feet’ law above. How can it be ok to go off your feet when the law says you have to stay on your feet for the entire duration of the breakdown. Especially if you’re effectively killing the contest by going off your feet on the other side? Maybe GH’s gamble, I don’t know byut it worked and it still does. Now, we all know the game. Sometimes momentum and contesting, bodies all over there is no other outcome but going off your feet. I’ve seen rucks where the AB’s, or Crusaders for that matter, go off their feet for no apparent reason. The only conclusion then it was to take up space. Either way ,you’ve got quick ball to release your backs. Mission accomplished. And most importantly, it doesn’t matter to you because…wait for it… You’re winning. And you’ll continue to care less as long as keep on winning. You’re 2007 semi vs Fra is testament to that. That year, you became what you despised most…a whiner!!!!
6 Jul 2012, 13:03 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-337:
well your argument may go well at school, but at university/high school, if you have no facts there is no argument.
Waste of time really. I only asked for the facts as i didnt really know myself.
The way you were carrying on pulling out 25% here and there i thought you may have.
Carry on dude, sorry to ask for the facts.
6 Jul 2012, 13:04 pm
Yawn
6 Jul 2012, 13:06 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-330: Locally, Vodacom has sponsored a Billion to 2 teams, Kaizer Chiefs and Pirates, clearly we have enough in our sport to keep rugby professional and profitable, if we pull out of this Super Rugby thing, NZ and Aus domestic competition will virtually come to an end, then Cruden signs for WP, the rest is history…
6 Jul 2012, 13:06 pm
“Back in CT and can’t believe how cold it is (compared to London). Never thought I would ever hear myself say that.(follow Keo on Twitter)”
Ai Keohane.
It is winter you know
6 Jul 2012, 13:08 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-347: Don’t tell him there’s snow around. You’ll set him off on a wild goose chase.
6 Jul 2012, 13:08 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-343:
Yeah i see your point, but is it only the Kiwi teams.teams that do this?
Is it only us that stretch the laws?
And 2007 was not a good year for us and apologise for the constant whining, but i was blogging on keo in 2007. And i honestly didnt make a huge fuss of the useless ref barnes.
I actually handles quite well really. Unlike alot of other Kiwis, in facty most the Kiwis on this site handled it well……… oh no i am going to have bad dreams tonight now
6 Jul 2012, 13:11 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-349:
And i apologise for the bad keyboard skills.
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-332: Sure. Probably time to let the hair down, but I’m not talking conspiracies. Just the way it is mate. Have’nt you noticed?
Can this game end already so I can switch the TV at work over to the tennis
6 Jul 2012, 13:12 pm
Keohane is a snow goose?
That is the title of one of my setworks at school
6 Jul 2012, 13:13 pm
Is it a suprise that the ‘Landers looks heaps better and in the game with Aaron Smith on the field? Cowan is a hasbeen or is that a neverwas?
6 Jul 2012, 13:13 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-344: Why not try and understand the simply concept of absence of evidence is not evidence of absence, then you will understand the significance or lack thereof of your point about figures, particularly in this instance.
6 Jul 2012, 13:14 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-354:
Spot on.
I believe Cowan is a neverwas.
6 Jul 2012, 13:14 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-353: No, but those are two of the things he’s into.
6 Jul 2012, 13:15 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-357:
6 Jul 2012, 13:15 pm
that was close as Smith caught it behind him too
6 Jul 2012, 13:16 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-356:
6 Jul 2012, 13:17 pm
I just hope by the time the new deal is discussed SARU would have gotten specialist like us, to look at figures, instead of politically appointees they have, parading as business people. NZ and Aus Rugby must learn to stand on their own, if they can’t, then they should fold, no communism.
6 Jul 2012, 13:18 pm
No ways Kaplan!!!v Doubt if there was daylight but that was a fair contest on the ground
6 Jul 2012, 13:19 pm
FCK!~~ This game is a split image!
6 Jul 2012, 13:20 pm
Or at least the last 5 minutes
Never thought I’d say this but GREAT DEFENCE Q. COOPER!
Saved my ‘Bru season with 2 telling tackles
Reds win. Trouble for Hurricanes
6 Jul 2012, 13:23 pm
Don’t think Stormers will get that elusive 4 tries just yet.
But next week will be perfectly set up if we take care of Cheetahs, Canes to upset Chiefs if it’s a home game for them and Stormers to finally overcome their try drought vs Rebels.
And Sharks by 5 tonight
6 Jul 2012, 13:28 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-367:
Lucky you said that. I just realised it’s a Friday night game so need to set my alarm for 5am tomorrow
6 Jul 2012, 13:32 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-349: No we all stretch the laws but you blatantly break them! Thought I made that clear? Off the topic …what’s to become of your beloved Reechee? Cane showed it again tonite. His time has come. With Jerome Kaino gone, a spot at 6 maybe
6 Jul 2012, 13:33 pm
Missed the margin by 1 point, but a good Super15 rugby game nevertheless, Kaplan’s the ultimate referee, pinged the Reds for deliberate cheating few times but they kept trying
6 Jul 2012, 13:36 pm
My hopes on the large payout now resting on Peiper to spin it for the Bulls tonight, the Sharks probably resigned to the swindle because they have raised no concern, Sharks shouldn’t complain afterward.
