Christchurch crunch like Test
17 Jul 2012
Bulls head coach Frans Ludeke says the play-off against the Crusaders will be characterised by Test-like qualities.
The Bulls enter their fourth play-off in seven years (previously straight into the semi-final phase), but their last in Christchurch in 2006 ended in a comprehensive 35-15 defeat. In fact the Bulls have never won an away play-off in the history of Super Rugby, underlining how difficult their task will be on Saturday.
Furthermore, the Crusaders will field a close-to full strength side, with only Kieran Read unavailable for selection. The Bulls, however, are laden with Springboks, albeit that they cannot match their hosts for Test experience. And Ludeke says the defining qualities of the match will be just like an international.
‘It will mimic a Test match in every way, with the basic keys to success being managing the pressure exerted on you and exerting enough of your own to create regular scoring opportunities,’ Ludeke told keo.co.za. ‘Ill-discipline and goal kickers could decide the outcome, and there are two of the best goal kickers in the game on show [Morné Steyn and Dan Carter].
‘In matches like these a single lapse in concentration can be the difference between winning and losing. We’ve had soft moments this season and we have to ensure that that doesn’t happen against a team like the Crusaders or you’ll find yourself chasing the game. It’s hard to recover from positions like that against teams of that calibre.’
Ludeke says he will focus heavily on the mental conditioning given their limited preparation time. The Bulls departed for New Zealand on Monday evening and will have just one full session (on Thursday) before the match.
‘There really isn’t much technical and tactical coaching you can do in this time frame,’ he said. ‘The guys are very familiar with the structures so it’s about going over that again but also making small adjustments for the Crusaders. They have a way of playing that’s been in place for some time now – they kick into space and are very direct – a lot like us in a way. But in recent weeks we’ve seen that their method of exiting their 22m has changed slightly. They usually kick, but they’ve run a lot. Those are the small details we’ve been looking at.
‘But overall it is about ensuring the players respond well when the heat is on. We have players who know the pressures of play-off rugby (nine of the players expected to be named in the match 22 played in their 39-24 semi-final demolition of the Crusaders in 2010). Those guys must come to the fore and show their experience. We’ve had the benefit of players like Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez and Bakkies Botha in the past. You can’t make up for their losses in one season. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a high expectation of the senior players that are here. There’s enough experience in this side and that must show in the way we go about our business.’
The Saders haven’t beaten the Bulls in a play-off in three attempts (2007, 2009, 2010) but all of those defeats were in South Africa and against Bulls teams with some of the world’s best players at their disposal. Asked whether their recent success against the Saders had eroded the aura around them, Ludeke said: ‘No, but you can’t completely disregard the fact that some of our players have experience in beating very strong Crusaders teams recently.
‘But this is their back yard. There’s no question we are the underdogs. We have a process that we’re focused on and hopefully that leads to the end goal we hope for, which is, of course, a win.’

101 Comments
17 Jul 2012, 09:50 am
If the bulls can keep the game tight and score line close going into the final 20 minutes they will have a shot
17 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-1: There are 3 things that will keep the Bulls in some sort of contention:
1. Ensuring that technically fe ck ed front row of yours comes right – for one night only. Your front row, front row, front row….Kruger and Greyling don’t give me much hope though – they haven’t sorted their issues out all season, why would it suddenly come right in NZ?
2. Morne Steyn depending on his mood…
3. Hougie – depending on his mood…..
17 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
Christchurch Crunch?
Is this some new kind of Kiwi breakfast muesli?
17 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
Bulls have a 20% chance, I reckon.
17 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-1:
I was thinking the same thing, Bulls need to stay in the game up to the final twenty minutes, then the pressure will really come onto the home side and anything may happen.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-2:
Been mystified with how weak the Bulls scrum is, can’t fathom it out…Crusaders will look to destroy them there.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4:
Its not that bad more like 38%
17 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4:
if that…..who knows?
Crusaders have won 14 on the bounce in playoffs, that run needs to end somewhere,surely?
Maybe this could be the game that kicks the bulls into another gear.In every championship run there has been a game and performance that has galvanized the side and instilled belief. Generally it’s always been the first game back from tour or against the sharks at the tank? Imagine the energy and belief these guys would have should they somehow turn over the crusaders?
