Stormers still SA’s best bet

JON CARDINELLI says the Stormers remain on course for a home semi-final, a fact that makes them the best-placed South African franchise.

As I wrote two weeks ago, three South African franchises should qualify for the 2012 play-offs. The Stormers have already booked their place in the next phase by securing the SA conference title, while the Bulls and Sharks should advance on the back of big home victories in the final round of the league.

I expect the Bulls to collect five log points from their coming fixture against the Lions, but even that may not be enough to secure home advantage in the qualifying play-off. They missed an opportunity in Durban last week in that another four points would have furthered their cause for a top-four finish. As it stands, they’re unlikely to surpass the Crusaders, and so a journey to Christchurch is now looking highly likely.

The Crusaders will host the Western Force in their final league match, and based on current form the Cantabrians must be favourites to win comfortably. Even if they accumulate four log points instead of five and the Bulls bank a full house at Loftus, the Crusaders will still finish ahead of Bulls on the log. The Bulls will be hoping the Force can do them a favour and score an upset like the Rebels did earlier in the season, but aberrations like that are surely a once in a season occurence.

Like the Stormers and Sharks, the Bulls will know what they need to do to advance before they even take the field on Saturday. The matches involving the three South African contenders are the final three of the league. No doubt the coaches of these teams will be watching the overseas fixtures on Friday and Saturday morning with keen interest.

The Stormers will be supporting the Hurricanes when they host the Chiefs. A win for the Hurricanes will mean that the Stormers merely need to beat the Rebels to secure top spot on the log. The upshot of this outcome is that the Stormers will host a semi-final and a possible final.

If the Hurricanes can’t win that match, the Stormers will at least hope that their defence limits the Chiefs to three tries or less. A Chiefs win without the bonus point will mean that the Stormers still have a chance of finishing top of the log, providing of course they score four or more tries in a win against the Rebels at Newlands.

The Bulls and Sharks, however, will be hoping that the Chiefs beat the Hurricanes and end the latter team’s play-off ambitions. They will also hope that the Waratahs beat the Reds or at least stop Ewen McKenzie’s men from claiming five log points from that encounter.

There is a chance that the Hurricanes and Reds will score bonus-point victories in their respective matches, and that would take both teams up to 58 log points. However if that were to happen, the Bulls and Sharks would still be in a good position, given that they both boast superior points differentials to that of the Hurricanes and Reds. They would, of course, still need to win their matches against the Lions and Cheetahs respectively.

It seems more likely that the Chiefs will win in Wellington, although it could be closer than most expect. What this result could do is give the Stormers a chance of claiming top spot. It is something they need to shoot for, and there isn’t a tremendous amount of risk involved.

The Brumbies are likely to beat the Blues in Canberra, and five log points would see them moving one point ahead of the Stormers. That result would see the Stormers needing at least one log point from the Rebels fixture to finish second, as they have won more matches than the Brumbies.

If the Brumbies don’t get the bonus point, then the Stormers will be free to pursue a five-point haul knowing there will be no consequences should they lose. There will however, be everything to gain in the shape of a potential home final.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

185 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

“…the Stormers still have a chance of finishing top of the log, providing of course they score four or more tries in a win against the Rebels at Newlands.”

This would be a miracle. The Stormers haven’t got a single 4 try bonus point this whole season so far.

I must say, it feels good that my team whupped “the best team in SA” so recently.

• 52.Tartan: Reply to this comment

I think any Stormers or Bulls fan with a brain was concerned about the Sharks fixtures when the list was released. With only one guaranteed spot up for grabs, whoever was competing with the Sharks for the expected top 6 position(s) going into the final weeks was really going to have problems going to the tank.

Sharks started slow, finishing strong again. As everyone expected.

• 53.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-44: lol I think there are a few Stompies on here who could never bring themselves to cheer on the Sharks. They’re just too far gone in their hatred. Lol.

• 54.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-41:

he must be low on confidence, he really is quite pathetic. if heyneke persists with him in the rugby championship it’ll be a joke. with schalk, coetzee, alberts, vermeulen, brussouw, deysel to choose from whywould you pick the cowardly lion.