Bulls by 5 to 8
6 Jul 2012, 13:38 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-371: Sharks to win it. Even without Alberts because they have Frans Steyn. And he have to face Wynand. All white players btw. With special reference to WO
6 Jul 2012, 13:40 pm
Uptheguts, look, your opinion is valid to those who see it the same way as you, I’m sure that there is a kiwi and Oz version of you saying the exact same thing about SA rugby, all I’m saying is, let it go, I’m having cheese and crackers and a bottle of red and enjoying my evening of rugby, its a game, a hobby, it does not have that much of an influence on me that it upsets me. Sure there are bad refs, repeat offenders in the game, but its always been that way. Don’t worry about it. Like I said, its just a game that we all love. I’ll buy you a beer.
6 Jul 2012, 13:42 pm
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-373: So I take it you, as Kiwi don’t have a gripe with SA rugby? If you do, please let’s hear it. I realy wanna know.
6 Jul 2012, 13:53 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-346: And where does that leave us and our rugby? Back in in isolation days? The super rugby competition is tops because it has the clubs of the top three nations playing against each other. It’s the teams that sustain the quality of the competition not the frecking sponsors!
NZ is a far better developed nation than us, per capita they are probably richer than us, their only limiter is population size due to the islands they live on.
In fact South Africa ranked 78th and NZ ranked 29th (GDP per Capita) acording to World Bank.
6 Jul 2012, 13:54 pm
Uptheguts, sorry to disappoint champ, don’t have a gripe with anyones rugby, love the game, don’t care for the theatricals in the media and/or on here. I played the game and it looked after me well, friends all over the world, a South African wife who I met after a game in SA, that’s rugby for me champ. Oh, and a BBQ with chilled beers.
6 Jul 2012, 14:00 pm
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-373: Another thing, if you’re winning, no one gives a **** about the rest. As much as I hate to say it that’s just the way it is I guess, but the SA way of playing is kicking the penalties first and foremost. No reason to think that this will change under HM. Also why we, as Saffas was/still is so upset with Bryce in THAT semi. ALSO WHY the ref becomes so important to all us Saffas. If it true and you can accept our game is geared on penalties, it becomes important that the ref gives us the penalties we deserve. As soon as we don’t get it, we’re done for. It’s not like we’re going to create tries out of nowhere all of a sudden. We’re not built that way. Seen that way, the laws are almost more paramount to a Saffa than a Kiwi, isn’t it? Why? Because a penalty accrues only because a referee sees fit to apply a certain law. Makes sense?
6 Jul 2012, 14:02 pm
@UptheGuts(UptheGuts)-377: So it’s not whining per se…
6 Jul 2012, 14:10 pm
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-376: Good on you mate! If for love of the game you’ll actualy join me in this “quest” Incompetent refs are spoiling our game mate. The breakdown used to be a free for all and then they felt the need to police it. Inevitably, human nature kicked in and we had to improve our game to produce a better product for the masses out there, therefore refs started to interpret what the laws meant and quite franckly that was the beginning of the end
6 Jul 2012, 14:13 pm
6 Jul 2012, 14:14 pm
best game of the season, pitty it had shite refs. Aussie or nz refs dont have a clue when it comes to rucks and steve walsh doesn’t have a clue about scrums, crocket could have been penalised at every scrum.
6 Jul 2012, 14:25 pm
Liking Xhosakids vibe.
Especially the bit about political appointees.
6 Jul 2012, 14:27 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-335:
flip, i dont even remember anymore, dawn.
i do remember it had something to do with either praising the bulls backline coach or mocking the stormers backline coach and also being mocked by ufo, who called me galileo sarcastically* (in a cape town way).
so the whole nic was something like ‘galileo rates the roundness of a certain unions backline coach’ or something the other.
but there were complaints about ridiculously long nic so i shortened it.
thats the best i can do
@chch(chch)-338:
sure its nice to think,
but by the looks of them i’d sat any of the chiefs, crusaders and bulls would be impossible to beat at home.
not so sure about the stormers and brumbies.
6 Jul 2012, 14:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-382:
he is right.
its a sad day when our rugby administrators are as apt at a trough as our government politicos.
being a bok supporter is like being in the middel of an ugly three way ‘*** love party’ sandwhich… we’re getting farked by those filthy cheats on the one side and those filthy trough suits on the other.
let me tell you
double penetration is not for sissies…
6 Jul 2012, 14:43 pm
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-384: How does that even work in the real world?
My biggest fear is crossing swords…
6 Jul 2012, 14:45 pm
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-375: You are looking at this the wrong way, the problem you highlight of “isolation” is poor and just plain scare-mongering, the real downside to us pulling out of this current mess and having our own Premier League, would result in all the top players around the world wanting to sign for Bull, WP, Sharks etc etc, this to the detriment of local talent, just like English Football is suffering for it, Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal have virtually no English players, resulting in England being poor.
Be progressive with your thinking not regressive, please
6 Jul 2012, 14:55 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-382: If those pchuks at SARU were business people, Aus and NZ should paying us to play in Super Rugby, not the other way around.
6 Jul 2012, 14:56 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-385:
well i’ve watched enough porn to know though it might look good when a hot german blond or olive skinned brazilian babe is getting the stuffing dp’d out of her.
but imaging that happening to…you….player 23….jan… the supporter…
ja, i know…freaky..very freaky…
and the goons dp’ing are ugly, filthy pigs..
sjoe!
i feel light headed
6 Jul 2012, 14:59 pm
i refuse to be someone’s dp sandwhich bag
i will opt out of this unholy alliance
from here on in its cc only for me
6 Jul 2012, 14:59 pm
fark you saru
and
fark you keewees
6 Jul 2012, 15:00 pm
Indeed Xhosakid.
South Africa in a nutshell sadly.
6 Jul 2012, 15:01 pm
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-390:
me thinks you need some more valium, have you run out?
