SA will have two semi-finalists
16 Jul 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day column, says the Bulls’ Super Rugby campaign will end in Christchurch on Saturday but the Sharks have a good chance of beating the Reds.
For all the criticism about a flawed Super Rugby tournament format, a loss of momentum due to the three-Test international series, and an undoubted first and second division in the competition, it all came down to the last 40 minutes to determine the make-up of the six play-off finalists.
What a weekend it was, starting with the Hurricanes upstaging the Chiefs with a controversial TMO try in the last play of the game and the Brumbies imploding at home against a Blues team that have been abysmal all season.
The Brumbies’ defeat was the biggest shock and their last 80 minutes of the regular season proved costly in every sense.
Jake White’s overachievers started the match as Australian conference leaders and, given the opposition, as the probable hosts of one of the quarter-finals next weekend. When the siren sounded in Pretoria to conclude the regular season, the Brumbies were out of the play-offs; their heroics of the past five months blown away in 80 minutes.
It would have been an anxious wait for White, who would have expected more grunt in the South African derbies and possibly even an upset by the Cheetahs in Durban. It never happened as the Sharks got the win and the four-try bonus point, and anyone backing the Lions to do the dirty on the Bulls in Pretoria would have done so out of loyalty and not logic.
The Bulls were adequate in victory but even this was good enough to get the five league points and extend their participation in the tournament by a week. The side will crash out in Christchurch because there isn’t the belief in the squad that they can beat the Crusaders in New Zealand.
There never is such an issue when playing New Zealand’s champion side in SA and the Bulls, more than any other side, have crushed the Crusaders in recent play-off matches. Not this season.
For the Bulls, any title aspirations depended on hosting play-off matches. The Crusaders have always been the exceptions in being able to win away from home come play-off time. No other team in the history of the competition has mastered the demands of a short turnaround week, which has often necessitated flying across the world to play the final.
The Bulls certainly won’t change their history. They couldn’t do it when led by the magnificent Victor Matfield and strengthened by the imposing Bakkies Botha and the inspirational Fourie du Preez. They’ve no price this weekend and they will take a beating.
What it means is the Crusaders will play the Stormers in Cape Town and if there is one team that has always turned an away fixture into a home game, it is the Crusaders at Newlands. The Crusaders won twice last season, including an emphatic semi-final win.
The Stormers, rightly, will be nervous. It is the one side they didn’t want to face and it is the one side that beat them fairly comfortably this year, albeit in Christchurch.
The Stormers, league winners for the first time, have to be applauded for the achievement. It is quite something to win ugly nearly every week and if they should go all the way, no one in Cape Town will care how the victory was fashioned. Then again, it is a big if because at no stage in the season have the Stormers blown away the opposition and produced a performance that screamed champions.
Western Force captain Nathan Sharpe, in his final Super Rugby appearance, said the Crusaders were the form team of the tournament and the best his side had encountered. But if they are to add to their seven championship titles they’ll have to do it the hard way because home semifinals and finals have been rare in recent years, and they have stumbled in the final fortnight as much as they succeeded in the early years of the tournament.
The Sharks will be pleased to have avoided the Crusaders and there will be optimism that it is possible for them to beat the Reds in Brisbane and beat the Chiefs in Hamilton. Hell, they may even have to stay in New Zealand and face the Crusaders in the final. It is a possibility and what a story that would be if the Sharks won it.
That’s just one of the permutations and such a scenario would be a remarkable turnaround for the Sharks, who in the past few weeks have delivered in quality, in attack and in defence.
The Chiefs, to win the tournament, have to host the final and even then they’d have to beat the Crusaders. I don’t see it happening. They are not good enough to beat the Stormers in Cape Town.
The Reds, at home, are a menace but like the Bulls they turn to putty on the road.
Whoever wins in Cape Town in a fortnight will have one hand on the title but keep an eye on the Sharks. If they get past the Reds they could deliver something quite magnificent in the final fortnight.

814 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 17 » Show All
16 Jul 2012, 16:12 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-149: Oh, I am not worried. Although their fans are a bunch of twats, I think the Stormers deserve a trophy. Of course, we will be made to swallow it every day on here for a couple of months but I have no problem with the Stormers winning the Super 15. Like you – I have my doubts though.
They are the new chokers in South African rugby. Losing two finals in one year and then the semi-final last year earned them that.
16 Jul 2012, 16:13 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-148:
Yes, tough times lay ahead for the Sharks. I said before that I’d rather face the Crusaders than the Sharks in the semi’s.
Your only real weakness is at lock but the rest make up for that weakness.
Fark, can you imagine the banter on this site if you beat the Reds and face the Stormers in the semi’s. It will be epic.
