Form will decide Super Rugby semis

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day column, says play-offs are all about momentum – and all the momentum this weekend will be with the Sharks and Crusaders.

The Stormers’ and Chiefs’ reward for claiming the top two spots in the league stages was a home semi-final and a week’s breather in between games. But what was supposed to be a favour for the consistency of the season could be the curse that ends the Super Rugby season for the hosts of both semi-finals.

Form is definitely with the Sharks and Crusaders and form is all that will matter this weekend. League clashes count for nothing when the teams meet in a match in which there is no second chance.

The Stormers, in 2010 and 2011, were the best defensive team in the competition, yet losing in a final and a semi-final is the return of a good side and not a champion one.

This season they’ve exceeded expectation. Their defensive record is unrivalled and so too is their lack of attack. The players have shown impeccable discipline in respecting the coach’s strategic approach to what best suits the strengths of the team. The squad has been depleted through injury, yet the resolve of the reserve players has been strengthened.

You have to applaud the Stormers’ campaign, regardless of whether the climax is a first home final and a trophy or a second successive home semi-final defeat.

A year ago there was an expectation because of momentum and player availability. This year needs more perspective, even if it may bring no comfort.

The Stormers have the respect of every team in the competition and they are now recognised as among the most powerful in the league. It is a respect that has been earned over the past three years through consistent performance. A team whose players were once labelled pretty boys with no appetite for a scrap are now the biggest scrappers in the tournament. Again, this may not be enough to win the title. The quality of Stormers players in too many positions does not match the desire of those who will play on Saturday.

A team doesn’t fluke winning Super Rugby’s trophy. No limited or poor team has ever ended the season champions because when the big moments have come the quality players have produced — and that’s why I also give the Sharks an advantage, despite the travel back from Australia and the venue being in Cape Town.

The Sharks have the greater individual pedigree in the pack and big-name players are flexing their muscles at just the right time. The physicality that was absent earlier won the Sharks the match against the Reds, who had lost just two of their past 23 matches in Brisbane.

The Sharks, individually and as a unit, were brutal in the collisions, but never did the need to impose themselves physically come at the expense of composure or attacking intent.

It was a glorious evening for the Sharks and South African rugby. It also ensured one all-South African semi-final, which means SA will be represented in the final. That makes a statement that had to be made after the Boks’ disappointment of the 2011 World Cup.

It is also confirmation of the strength of the South African game, which is why South African players must always be expected to be among the leaders in the game

We have always had the players, but the belief of those players hasn’t always matched their playing pedigree.

The Sharks never doubted they could win against the Reds because they’ve won there before. The Bulls never believed they could win in Christchurch, despite all the pre-match boasts of changing history and fearing nothing. The result was as predictable as the traditional Bulls success at Loftus.

There is no need for crisis in Pretoria. The best Bulls team in the past decade couldn’t win in Christchurch.

The Crusaders, inconsistent this year, relied on the incomparable Richie McCaw and the equally magnificent Dan Carter. McCaw, in particular, was a beast and to produce a performance of such influence in his 11th season of Super Rugby was monumental, even by his incredible standards.

Carter was as imposing and as good as at any stage of his career, yet even if he had produced the worst game of his life it wouldn’t have changed the result. The Bulls were beaten before they got on the aircraft.

The Crusaders were very good because, like the Sharks, their best players stood tallest. It is why they will beat the Chiefs in Hamilton.

And while it isn’t the popular view in Cape Town, the Sharks have the better combinations and the better individuals.

476 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 101.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@charo-91:

he was last seen in the Richemont tent.

Passed out under a thoughtful protea arrangement.

• 102.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-98: Beast vs Ginger – Sharks
    ???
    jannie…

• 103.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-99: Katman who will you support on Saturday??

• 104.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-102: Sorry should be jannie, as a backline player I struggle with the 1 and 3 ever so often….

• 105.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Look, I’m losing every second post on this forum today, being told that it is a duplicate comment.

When you go back, your post is gone, be it a one liner or a 15 paragraph thesis.

This site is going to pot.

• 106.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-105: Ja I had the best reply to HG on his 1,2,3,4, points on the sharks vs stormers.. only to lose the whole reply.. too lazy to type it out again..