6 Jul 2012, 15:07 pm
China making a night of it.
6 Jul 2012, 15:18 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-344:
The 3 countries split the money 3 ways. Equal share. SA used to get 40%, but a new deal was reached when this stupid conference system came into play.
Xhosakid is quite right to say that NZL should never EVER get close to what SA gets (yet they get the same).
SA should get 50% of the revenue with NZL and Aus taking 25% each. Or at the very least, 45,27.5,27.5 .
Not the Kiwi’s problem though. It’s ours and the greedy fools from SA who no doubt took some under the table payments when the ‘equal split’ deal was reached.
6 Jul 2012, 15:18 pm
I see the Savages are restless…
6 Jul 2012, 15:19 pm
Talk me through the big night you’ve got planned.
6 Jul 2012, 15:20 pm
Just read the the Ryan’s report, very well written and guess what – not a single mentioning of a ref. Just 2 words “contentious try”. And keeping in mind that even taking away that controversial try Crusaders scored 2 points more than the opposition, it’s enough.
That’s a refreshing piece in the middle of wailing chorus.
6 Jul 2012, 15:24 pm
I like Xhosakids idea…
SA Premier League Rugby..
8 Teams… Start it short and sweet, in between SH and NH seasons – round about now and June…
9 week compo – each team plays eachother once… top 4 semis… Then final.
Recruit players from everywhere on auction basis similar to IPL…
Schweet… Fck Sanzar once and for all…
6 Jul 2012, 15:27 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-398:
great idea except very few foreign players would want to live in SA to dangerous, ask Mitch he was seconds away from death
6 Jul 2012, 15:28 pm
Well it won’t involve sitting here on keo with my pielie in the water hoping for a nibble.
There is talk of dinner at HQ
6 Jul 2012, 15:30 pm
wow good on you son you have a great night out
6 Jul 2012, 15:31 pm
Then perhaps a few quiet ones.
Up the coast tomorrow for some R and R.
And you?
Apart from keo of course.
6 Jul 2012, 15:31 pm
The best game, International or otherwise, this year. Top drawer code from both sides, pillar to post.
6 Jul 2012, 15:32 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-387:
spot on, xhosakid.
somedays i really pray we will leave this comp.
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-392:
well, you are right
the unholy trinity of bryce, walsh and the crusaders have pushed me into the zone.
if only they didnt cheat as much and/are as incompetent
i’d be a better man
6 Jul 2012, 15:33 pm
July is a very busy time for me so very quiet, will be tripping around in August so it can wait.
6 Jul 2012, 15:35 pm
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-404:
Bryce should go, we can all agree on that one.
6 Jul 2012, 15:36 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-406: So now he must go, the hatchet job he did on the Boks?
6 Jul 2012, 15:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-398:
i really, really want that
with all my heart
i dont like this comp at all, in fact it disgusts me most days
i want to go back to a full strength cc and international tours for the boks, incoming or outgoing or a bit of both.
6 Jul 2012, 15:38 pm
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-404: @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-406: is this an apt description of this game’s ending?
from stuff.co.nz
“At 25-21, with Cruden missing the conversion, it was anyone’s game. But again it was the Crusaders’ set-piece that grabbed a stranglehold on the game going into the final 10 minutes and the Chiefs were forced to play the game in their own territory.
When they finally emerged to attack for the last five minutes, including well after the final hooter, it was the Crusaders’ defence that held.
One overlap was ignored when replacement hooker Hika Elliot went on his own and then some blatant offside at the end by an otherwise outstanding Richie McCaw after a string of penalties and taps was ignored this time by Walsh and he blew for fulltime when play came to a halt.
6 Jul 2012, 15:39 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-340:
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-346:
well said, sir
i can assure you i will be penning a letter to saru on the weekend.
6 Jul 2012, 15:40 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-407:
he did a hatchet job on the BIL in 09′ as well, he’s not a good ref but lets not blame him for your early 1/4 exit with 75% territory and possession you fucke d that one up all on your own
6 Jul 2012, 15:40 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-406:
thanks china,
i apreciate you saying so.
6 Jul 2012, 15:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-409:
honestly, the gall of these people.
wow!
is all i can say
wow!
6 Jul 2012, 15:43 pm
Busy for you?
On keo you mean?
6 Jul 2012, 15:44 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-411: now, on the same thread this possession has reduced to “75%” hehehehe i’ll have some of your greentea
Neck and neck tennis
I have a plan for Bryce.
He can start a gameshow in which contestants secretly make bids to buy the outcomes of games in which he is the ref. These bids are fed to him through his earpiece while the game is being played, and he must swing the outcome based on what he thinks the final bid will be. Fiercely contested bidding wars can make for some interesting swings in the game, and some seriously odd calls towards the closing stages.
(Although probably not odder than we already see with him)
We’ll call it “The Bryce is Right”.
6 Jul 2012, 15:46 pm
yip you’re right, I do some of my best work on KEO in July
6 Jul 2012, 15:48 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-411:
do yourself, and us, a favour and watch that game again.
have a beer and just try to be as open minded as possible to a game of rugby, nothing more nor less.
we farked nothing up
we got farked
certainly by bryce and perhaps on a bigger ‘conspiracy’ scale even by the whole nzru/nz big heads.
one of the most distasteful and shocking games of rugby i’ve ever seen, on the basis of the refereeing.
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-158:
Which was the same logic that SANZAR partners Aus & NZ applied to RWC revenue in future, earning the wrath of the IRB and World audience, as SA looked silently on.
And which SA has now massively benefitted from.
