Bismarck blow for Sharks
11 Jul 2012
Bismarck du Plessis has injured his knee and will not start against the Cheetahs this Saturday.
Beeld reports that Du Plessis has damaged knee ligaments and underwent an arthroscopy on Tuesday. Craig Burden is expected to start against the Cheetahs in the final league match, but because of its importance, Du Plessis may be included on the bench.
The Sharks will know what they need to do to qualify for the play-offs by the time their match against the Cheetahs kicks off at 17:05. It could be that the results of earlier matches leave the Sharks needing a bonus-point win to qualify, and in that event Du Plessis may be forced to play.
The good news for the Sharks is that Willem Alberts, Pat Lambie, Steven Sykes and Jacques Botes are all available for selection.
But their problems in the second row continue as SA U20 star Pieter-Steph du Doit is doubtful. Centre Paul Jordaan is another who will miss the match due to injury.

317 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
11 Jul 2012, 10:49 am
@Puma(Puma)-42:
Snap! “clutching at straws” and you and I both
11 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-38: And Steyn is signed with Sharks and Sinclair is on loan?
First time I watched Fools and Horses was in 1990 living in Holland at the time. WE never had it here in the early 80′s though. Its a very old show in any case.
11 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
@ufo(ufo)-49: lol I hope it clears for the afternoon.
Stormers need to finish top.
You going to the game?
11 Jul 2012, 10:51 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-32: interesting… so a Saffa side want to change the rules to allow Frans to play IF they make the finals?
eish, if it happens I imagine there will be condemnation and outrage of endemic proportions on this blog..
oh wait…
11 Jul 2012, 10:52 am
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-51:
11 Jul 2012, 10:53 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-54: lol
11 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-54: It is for my Sharks after all, I am not complaining………….hahaha. Howait Poppa, how you doing mate?
I read in the New Zealand Herald that Plum’s name is amongst 3 others for the Blues team next year. Not sure what to make of it actually. Could be rumours. As his name was linked with a English club earlier only to be a rumour.
I personally hope he stays at the Sharks, just needs to get in more help for next year.
11 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
@Puma(Puma)-57: meant = howzit
11 Jul 2012, 10:56 am
Would be great for Sharks and Bokke if Frans Steyn can play the remainder of Super Rugby.
No, Steyn’s not a messiah or anything like that but he’s our best 12 and those long penalty kicks will come in handy as we get into play-off mode.
It appears as if Plum has given Frans the freedom of the field as it seems he does whatever he wants at any given moment.
Sometimes it can work, other times it might lead to boo’s.
11 Jul 2012, 10:57 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-53:
hope so too…
would be great if we do… but will the canes be able to hold off the chiefs…? and will we be able to run in the required tries…?
absolutely will be there…!!
11 Jul 2012, 11:00 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-59: He should actually be resting, He is coming off a European season of Rugga that starts in September (not sure though) and ends in May. We need him for the Rugby Championship.
11 Jul 2012, 11:01 am
@Puma(Puma)-57:
all good here boet, hope you are too…
yeah, the four are Plum, Crowley< kirwan and Lam has reapplied, I truly hope the last one isnt resigned, has done his dash as far as I am concerned..
Not sure Plum would be any better to be honest mate, his teams are never consistent
personally, Id go for Crowley..
Cheetahs could be a dangerous side for your team this weekend..
11 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
@ufo(ufo)-60: Canes defence is not that good but their attack is exceptional.
They are coming off a bye and are well rested.
Also have confidence after that win against the Crusaders.
Chiefs are having a bit of a dip now, they are there for the taking.
Are attack is getting there. We scored three against the Lions two weeks ago and the boys will be amped and motivated to get the four try bonus point.
11 Jul 2012, 11:05 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-62: Whats Crowley’s track record?
11 Jul 2012, 11:08 am
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-45: Meyer Bosman
11 Jul 2012, 11:11 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-61:
Haven’t thought about it like that actually.
That complicates it a bit.
Sharks have a proven match winner in their ranks but are they willing to rest him for the good of the Boks if they do get clearance to play him?
