Prinsloo poised for Cheetahs debut

Boom Prinsloo will earn his first Super Rugby cap for the Cheetahs against the Sharks in Durban on Saturday.

Prinsloo, who has become an important member of the Blitzboks, starts at No 8 in place of the injured Justin Downey, who dislocated a finger in the Cheetahs’ 13-6 defeat against the Stormers last week and is expected to be sidelined for nearly two months.

In other changes, Philip Snyman starts on the wing in place of Cameron Jacobs, while scrumhalf Jacques Coetzee is named on the bench after Tewis de Bruyn pulled out due to a groin strain. Andries Strauss provides backline cover on the bench.

Cheetahs - 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Philip Snyman, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Subs: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Andries Strauss.