Sensational Sharks smash Reds
21 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports on the Sharks’ 30-17 hammering of the Reds in Saturday’s play-off in Brisbane.
After the Bulls’ dismal effort in Christchurch, the Sharks have turned in a rousing physical performance to not only keep their own title hopes alive, but those of a nation.
The resounding victory in Brisbane has set up a semi-final showdown against the Stormers. What this means is that one South African team will definitely progress to the grand final on 4 August.
The Stormers will be difficult to beat in Cape Town, but the Sharks will fancy their chances given the manner of victory at Suncorp Stadium.
It was a superior forward performance that set the platform for what will go down as one of the great Sharks Super Rugby victories. On the back of that forward dominance, the Sharks piled on the points in the first half, and defended like demons in the second.
Some might say that the Sharks had their fair share of luck in this encounter. Indeed, Reds coach Ewen McKenzie would have felt a strong sense of dejavu as starting flyhalf Ben Lucas was carried off in the 21st minute, an injury that forced star scrmhalf Will Genia to shift to No 10.
Lucas had been ineffective while he was on the park, and it didn’t help that his forwards were copping a hiding at the collisions and breakdowns. The Reds certainly missed Quade Cooper’s decision making in that key position, and after Lucas cried off with injury, the Reds also missed Genia’s impact at No 9.
But while this certainly worked in the Sharks’ favour, the visitors made a great deal of their own luck. Travelling across the world for this fixture was never going to be easy, and doing so without Frans Steyn and Pat Lambie was expected to detract from their performance.
They went into the game as underdogs, but from the first whistle they showed the mongrel, desire and precision to win the key battles and eventually the match.
Apart from the raw power at the collisions (the Sharks pack was superb and the decision to play Willem Alberts at No 4 was vindicated), the decision making by the heavies was a real highlight.
The Sharks forwards would place their counterparts under pressure at the rucks, force the turnover and then produce some dazzling offloads that kept the movement alive.
They converted every early opportunity, racing to a 10-0 lead inside 13 minutes. By the half-hour mark they were 20-3 up, Freddie Michalak nailing a drop goal to keep the scoreboard ticking.
Genia would leave his mark on this match with an important play moments later. Spotting Jannie du Plessis defending on the wing, Genia directed play left and linked up smartly with Scott Higginbotham. The Wallabies loosie delivered the final pass to Genia, and at 20-10 the Reds were still in with a chance.
The period before and after half-time belonged to the Reds, but they were undone by their high-error rate as well as some stunning Sharks defence.
In fact, it was a sharp piece of pressure defence that created the Sharks’ next try, Charl McLeod reading the play beautifully and picking off a Genia pass.
The scrumhalf raced 75m to score, and at 27-10, the whole complexion of the game changed again. Another Sharks score would win the game, and the Reds would resort to some desperate tactics in an attempt to close that massive gap.
They turned down numerous shots at goal in search of a seven-pointer that would bring them closer, but their inability to win the collisions cost them at every turn.
While the Sharks spent almost the entire third quarter defending in their own territory, their ferocity at the point of contact was as rabid as was at the start of the game. They turned the Reds over from five metres out on several occasions, and again it was sharp decision making that cut down the Reds’ attacking space.
The Sharks had a further chance to score when Lwazi Mvovo broke from deep to spark a great period of attacking rugby with the offload in contact again a prominent feature. The ball eventually flew to the hapless Meyer Bosman, who tripped over his own feet and fell agonisingly short of the tryline. Fortunately for the Sharks, it was a gaffe that didn’t cost them on the scoreboard.
The Reds finished strongly in the final five minutes, but by then the result was beyond doubt. Radike Samo crossed the tryline and Genia converted, but all this served to do was lend some respectability to the scoreline.
The Sharks were more dominant that the final scoreline suggested, and that final try will not detract from what was their best defensive performance in 2012.
Scorers:
Reds – Tries: Will Genia, Radike Samo. Conversions: Mike Harris, Genia. Penalty: Harris.
Sharks – Tries: JP Pietersen, Paul Jordaan, Charl McLeod. Conversions: Freddie Michalak (3). Penalties: Michalak (2). Drop goal: Michalak.

1,036 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 … 21 » Show All
22 Jul 2012, 09:26 am
The Sharks win was far from perfect and I wasn’t happy about us going to sleep in the last quarter and also having the chance to finish the game off with an open try line beckoning only for Bosman to screw everything up! Eish. Still we were just sublime in the first-half and it highlights how important a good midfield combo is. Michalak is playing with great confidence and Whitehead is proving to be a great distributor.
