Gutsy Canes give Stormers a sniff
13 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports that a thrilling 28-25 victory for the Hurricanes in Wellington has left the door open for the Stormers to top the Super Rugby league.
A controversial try awarded four minutes into injury time allowed the Hurricanes to snatch a late win and keep their own play-off prospects alive in the process. This result is a bad one for the Bulls, Sharks and Reds, who are all chasing a qualifying spot, but it is a very favourable one for the Stormers.
The Cape side simply need to beat the Rebels in Cape Town on Saturday to win the league and secure a home semi-final. This would result in the Stormers’ first ever top-of-the-table finish, and put them into a position to play a possible final at Newlands.
The Chiefs certainly blew an opportunity in Friday’s encounter at the Cake Tin. It was clear that a bonus-point win was what they were after, as five log points would have secured top spot.
A simple win would also have given them a chance to finish in pole position. The Stormers haven’t scored a bonus-point win this season, but if the Chiefs had won narrowly in Wellington, the Cape side would need to win big in their own final league match. Perhaps the Chiefs should have secured the win before being so ambitious.
But special mention must go to the Hurricanes for their role in a result that has turned the tournament on its head. They were once again inconsistent in this crunch match, and flyhalf Beauden Barrett missed four kicks at goal. To be fair, they were the better side on the day, and as the final call indicated, the 50/50 calls also went their way.
There was minimal kicking in this contest as both teams went in search of a bonus-point win. The Chiefs started well, but then battled to live with Hurricanes at the breakdown. Indeed they were fortunate to be ahead in the final minutes, and if they had won they would have pointed to a crucial score right before half-time as well as Aaron Cruden’s intercept try in the 58th minute as game-winning plays.
But in defeat, it can be said that the eight points the Chiefs banked right before half-time were scored when Hurricanes prop Ben May was off the park. The tighthead was sin-binned for a reckless tackle on Sonny Bill Williams, and the Chiefs made the Hurricanes pay to the tune of eight points.
The intercept try allowed the Chiefs to take the lead at a crucial stage of the game, and credit must go to Cruden for reading the play and latching on to the pass by Barrett. It was a seven-pointer against the run of play, but it highlighted the Chiefs’ threat from the turnover.
Aside from his goal-kicking and that unfortunate pass, Barrett had an absolute blinder at flyhalf. His decision making was excellent and the Chiefs’ defence was guilty of giving him too much room to run and create opportunities for team-mates running a supporting line.
For the Chiefs, Williams was superb, breaking tackles and delivering some inspired offloads. But unfortunately for the visitors, Williams failed to link up with his team-mates after making many a break, and as a result the Chiefs failed to finish some great attacking surges.
The Hurricanes are a young side, but they showed terrific character as the clock wound down. The Chiefs should have put them away during this period, but poor ball security at the breakdown and some woeful tactical kicking allowed the hosts to take control.
It was all the Chiefs could do to hang on, conceding penalty after penalty at the breakdown. The Hurricanes eventually got over the line with the clock on 84 minutes, Dane Coles showing some incredible strength to finish.
Referee Jonathan Kaplan referred the decision to the TMO as the 25 000 screaming fans anticipated a fairytale finish for their Hurricanes team. Tawera-Kerr Barlow looked to have pulled off a heroic tackle on Coles, although it seemed inconclusive whether Kerr-Barlow had got his arm under the ball or if Coles had indeed got the ball down on to the tryline.
The TMO decided it was the latter, and that decision has had some far reaching ramifications. It’s now likely that the Stormers will beat the Rebels on Saturday and top the league, but the Sharks and Bulls will need to win big in their respective clashes to guarantee a spot in the play-offs.
For the Hurricanes, they have kept their hopes alive with an outstanding win over the Chiefs, and no doubt they will be cheering the Sharks and Bulls’ opponents on Saturday.

897 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All
13 Jul 2012, 22:50 pm
Pnce feted as the “2nd best hooker” in SA, now playing at 8 for the “Top” team… LMFAO at AC’s “Genius”…
You farken arrogantcunts…
Will laugh if the improbable happens and the Rebs happen to win… I mean they barely “scraped” by against the Saders with by all accounts a better 8 and a “slightly” better ability to actually score tries…
Fark me… That Cape Mountain breeze must be something at this time of year
13 Jul 2012, 22:50 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-801: Pnce = Once
13 Jul 2012, 22:55 pm
A farken substandard hooker at no 8… If tomorrow weren’t definitely in July all honest Rugby supporters would have thought it was a special Cape April Fools Day…
Helluva thing this… Imagine the Blues reckon Kevvy was going to play at 8 tomorrow… Most would say Pat Lam is more farked in the head than he is already proven to be… And Kevvy is thrice the hooker or player that Neon Deon will ever be
Again… LMFAO
13 Jul 2012, 22:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-801:
Not as much as I will laugh as “the best SA team” don’t even go through to the play offs.
