Saders surge into semis
21 Jul 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Crusaders’ 28-13 victory over the Bulls in which they were never stretched by the bumbling and lethargic South Africans.
Hail the play-off kings. The 15-point margin of defeat flatters the Bulls. Not for a minute did the Crusaders look like their imposing record in the knock-out stages would be tarnished. They were dominant in every facet of play, supremely so.
Their method was pragmatic and if there was anything spectacular about this performance it was found in the unfailing accuracy with which they execute a simple game plan. Add a measure of individual flair and you had a cocktail that incapacitated the Bulls. This was a statement performance that should concern their semi-final opponents.
For the Bulls, there is no shame in losing to the Crusaders in Christchurch. Indeed those who believed they would break their drought in the city had no real base for that belief. This Bulls side is vastly inferior, lacking the calibre of players and experience to have harboured serious ambitions of an upset.
However, while the result was not surprising, the quality of their error-strewn performance certainly was. They fed Dan Carter with kickable opportunities and paid the ultimate price, the flyhalf racking up 18 points with his boot.
It would be remiss not to credit the Crusaders for the manner in which they blunted the Bulls’ attacking intent. Physical, often brutal, and consistently accurate in defence, they simply bullied their visitors into submission. They owned the gainline, and the Bulls were rarely able find the space or time they needed to roll out their game plan. Consequently they were made to look rudderless for large periods of the contest, with their struggles compounded by the injury-enforced replacement of Chiliboy Ralepelle (10th minute), Bjorn Basson (37th) and Akona Ndungane (43rd).
Conversely the Crusaders were able to control the game’s flow, tempo and territory, with their halfback pair of Dan Carter and Andy Ellis orchestrating matters. The Bulls were unable to quell the Crusaders’ heavies in close quarters and conceded a string of penalties, two of which Carter banked before he added a conversion after expertly putting Zac Guilford through a hole in the defensive line with a perfectly timed pass.
Carter sunk a right-footed drop goal shortly thereafter to give his side a comfortable lead, but the hosts would have been acutely aware of their failings in the red zone which meant the Bulls were still alive at 16-3 going down the tunnel.
Carter capitalised on ill-discipline which has been a depressing feature of the Bulls’ campaign, kicking six more points just after the restart. But the Bulls found some groove, scoring through Dewald Potgieter after a powerful rolling maul.
The Crusaders were content to revert to a holding pattern, punching up through their forwards or inviting the Bulls to attack from deep by kicking in behind their back three. There would be no telling rebuttal from the three-time champions outside of a late Wynand Olivier try that served only to add a dash of respectability to the scoreline.
Crusaders – Try: Zac Guilford. Conversion: Carter. Penalty: Dan Carter (6), Drop goal: Carter
Bulls – Try: Dewald Potgieter, Wynand Olivier. Penalty: Morne Steyn

318 Comments
21 Jul 2012, 08:21 am
Go the blue dragons!
beat these filthy cheating keewees!
21 Jul 2012, 08:21 am
Bully beef for a Crusader’s dinner…
21 Jul 2012, 08:22 am
Check this out,hillarious.
Unfortuanatly this is in Afrikaans and cannot be translated.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dr5J8c17-78
21 Jul 2012, 08:22 am
Today history will be made. Everyone has written off the Bulls. These boys have a well documented track record of making it through from the back and they have done it before; today is no different.
21 Jul 2012, 08:36 am
GOOOOOOOOOO BULLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
damn that took a lot out of me, i am drained
come bulls slaughter them saders and make SA proud
21 Jul 2012, 08:45 am
GO BULLSSSS!!! Beat the Crusaders so we don’t have to face them in the semis!
21 Jul 2012, 08:47 am
It’s actually a solid team- GREAT forwards minus Britney Spies- all other 7 solid players. 9 and 10 solid. Centers solid. I don’t rate the back 3- that is their biggest weakness.
21 Jul 2012, 08:48 am
@bangkok-bok-7:
Oliver solid lol he’s hopeless
21 Jul 2012, 08:52 am
GO BULLS GO.
21 Jul 2012, 08:54 am
@Puma-9:
hey Puma,the Bulls will be exiting the comp in a few hours, your Sharks have a decent chance though
21 Jul 2012, 08:57 am
The head says Saders
but heart says
Gooi mielies BULLE!!!
21 Jul 2012, 08:58 am
@NZINCHINA-10: hiyas NZ both matches will be very tough, the BUlls yes we all think will prolly lose, but eish they know how to play playoff matches so never say never
Saders also in good form, and we know how dangerous they can be so yeah one heck of a match comming up
21 Jul 2012, 08:59 am
@wpstormerbok-11: same here
21 Jul 2012, 09:00 am
@NZINCHINA-8: Look- I am the 1st person to bay for his head- when he was picked for the Boks I nearly had a thrombosis! Reality is at S15 level and given the Bulls brand of rugby he isn’t their WEAKEST link. We don’t have a huge talent of 12s in SA- he has not let the team down this year.
21 Jul 2012, 09:01 am
@NZINCHINA-10: Hoping my Sharks and Bulls can. If not at least it spares our Boks the monster travel awaiting them. Especially the Sharks Boks. Truely a daft format this.
21 Jul 2012, 09:02 am
@wpstormerbok-11:
21 Jul 2012, 09:04 am
@sharks_lover-13:
I fear for their scrum but if the game somehow flows in a way that there aren’t too many happening and the Bulls dominate line-outs then the Bulls will be in it, I doubt that’ll be enough to win but it’ll give them something to work from.