@Transformation(Transformation)-415:
lol im drinking some now, the exact stats i’m unsure off, what I do know though is that you had plenty and they had fuckall, the Bokke and nobody else lost that game
6 Jul 2012, 15:49 pm
And Federer ahead by a nosehair
@>^..^< katman(katman)-417:
love it
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-419:
rewatch the Ab’s in SA 76′ you’ll choke on your billtong
6 Jul 2012, 15:52 pm
@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-420:
massively?
how much?
small change to what we give you no doubt
Federer to win and take out that bucktoothed mommy’s boy on Sunday
Your ref is actually quoted as saying ” yes but you don’t have to live here after the series”
6 Jul 2012, 15:55 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-417:
http://thebryceisright.net/
6 Jul 2012, 15:57 pm
@The Donkeys Egg(The Donkeys Egg)-420:
Good let’s apply it to Sanzar thank you.
6 Jul 2012, 15:59 pm
Like some of the views on here, I have always been FOR the party that gets rid of Super RuIgby, I’ve always preferred the NPC to Super Rugby. I’m old school, full rugby tours and the RWC will have more meaning to it. Australia should start its own domestic comp too
6 Jul 2012, 16:03 pm
Roger two sets up and breaks serve in the 4th. Just has to hold his serve from here on to make the final.
Go Roger.
6 Jul 2012, 16:05 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-428: That site is quite kak. My gameshow will blow him out the water.
6 Jul 2012, 16:08 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-427:
would you say it was some of the most distasteful and shocking games of rugby you have ever seen, on the basis of the refereeing?
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-430:
absolutely yes,
nz and aus will have issues wrt funding themselves though but i suppose the lower costs would help out in that regard.
6 Jul 2012, 16:09 pm
Go Roger.
Best South African tennis player since Wayne Ferreira.
6 Jul 2012, 16:13 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-434: Probably since Kevin Curren.
6 Jul 2012, 16:18 pm
One day we’ll return here,
When the Fat Maori sings again
Come back Japie, you’ve been gone a while
And the war is raging, in the Shakey Isle
That’s flesh and blood man, that’s flesh and blood
All the girls are crying but all’s not lost
The stadia are empty, the stadia are cold
Won’t you come on home, won’t you come on home
The stadia are empty
Life goes on
6 Jul 2012, 16:19 pm
Who can forget Kevvie?
Was it Ivan Lendl who blew him away at Wimbers?
6 Jul 2012, 16:20 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-434:
He needs to hold serve here to go up 5/3 he should have broken serve in the last game was up 40 love just to lose that game.
6 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
@Puma(Puma)-438: meant 5/2
6 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
Roger just needs to hold serve now to go through to the final.
Go Roger.
6 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
Johan Kriek.
Winner of 2 grand Slam Singles titles.
Aus open 81 & 81.
No South African has ever done that.
6 Jul 2012, 16:27 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-435:
He cant be serious
6 Jul 2012, 16:27 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-441:
I don’t think it is possible for anyone to win the same slam twice in one year, nevermind Kriek.
81 and 82, maybe?
6 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
No other South African I meant to say.
Semi Finalist French and US
Quarters at Wimbledon.
Pretty good stuff I’d say.
Nocak not going gently.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-441:
In the same year.
Unprecedented
@willievz(willievz)-443: Yes sorry.
match point.
6 Jul 2012, 16:30 pm
The Fed does it again.
Big advantage for the finals.
6 Jul 2012, 16:32 pm
Two Australian Opens on one year?
That’s f.uckin’. awesome.
Not even Fed can beat that.
6 Jul 2012, 16:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-437: Boris Boom Boom, wasn’t it?
6 Jul 2012, 16:34 pm
Ja ja ja ja
81 & 82,
2 Grand slams.
In fact 14 Career singles and 8 doubles titles.
Not too shabby Nige.
Take that Wayne.
6 Jul 2012, 16:35 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-449: Yes kevi beat Conners and then lost to Boris as a teenager.
Well done Roger. Into the final.
Looked so easy in the end.
@Dawn(Dawn)-445: Was a leap year.
6 Jul 2012, 16:36 pm
Don’t misunderestimate the power of the Lendl in Murray’s corner. His aura alone is worth 18 aces.
6 Jul 2012, 16:37 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-446: Hehe, just teasing you buddy
@Puma(Puma)-452: nervy last game.
It’ll be nice to see him lift one more slam.
Or will the poms eventually have a champ?
Or will it be Tsonga? He beat Fed last time.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-451: I remember watching that game while in the UK in Cornwall for a holiday.
Jeez seems like years and years back. That was the start of Bekker. He was only 17 at the time.
6 Jul 2012, 16:38 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-456: Was a nervy game but in the end it seemed easy.
Now would like Tsonga to beat Murray.
@Puma(Puma)-457: Kevin lost that game more than Boris won it. I was gutted for him.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-454: The same lendl who never won Wimbledon??
Just asking.
Great day for South African sport.
To be capped off by the Bulls giving the Sharks a good fisting at uShaka kings park.
If all goes world I’ll consider opening a bottle or two Of Chateau Lafite Tassies later.
Or rather pay some social science graduate to open them for me.
6 Jul 2012, 16:39 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-460: Wash your mouth out. Next to Fereder, Lendl was the longest reigning no.1 in the world. He deserves your respect.
6 Jul 2012, 16:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-456: Remember Murray will tell you he is NOT English but Scottish…hahaha. Always remember him saying that on tv. So will it be a Scot, French Half Swiss Half Saffa? My bet is on our man Roger. Well my support is behind Roger.
