Christchurch crunch like Test

Bulls head coach Frans Ludeke says the play-off against the Crusaders will be characterised by Test-like qualities.

The Bulls enter their fourth play-off in seven years (previously straight into the semi-final phase), but their last in Christchurch in 2006 ended in a comprehensive 35-15 defeat. In fact the Bulls have never won an away play-off in the history of Super Rugby, underlining how difficult their task will be on Saturday.

Furthermore, the Crusaders will field a close-to full strength side, with only Kieran Read unavailable for selection. The Bulls, however, are laden with Springboks, albeit that they cannot match their hosts for Test experience. And Ludeke says the defining qualities of the match will be just like an international.

‘It will mimic a Test match in every way, with the basic keys to success being managing the pressure exerted on you and exerting enough of your own to create regular scoring opportunities,’ Ludeke told keo.co.za. ‘Ill-discipline and goal kickers could decide the outcome, and there are two of the best goal kickers in the game on show [Morné Steyn and Dan Carter].

‘In matches like these a single lapse in concentration can be the difference between winning and losing. We’ve had soft moments this season and we have to ensure that that doesn’t happen against a team like the Crusaders or you’ll find yourself chasing the game. It’s hard to recover from positions like that against teams of that calibre.’

Ludeke says he will focus heavily on the mental conditioning given their limited preparation time. The Bulls departed for New Zealand on Monday evening and will have just one full session (on Thursday) before the match.

‘There really isn’t much technical and tactical coaching you can do in this time frame,’ he said. ‘The guys are very familiar with the structures so it’s about going over that again but also making small adjustments for the Crusaders. They have a way of playing that’s been in place for some time now – they kick into space and are very direct – a lot like us in a way. But in recent weeks we’ve seen that their method of exiting their 22m has changed slightly. They usually kick, but they’ve run a lot. Those are the small details we’ve been looking at.

‘But overall it is about ensuring the players respond well when the heat is on. We have players who know the pressures of play-off rugby (nine of the players expected to be named in the match 22 played in their 39-24 semi-final demolition of the Crusaders in 2010). Those guys must come to the fore and show their experience. We’ve had the benefit of players like Victor Matfield and Fourie du Preez and Bakkies Botha in the past. You can’t make up for their losses in one season. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a high expectation of the senior players that are here. There’s enough experience in this side and that must show in the way we go about our business.’

The Saders haven’t beaten the Bulls in a play-off in three attempts (2007, 2009, 2010) but all of those defeats were in South Africa and against Bulls teams with some of the world’s best players at their disposal. Asked whether their recent success against the Saders had eroded the aura around them, Ludeke said: ‘No, but you can’t completely disregard the fact that some of our players have experience in beating very strong Crusaders teams recently.

‘But this is their back yard. There’s no question we are the underdogs. We have a process that we’re focused on and hopefully that leads to the end goal we hope for, which is, of course, a win.’

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

101 Comments

• 51.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Bjorn Basson will enter into the Bulls folklore by the this Saturday afternoon. There is something not quiet right with the Crusaders, I see Bulls taking this one, using every ounce of energy they have, leaving nothing in the tank for the battle in Cape Town,the Sharks won’t put up a fight, they needed a ref to take the wind out the Cheetah sails.

• 52.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-51:

Naah, the Crusaders will man up when it counts

We’ve tried this before remember, we’ve played away semi’s in Nz and Aus with a much better team in 2005 and 2006 and lost both

We only started winning once we secured home semi’s and finals

• 53.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

It will be interesting to see if the Crusaders cheat their way to the Finals

Will it be a biased ref or TMO decision?

Or will they adjust the stadium lights to make it virtually impossible for the visitors to see the ball?

• 54.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-53:

They won’t need to, our weak front row would make it easy to for the Crusaders to dominate the set pieces and Kaptein Spiere dissapears as both player and as captain in tight games

• 55.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

The Bulls should play a 5/2 bench. That just might help.