• 107.Pietie: Reply to this comment

#91 charo – I heard that comment and I also thought: My word, what a complete inappropriate thing to say. I actually enjoyed Adam’s nightmare until Ernie’s winning speech where he sympathised with his buddy. Ernie, you showed us all how to be humble in victory. You are a legend. Also nice to hear Hashim talking in a very humble way. Just a pity our politicians cannot follow suit.

• 108.Provvas: Reply to this comment

It basically said:
    1. Stormers defense is still better than sharks
    2. Line outs will be better for Stormers with bekker as Bissy also struggles
    3. Grants kicking percentage is more like 95% than the 80% alluded by him
    4. Tries being scored means nothing when you concede as many…
    something like that

• 109.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-103: I honestly don’t think the Stormers should hope to receive any support from the neutrals. I don’t think that is going to happen. All the Sader fans who have tickets will be going ‘Sharks’come Saturday as well.
    Oh the irony in watching Sharks_lover and a Cape Crusader fan mormon ^5-ving on Castle Lawns.

I think we’re on our own for this round, much Stormer hating with very little support.

• 110.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-108:

you’ll win by loads.

don’t let anyone wind you up buddy.

• 111.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@charo-97:

Oscar is very loud and rates himself very highly- his brother Herman is just the oppposite. I am not sure about Lee but his son is a cool dude who has mellowed a lot through the years. The competition between the 2 families has been ongoing for many years (started with Surf Live saving in Durban long ago ) but you will probably know that.

• 112.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Pietie-107: I felt bad enough for Adam as it unfolded. But to hear Ernie’s empathy afterwards made it worse. And then they cut to an interview with Adam, and he seems like such a nice, humble fella. There are always losers in sport, but sometimes it’s just tougher than usual.

• 113.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-109: Merely testing out the lets be behind SA mentality now that the bulls are gone..

see I hate to fall into the group of lets support the bulle when my team is out.. so building some ammo for the future.. hehehe

• 114.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-112:

When the Sharks beat the Stormers on Saturday, on the other hand…

• 115.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-34: Both those matches were lost away and in the case of the Crusaders, we lost Bekker and Etsabeth to injury in the first 10 minutes. Seeing as they are a huge advantage for the Stormers it was always going to be tough. How many games would the Bulls have won in Canterbury if Bakkies and Victor had gone down in the first 10 mins?

• 116.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-112: still no answer? Saders perhaps your second team?

• 117.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-114:

easy now.

lets not jinx them.

it’s bad enough that keo has thrwon his considerable bmi behind the shorks.

• 118.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-111:

what’s your opinion on dawid mocke and have you met him

• 119.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-98: hahahaha, bud you left your credibility at the door when you claimed the following:

Elstadt vs alberts – Even

you then went further:

JPP – Gio aplon – even

not in your wildest buddy.

the rest is ok.

@>^..^< katman-99: haha, bud i dont claim olympic status but i am handy in the water and spearfishing is the most addictive sport i have ever tried, seriously it has taken over my life.

• 120.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo-118:

Yes, I have met him- he is a fantastic down to earth guy.

Interesting to note that his dad (Godfrey) who is also a well known long distance sea awimmer used to play prop for Bellville’s rugby club in the “old” days.

• 121.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and of course the frenchie vs grant thing :lol:

one a multi capped international, the other a bit part never was bok.

• 122.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-120:

yeah… seems to be hey…

doing very well this year and could win the title…

didn’t know that about his dad though…

• 123.charo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-111:

only knew the old man chalupsky when i was a junior at durban surf.

he was a quiet, reserved sort of toppie.

• 124.rangerman: Reply to this comment

cmon stormers fans, who cares who the neutrals support?

do you really expect bulls fans to support the stormers?

laughable really.

as for the cheetahs and the lions fans, they will probably just want to enjoy the rugby without the usual pressure.

its a fantastic occasion regardless.

• 125.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-110: You have not read the script buddy.
    HG has already approached Hugh Jackman to play Plumtree in the Hollywood version. Title: “BOOM”.

I realise and humbly accept that my average, boring, lucky and ref assisted Stormers have zero chance of winning this battle. I only pray that we can keep the scoreline respectable, like 98-12 or so. Listening to the Sharks fans though, I fear even scoring 12 points might be a bridge too far for us.

We have been suitably ‘BOOMED’ before a whistle has been blown in anger.