Personally,this bulls campaign has a very similar look to it as to their 2002 cc campaign.
But only if they go onto to win it.
17 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-5:
Hehe.
1 in 5 is the odds I give them.
17 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-2: Agreed , the front row holds key, the tighter they bind onto each other the better, maybe if they play in pink this will help with tight binding.
Saying that the Strompies seemed to have lost their way in scrum as well , Lions, Cheeters and Sharkies ( Bulls game)did well……
17 Jul 2012, 10:37 am
I would be very happy if the bulls win this game, but the fact of the matter is they don’t believe they can win this game. The contest will be over before the end of the first half.
17 Jul 2012, 10:38 am
‘Saders will name a strong & experienced side. As always the key men are Carter & McCaw. Alongside them will be a number of All Blacks, & given their challenges last year this is one battle hardened team. The Bulls style of play has been countered successfully this season by a number of different teams (including even the Blues)
17 Jul 2012, 10:57 am
Interesting that I think all strompies will support Bulls to win cause they think they can take the Bulls , not so sure if they can do the same with Saders , I think this is a bridge to far for Bulls, if they beat the Blues at Loftus this would not have hapened , please learn this lesson now.
17 Jul 2012, 11:01 am
@capebull(capebull)-11:
Agree with you.
17 Jul 2012, 11:09 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-3: Formerly known as Quakers Oats.
17 Jul 2012, 11:12 am
@groenie(groenie)-9: Attitude is everything. Wherever you believe you can or you can’t you are right.
17 Jul 2012, 11:14 am
@capebull(capebull)-11:
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-12:
i don’t agree…
am supporting the saffa teams as usually i do…
if we meet later it can be anyone’s game… you guys have beaten us too often in semis and finals for any intelligent stormers supporter to take anything for granted…
good luck to you guys on saturday…!
17 Jul 2012, 11:20 am
@capebull(capebull)-11: You are right. This coming weekend my blood will be pink/blue/red whatever colour you play in. The only thing better than beating the Bulls twice in one season is to beat them three times.
But I am much more afraid of the Crusaders. Would obviously be great for SA Rugby if we can have 3 teams in the semi, but cannot really see that happening.
17 Jul 2012, 11:28 am
Bulls have 20% chance so like a Lions supporter I have hope rather than belief
17 Jul 2012, 11:28 am
@ufo(ufo)-15:
Thanks. But when we beat you in those semifinals and finals we had an amazing team. Now we have a mediocre one.
When I believe in my team, I back them with confidence – as many have seen. But when I don’t, I don’t try to display false bravado. I always tell it as I see it – even if the way I see it isn’t always correct.
And I don’t see this team as being good enough.
17 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-18:
you’re welcome…
and i understand where you’re coming from… and agree with you they may not be a great as the team of old…
but i still won’t be taking them for granted…
i really would like to see 3 saffa teams in the semis… of course i’d love the stormers to win the whole thing… but if not us… then another saffa team…
17 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-13:
Indeed there is a plastic McCheat figure going off his feet at the ruck.
Free in every packet.
17 Jul 2012, 11:35 am
@Obronie(Obronie)-16:
Congrats to the Bullies for making the playoffs. I will definitely be rooting for your team as well as the Sharks this weekend. My heart says both will win but my head says it will be impossible. Here’s hoping for miracles.
17 Jul 2012, 11:37 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-18: I agree they are not good enough yet. Next year they will have more experience and they will improve. Unlike the Stormers who believe that winning the SA conference is good enough and like last year loosing in the semi after making the final in the previous year. The mark of a good team is to see it progress and not stagnate.
17 Jul 2012, 11:38 am
And in about 60th minute – the lack of altitude kicks in.
17 Jul 2012, 11:39 am
@Airwell(Airwell)-22:
Not one person in the Stormers camp said that they were satisfied with only topping the conference. If you were still awake after the Stormers game last weekend you would have seen the contempt with which JDV handled the conference trophy. Trust me, they are aiming for the big one this year.
17 Jul 2012, 11:43 am
@capebull(capebull)-11: The last time the Bulls played Crusaders in Nelson, not Christchurch they were beaten 27 – 0 and it wasn’t this so-called rubbish team, it was last year’s team with vic, bakkies & fdp.
come saturday my bloed will be blou!!
