Scintillating Sharks blow away Bulls
6 Jul 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on an excellent all-round performance from the Sharks that saw them get the bonus point in beating the Bulls 32-10 to keep their Super Rugby campaign alive.
If the Sharks can replicate the characteristics that earned them this most critical of victories – energy, purpose, physicality, accuracy of execution and killer instinct – they will be formidable opponents going forward. Their inconsistency has undermined their cause in recent matches, but tonight they were largely flawless in their approach and execution when they most needed to be.
The Bulls, laden with Springboks, are no soft touch, even away from home. But they were comprehensively outmuscled at the collisions and seldom allowed to get any momentum into their attacks. The Sharks would score four tries, but this win was built on their industry, accuracy and brutality on defence. With their key strike runners nullified, the Bulls’ potency was significantly diluted. Furthermore, the Sharks played above themselves at lineout time and their scrum fronted to further stifle the Bulls.
The Sharks starved them of possession and pinned them in their territory for the first 30 minutes of the contest, scoring two converted tries and two penalties to establish a 20-3 lead at the break, then struck the telling blow of the match three minutes into the second half. The Sharks’ first five pointer came after erosive phase play, Marcell Coetzee setting up Bismarck du Plessis for a try with a deft offload. Their second came after they punched up left then snapped right, JP Pietersen rounding off in the corner.
The Bulls were stunned and their response reflected this, loose, unstructured attacks marking the second quarter. Lwazi Mvovo scrambled well to deny Akona Ndungane a try in the 34th minute and the Bulls couldn’t convert subsequent pressure into the points they needed to stir belief going into the change rooms.
The Sharks then fractured the Bulls’ psyche further when Keegan Daniel alluded the cover defence after another wave of pressure had depleted the numbers in their defensive line.
But the Bulls’ resolve is well known and they rallied in search of what would have been one of the great comebacks. Zane Kirchner finished close to the corner with Morne Steyn converting. And while they enjoyed plenty of time on the ball in the period that followed, their play became increasingly desperate in the face of the Sharks’ immense tackle fight and rabid breakdown contest, the latter yielding numerous turnovers.
Having negotiated the best the Bulls could offer the Sharks set about capturing the five-point win they so needed to improve their chances of making the play-offs. The composure and intelligence they showed in achieving that goal was inspiring and their wild celebrations upon Louis Ludik touching down said everything about how much they had invested in achieving this crucial result.

711 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 » Show All
7 Jul 2012, 11:54 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-646:
Coetzee is a star. I like the kid and think he has a bright future. Why do you worry what others say! They don’t select the team… It is an opinion and opinions are not facts…
7 Jul 2012, 11:56 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-649: Boet the players must take as much responsibility as the coaching staff, Its also up to the Sharks top level management to wake up and if Plum cannot drive the show alone, they should enforce things like defence specialists and of course someone to mentally prepare the team as i see thats what lacks every 2nd or 3rd match
7 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-650:
When the Bulls are winning things are fine… But when they lose things change mate… They are a different type of supporter. They conspire to boycott going to Loftus etc etc etc… The coach is no longer good enough, yet they have given their whole coaching team to the Boks…
7 Jul 2012, 11:58 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-648:
Mantie change time coming up I see. Pwecious.
Unless Marcell is your grandson, you shouldn’t give 2 ticks what anyone says about him……yet you do.
7 Jul 2012, 11:59 am
If I were the Sharks administration I would be calling Mallet for sure. Imagine what he would do with the Sharks team…
7 Jul 2012, 12:01 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-651: not worried boots boet, just irrating when people cant always give credit where its due, i mean watch the next time lAMBIE has a poor game, which never happens accept i think his match against the Lions eralier this year, that happens you watch them come in and shout how kak he is and we see like 6 names said to be superior to him?
Lemme tell you this, and against its not all Stormer supporter or only Stormer supporters, but when Etsebeth was really performing did Sharks supporters in here call from hm to be left out of a team? or ec en suggest it?? HELL NO
Kids dynamite, even though i can n tell you his last 2 tests and last match he did not perform very well, Infact i reckon he and PSDT are the future Bok lock pair
7 Jul 2012, 12:03 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-655: well one would never know i guess
I for one wont complain if Mallet took control of the Sharks as head coach, not forgetting though he too is a hot head
7 Jul 2012, 12:10 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-656:
I like stirring mate! Do I mean it? Of course not… I enjoy the banter and will never take it seriously. I even get called names. Something I don’t do – ever…
Mallet is a hot head but won’t take nonsense. He will bring the best our of any team…