It’s a real shame about Jordaan. Any news on whether he is out now? I now see him as a key player for the Sharks. Bosman needs to move on. Jordaan is the Sharks no.13 going forward. Exciting times next year with Frans back at 12. Bosman and Ndungane need to move on. Sithole must be elevated to the bench. With a back line of Jordaan, Mvovo/Sithole and JPP that is a lot of speed and power. Makes for a mouthwatering prospect. Biggest loss is going to be Kanko who is in fantastic form. I’m satisfied with Daniel as captain. The next challenge will be finding a back up to McLeod.
22 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
willievz won’t like all this anti-meyer bosman sentiment around here, when i told him last week meyer is kak, he didn’t take very kindly to it.
22 Jul 2012, 09:31 am
@Sydney Shark-695: just remember, you don’t choose who you are going to support, normally it’s a geographical thing, so stop highlighting your emotional immaturity, you are giving the ‘shark’ supporters a bad name!
22 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@Transformation-702: I was willing to give Bosman the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately he hasn’t got what it takes. I don’t like seeing people fail but you cannot continue defending a liability. The score could’ve been 37 -17 had Bosman’s legs not caved in!
22 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@Transformation-702: and transie, you owe me some credit,
, did i not tell you this Jordaan is the real deal?? and of course he still has a long way to go, he still a kid, but eish the boy has wheels
22 Jul 2012, 09:37 am
@sharks_lover-705: He impressed in his first game out.
22 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@sharks_lover-705: no credit for you as i saw him for myself when they played england here in PE
22 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@sharks_lover-705: i must say, i was impressed with the backline and Jordaan, initially i thought this might be where the reds try and create openings, but the forwards, especiall Keegan were phenomenal! thought Alberts was quite quiet but i guess playing at lock he doesn’t get as much front foot ball
22 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@BuckT-703: You don’t choose who you support? Oh so I guess all of those Man United fans in India or Africa should just support their local teams instead?! Eish what a narrow-minded point of view. Your statement just highlights the mentality of WP supporters.
They all seem to have their knickers in a twist right now. Hahaha I’m giving Sharks supporters a bad name by praising my team?! Hahaha you’re very funny. Jeez man wake up and smell the coffee. Your resident Keo Stormer head honcho Skop gives you all a bad name and makes WP fans look like a bunch of bitter, negative, kak spewing bigots who cannot give credit where its due. If I look bad in your eyes because I’m praising my team and refuting what I see as unfair criticism directed at them then so be it boetie! If you don’t like reading Sharks supporters celebrating their win then go troll somewhere else. The level of pathetic mindsets on this blog is unreal.
22 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
stroker in a teacup is just bitter the sharks won
i cannot wait for saturday
the day of reckoning.
22 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
@Sydney Shark-709: jaydafive0 don’t be like that now, when buck-t says something u find ridiculous, address him personally & not all wp supporters…sharks_lover jusr yesterday was pranked by fuzzybunny & next thinh he was blaming stormers supporters only for the bunny to out himself…
address the person, don’t generalise.
22 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@Sydney Shark-709: thats the difference, we don’t agree with what skop says, you seem to conviniently ignore the tripe that spews from HG etc’s mouths. you have obviously been upset by what certain bloggers have said and felt justified coming here to get yor revenge, which is sad in itself. time to let that victim mentality go bud, nobody is out to get you. rather focus on the positive comments made and try and respond accordingly, otherwise you just drop to their level
22 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
awesome sharks, thumped the reds. forwards unstoppable.
22 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-710: Hey Sperm lips, show me where my posts are bitter. On second thoughts don’t bother. You are a slave to your trolling habits. Saturday is a day of reckoning but there is one thing we s know. If the Sharks go down this weekend it will be denial as usual for you and the other hysterical prima donnas in the Black and White Dynamite dance troup. Boom.
22 Jul 2012, 10:05 am
@Transformation-711: what can you do, i get tired of these ‘supporters’ from all walks of life, that’s what i was getting at, you are actually a human being first, before you become a ‘supporter’ so what you say is first and foremost a reflection of the type of person you are and has f-all to do with a particular team and whoever chooses to support them. for example, to label HG as a typical shark supporter is doing the rest an injustice, but when he is your Julius Malema, then sometimes it’s ok to ignore what he says, because it’s an indirect retaliation for what some other supporter said about your team. if you can’t differentiate between a genuine supporter and a low life trying to get a reaction, then you are in for a hiding to nothing on this site!