17 Jul 2012, 11:45 am
@Airwell(Airwell)-22: “Unlike the Stormers who believe that winning the SA conference is good enough and like last year loosing in the semi after making the final in the previous year. The mark of a good team is to see it progress and not stagnate.” – you’re starting the barney early with you baiting!
17 Jul 2012, 11:47 am
@capebull(capebull)-11: Nope. I for one am supporting them and the Sharks as I am a saffa. Obviously I’ll back the Stormers against either of them, but will never back a foreign side out of provincial spite or some sort of schoolgirl wish for an easier game later….the Bulls are as dangerous in a semi as the saders anyway, IMO
Besides, if the Saders come to Newlands we have to deal with the hordes of toothless dronk Capesaders. ‘Nuff said
17 Jul 2012, 11:49 am
@Airwell(Airwell)-22:
Aha! Forgive him as he knows not what he says…
Unlike certain teams who have regressed I guess… We ended second last year this year we ended first. We have improved. Oh yes the Bulls have improved from last year and that with the weaker team… Just shows you…
17 Jul 2012, 11:49 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-4: Stranger things have happened.
Just ask the Sharks about the Lions
17 Jul 2012, 12:17 pm
@Golden Boy(Golden Boy)-24: “If you were still awake after the Stormers game last weekend”… LOL
17 Jul 2012, 12:23 pm
Actually.
There is alot less pressure on the Bulls. Surely it is one of those ‘nothing to lose’ days.
If nobody is giving them a chance – then they can go out there and play with more confidence in just doing whatever they need to do.
The Bulls have come a long way and have learned some clever gameplan variations on the day. If some of these work out, the players don’t give away many unforced errors, if at scrumtime the guys keep it reasonable and defensively no real easy tries are leaked
.. the result could be, very well, a Bulls win.
17 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@shooter(shooter)-31:
One of the few positives this season was that the Bulls lost by less than 7 in every single defeat except against the Sharks.
Meaning they were in it to win it till the death, even against the Chiefs in New Zealand.
So I guess they are in with a shot. But a very loooong shot.
17 Jul 2012, 12:26 pm
Go Bulls.
Put the Eye Gougers away.
17 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
And who decides “they don’t have the belief (they can win)”?
I beliiiiiiieve.
17 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-32: Yes!
17 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-33:
Go Crusaders
Put the cry wolf eye gougers away
17 Jul 2012, 12:37 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-18:
Keep the faith Tac.
Just look at how well the Stormers have done this year, and this with a decidedly ordinary and lucky team, as you say.
Maybe the Bulls will get some of the Stormers luck and pull it off. I for one hope so.
17 Jul 2012, 12:40 pm
-shortened for obvious reasons-
But here is what Frans told the boytjies:
When I hear the cynical talk that the Bulls can’t win, I’m reminded of the other brothers (and sisters) I organized with and stood with and fought with side by side for victories and klobbers on the rugbyfields of the S15 campaign. So don’t tell us it can’t happen again.
When I hear that we’ll never overcome the Crusaders in this play-off, I think about Meyer, that woman who used to work for us, Rene Kalder, who is now devoted to training future Blue Bulls and who went out into the streets of Pretoria and is part of the history this campaign. Don’t tell me we can’t win. Yes, we can.
Yes, we can win. Yes, we can heal this nation. Yes, we can seize our future.
And as we leave this great city with a new wind at our backs and we take this journey across the seas, to a country we love to hammer, with the message we carry from the plains of the Springbokvlakte to the hills of the Magaliesburg, from Sunnyside to Hatfield to the New East, the same message we had when we were up and when we were down, that out of many, we are one; that while we breath, we will hope.
And where we are met with cynicism and doubt and fear and those who tell us that we can’t, we will respond with that timeless creed that sums up the spirit of the Bulls people in three simple words: Yes. We. Can.
17 Jul 2012, 13:01 pm
do it bulls…
17 Jul 2012, 13:17 pm
Sterkte..
17 Jul 2012, 13:57 pm
Good luck, Bulle!
I’ve always supported you in any playoff match against an Anzac side. Go there and pull off the result of the season (other than the Stormers’ win at Roftus).