7 Jul 2012, 12:11 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-656: And BANG, we have a floater……..
7 Jul 2012, 12:12 pm
Try Tahs…
7 Jul 2012, 12:15 pm
SL is quite right… He actually highlights this peculiar phenomenon of constant envy that seems to emanate from supporters of the “Top” team…
Form the hue and cry of more players from other teams selected for the Boks…
To the embarrassing outcry over a Laaitie preferring to play for the Bulls…
To now playing down the talents of a Superstar in the making just because he plays for the lowly Sharks…
I watched Coetzee last night as closely as the Bulls did – and this youngster is on a steep upward curve of continuous improvement…
From his undoubted stats as the player with the highest workrate in S Rugger in terms of Carries and tackles – to an offload game now that I did not notice before the England tests, no to mention a couple of “fetcher” steals at the breakdown…
The rapid way Coetzee is improving and learning, he is fast becoming a complete loosie…. Actually more than reminiscent of a young McCaw…. By the end of this year, his name will be known across the globe at this rate.
Superstar in the making…and whats best… He’s a SHARK
7 Jul 2012, 12:20 pm
Not a Blue Bull or Pink Bull jersey in sight today. Pretoria is in after shock mode…
Usually every Tom, **** and Sally are wearing one…
7 Jul 2012, 12:21 pm
Poor D ick gets sensored…
7 Jul 2012, 12:23 pm
Another normally unsung hero who is rapidly coming into the best form I’ve seen from him in a long time is Doc DuP…
He farken played like a man possessed last night…
The flatty he gave Greyling after the latter tried to hit Bissy from behind just after the Sharks monstered the Bulls Pack… Priceless.
I even saw a couple of ruck steals from him… and some excellent charges into the heart the Bulls defence… and fark me, a couple of decent passes…
He actually was very close to my man of the match…
Go Doc You Good Thing.
7 Jul 2012, 12:23 pm
Poor Ozzies 14 for 2 after 8 overs…
7 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-662: Ja… It is actually quite funny… Lots of okes in the supermarkets with their “vroumens” sans jerseys on a Saturday…
Its like nothing ever happened…
7 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-666:
True story! Not one in sight. It is like the Bulls don’t exist…
Just check the reaction here online. If the Bulls win they are here. If they lose they vanish…
Stormers and Shark supporters are here win or lose.
They will be back to why they lost – not why the Sharks won…
Strange bunch really…
7 Jul 2012, 12:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-661: very well said,I didnt bother mentioning exactly that, i too saw the steals and offloads like the one to Bissy for our first try
7 Jul 2012, 12:31 pm
The Sharks played the complete game yesterday. Even better than against the Stormers. They played as a team and as a Stormer supporter – I don’t want to play the Sharks in that mode. Saying that you never know which team turns up. From super good to uber klackelak… (Lions)… No disrespect but it is true…
7 Jul 2012, 12:31 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-667:
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-666:
And if you had to walk around there in a Stormers or Sharks jersey they won’t want to make eye contact. They’re a breed apart.
7 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-670:
I’m in my Stormers jersey and you hit the nail on the head. Look the other way…
But – quite a few Sharks jersey to be seen… Oh it is great to witness… Just pop to the Grove to enjoy…
7 Jul 2012, 12:35 pm
Those who don’t live in Pretoria…
After a Bulls win – the cars zoom around with Blue Bull flags and Steve Hoffmeyer blaring from the sound system… Base personified… Dum dum dum… hooters… shouting….gloating…
Loss is like the rapture… didn’t really happen attitude…
7 Jul 2012, 12:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-664: HG i said that in here last night too
Not many givcing credit to jannie and beast? they were huge
7 Jul 2012, 12:39 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-672:
And I have yet to see a Bulls fan give his/her opinion round here this morning 
Maybe they HAVE been raptured?
http://www.raptureready.com/
7 Jul 2012, 12:40 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-672:
And when the Bulls lose at Loftus even the music dies.
7 Jul 2012, 12:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-674:
Not one!!!
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-675:
…and don’t we know…
7 Jul 2012, 12:42 pm
Strange Whitney… I luv Bakkies didn’t come online…
7 Jul 2012, 12:48 pm
Spies who???
7 Jul 2012, 12:53 pm
PSTD not in Etzebeth’s class.I watched him closely last night and he was very poor to say the least.
7 Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-677:
Yeah, just shows what sort of a person Bakkies is.
