Stormers must handle first-half heat
24 Jul 2012
Allister Coetzee believes the Stormers will need to dominate the forward exchanges and bank early points if they’re going to stall the rampant Sharks.
The Stormers have produced some commanding first-half performances over the course of the 2012 season. If there has been one period of the game where they have consistently flagged, it’s been in the third quarter, and it is that lack of concentration that has often allowed the opposition back into the contest.
That being said, it’s interesting to note that the Stormers are not a team that excels at chasing the game. Indeed, in their two losses to the Crusaders and Sharks this season, they have trailed at half-time.
The Sharks won that derby in Durban 25-20 after leading 20-6 at the break. They also made a massive statement when they went to Brisbane last Saturday and scored 17 unanswered points in the first half hour.
No doubt they will be looking for another strong start in this weekend’s semi-final, as it will put the Stormers into a position where the Cape side will need to chase the game.
The Stormers coach believes there are lessons to be taken from the Stormers’ earlier defeat to the Sharks, and that the first-half showing will be important to the outcome.
‘It’s always a tight affair when these two teams play,’ he said. ‘There was three points in it in the first match, five points in the second and I’m sure it will be similarly close this Saturday.
‘[In the Durban fixture] they did well in the first half, they really looked to attack our set piece. When you can’t get lineout or scrum ball on your own terms, it can make life very difficult.
‘We were really unhappy with our first-half performance in that game. We lost a lot of ball in contact and made errors which they duly punished. It’s something the Crusaders did to us in last year’s semi-final, where they really pressured us at the set pieces.
‘We are looking for a good start but we are also looking to sustain that for 80 minutes.’
The Sharks boast an all-Springbok front row and have been one of the leading scrummaging teams in 2012. Their lineout is competitive, which as Coetzee suggests makes it very difficult for opponents to secure good set-piece possession.
They have some powerful ball carriers capable of dominating the collisions, as well as several players who are exceptionally good when it comes to turning the ball over at the breakdown.
Coetzee again highlighted the need for a top set-piece effort this Saturday, as well as an accurate breakdown performance that will limit the Sharks’ turnover opportunities. The Stormers boast the best defence in the competition, but that defence is more susceptible on turnover ball.
‘You can’t give them turnover ball, they use it very well,’ said Coetzee in reference to the Sharks’ performance against the Reds. ‘That’s what happens when you lose the collisions and you don’t look after your possession. And by looking after your possession, I mean winning clean ball at the set pieces too.’
The Sharks won’t be as fresh as their Cape counterparts, having had to fly to Australia and back within the space of a week. Coetzee, however, insists that the Stormers wouldn’t be taking anything for granted this Saturday.
The Stormers coach said the prospect of hosting a final at Newlands would serve as extra motivation to beat the Sharks.
‘This is what we’ve worked for all season, and knowing that we could have a home final is also a massive incentive. We are really close to achieving that. That’s why we view this weekend’s game as a big opportunity.
‘There’s going to be pressure, but we’re going to embrace it. We’re not just going to absorb it, but handle it.’
By Jon Cardinelli

428 Comments
24 Jul 2012, 05:15 am
Stormers will definitely have their work cut out for them, but they’ll pull through. After the victory in Pretoria me thinks they have new mettle.
24 Jul 2012, 05:36 am
forget about turnovers, you bloody box-kicking scrum half will hand the sharks ALL the possession they need to rip your D apart…fix that s.hit & you’re half way there.
24 Jul 2012, 05:39 am
and with jpp @ his devastating best you’ll be up the creek without a paddle AC if duvenhage does his useless boxkicks to nowhere.
24 Jul 2012, 05:47 am
@Transformation-2: @Transformation-3:
Very poor quality imitations
24 Jul 2012, 06:03 am
Good point Trans. DuvetHanger (& grant) must control the game on their terms & be stingy with possession
24 Jul 2012, 06:20 am
I think the Stormers need to make sure they score more points than the Sharks and they will win…
24 Jul 2012, 06:23 am
Well said, Einstein!!!
24 Jul 2012, 06:26 am
@Slartibartfast-6:
Good afternoon Slarti…..I was impressed by the Sharks, they played very well on the weekend, if they can put in another big effort could cause an upset you think?
24 Jul 2012, 06:28 am
@viewer-5:
Do you think that was Transformation,or rather the real one?
24 Jul 2012, 06:31 am
#7 Sorry, forgot to start the sentence with “Duh,!”
24 Jul 2012, 06:35 am
@Slartibartfast-6:
” I think the Stormers need to make sure they score more points than the Sharks and they will win…”
I’m beginning to think you maybe an impostor too. The Slartibarfast I know is a very astute rugby man. Don’t know about this site.
24 Jul 2012, 06:36 am
@BrumbiesBoy-10:
Well that is why my nickname is Einstein and yours not…!
