Sadie to quit Bulls?
19 Jul 2012
Johann Sadie has asked the Bulls to be released from his current contract.
According to SuperSport.com, the former Stormers centre has expressed his wish to continue his career elsewhere. This after spending just seven months at the Pretoria franchise, that has him held to a two-year contract that reportedly pays R1.4 million a season.
It has been a frustrating period for the 23-year-old as he has struggled with injury and poor form. This has seen him fail to land a regular place in the Bulls’ match 22 since limping off in the 13th minute during the team’s Super Rugby opener against the Sharks.
Bulls head coach Frans Ludeke confirmed that Sadie could make an early transfer.
‘We are very aware of Johan’s situation and his future and he is concerned that he isn’t getting the playing opportunities he needs because of injuries. He wants to get onto the field to establish himself but is worried he can’t at the moment,’ said Ludeke.
‘We will always look at a player’s situation and take it to heart. We will always consult with the player and take the best decision for his career going forward. We have given him the green light to look at other options to see if he can get better playing opportunities at other provinces.’

500 Comments
19 Jul 2012, 17:26 pm
Media 24 clone.
19 Jul 2012, 17:30 pm
This is a mistake IMO.
Habana was kak at Province for 2 years.
Show some character and fight for your place.
Watch the sharks buy him.
19 Jul 2012, 17:30 pm
isn’t life strange…
19 Jul 2012, 17:34 pm
Super Rugby preview – Qualifiers131.Puma said:
19 Jul 2012, 16:57 pm
See Sadie is on the verge of leaving the Bulls. Bulls have given him the green light to look elsewhere. According to SuperSport.
When the ice cream hits the deck you have to wait for the next scoop.
19 Jul 2012, 17:35 pm
@ Gunther #2
100% agreed. He left Province because he thought he wouldn’t get a chance to play, now he wants to leave Tswane for same reason……
If a player believes in himself he should back himself to force his way into the team, not just get handed a jersey on the basis of his ‘potential’.
19 Jul 2012, 17:36 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-2:
We’ve got tons of centres raring to go
We could buy a decent prop with R1.4 mil a year
How much would Castrogiovanni go for?
19 Jul 2012, 17:37 pm
WP could do with him. Pretoria is k@k Ma, ek kom huis toe!
19 Jul 2012, 17:37 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-5:
Maybe the Kings would hand him a jersey?
Comrade iCheeky’s got R40 Mil burning his pocket…
19 Jul 2012, 17:38 pm
the Lions or the Kings… choices choices.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-2:
one chance away from playing yourself into the full time set-up.
he did look a bit of a sulker, to be honest. anyway. that’s his problem.
i agree he is a good player.
19 Jul 2012, 17:38 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-7:
Nee, Ma ek is overrated en speel deesdae kak
19 Jul 2012, 17:39 pm
sadie is displaying serious “entitlement tendencies” he must come to the kings….
perfect fit
19 Jul 2012, 17:42 pm
@victoriabok – 8 and Tranformation – 11
Hehehe
19 Jul 2012, 17:42 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-11:
Never use the term “perfect fit”, some guys might take it (like it?) the wrong way
19 Jul 2012, 17:44 pm
Unfortunately he is now a year and a bit behind in his development because his ‘windgatgeid’ burnt his bridges. Now he is damaged goods. Allistair Coetsee said he wasn’t ready.
19 Jul 2012, 17:47 pm
With Frans Steyn at 12 , Whitehead or Jordaan at 13 can’t see him at the Sharks.
If playing time is the main priority now that money isn’t objective number 1 the cheetahs are his best bet or some lekke humble pie at Griquas.
19 Jul 2012, 17:48 pm
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-12: @victoriabok(victoriabok)-13: johan sadie: “i must START, i deserve it”
and some here thought entitlement was the monopoly of POCs…
19 Jul 2012, 17:52 pm
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-14:
I still maintain a youngster should get two years to develop before playing Super Rugby, Vodacom the first (and only on the bench for the CC team) and Currie Cup the second year.
That way they get playing time and the opportunity to develop, a good case in point is FH, if he played scrumhalf for two years instead of being on the wing he would have been a far better no 9 by now
19 Jul 2012, 17:53 pm
will the stormers take him back?
19 Jul 2012, 17:56 pm
Ja cleverdick wanted to show WP how much value they were losing… poor decision to act all mercenary and play hard ball for the big bok bonanza
HM wanted Sadie bad.. JJ was just a sidekick that went along for the ride and Whitehead went scurrying off in the other direction
Now Buls have Venter and JJ and Serfontein filling in the mid field picture puzzle looks like Sadie is going to hope WP buy him back again…
This is when mercenary activity backfires.. wonder how Pollard is going to ‘fit in’ up there.
19 Jul 2012, 18:01 pm
@fitz1ella(fitz1ella)-19:
Nah, if there are three guys ahead of you it’s time to move to another team get playtime, Juandre did it and Wilhelm Steenkamp did it as well
However there’s no need to be a p-rick about it
19 Jul 2012, 18:11 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-20: He made a poor decision.. should have stayed at WP Klaar.. same as Hougaard and Pollard and Visser and CJ and Juandre should have stayed at home too
How many Sharks go scurrying off to other unions.. only Peter Grant due to his involvement at Stellenbosch was he discovered and chose to play his rugby in the Cape… if they come through the Sarkys academy they stay at home.. same with ManU .. the kids they develop plough the value invested in them back into the union that spent their formative years putting them where they are
Sadie should have stuck at WP he was WP educated and bred.. JJ came from EP .. but Pollard and Sadie should have stayed at home unless they were guaranteed they would not get game time in their home franchise.. only then should they move on.
19 Jul 2012, 18:14 pm
Oh dear … this guy is ******* his career up real good. Henceforth, he shall be known as the white Lionel Mapoe.
19 Jul 2012, 18:20 pm
And I went down to the demonstration
To get my fair share of abuse
Singing, “We’re gonna vent our frustration
If we don’t we’re gonna blow a 50-amp fuse”
And no, you can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
Well no, you can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometimes well you just might find
You get what you need
19 Jul 2012, 18:24 pm
Seems to me his mamma needs to sit his *rse down and give him direction.
19 Jul 2012, 18:25 pm
@fitz1ella(fitz1ella)-21:
It could have gone the other way and barring his injury he could have been a superstar by now
A lot of players never realize their potential
19 Jul 2012, 18:25 pm
@Johannes Expatinus(hanneslom)-24:
Isn’t Joe van Niekerk a momma’s boy as well?
19 Jul 2012, 18:27 pm
Fuckadilly should have stayed at home in Springs.
Klaar.
19 Jul 2012, 18:32 pm
Sadie proving to be a primadonna! Remeber how great it was at the Bulls. Now he can’t make the team and wants to run somewhere else. Jou kop is te groot seun. Grooi ‘n paar. Fight for your place instead of running away the whole time…
19 Jul 2012, 18:32 pm
In likelyhood Sadie has one or two teams in SA or abroad who would like to sign him
So if that’s actually the case then most of you are wrong for the reason behind, personally I thought Sadie has no case in a team where the ball will have to travel to him via the likes of Houggard and Morne Styen
19 Jul 2012, 18:33 pm
Wat nou. He just got there.
19 Jul 2012, 18:34 pm
I was one who was really upset that Province didn’t try harder to keep him but now I am realising why…
19 Jul 2012, 18:36 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-6:
Let’s buy kitshoff.
And
Elstadt.
19 Jul 2012, 18:37 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-30:
Sy horing was te klein vir die Bulle, hy kon nie die 12 duim minimum haal nie, selfs Spies se USN Private Reserve kon nie help nie
19 Jul 2012, 18:37 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-32:
And a prop,
but not Brock
19 Jul 2012, 18:39 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-26:
Used to be. Since he moved to France his girlfriend’s in charge and got him off the booze as well. The guy’s grown up since he dumped his mum as manager.
19 Jul 2012, 18:39 pm
Kitshoff is a prop.
We won’t by Brokstrap.
We have enough fly-halves.
19 Jul 2012, 18:40 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-25:
Unlikely a would be a super star
Not with the Bulls and surely not with the Stormers, these teams have their priorities
Come to think of it, that move out of the Cape was planned by those who are behind him, he gave it a chance for the Bulls but it didn’t work out for whatever reason, so Sadie has his suitors now.
19 Jul 2012, 18:42 pm
Stay at the Bulls please. Won’t get paid as much elsewhere.
19 Jul 2012, 18:47 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-36:
He claims he’s better than Pollard
He can kick with both feet too
19 Jul 2012, 18:48 pm
Vicky Pollard maybe.
19 Jul 2012, 18:50 pm
@David(David)-35:
First Mom now Gf?
Needs to have a woman telling him what to do?
And they wanted to make him Bok captain?
19 Jul 2012, 18:53 pm
Sadie knows his value & has the courage to leave the Bulls, an organisation that is basically a fringe Christian cult
19 Jul 2012, 18:53 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-40:
He might be better than Fouche
He’s link up play with the 5 ft eightman is the stuff of legends
We finally have a backline played heavier than Weepu
19 Jul 2012, 18:54 pm
oh dear
tendencies
i’ve seen this sorta thing up close
it aint pretty
fight for your place young man or take the easy ride
the paths you choose define you
i’m sure there’s a lotta mediocre teams who’ll give him a starting place
but thats the point
\\\\\
19 Jul 2012, 18:55 pm
@viewer(viewer)-42:
He could used his R1.4 mil to buy himself back into what’s basically a Tik gang, the 22′s
See, anyone can spout s-hit
19 Jul 2012, 18:55 pm
@viewer(viewer)-42:
…faith like pototoes then?
19 Jul 2012, 18:57 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-44:
He should ask Sias, maybe there’s a spot at the Western Force as well?
19 Jul 2012, 18:57 pm
Cockbreath.
19 Jul 2012, 18:59 pm
@viewer(viewer)-42: there is that…..the whole Prehistorian thing….
19 Jul 2012, 18:59 pm
With Jean on bok duty , Sadie and Juan could be potent again – he just has to unlearn all that k@k the bulls taught him.
19 Jul 2012, 19:00 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-41:
Try running that comment by your wife.
sorry, typo; prehistorian to be pretorian.
then again, that actually works quite well…
everything seemed honky dory in his column…i love the part where he says they are a “well-oiled machine at employing the kick & chase” bwahahahaha when meyer bought him change exactly that system
stay sadie, learn the skop & jag!
http://www.news24.com/sport24/Columnists/JohannSadie/Bulls-have-plenty-to-play-for-20120718
19 Jul 2012, 19:01 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-50:
Yeah, he’ll have to re-learn how to use his hands, they’re for tackling only, never ever for passing a ball
19 Jul 2012, 19:04 pm
Pietersen out…
19 Jul 2012, 19:05 pm
This news will make the Bulls’ defeat on Saturday even sweeter
19 Jul 2012, 19:07 pm
I flippin hope he isn’t coming to the Sharks.
19 Jul 2012, 19:07 pm
@David(David)-51:
Are you crazy?
She’ll bliksem me
Again
They say there aren’t any angry wives, only scared husbands
19 Jul 2012, 19:09 pm
@Johannes Expatinus(hanneslom)-52:
I’d rather have a Roman run over me, than a Daniesaurus
19 Jul 2012, 19:11 pm
@viewer(viewer)-56:
Why, doesn’t the weekly try fest by the Stromers get you all warm and fuzzy?
19 Jul 2012, 19:12 pm
Why in SA in this day & age is a player compelled to submit to a Christian fundamentalist fanaticism “culture”? The Bulls don’t deserve any success.
19 Jul 2012, 19:15 pm
Oooo jinne
19 Jul 2012, 19:16 pm
0r did he decline to go on the same ‘roids as the others
19 Jul 2012, 19:18 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-47:
and thats not exactly going so great guns is it…
@Slappes(Slappes)-50:
he brought that kak along with him to the bulls
19 Jul 2012, 19:19 pm
Just wait ’till Tacitus gets hold of this. He’ll go from being an “automatic” Bok to an “overrated should never have come” instantly.
We’ll take him back I’m sure but we shouldn’t have to pay a premium for him. It’s not our problem he ran off at the slightest hint of an automatic start.
19 Jul 2012, 19:21 pm
@viewer, lol! Bulls = Cult
19 Jul 2012, 19:23 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-65:
Ja like the Bok material Shadow ala Hurdles from useful to useless…
19 Jul 2012, 19:29 pm
Tacitus = David (heyneke) Koresh follower. But taccy got too passionate bout Pierre disciple Spies and was told to f@rkoff.
19 Jul 2012, 19:30 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-67:
Or useless to useful from your perspective?
19 Jul 2012, 19:35 pm
What a moron Sadie is. He will probably set his greedy overrated eyes to the big money in Europe or that nuclear contaminated zone Japan.