• 56.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@dWeePer(dWeePer)-55:

We need two new props, not youngsters, guys old enough and able to SCRUM

We should buy the prop from the Lions who pushed Kruger’s head up his own a-ss

• 57.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

How is this from the Kiwis. WOW:

Serial cheats Crusaders prosper from conning refs …. read more at below link.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/opinion/7296554/Serial-cheats-Crusaders-prosper-by-conning-refs?fb_ref=s%3DshowShareBarUI%3Ap%3Dfacebook-like&fb_source=home_multiline

• 58.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57:

It happens with the All Blacks as well.

No wonder it is an all SAFFA Ref affair this weekend…..

• 59.RDOT: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: thanx for the articel Analyst…damn interesting…

• 60.RDOT: Reply to this comment

articel-article

• 61.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57:

Sean Fitzpatrick shouldn’t critize, he was one of the first captains that tried to talk refs into seeing it his way

• 62.RefuGSpot: Reply to this comment

I don’t see the Bulls coming close. Carter, Mccaw, Dagg and Ellis are the top players in the world in their positions.

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: isn’t mark reason the pom who penned an equally inflammatory article about the all blacks during the world cup?

gallileo will love this… :D

• 64.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@RefuGSpot(garth)-62:
    The first three, yes, Ellis on the other hand isn’t even the best half in Nz, ranked around fourth or thereabouts.Bulls have a chance, need to cut out the silly mistakes, make their tackles and don’t let Crusaders dictate the play..

• 65.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-64:

Naah, they’re going to give us a hiding

• 66.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-65:
    Your a realist, Victoria, I’m more of a two bob each way kinda guy or in this case $3.00 to the Crusaders and a lazy $1 on the Bulls.

• 67.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-66:

This is still a fairly new Bulls side, they haven’t won anything yet, no semi or final experience and they’re playing away from home

I saw the first semi against the Crusaders at Loftus in 2007, the team had won three Currie Cups, and played and lost I might add 2 Super 12 semis, it had players like Victor, Bakkies, Habana and Fdp , home ground advantage and the best coach they’ve ever had Heyneke

It was a tough game, tougher than many tests I’ve seen, so tough in fact that the Crusaders said the Bulls was the tougest team they’ve played against and sent Heyneke a signed jersey

The 2012 team is not even close to that side, they haven’t got a hope in hell

• 68.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-67:
    The Bulls2012 are an inferior outfit to those Champion Bulls sides of the past and only time may see if they can scale the heights of their predecessors, you should know what chance the Bulls are this weekend and if you say they are no chance, well I will have to believe it.

• 69.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-67:
    Glaring weaknesses at 2, 8, 10 11, 14 &15
    Peiper will land a hand but don’t expect too much, Carter will milk the Bulls’ back three as if there is no tomorrow ;)
    All variables considered -jet-lag, tiredness, incoherent coaching staff – the Bulls realistically can expect a 12 to 15 defeat margins, result this time however is less predictable than say the Bulls playing the Lions at Loftus under Jonker or Craig Joubert :D

• 70.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-68:
    Yep, although the local refereeing did a lot to mask the Bulls’ mini implosion.
    The Bulls forwards missing Bakkie, Rossouw, Gary Botha and Stegman from the 2010 winning team, Matfield too.

• 71.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-68:

The coach sucks, our props are the opposition`s best “bench” as they’re a guaranteed 9 points in penalties, our no 8 still has to walk past a mirror without stopping to look at himself, our flyhalf has baby blues and our most capped centre hasn’t passed a ball in ten years

• 72.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-70:

Good luck, but we could have won three more games in Morne`s kicking was up to his usual standard, unfortunately he changes shoes more frequently that Lady Gaga at a concert, so his kicking is ****

• 73.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-70:
    I like you am over these punkass referees, this Peyper guy is another heading in the direction of Brycie and others….crooked prickks

• 74.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-3:

Well Christchurch snap crackle and pop just don’t have the same ring to it…

• 75.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-6:

They lost in the final last year.

• 76.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-73:

How do we fix the mess? I think the game is to fast for refs these days and they just can’t keep up any more. This of course does not explain the poor TMO decisions we have seen of late but that is another matter…

I suggest expanding the TMO reach to cover the whole field and theright to intervere for any blatant mistakes by the ref. Second, need an extra set of eyes on the field, second ref responsible for things like offside, obstruction, late tackles etc.

