Flip back to face Saders

Flip van der Merwe has recovered from injury and is the only change to the Bulls’ side to play the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.

The second rower replaces Wilhelm Steenkamp, who in turn bumps CJ Stander off the bench. The Bulls will benefit from consistency in selection, with their run-on side rarely changing at its core.

They also boast numerous Springboks, and 11 of the match 22 have won the Super Rugby title previously. However, they enter the play-off match as heavy underdogs, with the Saders to benefit from home advantage (the Bulls have never won in Christchurch) and extensive experience, including a string of World Cup winners.

Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 12 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Deon Stegmann, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Francois Venter.

50 Comments

• 1.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

look, on paper it’s a bloody decent side….they need to turn on their best form though.

For me, this weekend is all about 1-5 for the bulls.

they need to remember that for 40 minutes at loftus the crusaders got so beaten up that they couldn’t find the bulls half let alone the bulls try line.

• 2.HHS: Reply to this comment

That front row buckled against a 2nd string Lions front row…… just saying.

• 3.stew: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-1: yes in the second forty we put on 30 points ….. Secret tip if you want to beat the Saders you have to be at least 20 points ahead at the turn

• 4.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Its difficult to call a Bulls win… But anything is possible… So lets hope they pull it off…

• 5.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Get in there son!

• 6.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-3:
    nah, crusaders have been flat this season. also, without dirty read there they go down another notch. i do hope but dont think the bulls will win but i dont think the crusaders will run away with it either.
    they’ll probably look to pace themselves for a semi and final, if they get that far.

that said,

GO BULLLLLSSSS!!!!!!!

• 7.Airwell: Reply to this comment

More in hope than conviction
    GO BUUULLLSSS

• 8.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-6:

Remind us all again why Read is dirty?

• 9.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

Good news for the Bulls that Read is not playing but never good news if a player is injured.

Hope the Bulls win but good luck to the Saders and their supporters. May the best team win.

• 10.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-6:

Who can forget Read conducting the Christchurch Band when Grant was lining up his kick?

Tosser.

• 11.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-10:
    yep, thats really dirty play that. I mean you have eye gouging, head butts, biting but
    this revving up the crowd needs to stop.

• 12.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-8:
    lol, he will pull out all the cheating that he does but forgets that the Bulls
    also do the same things. Like he said Bakkies is a fair player. And no Boks have been in trouble for over 10 years now…………..lol

• 13.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-8:
    really? his body of work speaks for itself and yet YOU need reminding…tut tut tut…

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-10:
    total doos

• 14.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-11:

did I say it was dirty?

wake up man.

but you do have gougers in your team.

at least two of ‘em.

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

[edit] Racial criticism of Pat Lam and the BluesIn 2012 the Auckland Blues manager Pat Lam was racially abused via social media by fans that were unsatisfied with his teams performance.[28] There was also criticism leveled at the team itself, mainly suggestions that the Pacific Island and Maori players were to blame.[29] The head of New Zealand Rugby, Steve Tew, has said the taunts aimed at Pat Lam are appalling, and has stated that it highlights the fact that racism is still existent in New Zealand Society.[30] The interesting part of this incident was that it was done via social media meaning that those making the taunts were not ascertainable.

AND

Crusaders Racial Selection PolicyIn 2010 it was suggested that the Crusaders rugby team selection policy was racist.[23] The allegation that was made was that the Crusaders selection policy was to only include three non-European players.[24] Andy Haden made the accusation that the Crusaders racially discriminate because they select different races on the basis that they are suited to different positions.[25] The club adamantly denied the allegation with many players coming out saying that the claims have no basis.[26] Prime Minister John Key has said that the claims made by Haden were offensive and incorrect.[27] Whether or not this claim was true is still debated, but it did manage to highlight the fact that many people still believe that not all players are equal in skill on the field and that racism could still be present at the top club level.

VERY SAD that the Bulls must play the racists from Christchurch a few days after Madinba’s Birthday! i say they should be kicked out of Super Rugby – throw flour bombs on McCaws head!!!

• 16.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-8:
    conveniently enough, this popped up on the other thread, enjoy:

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/opinion/7296554/Serial-cheats-Crusaders-prosper-by-conning-refs

• 17.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-13:

who?

our china or Read?

• 18.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

you’ll be exiting the comp in a few days and then you’ll have to change your Ritchie Crusaders voodoo doll over to your Ritchie AB voodoo doll, make sure you stock up on pins and valium before the weekend

• 19.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

your team has already exited the comp buddy.

• 20.lukenz82: Reply to this comment

Am looking forward to reading the Bull supporters excuses when the Crusaders go threw. They cheated here, the ref should of done this………..

• 21.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@lukenz82(lukenz82)-20:

They have a pre- written template, they just change the date/ref etc

• 22.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@lukenz82(lukenz82)-20:

I’m looking forward to reading your school report at the end of term.

Especially the English part.

I’m expecting big things from you Luke in New Zealand.

• 23.galileo, roundness, union, coach...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-17:

@lukenz82(lukenz82)-20:
    oh luke…. i am not your father…

• 24.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Oh Luke we do not expect to win btw. History is against us but we expect the Saders to cheat so does every team that plays them
    Oh I forgot it is not cheating but professionalism

• 25.lukenz82: Reply to this comment

Win is a win!! We no SA is not to use to it!!

• 26.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-14:
    Or do the Bulls have two players that are corrupt?

@lukenz82(lukenz82)-20:
    You do not have to wait. The ref cheating etc and blaming is already in process.