19 Jul 2012, 19:35 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-69:
He has always been average mate – then and now…
19 Jul 2012, 19:37 pm
@viewer(viewer)-63:
Ney, he could’nt measure up, at the Bulls we use a tape measure, in inches, on a cold winter morning to verify
Unlike the Stormers method, the cimmamon ring vernier
19 Jul 2012, 19:37 pm
@RL(RL)-70:
Lions maybe?
19 Jul 2012, 19:38 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-66: sadie, like the prodigal son will return to WP bur he will have to humble himself & drop all his R1.4 bar blou bulle excesses & tendencies. imagine him chasing milfs & faking his own death @ wp. he will have to drop all that rubbish at loftus…
19 Jul 2012, 19:39 pm
@stormerboy lol. Think I’m going to visit my fam in Paarl this wknd. Will have news about sadie’s new home by monday…
19 Jul 2012, 19:40 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-71:
Yip, I agree with you, it shows that a brilliant player in a weak Bok-less Currie Cup MIGHT have the potential to perform at Super and Test level
19 Jul 2012, 19:42 pm
Sometimes when the guys spend a lot of time in the gym and put on a significant amount of muscle (as Sadie has reportedly done) they become more prone to injury as the tendons etc have not adapted sufficiently. Also flexibility sometimes goes out of the window,
It’s not always the best thing.
19 Jul 2012, 19:45 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-75: Cool!
He’s a good player and we’ll find a place for him back here I’m sure.
Have a good one! I’m playing paintball this weekend in Stellies.
No Rugby to cheer for
19 Jul 2012, 19:49 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-74:
He’ll have to re-learn to chase ageing guys in speedo’s in Camps Bay, catching them and faking it
Boning students in the park 101 is a manatory course as well
19 Jul 2012, 19:50 pm
@Transie, hahahaha. Classic farkinbulls incestuous family culture. Sadie is escaping and needs to be de-briefed.
19 Jul 2012, 19:54 pm
Sadie is a very good player- don’t write him off. Perhaps arsehole dale steyn might now find find place for Alistair Cook in his team.
19 Jul 2012, 19:57 pm
Good move for everyone involved.
This will give Sadie the gametime he desires – elswhere – and give us 1.4m a year to offer to someone else.
We could have used that 1.4m to keep CJ Stander
19 Jul 2012, 19:59 pm
sadie should go to france…
learn how to play with Joie de vivre and have fun on a rugby field and also get away from the influences that are pushing/guiding him and learn a little bit about life away from the cloistered environment he seems to have grown up in…
then come back to SA and fight for a place…
he’s young enough…
19 Jul 2012, 20:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-82:
Tac, op hierdie stadium dink ek moet ons eerder a stut of twee probeer kry, Kruger en Greyling gee te veel strafskoppe weg
19 Jul 2012, 20:02 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-82:
Maybe they can buy Hekkies back from the Stormers.
But they have to be quick because in 3 weeks time he will most likely have a Super 15 winners medal and his price will go up as a result.
19 Jul 2012, 20:03 pm
reports that etzebeth is running at full tilt good news for stormers…
19 Jul 2012, 20:03 pm
@Robzim, agree dale’s not been good today. Also that pitch is as dead as Kallis’ fringe.
19 Jul 2012, 20:05 pm
Die wind waai soos die donner hier
@ufo(ufo)-83:
The problem is their club rugby is at a lower level and he won’t learn anything new
Rather go to Aussie, they know how to develop a player and improve his skill set
If FS went to Aus he would have improved considerably, he would have came back a 105kg Quade Cooper
@Robzim(Robzim)-85:
no man rob… gerhard is finding his feet and starting to look really good… let’s not throw that away…
he’ll only get better and better…
19 Jul 2012, 20:07 pm
@ufo, Allister is trying to get sadie. @ Robzim lol , hekkies has lost his broederbond membership, bulls wouldnt want him.
19 Jul 2012, 20:07 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-87:
Lol, after the hair job his fringe is marginally better. My gripe with Dale is that he had too much to say before the series even started including that no england player will command a place in the proteas team (same as Jake white did some years ago to Ireland).
19 Jul 2012, 20:09 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-89:
based on your posts on this thread so far… seems you more intent on getting reactions than anything else…
i’ll take this one with a punch of salt…
19 Jul 2012, 20:10 pm
@Ufo- sadie, juan, gio, hekkies, jean , joe, jp dup, carel dup junior, swiel. WP’s attack sorted
19 Jul 2012, 20:11 pm
@ufo(ufo)-90:
I always rated him since I saw him scoring a magic try for tukkies against maties in a varsity cup match (a few years ago) within minutes of coming off the bench. It is a pity he does not get more game time but with Gio and Bryan playing well it is a tough one. I hope they extend his contract.
19 Jul 2012, 20:12 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-91:
i know you know these things bud… so accept what you say…
if he comes back he needs to be taught two things…
how to run straight and not sideways cramming everyone outside him and allowing the defense to drift with ease…
and
how to pass the ball to his wings…
19 Jul 2012, 20:14 pm
@Robzim, yip I read that article. He was an absolute idiot to rek his bek! Whats your call on a Stormers saarkies semi?
19 Jul 2012, 20:14 pm
@ufo(ufo)-93:
No, I’m actually serious, remember how well he played when when he returned back from Murray Mexted’s academy?
Rathbone was good enough to play SA U/20 (?), and yet when he started training in Aus they were appalled at his skill levels
They would do wonders with a talented young player, unfortunately there’s always the possibility of them selecting him for the Wallabies
19 Jul 2012, 20:17 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-94:
hey hey hey…
i like that… like it a lot…!!
@Robzim(Robzim)-95:
yeah rob i remember… and well done for sticking by the guy… i wish him all the best… a pity to see a talented kid waste his career…
but as i said above… i’ve always had those two reservations about him… but he obviously has the skills… seems his biggest fault has been a lack of good advice both off and on the field…
19 Jul 2012, 20:17 pm
@Ufo, bro its gonna be hard though to get him back, money is tight for AC at the moment. But his mom lives here and that could be the deal maker! Ac really trying
19 Jul 2012, 20:20 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-98:
fair enough VB…
i still think france is the best place for a back to go and learn to run and play with freedom and instinct…
we’ll have to see what transpires…
i wouldn’t bet against slappes though in this case…
19 Jul 2012, 20:22 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-97:
The Reds are a very crafty team and at home they are going to be a very tough nut to crack despite all this bullshit that they cannot scrum and so on. I do however think that the Sharks have a fair chance especially as Cooper is out and Jonathan will have the whistle. If they win I reckon we will take them at newlands- they going to be moerse moeg to start off and we are better then them anyway as we have proved over the last 2 years by winning 3/4 against them.
19 Jul 2012, 20:23 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-100:
think sadie will have to take a pay cut… can’t come back and earn more than bio and juan (for example…)
be good if allister can get all those guys tied up nice n tight..
19 Jul 2012, 20:24 pm
bio = gio
19 Jul 2012, 20:30 pm
@ufo(ufo)-103:
In what positions do you think we need some strenghtening for next year?
I am thinking of halfbacks and maybe hooker and perhaps a prop?
19 Jul 2012, 20:35 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-105:
Re hooker; IMO Tiaan has not been the same since he came back from injury while I am convinced that Deon will never be able to throw the ball properly into the lineout – he has now been trying for at least 4 years and is still a liability in that regard.
It’s a huge pity we lost Visagie to the Lions.
19 Jul 2012, 20:40 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-105:
well we both know we both think no10 should be the top priority..
but think you have it spot on…
although his kicking out of hand has improved… PGs distribution still hobbling the backs… i like dd… but he just doesn’t seem to be taking control like great scrummies do…
and then definitely the front row… both tiaan and deon throwing in is not good enough and spoils so many of our planned lineout moves… and i would go and look for a quality tighthead AND loosehead… kitshoff needs a really good backup otherwise he’s gonna get played in to the ground… he’s so good we lose too much when he goes off… if still the biggest brok fan so but we do need a really good replacement for him too… frans unfortunately has shown he’s still too young and not streetwise enough… he’s struggled while brok’s face has been healing…
brok and coenie still the best props overall IMO… they both solid at scrumtime but add so much in the loose and tight loose…
19 Jul 2012, 20:43 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-106:
yeah rob… hooker is a big concern… you right about visagie…
flyhalf we have tim swiel waiting in the wings… but we got no really good hooker to step up… errol’s kid just a bit too small for me…
19 Jul 2012, 20:53 pm
@Rob, Ufo- gary van asweg also back. Forgot bout those 3 bulls wp bought. Callie visagie could be made an offer lions are in disarray. Eg no coach,no gameplan, very homophobic atmosphere etc
19 Jul 2012, 20:56 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-109:
gary has the skills there is no doubt… but just doesn’t seem to the physicality to play at this level… would be great if he can toughen up and play though a season or two…
him and tim would be great to rotate…
19 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-109:
> very homophobic atmosphere
Please elaborate?
At the Lions?
19 Jul 2012, 20:58 pm
@ufo(ufo)-108:
It seems as if we agree- maybe alister can offer as jobs as consultants. The good news is that JC Kritzinger (tighthead) has recovered from injury and that AC has convinced him to stay in CT (he has been offered a contract in France). As you know he is very highly rated but has been very unlucky with injuries so lets hope he can stay injury free.
19 Jul 2012, 21:01 pm
Robzim, i would rather play the bulls in a semi. Btw I would like see hekkies at 13. He could be good.
19 Jul 2012, 21:04 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-112:
hehehe… would be a pleasure to work with you…
that is great news about jc… i rated him highly… just thought he was a gonna… him and brok with frans improving with time would be good… so just backup for young kitshoff and props should be sorted…
slappes has a great point about visagie… maybe allister could make him an offer..
19 Jul 2012, 21:06 pm
@victoriabok, go read the mitchell thread…lol
19 Jul 2012, 21:08 pm
slappes & rob…
such a pity we lost quinn… do either of you know if he will definitely come back to cape town…
19 Jul 2012, 21:11 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-113:
I cannot see the Bulls beating the crusaders in NZ.
You might have a point with hekkies at 13 – big ,fast, strong etc.
19 Jul 2012, 21:12 pm
@Rob and Ufo, if you 2 get the consultants jobs I wanna be responsible for the stormers girls eg recruitment, interviews, pool parties, binges etc
19 Jul 2012, 21:16 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-118:
those ladies sizzle… as long as you invite us to those pool parties and things… !!
19 Jul 2012, 21:17 pm
@ufo, eish Quinn is a big loss. We need his size and he’s got talent! Im not sure if he’s coming back. AC’s got headache bout him.
19 Jul 2012, 21:19 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-115:
Thanks Slappes, so Mitch upgraded from sheep?
Carlos has always looked a bit dicey to me
@ufo(ufo)-116:
There is sadly no certainty about him coming back.
The senior rugby journo of “Die Burger” (Steven Nel) asked Rob Wagner pertinently whether they have an agreement with Quinn about coming back and Wagner told him that they are “working on it”.
It is not very reassuring. Quinn is a very good player, nearly as good as Eben.
@ufo, lol yip you can come but not Rob. He’s gonna bore them with his war stories. Lol
nick farr-jones about to be on bootsnall…
my all time favorite scrummie… would also captain my all time team…
19 Jul 2012, 21:20 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-123:
damn… not good news… he was so close and would have got plenty of game time going forward…
19 Jul 2012, 21:22 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-118:
U can do the recruitment of the cheerleaders and i will catch up at the pool parties. Full contact water polo
19 Jul 2012, 21:25 pm
It’s too late for Sadie. He will never be the same again. Bulls have screwed him up for good. Wakes up in sweat, dreaming of brannewyn & Coke & tannies with teased hair chasing them intheir high heel shoes.
Apparently he got into trouble for not calling the senior players “oom”
19 Jul 2012, 21:28 pm
On a serious note, I think Sadie got caught up in the “bulking up” thing. He appears to be “top heavy” and lost his natural speed and flair.
19 Jul 2012, 21:35 pm
@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-128:
kids still young… counseling for post traumatic stress and a stay in private clinic with nice views and trimmed lawns and koi ponds should see him right…
19 Jul 2012, 21:36 pm
anyway guys… i’m out
slappes, rob… cool chatting…
next time…
19 Jul 2012, 21:41 pm
@Rob, lol expected that response. So when you going to dapat se gat for a surf?
19 Jul 2012, 21:42 pm
@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-128:
Ja, the big biceps pull the Pretoria tannies with the tousled hair and perms and high heels – it worked for deon helberg, lol.
But Sadie will be back, i am sure…. he has huge talent.
19 Jul 2012, 21:43 pm
@ufo(ufo)-130:
Cheers, nice chatting.
