Gruelling travel may bring Sharks down
23 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the Sharks have found form late in the competition but it is their early season failures that could prevent them from lifting their first Super Rugby title.
Saturday’s performance against the Reds was astounding. Against significant odds, the Sharks put together their best performance of the season.
They played with confidence, power, precision, and above all else, intelligence. It didn’t matter that this game was played in Brisbane or that the Sharks were missing two key players, they showed their quality in producing their best display when it mattered most.
If there is such a thing as total rugby, both the Sharks and Crusaders produced it last Saturday. But while the latter will have found due course for celebration, the former should realise that the competition is about to get a lot tougher, and that luck is certainly not on their side.
The Stormers have been accused of being lucky this season, although in a competition as long and demanding as Super Rugby, you don’t win 14 out of 16 games by luck.
You don’t win three out of four games Down Under, and seven out of eight inter-conference matches by chance. Away victories in Brisbane, Pretoria, Dunedin… well you get the picture.
In fact, the Cape side will be quick to argue the contrary. It’s felt within the Stormers camp that they may have scored more tries during the league if luck had gone their way. Indeed, they may have turned in better showings had they not been hampered by so many injuries, and if their first-choice back row had been available.
But no team finishes the Super Rugby league in first position by dumb luck. The Stormers have earned a home semi-final, and will enjoy all the advantages of playing a knockout match at Newlands. The Sharks, who have at times played the better rugby but have not been as consistent in terms of league results, will be up against it.
While they are traditionally stronger in this fixture at Kings Park, the Sharks haven’t beaten the Stormers at Newlands since 2009. On the back of that sensational performance against the Reds, you should believe they’re capable of breaking a three-year drought, but for one small detail.
After flying to Australia last week, they will fly back to South Africa to face the Stormers. That’s a 22 000km round trip in the space of a week.
The travel will surely take its toll. It should also be remembered that the Stormers have been resting up in Cape Town for the past week, having earned a bye by finishing the league in the top two. They will be the fresher outfit when the two teams take the field this Saturday.
A victory in Cape Town is not impossible for the Sharks, especially given the Stormers’ injury situation and the fact that they lost last year’s semi-final against the Crusaders.
The Cantabrians proved it possible to fly halfway across the world and still win crunch matches, and the Sharks should draw inspiration from that achievement. But can the Sharks keep producing performances like they did in Brisbane? Can they really maintain that intensity?
There has to be some doubt in this regard. Even if they beat the Stormers this week, they will travel back Down Under to face one of the Chiefs or Crusaders in a final.
The Reds were outstanding in the 2011 final and deserved to win, but it was evident that the Crusaders were not as sharp as usual and that the extensive travel had finally caught up with them.
It would make for an incredible story if the Sharks went all the way, but if they don’t, then they will reflect on their earlier failures as reasons for yet another near miss.
As the history of this competition will confirm, home advantage is crucial in the play-offs. The Sharks underachieved in the league stage of the 2011 season, and were forced to travel to Christchurch for a play-off as a result. They’ve produced a mixed bag once again in 2012, and while they’ve done enough to progress to the semi-finals, they haven’t done enough to avoid the great detractor of travel fatigue.

104 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
23 Jul 2012, 05:05 am
Now or Never Dragons!!!
23 Jul 2012, 05:37 am
The Sharks are gonna be pumped! It’s now or never rugby. I don’t expect them to win but by god I will happy if they do. I’ll be travelling to NZ for the final.
They’ve just got to go out there and play with no concern for their bodies. They can’t let nerves get the better of them. They just got to come out like a pack of rabid dogs like they did in Brissy! This will be a far tougher task. The Stormers strong defence will be tough to get through. Jordaan is key. Anyone know if he’s out? And this maybe Michalak’s last chance to impress the French coach.
23 Jul 2012, 05:48 am
Yep I agree with my Aussie mate, the Sharks to beat the Stormers and then travel back to NZ to play either 2 of the best. I think the Bulls should have worn their PINK outfits, Captain Mellow Puff (Spies) is about as useless as they get, the Saders just smashed them, they are no good away from Loftus – and got shown how to play the game of RUGBY.
23 Jul 2012, 05:54 am
Sharks won
Amla and Kallis smashed the poms
Ernie beat a ozzie with a keewee caddy to win The Open
Perfect sporting weekend.
23 Jul 2012, 05:59 am
It is going to be brutal.
23 Jul 2012, 06:12 am
STOOOOOOOOORMEEEEEEEEEERS!!!!!!!!
Won’t be on much with it being Ramadaan. C’mon boys! Doooooooooooo eeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!
23 Jul 2012, 06:55 am
Well the headline is true, no use boring yourself to death by reading the cra.p that JC always writes.
Long to Brisbane to moer the Reds – long flight to Cape Town to school the brokebacks – long flight to kiwi land only to be killed by the Saders.
23 Jul 2012, 07:04 am
Mission Impossible.
They are but human.