22 Jul 2012, 10:05 am
Ryan’s tweet: “@Ryan_Vrede: Dear Lord, thank you for sparing me the idiocy of those Cape Crusaders for at least a week.”
22 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
Sharks played very well and the Reds played like a team that didn’t deserve to be in the play offs. About what you would expect given their respective forms in the comp. Sharks vs Stormers should be a really tough match, but so will Chiefs vs Crusaders. Lets hope for no key player injuries to the winning teams. Getting to the serious stuff now and I think that it is fair to say that the right teams are there. Only thing I couldn’t work out in the Sharks game was this new move of theirs where the fly-half stands at the edge of every ruck throwing his arms up and down like a traffic conductor. Very strange!!!
22 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
@stormer in a teacup-714:
jeepers you are so emotional
your boyfriend is going to have a nightmare living with you this week.
22 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
Tactics. George Greegan had his way of playing to the ref too.
22 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters-719: At least he is a little subtle
22 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
@Transformation-711: bwahaha. You are my fish. I own you.
22 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
So far every single neutral who has commented on here or elsewhere in the media has thrown their support behind the Sharks.
It really is beautiful to behold. Kinda like the rugby the Sharks are playing.
But I know of one Kings supporting micro-analytical tokoloshe who is going to be so far up the Stormers arshlocks this coming week….
22 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
@Sydney Shark-709: Mate, you are as pathetic as the bloggers you claim to despise. You are a 1% empty rather than a 99% full kind of guy.
22 Jul 2012, 10:33 am
@wooden spoon-722: Now if only you could convince all those neutrals (who are now Sharks) to visit Kings Park at some stage in the next year, you fellows could finally hang up those SOLD OUT signs you had custom made back in 1993….
Multiple choice question:
Which statement is correct:
a. Plumtree is kak
b. Plumtree is kak, but not as kak as I thought
c.Plumtree is no longer kak
d. I’m so confused I don’t know anymore
22 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-718: I’m passionate. Not a lite supporter like yourself.
22 Jul 2012, 10:38 am
@stormer in a teacup-725:
bwhahaha
nice try
22 Jul 2012, 10:39 am
@stormer in a teacup-723: I stand in awe of his intelligence.
Exhibiting absolute arrogance, whilst trying to highlight the alleged arrogance of others……..I think there is a name for his sort.
22 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree stole my password-724:Sharks have plenty of sellouts. Check the petition.
22 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
ernie is -5 after eight holes.
22 Jul 2012, 10:42 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree stole my password-724: half your stadium is actually AGAINST your team! Bwahahaha! They boo YOUR kicker and cheer opposition tries!
Glass houses and all that…
22 Jul 2012, 10:44 am
If the Stormers lose this weekend (their 3rd play off loss in 3 years) it will be interesting to see where Stompie public opinion falls on their revered Toetie……. Might not just be the CapedCrusaders booing at Boolands……..
All will be revealed….. it will be magnificent to behold…….
POP.
22 Jul 2012, 10:45 am
Does it matter is Kings Park isn’t always full… we have a full bank account, unlike the WP…
I know which figures are more important to me.
22 Jul 2012, 10:49 am
The more pressing problem for the Stormers is that Tobie has already spent the gate takings from the home final.
So if they fail against the Sharks this week, that’s another R20m more that the WP rugby union will be in the red…
22 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
@stormer in a teacup-728:
you must be praying for a saders victory
atleast if the stormers win you will still have a side in the final
22 Jul 2012, 10:59 am
@goyougoodthing2-732: lol!
@Tacitus-733: another lol!
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-734: another lol!
Hear that?
No?
The silence is deafening……
22 Jul 2012, 11:10 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-734: Saders vs Stormersin WP… the conundrum for supporters… it could be the end of the world, some kind of vortex, like going back in time and seeing yourself…
22 Jul 2012, 11:22 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-734: Huh?
22 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
@stormer in a teacup-737: @wooden spoon-735: If you think that moronic post makes sense you are a worse way than we thought already. ” if the Stormers win,at least I’ll have a side in the final” ? No sh it Einstein.
22 Jul 2012, 11:29 am
@stormer in a teacup-738: it is very obvious he meant “Saders”….. learn to read between the lines boyo.
22 Jul 2012, 11:38 am
@wooden spoon-739: You don’t even know what reading between the lines means.
22 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
@stormer in a teacup-740: erm, naaice comeback….