19 Jul 2012, 21:43 pm
@ufo later bro.
19 Jul 2012, 21:45 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-133:
So, do tell me….what happens at ‘Pool Parties’?
19 Jul 2012, 21:46 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-131:
My back is so farked lately I cannot even handle the shorebreak on a flat day at Muizies never mind dapat se gat. Old age is a killer. Do u know any good chiro’s lol.
19 Jul 2012, 21:48 pm
As you can imagine, in Mud Island ‘Pool Parties’ are not commonplace!!
Not many pools, but plenty of puddles!
19 Jul 2012, 21:48 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-132: Ja, especially with somw snow-washed denims and a help-my-sterk lyk hempie. Throw in a denim jacket and you have a “Texas tuxedo”. Or shall we call it “Pretoria pajamas”.
But let’s hope he makes a comeback……must be one of the silkiest runners I have seen in a long while.
19 Jul 2012, 21:50 pm
@carol(carol)-135:
Well….., full contact water polo against the girls team or underwater cuddling whatever you want to call it.
19 Jul 2012, 21:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-136:
I could get you a great sports massage from the England Under 21 Rugby Team bloke!!
He can make grown men cry tho!!
19 Jul 2012, 21:52 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-139:
Do you need a snorkel for that?
19 Jul 2012, 21:53 pm
Allister Coetzee: Tell you what, we coulda had a good life together! ******’ real good life! Had us a place of our own. But you didn’t want it, Sadie! So what we got now is Brokback Mountain! Everything’s built on that! That’s all we got, boy, ******’ all. So I hope you know that, even if you don’t never know the rest! You count the damn few times we have been together in nearly two years and you measure the short ******* leash you keep me on – and then you ask me about Pretoria and tell me you’ll kill me for needing somethin’ I don’t hardly never get. You have no idea how bad it gets! I’m not you… I can’t make it on a coupla high-altitude ***** once or twice a year! You are too much for me Sadie, you sonofawhoreson *****! I wish I knew how to quit you.
Johann Sadie: [crying] Well, why don’t you? Why don’t you just let me be? It’s because of you Allister, that I’m like this! I’m nothin’… I’m nowhere… Get the **** off me! I can’t stand being like this no more, Allister.
19 Jul 2012, 21:54 pm
@carol(carol)-137:
Well, in the navy (national service- where is ET now?) we also had beach parties. When I first heard about it i thought it’s going to be cool with girls etc…
It turned out to be pole PT on loose sand dressed in full wet suit and weight belts, lol.
19 Jul 2012, 21:57 pm
You can;t really/ blame him for being k@k outside Fabio. Sure Alistair will let him back.
19 Jul 2012, 21:59 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-139:
Btw, I am watching a facinating documentary on ‘The Truth About Sports Products’. Facinating because it is exploding the myths surrounding sports drinks, body building products and sports ‘kit’.
However I am still wondering what the hec you put in my sports drink on the first Argus, it made me fly!!
Wonder what would have happend if I were ‘Dope ~Tested’!! Heheheheheh.
19 Jul 2012, 22:00 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-142:
Spot on
19 Jul 2012, 22:01 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-143:
Was ET in the navy?
Is where he developed his love of good Pintage?
@carol(carol)-141:
Naw, no snorkel, it gets in the way.
Opps Pinotage….pardon me
19 Jul 2012, 22:02 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-143:
> Well, in the navy we also had beach parties.
Village People?
> When I first heard about it i thought it’s going to be cool with girls etc…
These two sentences could be interpreted in so many ways, all wrong I might add
19 Jul 2012, 22:03 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-148:
Bit late tonight, chat later, doing the food thing now!
19 Jul 2012, 22:04 pm
@carol(carol)-147:
Nope, he could’nt pass the medical, the medic fainted when he asked him to cough and found the extra crown jewel
19 Jul 2012, 22:05 pm
@carol(carol)-145:
It worked, don’t ask any questions
@carol(carol)-147:
He was not there but had a go at me because i called it “national sevice” instead of “conscription”. He can be so pedantic at times.
19 Jul 2012, 22:05 pm
Robzim, mate of mine just msgd says Simons town mountains are ablaze, moerse fire with this wind! Farken hell , can see it from brackenfell.
19 Jul 2012, 22:09 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-150:
Lol, yeah.. all wrong… those were the days, no village people for sure
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-152:
hahahaha— g4k4 de luxe– and he would have failed the swim test. might have passed the bullshitting test though.
19 Jul 2012, 22:12 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-154:
I can see it from here too.
lets hope it don’t spread to Fishoek and chase skoppie out of his home
On a serious note- lets hope they can get it under control asap… probably caused by some idiots again…
19 Jul 2012, 22:20 pm
@Rob, you know im in kuils so should i get on my roof in this wind and see? Hope Skop’s ok though. Eish no rain in sight. This wind is very strong, fark that roof.
19 Jul 2012, 22:23 pm
Skop will be fuming when it turns out that those pesky ******* started the fire! You know they like moering one another with rocks.
19 Jul 2012, 22:23 pm
Seems as if Pommie rider bradley wiggins has got the Tour de france all wrapped up. Second rider home will most likely also be a pommie called Chris Froome (grew up in SA). The times they are indeed a changin.
19 Jul 2012, 22:24 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-155:
Which years did you go, I went 86-87?
He claims he swims a lot
He would have bored the Corporal to tears with his long stories though
ET stfu and go and get me the leaf off that tree over there
Laat jou voete klap roof
As jou voete grondraak hardloop jy te stadig
19 Jul 2012, 22:25 pm
B obbejane
19 Jul 2012, 22:27 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-157:
There is not so much fire to be seen now- they might have it under control, so stay off the roof. Skoppy has enough trouble with the sharks as it is (real ones and those fakes from durban) – so lets hope they don’t need his services at the mountain as well.
19 Jul 2012, 22:28 pm
Yip, skops gonna be furious sammajoor
19 Jul 2012, 22:30 pm
@Rob, hahahaha fake durban sharks! Skops still on his one man crusade to rid false bay of all sharks
19 Jul 2012, 22:31 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-162:
Is Skoppie a firefighter?
19 Jul 2012, 22:34 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-160:
10 years before you… – SAS Simonsberg— and 8 farkin camps. but it was good times…
19 Jul 2012, 22:35 pm
@Victoriabok, hes a firestarter!
19 Jul 2012, 22:35 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-162:
Perhaps you could do your Mandela Day Help a Citizen thing now, do your 67 mins doing some basic firefighting!!
19 Jul 2012, 22:36 pm
Indeed he is.
Strap a water pistol on him and paint his Nissan 1400 red and he’s good to go.
19 Jul 2012, 22:36 pm
@Victoriabok, skops a firestarter
19 Jul 2012, 22:37 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-165:
he controls them via Nokia
On a serious note– i have met skoppie in real life and he is actually a very good solid chap- he is certainly no fake- very good bloke, really.
Got to go- nice chatting.
19 Jul 2012, 22:38 pm
Go and wee on a bush!!
@Robzim(Robzim)-166:
Good, of course it was good…you told me all you did was sun bathing, covered in brake fluid and a bit of running up and down sand dunes carrying pointless poles.
Oh yes you also told me they taught you how to iron!!
Ahh yes, good times!!
19 Jul 2012, 22:41 pm
Covered in brake fluid.
Those navy boys.
19 Jul 2012, 22:42 pm
See ya Robbo
19 Jul 2012, 22:43 pm
Fuckadilly probably started it when his organic wheatgrass hubbly backfired.
19 Jul 2012, 22:43 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-170:
Cheers Slappes, nice to have caught up a bit
19 Jul 2012, 22:44 pm
@carol(carol)-172:
> Oh yes you also told me they taught you how to iron!!
On your first weekend pass you get your mum or girlfirend to put “gyppo nate” on all your pants
Makes the @##$%% ironing a lot easier
19 Jul 2012, 22:46 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-177:
I have not idea what ‘gyppo nate’ is…but I think I need some!!
19 Jul 2012, 22:49 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-173:
19 Jul 2012, 22:51 pm
Indeed Carol it seems not.
19 Jul 2012, 22:53 pm
@carol(carol)-178:
Translated it would mean “cheating seams” the seams are stitched in permanently, making it a lot easier and faster to iron
19 Jul 2012, 22:57 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-175:
He doesn’t drink or smoke, and the last time he got laid was in 1996
No wonder he’s so grumpy, he’s got one stuck in the chamber
19 Jul 2012, 23:00 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-182:
Friendly fire is inevitable.
19 Jul 2012, 23:09 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-183:
Ouch and yuck, stale condensed milk everywhere
19 Jul 2012, 23:12 pm
@carol(carol)-179:
Dancing all oily to the Village People
Macho Man or In the Navy?
I wonder?
20 Jul 2012, 07:29 am
I told everybody all along that the real loss for WP was Engelbrecht, Sadie is a show pony who only went to Pretoria based on the opinion of a certain HM.
Sorry Sadie, hope you grow up some time.
Oh and HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA, just had to laugh at this story, don’t see this lighty going anywhere special. JDJ, JDV, Engelbrecht, F Steyn and even Serfontein are way better options then this entitled little kid.
20 Jul 2012, 08:53 am
I do find this very premature from Sadie. Where’s the fight?
Obviously a talented player but performance on the field is what counts.He did start he first 3 supoerrugby games before getting injured. After that he hasn’t exactly set the stage on fire. What does he expect, why the entitlement, does he reallt feel that Ludeke should be selecting him regardless?
Personally, injury is what has stopped him from gaining any momentum. Maybe Sadie has had his nose put out of joint because Venter is on the bench this weekend and not he? Maybe he feels even more pressure with the other joung centers who will come through?
My advice would be to shut up and get some game under your belt.Give it at least a couple of years. No coach is going to want a player who doesn’t want to fight it out for a spot and gets stroppy.
20 Jul 2012, 08:54 am
I see the SA Rugby (HSM) is posting on their facebook page that Sadie is joining the Cheetahs.
20 Jul 2012, 08:58 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-187:
Just read he’s going to the Cheetahs.
I dont judge his decision to move to where he can earn regular game time. He wasnt going to get it at the Stromers or the Bulls. It was clear that even Venter was edging him in the Bull’s pecking order and they bought a few U21 centers too didnt they? Hopefully he’ll at least be on the bench for the cheetahs on a regular basis.
If not, playing vodacom cup shouldnt be above him. Its the perfect platform to fight back and prove your worth and play regularly to regain form. Chilli did it a few years ago.
20 Jul 2012, 09:00 am
Cheetahs? The little rugby team that thought it could? They have loads of room for players, as Ihear they are losing half their starting team to foreign clubs.
Sadie, I hope you like seeing the underside of the Super rugby log!
20 Jul 2012, 09:04 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-188:
I reckon he will fit in very well at the cheetahs as their less structered “instinctive” style of play might just suit him- remember how he caused havoc when he played outside Duvenhage (at 10) and de Jongh against the Blues last year and they went for a flat out attacking game ?
20 Jul 2012, 09:10 am
@Slappes(Slappes)-164: Doesn’t he have a fit everytime ranger talks about spearfishing though?
What does he wanna do to the sharks?
20 Jul 2012, 09:12 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-191: Yes absolutely!
That game was possibly the best Stormers game of the whole season.
I swear of Duvenhage can play like that at 10 he should wear the jersey.
Grant can play 12, alternating with Juan and JDV for the centres. Maybe even rotate Jean to wing sometimes.
20 Jul 2012, 09:13 am
of = if.
Jammer.
@Robzim(Robzim)-191: Their style would suit him better, but think he needs to drop some of the bulk to get his athleticism back.
Hopefully the Bulls and HM will catch up with the rest of the world about bulk and size beating speed and stamina soon.
Great news to read that Sadie is off to the Cheetahs. Their style of play will suit him and no doubt he will get plenty game time there.
20 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
Sadie is making the right move here.
The Bulls have too many centers already. And they keep on buying.
20 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
@Puma(Puma)-196: Yea there’s no substitute for time on the field!
20 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-187: Not premature at all.
He is simply doing a CJ Stander here and leaving to get more playing opportunities, and in the process throwing an up yours to the Bulls’ stockpiling programme.
Many current Bulls players will follow suit in due course.
20 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-192:
Skoppy hates (real) sharks with a passion and called them Nazi-killing machines that should be killed to extinction.He lives in Fishoek and as there has been a few shark attacks on humans in “his” bay lately (one fatal) he became more and more aggressive towards the poor animals.
20 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
@willievz(willievz)-197: The Bulls bought something like 22 Craven Week and Academy players. They also signed 15 of their own kids. STOCKPILING for selfish motives – nothing more, nothing less.
And it isn’t going to end in a good way either. Stander and Sadie are just the 1st casualties…….and STILL these 22 young schoolkids seem to think it’s a good idea to head north.
