Bulls dominate SA Schools trial squad

The Blue Bulls have 15 players selected in the 50-man SA Schools trial squad.

As expected, the U18 Craven Week unofficial champions have the most players in the squad. WP have eight representatives, while the Golden Lions have six. KZN (four), EP (three), Border (one), Boland (four), the Valke (two), SWD (two), Griffons (one), Pumas (one) and Free State (two) also have schoolboys picked.

This squad will play a set of trials from 28 July, before being reduced to a final group of 28 players. The SA Schools team will play in the three U18 internationals against Wales, France and England.

50-man SA Schools trials squad - Bongile Nonkontwana (Blue Bulls), Aidon Davis (EP), Akhona Sihunu (Border), Caswell Khoza (Blue Bulls), Chad Solomon (WP), Chris Massyn (Golden Lions), Christiaan Meyer (Valke), Courtney Cupido (Boland), Daniel du Preez (KZN), Dayan van der Westhuizen (Blue Bulls), Duhan van der Merwe (SWD), Dylon Smith (Golden Lions), Edward Schmidt (Free State), Francois Esterhuizen (Boland), Ganfried May (SWD), Gideon Koegelenberg (Boland), Handre Pollard (WP), Heinrich Viljoen (Blue Bulls), Hyron Andrews (Blue Bulls), Jako van der Walt (Golden Lions), Jano Venter (Pumas), Jason Worrall (WP), JD Schickerling (WP), Jean-Luc du Preez (KZN), Jesse Kriel (KZN), Johan Bannink (Blue Bulls), Johan Labuschagne (Valke), Jurie Linde (Blue Bulls), Justin Philips (Blue Bulls), Koch Marx (Golden Lions), Leighton van Wyk (WP), Liam Hendricks (WP), Malcolm Marx (Golden Lions), Marcus Kleinbooi (Blue Bulls), Matjikinyane Molapo (Blue Bulls), Nicholas Janse van Resnburg (Blue Bulls), Ox Nche (Free State), Pierre Schoeman (Blue Bulls), Ramone Samuels (WP), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Blue Bulls), Rynard Snyman (Griffons), Ryno Eksteen (Blue Bulls), Sandile Kubeka (KZN), Selwyn Davids (EP), Sergeal Petersen (EP), Stephan Vermeulen (Golden Lions), Thabo Mabuza (Blue Bulls), Warrick Galant (SWD), Wesley Adonis (WP), Wilco Louw (Boland).

By Gareth Duncan, in Port Elizabeth