Don’t think so, otherwise why would they waste time trying to get him cleared
11 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-63:
It would be massive upset at this stage of the tournament if Canes can get a victory here.
I know Canes beat the Saders but hell a Saders team without Carter & Reid is not the same beast as the one who demolished a couple teams before the International Tests break.
11 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-64: He’s been coaching Canada recently… since 2008
from wiki
Crowley was coach of the Taranaki provincial side from 1998 to 2007. From 2002 to 2003 he also acted as a selector for the All Blacks. In 2007, he coached the New Zealand Under 19s at the World Championships in Ireland, where they went undefeated, beating South Africa in the final 31–7, winning the competition for the first time since 2004.
think Taranaki’s best finish in NPC was fourth under Crowley..
11 Jul 2012, 11:18 am
Gonna be very though for the Sharks. The Cheetahs have done well in Durban before and if they win, it will be their most successful SR season ever. Also Ashley Johnston is in the starting line up and playing his last game for them. Lost for the Cheetahs to play for!
11 Jul 2012, 11:22 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-50:
today I seem to be an echo! Snap to you now :}
11 Jul 2012, 11:23 am
iwis moaning about refs? no way
Tony Johnson
Monday, July 9
People are bagging TMO Bryce Lawrence for allowing the Andy Ellis try, when both NZRU refs boss Rod Hill and IRB head honcho Paddy O’Brien say it was a correct call. hehehe ja we’re surprised TJ
But what about Jonathan Kaplans penalty against Mackintosh?
We were told at the beginning of the season that referees would be cracking down on players not supporting their own body weight when trying to contest the ball at the tackle….and that hands on the ground would be deemed as not legal.
And yet that is precisely what Kaplan allowed as Mackintosh was tackled…that on top of allowing the Reds to get away with a succession of infringements inside their own 22.
The refereeing at the weekend was generally poor… Australian Andrew Lees at Eden Park was out of his depth, contributing to a dire first fourty.
Let’s hope for much better this weekend. There’s too much at stake to be getting big call wrong.
11 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-63: Bwaaahaaaa… Your last paragraph….
Sorry had to have a good laugh there. hahahaha. Still having a chuckle………………
11 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-70: lol yes snap away!
11 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-63: canes set-piece is s.hit! saders demolished them but were too erratic to capitalise on it, don’t bank on chiefs being that generous. turnover ball and scrums are perfect attacking platforms for wayne smith & strawbridge.
11 Jul 2012, 11:33 am
@Puma(Puma)-72:
Our attack has been a laughing matter,.
Even the WP Craven Week Team were running far better lines and angles than seasoned pro’s in the Stormers camp.
11 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
@Puma(Puma)-72: lol glad i could make you laugh!
11 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-62: I am always well mate. Thanks.
Did they contact Plum or was him putting his name down? Have no idea.
Cheetahs will be tough to beat for sure. Especially now that there is rain forecast and we probably not have Bissie for this game.
You know I would like my team to make the play offs, but really if we don’t that is okay with me. We have so many starting Boks in our side and then at least they get a good rest. So one part of me really wants us to make it and the other is okay with if if we don’t. Sounds daft I know, but the travel factor is a monster whoever lands up 6th.
11 Jul 2012, 11:38 am
I think Stormers defence is so brilliant because we spend all week practicing it and neglecting our attacking game.
Our pack has done the business too many times this year it’s time our backs front up but I’m not holding my breath for that to happen.
We were saying our attack is **** since probably halfway through the tournament and the hope was that it would eventually get better as the season progressed.
Though we have scored some great tries here and there, but not good enough Fleckie wake up!
11 Jul 2012, 11:39 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-76: hahaha. Man it made my morning. Was damn funny.
I thought like WHAT! hehehe. They finally getting their attacking game going against the Lions two weeks back by getting the 3 tries……………..hahaha. Thought like jeez, the had enough pratice took them like four months….hehe(Saved themselves for the Rebels) So now will go for it against the Rebels and get the 4 tires……………………..hahaha.