Something is very wrong in Pta….and player turnover is going to soar. The worrying thing: How many young players will be casualties of this war the Bulls initiated?
20 Jul 2012, 09:21 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-198: For sure if not playing you go backwards. That is the same for any sport really. Need game time. Sadie was wasted at the Bulls really. Their game plan too never suited him. He will florish at the Cheetahs.
20 Jul 2012, 09:22 am
@willievz(willievz)-199:
You are a laugh, my friend.
Always ready to get a dig in at the Bulls. Is your hatred that intense?
I fully agree that the Cheetahs are a good move for Sadie. Many a Bull has moved there for more gametime before returning a better player. Wilhelm Steenkamp comes to mind. He even became their captain.
But to talk about an up-yours to the Bulls and moaning about their “stockpiling programme”, well, you’re just damaging your own credibility by making bitter statements like that.
This is the professional era. Get used to it.
20 Jul 2012, 09:22 am
@Puma(Puma)-202: flourish
20 Jul 2012, 09:23 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-200: So he obviously sees no irony in calling ranger a murderous fool for spearing fish? lol
Nazi killing machines…..so nazis were actually around 50 million years ago, made sharks, then disappeared for 49.99 million years before making a brief return in the 1900′s?
Okaaaay……..
20 Jul 2012, 09:28 am
@Puma(Puma)-204: I also think the Bulls intensive bulking program for young imports is damaging them – there’s always the risk of over-training and with it a greater risk of injury. I seriously think, given what I’ve seen this year, that some of their time would be better spent on skills development than on bulking and size.
looking at Spies for all his impressive size, strength and pretty muscles, he STILL runs into contact upright and regularly gets flattened or driven back by much smaller players (like Joe in the first Stormers / Bulls game for example
20 Jul 2012, 09:28 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-200: Someone on here believes all (real) Sharks should be killed to extinction? There is only one species deserving……..and it isn’t the Great White Shark (REAL sharks – magnificence personified)
20 Jul 2012, 09:29 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-203:
It is certainly not my intention to write things you will only agree with.
The reality is there for everyone else to see – yet you are still blinkered.
Those blinkers, my friend, reduces YOUR credibility.
20 Jul 2012, 09:31 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-207: “I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague…” Agent Smith
20 Jul 2012, 09:31 am
@willievz(willievz)-208:
What is this reality?
That the Bulls want to recruit the best young players in the country? Mhmm, yes, I can see how that is a bad strategy if you want to be the best club in the world.
If Sadie was good enough, he could have had a massive season at the Bulls. But he didn’t make the cut. Instead, his less rated pal Engelbrecht took the step up.
If we recruit 10 guys, some of them will make it, and some won’t. That’s reality.
20 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@willievz(willievz)-208: Correct.
How dare you disagree with anything Blue?
Sies.
20 Jul 2012, 09:34 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-201: The main issue for me is the damage it does to SA Rugby.
It is good for the Bulls, but the Boks lose out.
And as a Bok supporter, I cannot accept that. You can’t have that many resources concentrated in one rich franchise.
The best 150 players in the country should be distributed more equitably than is the case at current.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-203: So do you think that large corporations are entitled to do anything they want or can afford to do, in the name of business? That they are utterly exempt of any kind of larger responsibility to the environment within which they exist, and should serve only their own interests without regard for the consequences?
Serious question.
@Robzim(Robzim)-191:
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-193:
yeah… he wil be a good fit at the cheetahs… good luck to him…
isn’t PG going back to Japan…?
20 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
@willievz(willievz)-212: That’s what I’m getting at in @213
20 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-213:
I would argue that SA rugby was at its strongest when we had two massively powerful teams contesting for the Super Rugby trophy in 2007, while all the other SA provinces were bottomfeeders.
The winning culture we got from the Bulls and Sharks dominating SA rugby, and the concentration of the best players in the world at the Bulls and Sharks led to us winning the 2007 World Cup.
Again, it was these two teams that made up the bulk of the 2009 team that beat the All Blacks 3 times, beat the British Lions and won the Tri Nations – all with the worst coach we’ve had since readmission.
To summarize: I reject the idea that an egalitarian distribution of our talent is good for SA rugby. In fact, the opposite is the case. Having one or two clubs that dominate the S15 is more advantageous. The Bok team will then be dominated by players that know each other and are used to beating the best that the Kiwis and Aussies have to offer.
So I have directly the opposite philosophy to those who seek an even spread of our player resources.
@willievz(willievz)-212: The so-called ‘custodians’ of rugby…..SARU (splutter cough splutter) have to address this at some stage. The issue (as you state) is NOT with the Bulls buying the players – it’s with the reality that all but a few of these players will EVER get onto the field.
If the Bulls could field 4 U/19 teams and 3 U/21 teams in the junior competitions – different story. But sadly for fellows like van Graans bellboy Taccy; this is never going to happen sooooooooooooooooooooooo the bigger picture needs to take preference to any dreams of Illuminati like domination the Bulls are striving for – simple
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-210: There’s a strong possibility that the Bulls conditioning and training regime contributed heavily to his injuries. He said himself that he had never been pushed so hard and so far – I read ‘over-trained’.
20 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
The message being sent to youngsters is clear. You want to play for South Africa – they you need to play for the Bulls.
Look the 14 Bulls selected for the squad was no fluke – it will continue to happen, with the Sharks as the fill in. Even though they didn’t all play, they will come in gradually to get higher honours. Now good luck to them but don’t destroy our other unions because of the strategy… Listen carefully to HM – not very open and honest as most think…
20 Jul 2012, 09:41 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-213: No, I think the point Taccy is making, is that the BULLS are entitled to do whatever they want to and can afford to do in the name of business
It seems to p i ss him off no end when other corporations and organisations do it….
20 Jul 2012, 09:42 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-219:
Time to get rid of that chip.
Mallet’s successful team was dominated by WP players.
Kitch’ Christie’s team by Transvaal players.
The 2007 team by Bulls and Sharks.
This idea that there should be an even spread of players from the provinces is nonsense. Who knows, maybe now is the time of the Stormers again.
20 Jul 2012, 09:42 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-216: I’m not necessarily arguing for sharing players under some sort of gentlemen’s agreement, but buying up potentially excellent players in large numbers, who clearly won’t play much, to stop other unions gaining benefit from them, is harmful to SA rugby in general
20 Jul 2012, 09:45 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-221:
No chip mate! Everyone knows the value of certain players – players who are good Provincial players but far from international quality – Werner Kruger, Basson, Olivier, Greyling, Potgieter, Spies, Niknaks man, etc – much better available. I suppose there is a chip and of course I don’t have blue eyes…
20 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-222:
Doing what you said there is bad business strategy. But luckily what you’re saying there is not what the Bulls are doing.
They are not “Buying up good players to prevent other unions from getting benefit from them.” This is an impossible feat, because you don’t have more money than all the other unions combined, hence you can never achieve such a goal.
The goal is to identify the talent that YOU think will be the stars of tomorrow, bringing them to Loftus, and keeping those that fulfill this potential, while letting the others go.
If Sadie had done his part from a performance perspective, he would be starting at the Bulls. Instead, his form was terrible. He would not have started at the Stormers either, given his form this year.
In fact, the Bulls had to resort to playing a wing at centre, to compensate for Sadie’s poor form. That’s just how it goes in professional sport.
If he goes to the Cheetahs (at a lower salary, you can bet on it) and gets his form back, the Bulls would even offer him a contract again in 2 years time. It’s up to him to make that step up.
I think this is a good move, as I’ve said already.
20 Jul 2012, 09:48 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-216:
Let’s be clear from the outset.
I have no problem if there are one or two teams in SA that are head and shoulders above the rest in terms of fielding a quality 22. This was certainly the case in 2007 and in the Bulls’ golden years.
But I do have a problem when one or two franchises sign about 50-60% of the most talented players in the country. That undermines the development of the youngsters who could be starting S15 players sooner at other franchises, and hence delaying their chances to test themselves against the best sooner.
So SA Rugby loses out.
The Lions, for example, could do an awful lot with some of the players currently contracted to the Bulls and Sharks but playing Vodacom and / or u/21 rugby.
We need some regulation or interventionist mechanism, and fast.
20 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-216: Your argument fails to explain the rather mediocre and average record we have against the AB’s and Aussies in general, when the EXACT same ’2 province dream team’ you have gushed over was in fact the team being fielded at the time of ‘said’ mediocre and kak results?
point being if ‘all’ the talented players are contracted to two teams only 22 can play for each on any given day…
however, if the talent was spread a little further, more talented players would get game time and then three or even four SA teams could dominate the S15… as opposed to the current ‘two’…
New Zealand had four teams in with a shout this season…
wouldn’t it be great for sa rugby to be ‘guaranteed’ of having four really competitive teams every year…
@willievz(willievz)-208:
“stock piling” is a laughable anology.
I expect better from you.
What is the conversion rate from U18 hopeful to superrugby regular. 1 in 4 maybe?
the bulls recruit plenty youth, in particular those considered with “above” average talent.
Only a select few will make it into a bulls starting 15 in the next 5 seasons.
Any football coach will tell you that cutting a 17year old after he has been with a club since he was 11 is one of the hardest things to do but the reality is that not everyone will become good enough to play at the top level for a club/franchise who have ambitions of winning trophys.
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-223:
Strange how you guys are complaining that the Bulls are buying all the best talent on the one hand, and then stating that they have no talent to speak of at the same time.
Which is it?
The reality is that the Bulls had the best players in the world a few years ago, their stars retired, and they are now in a rebuilding phase. Hence their massive recruitment drive.
20 Jul 2012, 09:51 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-224: I think offering a largely untested youngster the package they offered him is bad business strategy too, but they did it.
20 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-222:
and let’s be clear about this….nobody is forcing these youngsters to the bulls.
the bulls make an offer the same as every other union has the opportunity.
obviously, the youngsters are happier going to the bulls because if they make it there they will make it anywhere..sic…
20 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-229:
You have three super titles, we have none! The union is doing something right, I guess…
20 Jul 2012, 09:54 am
@willievz(willievz)-212: you must be a communist!
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-228:
I don’t think it is laughable at all.
By purchasing stock, you exclude the use of that stock by other parties / competitors.
It makes business sense to buy as much talent as possible in order to make life difficult for your competitors.
@Transformation(Transformation)-233: No, I am not.
I am a Bok supporter.
@Atreides(Atreides)-230:
The Bulls game relies on a star flyhalf more than other teams, I would say.
Morne Steyn is nearing the end of his career. He was integral to them winning their last 2 Super Rugby trophies.
They identified the man to replace him last year – that was Johan Goosen. But they could not get him. This intensified the need for a quality successor to Steyn.
Hence the offer to Pollard.
They won’t be making that kind of offer to every Tom **** and Harry.
It is pretty obvious, if you look at it strategically.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-226:
errm….Twakkie Devilliers
20 Jul 2012, 09:56 am
Oh dear.
I thought I’d stumbled upon an archived thread.
Then I checked the date.
20 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-213: another commie
the bulls need to be allowed to amass as firepower as they can, this – in Tacitus’ convoluted mind – is the ONLY way SA Rugby can compete or win super rugby consistently!
20 Jul 2012, 09:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-239:
We most CERTAINLY will not win Super Rugby titles if the talent is spread evenly between the 5 Super Rugby franchises.
20 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-236: How many 10s did the Bulls sign of late?
20 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
@willievz(willievz)-235: refer to #239
20 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-231: Nobody is forcing them, no, but what no-one tells these kids is that they are for the most part, serving the short term needs of the franchise and not their own long-term career interests.
For example: Young player gets piles of cash offered tot him, heads up to the Bulls after the national coach dangles a Bok jersey (still unsure about the ethics of the national coach involving himself in the affairs of a provincial franchise, but anyway), then if he doesn’t necessarily slot into the culture, or gets injured trying to shoe-horn himself into the coaches idea of a bok physique, gets benched or dropped entirely for 2 seasons, then loses his contract. So now he is 3 years older, had no top level game time to speak of, and has to start looking for a new contract elsewhere…. playing catch-up. It’s a big speed bump in an already short-lived career.
20 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
When is Gumede getting his chequebook out for the kings?
Or have tenders dried up?
20 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
@willievz(willievz)-234:
just as a matter of fact….where would Sadie have featured for the Lions this season? Ahead of Murray or Mapoe?
@Transformation(Transformation)-239:
well, it’s not far off when you consider that it’s only the crusaders and blues that have won titles for the kiwis.
20 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-243:
But the youngsters play both for the Bulls U19 team and then for their U21 team. So they get plenty of gametime – if they are good enough.
SA rugby should be thanking us, because we are carrying them and only gettting value from them once they are good enough to play Super Rugby.