Britney Spies indeed.

• 55.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Tacitus is in pain,so all is forgiven for that unfortunate faux pas.

• 56.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Tartan(Tartan)-52: Those two opening games away to the Bulls and Stormers were always going to be a killer. But as you say, the Sharks are finishing strongly.

Some would even say they are the best SA team at the moment……..

• 57.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-53:

I love the Sharks. my second team, but only just. to the point where they’re the only team I dont mind losing to. pity they wont have steyn for the playoffs though. hows lambie’s ankle coming along?

• 58.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-54:

I’m impressed by Kanko’s return to form, after Meyer showed some confidence in him at National Level.

Just shows you what a bit of self belief can do.

• 59.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Spooner they should as the chances of them winning will be much higher playing at home than in hamilton…

• 60.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-56:

they are the form team for sure. like the crusaders often do, they;re peaking at the right time. but might be too late as we’ve seen what happens when the sharks travel for playoff matches.

i remember that final in canberra all those years ago. jeez that was horrible to watch.

• 61.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-58:

Yes he’s looking good, but I’ll have to reserve judgement as I’m yet to see him do it at tesat level the way brussouw, schalk and alberts have, or the way coetsee did in his 3 starts.

Showing faith seems to have worked for Kanko, but surely the ebst thing for spies is to drop him, and tell him to go and grow a pair. do whatever it takes to make him a little it angry. we’ve all been saying it for eyars, but until he develops a little mongrel he’ll never fulfill his potential. at least he still has time.

• 62.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

The Stormers B-team needs all the plaudits for winning the conference title against full Bok-squad teams like the Bulls and Sharks.

• 63.William Webb Ellis is now at home: Reply to this comment

so

the sharks lost to the lions, had a bye and then beat the bulls and they are now the form SA team?

lmfao, gees, talk about delusional…

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-36: :D

31.Tacitus:
    24 Apr 2012, 10:17 am
    If the Bulls can get 3 out of 4 on tour I reckon they’ll top the SA log.

The Tahs and Highlanders games have to be targeted.

I reckon the Stormers will go down at Loftus and King’s Park, and then the fat lady will have sung for them once again.

If the Bulls only win 2 on tour, however, then it will go down to the wire, with the Stormers having to lose another of their remaining

• 65.altonahoon: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-24:

Point taken, however a Final at home, SBW last game, and they know this is the best chance they will ever have to win it.

Sharks looked awesome, if they qualify they will be playing in Canberra or Christchurch, whilst I don’t think they have gotten themselves in a position to win the tournament, they could cause problems.

• 66.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-61:

To be honest, Spies is the least of my concerns at the Bulls. Our tight five is the real weakness. That and the lack of experienced veterans of world class ability, like we had when Victor, Bakkies, Gurthro, Du Preez, Habana, a dead eye Morne Steyn and a young, fired up Spies all played for the same team.

That was a team that outclassed a number of Top tier international teams in terms of player quality.

The current crop are dwarfed by the immensity of that generation. We have lots of work ahead of us to get even close to that level again.

• 67.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

I’m so proud of this talentless Stormers team second on the log and only third best SA team. Now I’m confusing myself here as some people actually have no idea what they spew on this site…

It is embarassing to read some people’s comments. It sounds like jealousy to me, but I’m a South African and will support whichever SA team makes it to the finals… Stormers must be such a great team that other supporters always look for fault. Psychology says you only bad mouth people who are a threat… Funny how it is the same in sport… nuff said… Eat your heart out Floubull…

• 68.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Funny how everyone has been saying just how silly it was to select the Bulls players in the Bok squad yet we were told we were sour grapes… Now they are so bad only after being exposed by the Stormers, Bulls and next week the Lions…

• 69.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

You can say that again pops!Unfortunately that’s the mentality you get with people that’s been uber kak for 100 years of their existence.