Having said that, I won’t necessarily be sad should the Crusaders tap dance all over you. Principle of Noord-Suid, you see.
17 Jul 2012, 14:28 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-28: Sorry you have moved from 2 to 1 on the overall log. I apologize that log position means so much too you for me it would be at least getting to the final.
17 Jul 2012, 14:37 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-42: For us Bulls fan we live in hope rather than conviction. If I were a Stormer supporter I would be gutted if we did not win the title after topping the log. If we do loose I will support your team and I will expect this to be your year.
17 Jul 2012, 15:16 pm
The Bulls are the only SA team to have done anything significant in this competition.
No matter what you say about form, playing away, who’s done what this year, this historical fact is undeniable.
Often cometh the hour, cometh the men.
I agree the Bulls might be underdogs but if they get their minds around this fact, their chances will be a lot better than 20% (citied above)
17 Jul 2012, 15:30 pm
@Wizard(Wizard)-44: I hope you are right
17 Jul 2012, 15:36 pm
@Wizard(Wizard)-44: nothing the bulls have done comes close to the dynasty of the crusaders, bulls have had home advantage towards all their finals…they’re in unchartered waters when it comes to playing finals rugby away from moftus and the melktert.
no comfort for them. like i said earlier, last time they were in that part of the world they got bliksemed 27 – 0.
go bulle.
17 Jul 2012, 15:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-46: We still live in hope
17 Jul 2012, 15:56 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-27:
Paul, son of Leto?
17 Jul 2012, 16:14 pm
Go Bulle! Moer hulle! (Then the only team that Stormers have a block about is out of the tournament
)
17 Jul 2012, 18:06 pm
> We have a process that we’re focused on and hopefully that leads to the end goal we hope for, which is, of course, a win.’
Yes Frans I’m sure you do hope for a win, you couldn’t even win all your home games now you think the same team would take on the Crusaders at Christchurch?
At scrumtime, long before any real scrummaging your props are worth nine points in penalties for not binding to the oppossition
Add another one for Dean Greyling for miscellaneous ruck infringements and we’re at twelve
Morne misses at least two penalties per game so it’s another six point gift going the other way
And these days, the Bulls scrum can’t even push ouma of the peepot, so we’ll be in turbo reverse the whole afternoon most likely giving away a couple more
So please tell me Frans, why do you keep buying backline players if the Bulls pack can’t secure then even the most basic possesion from set pieces?
17 Jul 2012, 18:07 pm
Bjorn Basson will enter into the Bulls folklore by the this Saturday afternoon. There is something not quiet right with the Crusaders, I see Bulls taking this one, using every ounce of energy they have, leaving nothing in the tank for the battle in Cape Town,the Sharks won’t put up a fight, they needed a ref to take the wind out the Cheetah sails.
17 Jul 2012, 18:20 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-51:
Naah, the Crusaders will man up when it counts
We’ve tried this before remember, we’ve played away semi’s in Nz and Aus with a much better team in 2005 and 2006 and lost both
We only started winning once we secured home semi’s and finals
17 Jul 2012, 18:48 pm
It will be interesting to see if the Crusaders cheat their way to the Finals
Will it be a biased ref or TMO decision?
Or will they adjust the stadium lights to make it virtually impossible for the visitors to see the ball?
17 Jul 2012, 18:56 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-53:
They won’t need to, our weak front row would make it easy to for the Crusaders to dominate the set pieces and Kaptein Spiere dissapears as both player and as captain in tight games
17 Jul 2012, 19:07 pm
The Bulls should play a 5/2 bench. That just might help.
17 Jul 2012, 19:24 pm
@dWeePer(dWeePer)-55:
We need two new props, not youngsters, guys old enough and able to SCRUM
We should buy the prop from the Lions who pushed Kruger’s head up his own a-ss
17 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
How is this from the Kiwis. WOW:
Serial cheats Crusaders prosper from conning refs …. read more at below link.
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/opinion/7296554/Serial-cheats-Crusaders-prosper-by-conning-refs?fb_ref=s%3DshowShareBarUI%3Ap%3Dfacebook-like&fb_source=home_multiline
17 Jul 2012, 20:58 pm
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57:
It happens with the All Blacks as well.