21 Jul 2012, 09:06 am
@Puma-16:
Should they pull it off we’ll resume our rivalries as soon as the final whistle goes
21 Jul 2012, 09:06 am
@wpstormerbok-17: Bulls game is all about forward domination, unless that happems i see hard times for them, they cant afford to sit back and kick the ball away all the time, this is where i see problems for them
21 Jul 2012, 09:09 am
Crikey…I am feeling like a test match is about to take place…heart says Bulls but head gives the heart a sinking feeling…don’t think they will pull it through…here’s hoping they do…go bulls…!!!!
21 Jul 2012, 09:15 am
@sharks_lover-19:
Yes, they’ll have to at least match the Crusaders up front, keep their possession and if they do kick it should be for the corners and not just deep up and unders. That way they’ll either get to challenge Saders line-out in their half or they can force them to kick back and still get the line-out platform to launch attacks from or heaven forbid should they counter attack themselves from aimless kicks returned.
21 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
“Bulls making it through from the back”
Nice Shark supporter comment!
21 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
@wpstormerbok-21: exactly
21 Jul 2012, 09:17 am
ek skree vir wp maar vandag die bulls…!!!
21 Jul 2012, 09:18 am
@wpstormerbok-21: Hougaard could ip he has a blinder spark things for the BUlls, a lot will hinge on his play
21 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
@ufo-24:
gm UFO bro, yeah next 2 hows im a Bulls supporter full on
21 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
@sharks_lover-26: hows = hours
21 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU::::::::::::::::::::::::::LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
21 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
@sharks_lover-12:
Unfortunately those were previous Bulls sides. This one is untested in that situation.
21 Jul 2012, 09:21 am
GO BULLIES, MAY YOU WIN AND GORE THEM A NEW ONE !!!
21 Jul 2012, 09:22 am
@sharks_lover-25:
Almost forgot about him, you’re right if anybody’s gonna pull a rabbit out of a hat today it’ll probably come through him.
@ufo-24:
with you on that!
21 Jul 2012, 09:26 am
anyone got a decent link (web link) to the game?
21 Jul 2012, 09:28 am
Hey SL… Puma… Dawn… WpSB… NZiC… Guys…
Great day all…
Fully behind the Bulls today…
on mobile so plz forgive slow or no answers
O
21 Jul 2012, 09:28 am
@David-29: david although true?? Bulls still have far more players playing that have won the trophy then is the case with the Saders, BUt at home the Saders?? oh hell it’s one very tough match for the Bulls,and sadly what happened before counts for nothing
BUT
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
BUUUUULLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
21 Jul 2012, 09:29 am
@ufo-33:
ok bro we will forgive you in advance
21 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
hougie is due for a big game,lets hope its today
i am sitting here with the breakfeast of champs,a nice boerie roll:-)
21 Jul 2012, 09:31 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-36: Enjoy, good morning old chap
21 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
no rain,no wind
only 17 000 crowd attendance
wtf?
21 Jul 2012, 09:34 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-38:
21 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
McCaw looks like a stiched up Cyborg from WWIII..
21 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
howzit sl
if the ref is fair at the breakdown mccaw will be persona non grata and the bulls in with a shout.
21 Jul 2012, 09:38 am
that was close for timotei
bad luck,bounce of the ball
16000 people??? LOL!! Fark these kiwis are lame softcocks!
how was that turnover legal?
can some1 explain?
21 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
SL.. and then the next two hours ek skree…
Sssaaarkss…!!!
21 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@Papoose-44: Tackler got back onto his feet and was not cleaned out
21 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@ufo-45:
good man
21 Jul 2012, 09:41 am
CHilliboy stuffs up the throw in, reprieve for the Saders
21 Jul 2012, 09:42 am
dunno what to make of that penalty,very grey situation.
21 Jul 2012, 09:43 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-49: Ref got it wrong
21 Jul 2012, 09:44 am
bulls losing stupid turnovers
Howzit Guns
What k ak from chili
21 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
CHILLIBOY you Beast. what a tackle!
21 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
what a c ocktonsil,that bulls prop is light years offside
you are not going to win a game playing like that.
21 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
2 fuckups from Olivier already! Bulls giving away soft turnovers too argh!
21 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
How is Potgieter a Bok lol
21 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
Easy pickings the caveman was way too upright.
21 Jul 2012, 09:50 am
That bulls prop looked like he thought he was wearing a crusaders number 9.
21 Jul 2012, 09:51 am
@58 yep he’s clearly learning his posture from Spies..
21 Jul 2012, 09:51 am
Bulls are nowhere……..
21 Jul 2012, 09:55 am
Kak that buls must play with quotas… Chilli and zane made kak in first 5 mins… Or else saders should also play with only 13 men
21 Jul 2012, 09:56 am
Spies pulling his usual disappearing act
21 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
damn Bulls being penalised big time
Is Spies playing tonight?
Such ill discipline by the Bulls
tsk tsk
21 Jul 2012, 09:58 am
Saders controlling things – Bulls need to start getting their hands on the ball
No game plan being shown by the bulls currently!!
bulls nedd to score a converted try now to still be in this?
21 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
Headless chickens! No plan no ideas
21 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
A few iffy ruck calls against the Bulls.
21 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
why are these Bulls players panicking like this
even this kick from Hougaards continually unacceptable
21 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
Where is the Bokke number 8 AWOL?
21 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
Ellis is better than I thought he can play?
62 @ Grant10
Compared to passengers like Spies, Steyn etc. Joker
lamb chops or rump steak tonight?