20 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-216:
That sounded like a ‘good neighbourliness’ speech right there
20 Jul 2012, 10:06 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-245:
Don’t know.
But ahead of Deon van Rensburg (with Mapoe going to wing?), or Butch.
He would certainly have strengthened the 22, though.
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-247:
Good morning to you, my race obssessed, psychologically scarred friend.
The cold hard truth is the Bulls talent identification system failed them. They thought they were buying a diamond in Sadie, but all they got was a piece of polished glass. Over time all this will even out. Pollard could turn out to be as **** as Sadie. They could have fcuked up Goosen good and solid by playing Steyn ahead of him.
I’ve no problem with the Bulls buying as much as they can. It’s what they do with all that raw talent which makes one anxious.
Another big thing, which could potentially affect these players is the all-in family culture the Bulls propagate, when in fact, rugby is just a job for some of these players. Some of them don’t believe in that.
20 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-246:
Different perspective for you:
I am thanking the Bulls for not getting Goosen, so that he could play S15 this year already.
20 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-249:
More Baas Tac
20 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-237: Nope. Jake White also played the ’2 province dream team’ before the 2007 world cup…..What was our record like before the WC?
And also pray tell me: why does the ’2 province dream team’ get the credit for the wins under P Divvy? YET: when the Boks lost Divvy took the blame? You can’t have it both ways…….and neither can Taccy.
20 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-246: I’m playing devil’s advocate here, I know, but I do believe that often provincial interests, and the skewed buying power in SA does cause long-term damage to the national pool of talent.
In any company, the hiring process involves testing for a cultural ‘fit’. In fact it is clearly recognised as exceptionally important to the success of someone’s career. So surely the talent scouts should recognise that an english-speaking player from a more liberal upbringing, used to playing a more flowing, creative, individualistic game probably won’t slot in that well at the Bulls. But they sign them anyway, and then spend years trying to donner a square peg into a round hole.
20 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-254:
Or just sign him to prevent other unions from using him.
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-245:
Try and explain to a youngster that he should go and get buttfucked at the Lions for R35 a month an all the Nandos he can eat when he could be making a a bar a year at the Bulls.
“all for the bok cause kumbaya”
@pompies2(pompies2)-250:
On the flip side, we haven’t had a players strike before a Super Rugby semi final yet…
20 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@willievz(willievz)-251:
Well, his doctors are thankful too, given all the fees they’ve earned from him being pushed too hard before he was old enough. How long has he been out injured now?
20 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@willievz(willievz)-251: Thank the pope! Can you imagine how hard they would try to turn him into another Morne Steyn. I don’t think they’d stop till they had hammered every creative decision-making brain cell out of his head,
Like they tried to turn Hougie into Fourie Du Preez.
20 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-258: Cme on, that was a freakish injury. At least they’re not trying to clone him into a mini-Arnold
20 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
Indeed if he’s good enough he’s old enough he’s injured enough.
20 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
@willievz(willievz)-248:
and how exactly is that senario different from how Sadie featured with the bulls given that he himself has been injured on and off.
that smacks of sour grapes
20 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-257: Geez, is that it? I suppose you’re referring to the Stormers? 1stly, I’ve never mentioned my allegiance to any side. Secondly, I don’t see how your response relates.
@Atreides(Atreides)-254:
Are you referring to the flowing, individualistic more creative team that has failed to score a single 4 try bonuspoint this year, versus the boring team that scored the most tries 2009, 2010 and second most in 2012?
Hmmm. I think I see what you’re getting at.
@Robzim(Robzim)-200:
“214.skopskiet:
12 Jan 2010, 19:25 pm
tell Robzim to come fetch his great white man eating nazi pet and f’off from Fish Hoek beach. Thats now the 2nd known victim of this cold blooded killer while it gets protected by all the soft soap ecology saving great white killer lovers while its allowed to roam free and kill again. Somebody should put a price on this scum of the ocean’s head and send it to an early grave before it chow’s another human wading waist high and disappearing to his watery nemesis without a trace.”
“217.skopskiet:
12 Jan 2010, 19:55 pm
cold blooded man eating killer is a cold blooded man eating killer.
Tell me aren’t there enough helpless unsuspecting seals out in deep waters or around seal island for this man eating scum killer to go get his penchant for warm red blood fulfilled that this cold blooded killer has to come circle a human less than 30 mt’s from shore amongst a host of unsuspecting humans and eat his unsuspecting human prey in absolutely cold blood. Then they still get elevated to some type of pinnacle of natures majesty by the nature protectorates, these cold blooded scum coward man eating killers.”
“229.skopskiet:
12 Jan 2010, 20:31 pm
20-30 mt’s from shore is not shark territory. Humans been wading in waist high waters since happy Harry beach stroller gathered perlemoen for dinner snacks. This cold blooded killer is same scum that took granny couple years back. Now he’s tasted human its his gourmet yearly feast. Spots a host of unsuspecting bathers and realizes its gourmet human dish time and comes chow an unsuspecting human for after dinner mint’s. Put a price on this scum’s head else he’ll be back for more.”
“234.skopskiet:
12 Jan 2010, 20:45 pm
and its also those chum chum chumps fault for chumming the poor sharks senses into synonymously associating human presence with food. Far too many grey areas surrounding these great white nazi human killing machines. Man reckons he can take tourists into cages and chum the waters to attract these killers without consequences. Leave them out in the deep waters in their natural habitat, not come looking around humans for food.
Yeah JR a unsuspecting Zim tourist got chow’d by possibly and maybe even probably the same great white killer that ate granny two years back. Just hoping its not my current client’s family that its happened to, they’re Zim nationals on holiday at their Fish Hoek holiday home. Hope it aint someone I know perhaps. Will know by tomorrow.”
“250.skopskiet:
12 Jan 2010, 21:34 pm
if it was a lion or a leopard or a hippo or rhino or a croc they’d hunt the killer down and take it out because he’s encroaching on human territory. Now because we are mammals and breath air and not through gills our natural leisure areas like beach bathing areas is still sacred sharks territory. They are cold blooded killers some or maybe most of them and shouldn’t be revered as some type of sea god amongst natures creatures. A man eating lion is an abhorration to human existance same as a man eating shark and such cold blooded man eaters should get put out our misery and get same deserts that any cold blooded murderer gets. The beach authorities should also clamp down on bathing if any such dangers exist. If sharks were spotted this morning then no bathing should be allowed anywhere near the area, period. I myself took a dip off those same rocks maybe within a few meters from where this killling took place today just late this last Saturday afternoon. Could have been me if chummy boy was on the gourmet prowl late Saturday afternoon.”
20 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-260:
His shoulder was already buggered before he started in that game. They played him because they were desperate. At the Bulls, he would have been managed properly, because we have the resources to do so.
20 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-253:
excuse me but the bulls only started featuring regularly from 2004 onwards. Up until then the boks hadn’t even beaten the kiwis once in 3-4 seasons. The bulls were also at their peak from 2007 onwards.
Personally I believe the boks definately had the playing personal to dominate from 2007-2011.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-265: Oh dear.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-268:
skopskiet really does hate (real) sharks – “cold blooded man eating Nazi sharks”.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-257:
no… you just organized a union vote to fire the bok coach while the boks were on an overseas tour…
20 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
there’s also something to be said withregards to a players temperment.
Johann Sadie looks very soft in this regard.
In any case, how has Burton Francis’s development been going at the Stormers?
Or Danie Poolman? Do you guys reckon if JJ Engelbrecht had stayed he would have gotten regular gametime at the Stormers?
How’s that young Catrikilis going? Of Van Aswegen? Injured is he? Kinda like Sadie this season, what?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-258:
Was expecting this response. But injuries are part of the game. 20-year olds like Goosen and hardcore seasoned professionals like Schalk Burger experienced injuries this year, yet everyone pigeonholes Goosen’s injury as being down to youth and brittle bones. It is a convenient excuse, but a normative one.
In any case, Goosen’s return is imminent. He might even play for the Boks this year, under Heyneke – who unlike you thinks he is good enough to play test rugby at 20.
Would he have been considered for the Boks if he played Vodacom for the Bulls this year?
20 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-258:
Here’s one for you to reflect on:
I view people as follows: you are either seed of Avraham or Gentile; how’s that? I include myself in the latter.
I know this will scare the living the daylights out of you so you won’t explore it but I thought it will be good for you to know.
20 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
@ufo(ufo)-270:
errm, nice one.
but everything put to the floor for discussion or vote has to be seconded.
20 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-275:
eerrrm… wtf you talking about brig…
@ufo(ufo)-270:
And their fans organised a boycott of Loftus…
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-274:
I have no idea what you’re talking about, or how it relates to this topic.
20 Jul 2012, 10:25 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-277:
yeah.. i forgot that…
because you couldn’t tell that anyone actually stayed away,..
20 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
@ufo(ufo)-279:
20 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-267: They had the personnel to dominate – but they didn’t……………………………..and that is the only fact in question here. (And don’t be blaming the coach my ninja – because the same players you give credit to for the wins, are the same players who should then be credited with the losses and f eck ups)
We have not dominated world rugby for an extended period of time with ’2 province dream teams’ or ’5 province dream teams’ or ’1 province dream teams’ – so Taccy’s argument is a fail, as is your attempt to support Taccy’s argument.
PS: Taccy seems to forget the 2010 season…when the Bulls and Stormers brought the winning culture to the Bok squad after a great S14 – and how did that work out?
20 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@ufo(ufo)-276:
the bulls may have floored the topic of a “vote for no confidence” against jake white, but the other unions were quite happy to second the motion…
20 Jul 2012, 10:28 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-269: man eating Nazis……..
While his hatred towards the magnificent beasts p i s s e s me off, that particular description is pretty amusing. Nazi predators…..
20 Jul 2012, 10:28 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-278:
Bangbroek
Gaan doen jou huiswerk
20 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-272: Burton Francis has not developed, which is sad, but then again, he was bought more as an insurance policy, rather than a talent to be developed. That’s why the Bulls bought him.
Allister Coetzee won’t be holding the Super rugby trophy this year, because he hasn’t been true to the game and karma has a way of biting you back. The only good that the stormers will get from this season is possibly a home final which could further fill their coffers. Seems this is more important than the game.
20 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-281:
well then, why do the same 14 all black crusaders get drilled a new arrsehole when they play the bullsat loftus but play the boks at soccer city in 2010 and we look like braindeadfckwits?
20 Jul 2012, 10:30 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-281:
Seriously, given the sh*t that goes on at SARU, it is a miracle that the Boks have been competitive in any years since readmission. And whatever success we achieved is largely due to some unions keeping their act together while the rest of SA Rugby lurches from disaster to disaster.
20 Jul 2012, 10:30 am
It must be casual Friday at igovernment HQ?
20 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-280:
I know you will think I’m joking but I really admire your desire/ability to research. You are very knowledgeable on many topics.
Are you aware that they locate the real Mt Sinai? (not meant as a trick question)
20 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-285:
I;m still holding out for the bulls doing a number on the crusaders tomorrow.
and if somehow someway they do.
reds can just ship the trophy off to loftus already
20 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-283:
“cold blooded nazi human killing machines”
20 Jul 2012, 10:34 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-282:
ahh…
it only needs one seconder… so saying the other unions were happy to go along with it is stretching it a bit…
fact remains… bulls motivated and pushed for it…
had they not ‘firsted’ it no one would have seconded it…
anyway no real concern to me at all…
just countering tac’s goody-bully-two-hoofs claim…
20 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
What a weak player! Cant even fight for his place in the squad. This will elevate Jan Serfontein to the senior squad sooner rather than later.
20 Jul 2012, 10:36 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-289:
No, I was not.
I was (and still am) under the impression that scholars still disagree about the position of the biblical Mount Sinai.
20 Jul 2012, 10:37 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-264: Did the Cheetahs not score any 4 try bonus points in 2012?
20 Jul 2012, 10:37 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-290:
i am also and still backing the bulls and sharks tomorrow…
but a bit premature of you to claim the trophy today already…
just like graham smith ‘warning’ england the proteas have come to take the number 1 ranking from them…
you gotta do the biz first…
let’s see what happens…
20 Jul 2012, 10:38 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-290: While not impossible, it’s improbable. This crusader side has experience in playing knock-out rugby. Not so much the Bulls, barring 1 or 2. The Crusader would have to have a shocking start and the Bulls, a runaway start.
I feel the Crusaders will apply pressure, particularly in the scrums and might attack the outside centre channel with Freuan against JJ. I essentially see it as a battle between the opposing 8, 9 and 10 trios. Whoever triumphs here will take it.
20 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-286: really?
didn’t the crusaders play at loftus, lose to a controversial hougaard try at the death, fly to christchurch to play the brumbies and then get back on a plane to SA to play at orlando?
