Saders surge into semis
21 Jul 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Crusaders’ 28-13 victory over the Bulls in which they were never stretched by the bumbling and lethargic South Africans.
Hail the play-off kings. The 15-point margin of defeat flatters the Bulls. Not for a minute did the Crusaders look like their imposing record in the knock-out stages would be tarnished. They were dominant in every facet of play, supremely so.
Their method was pragmatic and if there was anything spectacular about this performance it was found in the unfailing accuracy with which they execute a simple game plan. Add a measure of individual flair and you had a cocktail that incapacitated the Bulls. This was a statement performance that should concern their semi-final opponents.
For the Bulls, there is no shame in losing to the Crusaders in Christchurch. Indeed those who believed they would break their drought in the city had no real base for that belief. This Bulls side is vastly inferior, lacking the calibre of players and experience to have harboured serious ambitions of an upset.
However, while the result was not surprising, the quality of their error-strewn performance certainly was. They fed Dan Carter with kickable opportunities and paid the ultimate price, the flyhalf racking up 18 points with his boot.
It would be remiss not to credit the Crusaders for the manner in which they blunted the Bulls’ attacking intent. Physical, often brutal, and consistently accurate in defence, they simply bullied their visitors into submission. They owned the gainline, and the Bulls were rarely able find the space or time they needed to roll out their game plan. Consequently they were made to look rudderless for large periods of the contest, with their struggles compounded by the injury-enforced replacement of Chiliboy Ralepelle (10th minute), Bjorn Basson (37th) and Akona Ndungane (43rd).
Conversely the Crusaders were able to control the game’s flow, tempo and territory, with their halfback pair of Dan Carter and Andy Ellis orchestrating matters. The Bulls were unable to quell the Crusaders’ heavies in close quarters and conceded a string of penalties, two of which Carter banked before he added a conversion after expertly putting Zac Guilford through a hole in the defensive line with a perfectly timed pass.
Carter sunk a right-footed drop goal shortly thereafter to give his side a comfortable lead, but the hosts would have been acutely aware of their failings in the red zone which meant the Bulls were still alive at 16-3 going down the tunnel.
Carter capitalised on ill-discipline which has been a depressing feature of the Bulls’ campaign, kicking six more points just after the restart. But the Bulls found some groove, scoring through Dewald Potgieter after a powerful rolling maul.
The Crusaders were content to revert to a holding pattern, punching up through their forwards or inviting the Bulls to attack from deep by kicking in behind their back three. There would be no telling rebuttal from the three-time champions outside of a late Wynand Olivier try that served only to add a dash of respectability to the scoreline.
Crusaders – Try: Zac Guilford. Conversion: Carter. Penalty: Dan Carter (6), Drop goal: Carter
Bulls – Try: Dewald Potgieter, Wynand Olivier. Penalty: Morne Steyn

318 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All
21 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
Spies is playing like an old woman
@Gumboots-100: Indeed
@Kat Peyper hammering the Bulls a bit but they are dire, getting turned over at will, Steyn hopeless and they don’t have a no. 8 on the field
21 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@Hondo-101: Thats an insult to old women
@sharks_lover-99:
Honda is just trying to start a race debate (as usual). Just ignore the tool.
Where is Tacitus and Gunther?
Are they still gonna tell us that Morne is Bok quality?
21 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
Bulls should be penalised more… Slowing the ball down all the time…
21 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
Bulls playing 2009 rugby. Not going to work here.
Cmon you fking Bulls, get ur act together.
M Steyn Bok carreer is over.
21 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
jis mense hier is n bloubul ietse
luister die tune
lees die comments
http://www.watkykjy.co.za/2012/06/lekker-blou-bulle-geeeees/#comments
@willievz-106: Spoes and Stain – the Terrors from Tswane
@Hondo-101:
So Spies is playing like…..Spies
21 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-96:
glad you can smile about it, i’d be slitting my wrists if we had a 10 like him
21 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
Even though they have big men, particularly in ther front row. Africans no longer scrum with the best. I cannot wait to see Punas embarrass all three 3N teams.
