Reds still considering Cooper appeal
19 Jul 2012
The Reds may yet fight for the overturning of star playmaker Quade Cooper’s suspension for Saturday’s play-off against the Sharks.
Cooper will watch from the stands after what was deemed to be a dangerous high tackle on Berrick Barnes earned him a one-game ban. However, Queensland Rugby (QRU) said it is ‘seriously considering’ lodging an appeal.
QRU Chairman Rod McCall, CEO Jim Carmichael and their legal representatives are handling the matter, with the team and coaching staff instructed to focus on preparations.
McCall and Carmichael believe QRU presented a strong case the tackle did not warrant a suspension. ‘We are obviously particularly sensitive to not disrupting the Reds team dynamics and preparation in launching an appeal at this late stage, however by not receiving the formal judgement until 8pm Tuesday after the decision was handed down on Monday evening, time is getting away from us in what was already a short preparation,’ McCall said.
‘Under the current Sanzar protocols, if we were to launch an appeal we would lose at least a further day of preparation with Ewen [McKenzie] and Quade who would both be required to fly to Sydney for another hearing. However, we are cognisant of the need to support our player if we feel he has been treated harshly and in our opinion we still strongly believe the tackle did not warrant suspension.
‘After taking the advice of legal representatives, the QRU first intends to discuss the matter further with Sanzar before making a decision whether to launch an appeal within the allowed 48-hour period.’

146 Comments
19 Jul 2012, 09:25 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-38: “Australia originally wanted a conference system adopted in the expanded Super 14 but South Africa felt that now was as good a time as any to start using the geographical conference system.”
am i getting this correct, the geographical conference system was ORIGINALLY the aussie’s idea, us as saffas jumped on your band wagon?
19 Jul 2012, 09:26 am
when greg peters was in south africa a few months ago he said on Boots and All for all to see and hear…
that the guaranteed play-off for each country was at the insistence of NewsCorp who wanted to ensure continued viewership in each territory beyond the regular season which otherwise not be assured if one country got blasted and had no teams in the play-offs.
question…?
is greg a liar…?
misinformed…?
a fool…?
all of the above…?
@>^..^< katman(katman)-48:
Exactly.
And call the domestic qualifier the Currie Cup.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-44:
14 is also the atomic number of silicon, which, as we all know, is about as fakefck as you can get.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-44: including grandkids?
Wasn’t Skop a grandpa at the age of 30?
19 Jul 2012, 09:27 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-41: Major differences:
* many South Africans don’t give a rats arshlock about soccer
* South African soccer is dreadful
* South African soccer is mired in the corruption mud
* South African rugby, on the other hand, is healthy and amongst the very best in the world
Therefore, there is no viable need to look beyond our own borders for another rugby team to support.
We all KNOW the outdated reasons
why certain Stormersaders (who still live in the past) support NZ rugby teams. The reasons in soccer have nothing to do with race or the past.
Your attempt to suggest a similarity is therefore incorrect and superficial.
19 Jul 2012, 09:27 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-53: Only problem with this model is that it doesn’t guarantee the Eastern Cape a spot in the actual competition. And that’s not compatible with They Must Have It.
19 Jul 2012, 09:28 am
absolutely…
that is the only rational way forward from a rugby perspective…
but greg also said sanzar’s aim in to maximize their product… so we can expect more teams in future as opposed to fewer…
@trupisero(trupisero)-55: I think that number is about to hit triple digits.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-53:
exactly
19 Jul 2012, 09:29 am
Australia wanted the conference system. SA and NZ agreed to it.
SA wanted each conference winner to be guaranteed places 1 to 3. Aus and NZ agreed with it.
It is all a bit of a joke system, really.
19 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-36: Yea that letter doing the rounds yesterday about Mandela selling out, supposedly written by a black youth, was depressing and naive in the extreme.
Paraphrased, it was basically ‘you sold out because you didn’t get us EVERYTHING for free, and now we have to think, and strategise, and work, you b astard.
Thankfully that seems to be a minority view. I truly hope it is.
19 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-43:
Another one
http://rugbyweek.com/news/article.asp?id=16433
19 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-51:
Trans
Aus liked the idea of having six qualifiers and the conference system…why that did not originally go through is because saru was demanding that south africa top two placed finishers got auto qualification…regardless where they sat in the ladder.