20 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-283: Pffft his complete and utter schoolboy ignorance towards these animals is pathetic and laughable
20 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-286: Simple answer…….(and it’s not the one you want)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zve1YKt_Ex4
20 Jul 2012, 10:42 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-290: Don;t get me wrong, i’ll be a Bull for 2 hours tomorrow! Anything is better than the Ancient Enemy winning…..
20 Jul 2012, 10:43 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-297:
well, although I agree that the bulls are big outsiders tomorrow given history in canterbury.
I’m pretty certain that there are more superrugby trophy winners in the bulls side than the crusaders one.
who was part of the crusaders side of 2008? McCaw,Carter,Crockett…who else?
I would say though that twice we lost in nz this year and both games we should really have closed the deal. Maybe tomorrow?
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-291:
@Atreides(Atreides)-299:
@ufo(ufo)-296:
Thats what makes Moh hammed Ali the greatest. He talked the talk but also did the business in the ring.
If you got a big mouth, you must be able to back it up.
20 Jul 2012, 10:47 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-302: Even though I don’t send the Bulls any Xmas cards…..I do think they have more than a reasonable shot at winning this one.
Greyling and Kruger……….therein lies the possible key.
@Transformation(Transformation)-298:
What was there excuse in 2007, or in 2009?
They have never beaten the Bulls in a semifinal in South Africa, despite three attempts.
Now, however whoever may hate the Bulls, that is an impressive record. One that teams like the Stormers can only dream of achieving.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-306:
there = their.
20 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-298:
love it when the crusaders bring up the “hougaard try” of 2010. Personally, on that one I thought it was good at worst 50/50. The ref however, followed due process and asked the linesman what he saw, the linesman could only have seen the ball off crocketts head/hand. So try awarded.
not quite in the TMO getting it wrong category now,is it? Twice. Or Richie never getting carded after 20 warnings a game.
20 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-304:
the GREATEST… no doubt… not only the greatest boxer… but very intelligent and one of the most honorable sportsmen EVER…
man of principle and integrity…
have you seen When We Were Kings…? great movie…
20 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-305: I think Fattie Kruger is in for a torrid afternoon
If Greyling can hold onto his temper he’ll do OK…but MCBastard and his little gang are kings of niggle, they’re gonna target Flip and Dean’s tempers for sure
20 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
because of the enormity of the task tomorrow…..I am closing the doors of my business for the morning and early afternoon.
I will indeed be watching the sharks do the business against the reds as well.
20 Jul 2012, 10:51 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-308: Um excuse me, did you not get the memo to Everyone from the People of New Zealand. It’s ‘Sir Richie’, or ‘King Richie’
20 Jul 2012, 10:51 am
@ufo(ufo)-309:
Personally, I saw the documentary where he fought that older guy in the Rumble in the Jungle, or Thrilla in Manilla or whatever, and the other guy inspired me far more.
Even though he lost, he put up a Rocky type of performance, simply refusing to give up when his body and brain were virtually shutting down, simply through sheer guts and determination.
Earned everyone’s respect, even that of the loudmouth Cassius Clay.
20 Jul 2012, 10:53 am
@ufo(ufo)-309:
Yes saw the documentary.
He always had the mental edge and because his technique was “easy on the eye”, the judges always “counted” in his favour.
Was a special moment at the Atlanta Olympics, when he lit the final flame.
20 Jul 2012, 10:54 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-313: Give me MMA any day over boxing.
20 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
Dewald Potgieter has been hovering under the radar these past couple of weeks and turning in some top draw performances.
A few weeks ago I read that he broke the bulls post match analysis record for most tackles in one game…..29.
And Steggman looked very good off the bench last week. he’ll add plenty of impact in the last 20.
What we really need is big games from Greyling,J.Potgieter and Flip. Our supposed hard men. They need to make the crusaders forwards feel the hurt in the collisions.
20 Jul 2012, 10:57 am
If you want a little rugby feelgood story, check out the link below. Africa region Division 1 competition in Madagascar, involving Senegal, Morocco, Namibia and Madagascar. Madagascar surprised everyone by reaching the final, where they were expected to lose heavily against Namibia. Except no one gave them the script.
http://www.rugbydump.com/2012/07/2698/classic-encounters-madagascar-host-namibia-in-epic-high-scoring-battle#allcomments
20 Jul 2012, 11:01 am
Give me Rocky Marciano any day of the week. Would go to 10 wars with that bloke.
Mo Ali? Well we all know his history with signing up.
20 Jul 2012, 11:02 am
Why did they buy Sadie in the first place? Why did they buy CJ Stander in the first place. Why did they buy all these new young baby boks? To bench them until they get frustrated? Bulls are killing our rugby. Watch Sadie go overseas.
20 Jul 2012, 11:02 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-305: I don’t think this will be decided in the front row. It appears as though the crusaders scrum isn’t as strong as in previous years, so perhaps the Bulls will have scrum dominance. The question would be how the Bulls would build on scrum dominance in their 8, 9, 10 positions. I think the crusaders will handle a retreating forward pack better than the Bulls.
20 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-294:
Have a look at Jebel-el-lawz (alt spelling Jabal -al-Lawz)
If that is correct, and I must say they put forward compelling reasons, then it is incredible to think that both Mt Sinai and Mt Moriah are under Arab control?
The dispute is whether Mt Sinai is west of the Gulf of Aqaba or east? The Biblical account points to the east, in other words, when they crossed the ‘Red Sea’ they actually crossed what is now known as Gulf of Aqaba
Nuweiba beach also forms a realistic site where millions could converge and in a sense be trapped with Pharoah being behind them and mountains both and of course the sea in front of them. Nuweiba beach today a popular tourist destination. Eilat the southernmost city of Israel…
20 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-319: why does the kings not buy him??
20 Jul 2012, 11:04 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-314:
absolutely…
20 Jul 2012, 11:06 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-316:
Yes Dewald Potgieter looked extremely impressive especially against the Sharks. Pity he had that freak injury ’cause maybe HM would have overlooked Coetsee and selected him instead.
20 Jul 2012, 11:10 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-319: he is talking to the states…
20 Jul 2012, 11:12 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-325: thats not a bad thing, he should fit into their style of play
20 Jul 2012, 11:13 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-318: you also went through conscription?
20 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-326: and displace who, bobby ebersohn @1 3 or dries strauss @ 12, i don’t know sadie to have any solid defensive game and today one needs that @ 12.
20 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-313:
I know you like hurdlers, you should check out this video of this hurdler:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMgmYutL9W0
20 Jul 2012, 11:17 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-324: Funny you should mention that.
During that particular game, I said he is delivering one of the most impressive performances I’ve seen from a 6 in a losing pack, for many years.
Yet the stats show that he was quiet.
Just another example of stats not living up to what the naked eye can capture.
20 Jul 2012, 11:18 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-328: fact is though Transie he can run to where ever he wants, he will not automatically make him no1 center
Maybe like i said he should go to the Kings,fact is though he needs to earn his position
20 Jul 2012, 11:23 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-306: Oh, and the Bulls record in Christchurch? What is their excuse?
20 Jul 2012, 11:24 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-331: I think the Sadie scenario should be used as a case study on the effects of creating player hype. The lessons are multi-dimensional, from moving to a different geographical area, to managing different expectations, to being honest in your assessment of where you’re (the player) at in a particular stage of their career.
Player often see rugby as a business from their perspective, relative to their contracts and remuneration. Rugby is as much, if not more, than a business from an administrative side. At some point a union or franchise might decide to cut a bad investment.
20 Jul 2012, 11:24 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-331: he = they
20 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-329: Dammit, cute as a button. And definitely on ecstasy. Glad she won – I was rooting for her.
20 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-333: this is true, and it alwats cuts both ways,
He is a good player, but he is young and needs to get some good advice,
20 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-333: Good point.
20 Jul 2012, 11:27 am
@willievz(willievz)-337: dagse willie my maat van yster en plaat
20 Jul 2012, 11:28 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-310: @pompies2(pompies2)-320: The Bulls 8, 9 and 10 are ALL woeful behind a retreating army full stop.
Whilst the Saders scrum hasn’t been it’s usual ‘oppo head up own butt crack’ self – I have no doubt the Bulls scrum is target No 1 for them. The amount of penalties given away by the Bulls fatties is beyond a joke…..and if that trend continues tomm, that’s 15 points for the Saders.
@Atreides(Atreides)-310: Fatty Kruger always look baffled as mash when he is penalised….it’s almost a Zoolander face – Blue steel gone viral type of thing
Fatty Greyling, with his ‘oog van die tier’ Zoolander look is going to be tested tomm – temperament testing 101…..
20 Jul 2012, 11:28 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-331: i just wonder though if heyneke was still the bulls DoR would tow of the players he PERSONALLY headhunted with a different style of play in mind be on the out at the bulls? it seems the boneheads left there at loftus are cluesless as to what meyer meant when he said: “We are looking hard at the way we are going to play. We are busy with a lot of camps that (are set up) to have the whole union playing the same way.”
“I brought Pine (Pienaar) in who was a backline coach because I want to improve the way we’re playing. If you look at the guys we’ve recruited, they are very exciting backs.
“You always have a vision of how you want to play and then get players around that.
“We will always have a tough forward pack but we’ve looked at how the game has evolved,” Meyer said.
“If you stay the same you’ll never get ahead.”
Meyer listed five focal points he felt would give the union the edge over its rivals: ”
1. having the best coaching staff at all age group levels,
2. recruiting the best young talent,
3. implementing a winning culture,
4. ensuring an environment where players can grow to their full potential and changing the way the Bulls played.
5. It’s not finalised yet but we are looking to get Victor Matfield in to help us with the lineouts.”
20 Jul 2012, 11:31 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-340: Good questions Transie, and no i dont think the ones he head hunted would be outa there, something is amiss
20 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-333: I’m still not sure why Sadie is taking all the blame for his misadventures. IMHO Heyneke Meyer is the biggest hype creating machine in the country. He was the one who said, “Sadie should be a bolter for the Bok WC squad”…..He created the Sadie hype to a large extent. And if Meyer hasn’t learnt from the Sadie saga, he is doing the self same thing with other young and extremely talented (but untested) young players. The Kriels, Pollard etc etc.
Meyer must quite simply shut up with his, “This player will be and should be a Bok soon kak”. Read the new SA Rugby magazine.
20 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-327:
Applied to the SA Air Force. Wasnt accepted.
You’ll understand why I wasnt keen on the Army if you look at the state of our military at the moment. Or even back then for that matter.
20 Jul 2012, 11:33 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-315: LOVE MMA! Some good fights on Sunday at UFC 149.
20 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
I see Jackie Selebie has been granted medical parole.
20 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-329: That’s quite scrumptious
20 Jul 2012, 11:35 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-345: Does he have the Shaiks?
20 Jul 2012, 11:35 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-343: hey i’m nowhere near as clued up about things military so it would be all lost to me.
20 Jul 2012, 11:36 am
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-344: Yea not bad, 148 was fantastic though….and next Friday is EFC in Joburg, should be good too!
20 Jul 2012, 11:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-342: in some ways have to agree with thaT
20 Jul 2012, 11:37 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-347: Apparently so!
20 Jul 2012, 11:37 am
I would love to watch EFC but there is no link online and the fights are not made into torrents for me to download
Dana White has said he wants to break into South Africa- I believe you guys will get it via DSTV at some point???
20 Jul 2012, 11:38 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-342: What i’m going to say next might sound controversial, but it’s the way i see it. HM says these things to bump his profile as much as he does the players’. HM is a brand, built on rugby. From building winning teams to building winning players. HM believes that he can turn most decent players into international quality, not because of their rugby ability, but because of the potential they displayed to play international test rugby.
20 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-342:
I think he is over-eager to be the 1st to identify any new talent and is ego-driven; you would think that it is about the player but meanwhile its about the one making the statement
It’s a tendency he shares with Jake White and can be very counter-productive.
Remember Jake’s little sound bite about Bryan Habana? He would say: A few months ago people were asking Bryan who? Now he is scoring lots of tries for us
20 Jul 2012, 11:46 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-353: Expect Taccy to be a little upset by your statement, but expect many others to agree with what you are saying. Spot on
This best sums up my thoughts on Heyneke Meyer:
‘You can fool all the people some of the time and some of the people all the time but you cannot fool all the people all the time’
(The ‘some of the people all the time’ would be the Taccy’s of Tswane and the like)
20 Jul 2012, 11:46 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-317:
That’s not going to go down well at the Camps Bay Branch of the Namibian Supporters Club.
20 Jul 2012, 11:47 am
Oh dear.
Still?
20 Jul 2012, 11:50 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-354: jake white on meyer bosman: “i’ve been watching meyer since he was 16, he is the future of bok rugby at 10″ played him on the eoyt and then dropped him cold.