No wonder it is an all SAFFA Ref affair this weekend…..
17 Jul 2012, 21:08 pm
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: thanx for the articel Analyst…damn interesting…
17 Jul 2012, 21:10 pm
articel-article
17 Jul 2012, 21:14 pm
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57:
Sean Fitzpatrick shouldn’t critize, he was one of the first captains that tried to talk refs into seeing it his way
17 Jul 2012, 21:45 pm
I don’t see the Bulls coming close. Carter, Mccaw, Dagg and Ellis are the top players in the world in their positions.
17 Jul 2012, 22:19 pm
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: isn’t mark reason the pom who penned an equally inflammatory article about the all blacks during the world cup?
gallileo will love this…
17 Jul 2012, 22:23 pm
@RefuGSpot(garth)-62:
The first three, yes, Ellis on the other hand isn’t even the best half in Nz, ranked around fourth or thereabouts.Bulls have a chance, need to cut out the silly mistakes, make their tackles and don’t let Crusaders dictate the play..
17 Jul 2012, 22:30 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-64:
Naah, they’re going to give us a hiding
17 Jul 2012, 22:38 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-65:
Your a realist, Victoria, I’m more of a two bob each way kinda guy or in this case $3.00 to the Crusaders and a lazy $1 on the Bulls.
17 Jul 2012, 22:52 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-66:
This is still a fairly new Bulls side, they haven’t won anything yet, no semi or final experience and they’re playing away from home
I saw the first semi against the Crusaders at Loftus in 2007, the team had won three Currie Cups, and played and lost I might add 2 Super 12 semis, it had players like Victor, Bakkies, Habana and Fdp , home ground advantage and the best coach they’ve ever had Heyneke
It was a tough game, tougher than many tests I’ve seen, so tough in fact that the Crusaders said the Bulls was the tougest team they’ve played against and sent Heyneke a signed jersey
The 2012 team is not even close to that side, they haven’t got a hope in hell
17 Jul 2012, 23:14 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-67:
The Bulls2012 are an inferior outfit to those Champion Bulls sides of the past and only time may see if they can scale the heights of their predecessors, you should know what chance the Bulls are this weekend and if you say they are no chance, well I will have to believe it.
17 Jul 2012, 23:29 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-67:
Glaring weaknesses at 2, 8, 10 11, 14 &15
Peiper will land a hand but don’t expect too much, Carter will milk the Bulls’ back three as if there is no tomorrow
All variables considered -jet-lag, tiredness, incoherent coaching staff – the Bulls realistically can expect a 12 to 15 defeat margins, result this time however is less predictable than say the Bulls playing the Lions at Loftus under Jonker or Craig Joubert
17 Jul 2012, 23:38 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-68:
Yep, although the local refereeing did a lot to mask the Bulls’ mini implosion.
The Bulls forwards missing Bakkie, Rossouw, Gary Botha and Stegman from the 2010 winning team, Matfield too.
17 Jul 2012, 23:40 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-68:
The coach sucks, our props are the opposition`s best “bench” as they’re a guaranteed 9 points in penalties, our no 8 still has to walk past a mirror without stopping to look at himself, our flyhalf has baby blues and our most capped centre hasn’t passed a ball in ten years
17 Jul 2012, 23:43 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-70:
Good luck, but we could have won three more games in Morne`s kicking was up to his usual standard, unfortunately he changes shoes more frequently that Lady Gaga at a concert, so his kicking is ****
17 Jul 2012, 23:47 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-70:
I like you am over these punkass referees, this Peyper guy is another heading in the direction of Brycie and others….crooked prickks
18 Jul 2012, 03:28 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-3:
Well Christchurch snap crackle and pop just don’t have the same ring to it…
18 Jul 2012, 04:53 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-6:
They lost in the final last year.
18 Jul 2012, 05:05 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-73:
How do we fix the mess? I think the game is to fast for refs these days and they just can’t keep up any more. This of course does not explain the poor TMO decisions we have seen of late but that is another matter…
I suggest expanding the TMO reach to cover the whole field and theright to intervere for any blatant mistakes by the ref. Second, need an extra set of eyes on the field, second ref responsible for things like offside, obstruction, late tackles etc.
What change do we have of the irb doing anyhting?