21 Jul 2012, 10:02 am
oh dear
Men vs boys out there.
at last, the system kept telling me my first contribution, was too fast
21 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
This is going to be a cricket score.
It usually is with the Crusaders in a home play off game.
21 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
Bulls to get a HIDING as i predicted
21 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
Morne Steyn…..oh dear.
Saders had enough advantage after the knock. How come they were called back?
That was inevitable. Eish was hoping the bulls would show more spine today
21 Jul 2012, 10:05 am
Bulls Lineout in Sader 22
lets see if they can win a clean ,lineout
game over
bulls wont come back from this the way they are playing today.
Spies is there just saw him
Cleverly disguised black scrumcap
21 Jul 2012, 10:06 am
Bulls heart isn’t in it.
They are giving the ball away far too easily.
It appears they had given up before kick off, or if not, then just after it.
@grant10-62: I’m glad that I’m not the only person who sees the quotas. Chilliboy is s h i t! The people on here who think he is any good are secretly wishing he is. Niknaks is also K A K!
I hate wishing hurt on anyone but I hope M Steyn gets a severe injury to keep him out of the game for a year.
50 point moering still on the cards.
Morne Steyn is the kakkest Bull on the field.
21 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
@Dawn-87: Hope he gets a broken leg and never plays the good game again!
If Steyn plays 10 for the Bokke in the RC the Bokke will get slaughtered.
Bulls are playing some really silly rugby.
Play for the corners, and apply the pressure. Don’t even think about doing anything else.
21 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
in 27
13:00
How can the Bulls expect to win games away with the like of Chilibooi, Kirchner and Ndungane?
And do Jonker, no Joubert, no Pro Legota either?
21 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
How kuk is Stain?
Hopefully HM realises that these blokes in blue are too kuk to wear green and gold
21 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
@NZINCHINA-92:
Thanks Captain Obvious
21 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
Comments posting buggy
21 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
Seyne is an anachonism and past his best. time to retire.
@Hondo-94: ffs why come turn this thread into a political dump?? get over it ffs
Jeez Steyn is useless. The very reason why the Bulls are in shock…
I hope HM is taking a good look…
21 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
Spies is playing like an old woman
@Gumboots-100: Indeed
@Kat Peyper hammering the Bulls a bit but they are dire, getting turned over at will, Steyn hopeless and they don’t have a no. 8 on the field
21 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@Hondo-101: Thats an insult to old women
@sharks_lover-99:
Honda is just trying to start a race debate (as usual). Just ignore the tool.
Where is Tacitus and Gunther?
Are they still gonna tell us that Morne is Bok quality?
21 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
Bulls should be penalised more… Slowing the ball down all the time…
21 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
Bulls playing 2009 rugby. Not going to work here.
Cmon you fking Bulls, get ur act together.
M Steyn Bok carreer is over.
21 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
jis mense hier is n bloubul ietse
luister die tune
lees die comments
http://www.watkykjy.co.za/2012/06/lekker-blou-bulle-geeeees/#comments
@willievz-106: Spoes and Stain – the Terrors from Tswane
@Hondo-101:
So Spies is playing like…..Spies
21 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-96:
glad you can smile about it, i’d be slitting my wrists if we had a 10 like him
21 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
Even though they have big men, particularly in ther front row. Africans no longer scrum with the best. I cannot wait to see Punas embarrass all three 3N teams.
21 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
@Trupi lol – spoes
@bangkok-bok-89: in case you havent noticed, Chilli had an injury after 10 minutes and was subbed.
the Saders hooker Flynn was also subbed cos of an injury
dont bring colour in here with your racist bigotry
The Bulls are their own worst enemies. They’re conspiring against themselves.
21 Jul 2012, 10:17 am
@John Galt-108:
It can work.
If you have FDP and Steyn kicking with pin point accuracy.
And Matfield stealing every line out.
People forget how bloody hard the Bulls and Bok gameplan of 2009 was too pull off.
21 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
Jirre Spoes jy is kak verby!
21 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
Bulls need to man the faark up and stop playing like a bunch of powderpuffs! Crusaders extremely clinical and great technique in every aspect of play.. Very well drilled team.
21 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
@John Galt-108: Bulls are not going to save the Stormers from the CapeSaders who will be celebrating non stop next weekend.
Bye bye Stormers.
@John Galt-108: One can only hope
Peyper also under the McCheat influence one feels but boy has Morne gone AWOL
21 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
these crusaders are erratic…
And Spies is useless as a player and captain
Juandre Kruger standing off at every ruck like a girl. Scared of the rough stuff. Been saying all along his work rate is poor and tonight he proves it again. Springbok se gat!
21 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
Your site is accepting comments too slowly. Speed up.
21 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
Spies.
Fk me, how much has he regressed.
21 Jul 2012, 10:22 am
@IAAS-116:
Howzit Boet! Agree. There is no game plan at all. Steyn not having a clue what to do with the ball…
@Papoose-115:
Where did you get this one?
Flynn is on the field
@willievz-106:
Actually you will find I have been moaning about him for most of the season.
He’s cost us three games this year and looks like this one won’t be any different.
Why don’t you save your breath and tell us how you know Shane Warne would never gave played for south africa know it all?
21 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
120 @ RL
Shame you’re still worried about the Stormers. Hahahhahahahaha
21 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
@RL-120:
Bye bye Lions.