19 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-63:
Sory copied the wrong one by the looks of it.
19 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-62:
Combine that with Winnie Madikizela-Mandela actually speaking sense for once, saying it was “tragic” that Mandela was celebrating his birthday during a period of instability in the ANC, warning that the party was in “deep trouble” and that “we cannot pretend all is well in the ANC”.
19 Jul 2012, 09:37 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-62:
“The elevator to success is out of order. You’ll have to use the stairs… one step at a time.” — Joe Girard
19 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-56: “* many South Africans don’t give a rats arshlock about soccer” – really? i will put it you that more South Africans give a damn about soccer than those who do not.
the ones who were at the stadium in Man U colours clearly care about soccer and have made their choice as displayed in the jumpers the adorned, they didn’t choose the local durban club with 80 years of history behind it and former players like sean dundee, george dearnaley, neil tovey.
nothing superficial or incorrect about it, indifference is not reason enough to choose to support a foreign team!
19 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-66: Yea….unfortunately it’s a sad truth about human nature…once they get to the trough, they more often than not decide it’s actually quite nice thanks very much, and devil take the hindmost.
People find it very hard to identify with those who are not in the same situation as them )be it politically, socially, racially etc)…easy to identify with your comrades in the struggle when you’re all struggling together, but once you hit the big time, all the good stuff, and keeping it, and getting more of it, can very easily supercede the needs of those who haven’t made it yet
19 Jul 2012, 09:42 am
@ufo(ufo)-67: Bud the simplest and still the most concise proverb is “give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach him to fish and you feed him for life”
Although this, of course, needs to be changed to lentils or aubergines in Skop’s case….
19 Jul 2012, 09:43 am
That’s the same format as the super 10.
19 Jul 2012, 09:45 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-56:
There are many RSA’s who choose to follow NZ sides simply because in their view they play better rugby, and secondly because of all the politics in SA Rugby.
Everybody’s free to support any team or sport of their choice.
19 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68:
Let me fix wooden spoon’s sentence for him:
“* many expatriate South Africans don’t give a rats arshlock about soccer”
19 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68: you misunderstand.
Many is different to “all” or “most”.
I bet of those who follow soccer, “most” follow a local side?
SA soccer is rubbish, the pits. It could be better, but it isn’t.
Have you seen the locals in places like China, Korea, Japan, etc , and seen what they wear, when Man U visit those countries? It is not a South African issue.
But the rugby issue here is an isolated anomaly.
19 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
Don’t think it’s fair to expect people to support a team simply because they’re in the same region because historically they don’t have too much of a connection to the sport and the particular club.
19 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-7: That could happen and it would matter if they go through on Saturday. Otherwise if they don’t go through then it will affect him when he plays for the Wallabies. He very well could get more than one week which he should have in the first place.
19 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-64: the way i’m reading it is that Australia came up with the idea of geographically determined top six BUT only in 2010 when they too were going to be guaranteed a 5th franchise and THUS an equal share of the spoils meanwhile SARU and the Brumbies by the look of it wanted the geographical top 6 implemented immediately – as in 2008!
19 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-72: the “they play better rugby” is a rubbish argument and you know it. The minute the Crusaders hit a slump watch any person who tells you that jump ship like a rat.
Funny that it is the Crusaders who seem to get the support.
What about the Highlanders?
What about the Rebels? They play exciting rugby?
It may be hard to believe but did you know WP are traditionally renowned for free flowing back line play?
19 Jul 2012, 09:50 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-70:
yeah of course.. we all know it well… and it is very true…
i just like the analogy of having to do the hard work progressively over a period time…
the fishing one conjures up idyllic images of landing a fish and chucking it on the braai… not the hardest work in the world…
19 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-61: This conference system is a joke. The whole format is flawed. We stuck with it for another 3 years, then hopefully it goes back to the old format. Every team should play each other once and then have the top four fight it out. It worked well before and was daft to change it.
19 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@Puma(Puma)-76:
hey puma… howzit bud…
apologies for missing your post yesterday…
you well…? how do you see the game going this weekend..?
i reckon the vast majority of us are firmly behind your team and the bulls this weekend…
hope they make us all proud to have 3 teams in the semis…
19 Jul 2012, 09:55 am
@Puma(Puma)-80: except it will be a S16 then!
19 Jul 2012, 09:55 am
There is already a top division and basement division in Super rugby.