• 70.sparticus: Reply to this comment

I am not sure of I want the team that wins the Super 15 to be the stormers , I am not sure of I want the champion team to play such boring rugby. I am not talking about scoring 4 tries per game , instead all I want is some good solid rugby with a purpose , tale the lead in the game and then you can afford to take some calculated risk’s. The problem might still come that we are behind on the score board and then what ? Its gonna be a case of dam we were unlucky and the truth is gonna be that we were careless and brainless.

Sorry , I am very happy we won and I am happy that we top the conference but I am also disappointed in the manner that we achieved this. I only watched half of the stormers game on Satruday and I nearly fell asleep , seriously. It did not even bother me that I missed the first half but I was very excited to watch the Crusaders game and the sharks-Bulls game.

There is something wrong for me when a die hard Stormers fan dont look forward to the stormers games as much as he does to the Crusaders or Sharks games and I am about as die hard as they come , heck I use to look forward to a WP – Falcons games.

• 71.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: Thanks for this Transie. We are still waiting. Dont hold your breath guys. Best SA team 2 years running. May it long continue.

• 72.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots(Gumboots)-68: Sharks

• 73.Tartan: Reply to this comment

The easiest way to sum up Spies is to say that for years we were waiting for him to take his s15 form to test level, and now as he matures it seems he is instead taking his test form to s15…

Easy to take pot shots as he isn’t captaining my team. I actually don’t think the Bulls have done that badly this year – they’re about where I expected them to be, perhaps better actually, and I anticipated the Sharks being a little better than they have been. It’s a testament to how well the Bulls have done in the past (ugh) that people expect a side that is very far from the finished article to challenge.

I’m satisfied with the Stormers’ season so far, but as always it feels like there are some huge cracks being papered over. C’est la vie.

• 74.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-72:

Sharks hehehe

• 75.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-70: True the game on Saturday was disappointing. By far the worst game the Stormers has played.

• 76.heboric: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-47: Well Mr Whoopass I know who you are and I know your reputation. I still dont know what is worse those Cape Crusader or bitter Bulls/Sharks supporters. Stormers gifted the conference Ha Ha.

• 77.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-63:

Howzit Pops! Sometimes I get embarassed and now you see why!!!

• 78.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

We surely are a threat for Sharkievarkie and Bull supporters.They have attacked our inability to score bonus points,bizarrely they have attacked our defensive structures saying it’s not going to help us when we behind in a semi,they have attacked our coaching staff as clueless and they have written off our players as talentless.Oh yes,I can sense the fear in Danville and Sharkievarkie country!!!

• 79.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@heboric(heboric)-76:

Forgive him mate, he knows not what he says… :lol:

• 80.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-75: It was like that Reds – Sharks game a few years ago , Remember that one , I think it ended in 6-3 ?

• 81.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-70: I was disappointed when we went for the 3 points and didnt try other avenues instead of the rolling maul to try and score tries. I know the scrums were a shambles too but atleast try something different. If they dont be the Rebels by 50 this weekend i will really be disappointed.

• 82.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-78:

It is not about the players but the team of players… Some people forget this is a team sport…

• 83.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-80: Yes something like that! That was just as bad!

• 84.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-66:

I disagree to an extent – yes the bulls have lost some expereince, but considering this they still have a very good team. In my opinion HM did overdo it when selecting all those Bulls players in the Bok squad, but I still think they are a talented squad – and better than the stormers, player for player. The problem is they are not very well coached, having lost their brains to the boks. that and Morne Steyn is not playing very well – although that could be because his forwars are not fronting.

Rather than your tight 5, I’d say it is your powderpuff loosies that are costing you. with spies at 8, you need a wrekcing ball 7, like alberts, juan smith etc – jacques potgieter is hopelessly overrated and cant carry britney.

Spies has played his best rugby in a bok jersey with Juan Smith and schalk Burger – because they are so hard and effective, they allow spies to play a bit looser. if you dont have a 6 and 7 combo that powerful, he is a liability. it is why you cant pick brussouw and spies in the same loose trio – not even alberts could carry enough mongrel balance both of them. and thats probably why meyer did not pick him.

