Triple blow for Sharks

The Sharks will be without Frans Steyn, Pat Lambie and Pieter Steph du Toit for their wildcard play-off fixture against the Reds on Saturday.

Fullback Lambie and lock Du Toit picked up ankle injuries during the 34-15 victory over the Cheetahs and will not be part of the 24-man touring squad.

Head coach John Plumtree also confirmed that the Sharks lost their appeal to have inside centre Steyn available for selection for the knockout rounds. The Springbok joined the squad after the cutoff date of 1 April, making him ineligible.

Sharks touring squad – Willem Alberts, Meyer Bosman, Jacques Botes, Anton Bresler, Craig Burden, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Wiehahn Herbst, Paul Jordaan, Ryan Kankowski, Louis Ludik, Jandre Marais, Charl Mcleod, Frederic Michalak, Beast Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen, Cobus Reinach, Steven Sykes, Riaan Viljoen, Tim Whitehead.