433 he disallowed 2 or 3 certain tries, all your own commentators were saying they were tries and he was quoted as I posted above, what do you reckon but these things happen in sport
@Puma(Puma)-457: That’s right.
I was a teenager on June vacs at St Michaels. Up your neck of the woods.
6 Jul 2012, 16:41 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-462: Was it not Pete Sampras?
6 Jul 2012, 16:41 pm
Indeed Katters.
Arrested Development even wrote a song about him.
6 Jul 2012, 16:42 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-461:
Why is it a great day for SA sport?
we are black, we are white we are DYNAMITE!!!!
the dynamite need 5 points this evening, where are puma, sharks_lover, sharkgirl, fernly, precum, bananaboy, hg, dusky, mad-eye, rangerman, charo, jay-da-five-oh, centurion_shark, john galt, pokkel, original_pierre, mshiniwami with the GEES
@Puma(Puma)-466: I don’t think Pete beat his record of almost 5 years solid at no.1.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-461:
@>^..^< katman(katman)-462: He was a great player for sure. Missed on year of the French to concentrate on winning Wimbledon. Won Queens. Blew into the final. Looked unstoppable.
Lost to Pat Cash
Aint life strange.
6 Jul 2012, 16:43 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-468: SA’s Roger Federer is through.
6 Jul 2012, 16:43 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-471: Another fcking Aussie cheat
6 Jul 2012, 16:44 pm
461 why is it a great day for Sa sport, when KP or Rathbone do well you’re never this happy
6 Jul 2012, 16:45 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-465: I was 29 back then. Thought I was getting on a bit…………..hahahahaha. We kinda daft the way we think when we young hey!
@Puma(Puma)-463: As much as Murray calls himself Scottish, the sneaky poms will claim him if he wins. They staked their hopes on that Greg Rusedsky chap one year, he was from Canada.
Those okes are desperate.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-471: For some reason I still remember The Star’s headline the next day:
PAT CASHES IN ON BIG CZECH.
Please pay attention Robzim.
Don’t just jump on and make inane comments like our buddy in china.
Do some research first.
6 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
Cash was a great player.
Unstoppable with his doubles partner Tango.
6 Jul 2012, 16:48 pm
@Puma(Puma)-475: En kyk hoe lyk hy nou!
6 Jul 2012, 16:48 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-479: Yeah, until Tango called it quits.
His next partnership with Carry wasn’t quite the same.
6 Jul 2012, 16:49 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-474: Because Roger has so many of his own charities in SA that he supports. Also he is very proud to say his mother is South African. So yeah, we like the ones that support our contry. KP has never really supported SA outside of SA. Only runs us down. Rathbone similar to KP once he left. Roger not like that at all, supports us down here. Also supports the Springboks. So it counts for us saffas.
He also owns a home in South Africa in Pezula Golf Estate.
6 Jul 2012, 16:49 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-477: Ja that was a classic.
He was still playing the masters circuit a few years back.
6 Jul 2012, 16:50 pm
@Puma(Puma)-482: meant – country
6 Jul 2012, 16:50 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-478:
It smacks of desperation to claim a swiss as a saffer.
6 Jul 2012, 16:51 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-479: @>^..^< katman(katman)-481: You two could write for television.
Very funny.
6 Jul 2012, 16:51 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-469:
cheers TRansie
6 Jul 2012, 16:52 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-485: His mom is South African so he’s more South African than Murray is English.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-476: as soon as murray loses he’ll stop being referred to as the “british No.1″ until the next major, he’ll go back to being “the Scot”.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-483: One of my brother’s mates caught one of his checkered headbands at an SA open back in the 80′s.
Puma, fair call hes a Saffa then and a very good one!
ok so highlanders did the sharks a favour , and saders did stormers a favour
China Fed still holds South Aftica ln citizenship.
He is not afraid of the east rand blood that flows through his veins.
Rattlebones and KP ate traitorous puckered ballsacks who get off on bad mouthing the country of their birth.
Are we clear?
6 Jul 2012, 16:53 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-480:
Jislaaik! Don’t know that face in the mirror that looks back at me………………..hahahahahahaha.
6 Jul 2012, 16:53 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-493: You can add Rory Pondscum Sabatini to that list.
6 Jul 2012, 16:54 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-491: For sure. We like to think of him as our own. He speaks well of South Africa all the time. So we support him.
6 Jul 2012, 16:55 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-479:
Cash is also a very good muso- He once did the Van Morrison classic “Gloria” on a tv programme hosted by Darren Scott. It was very impressive, i reckon he could have played professionally if he wanted to.
@Puma(Puma)-494: he he he
@Robzim(Robzim)-497: Not an easy track. Patti Smith’s version is fantastic.
6 Jul 2012, 16:56 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-488: For sure and Murray will tell you that. He told the whole of Britain on tv…….hahahaha.
Roger also owns a holiday home here in Pezula Golf Estate. Has quite a few of his own charities in the Eastern Cape too.
@Puma(Puma)-496: @>^..^< katman(katman)-495: @the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-493: @NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-491: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-488: @Transformation(Transformation)-489: good day good peeps
@>^..^< katman(katman)-495: Really? Did he also go off at us?
6 Jul 2012, 16:57 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-488:
I know that – my mother is from Australia but I was borne here and no Aussie has ever claimed me to be one of them – so what makes Roger so special
6 Jul 2012, 16:58 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-501: Evening uncle.
6 Jul 2012, 16:58 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-501: HIYAS bro ^5
6 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
Puma he’ll win it again this year, what a player.How about those Sharks plenty of talk can they deliver?