23 Jul 2012, 07:05 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-4:
Not quite perfect
Bulls messed that up
But a great weekend
23 Jul 2012, 07:15 am
Morning cane
I see the closests you guys came to having a chance at The Open was supporting a keewee caddie…
Bwhahaha!
23 Jul 2012, 07:15 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-4:
Hello Fernly
Sa surely did some damage in the sporting arena on the weekend…..great stuff.
Don’t know if you watch any netball, but yesterday I had a tear in my eye when Irene Van Dyk finally won the Anz championship, she is in Sa now at the funeral of her mother.
23 Jul 2012, 07:19 am
@Te Rangatira-11: dont tell him that, making fun of peoples dead mothers is acceptable on this blog, but she may not be a target because she is a SA..
23 Jul 2012, 07:20 am
No need to look at it as a single monolithic task – such as scoring 200 in a cricket test match.
Break it down instead. They’ve scored 50 already, by beating the Reds. Now they’re going for the century, by beating the Stormers.
Focus on that first. If they get to 100 – which is just around the corner, well, that’s a great season already. If they then fall short of the 200, who can really blame them? They will already have shown that they’re the best SA team and that they can take on the best overseas teams competitively despite the ridiculous travel schedule.
SA rugby will be in a good place, given that the Sharks form the bulk of the Bok team.
23 Jul 2012, 07:22 am
@Tacitus-13: travel is a cop out… the Saders travelled many times over what the Shorks have done this year and still made last years final…
its an excuse and nothing more..
23 Jul 2012, 07:24 am
morning te ranged
i did not watch the netball.
she is a great ambassador for her sport,the same way that ernie is.
23 Jul 2012, 07:24 am
@Tacitus-13:
You saying this every time you post! What are you fearing Tac?
We get your point that the Sharks are the best side in Super Rugby, but let’s applaud them when they win the whole damn thing… You might be putting the mockers on them…
Hark luck with your team, they were really poor, especially when they have 14 Boks in their team. Either something is wrong with the selection policy or something more sinister may exist…
23 Jul 2012, 07:26 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-14:
Howzit buddy! Yeah if you end fifth and sixth you must expect to travel and not use it as an excuse. Tac was the one who said that you have to finish one or two to have a chance, so nothing changes now, does it?
23 Jul 2012, 07:26 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-12:
Kia ora Poppa, you all good. My wife came back from Sydney yesterday and now she wants to make the big move over there.I think I might do it, but have to weigh it all up.
23 Jul 2012, 07:29 am
@Gumboots-17: more boet… yep agree totally… good teams overcome difficulty, and would hope to see a 1 vs 2 final
23 Jul 2012, 07:29 am
Excuse me??
Travel does not effect the players????
Have yoou ever left that little island of yours and traveled just about around the world and still have to play a hard game of rugby, and say its not going to effect anyone??
23 Jul 2012, 07:30 am
pooper
gloves are off with you,cause you like to post murder stats.
we are just returning serve.
Did I tell you the story of a very good mate of mine.
He was 11 and his sister 13
Got home from school one day only to find their mom brutally murdered by the gardener.
His dad had a breakdown and became a alcoholic
My mom became the replacement mother figure to to him.
I am sure this will put a smile on your face and fill you with shadenfreude.
You stop,I stop.
I am sure the rest will do the same.
Your mom passed on from disease,her life was not taken violently.
I have a friend who is 38,she has leukemia and the doctors give her 3 years.
The real tragedy is that her daughter is only 17.
People pass on,that is life.
Lots of people here have been affected by murder
Just some background and a reasonable request,what you do with it is up to you.
23 Jul 2012, 07:31 am
Of course its going to effect the Sharks
23 Jul 2012, 07:31 am
@Te Rangatira-18: Kia ora bro… it can be an expensive city, but it has many good things going for it too.. keep us updated, will have to get together for a beer if you make it over..
23 Jul 2012, 07:32 am
te ranged
what line of work are you in?
23 Jul 2012, 07:34 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-14: Rubbish Poppa, please show the facts of where the saders have had to travel a few timese here and back to win?? dont try tell us traveling like last year to Aussie is the same.
Its not about using travel as an excuse, its just fact, you know full well because of the travel the Sharks were not expected to win, and are not expected to win come saturday
I know this, If the Stormers had to travel like this?? excuses would have been rainind down in here,
But they so quick to cry NO EXCUSES, sad really
23 Jul 2012, 07:34 am
@CoachPete-20:
Last year the Crusaders fell at the last hurdle because of the huge travel effects.If Sharks make the final and win it, would surely rank as the greatest feat in Super Rugby considering the travel effects and the calibre of opposition they will have faced.
23 Jul 2012, 07:35 am
@CoachPete-20: exactly coach , well said boet, and ur a stormer, some can learn from you
23 Jul 2012, 07:36 am
@CoachPete-20: where do i say it doesnt affect the players? I just said its an excuse, a cop out… finish higher on the log if you are worried about travel… all teams knew this before the season began, so its a moot point..
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-21: contrary to what you believe I believe Fern, I do not take delight in any persons suffering…but it soon shuts you lot up doesnt it? strange that i would take offence to rubbish being spewed about my country, is that not aloud?