21 Jul 2012, 10:25 am
Werner Kruger, Spoes and Steyn are currently AWFUL rugby players with little room or inclination for improvement. Sad that they’re still likely to feature for the Boks for years to come in some capacity.
21 Jul 2012, 10:25 am
Bulls rugby = Bokke rugby
21 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
whopping 3 points in 120 minutes. nice.
F*** you keo.co.za. I’m NOT POSTING COMMENTS TOO QUICKLY!!!
@RL-120:
Such a xenophobe!
21 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@Spiesisworthless1-133:
They are all Boks!!! I want to see if HM has the balls to drop his superheros…
21 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-136:
thought it was just me as I was a Kiwi
21 Jul 2012, 10:28 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-136:
Same problem. Only comment and comes up with that.
Funny lillith and her capesader buddies with their grade 6 education…. Stormers have more coloured players and coaches than the saders… Lol…. Tik koppe
Stormers will beat the Saders at Newlands (if my Sharkies lose).
Bekker and co won’t be bossed.
But, I think the Sharks will beat the Stormers if they win today (but then lose in the final).
Just a feeling.
21 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
Keo site a fluckup this morning
@RL-120:
And that coming from you, a casual observer!!
The Bulls are still in it! Let’s hope they can man up second half. The first half was sad but the score is not that bad.
21 Jul 2012, 10:30 am
@NZINCHINA-139:
Ha ha, nope, but that’s not a bad idea (too slow down Kiwi and Aus posts). Maybe 1 per day
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130:
grunter moenie s uurgat raak omdat jou spand hondk ak speel nie.
@NZINCHINA-139: @Gumboots-140: the dwarf needs to get some speed for his site
21 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
I wonder if HM is watching this? The Zefsters are kak
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-136: We ALL type too fast.
@sharks_lover-143: 2nd time we have agreed in 2 days. Site as fe cked as Spies, Greyling, Kruger, J Potgieter and Steyn.
21 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
Bulls… poor when they are going backwards and the ref isn’t on their side…
21 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
Excellent kick off Stain.
21 Jul 2012, 10:33 am
@NZINCHINA-134:
Not for long
The Bulls haven’t won fair and square under proper referees last two seasons, they were gifted most of it, when it comes to the crunch that is what you get
The Boks is another story, they were gifted two tests under HM but he will make adjustment and will purge the likes of Spies, Kirchner, Styen
Bulls have come out firing…
Steyn, J Potgieter, the props, Spies – you got the answer right there
21 Jul 2012, 10:34 am
@Hondo-154: We can only hope HM does that. And you are right about the Bulls of course.
gumboots lets hope they can turn it around this half
@trupisero-148:
Speed is not his drug of choice
OMG was that a tackle attempt from Juandre Kruger? He’s such a girl. How is this guy a Bok? Watch him stay away from contact.
21 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
Saders playing into Bulls hands with aimless kicking
min 41
Kirchner’s 4th turn over of the match
Last night they did a downgrade on keo. Instead of the promised upgrade.
21 Jul 2012, 10:36 am
@Pee Wee-160: How many of them made the boks is a mystery
Bulls look good and then mess up… Eish
Guildford such a bad winger…
21 Jul 2012, 10:37 am
Tough playing Saders, in their cloak of invisibilty they are ALWAYS offside ALWAYS hands in the ruck and the likes of Guildford – little pampelpous…
And an awesome booing crowd – worse than Newlands – shame on you
21 Jul 2012, 10:38 am
I think the Crusaders will beat whoever they play in the semi final.
21 Jul 2012, 10:39 am
Has nobody told Potgieter that he needs get his body position lower when coming on a stand off? Geez man!
21 Jul 2012, 10:39 am
@IAAS-163: Well the downgrade was a huge success.
21 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
fat lady is warming up
21 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
@wooden spoon-168: The Saders not playing that great, the bulls are pisspoor
21 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
@goyougoodthing2-167:
its a SAFFA ref and you’re still bitching like a girl, why bother watching?
21 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
@AiDoc-171: Hope she comes on at 8
21 Jul 2012, 10:42 am
Sounds like they’re paling clown music for the Bulls.
playing
F0o0k this skop n jag is a big cop out by the Bulls
Run the ball if you have any hope in this game!
21 Jul 2012, 10:43 am
Poor crowd, showing your class Christchurch!!!
21 Jul 2012, 10:44 am
@NZINCHINA-173: It’s the way they play, it’s always the way they play… it’s expected… not bitching, just telling it like it is
21 Jul 2012, 10:45 am
Here comes Agile
why so much booing from the crowd?
pathetic
@We are called the Springboks-149: We are called the Springboks-149: Bud, most Bulls supporters are watching today.
They will find some excuse of statistic somewhere to justify the selection of Steyn, Spies, Olivier, Kirchner, J.Potgieter and W.Kruger.
Or say that the boys have learned a lot of lessons tonight and there is room for improvement.
I know it, and you know it.
21 Jul 2012, 10:46 am
Spies, M Steyn and Olivier being shown up for the sub standard players they are. Wepener is not even a rugby player – what is he doing in a S15 play off game. Embarrassing how the bulls are being cleaned out at ruck time.
Peiper is a sound technically, seemed to miss nothing
How come he is so biased and convoluted when reffing in SA?
Juandre Kruger off – coach saw exactly what I saw – nothing lol
This poor showing from the Bulls has me really worried that the Sharks are going to follow suit. I really hope not.
Let’s see how Alberts does at lock today because that could open up the flank for Brussow. If last weeks game showed me anything it was that there is no replacement for Bismark and that Brussow should be playing for the Boks.