Man, that will be a scream.
Hahaha…
13 Jul 2012, 22:56 pm
@nama1(nama1)-800:
> pawpaws at a Portuguese shop.
> the shop owner was adamant that the rest of the pawpaws were not for sale
You can buy Tomatosh, Potatosh but nao pawpaw, pawpaw nao for sale
The sure moered him hard, like the time he wiped the bakkie’s dipstick on the big guy’s tie, the guy klapped him hard on the ear, you could see it must have hurt
Did you see when he was the butcher, and “shot” the cows at the back?
> You know that he played hooker for Free State?
I knew he did play for them, but I thought he’d be a backline player
13 Jul 2012, 22:57 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-799:
I don’t think Jimmy ever fought against gerrie but he did end the career of kallie when he knocked him out (through the ropes).
Gerrie was imo our best heavyweight (and probably boxer) ever- he was a natural fighter, only problem was his “seer handjies’ and lack of conditioning and poor coaching from his dad.
sadly the poor bloke ended up bankrupt – what a waste of a fantastic talent.
13 Jul 2012, 23:00 pm
Kaplan had a shocker!
He obviously got in the way when Kerr Barlow scored. Ben May should have been given a white card for the tackle on sbw and the last minute try was a debacle!
Stormers to take out comp now! Home ground advantage vital!
13 Jul 2012, 23:01 pm
as – when
13 Jul 2012, 23:01 pm
Sheezus… the more I think about it, the more I realize how the Brokeback Breezing fools are in a Ref constructed Cape Bubble ready to Pop right out of the weazel… From the Ref gimmes against the Sharks and Bulls at Newlands… to the game against the Lions just last week… And then Kaplan’s kindly little Hurricunty gesture this morning…
You farken Houtbay houtkoppe are farken dreaming dreams if you reckon you even have merit in trying to come near the Super Rugby trophy proper…
Not this farken Conference “Title” Bulldust or some such,,, The actual trophy now…
Farkenell… Neon Deon at 8 tomorrow against the Rebs… Talk about arrogant lack of respect… LOL
13 Jul 2012, 23:03 pm
@nama1(nama1)-804: But there is only one “best” SA team… The Storming Normans…
Sharkies and Bulls are “lowly” remember… As a “wise” Stormercunty “supporter” once said today…
13 Jul 2012, 23:04 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-806:
Gerrie was a good boxer, but Brian Mitchell was my favourite
He went with the Boks on tour after he had retired and a guy wanted to pick a fight with Uli, so Brian tried to calm the guy down he insisted to take it outside.
Brian took him down with two quick ones
13 Jul 2012, 23:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-809:
Howdy GH, how’re they hanging (if the Banshee haven’t cut them off yet?) ?
Neon Deon?
You sure don’t like the gingers do you?
13 Jul 2012, 23:09 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-811: Charlie Weir… Silver Sluiper
13 Jul 2012, 23:11 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-806:
Well, if I am bankrupt and still can afford to live in a Rmillion flat in Bloubergstrand, I’ll be OK.
Jimmy was just steroids on two legs. If you want to warn kids against the use of steroids, his is the example you use why it is not the right thing to do.
I also don’t think Jimmy fought against Gerrie.
While he was fighting against Robbie Williams to determine the SA champ, Gerrie and Kallie were fighting against the likes of Mike weaver, Leon Spinks, Michael Dokes for the WBA championship.
Of course, my alltime hero, Big John Tate, moered both of them within the space of about three months before Dokes dethoroned him.
Any truth in the reports that Gerrie and Tate fought in front of 80 000 people at Loftus?
Bob Arum walked away with a lot of tax payer’s money to bring thjis fights to SA, I think.
13 Jul 2012, 23:12 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-806:
> I don’t think Jimmy ever fought against gerrie but he did end the career of kallie when he knocked him out (through the ropes).
Must have mixed up Mike and Gerrie
Kallie liked the girls and party more than training, he wasn’t that good
Do you stil remember Harold “die Hamer” Volbrecht, Bushy Bester and Charlie Weir?
13 Jul 2012, 23:13 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-812: Barely hanging… Had to hide them from Banhsee… She was ravenous the other night… A bit over bearing and rather farken hyperactive… You seen the full moon lately?
Strues Bob it does something to the fairersex… No doubt about it.