20 Jul 2012, 11:52 am
@willievz(willievz)-330:
Have you seen Moneyball.
20 Jul 2012, 11:53 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-357: Talk about the cricket. There will be play on and off today it seems…..
Dale Steyn seems to be choking a little – on his own foot….
20 Jul 2012, 11:54 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-354:
This has been my worry about HM for a while. He’s thinking like a provincial coach who’s trying to develop a squad and youngsters.
As national coach he must leave that to the Franchises, which is why they were formed in the first place.
His role in identifying young players should be as part of the national selectors meeting with the franchise coaches and planning the development of identified future Boks at S15 level.
20 Jul 2012, 11:54 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-354:
Meyer is a lot worse than Jake….I am going to try and find all the Meyer quotes re: young players….Then again Mallet also had a few winning young player pearlers.
20 Jul 2012, 11:55 am
i read the article on sadie going to the cheetahs
good luck to him
will reserve judgement till next season
lets see what he does in cheetahs attack
20 Jul 2012, 11:56 am
Kings ready for a dogfight
THE Eastern Province Kings will be looking to build on the near- perfect start to their Absa Currie Cup First Division campaign when they host the Border Bulldogs at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium tonight (SS1, 7.10pm).
EP have managed a full house of three wins from their opening three matches. They have 14 log points and occupy second position behind surprise leaders the Griffons (15), having missed out on a bonus point in their win against Boland Cavaliers
Coach Alan Solomons has stuck to his rotation policy and made seven changes to the team which beat the Falcons in Kempton Park at the weekend.
Luke Watson returns from shoulder trouble to captain the side in his first match this year, while strongman Jaco Engels is also back from injury.
Solomons has handed flyhalf Wesley Dunlop a start ahead of the in-form George Whitehead and scrumhalf Falie Oelschig replaces Reynier van Rooyen in one of the other prominent changes made by Solomons.
The EP team is: SP Marais; Michael Killian, Wayne Stevens, Tiger Mangweni, Marcello Sampson; Wesley Dunlop, Falie Oelschig; Jacques Engelbrecht, Luke Watson (capt), Cornel du Preez, David Bulbring, Wayne van Heerden, Lizo Gqoboka, Hannes Franklin, Jaco Engels.
Replacements: Frank Herne, Charl du Plessis, Reynier Bernardo, Thabo Mamojelo, Reynier van Rooyen, George Whitehead, Scott van Breda.
20 Jul 2012, 11:56 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-359:
The book is better.
I’m not sure you can apply it to rugby though!
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-360:
That Pitch is flatter than Emma Watson.
20 Jul 2012, 11:58 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-362:
Who can forget Mallet calling Gio the Human Speedbump?
Enjoy your googling my angel.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-359: Not yet. Why?
@David(David)-361: “His role in identifying young players should be as part of the national selectors meeting with the franchise coaches and planning the development of identified future Boks at S15 level”
I think he does this…..he just forgets to chat to Naka, Allistair, Plum and whoever is kicking it at the Lions at any given time. The only franchise he discusses anything with is the Bulls……hence their purchase of every Craven Week player this year that ‘Meyer’ likes
20 Jul 2012, 11:59 am
Katman, I heard Ernie’s interview after the 1st day. He said he got his “feel” back and could be on top of the leader board come Sunday.
Damn, I hope he does.
20 Jul 2012, 12:00 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-352: Yea the EFC online streaming is shocking.
20 Jul 2012, 12:01 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-356: Gwantie is staging a public burning of his Namibia jersey, tracksuit and togbag during lunchtime outside Caprice. Can you make it?
Apparently he’s always been a big Madagascar fan, but just thought the green would clash with his moccasins. Now he’s prepared to live with that. A man of great sacrifices.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-366: Don’t need to google, just read the new issue of SA rugby….
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-365: I’m watching Dale…like a hawk. Watson’s chest or not.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-355: I don’t expect tac to take exception to what I said. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the way HM does it. If he produces the results, you can’t argue
@pompies2(pompies2)-353: “HM believes that he can turn most decent players into international quality, not because of their rugby ability, but because of the potential they displayed to play international test rugby.”
Kind of stating the obvious,this is what every coach does, its their job to identify players with potential and develop them. Only difference is he has to do it at International level and therefore has to identify not only that they have the basic skills sufficiently to succeed at that level but also the mental capacity.
His focus therefore will be on the abilitiy of the individual to execute those skills under more pressure than normal and the willingness to back themselves.
Problem is when players think they’ve arrived when they make it into the Bok side, not realizing that this is only the beginning of their develoment as Test players.
20 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-369: Wouldn’t that be awesome? Perhaps he could beat Tiger in a play-off. That would be my ideal outcome.
20 Jul 2012, 12:03 pm
Is there online streaming? What’s the link?
20 Jul 2012, 12:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-368: What about the clinics he conducted and the chats he had with the players at these clinics. Ever seen another Bok coach do that?
20 Jul 2012, 12:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-364: “Luke Watson returns from shoulder trouble…”
Maybe if he walked with his arms in a normal position, he’d have less trouble.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-371: Who is this Grant number 10 you all keep referring to. Some Sharks bloggers have suggested that I am this person.
But I must be honest…….Namibian flags, Camps Bay and moccasins?
@willievz(willievz)-367:
Based on an american baseball coach Billy Beane, that used a Yale economic’s graduate to work out player stats and select a low budget team based on these stats.
They won 20 games in a row.
20 Jul 2012, 12:05 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-354:
While your insightful conspiracy theories are entertaining, the reality is actually a lot more boring and less nefarious than that.
The truth is, Heyneke knows the general mentality of SA players. They don’t react to criticism in the way that Mitchell and Mallet like to dish out.
Call us less mature, or more sensitive or whatever, but that’s the reality.
Heyneke simply believes – and this is my view, and not anything I’ve had confirmed from his inner circle – that to get the best out of a player, you make him believe that you believe in him. And that by boosting his confidence, you will boost his performance.
This was the case with Derick Hougaard, Pierre Spies and many of the Bulls players Heyneke has worked with.
The fact is, Heyneke doesn’t bad mouth a player unnecessarily, and he often practices the philosophy of if you can’t say something good about someone, then rather don’t say anything at all.
Hence, if he never mentions your favourite player, it means he probably doesn’t rate him. But he won’t go out and say “I don’t rate him.”, like Mallet does.
And if he says Sadie can be the best, it is because he wants Sadie to believe that.
That’s my view, based on a lot of comments that I’ve heard Meyer make about players that I don’t necessarily rate quite as highly as he claimed he rated them.
20 Jul 2012, 12:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-379: That’s only half the story. It goes into Alsations, Jacuzzis and Speedos in chapter 2.
20 Jul 2012, 12:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-372:
Why are you watching him like a hawk?
@>^..^< katman(katman)-378:
Trouble is something of an understatement.
He’s been on gardening leave since Jan.
20 Jul 2012, 12:10 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-374: Not strictly true. Some coaches go for playing ability only. The skillset for international rugby is much wider. In the Sadie context, HM made a statement claiming Sadie should go to the RWC. In literal form, that’s what he mean. I can’t help but think, given HM’s penchant for psychology, he was planting a seed for his Bok coach ambitions. It’s a kind of a one-up.
20 Jul 2012, 12:11 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-377: That was the Meyer’brand’ with it’s PR machine in overdrive…..
I don’t mind the man, and he will be judged like all others on his results – nothing more, nothing less, BUT: I will not be sucked into declaring him the ‘Almighty’ just because he has a good head for business. (Because that’s what most of the bells and whistles are….)
20 Jul 2012, 12:13 pm
Are you still watching my angel?
20 Jul 2012, 12:14 pm
271 for 4
20 Jul 2012, 12:15 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-386:
What you on about now.
20 Jul 2012, 12:15 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-383: Thank me good man. Told you – watching him like a hawk….and GONE Cook mudder trucker.
Bopara must chuck as well – quickly.
20 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-389:
No wonder it’s bucketing down outside. SL agree with you on something.
20 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-382: Eish. I will have to work harder at convincing these Sharkies that I am not that person.
20 Jul 2012, 12:17 pm
@pompies2(pompies2)-384: I think that HM’s approach is you can develop the mental side if you have the right basics to work with. Its not only about a lack of self confidence but also containing an over confidence and having players make the right decisions for the team based on an understanding and confidence in each other built over the years.
You can actually see that phenomenon in the Sharks side at the moment in that Freddie (although he hasn’t played with him that long) benefits mentally from having Frans on his outside.
Will be interesting to see how he deals with Morne Steyn following the recent blows to his confidence at Test level.
Indeed muffin.
Now we need Big Vern to come to the Party.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-385:
I was just as pissed off as you are with HM by selecting a pro Bulls team.
But I have faith in the guy and I believe he will adapt his gameplan to the circumstances.
He hasn’t lost a game yet.
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-376: http://shop.efcafrica.com/388/efc%2015%20live%20-%20fight%2001%20-%2013.aspx
20 Jul 2012, 12:19 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-386: It was my stare that kicked him into gear…. like a hawk
Don’t tell me you weren’t a little disappointed with him yesterday (and a few others..), flat chest to bowl on or not.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-381:
“…that to get the best out of a player, you make him believe that you believe in him. And that by boosting his confidence, you will boost his performance.”
That philosophy did not seem to be working with Morne Steyn during the series against England. Sometimes a player needs a kick in the butt to come right.
They are adults, for crying out loud, not school boys.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-394:
Would you have a different point of view if Farrell’s drop sailed over and between the posts?
20 Jul 2012, 12:20 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-381:
Ol’ Gravitas is back.
20 Jul 2012, 12:21 pm
They looked very flat.
Not up for it at all. A lack of hostility.
There seems to be more intent out there today.
20 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
Yoh, thank goodness Cook is out.
Why have they selected Bopara ahead of Morgan.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-385: Interesting that whilst he didn’t achieve magnificant results at Leicester you only have to look at what Leceister has gone onto , without major acquisitions, to understand that structures are important to him. Now i know that they were always a good club but they have introduced some great youngsters in the last few years and we’ve had the benefit of using some of them here in Holland to coach our youngsters every year.
They have some excellent structures in place and go all over England and Europe if need be to coach youngsters and bring them into the Leicester fold. Now I’m not sure that this was HM’s doing but he would certainly have promoted that.
@Transformation(Transformation)-358:
Yeah I remember something like that; I think he even compared him to Lem (Henry Honeyball)
The influential characters make these utterances for selfish reasons as it only serves to create unrealistic expectations with the young and naive players.
20 Jul 2012, 12:24 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-390: He agreed with me?
Explains the rain for sure.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-394: That was just one of the things that has me questioning a little. If he gets the results…no-one will complain.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-393: Told you Bopara would chuck quickly……very quickly. I better keep up with my hawk act.
20 Jul 2012, 12:24 pm
Another from Dale.
20 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@David(David)-361:
I agree 100% but than again the need to be in control can be overwhelming
20 Jul 2012, 12:26 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-362:
Dont tell Skoppie that
20 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
So, convicted fraudster Jackie Selebi will be released on medical parole today after serving less than one year of a 15 year sentence.
“He has end stage renal disease.”
I am speechless.
20 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-408: I’m speechless that you’re surprised at all
20 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-408:
Why?
Par for the course.
We must have it.
20 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-402: He is most definitely gifted in certain facets of management. That is has been my point: should he not have perhaps been appointed as SARU’s DOR instead of head coach for the Boks….
The results will give me an answer
20 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-408:
No need to act surprised. It was always on the cards.
20 Jul 2012, 12:34 pm
What odds are the bookies offering on Selebi’s time remaining to live?
I’d be willing to take a flutter on ten years’ plus…
20 Jul 2012, 12:36 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-413:
A fair chance.
Once a liar and a thief….
20 Jul 2012, 12:41 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-414: What were the odds being offered on old Shaikin Stevens’s lifespan post – release?
One can use his end stage hypertension as a yardstick…
20 Jul 2012, 12:42 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-381:
Are you also part of Heyneke’s talmidim?
1st Point Mallett: I think that guy talks to himself because he loves his own voice
I am not against good and sound coaching principles. You should know that. I simply keep a close eye on small events and construct an opinion on someone; in this case Heyneke. I have nothing against Heyneke – I actually hope he succeeds but I get uncomfortable when I see him sending on all his reserves except Bjorn and Elton. And yes, I will flag it – remember all his players are Gentiles so dont worry about race.
I see Derrick is helping out at a local high school, teaching the boys how to kick and he seemed to be enjoying himself
20 Jul 2012, 12:42 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-413:
How long was Shabir supposed to live?
20 Jul 2012, 12:44 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-417:
It’s a miracle.
20 Jul 2012, 12:45 pm
Indeed Pedi.