16 Jul 2012, 16:14 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-150: I am also a scrawny 48 kg nerd. You want to try tattoo something on my *** ? Where are you – I will swing by ?
16 Jul 2012, 16:15 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-145: The obstacle for the Sharks is managing to win 3 games on the trot without a mental meltdown and a kak game from Michelak, which he is well due for
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-136: Agreed, its will be a hammer-blow, but not fatal, but still a hammer-blow.
1. Kitshoff 20yrs
2. Fourie 26yrs
3. Malherbe 21yrs
4. Etzebeth 21yrs
5. Bekker arguably the best 5 in the world when injury free
6. Kolisi 21 yrs
7. Elstardt 23yrs
8. Vermeulen 26yrs, not to mention other kids like Carr and Koster
9. Duvenage 24yrs
10. Johan Goosen or Elton Jantjes
11. Shadow
12. JDJ
13. ???
14. Aplon
15. Joe
In 2 or 3 years these players will be better than this year, so be warned its not a false “Dawn”, its the really deal.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-152: It will sound like a bunch of little birds frenetically babbling about how the Sharks stand no chance. Easy to predict.
16 Jul 2012, 16:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-150: That’s an apt description of Noel……throw in a love for turtleneck sweaters, the small one from Boyzone and love muscle night at the toolbox and Noel would fit in well just under the mountain
16 Jul 2012, 16:17 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-153: Another Shark fan threatening me with violence on the interweb
This is precious. I’m taking a screenshot.
16 Jul 2012, 16:18 pm
Vermeulen and Burger to have final assessments on Thursday regarding their availability for next week.Kolisi and Aplon given a clean bill of health.
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-157: Noel comes from Howick.
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-138: Pointing out a fact that WP and Bulls have 30 plus Currie Cups against 6 odd from the Sharks, is being arrogant?, how best then can one explain the indifference inherent in Bulls and WP supporters towards Sharks?, honestly asking, not being arrogant.
16 Jul 2012, 16:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-158: Where did I threaten violence ? You said you wanted to tattoo the *** of a 48 kg IT nerd. I said I would volunteer. Tell me where you are mofgat.
16 Jul 2012, 16:20 pm
LOFL. The Sharks and Bulls wishing they’d rather play each other. Personally we owe the Crusaders a hiding at Newlands so that’s the semi I’d prefer. The Saders beat a depleted Stormers outfit last year – something everybody conveniently forgets (Schreuder and Catrikilis were the playing halfbacks ffs …..with Bekker and most of the loose trio out) – so this year I want the Saders again. Sharks and Bulls won’t make it past the weekend!
16 Jul 2012, 16:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-160: Ah a country Shark
16 Jul 2012, 16:21 pm
Newsflash Dusky.Sharks choked in three super finals.They are the ultimate chokers mate…oh yes it’s true.
16 Jul 2012, 16:22 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-161: Going back to the 1800′s ? LOL….of anyone on this blog I didn’t think you would resort to the ‘old oomie with a safari pak’ argument of the Currie Cups WP won when they played against Maties in a few games. ;-D
By the way – have you written the Sharks an e-mail about how much you hate them ? Let me know their response.
16 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
@Provvas(Provvas)-47: “Cant wait for next weekends results.. Whoever faces the Stormers in the semi, it will be one massive upset to pull off..”
If Crusaders play at Newlands, to you really think it will be an upset for them to win, nevermind a massive one? At Newlands, where Stormers have less than 50% winning ratio versus them?
16 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-165: Yep – Stormers well on their way.
16 Jul 2012, 16:24 pm
So the Sharks have been in 10 play offs – not winning a single comp – and their supporters label the Stormers as chokers hahahahahahaha!
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-165: Fair call that one…however at least we made three finals
@Dusky(Dusky)-162: The little pu$$y disappears….
@Dusky(Dusky)-162: Is that you Noel?
16 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-169: Are we forgetting the Currie Cup?
16 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-162:
Apparently this blogger is a woman. Apparently….cos judging by the bitterness of the posts I’m going with pillowbiter. No woman I know is this bitter and twisted unless she’s divorced, single or munching on rugs
16 Jul 2012, 16:26 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-169: 2010 Super rugby finalists, 2010 Currie Cup finalists (got an *** ripping !), 2011 Super rugby semi-finalists (at Newlands), 2011 Currie Cup semi-finalists,……but of course we know you guys love to dig stats back to the 1800s. Its all you’ve got. Oh and the Vodacom Cup trophy.
16 Jul 2012, 16:26 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-172: Yes its me – tell me where you are so I can come present my *** for a tattoo. Coward.