21 Jul 2012, 10:47 am
Ref!!! Ellis was offside ffs that’s a penalty
21 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
Is there a bigger c.ock in world rugby than Guildford?
21 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
@willievz-182: Well said
21 Jul 2012, 10:49 am
@trupisero 174
Lol
@ goyougoodthing 178
Yep they knew it would not be a contest
I wish I watched the Warriors game instead of this ****. NRL appealing more and more the longer I’m exposed to these third rate so called premier rugby players.
The tswane terrors should have played in pink Vanish jerseys today. Far more appropriate
21 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
Hand off on Spies. lol
21 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-188: Have to agree… Guildford needs his face smashed.
He should look at the Mighty Carter and Ritchie… immense players and decent, down to earth blokes, even if I rip off Ritchie at times
21 Jul 2012, 10:51 am
@goyougoodthing2-187:
you’re a joke buddy the Bulls are so far offside at ruck time they should be wearing red
21 Jul 2012, 10:52 am
This is really poor. So much for the most entertaining team in South Africa. What is the use of entertainment when the basics are so poor…
Spies Spies Spies ffs
Boo boo boo, Bull Brand…
21 Jul 2012, 10:53 am
So, Saders either going to Hamilton or WP… I think they would win either
21 Jul 2012, 10:53 am
Lol, what a performance by the Bulls. Disgusting! No leader no guts
21 Jul 2012, 10:54 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-188:
Is there anyone softer than Spies?
@NZINCHINA-195: The Bulls are a joke but the Saders are constantly offside and spoiling much like the AB’s. Even if the Bulls had a game they wouldn’t be allowed to play it because of frankly illegal interference that the Kiwi’s have perfected to the detriment of the game and other rugby nations.
@TheTackler-198: Hahahahaaa
21 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
UnstoppaBULL
@NZINCHINA-195: No doubt, they probably are… I don’t care to be honest, don’t like the Bulls either… both these teams get away with murder… at least the Bulls are getting a dose of their own for once…
My MIGHTY SHARKS never cheat (even if they have the most yellows in the comp)
@bangkok-bok-89 & Hondo
what you say now about that missed lineout now by weepenaar?
trolls!
21 Jul 2012, 10:56 am
Mabe if they played in Pretoria Pink they would show some guts
Dewald you beauty… What a player…
OMG!! Bulls score lol
21 Jul 2012, 10:57 am
Crusaders re-group now
Pottie is a class!
@Spiesisworthless1-202: Have to agree with you there… Tony Johnson will say that it’s ‘playing on the limits of the laws’ but I say it’s downright spoiling… but it’s been that way for years…
21 Jul 2012, 10:58 am
My problem is that HM probably reckons that the Bulls Boks will play better under his own ex Bulls coaching team.
21 Jul 2012, 10:59 am
If we play like this in the Rugby Championship with these players we are f—-ked.
Bulls lost this game before it even started, it’s quite clear that they never believed that they had a chance of beating the crusaders, the Cheetahs and lions would have given the crusaders more of a challenge.
Penalty count tells the story.
21 Jul 2012, 11:00 am
carter’s tactical kicking is s.hit today.
21 Jul 2012, 11:00 am
Oh Britney…
21 Jul 2012, 11:01 am
A prop stripped by a 10
21 Jul 2012, 11:01 am
taking space?? Ref please. You are too late to save them! Try. May be you can save them
21 Jul 2012, 11:02 am
@wp_boytjie-214: If the bok coach selects these players for the championship we are fckued
21 Jul 2012, 11:02 am
Another offside penalty from the Bulls, yer I can see who does all the infringing.
21 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
Yip and another one, what a joke are the Bulls now cheating?
21 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
The usual “wallpaper noise” means Saders are doing just fine enough.
21 Jul 2012, 11:04 am
Carter a real mix bag today…Great defence, very storng with ball in hand, but horrible tactical kicking.
21 Jul 2012, 11:04 am
Jeez the Stormers would have expected the Bulls to soften the Saders… Not at all… Airy fairy rugby…
21 Jul 2012, 11:05 am
Gonna be a long flight home
21 Jul 2012, 11:05 am
Mooi Stain!
21 Jul 2012, 11:06 am
fat lady getting hot and ready to sing. Bruise free footy, the call it in Melbourne
21 Jul 2012, 11:06 am
@Pencil-225:
Carter is only 80% of the player he was 3-4 years ago. But that’s still 20% better than anyone else.
21 Jul 2012, 11:07 am
@modawg-221:
Can already see it happening.
21 Jul 2012, 11:07 am
The Bulls have made this Saders team look a little better than what they actually are…
21 Jul 2012, 11:08 am
Question for those in favour of the kick-chase:
How many times did the Bulls get the ball back tonight?
The real positive from today’s game is that Tac will be supporting the Sharks from here on…
Els and Aiken nicely situated on the third day of The Open.
21 Jul 2012, 11:09 am
Hope the Sharks don’t dish up the same rubbish
Why are the Bulls kicking all the ball away? Is this a friggin joke?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree stole my password-232:
agree the Crusaders have been average tonight
21 Jul 2012, 11:10 am
Stain had a generally unhappy visit?
He was kuk man!
Jissus the Bulls are playing stupid rugby and executing that bad gameplan very badly.
They have kept ball in hand twice in 2nd half and both times went all the way to the 22.
I cant stand these aimless kicks, and then the chase is so lazy on top of it!
John Daly made the cut!
Wonderfull,what a character.
My favourite non South African golfer.