All talk and face no music
7 Jul 2012, 12:56 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-676:
You’ll probably have to log into RT to find the excuses.
7 Jul 2012, 12:59 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-670: Lol
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-673: Beast always decent… but Jannie really reaching another gear
7 Jul 2012, 13:06 pm
Congratulatios once again to all you Sharkies out there. A great team effort by your boys.
Bulls and their supporters still licking their wounds, it seems.
Losing by 22 points in a derby suggest one of two things: Either you are very kak or the winning team played really well.
From where I was sitting, the Sharks played really well and could’ve beaten any team last night.
Bulls are still in with a chance to reach the play offs so I don’t know why their supporters don’t celebrate that fact. Nothing they can do about last night now.
There destiny wrt a play off berth is still in their own hands.
7 Jul 2012, 13:21 pm
Wow, congrats to the Sharks supporters, they killed it last night…what a performance
I’m a Stormers supporter, but not as hobbled by stupid provinciaiism as some on here, and that was an awesome game to watch…I really enjoyed the way the Sharks constructed their tries (something pretty lacking in the Stormers camp, until we can get a real backline ‘coach a’ and not an old-boy wannabe)
I’ll always support the Boks, but it will be bittersweet if HM sticks with the invisible man Spies, Steyn and J Potgieter….though I can’t see him being so blinkered as to not to have noticed how utterly sh*te they were…but if the Bulls can sot out their loosies they can still beat anyone on the day
JJ and D Potgieter looking good too, and Zane had a pretty decent game
7 Jul 2012, 13:23 pm
@nama1(nama1)-683:
Looks like the Reds have a 4 point bye next week and the Canes against the Chiefs are the only threats. Even if the ‘Canes win, I can’t see them scoring 4 tries.
All the Bulls and Sharks need is a home win against weaker opponents next week.
7 Jul 2012, 13:26 pm
@David(David)-685:
Oops, Reds v ‘Tahs.
7 Jul 2012, 13:30 pm
I don’t understand, some Bulls bloggers yesterday said they were definitely going to win.
Looks more like Bulls fans are more interested in a July ski trip.
Welcome to Christchurch people
7 Jul 2012, 13:40 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-684: well said boet
and thanks
7 Jul 2012, 13:40 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-682: Agreed HG, Doc has really lilfted his game big time
7 Jul 2012, 13:42 pm
@chch(chch)-687:
What are the rules regarding teams finishing level on points?
7 Jul 2012, 13:43 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-652:
Maybe. But I like to feel a headcoach is there for a reason. If he can’t manage his ship, then he shouldn’t be the captain.
7 Jul 2012, 13:45 pm
@David(David)-690:
Most wins count first, then points difference.
7 Jul 2012, 13:49 pm
I believe the captaincy might be taking a toll on Spies’s general play… been non-existent ever since!
7 Jul 2012, 14:01 pm
@Barbarian10(Barbarian10)-693:
You are kidding???
He was just as average before. Nothing has changed.
7 Jul 2012, 14:10 pm
Ai SL.
“Taking candy from blind charo’s”
What”s that all about
7 Jul 2012, 14:23 pm
@ CenturionShark – 694. At one stage was the best 8 in the world bud… But agreed, been average probably before the captaincy.. just been able to get away with it last year when he was still surrounded by class players like Matfield and Botha.. now he stands out like a sore thumb…
7 Jul 2012, 14:27 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-692:
Thanks. Any idea how the Sharks and Bulls compare on points?
7 Jul 2012, 14:47 pm
Stormers game live feed anyone ??
7 Jul 2012, 15:27 pm
Sharks Lover,
it is your opinion that Coetzee is best – u have good rugby insight IMO but are biased towards sharks like hm is towards bulls – I believe kolisi is better suited for test rugby, it’s my personal opinio but there is also a reason why the stormers are top and not the sharks or bulls – u talk about giving credit where it’s due well it’s due to the stormers who have only lost twice while build are sharks list triple the matches.
7 Jul 2012, 15:44 pm
Oh yes in my ultimate bokkie side I forgot brussow so kolisi or vermeulen to bench in place if coetzee – he is v good but will need to develop his fetching to set him apart cos he will get knocked back thectackle when he comes up ahaint the likes of abs, england, elstadt and alberts – he is contained fairly easily in rhe tackle as are kanko and potgieter and spies – kolisi powers thru more and puts I’m some thunderous hits – but it will be an interesting competition to watch unfold / I just do not take the current bulls backrow as being indicative of any yardstick at present
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 » Show All