• 126.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-125: well at least you are preparing yourself.

but i say rather stay positive, its a game played on grass after all.

• 127.rangerman: Reply to this comment

alternatively, keep up the whole “how dare these sharks fans expect their team to win!”

it naaice.

• 128.rangerman: Reply to this comment

tac

if you get the “you are posting too quickly for this cheapskate sub par website” message, simply hit the “return” or left facing arrow and it will take you back to the thread with your comment still in the comments box.

submit again and it should go through once keos commodore 64 catches up.

• 129.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Is Craig Joubert reffing on Saturday at Newlands?
    Hate to sound like Hondo, but if Joubert’s reffing the Stormers are pissing into the wind.

• 130.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-119: JOe better the Lambie?? one a Springbok?? the other not?? :lol: that in its own is like a stand up comedy remark

• 131.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-124:

indeed.

it would be like perving your 18 year old cousin with titties like softly poached eggs.

understandable but not really cricket.

• 132.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-128: My comment disappears when I hit the return key. Dialogue box is empty. It could be Explorer though, because I don’t think Chrome does that. Must re-open in Chrome. What a stuff up.

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-125: everyone from justin marshall, hamish riach, dave rennie, keo etc have the Sharks as favourites!

Newlands will never be the same after plum ignites the IRANZ -coached Dynamite!

• 134.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-129:

but you won when he reffed you last?

come now.

dont go down that road.

its covered in dogpoo.

• 135.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo-122:

The only country in the world that can compete with SA in that sport is Australia – Hank Macgregor and Dawid are absolutely top level world class.

@charo-123:

OK, do you knowthe bloke who used to blog here under the nic 4Man?.
    He was president of either Marine or Durban surf- i think Marine, though and he knows all the blokes from those days very well.

• 136.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-129: Stormers v Sharks:
    Date: Saturday, 28 July
    Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
    Kick-off: (17.05 SA time)
    Referee: Steve Walsh
    Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper, Marius Jonker
    TMO: Shaun Veldsman

• 137.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

En toe kak my bulle ook nou Saterdag. Well done my team. A sterling effort considering seeing that in the beginning of the season nobody gave any chance at all. Well doen boytjies.

To the Saaarks and Stormers. All the best on Saturday. You deserve your place and may the best team win. I reckon the Cape outfit might be to good but the Sharkies has struck some seriaas form the last couple of weeks.

Nice game to sit back with a moerse bag of biltong and a coule of ice cold castles.

• 138.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-129:

Steve will do the honours on Sat.

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Atlast Steyn strikes

• 140.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Steyn to Bopara, OUT

• 141.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

iwicket usteyn gottimyes farkoff

• 142.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-140: beat you to it :lol:

• 143.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I can smellllll a Protea victory today, get Prior out now and the rest will roll like tumbleweed

• 144.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I like Steve Walsh. He always gives the benefit of the doubt to the home team.

• 145.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-135:

yeah… australia dominates in numbers…

but dawid currently ranked number 1 in the surfski world series and his young boet jasper rocks in at number 7…

• 146.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ufo-145: Good morning old chap

• 147.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-144: well, he must’ve started that trait after fooking up the guppys in 2007 or after rehab hehehehe :D

• 148.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-147: :lol: aint that the truth

• 149.charo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-135:

yes, i know 4man.

had a beer with him a few years ago in england – he lives near my daughter.

@ufo-145:

fish hoek have done exceptionally well in lifesaving over the recent years – overtaken the big guns like dslsc, marine and pirates. i put it down to enthusiasm from the senior blokes.

• 150.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-130: Ok, a little BOOM for you. Lambie has not been the form 15 (when he has been fit). By his own standards, he has a had a rather quiet and uninspiring super rugby season full stop, in ALL the positions he has filled. Ludik on the other hand, has been pure class at 15 the last while, and should start for you fellows. If Lambie is fit, he should warm the bench.

So Joe P vs Lambie (this season, and on current S15 form) – Joe P DOES have the upperhand.

And I’m not sure if you were asleep throughout the autumn internationals, but Lambie is not seen as the Boks 1st choice 10, or the Boks 1st choice 15, because he HAS no specialised position – which is a great pity.

As for your Springbok argument….? Spies, Jaque Potgieter and a few others blow your Bok players are ALWAYS the best theory out of the puddling water *wink*

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.