21 Jul 2012, 11:11 am
I suppose you have to look at the positives, Vermaak made a big difference at no.9, so much for SA’s highest paid player Hougard.
21 Jul 2012, 11:12 am
@trupisero-236: Me too!
@Pee Wee-237: I cant believe it either! I expected more from the Bulls. Time is running out and the keep kicking it straight to Saders, and not chasing.
I hope my Stormers dont try this kak either
21 Jul 2012, 11:12 am
Wow, Bulls love trying to foul and kill the ball illegally.
Ref has bene onto them most the night but still not all of it. But name me one ref that picks it all up.
ONe thing he should do is warn Bulls that next foul produces a card.
Anyway Saders are better than the Bulls tonight, as most have said all through the week
21 Jul 2012, 11:13 am
NICE 1 Kirschener and Timotei
21 Jul 2012, 11:13 am
As a loyal bulls supporter this game is too painful to watch it is men v boys,it is like amatuer night,how the bulls got into the play-offs with this team beats me and yet i wrote earlier i would be happy if they made the play-offs.The crusaders will win this game and deservedly so the bulls are getting their arses kicked.We need a whole new front row,as the front row now is not good enough,and there is a lot of ?marks against the rest of the forwards.This is morne`s worst game yet,has morne`s bubble burst i think so,ndungane he is finished.A lot of changes will have to be made for next season as the bulls at the moment are a very pale shadow of previous super rugby winning teams,and we have just scored another try but it is too late.
21 Jul 2012, 11:14 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree stole my password-232:
Infact the Saders are better than this, not a great game from them tonight.
steggies back to his best
Min 76
Try Bulls!
With Steggie on and the quotas excused to the bench, the Bulls aren’t that bad!
Bulls score but fark do they look poor. The Saders are just coasting it seems. The Bulls are making the Saders look better than what they’ve played tonight!
21 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
surely that was aknock on?
21 Jul 2012, 11:16 am
@trupisero-227:
Particularly if they are on the same flight as the Crusaders!
21 Jul 2012, 11:16 am
spies’ captaincy is poor.
21 Jul 2012, 11:17 am
Bulls hit.
21 Jul 2012, 11:17 am
The crusaders should be embarrassed that they haven’t whipped the bulls by many more points and outscored in the try column by 2-1. They don’t look as invincible as many believe they are.
21 Jul 2012, 11:18 am
Tacs prediction
Bulls beat Saders
Sharks beat Reds
Sharks beat Stormers
Bulls beat Chiefs
BOOM
Final Loftus… You gotta admire the chap!!!
21 Jul 2012, 11:18 am
@Gumboots-234:
The Stormers have enough supporters.
21 Jul 2012, 11:19 am
@modawg-242:
Yep, Hougard is not a good scrummie. His basics are lacking, and this is not the level to sharpen up on basic scrumhalf play. That’s what school is for.
He’s a brilliant player, just not at 9.
21 Jul 2012, 11:19 am
Lets hope we dont see any of this lot until the CC
21 Jul 2012, 11:20 am
Go Sharks…
Poor excuse Spies… Many teams are lacking experience…
21 Jul 2012, 11:21 am
To be honest, an easy win for today rather average playing Crusaders. Never any doubts about the outcome.
Can’t see Bulls winning in Christchurch any time soon.
And KEO please sort that **** out. It’s becoming embarrassing really.
Geez HM has to think hard about a new flyhalf. Morne is horribly out of form!!! Pity about Goosen’s injury as he could be the answer.
If Meyer continues to select Steyn at bok 10, he’s smoking some serious ****.
21 Jul 2012, 11:22 am
Don’t write the Bulls off just yet!
With Pottie the captain, Hougaard at 11 and a new exciting FH in Pollard they will come back
The Bulls were a much tougher proposition the 2nd half, if only they stopped the aimless kicking and executed more pick and drive,,,
21 Jul 2012, 11:22 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-258:
How is he a brilliant player? Never seen him shine. Vermaak a much better scrum half.
I do hope Meyer does not pick Steyn and that he realises that giving the ball to the opposition is suicide unless it’s raining.
21 Jul 2012, 11:23 am
@Gumboots-260: What did he cotch out?
21 Jul 2012, 11:23 am
@modawg-255:
If you understood rugby you would know what spoiling tactics is. the bulls played rubbish dire tactics where they just killed the ball to reduce the scoreline.
hence the high penalty count!!
21 Jul 2012, 11:24 am
My head tells me the Reds will beat the Sharks next but I’d love nothing more than a Sharks vs Stormers semi @ Newlands. That said we owe the Crusaders a m0ering too. Let todays game be a warning to the Stormers that if you’re playing catch up – its pointless kicking the ball away!
21 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
@NZINCHINA-238: Nope
The Saders are an incredible team, and they become a different beast in playoffs. BUT: When any team plays in the way the Bulls did tonight: errors, discipline fecked, woeful kick and chase, absent captain, woeful scrumming, woeful lineouts…..etc, the opposition is made to look 20% better than what it actually is on the night…..
I still don’t believe this specific version of a Saders team is as ‘unbeatable’ as what some previous versions have been – that’s all
21 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
Just received this sms from my Bulls mate…
I now don’t care who wins as long as it is not the Stormers or Bulls…
Very loyal South African I say and I hope you are reading this…
21 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
Keo, hire someone that knows a bit about IT and fix your site.
21 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
The bulls will have to make changes to this team for next season as this team is not good enough to win the the super15 that is now obvious,but i am still pleased they made the play-offs.GO BULLS.