My bok loose trio would be Brussow, Alberts and Schalk – with either Coetse or spies on the bench, assuming Juan smith not available.

• 85.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64:

• 86.William Webb Ellis is now at home: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots(Gumboots)-77: good boet, yourself? hehe its alright mate, i understand the Sharks supporters are a special breed, WoodenSpooner, Fernly and HG as representatives makes me realise that somethings not quite right in the water in the city of Durban..

• 87.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-63: What is your opinion of the Stormers this season?

• 88.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-86:

Really good! My team is up there, not playing champagne rugger but winning… I guess it is about scoring more points than your opponent… Just what they are doing… Do I think they can go all the way – hell I hope so, but they will need to get a lot better and finish off better…

• 89.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

You are so right boots.Credit should be given to AC and his staff for fostering that great team spirit down there in the Cape.

• 90.William Webb Ellis is now at home: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-87: considering they have only lost two games all season, and having lost experienced players through injury for extended periods, I think they have impressed to be honest… sure they havent been the most attractive side, but they have been mighty effective… they have confidence in their structures and in the bloke standing next to them, vital for finals footy imho..

• 91.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-70:

what i dont get is how the stormers attack has gone backwards last 2 seasons. I remember the season we lost to bulls in the final. the rugby the stormers played on their tour of NZ was phenomenal. The way they played to beat the Blues and Chiefs in NZ was absolutely breathtaking, I remember the Kiwi commentators gushing. They swung the ball from touchline to touchline until they created enough room on the outside to score. the thing i remember most was how effective schalk was as the link between forwards and backs.

our results have stayed pretty much the same – we’ve come second on the log last 2 years (behind Bulls in 2010 and reds in 2011), and likely to finish there again this year, but it is the failure of our attacking game to progress that is the biggest obstacle to our chances of winning. clearly we’ve got every other aspect nailed, given our results. we just cant finish. lets hope we click in the next 3 weeks.

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-42: HAHAHAHAHA @ this :mrgreen: “Anyway, I’m not really inclined to discuss it too much. My interest in rugby has dropped about ten fold in the last few days.”

• 93.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

As Naas would say, “Looks at the scoreboard”.

(or the log in this case.)

• 94.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

It’s interesting to note that Bulls and Sharks players admitted that they were already thinking about the Boks about two weeks before the start of the tests.That might be their problem .They are more interested about individual honors than team honors unlike the Stormers who plays as an collective unit.

• 95.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-86: Sorry pops but those three are NOT representatives of Durban! Durban population is generally more laid back and a lot more socialised! And if you watched Carte Blanche which you living in NZ probably wouldn’t have, the water is certainly way more suspect in Cape Town where canals are serving as latrines, than in Durban! Real Pity that, as Cape Town is by far one of the most beautifull cities in South Africa and even of the World I have seen!

• 96.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-92:

This from the man who admitted he only likes to watch the Bulls when they are winning.

• 97.blueboy: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots i see you are gloating just a tad this morning.When the bulls won their 3 super rugby titles we gloated after we won them never before,and as of now the 2nd raters have won nothing yet,and you may have to eat a big slice of humble pie.

• 98.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-92: He has taken his ball and gone home so that the rest of us cant play with him.

• 99.William Webb Ellis is now at home: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-95: Im in sydney sharksgirl, but do a lot of female Sharks supporters marry/hook up with non Sharks supporting men? I could understand it to be perfectly honest :D

• 100.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-71: @Gumboots(Gumboots)-85: some here would lead you to believe that topping the SA conference is no achievement but on this thread i’ve posted only just two post from april & may from one person and in BOTH the person in literally willing his own team to “top the SA log” & “end first in the SA conference”

jealousy makes people nasty hey :lol:

40.Tacitus:
    21 May 2012, 11:04 am @Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-38:

I believe the Bulls will lose against the Chiefs.

Bulls will win at Loftus against the Stormers.

Sharks will win in Durban against the Stormers.

Then the log will be:
    Bulls
    Stormers
    Sharks.

It all then comes down to the game in Durban. If we lose that, we end third. If we win it, we end first in the SA conference.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.