6 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-503: Wait till you win the Euro Lottery,
You’ll have sheilas and mates from hellandgong that you’ve never heard of. Calling you cousin and brutha no less.
6 Jul 2012, 17:00 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-499:
Yip, her version is unreal- one of the best female rockers ever. Perhaps THE best.
@Robzim(Robzim)-503: you wanna be claimed by aussies?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-498: Man I had such a laugh at Piet on RT today. He don’t like tatoos at all, but somehow two of us there spoke him into thinking they okay. So he says he will now put a tatoo on him in a place no-one else would saying “Toppies Rule” hahahahahahaha. Man I laughed so much.
Robbo feeling silly now.
Let’s give 5 minutes.
Indeed Rory is a prize twatstick.
There is Mr Lendl himself.
A symphony in blue.
Ayayayaya Ayayaya.
6 Jul 2012, 17:01 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-507:
6 Jul 2012, 17:02 pm
Where was Fed born?
6 Jul 2012, 17:03 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-506: Think Roger should. Hoping. One of the greatest tennis players ever.
Not so sure about my Sharkies mate. Just have to see. We have 4 out injured and they are some of our best players too. Your Canes could just sneak in too. My feeling if my Sharks make it don’t think it will be worth it really. TOO much travel now just before the RC. So many injuries coming now as well. The travel and more playing will make it even worse. The teams that have secured home semi and probably a home quarter, well they should be okay. The other two that have to travel the otherside of the world for a quarter, is just crazy man, this format should go back to what it was.
Robbo do you hold dual citizenship?
@Puma(Puma)-510: ha ha ha
I think I just leapfrogged Piet on the RT ladder for Superbru.
@Transformation(Transformation)-509:
Not really, but I must say i like David Poc ock more than I like Brussow and Midnight Oil was a better band than the Steve Hofmeyer band.
6 Jul 2012, 17:04 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-513: Switzerland. To a South African Mother and Swizz Father.
6 Jul 2012, 17:05 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-516: Have not looked, I am way, way down this year. Got so many wrong.
6 Jul 2012, 17:05 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-508: Because the Night is one of the best songs ever.
Co-written with The Boss.
6 Jul 2012, 17:07 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-501: Howzit bro. Your thoughts of the game tonight?
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-515:
Nope, never bothered or needed it so far
I might in future though…..
um, i don’t hey Andy, Lebron is a phenom!
Britain’s great Wimbledon hope Andy Murray compared himself with NBA great LeBron James on Wednesday after moving within two victories of his first major title.
The Scot has come tantalisingly close to a breakthrough, reaching three previous Wimbledon semi-finals, two Australian Open finals and one US Open final, but has always come up short in the final shake-up.
James won his first NBA championship with the Miami Heat last season after a few close shaves and Murray, a big basketball fan, said it was inspiring to see.
“LeBron James would be a good example,” said Murray when asked if he could compare his situation to other sportsmen.
“He obviously is a great basketball player. He came very close to winning quite a lot of times.
“Him winning this year I’m sure was massive. For me as a basketball fan it was nice to see.
“I would say for me I guess it’s a similar situation. I’ve been close a lot of times and not quite made it.
“You know, you just have to keep putting myself in the position, and hopefully it will click.”
“I follow basketball a lot and watch a lot of the sports news and stuff,” he said. “There’s a lot of people out there that didn’t want him to win.
“There’s a lot of people that said he would never win. There’s a lot of people who said he never played his best in finals. In the fourth quarter of games he never steps up.
“Then you see how he played the whole of the finals, the whole of the playoffs.
“Sometimes it takes guys a bit longer than others.”
6 Jul 2012, 17:09 pm
Murray is a sour prick.
And a great reason for England to grant Scotland independence.
6 Jul 2012, 17:11 pm
Agree Puma 5th and 6th place are going to struggle although the Crusaders could do it from 5th they travel pretty well, definitely going to be some tired bodies needing a rest before the RC,we play you under cover in Nz this year its going to be a cracker.
6 Jul 2012, 17:12 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-470: Sorry Katman only saw your post now. Not sure thought he was number one for a long time, just not sure if it was for 5 years running. So you could be correct.
6 Jul 2012, 17:13 pm
@Puma(Puma)-510:
Sounds rather like Tacitus.
6 Jul 2012, 17:13 pm
Hiyas bro^5 Sharkie .
6 Jul 2012, 17:14 pm
@Puma(Puma)-521: Hey Brudda, to be honest?? very nervous, i never take the bulls lightly
6 Jul 2012, 17:15 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-525: Saders do travel well, but they never win at Loftus. If Bulls win tonight Saders will face them at Loftus. Then Bulls never win in Christchurch either. So if Bulls lose tonight they have to travel. Then Saders will have to play the semi against Stormers at Newlands.
Jeez that is a awesome stadium that. Great that it has a roof. So great rugby can always be played there. Also because of the cover it has been almost full house this whole season. Good to see that. And yes, it will be cracker against ABs and Boks there for sure.
6 Jul 2012, 17:15 pm
@David(David)-527:
Tac is a youngster.
He just talks like a senior citizen.
6 Jul 2012, 17:16 pm
Puma dont get me wrong, i have faith in our team
but aftre a lay off and these injuries?? just not sure what to expect
cant wait to cheer fransie back and also how he goes with whitehead as a combo
6 Jul 2012, 17:17 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-525: What is the Saders record in play offs against the bulls at loftus?
6 Jul 2012, 17:18 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-520:
I did not know Bruce co wrote the song.