@Airwell(Airwell)-24:
    “History is against us but we expect the Saders to cheat so does every team that plays them”
    Good that you have stated that every team thats plays against the Saders cheat also. :-)

• 27.ufo: Reply to this comment

one of your cleverer headers ryan…

• 28.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Dis n goeie span daai! Julle kan dit doen Bulle. Dan kom speel die Stormers so ons kan julle n pak gee :-)

• 29.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@lukenz82(lukenz82)-25: Sheesh! Is that the standard of education in NZ?

• 30.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@galileo, roundness, union, coach…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16: That is a very good article, although a bit harsh.

But I will agree that it has become a cultural thing in NZ rugby, and does set a terrible example to young players. Some NZ players’ attitudes seem to be “the rules are minor inconveniences and are there for me to bend, break and disregard as I see fit”

• 31.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1(bokfan1)-30:
    its all about ‘winning’

• 32.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#24 Airwell Ihave posted this before John Connelly when he was the coach of queensland and that was a few years ago was quoted saying that NO SA super rugby team will ever win a semi or final away from SA because of the travelling involved,and what he said has been proved right,so that about sums up the bulls chances v the crusaders,but i hope the bulls prove him wrong along with the sharks.

• 33.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-32: Remember HM also thought that no SA team would win the Super 14 and we did it 3 times and the Stormers should do it this year.

• 34.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-32:
    consider how flat the crusaders were last year after traveling back to australasia from the newlands semi.
    you could definetely see they were jetlagged.

• 35.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#33 Airwell i am just as big bulls fan as you are and i hope for both our sakes and for all the rest of the bulls fans the bulls klap them,all i am saying is Connelly has not been proved wrong yet but there is a first time for everything.

• 36.viewer: Reply to this comment

Typo. It’s CJ O’Stander

• 37.shooter: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-35: Sharks probably going to win.
    which will then mean – Connely wrong
    and
    @bokfan1(bokfan1)-28: Bulls probably going to win
    which will mean 3 SA teams in Semi’s :D
    and Stormers playing the Sharks….
    nice one brother.

BTW: all the Kiwis on here. take a step back. look at what **** you are writing. you’re thinking perhaps you’re winding people up, bantering or whatever. but even that has to be at some level of intelligence.
    Sure, some local bloggers here are worthless. but ratio per blogger representing – you are letting yourselves down to put it mildly. Go on. go on on on….. read your own and your countrymen’s nonsensical immature rubbish.
    have fun. ho-ho-ho not. try harder beasties.

your blogging

• 38.William Webb Ellis is now at home: Reply to this comment

what a joke you dutch meathead neanderthals are..

already crying foul and complaining of cheating..

like Jonkers no knock on which was the difference between the Bulls and Brumbies this year?

Like Peypers blatant no knock on that allowed the Shorks to get the go ahead points versus the Cheetahs?

oh yes, now we have two incompetent SA refs controlling the finals, yet if the opposition win it will still be because of the refs allowing the teams to cheat?

bwahahahahahaha

• 39.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Charming pops…but then again it is becoming par for the course for you!

Maybe time you take a break again before we permanently turn you into someone you are not.

• 40.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Poops when you go off your rocker and post crime stats,if your mum could read it would she be proud?
    You have really become a nasty bitter piece of work,I feel sorry for your family.

• 41.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-39: doubt you could turn him into something decent….al dra ‘n aap ‘n goue ring…

• 42.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

This site adds nothing positive to poopers life.
    He should rather buy a ouija board and spend his time communicating with his mom methinks.

• 43.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-41:

Hehehe hy sal nie ‘n ring oor daai hairy knuckles van hom kan kry nie!

• 44.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-42:

that is really low of you…

but not surprising…

leave people’s families out of the fray man… especially recently lost loved ones…

you really are a dirtbag

• 45.whatever: Reply to this comment

Poppadoos you are a sick keewee f uk!

• 46.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@ufo
    He posts SA’s murder stats knowing full well Puma’s brother was a victim.
    Jokes about HIV and Sharkgirl left the site for a while because she lost a loved one to the disease.
    Gloves are off with this dhoos.

• 47.whatever: Reply to this comment

Poppadoos I suppose you agreed with the cheating saders Tmo in their last game? Stupid faaaking idiot, you really need to pssss off for good!

• 48.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-46:

as bad as his generalizations about south africa are… and as sympathic as i am for the tragic losses they suffered, i feel sure that neither puma nor sharksgirl would stoop to joking about poppa’s mum…

is it so hard to leave such personal pain out of the titfortat equation…?

• 49.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@ufo
    Maybe I must tell him the story of my mate of 25years who was murdered a week before the birth of his daugther?
    Or the story of a mate who was murdered and dumped in Dbn harbour,he was found a week later,the crabs had eaten his face off but his wife still had to go and identify him.
    Or maybe the story of a 22 year old clubruby mate that was gunned down in cold blood…
    If he stops,I will stop and I am sure the rest too.

• 50.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-48: @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-49: I’m with Fern, he’s the biggest scumbag piece of cr*p i’ve encountered online or off.

If stooping that low makes him disappear back down his slimy hole and off this website for ever, i’m all for it.

I’ve tried to reasonably explain to the kuntface that many people here have had bad experiences or lost friends or loved ones (I have) but he fukking carries on so *** him and his! And then s hits his g-string when someone has a crack at his losses. I hope he has yet another breakdown and never comes back.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.