21 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
@Trupi lol – spoes
@bangkok-bok-89: in case you havent noticed, Chilli had an injury after 10 minutes and was subbed.
the Saders hooker Flynn was also subbed cos of an injury
dont bring colour in here with your racist bigotry
The Bulls are their own worst enemies. They’re conspiring against themselves.
21 Jul 2012, 10:17 am
@John Galt-108:
It can work.
If you have FDP and Steyn kicking with pin point accuracy.
And Matfield stealing every line out.
People forget how bloody hard the Bulls and Bok gameplan of 2009 was too pull off.
21 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
Jirre Spoes jy is kak verby!
21 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
Bulls need to man the faark up and stop playing like a bunch of powderpuffs! Crusaders extremely clinical and great technique in every aspect of play.. Very well drilled team.
21 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
@John Galt-108: Bulls are not going to save the Stormers from the CapeSaders who will be celebrating non stop next weekend.
Bye bye Stormers.
@John Galt-108: One can only hope
Peyper also under the McCheat influence one feels but boy has Morne gone AWOL
21 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
these crusaders are erratic…
And Spies is useless as a player and captain
Juandre Kruger standing off at every ruck like a girl. Scared of the rough stuff. Been saying all along his work rate is poor and tonight he proves it again. Springbok se gat!
21 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
Your site is accepting comments too slowly. Speed up.
21 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
Spies.
Fk me, how much has he regressed.
21 Jul 2012, 10:22 am
@IAAS-116:
Howzit Boet! Agree. There is no game plan at all. Steyn not having a clue what to do with the ball…
@Papoose-115:
Where did you get this one?
Flynn is on the field
@willievz-106:
Actually you will find I have been moaning about him for most of the season.
He’s cost us three games this year and looks like this one won’t be any different.
Why don’t you save your breath and tell us how you know Shane Warne would never gave played for south africa know it all?
21 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
120 @ RL
Shame you’re still worried about the Stormers. Hahahhahahahaha
21 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
@RL-120:
Bye bye Lions.
21 Jul 2012, 10:25 am
Werner Kruger, Spoes and Steyn are currently AWFUL rugby players with little room or inclination for improvement. Sad that they’re still likely to feature for the Boks for years to come in some capacity.
21 Jul 2012, 10:25 am
Bulls rugby = Bokke rugby
21 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
whopping 3 points in 120 minutes. nice.
F*** you keo.co.za. I’m NOT POSTING COMMENTS TOO QUICKLY!!!
@RL-120:
Such a xenophobe!
21 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@Spiesisworthless1-133:
They are all Boks!!! I want to see if HM has the balls to drop his superheros…
21 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-136:
thought it was just me as I was a Kiwi
21 Jul 2012, 10:28 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-136:
Same problem. Only comment and comes up with that.
Funny lillith and her capesader buddies with their grade 6 education…. Stormers have more coloured players and coaches than the saders… Lol…. Tik koppe
Stormers will beat the Saders at Newlands (if my Sharkies lose).
Bekker and co won’t be bossed.
But, I think the Sharks will beat the Stormers if they win today (but then lose in the final).
Just a feeling.
21 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
Keo site a fluckup this morning
@RL-120:
And that coming from you, a casual observer!!
The Bulls are still in it! Let’s hope they can man up second half. The first half was sad but the score is not that bad.
21 Jul 2012, 10:30 am
@NZINCHINA-139:
Ha ha, nope, but that’s not a bad idea (too slow down Kiwi and Aus posts). Maybe 1 per day
@the artist formerly known as gunther-130:
grunter moenie s uurgat raak omdat jou spand hondk ak speel nie.
@NZINCHINA-139: @Gumboots-140: the dwarf needs to get some speed for his site
21 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
I wonder if HM is watching this? The Zefsters are kak
21 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-136: We ALL type too fast.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All