Baby Bulls blast past WP

GARETH DUNCAN watched the Blue Bulls score three tries in the final quarter to secure a 47-27 win over WP in the U18 Craven Week day two feature match in PE.

It was a closely-contested first half, which saw WP hold a slender 27-26 lead at the break. However, a strong finish to the match saw the Blue Bulls record a comfortable win to set their path to the 2012 unofficial final.

Outside centre Jurie Linde, fullback Jaco Hayward and wing Marcus Kleinbooi ran in three tries in a space of 12 minutes, while the schoolboys from the Cape failed to add a point to their tally after the break.

The opening stanza of the match was an attacking feast. WP grabbed three tries, while the Bulls scored four. However, the former led thanks to the boot of flyhalf Handre Pollard, who added three conversions and two penalties.

It was a messy start to the second stanza, as both teams struggled to hold on to possession. But the WP resilience faded as the Bulls picked up momentum and eased to victory.

WP – 15 Jason Worral (Paul Roos), 14 Dalen Goliath (Paul Roos), 13 Michael Hazner (Paul Roos), 12 Wesley Cupido (Paarl Gym), 11 G Hermanus (Paarl Gym), 10 Handre Pollard (Paarl Gym, c), 9 Pieter Schoonraad (Paarl Boys’), 8 Rikus Bothma (Paarl Gym), 7 Jacques Vermeulen (Paarl Gym), 6 Ramon Samuels (Paul Roos), 5 JD Schikerling (Paarl Gym), 4 Sebastian Ferreira (Paarl Boys’), 3 Liam Hendricks (Paarl Boys’), 2 Chad Solomon (Paul Roos), 1 M Nortje (Tygerberg).
Subs: 16 Craig Corbett (Paarl Boys’), 17 Wesley Adonis (Paarl Boys’), 18 Burger van Niekerk (Paarl Boys’), 19 Corne Cooper (Paarl Gym), 20 SP Ferreira (Paul Roos), 21 D Cox (Excelsior), 22 Keagan Gordon (Boland Landbou).

Blue Bulls – 15 Jaco Hayward (Centurion), 14 Marcus Kleinbooi (Affies), 13 Jurie Linde (Affies), 12 Rohan Jansen van Rensburg (Waterkloof), 11 Caswell Khoza (Southdowns), 10 Ryno Eksteen (Affies), 9 Justin Phillips (Waterkloof), 8 Steven Meiring (Affies), 7 Heinrich Viljoen (Affies), 6 Thabo Mabuza (Centurion), 5 Janse van Rensburg (Affies), 4 Hyron Andrews (Garsfontein), 3 Johan Bannink (Garsfontein), 2 Vean Roodt (Centurion), 1 Pierre Schoeman (Affies, c)
Subs: 16 François Steyn (Affies), 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen (Centurion), 18 Johan Ras (Centurion), 19 Bobby de Wee (Southdowns), 20 George-Lee Erasmus (Centurion), 21 Chad McKay (Centurion), 22 Marquit September (Garsfontein).