Alberts at lock for Sharks

Willem Alberts has been included in the Sharks’ starting line-up at No 4 instead of in the back row.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has decided that there is no room in the back row for the Springbok blindside. The combination of Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Ryan Kankowski is retained, and Alberts is selected at lock.

Bismarck du Plessis makes his return to the starting team after playing from the bench in the Sharks’ final league game. Other changes see Louis Ludik starting at fullback in place of the injured Pat Lambie, and Paul Jordaan partnering Tim Whitehead in midfield.

Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Cobus Reinhach, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Odwa Ndungane