18 Jul 2012, 05:30 am
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: I read that mate and was about to link it – most accurate article ever published in an NZ publication.
18 Jul 2012, 06:36 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-63: Mark Reason is indeed a Pom who for some unknown reason recently migrated to the place he hates as much as his “stepfather” Stephen Jones.
18 Jul 2012, 07:04 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-76:
Gidday Slarti, just got back from dropping the Mrs at the airport, shes on her way over to you guys, Sydney, left me with the bills while she spends up large.
Anyways, there was a thread on here recently saying they were trialing the expansion of the duties of TMOs, so they will have more input into how the ref makes decisions.Doubt if this will help things in fact I an against some blind bat sitting in the stands telling the ref whats going on and slowing the game up,can see a nightmare occurring with the communication difficulties.
The two man ref thing is the best way, you’ve seen the NRL, whilst not perfect it may alleviate some of the problems and we can blame two refs instead of having the one lame scape goat.
18 Jul 2012, 07:16 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-79:
Was going to say I will say hi when I see her but I am in Brisbane…
Yeah, the trial I think is about expanding his duties to include infield incidents in scoring a try i.e. the forward pass or knock-on etc. What I see is the TMO pointing out glaring mistakes when they occur or even helping the ref by telling him to watch the #7 blocking at every scrum for instance. There should be limits though and it should not slow down the game if done correctly. It is a tough one but something needs to be done because this year, more than ever, the impact of refs were way to much over the whole season.
18 Jul 2012, 07:29 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-80:
Oh I was thinking the TMO was going to be in the refs ear throughout the match, still do not want anymore interference from TMOs.So you want the TMO to look specifically for Richie…hehe…..Yes this year has been a horrendous for botched calls….The only way I can see forward is to whack some more money into the development of young referrees and the lot we have now given the pension.
18 Jul 2012, 07:39 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-81:
Nope, just in scoring tries and the movement leading up to it. Also think they will only be able to rule on specific things rather than a blank sheet.
You know they have been ‘trialing’ two refs in Stellenbosch for ages now and the only feedback I ever got on that was how good it is. Old farts not interested though.
PS The #7 was just an example…
18 Jul 2012, 07:50 am
The bulls will struggle with their powder puff pack…yes I said it….they have a powder puff pack…..a light five…….with Spies being the fairy captain of the softies…..
18 Jul 2012, 07:51 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-82:
I would go with the two referee scenario, more eyes (on the field) makes less work, but as you say the old farts are conservative. This two ref trial in Stellenbosch sounds interesting, would like to hear more feedback on that.
When I look back when I played it took a brave man to try and kill the ball, so theres a thought, players policing themselves…..not going to happen…damn…
18 Jul 2012, 08:01 am
The advantage for the Bulls is that nobody is giving them the slightest of chances to beat the Saders. They have nothing to loose and everything to gain. After loosing so many senior players and management staff the men in blue should have been in the bottom half of the log, but yet, there they are. Stand proud and do use proud manne!! Win or loose, Bulle forever! Good luck Sharks, do SA proud!
18 Jul 2012, 08:06 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-84:
I am sure if you do a search you will find lots of information on it, been going for years. It is done in the “Koshuis Liga” at the university…that is ‘hostel league’ for lack of a better word.
Eish yes, you do it once and remember it for a long time before you did it again!
@Beast(Beast)-85:
Told RP that this morning and she said they WILL be ready to take on anyhting the Bulls throw at them…
@Hoops(Hoops)-83: Careful! You don’t want to be the one being klapped by a pink-wearing fairy! Arrogance have been the downfall of many a team, just ask the Stormers – “All talk but no trophies, for longer than a decade”. Hang on to that Vodacom Cup boys, it may be the last for a while!
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-81: When one takes a peek around the world of rugby union, and focuses on the continual abuse referees suffer (some deserved, some undeserved) – who the hell would want the job in the 1st place?
I must be honest, being a professional ref must be right up there on the world’s dirtiest job list (just above being Hondo’s housekeeper and just below HG’s psychologist).
This year in SA, at schoolboy level, we have had refs punched, headbutted and abused by kids, parents and coaches. I’m not sure how any young ref survives this, never mind moving up to the next level.