23 Jul 2012, 07:37 am
Being tired and jet lagged from long travel is not the only reason why teams playing away from home lose
Its many factors including the venue.
Teams travel 5 hrs in the NFL (USA) and usually lose because of the combined factors
23 Jul 2012, 07:38 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-23:
Yes will do ….thanks
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-24:
Do screenprinting/ sublimation printing/ embroidery/ clothing.
23 Jul 2012, 07:38 am
@Te Rangatira-26: Look to be honest i cant see the Sharks winning the whole thing purely because even if they win come saturday?? hell then travelling back to Kiwi?? thats murder for them, it will take a miracle
23 Jul 2012, 07:39 am
sorry if i had been rude in the past te ranged
i did not know you are a chick
23 Jul 2012, 07:39 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-28: Why is a cop out? its not an excuse but if the Sharks lose I would not be surprised cop out, excuse, whatever?
If they win hats off to them it will be a fantastic achievement
23 Jul 2012, 07:41 am
@sharks_lover-25: travelling like last year is the same?
bwahahaha you onyl start watching rugby this year?
The Crusaders had to fly from Cape Town to Brisbane for the final against the Reds, taking their total travel in this competition beyond 100,000km. That figure is inflated because of their inability to play home matches due to earthquake damage in Christchurch.
but yeah, its rubbish huh?
23 Jul 2012, 07:41 am
@sharks_lover-27:
Thanks
Sharks have already gained my respect going to Reds and beating them and beating them well
23 Jul 2012, 07:42 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-28: it doesnt shut us up poops.
it only makes you look stupid.
like the bender you went on after katmans joke the other day, it way so ott it was laughable.
as for the mighty SHARKS! well done boys! now for the stormers.
travel is a killer, not a cop out like this kiwi wants us to believe. but the boys can do it, i believe.
23 Jul 2012, 07:43 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-32:
hehe….funny fella….business is tough here Fernly, got huge overheads and seem to be chasing my tail here.The problem is I am unemployable, too use to being my own boss.
23 Jul 2012, 07:43 am
@sharks_lover-25: If the Stormers had to travel like this,it wouldn’t be used as an excuse. It would be their own fault.
Same should apply to the Sharks. End 6th, and you will travel – it’s not physics.
23 Jul 2012, 07:44 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-34:
Crusaders were fantastic last year with their travel and away games
Everyone admired them
And if they had done poorly I would have happily accepted that an excuse
23 Jul 2012, 07:44 am
@rangerman-36: wow, looking stupid on a blog ? funny ranger, it was okay to joke about my fam but then katman got all precious when Skop started on his fam?
double standards huh? but yeah, i await your next witty remark..
23 Jul 2012, 07:45 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-34: Arrrrggg ur being an idiot, not gonna bother even arguing on that with you further, No doubgt you will next be ranting away re deaths etc next
23 Jul 2012, 07:45 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-34: bwahahaha, so now travel does matter?
you are a strange one poops, first you say travel doesnt matter, then you start giving us stats on the saders travel schedule from last year?
didnt the saders play their home matches in little towns around christchurch?
or did they play them in another dimension?
wake up.
23 Jul 2012, 07:46 am
@CoachPete-39: Sharks were awesome on the weekend, but these guys are all professional and they have contingencies in place to help alleviate the travel “disadvantage”.
surely prof. noakes has some way to combat the jet lag
23 Jul 2012, 07:47 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-40: the two posts were in no way comparable unless you are a sensitive soul who lovingly polishes his gun every day.
23 Jul 2012, 07:48 am
@rangerman-36:
howzit ranger
what joke did katman make?
@Te Rangatira-37:
at the end of the day you must do what is best for you and the fam
its all about quality of life
i turned down a contract in africa becuase of quality of life
would only be in sa for 6 weeks in a year
not fair on the gf
i am planning to move to the dam permanently at the end of 2013 and work for myself and in a completely diff field if all goes well.
exciting times indeed
i am living the good life well.
23 Jul 2012, 07:48 am
@rangerman-42: obviously you havent read the thread… where did I use it as an excuse? I just highlighted the fact the Saders did more travel last year and still made the final, thus somewhat alleviating the whole travel sideshow… just couldnt wait to jump in, beautiful to know I illicit that response from you..
23 Jul 2012, 07:50 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-43:
It s much more than just the jet lag
Its unfamiliar things and staying in a hotel in an uncomfortable bed with a snoring room mate eating different food
Body clock out of wak
The pay on another teams home field
and travel back sore and tired
Yeah sharks did very well
23 Jul 2012, 07:51 am
sorry should be “then play”
23 Jul 2012, 07:53 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-46:
So if the Sharks lose to the Stormers
Yes the travel is a valid “excuse”
23 Jul 2012, 07:55 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-45:
Yes its all about the quality of life, I have everything I need right here except our boys are doing their own thing now and one is living in Brisbane,but it is time for me and the wife to do something we want to do whilst we are relatively fit and able.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All