Flip back to face Saders

Flip van der Merwe has recovered from injury and is the only change to the Bulls’ side to play the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.

The second rower replaces Wilhelm Steenkamp, who in turn bumps CJ Stander off the bench. The Bulls will benefit from consistency in selection, with their run-on side rarely changing at its core.

They also boast numerous Springboks, and 11 of the match 22 have won the Super Rugby title previously. However, they enter the play-off match as heavy underdogs, with the Saders to benefit from home advantage (the Bulls have never won in Christchurch) and extensive experience, including a string of World Cup winners.

Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 12 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Deon Stegmann, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Francois Venter.