What change do we have of the irb doing anyhting?

• 77.jeest: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: I read that mate and was about to link it – most accurate article ever published in an NZ publication.

• 78.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-63: Mark Reason is indeed a Pom who for some unknown reason recently migrated to the place he hates as much as his “stepfather” Stephen Jones. :)

• 79.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-76:
    Gidday Slarti, just got back from dropping the Mrs at the airport, shes on her way over to you guys, Sydney, left me with the bills while she spends up large.
    Anyways, there was a thread on here recently saying they were trialing the expansion of the duties of TMOs, so they will have more input into how the ref makes decisions.Doubt if this will help things in fact I an against some blind bat sitting in the stands telling the ref whats going on and slowing the game up,can see a nightmare occurring with the communication difficulties.
    The two man ref thing is the best way, you’ve seen the NRL, whilst not perfect it may alleviate some of the problems and we can blame two refs instead of having the one lame scape goat.

• 80.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-79:

Was going to say I will say hi when I see her but I am in Brisbane…

Yeah, the trial I think is about expanding his duties to include infield incidents in scoring a try i.e. the forward pass or knock-on etc. What I see is the TMO pointing out glaring mistakes when they occur or even helping the ref by telling him to watch the #7 blocking at every scrum for instance. There should be limits though and it should not slow down the game if done correctly. It is a tough one but something needs to be done because this year, more than ever, the impact of refs were way to much over the whole season.

• 81.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-80:
    Oh I was thinking the TMO was going to be in the refs ear throughout the match, still do not want anymore interference from TMOs.So you want the TMO to look specifically for Richie…hehe…..Yes this year has been a horrendous for botched calls….The only way I can see forward is to whack some more money into the development of young referrees and the lot we have now given the pension.

• 82.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-81:

Nope, just in scoring tries and the movement leading up to it. Also think they will only be able to rule on specific things rather than a blank sheet.

You know they have been ‘trialing’ two refs in Stellenbosch for ages now and the only feedback I ever got on that was how good it is. Old farts not interested though.

PS The #7 was just an example… ;-)

• 83.Hoops: Reply to this comment

The bulls will struggle with their powder puff pack…yes I said it….they have a powder puff pack…..a light five…….with Spies being the fairy captain of the softies…..

• 84.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-82:
    I would go with the two referee scenario, more eyes (on the field) makes less work, but as you say the old farts are conservative. This two ref trial in Stellenbosch sounds interesting, would like to hear more feedback on that.
    When I look back when I played it took a brave man to try and kill the ball, so theres a thought, players policing themselves…..not going to happen…damn…

• 85.Beast: Reply to this comment

The advantage for the Bulls is that nobody is giving them the slightest of chances to beat the Saders. They have nothing to loose and everything to gain. After loosing so many senior players and management staff the men in blue should have been in the bottom half of the log, but yet, there they are. Stand proud and do use proud manne!! Win or loose, Bulle forever! Good luck Sharks, do SA proud!

• 86.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-84:

I am sure if you do a search you will find lots of information on it, been going for years. It is done in the “Koshuis Liga” at the university…that is ‘hostel league’ for lack of a better word.

Eish yes, you do it once and remember it for a long time before you did it again!

@Beast(Beast)-85:

Told RP that this morning and she said they WILL be ready to take on anyhting the Bulls throw at them…

• 87.Beast: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-83: Careful! You don’t want to be the one being klapped by a pink-wearing fairy! Arrogance have been the downfall of many a team, just ask the Stormers – “All talk but no trophies, for longer than a decade”. Hang on to that Vodacom Cup boys, it may be the last for a while!

• 88.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-81: When one takes a peek around the world of rugby union, and focuses on the continual abuse referees suffer (some deserved, some undeserved) – who the hell would want the job in the 1st place?
    I must be honest, being a professional ref must be right up there on the world’s dirtiest job list (just above being Hondo’s housekeeper and just below HG’s psychologist).