21 Jul 2012, 11:29 am
That was a very ordinary game by any standard. Pretty poor occasion for a Super Rugby knockout.
21 Jul 2012, 11:31 am
@blueboy-272:
Change your coach.
PDV is still an option.
21 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@papashanga-265:
He’s a brilliant winger.
21 Jul 2012, 11:33 am
@Spiesisworthless1-273:
Well depends on who you support.
21 Jul 2012, 11:33 am
@blueboy-272:
Yep, good effort to end 4th (Reds’s really ended 6th).
21 Jul 2012, 11:34 am
Well done Saders… You are a champion side and deserve the accolades…
Good Luck Sharks…
21 Jul 2012, 11:35 am
Did anyone really think that the Bulls would make it this year? Seriously it is a brand new team. I hope that we keep the combinations consistent so that the team can mature and come back stronger. It would be good to give the no. 2 flyhalf more game time to have a future option.
Go Bulls!
Go Sharks!
Go Stormers!
Up the Islanders…..
21 Jul 2012, 11:38 am
Predictable pathetic Bulls…..scored more tries however, jeez I hope Spies never sees the green and gold again the useless plonker!
21 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
WTF is going on on this website word press is telling me to slow down as i am posting my comments to quickly,is this a joke.I hope the sharks win their play-off and make the semis.Go sharks do what the bulls could not and win a play-off away from SA.How come their is SA referees reffing sa teams in the play-offs.
21 Jul 2012, 11:44 am
@Hurricane-276: I dont imagine a neutral would have found that a quality rugby game. Atmosphere seemed really flat and the rugby was pretty lacklustre, imo. Not much imagination or creativity on show from either side.
21 Jul 2012, 11:45 am
#274 Jeraldjay that brought a little smile on my face after a a rather glummy morning watching the bulls.
21 Jul 2012, 11:48 am
@Spiesisworthless1-282:
Too many fouls to get a flow on really.
21 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
For the first time in my life i did not want the bulls to score a bonus point try last week v lions,as the bulls would have finished 6th and they would have played the reds and i think we would have had a better chance against them and the crusaders would have played the sharks.
21 Jul 2012, 13:51 pm
Crusaders took their broadswords and slew the fatted calfs.
21 Jul 2012, 14:47 pm
very poor effort by the bulls today
frans is living in the house that heyneke built
but the house needs renovations
and frans is starting to look more and more like a 2nd rate bakkie bouer wif no qualifications
crusaders are still dirty though
21 Jul 2012, 15:08 pm
The bulls were absolutely shite today, what poor rugby played by them. Meyer seriously needs to consider picking bulls players for the boks. These guys shouldn’t even come near a bok jumper.
Well done Sharks!!!! fantastic rugby.
21 Jul 2012, 18:35 pm
Once we kill the Sensational Sharks next week who will care about any Kiwi team in the Final?
21 Jul 2012, 18:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree stole my password-289: The only positive that would come out of a Stormers win next week would be a final in a decent venue.
SuperFinals in NZ are dull, cold and boring affairs because their weather and stadiums, if you can really call them stadiums, are so shyiiiite.
And ChCh is the arrrse end of the world, teams lose there so that they can leave as quick as possible
21 Jul 2012, 19:51 pm
Sharks defeating Reds in a playoff game brings back memories of the 1996 sides efforts against the Reds at Ballymore with the same outcome. Andre Joubert, was, is, always be a star, he rocked in that game. Well done sharks.
21 Jul 2012, 21:33 pm
Caught the game on delay. Morne Steyn looked particularly awful, maybe just because he was up against Carter. But the ABs obviously won’t be scared of seeing Hougaard/Steyn again during Rugby Championship.
21 Jul 2012, 22:34 pm
Juandre, Spies, Morne, were absolutely K@k today. Clueless. Felt bad for the two Potties. They worked hard. The rest: burnt out and leaderless, and that includes pofkop Ludeke.
22 Jul 2012, 00:20 am
@Spiesisworthless1-282: what?? Must be something wrong with your tv. Hope it is not a case of sour grapes? I was at the game and nothing wrong with the atmosphere or the Crusaders rugby. Carter was sublime, backline was one fire with at least 50% more running meters than the Bulls and the victory by the Saders was built on brutal domination by their forwards and some great counter rucking that would inspire any forward. As is well known from the Bulls 2 losses here earlier this year, Hougaard cannot play behind a pack that is going in reverse and the other Bulls “weapon”, Steyn was down to a 33% success rate away from the Highveld. Time to change the old tired kick and rush tactic – Blackadder had his team well coached on how to counter that and all that the Bulls achieved is giving away possession andinjuring their 2 wingers in the aerial combat.
22 Jul 2012, 00:22 am
@goyougoodthing2-290: yeah right – idiot.
22 Jul 2012, 01:17 am
@goyougoodthing2-290:
Heres the deal.
You guys look after the magnificent stadiums, with spares; you look after the big crowds, with spares; you look after the viewer numbers, with spares; you look after the playing numbers, with spares; you look after the hot chicks, with plenty spare and you look after the great weather, with spare.
And we’ll look after the rugby.
With spare.
22 Jul 2012, 03:40 am
@The Donkeys Egg-296: Lol DE – you must be a happy man, your brother DC was on fire at first 5 last night.
22 Jul 2012, 04:33 am
Matfield needs to coach the Bulls. Finish en Klaar. Ludeke is Ludicris!