You must listen to her version of “Gimme Shelter”
Much better than the original imo.
6 Jul 2012, 17:18 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-529: I don’t either.
Just got a phone call from my sister saying there are plenty Bulls flags out of cars near the beach front. So quite a few of their supporters have come down for this game too.
I would have started with Deysel at blindside. Well that is me, just think I like to replace a player with like for like. Coetzee is a superb player but would have liked him at 6 with Deysel at 7 and probably Kanko ahead of Keegan this time. Anyhow we lose we out and I am fine with it. The travel for our Shark Boks will be a monster. If we win then there is still next week. Just have to take it I suppose one game at a time. We do have to win with a bonus tonight so not getting my hopes up really.
6 Jul 2012, 17:19 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-532: You guys should win by 10+ Hopefully both teams score 4 tries each.
6 Jul 2012, 17:20 pm
@Puma(Puma)-535: agree fulla pums,but hey the boys know what their task is, its in their hands, who is the ref?? i hope the match is not spoilt by poor reffing
6 Jul 2012, 17:21 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-532: Yes really looking forward to see Fransie back with Tim there the centre channel will be sorted.
Also looking forward to seehing how PSDT goes at 5.
6 Jul 2012, 17:22 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-532:
I really hope your team does it tonight (for purely selfish reasons of course) but somehow i think the Bulls are going to take it. I just think they might be more motivated as they are still in with a shot at a home semi while the sharks will really have to climb a mountain to get anywhere in this tournament
6 Jul 2012, 17:22 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-537: Peyper and I don’t really like him much as a ref. Also we have M. Jonker as AR and another Jonker as the other AR. Veldsman as tmo. Not great refs to be honest.
6 Jul 2012, 17:23 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-536: hope so mate and with a bonus point for my Sharks,
And yeah bulls must lose but still get 2 bonus points too, would benifit us saffas big time, that would be great for both teams
6 Jul 2012, 17:24 pm
Airwell you should know that but history counts for nothing otherwise the Bokke will never beat the Ab’s at Loftus.
6 Jul 2012, 17:25 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-539: lol thanks Rob, well If Bulls take it , good for them, I admit my Sharks have been poor this year
6 Jul 2012, 17:26 pm
@Puma(Puma)-540: you serious?? oh hell that clown and Lawrence the local yokle are the worst
oh well, brudda our chances have just gone down 20% in my estimation
6 Jul 2012, 17:27 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-533:
Might be 1:2 for the Bulls, not sure
But current Bulls winning at Loftus courtesy of SARU’s referees, it misleading perception, under Steve Walsh they may struggle a bit
6 Jul 2012, 17:28 pm
@Puma(Puma)-540: why when its such a huge match they choose the damn weaker refs??
@Robzim(Robzim)-539: You could be right old ****.
@Robzim(Robzim)-539: For sure. I also think the Bulls will be pumped up for this game. They will want to hold that home quarter for sure. Rather the Saders travel to Loftus than them to Christchurch. They will have that at the back of their minds. Sharks have Mt Everest to climb if we go through. Bulls will have it easier. If they do go through and beat Saders in the semi then they will be facing Stormers in the final. So we could have another all saffa final. Could I say. Just have to see what goes tonight. Sharks won’t go down without a fight, but not sure if we will be pumped up as much as the Bulls. Who wants to travelt he world to play a quarter, if we win that travel to Cape Town straight back from Oz to play the semi. Heck if we win that straight on the plane back to Nz for the final. NO can’t see it happen. Want too but can’t. A bridge too far. Rather our Shark Boks rest for the RC. Seems a whole lot better for now.
If we do make it I OF course will support my Sharks. Just doubt we will make it. We may win tonight but still can’t see us getting to the quarter unless we pick up a bonus tonight and next week. Like I said it seems just too tough.
We will come at your lot next year……………hahahaha.
6 Jul 2012, 17:29 pm
**** = quim
6 Jul 2012, 17:31 pm
@Puma(Puma)-548: The Bulls were ‘pumped up’ last year at Loftus as well. That was a ‘lose all’ crunch match at Loftus. I was at a party in Pretoria and I remember having to look into the long faces all night long.
Nobody can predict fokkol about what is going to happen in this game. The Sharks are too unpredictable. If they play like they did against the Stormers – its goodnight Bulls. If they play like they did against the Lions, they will lose. Simple as that.
6 Jul 2012, 17:31 pm
@Puma(Puma)-540:
That’s correct Puma, the Bookies have the same opinion and they believe it isn’t a coincidence at all (the selection),,,,
Trouble is under Kaplan the Bulls are usuall bitten but Kaplan is away in Australia today and some said it by design?
6 Jul 2012, 17:33 pm
I am very nervous about this game. It obviously could go either way, but Sharks has to go in as slight favorites.
6 Jul 2012, 17:36 pm
@Puma(Puma)-548:
What is the weather like in Durbs?
I see they are predicting thunderstorms in Bloem tomorrow.
Thunderstorms and Craig Joubert to overcome- could be a long afternoon for the Stormers- if your team does it tonight my nerves will be much more settled, so I am holding thumbs for my fellow coastal brothers
6 Jul 2012, 17:38 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-546: I know. Crazy.
Another thing I am thinking here. Bulls will be so pumped up to win tonight they will be on extra adrenaline..hahaha. Think about it. If they beat us they will definitely beat the Lions next week. Will get a home quarter and probably only have to make a 2 hour flight to Cape Town for the final. That could happen. Well Stormers have to pick up 5 points tomorrow or Chiefs stay top of the log. Stormers will get the 5 points next week though, doubt Chiefs will against the Canes. So thinking Stormers should top the log. Bulls will be thinking the same. So if they DO win tonight they may not have to travel overseas for the S15 again this year.