Gingers… Sheezus, have you ever done the dirty with one o’ them…? Farken aint pretty if you not in complete darkness, bru…
13 Jul 2012, 23:16 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-813:
I’ve met him, he used to be the rep for Capital Tobacco
Saw him a few years later, he looked very sick, I think he had liver cancer.
But he still was a gentleman
13 Jul 2012, 23:18 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-809:
“You farken Houtbay houtkoppe…”
Kom jy weer met jou “*******” besigheid hier op die site.
You guys must stop with your hidden meanings, OK?
13 Jul 2012, 23:19 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-817: Enjoyed watching his fights… Courage personified
13 Jul 2012, 23:20 pm
@nama1(nama1)-818:
13 Jul 2012, 23:22 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-815:
Indeed… the silver sluiper from kimberley had a good punch but sadly no defence or chin- some American (Davey someting, i cannot remember the surname endeed his career)
Pro- boxing is sort of cutting edge- just once punch too many and that’s it- unlike rugby where you can go on and on for a while. Like John Smit did.
for how long have you been in canada? Any good there?
13 Jul 2012, 23:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-816:
Is she a redhead, I’ve heard they’re full of s-hite?
So she still doesn’t believe your credit card was stolen?
Still suspect you’ve played hide the salami with the local fauna?
> Sheezus, have you ever done the dirty with one o’ them…?
Nope, haven’t pomped a redhead
> Farken aint pretty if you not in complete darkness, bru…
Shouldn’t look down then ?
Or get one with a bald eagle
13 Jul 2012, 23:23 pm
@nama1(nama1)-818:
Hidden meaning??
It’s about as subtle as a kick in the nuts followed with a shifting spanner in the teeth
13 Jul 2012, 23:26 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-821:
Boxing is like a lion pack, the young male have to be hungry or horny enough to fight the old maanhaar to the death and then he’s in charge, for a while that is
Look at Tyson, poor and from a bad neigborhood he had nothing to lose to go toe to toe with anyone except to earn some money while doing it
And then he got rich and soft in that order
13 Jul 2012, 23:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-821:
> for how long have you been in canada? Any good there?
Three years, it’s ok, would never beat SA’s weather or warm, spontaneous people though
One of my mates comes from Zimbo as well, he lost his farms and came here
13 Jul 2012, 23:30 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-822: No, cuzzie… Like a gypsy lady… Hair and eyes as dark black as the ace of spades… Skin as pale as the moonlight… and a temper that would put the Devil hisself to shame… Believe…? Dont be farken naive… Believe is nothing with my little Ball of Gypsy Fire and yours truly… Default setting is WTF???
Yussus, a redhead just means regret… on the breakfast run…
And you can’t But look… Gingger bush is a sight to see.
13 Jul 2012, 23:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-826:
Is she Irish or a real gypsy?
> And you can’t But look… Gingger bush is a sight to see.
Before, after or during?
13 Jul 2012, 23:35 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-824:
yeah, poor mike, he felt for the beauty and charm of a woman – not that i blame him.
The game has changed though since “clever guys” like lennox lewis and the Klitschko brothers took over– these farkers have Phd’s and know how to play the sicilian opening in chess without breaking a sweat.
I long for the dumb boxer like rocky balboa, lol.
13 Jul 2012, 23:37 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-827: Neither… Pom thru and thru… But fark me if there aint a bit of Tarot Gypsy somewhere in the Family tree somewhere…
Before is the sight to see… After and during is like a car crash… You don’t want to look at the gore, but you end up looking anyway…
Thats redbush for you, shew
13 Jul 2012, 23:41 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-828:
Boxing changed a lot, there used to be three titles, WBA, WBC and IBF if I remeber correctly
Now there are a lot more and it watered it down a lot
> I long for the dumb boxer like rocky balboa,
I miss the fights between Marvellous Marvin Hagler, Sugar Ray Leonard and Roberto Duran
Do you still remember them?
13 Jul 2012, 23:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-828: Dont need to break a sweat for the Sicilian… Just a run o the mill response to e5… Or laymans – White first move with the pawn 2 squares out from the King
13 Jul 2012, 23:43 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-825:
i nearly came over to canada 6 years ago. still not sure whether i made the right decision to stay, might eventually end up in Australia though as i have access there- – kids at university here make it a bit complicated for the moment- and i love this place – good luck to you over there though.
13 Jul 2012, 23:45 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-829:
> But fark me if there aint a bit of Tarot Gypsy somewhere in the Family tree somewhere…
England was invaded by the Romans, Vikings, Normans and now on a smaller scale by HG, so it’s possible
> After and during is like a car crash…
They say before it looks like a rose with a dewdrop on it, afterward like a Bulldog that ate porridge
13 Jul 2012, 23:48 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-832:
Go to Oz, it’s a beautiful country, strangely enough a lot of my SA friends` kids are doing grad school in Oz, their parents might as well have gone there in the first place
Where are you now?