16 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters(Predawn)-174: I dont understand, the paff wants to tattoo the *** of a 48 kg, Sharks supporting IT nerd. That describes me perfectly – and I would love a tattoo on my *** – I just dont understand why the mountain moffie wont tell me where he or she is.
16 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters(Predawn)-174: Let’s not discriminate against the ones who drink from the furry cup, not call for that.
16 Jul 2012, 16:29 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-166: Like a Chelsea fan looking at the dining table, where Man Utd and Liverpool dine, or Valencia looking at Real and Barca or Inter looking at “The Old Lady” and ” Rossoneri” , it happens not just at the Sharks but in many sports and in many countries, understand your place, you will always be an underdog, at least in our life time.
16 Jul 2012, 16:30 pm
It’s not our fault Xhosa that the Sharks were right royal ***** for 100 years.To use another example from the epl.United and Liverpool,because of their history,will always be the premier game despite the fact that Liverpool are ***** at the moment and city and chelsea are flushed with money.Sharks supporters should get used to the idea that there will never be a north v east or a south v east premier game in South African rugby.
16 Jul 2012, 16:30 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-163:
Aich boet, I can’t see that happening. Crusaders are one of the better attacking teams in the competition and the Stormers don’t have a very good record against any of the attacking teams.
The Reds will be difficult to beat and nothing less than 100% concentration on the set pieces will see The Sharks edge this match. Jannie will need to be disciplined as I see Kaplan giving him special attention.
16 Jul 2012, 16:31 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-179: Whatever – let me know about how the Sharks respond to you telling them how much you hate them. Don’t phone – you might burst into tears. That wouldn’t be very convincing.
16 Jul 2012, 16:32 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-180: I am afraid that has already happened….as you can see from our respected Bulls bloggers the big derby is Bulls/Sharks. Don’t stress though when the Kings come on board you guys can set-up your own little rivarly.
16 Jul 2012, 16:33 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-180: Found a new things to convince one another about ? Classic ! and Hilarious !
16 Jul 2012, 16:33 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-175: Being hyperbolic doesn’t hide 32 plays 6, now digest that.
16 Jul 2012, 16:34 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-185: LOL – ja oom…
16 Jul 2012, 16:35 pm
I see that you already dealt with that issue Xhosa .
16 Jul 2012, 16:35 pm
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-164: Yes. A timid little soul, but a whizz with compers (spends too much time playing online games though, and carrying an online sword…….which gives him many online powers apparently)
That’s why I thought this Dusky fellow might be Noel in his ‘strong’ outfit.
16 Jul 2012, 16:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-172: Ran away ? Or gone to fetch the tattoo gun ?
16 Jul 2012, 16:38 pm
Chiefs and Pirates.Yankees and Red Sox.The list is endless.
16 Jul 2012, 16:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-188: Look, I am not Noel – sorry. But I am definitely a scrawny IT nerd I promise.
16 Jul 2012, 16:40 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-176: Coward? Says he going gung ho on the interweb, threatening and performing like a shot up roid boy….Is this the rage they speak of? The Red roid mist?
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters(Predawn)-174: The only women you know, you have to pay for the ‘pleasure’ of their company – so your knowledge of the fairer *** is rather limited. Crack Ho’s don’t count.
16 Jul 2012, 16:41 pm
Don’t you just love the way Keo always states his thumbsuck predictions as absolute certainties? Team X will do this and team Y will do that. If anyone bothered to tally up the wee fella’s success rate, they’d find he’s pretty wayward most of the time.
@Provvas(Provvas)-128:
The Sharks were missing quite a few top players at Newlands
But I did not qualify it at the time. We lost.. period. There are no excuses
We slected the best suide we had at our disposal
Conversely the Stormers were hurting when they got to KP.
They selected the best side at their disposal
Its that simple. There is never an excuse. Never.
@Dusky(Dusky)-189: Going to gym now. Does that count as running away Noel? Later Roid boy.
16 Jul 2012, 16:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-192: Where did I threaten anything ? I did call you a few names. All the more reason for you to teach my 48kg scrawny body a lesson.
16 Jul 2012, 16:42 pm
So it seems on here the Bulls have no chance, the Sharks have a 50/50 chance and the Stormers are not going to choke this year and win the thing. My feeling is as long as a South African team wins then I will be happy but personally I believe the the Saders are the favourites followed by the Sharks.
16 Jul 2012, 16:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-195: Enjoy your pong bat session fagwad.
16 Jul 2012, 16:43 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-196: Don’t waste your time ignore the teenage boy.
16 Jul 2012, 16:44 pm
After this weekend the two SA bottom dwellers who don’t deserve to be involved anymore in this competition will be back home with their tails between their legs.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 17 » Show All