Now doubt our Sharks have the same motivating factor as Bulls. We win but face a travel is from hell. To Oz, if we win there, straight back to Cape Town, if we win there straight on the next flight to NZ. Now that is horrendous.
I am being pessimistic but realistic too.
6 Jul 2012, 17:40 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-553: Great weather today and right now. A little wind picking up but that is it.
6 Jul 2012, 17:41 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-534: Yes I don’t think he took formal songwriting credit but both have admitted in interviews that they collaborated on the song one evening.
Not sure what else was involved….
6 Jul 2012, 17:43 pm
Good luck to all the Sharks. I’ll try to pop in after the game.
6 Jul 2012, 17:45 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-553: HAHAHAHA. So we (all of a sudden) your coastal brothers..
Actually most where I live, everyone here have said they will support the Stormers once the Sharks are out. NONE will support the Bulls though.
Actually always thought the coastal teams would support each other. Only reading this site it seems different with some.
Doubt you need worry about Joubert you won with him the last time. Also you get Mark Lawerence enough….lol not to complain.
6 Jul 2012, 17:46 pm
@Puma(Puma)-555:
Well, thanks, nice to catch up, and good luck tonight for your team.
I am also looking forward to see how Frans will perform at Super 15 level- i am not sure Whitehead is really so good at 13, I do rate him more as a 12.
But maybe Frans and the Frenchie can create some fireworks between them, lets hope.
@Puma(Puma)-558: Lawrence
ok off to go spend time with the better half, catch up laters , enjoy
6 Jul 2012, 17:47 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-559: Tim is actually a outside centre Rob. He played there once or twice for us this season and done really well. He will be fine, have no worry with Tim at 13.
Okay that is me too out of here now.
Good to catch up. Cheers bud.
6 Jul 2012, 17:48 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-561: Cheers bro.
Catch up later or tomorrow.
Go Sharks.
6 Jul 2012, 17:54 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-550: I know Dusky. Though last year who ever won that game at Loftus had to travel. Sure they wanted it but I can tell you they will want this win badly. So will we, but if they win they might not have to travel overseas again for the S15. They will play Saders at Loftus and probably Stormers at Newlands in the final.
Now if Sharks beat the Lions we would have been in that position. Then with out a doubt I would think we would win. I think we may win tonight but not with a bonus. That then is useless to us for this tourney, but it will give us pride that is for sure. So I am hoping we do win, bonus or not. Not going against my team there in my post, just stating what I think (could) happen.
Okay out of here now.
Good luck to our Sharks. Really do hope we can beat the Bulls.
6 Jul 2012, 18:00 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-532:
If the Stormers can do it at Loftus, with a worse injury problem and youngsters, surely the Sharks can at home.
6 Jul 2012, 18:11 pm
@Puma(Puma)-564:
You’re forgetting the Brumbies., who’re guaranteed 3rd place. So 3 plays 6 and 4 plays 5. Who the Bulls play if they win tonight is still very open.
6 Jul 2012, 18:16 pm
Go moer each other Sarks and Pinksters. Will be interesting to see how the overrated lard@ss and meisiekind front up to each other.
6 Jul 2012, 18:45 pm
@David(David)-566: No have not forgotten Brumbies. They will play against either: Sharks, Reds or Canes. Saders are on 57 and play the Force next week. They will end 2nd in their conference and either 4th or 5th on the overall log. If Bulls win tonight they go to 58 with a bonus point to 59. They play Lions next week so could end on 62 or 63. It will be a Bulls/Saders play off if Bulls WIN tonight. If they lose then it could all change. I am talking if Bulls win what will happen.
If Sharks win with a bonus point and go to 55 and don’t allow Bulls a losing bonus point and we both pick up 5 points next week. Then Sharks go to 5th play off and Bulls will end on 6th. Bulls should beat Lions with a bonus point.
Saders are on 56 points and they will beat the Force so if Bulls lose tonight Saders will end on 4th.
6 Jul 2012, 18:47 pm
@Puma(Puma)-568: Sharks will only go to 54 if we pick up a bonus not 55. Sorry got it wrong there and Saders are on 56 right now not 57.
Okay going to watch the game now. Catch up later or tomorrow.
6 Jul 2012, 22:34 pm
Just watched the game on delay. Good God Read is a beast. How has no one figured out how to counter that low driving 10m kickoff that Carter and Read have mastered? All Blacks have been doing it since 2010. I remember once in a 3N match they must have done that 5x to the Aussies.
7 Jul 2012, 00:06 am
@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-419:
No
your team was utter sh*t. Most teams could win 3 games with that much pill.
7 Jul 2012, 14:48 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-186: It’s a close call but you probably are the thickest Safwit on this site.
Dos’nt matter how many people are sitting in the stands ,it’s all about international television money and the advertising that comes with this.
It’s immaterial that Safwit grounds get more spectators,although watching some of the Lions and Cheetahs games,even this is dubious.
Being forced to play night games in the middle of winter to appease international TV dos’nt help NZs cause
If we were to use your analogy,the Bulls should get twice as much money as the Lions or Cheetahs,based on attendance figures alone ,but I guess you didnt think it through properly did you thickO.
9 Jul 2012, 00:50 am
Geez, SBW really butchered that try at teh end huh? the Chiefs could have won that easily. I wonder if it will cost them first spot?
9 Jul 2012, 07:32 am
did craig clarke play in this game?