Chat to Fern about it if you are still baffled… it was his comment not mine… but I would have thought you would have grasped it by now…
Moving on…
More cry babies….
From the Sydney Morning Herald
Cooper still fuming over ban
Date
July 22, 2012 – 5:59PM
Water boy duties have not helped Queensland Reds playmaker Quade Cooper cool down over his Super Rugby suspension judging by a tweet that may land him in more trouble.
Reduced to the support role for the Reds’ knockout final against the Sharks in Brisbane on Saturday night, Cooper tweeted following the match: “SANZAR = lottery”.
But Reds coach Ewen McKenzie refused to cry foul after a Cooper-less Queensland’s title defence ended with a 30-17 loss to the Sharks, snapping their six-game winning run.
McKenzie had plenty to lament after his final game before handing the reins to Richard Graham and becoming Reds director of coaching.
Advertisement
Not only had the Reds lost Cooper to a controversial dangerous tackle ban, his replacement Ben Lucas (ankle) was carried off and hooker Saia Faingaa suffered a corked bicep by the 22nd minute against the Sharks.
One minute later the Reds trailed 17-0 as the Sharks went on to book a semi-final clash with the Stormers, prompting a scathing post-match analysis from Queensland captain Will Genia.
But McKenzie believed the Reds were in good shape as they headed into the club’s bold new era.
“There’s a lot of things to be positive about,” he said after the Reds lost only their third game in 24 Suncorp Stadium clashes.
“There’s been a lot of talk about the Brumbies having a great season but in the end our team’s average age is younger than theirs so we’ve got a lot of football ahead of this group.
“I’ve been involved for three years and a lot of the guys have come into the program and they’ve developed as players into Wallabies.
“It wasn’t a great one (on Saturday night) but we will dust ourselves off and keep going.”
The Reds have the potential to groom more into Wallabies after Cooper and teammates Liam Gill, James Slipper, Rob Simmons, Jake Schatz, Radike Samo, Ben Tapuai and James Hanson were all called up for a national training camp in Sydney from August 1-3.
That will result in a 30-man Wallabies squad for the inaugural Rugby Championship.
Regular halfback Genia was rested from the camp along with Digby Ioane.
Genia may need the time off to calm down after his heroics as fill-in five-eighth No.2 were not enough to stop the Sharks.
“If we lost and played well to a better side you’d could cop it a bit easier – but we were poor,” he said.
Just like their round-four clash against the Sharks, Genia moved in at No.10 after Lucas went down injured.
But Sharks coach John Plumtree didn’t see it coming.
“I was a little surprised that they didn’t put (inside centre Mike) Harris at 10,” Plumtree said.
“Will allowed us into the game because he was throwing a lot of skip passes and we read that.”
Durban referee Jonathan Kaplan was booed off the ground but most Queensland fans saw red over the TV match official denying Gill a 57th minute try, citing inconclusive grounding.
“(TV commentator) Rod Kafer is independent and he said it was a try – that’s all I have to go with right now,” McKenzie said.
Nice to see the Sharks through to join us, even if it was via a mid-table playoff.
This is the funniest bit from that article:
“(TV commentator) Rod Kafer is independent and he said it was a try – that’s all I have to go with right now,” McKenzie said.
22 Jul 2012, 11:43 am
@Michael-742: we are so humbled to be in your “top” team’s presence…. how is it possible that we can be mentioned in the same breath as the “conference title winners”?
Sharks are the form SA team. We are coming for you.
22 Jul 2012, 12:03 pm
Well done Sharks…..enjoyed that one, even as a Kiwi.
22 Jul 2012, 12:05 pm
@wooden spoon-741: Then housebreaking water boy also said SANZAR = Lottery today on Twitter, wait for him to get another fine…
22 Jul 2012, 12:06 pm
@Michael-742: Indeed, whom you couldn’t beat…
22 Jul 2012, 12:07 pm
@wooden spoon-744:
spooner this site this week is not going to be for the faint hearted.
sharks have nice momentum
bissy to hand out a couple of pk’s on saturday
coetzee is a machine,alberts will throw the stormers around like ragdolls
22 Jul 2012, 12:09 pm
@NZRugby-745: they played “kiwi rugby”! The off loading skill and flair was a sight to behold.
22 Jul 2012, 12:09 pm
The Reds got away with murder last night
their dummy runners spent the whole night practically cheating
their clean-outs and the taking of space on the Sharks side of the tackle area was a joke
Still, the Reds are not from NZ
so I guess no Bokke noticed
Pages: « 1 … 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 … 21 » Show All