The sooner we move to a Top 8 and bottom 8 the better.
19 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-73:
An expatriate is a person temporarily or permanently residing in a country and culture other than that of the person’s upbringing.
This is not me.
I am South African and I am African.
19 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-74: the point is, it is about choice - whether motivated by politics, indifference or not wanting to associate with ineptitude and as wpstormerbok mentioned above – archaic style of play - those who “detest” other people’s choices need to learn & accept that!
done.
19 Jul 2012, 09:58 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-78:
That they play better rugby is of course their opinion and if you analyze Super Rugby, International Rugby and head to head SA vs NZ in Tests then I’m afraid it’ll show that statistically NZ is better than SA at the moment at all levels of the game, including administration.
19 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@ufo(ufo)-79: I like it too…especially in our modern instant-gratification society
19 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-75: “because historically they don’t have too much of a connection to the sport and the particular club.”
i’m not talking about south africans who do not have a “connection with the sport” i am talking about those who WENT to moses mabhida stadium last night wearing MAN U jerseys – if that doesn’t show a connection with the sport then i don’t know what should, because MAN U tops don’t come cheap.
they went to the stadium to watch soccer but chose to support a foreign team, is that a correct assessment?
19 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-82: hahaha. Yip it will be. Though if we don’t have to play home and away in each conference it will cut it down a wee bit. Still too long I feel.
If they do carry on with this daft format then something has to change. The winner on top of the log should be champions. Then the top six can play for a cup. Who ever are champions then the they win the right to hold the cup play offs in their country in their stadium. They have to benefit by topping the log and winning the whole thing. That way less travel for all the 6 teams playing for the cup.
19 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-88:
Sorry that was a error on my part. I meant they have no connection to the sport in their particular region, like following the local league etc.
19 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
I wish this weekend would hurry up already, the wait for these games is killing me
19 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
@ufo(ufo)-81: Howzit ufo,
Well just hoping my team can win on Saturday. Not going to be easy that is for sure. Could go either way really. Would like to see both Sharks and Bulls win. That would be awesome having 3 saffa teams in the semi finals.
19 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-88:
You logic at comparing last nights MU supporters to those CapeSaderAB supporters is so flawed it doesnt even warrant expanding on.
And we’ve been down this road before.
Plenty.
19 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@Puma(Puma)-92:
cool…
yeah, no play-off in aus on nz will ever be easy for a saffa team… but i believe the sharks are the ‘momentum’ team of the comp for the passed few weeks and if they continue as they have been doing reckon they will be playing at newlands the following weekend…
19 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
Transie, what he meant was, “many (WHITE) South Africans don’t give a rats arshlock about (LOCAL) soccer”
Don’t know why he did not just came out and say it like that. Many people, accross the colour, lines don’t give a ratsass about local soccer.
He is right about the poor quality of local club football as a reason for the lack of interest in local soccer.
19 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
Howzit Puma
Big weekend for our team,filthy cheating keewees trying to burn down Kings Park aswell
Bloody agents!
19 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
What is the story with the fire at Kings Park Stadium? Do you guys have any news?
Fire at Kings Park Stadium
19 July 2012 – 08:29
By Tamlyn Canham
Fire fighters have managed to bring a fire at the Mr Price Kings Park Stadium under control.
Emergency workers were called out to the scene just after 6.30am this morning.
The blaze’s believed to have started on one of the stands at the venue.
Metro police have closed-off Jacko Jackson Drive between the old NMR Avenue and Goble Road.
Tamara Naidoo, who was driving to work, says she noticed flames coming out of the roof.
“I was driving up the old NMR Avenue, and I looked to my left and all I could see was orange fire coming out Kings Park Stadium. I would say it was at least a metre, it looked as though the right hand side of the stadium was on fire,” she said.
It’s still unclear what caused the fire and whether anyone has been hurt.
19 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-93: “is so flawed it doesnt even warrant expanding on.” this little quip is so you and always used as a precursor to infer that you have such a lucid argument or point but you won’t put it out there as it is too fabulous.
19 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
@ufo(ufo)-94: Will be tough but if we can play like we had against the Bulls and the last 40min against the Cheetahs we could. Well if we played like we done against the Bulls we will win.
19 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-96: Howzit Fern,
Sure is a big weekend coming up. When did the kiwis try to burn down KP?