22 Jul 2012, 10:34 am
@The Donkeys Egg-296: OK, as long as the World Cup is always held in NZ, you will be worldchumps, yes.
22 Jul 2012, 10:38 am
212.UptheGuts said:
21 Jul 2012, 08:53 am
LOL THE bulls cheated all night, you don’t have a leg to stand on, im ready to talk where are you?
@NZINCHINA-211: “Blackadder has already pleaded his side’s case by stating his props have been instructed at training not to put their hands on the deck during scrums and anyone entering a ruck needs to be cautious about remaining on his feet. ”
Looks like we complain with reason, no? Someone up there must’ve just joined the Keo realm, as it took them long enough. You watch Hougaard having to negate alot of red and black bodies to get to the ball on his side of the ruck. We’ll talk after…
22 Jul 2012, 10:43 am
Entering a ruck from the side, what about half the Bulls teams entering the ruck from behind Ellis, cynical cheating all night late/high tackles what a joke after listening to Houston bleating like a lamb about the Crusaders for months on end.
22 Jul 2012, 10:44 am
and as for the Sharks and Kaplan enough said, he must have left his yellow cards in the refs office
22 Jul 2012, 10:49 am
@NZINCHINA-302: Hmmm, a bit like a quarter final i remember recently… but that referee was fine I guess, yes
22 Jul 2012, 10:56 am
@goyougoodthing2-303:
the Sharks were committing professional fouls on their own try line and should have been binned end of story, Bryce has already been crucified and had death threats I would have thought that was enough you boys will never learn, the Bulls and Sharks “cheated” your word not mine last night in spades
22 Jul 2012, 10:59 am
Who will ever take Bulls fans seriously again when they talk about cheating and other teams what a joke, nearly as funny as Steyns performance last night.
22 Jul 2012, 11:07 am
@NZINCHINA-304: Your logic then is because Bryce stole a world cup last year, it’s fine, but because there were infringements yesterday it is wrong.
What a joke that is.
Regardless, Sharks would still have won and Genia’s try was set up by a forward pass a Dallas Cowboy Quarterback would be proud of.
And whilst McCheat is playing rugby, the kiwis have no legs to stand on when it comes to cheating.
22 Jul 2012, 11:22 am
@goyougoodthing2-306</
you have said here the Sharks don't cheat, they cheated last night numerous times on their own goal line in front of a SAFFA ref are you disputing that?
22 Jul 2012, 11:24 am
@goyougoodthing2-299:
Did you know that in the last 6 x TriNs, since the tournament featuried 3 home games for each team, that the Springboks have only once avoided the Wooden Spoon. Essentially because they cant win at home.
Or away.
22 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
oh and is it infringements now, I thought you called it cheating?
22 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
@The Donkeys Egg-308: No fair with PDV in charge of 4 of those, the manMuppet LOL
22 Jul 2012, 12:04 pm
@NZINCHINA-309: Infringements on the Sharks line, blatant outright cheating on the Ozzy line or any form of contact involving McCaw. Yes…
Sharks infringe
Ozzies and McCaw… cheat.
22 Jul 2012, 12:18 pm
@goyougoodthing2-311:
exactly, now where are those Bulls fans, Houston and Up the guts where are you, lots to discuss?
22 Jul 2012, 12:28 pm
@NZINCHINA-312: You do realise it’s all a windup…
In the paper today an ex (SA) referee said Kraplan was brilliant and Peyper was poor.
OK, so the result in both was never in question but I think that they both were ‘poor’ in terms of actually seeing the game.
The ex referee seemed to suggest that the Bulls would have done better if Peyper blew it properly!!!
Kraplan just missed everything.
22 Jul 2012, 12:46 pm
@goyougoodthing2-313:
yer from you but not 99% of the other Bulls fans, the reffing is poor overall, the speed of the game now makes it impossible for a ref to do a “great” job.
22 Jul 2012, 12:51 pm
The Stormers owe Mark Hammett and the Hurricanes a pallet of the Capes finest pinotage. Were it not for their valiant, but eventually in vain, victory over the Chiefs then the Stormers wouldnt have the luxury of Home priority in the playoffs and, Heaven forbid, they might even have had to face the Crusaders.
Instead, due to the NZ Conference being by far the toughest and most competitive, the Stormers have to face a limited team with a brittle spine in the Sharks and will then rest up as the smashed up Kiwis arrive via 4 timezones for the Final.
Its even funnier when you remember that if it wasnt for Bryce Lawrence awarding the winning try, that wasnt, then the Hurricanes would never have beaten the Chiefs and with it the Stormers their home advantage.
That Bryce. Always doing the Saffas a favour.
22 Jul 2012, 14:40 pm
@The Donkeys Egg-315: howdy doody WN – BP
22 Jul 2012, 18:27 pm
@NZINCHINA-314: Don’t call me a Bulls supporter, please, ever. I’d rather back Samoa for the fairplay awards.
23 Jul 2012, 02:46 am
Its pretty clear that teh bulls (and Boks) gameplan has a fault. they rely on the kick and chase in their half, and getting over the advantage line with big loosies. BUT if another team keeps the ball in hand in their half, and takes it through the hands without kicking it, and the bulls lose at the gainline, then they just dont have a fetcher to create turnovers in defence. As soon as the fetcher (Stegman) came on, the Crusaders could not get aout of their half as easily as before, and the Bulls got some decent possession (not just in their own half).
The Bulls need a game plan for when they are losing the collisions. They need to start keeping the ball alive by pop passing (a la the Sharks) and bringing on a fetcher.