Someone is going through the medical almanac for cadre members.
I wonder what disease John Block will contract when they finally put him away?
20 Jul 2012, 12:47 pm
Who’s Pedi
20 Jul 2012, 12:47 pm
Imagine Zoomer gets toppled and they reinstate the charges against him?
I’m going with Pneumonia at a military hospital.
20 Jul 2012, 12:48 pm
Is it my imagination or has Biff lost weight
20 Jul 2012, 12:49 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-420: wikitilidie
20 Jul 2012, 12:50 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-421: nah, syphillis or something…
What is end stage renal disease? Is the tip of his piepie vrot?
Nee vok Kallis
That fringe does look kuk
Pedigree.
The tequila Sheila.
@Dawn(Dawn)-422: see in a WIDE screen tv, he’ll look fat as normal.
20 Jul 2012, 12:51 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-417: That’s cruel. Golf saved his life…
Selebi will join his four ball to check if the same treatment will work for him.
20 Jul 2012, 12:52 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-429: And Yengeni will give them a lift to the course.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-427: i thought it was wikiPEDIa till i die
Ukalleeeesss!
Ask not for whom the Bell tolls.
20 Jul 2012, 12:53 pm
Kallis bowls Bell.
Cheetahs need locks, not centres.
And what’s happening with Juan Smith?
@Transformation(Transformation)-428:
OK
I watching on the walka
Dont call my Biff fat
@Transformation(Transformation)-431:
I like the way you think.
WikitillIdie
20 Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
Protea jou lekka ding!
20 Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-435:
He’s been working very hard.
Him and Ukalleees.
20 Jul 2012, 12:55 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-425:
Stage 5 Chronic Kidney Disease.
Requires permanent dialysis.
Must have liked his booze back in the day.
20 Jul 2012, 12:56 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-421: If Zoomer goes to the tjoekie, my guess he will be diagnosed with a terminal ingrown toenail and be left to live out his days with dignity at Arabella.
20 Jul 2012, 12:57 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-439: What’s the prognosis? They only giving him another 25 years to live?
20 Jul 2012, 12:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-435: well he is, wide.
20 Jul 2012, 12:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-440:
More like a fractured c.ock.
20 Jul 2012, 12:58 pm
Ukalleeees’ hair is kuk
20 Jul 2012, 12:59 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-442:
Lekker gebou.
20 Jul 2012, 13:00 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-419:
You do realise that he will have to be found guilty of course?
@Dawn(Dawn)-420:
Just Gunthies childish way.
20 Jul 2012, 13:02 pm
@nama1(nama1)-446:
What’s the matter snookums?
20 Jul 2012, 13:03 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-441:
Apparently the annual mortality rate for End Stage Renal Disease is 22%, so on average an ESRD patient on dialysis will live for just under 5 years.
20 Jul 2012, 13:04 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-443:
Broken Arrow?
20 Jul 2012, 13:04 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-439:
They’ve been claiming that he is on dialysis ever since he’s gone to prison, not so?
Maybe it’s true that he is on his last legs.
20 Jul 2012, 13:05 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-449:
Well.
Bent certainly.
20 Jul 2012, 13:08 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-447:
Nothing.
Mistakenly thought that you were making a play on my nic when you used “pedi’ and “john Block” in the same comment. You and I have been discussing JB for a long while.
Apologies.
20 Jul 2012, 13:09 pm
Hope Tahir can wrap up the tail.
Haven’t seen his victorious lap of honour for a while.
20 Jul 2012, 13:09 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-451:
Ah.
Bent Spear.
Look it up.
20 Jul 2012, 13:10 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-453: I just hope the pill stops moving around when we go in…..it’s starting to look a bit ominous for batters
20 Jul 2012, 13:13 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-453:
Geoffrey Boycott reckons he’ll be able to play Tahir at 60.
Seems Tahir is just as overrated as Fransie is in rugby.
Watch Swann getting much more out of the pitch and trouble the top order batsman much more than what Tahir is doing.
20 Jul 2012, 13:14 pm
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-455:
Wrap up the tail and them let it rain for the rest of the day.
20 Jul 2012, 13:15 pm
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-455:
Are you talking about the Eye, cause it is moves very slowly, takes about an hour to move all the way round.
20 Jul 2012, 13:16 pm
@nama1(nama1)-456: He said he can play him at 70
His current age….
I am hoping Tahir challenges the old fecker to put his money where his mouth is during the lunch interval on Day 5….
20 Jul 2012, 13:17 pm
@nama1(nama1)-456:
He’s overrated because Fiery says so?
Swann is the best spinner in test cricket.
He should be better than Tahir.
Why do you have such a hardon for Fransie?
20 Jul 2012, 13:18 pm
@nama1(nama1)-456:
Tahir is NOT overated. Getting any “spin” in England on the 1st day is very hard.
He also had to bowl to a left hand/right hand partnership which is hard for a leggie.
Give him time he’ll get there.
20 Jul 2012, 13:20 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-461:
Tahir is in there ahead of his beloved Robbie P.
Who hasn’t turned one since Mbeki was president.
20 Jul 2012, 13:22 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-458: Well I wasn’t….but I am now!
20 Jul 2012, 13:23 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-460: Fransie overrated? You reckon?
20 Jul 2012, 13:25 pm
@Skeppie(Skeppie)-464:
No Nama does.
I think he is a decent player.
Namski thinks he is the Antichrist.
20 Jul 2012, 13:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-462:
Robbie tries to beat the bat with flight and gile but top quality test batsmen will just milk him and not play to many big shots because they know if do the captain will take him off.
20 Jul 2012, 13:27 pm
Match ups in this series.
Smith vs Strauss [both openers and both captains]
Amla vs Cook [both consistent batsman who like to score 100's]
Kallis vs Trott [both solid with good defence, rock of the batting line up]
AB vs KP [both attacking, flair, adventurous batsman who like to dominate]
Pietersen and Duminy vs Bopara and Bell [they can be the surprise packages]
All in all, the batting line ups square of evenly and it will be up to the bowlers to decide this series.
If Steyn and Morkel can reproduce the form they showed during the IPL and Philander can continue where he left off during the SA international season, then we can beat the Poms and take the no.1 spot on the international rankings.
20 Jul 2012, 13:29 pm
Indeed Jerry.
Good option as a one day player but not test material.
It’s great to finally have a genuine wrist spinner.
20 Jul 2012, 13:30 pm
@nama1(nama1)-467:
Kallis and Trott in the same sentence.
20 Jul 2012, 13:30 pm
Rudolph knocks on.
20 Jul 2012, 13:31 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-465: Nama be smoking his socks
20 Jul 2012, 13:31 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-462:
Now, why do you say that?
When did I ever endorse Robbie P?
You are just saying that because we are the same colour, isn’t it?
Always about colour for you okes.
Tsk, tsk, tsk.
20 Jul 2012, 13:33 pm
Robbie is next in line no?
Why are you do insecure?
20 Jul 2012, 13:33 pm
In other news, the Goose has just ducked below par.
Although the Yank, Snedeker, is making a mockery of the course. Four under at the close yesterday, he’s already another 3 shots under after only 7 holes today.
20 Jul 2012, 13:36 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-469:
What Trott lacks in talent (something Kallis has in abundance), he makes up for with hard work, grit and determination.
Gary Kirsten, Steve Waugh like.
I’m by no means suggesting that he is as good as Kallis. I’m saying that he plays a similar role in the English team ie holding the batting together if Cook or Strauss (or both) go early.
His record is very good for someone so limited ito natural talent.
20 Jul 2012, 13:36 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-474:
Snedeker?
Sounds like he needs to buy a vowel.
20 Jul 2012, 13:42 pm
Tahir gets Prior.
Guess that means Boycott is a better batsman than Prior…
20 Jul 2012, 13:42 pm
Overrated.
20 Jul 2012, 13:43 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-477:
Ahem. Apologies, he got Bresnan.
20 Jul 2012, 13:44 pm
@nama1(nama1)-475:
Based on Gary Kasparov’s book – How life imitates chess, hard work, grit and determination is a talent.
Many people always say that players like Hansie and Steven Waugh didn’t have natural talent like a Cullinan or Gibbs but their talent was their ability to work hard at their game.
20 Jul 2012, 13:46 pm
Broad in…..After Chris Ashton, the Pom I would most enjoy lightly showering with a few layers of teargas.
Be gone Satan.
20 Jul 2012, 13:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-481:
Twat deluxe.
It’s always out when he’s bowling and never out when he’s batting.
Usually uses up England’s reviews singlhsndedly.
20 Jul 2012, 13:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-481:
What do you have against The Enforcer?
20 Jul 2012, 13:50 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-473:
I don’t know where Robbie is ranked when it comes to the test team. He should not be near it afa I’m concerned.
Nothing insecure about me.
Just don’t like it when people make silly statements inferring colour when I did not meant that way.
I do have the right to defend myself if you “accuse” me of preferring someone because of colour.
Please, don’t ask me where you’ve mentioned colour. It is there for all to see.
In any case, I’m out for a while.
Good luck for your team.
I don’t believe they’ll make it tomorrow but they have done well to get this far after losing the bulk of their senior players at the end of last year. I told you earlier in the year (before the season started) that they will compete with the likes of the Lions and the Rebels for the last 3 or 4 positions at the bottom of the log. I was wrong about that.
Well done to them.
20 Jul 2012, 13:57 pm
@nama1(nama1)-484:
You are wrong about a lot of things.
But I don’t hold it against you because we’re buds.
20 Jul 2012, 14:02 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-482: @WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-483: F eck he fancies himself silly.
Tahir just pulled a Broad on review
20 Jul 2012, 14:04 pm
Love is in the air, wil jy staan of wil jy lê.
20 Jul 2012, 14:24 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-480:
hansie had more talent than he knew what to do with…
he got bored just playing normal cricket…
his challenge was seeing if he could get out on 68 or 17 or…
by snicking a ball to second slip… or firing one down the throat of long-on… or… and make it all look like he didn’t mean it…
to keep things interesting he would try to pre-determine not only how many runs he scored but how he would be given out and to which fielder…
and put a little money on it… could make more than his salary like that…
20 Jul 2012, 14:36 pm
@ufo(ufo)-488:
And the sad thing is we will never know what actually went down ’cause the other SA players involved will never own up to it.
Hansie IMO was the orchestrator but wasn’t the only one involved.
20 Jul 2012, 14:37 pm
@nama1(nama1)-484:
I think your matchups are a bit out. Looks like Petersen is opening, with Amla at 3 AB 5, Rudolph 6 and JP 7. That’s a very strong batting lineup.
20 Jul 2012, 14:42 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-489:
not publicly anyway…
he was definitely not the only one involved… all the captains at the time were… as were most of the players…
20 Jul 2012, 14:42 pm
@David(David)-490:
He’s matched them up like for like.
Not where they bat.
20 Jul 2012, 15:23 pm
And so Denzel Washington strikes …
20 Jul 2012, 15:26 pm
I have put my money on Smith retiring a 3rd English Captain on his 3rd visit to England, in 2003 He retired Nasser who was replaced by Vaughan, Vaughan went on to be successful against everyone including winning the Ashes, then Smith arrived again in England and retired him, promptly replaced by Strauss, now Strauss’s position is as precarious as was Vaughan’s after beating Australia, now lets see whether Biff does what he does best, retire Strauss and get him replaced, Cook seems to be cooking…….
20 Jul 2012, 15:51 pm
Is Denzel playing
20 Jul 2012, 16:17 pm
Fark Smith is useless!
He’s stance and grip is a dead giveaway as to where he wants to play. In all his years of playing first class cricket I find it strange that not one coach could rectify his shortcomings? Or is Biff more than just a little dof?
20 Jul 2012, 17:30 pm
@216 It’s easier to say PdV was “the worst coach since re-admission” because of the colour of his skin & make no mention of Markgraaff & Straueli
20 Jul 2012, 21:35 pm
skittle sticks and golf .. 2 of the most boring sports ever devised by ‘civilized’ man
… and all these captains of industry who sit around for 6 hours on the trot all day long on a rugby site discussing boring nonentity sports like these colloquial vestiges of empirical colonialism as they rake in those 7 digit annual pay checks handed to them by virtue of their better breeding to pass away the boredom sitting on their glorious guava’s while other men sweat bricks just to buy a cabbage and cauliflower for the dinner broth.
How the capitalist society has flourished in these times of equal opportunity for the queens quintessential favors.
20 Jul 2012, 21:38 pm
PdV’s failure was 2 fold.. John Smit and Fourie Du Preez… That is where PdV went down the chute into mediocre obscurity.. had he ditched those two overrated hasta la vista beans as early as 2009 his entire legacy would have looked a whole lot different.
21 Jul 2012, 00:39 am
always complaining about something, huh skop? Never happy, always bitter.