This year in SA, at schoolboy level, we have had refs punched, headbutted and abused by kids, parents and coaches. I’m not sure how any young ref survives this, never mind moving up to the next level.

Without refs we are fecked, and while I whinge about them along with the rest of the world, I wonder if I would prepared to do the job. The IRB need to start taking a serious look at refereeing, and it’s future.

• 89.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-88:

Tell you what, I was once pulled in to ref a game of u/8′s and the 30 minutes was enough to put me off for life. Nothing like getting lip from a 7 year old because you called a forward pass…

Having said that, these days they get paid plenty and for that should do a better job.

• 90.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-88:
    Yeah your right Pedigree, there are people out there who volunteer their time in a thankless role, have to say I am not putting the boot into those good people.
    One of my friends reffed a schoolboy game a few years ago and some idiot ran onto the field and tried to take him out, it was all on with spectators from both sides joining in, was reported in the papers as being a race war.
    The professional refs on the other hand are measured differently to the amateurs (the good guys) so therefore they are paid to take the stick. If they do a good job, they live another day, sad but true.

• 91.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-89: Yes, they are professional, but they are still human – and some of them are very weak humans.
    Is it their fault that they are selected to the elite panel? Or should we be pointing the finger at those who control the appointments and the further development of refs. That is why I say, The IRB as protectors of the game, need to harden up and start giving the refereeing facet of the game the same attention that they give to other facets, like for example: selling media rights :)

• 92.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-90: Agree. As I said to Slarti above, the professionals live and die by other standards, but it is not their job to set these standards.
    The IRB as custodians need to start upping THEIR game, when it comes to their elite refs, and the futures of such refs. The buck stops with them IMHO, not with the ref himself. (SANZAR, SARU, THE NZRFU etc also need to do their bit…)

• 93.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-92:

Right on, so we back to the lame *** administrators doing nothing to fix a massive problem. Agree 100% with that but instead of doing something they withdraw deeper into their little holes and self assessment and just pop out once in a while with ‘stats’ telling us everything is on the up and up…

• 94.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@57 Analyst: Wow, what an article. Sounds like that Kiwi is a Saffa :-D

• 95.stew: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-57: It is called professionalism – if you cant take the heat …..

And by the way the Bulls have had their fair share of dubious calls against the Saders so it is not unique

• 96.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-93: It’s always the same when organisations aren’t held accountable.
    The IRB answers to itself and it’s media masters. Ditto for SANZAR and the unions it represents. Now if the average fan on the street could purchase a few shares in above mentioned organisations……

The bottom line is, refereeing is a mess at all levels, and their seems to be zero desire to change this – because as long as we keep watching and Murdoch keeps paying – who cares.

All they have to do, is set the refs up to succeed more (by giving them the tools they need to do the job: hell, they can even appoint a specialised scrum ref who trots onto the field only when scrums are called for, and then trots off again etc etc etc. May be far fetched, but there are ways of ensuring that refs succeed more than they fail)

AND on the flip-side they need to set the feckers up so that when they fail – they KNOW they have failed.

• 97.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-94: Some of the comments below were rather refreshing :)

• 98.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-96:

Yip and in not doing anything tangible we have a situation where some calls this year were so far off the charts that you sit there and wonder how much money is changing hands! I regularly have to remind myself that they are just pi** poor and not cheating and still nothing is being done.

• 99.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-98: I have been certain at times that money, women or ladyboys have changed hands.
    Then as you correctly said, you realise they are just kak and ill equipped to do their jobs. (When there is no fear of being fired, fined or disciplined I guess anyone would become lazy and lose interest in delivering solid performances)

Thing is, with so few elite refs, they kind of hold all the cards as well. It’s not as though there are 50 brilliant and tested international standard refs waiting in the wings to make the step up: so the lazy and incompetent ones get to stick around.
    IRB (and SANZAR where it concerns us) are the guilty ********, the buck genuinely stops with them.

• 100.stew: Reply to this comment

At the end of the day we will play our normal game and win by 20 … these accusations of cheating are excuses , it seems to be small man mentality to be critical of champions

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.