Good one….
It took a lot of practice that……..hahahahahaha.
11 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
the sharks can go to h.ell, they want to moan about jordaan when they even played jpp at centre BEFORE beginning of the season when jordaan was fully fit. they can play jpp again @ 13 or whitehead and let bosman or lambie play 12!
that’s who you signed before april 1st then field them!
11 Jul 2012, 11:43 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-78: hahahaha. You Stormer supporters are on a roll this morning….
Your first paragraph another classic…..
11 Jul 2012, 11:44 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-75: Have to agree. However, your defence is top class.
11 Jul 2012, 11:44 am
@Puma(Puma)-77: mate, the super rugby season was over for me after about round six, so now I get to support any kiwi team over any foreign team
11 Jul 2012, 11:50 am
@Puma(Puma)-81:
Hey at least we’re willing to face our shortcomings but at the same time we can say ‘aaah looks at the scoreboard’
11 Jul 2012, 11:53 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-84: For sure, look if my team were sitting where yours are right now I would not be complaing. Stormers are in a good position.
11 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-83: Yeah your team just not doing it this year mate. My team has done okay not great either. We let ourselves down against some teams. Though we can still make the play offs. Not exactly where most teams will want to be. Most will want to make a semi. That way less travel and a home semi.
I am the same, once my team are out of it, I will support the saffa sides against any overseas side. Always.
11 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-78: You sound like us Sharks Fans a few seasons ago when we couldn’t score tries for our life but were winning ugly! Enjoy it mate while it lasts you could be like us one of the top bonus try scoreres yet scrapping for a play off berth, and faced with a travel scenario that doesn’t give us much hope for a SR victory.
11 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-80: a little testy this morning are we not? a little fear maybe? have your coffee Transie you will feel much better! and don’t worry even if we do play with Steyn our travel scenario makes it very difficult for my team to beat the Chiefs or whoever you are supporting this year!
11 Jul 2012, 12:04 pm
@Puma(Puma)-86: your side could be a worry for quite a few teams if they make the finals
Reds are the danger side, though not sure they’ll get the bonus point versus the Tahs..
11 Jul 2012, 12:05 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-87:
We’ve been there before, playing attacking rugby and ending up playing away semi-finals.
Our defensive game has taken us at least as far as a final but if we could add some resemblance of a backline move I’d feel more at ease.
Luckily we do have potential game breakers in Habs, Aplon and Joe who can create something out of nothing (at times)
11 Jul 2012, 12:08 pm
@William Webb Ellis is now at home(poppa69)-83: Hehe we are on the same page this time, I am still in it till who knows when and then may a SAn team win!
11 Jul 2012, 12:13 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-90: Well I sincerely wish your team really well from here on forwards, losing only 2 matches you can say that you do deserve it! That of course comes with the proviso that all this good will come to an abrupt end should you come up against the Sharks
11 Jul 2012, 12:19 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-91: can only take it one game at a time, so beat the cheetahs first with a bonus point and you know you have next week to cheer them again
11 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
1.Stormers
2. Chiefs
3.Brumbies
4,Crusaders
that’s what were are looking for, Chiefs / Crusaders final.
11 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
I see a lot of schadenfraude doing the rounds amongst the non Sharks supporters.
11 Jul 2012, 12:24 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-94: Not very likely, cup-a-noodle.
11 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-45: Getting very interesting now the playoffs have arrived – the centre issue for the Sharks is an interesting one – this issue is far from over
11 Jul 2012, 12:31 pm
The newest pick-up line of the blue bull supporters are “Ek mis jou soos Morne Steyn”.
11 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-94: Chiefs/Saders? Aww come on give us poor Saffa’s a chance, I mean you guys already have Bill..the best rugby players on the planet…..the best supporters….best player disciplinary record…..by far best bloggers around, and I am sure SBW is about to announce his new role on dancing with the stars…..Give us a chance, I mean we are after all just a nation of conspiracy theorists and whingers.
11 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-94: Don’t forget there are 2 semi-finals to be played first…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All