Without refs we are fecked, and while I whinge about them along with the rest of the world, I wonder if I would prepared to do the job. The IRB need to start taking a serious look at refereeing, and it’s future.
18 Jul 2012, 08:20 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-88:
Tell you what, I was once pulled in to ref a game of u/8′s and the 30 minutes was enough to put me off for life. Nothing like getting lip from a 7 year old because you called a forward pass…
Having said that, these days they get paid plenty and for that should do a better job.
18 Jul 2012, 08:22 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-88:
Yeah your right Pedigree, there are people out there who volunteer their time in a thankless role, have to say I am not putting the boot into those good people.
One of my friends reffed a schoolboy game a few years ago and some idiot ran onto the field and tried to take him out, it was all on with spectators from both sides joining in, was reported in the papers as being a race war.
The professional refs on the other hand are measured differently to the amateurs (the good guys) so therefore they are paid to take the stick. If they do a good job, they live another day, sad but true.
18 Jul 2012, 08:26 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-89: Yes, they are professional, but they are still human – and some of them are very weak humans.
Is it their fault that they are selected to the elite panel? Or should we be pointing the finger at those who control the appointments and the further development of refs. That is why I say, The IRB as protectors of the game, need to harden up and start giving the refereeing facet of the game the same attention that they give to other facets, like for example: selling media rights
18 Jul 2012, 08:29 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-90: Agree. As I said to Slarti above, the professionals live and die by other standards, but it is not their job to set these standards.
The IRB as custodians need to start upping THEIR game, when it comes to their elite refs, and the futures of such refs. The buck stops with them IMHO, not with the ref himself. (SANZAR, SARU, THE NZRFU etc also need to do their bit…)
18 Jul 2012, 08:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-92:
Right on, so we back to the lame *** administrators doing nothing to fix a massive problem. Agree 100% with that but instead of doing something they withdraw deeper into their little holes and self assessment and just pop out once in a while with ‘stats’ telling us everything is on the up and up…
18 Jul 2012, 08:37 am
@57 Analyst: Wow, what an article. Sounds like that Kiwi is a Saffa
18 Jul 2012, 08:43 am
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: It is called professionalism – if you cant take the heat …..
And by the way the Bulls have had their fair share of dubious calls against the Saders so it is not unique
18 Jul 2012, 08:48 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-93: It’s always the same when organisations aren’t held accountable.
The IRB answers to itself and it’s media masters. Ditto for SANZAR and the unions it represents. Now if the average fan on the street could purchase a few shares in above mentioned organisations……
The bottom line is, refereeing is a mess at all levels, and their seems to be zero desire to change this – because as long as we keep watching and Murdoch keeps paying – who cares.
All they have to do, is set the refs up to succeed more (by giving them the tools they need to do the job: hell, they can even appoint a specialised scrum ref who trots onto the field only when scrums are called for, and then trots off again etc etc etc. May be far fetched, but there are ways of ensuring that refs succeed more than they fail)
AND on the flip-side they need to set the feckers up so that when they fail – they KNOW they have failed.
18 Jul 2012, 08:48 am
@Papoose(papaown)-94: Some of the comments below were rather refreshing
18 Jul 2012, 08:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-96:
Yip and in not doing anything tangible we have a situation where some calls this year were so far off the charts that you sit there and wonder how much money is changing hands! I regularly have to remind myself that they are just pi** poor and not cheating and still nothing is being done.
18 Jul 2012, 09:07 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-98: I have been certain at times that money, women or ladyboys have changed hands.
Then as you correctly said, you realise they are just kak and ill equipped to do their jobs. (When there is no fear of being fired, fined or disciplined I guess anyone would become lazy and lose interest in delivering solid performances)
Thing is, with so few elite refs, they kind of hold all the cards as well. It’s not as though there are 50 brilliant and tested international standard refs waiting in the wings to make the step up: so the lazy and incompetent ones get to stick around.
IRB (and SANZAR where it concerns us) are the guilty ********, the buck genuinely stops with them.
18 Jul 2012, 09:15 am
At the end of the day we will play our normal game and win by 20 … these accusations of cheating are excuses , it seems to be small man mentality to be critical of champions
18 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
Agree whole heartedly with Pedigree and Slarti’s comments. Good work, would give you a smiley face if I had one.