13 Jul 2012, 23:49 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-830:
Marvelous Marvin vs Sugar RAY.
Their second fight. The best 3/4 rounds that I’ve ever seen.
Sugar Ray vs Hearns, the best fight over 14 rounds that I’ve ever seen.
Boxing was a great sport back then. Before Don King took complete control.
13 Jul 2012, 23:49 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-830:
Leonard was my favourite-incredibly skillfull – fark, or maybe Duran- he was guts for glory- those were the days– i do not even know the names of the modern guys anymore except for the Pacman but he seems to have become politician.
oh yes, the bloke in jail is also good- i hope he and the pacman fights one day.
13 Jul 2012, 23:51 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-831: Now my Chess Idol Tal, started with the English Opening as White in his latter years… He fckadillyed and confused a few… with Pawn moving 2 ahead of left bishop or C4
13 Jul 2012, 23:53 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-833: Straight shooting… Bulldog aint ginger to my mind… But I get the picture… Eish
13 Jul 2012, 23:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-831:
i still play some blitz chess on the web these days but sadly have forgotten the best replies to e5 . Sicilian used to be the most aggressive but there also used to be the french that was a bit ‘slower’ but lethal if you keep to the ‘lines’ and stayed patient.
For me it’s off the cuff these days, losing too often.
I thought Kaplan had blown it when he stupidly sinbinned the canes tighthead, but the video ref saved the day at the end. Chiefs have now lost out to 3 video ref tries in 2 weeks, all of them could have gone eiither way. they were silly going for the 5 points when 4 points would probably have sufficed.
comp is lining up nicely now. either the stormers get 2 play the 2 teams they have not played so far, or maybe they get to play the 2 teams that have managed to beat them. either way TAB have it right. Stormers now outright favorites, and clearly the best team in the comp so far. despite what the 1 eyed despot has to say about his team, that has actually lost 6 times this year vs stormers 2 losses. stormers unbeaten at home ad wont have to ravel again. home ground advantage is deserved given their consistency.
go stormers. but i’ll place my bets on the crusaders now. at 3.75 the best odds going and a great emotional hedge. it is no wonder the sharks are paying $15 to win the comp vs stomres $2.60. HG put your money where your considerable mouth is. if you’re only half right, you’ll be rich!
@Robzim(Robzim)-836:
‘No mass, no mass… does not indicate guts.
Leonard was moering him then.
13 Jul 2012, 23:58 pm
@nama1(nama1)-835:
The Hearns fight was one of the best, I watched it on youtube the other night
How much did they weigh, they seem a lot lighter than the heavyweights?
When I was still very small we had two boxers whose names I still remember, Tap-Tap Makatini and Pangama Sekgapane (excuse the spelling)
Can you still remember them?
14 Jul 2012, 00:00 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-834:
In Cape town.Doing fairly OK at moment, and i like it here, having travelled quite a lot. Have some family connections in Aus though, and might eventually settle there, keeping options open.
14 Jul 2012, 00:01 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-839: @Robzim(Robzim)-839: e5 to e4… you mean? Goes all Spanish…
14 Jul 2012, 00:03 am
@nama1(nama1)-841: @victoriabok(victoriabok)-842: And Marvelous Marvin?
14 Jul 2012, 00:04 am
@nama1(nama1)-841:
Hagler moered Leonard hard as well
14 Jul 2012, 00:05 am
@nama1(nama1)-835: Didnt see this, sorry…What about Marvelous vs Hitman… was good, no?
14 Jul 2012, 00:05 am
@nama1(nama1)-841:
lol, blame it on South American emotions.
Btw… where are you based at moment.. Nama always makes me think of the terrible port nolloth … fark knows why.. maybe the diamants , lol.
14 Jul 2012, 00:09 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-842:
Welterweights.
Not sure but I think it was something between 68kg’s and 74kg’s.
May be very much wrong. I think it is the the same division that Pacioua (sp) dominated before he was robbed a few weeks ago.
@Robzim(Robzim)-839:
At least your are not yet mad. All the chess players that I know (and know of) are very much mad in their head.
HG being a case in point.
14 Jul 2012, 00:10 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-847:
What made those fights good were the quality of both boxers, either one could win on the day and nothing was staged
Unlike the unmatched fights you see today, mostly the heavyweight ones
And of course Sannie Bill’s fights
I’m sure any of those old boxers would still moer Sonny Bill today
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All