@Te Rangatira-8:
Bridge to far I think T-Ranga, the Stormers defense is just to good and a tired Sharks team will struggle.
But having said that, the Sharks team who beat the Bulls and Reds looked like a champion side and if they were at home would be clear favorites. Which ever way it won’t be by much.
24 Jul 2012, 06:39 am
@Te Rangatira-11:
Hehehe no TRanga, no imposter but was just trying to keep up with the very lofty journalistic abilities of the keo scribes. They do come up with some real beauties sometimes.
24 Jul 2012, 06:44 am
@Te Rangatira-4: indeed
24 Jul 2012, 06:47 am
@Te Rangatira-8:
One big unknown in this game is also that we have the perennial ‘chokers’ in this game, both have been here plenty of times and without fail used the opportunity to fail miserably. You would think with a defensive record like they have, and a low error type game plan, that the Stormers should do fine but it has failed them in the past.
On paper I think the Sharks have a better tight 5 but as soon as you move away from that the Stormers forwards are capable to stand their man. Back, zero flair in the Stormers but they did not end #1 because of flair…the froggie at #10 for the Sharks may have a blinder…or not!
24 Jul 2012, 06:49 am
I would play Fourie at 2. Liebenberg is off his game. Stormers will need the PitBull in the first 30, just to counter possession. I think the Stormers will be conservative, if not boring, for the first 30, relying on a kicking game and lineout superiority. But banking on tired legs is a very negative approach. If they lose the crowd, they will lose.
24 Jul 2012, 06:50 am
@Slartibartfast-12:
You are probably right…. Stormers have impressed me with their consistency to churn out a win, even when mediocre….a very good team.
@Slartibartfast-13:
Oh sorry…….. there have been some episodes of nick misappropriation, thought you may have been a victim…..might just be me seeing things…..to be honest haven’t read this bit of Keo scribes journalistic brilliance…. not up to reading that stuff.
24 Jul 2012, 06:54 am
@Te Rangatira-8: I’m sure that every kiwi will be supporting the guppies, for the final in NZ of course.
24 Jul 2012, 06:55 am
@Slartibartfast-15:
I really can’t pick a winner, both teams are high quality and it will come down to who wants it the most.
24 Jul 2012, 07:00 am
@Te Rangatira-17:
Every so often I forget and then I read it!
Sign of a good team, winning even when looking poor. The problem with the game plan, and where they came unstuck before, is that in finals rugby the opposition suddenly plays a similar game i.e. winning at all cost if only by 1 point.
So the harder pick for me is the other semi, would say Chiefs but only because they at home?
24 Jul 2012, 07:01 am
@Te Rangatira-19:
So it comes down to home ground and travel fatigue…
24 Jul 2012, 07:02 am
@RL-18:
Yeah I was thinking that way, hoping Sharks will come back these ways, but am beginning to get weird thoughts about going to Newlands and winning a final there as being more satisfying.
24 Jul 2012, 07:07 am
@Slartibartfast-20:
Im going for the Chiefs because on my slide rule of likeability they are ahead of the Crusaders
@Slartibartfast-21:
Home Ground is a real advantage…..travel fatigue only comes into it when you lose….if you get my drift.
24 Jul 2012, 07:12 am
@Te Rangatira-23:
Hehehe on your slide scale! Can I assume the Saders are a fair way down on the NZ scale?
I do but no matter wht they say the sharks must suffer.
24 Jul 2012, 07:13 am
last time i checked rugby is a 80min game.
this game is going to be tighter than a nun,so one lapse of concentration for a small period of time could sway the result of this game.
will the stormers lack of try scoring ability come back and haunt them?
let us see.
24 Jul 2012, 07:14 am
te ranged have you ever been really overseas?
oz and the islands dont count
24 Jul 2012, 07:15 am
Linkin Park is coming to Mzansi in November!
24 Jul 2012, 07:26 am
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wJ-l1LIdWOU
When china comes along please point him to this post.
china I would love your opinion on this as you stay there.
Is Mc Williams being accurate,or is he wong?
24 Jul 2012, 07:45 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-26:
Kia ora Fernly, yeah been to a few places outside Oz and Fiji, was alot fitter back in those days. I will retract my “travel excuse” Fernly, because if Sharks make the final and win it here, it will be the Greatest Feat in the History of the competition based on the distance traveled and the opposition faced. All good now?
24 Jul 2012, 08:19 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-27: And if you are a member of the underground you can get your tickets today already, like I will be doing. Chester and the crew in CT, Xmas in November. On a side note, I imagined Barry Manilow was your thing, not the incredible Linkin Park.
24 Jul 2012, 08:24 am
@Te Rangatira-29:
You safe, won’t happen!
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-30:
24 Jul 2012, 08:32 am
See Paul Jordaan is still struggling with that hammie injury and is 50/50 for this game. Do hope though that Jordaan comes through this injury this week, as he was outstanding on Saturday. Lambie still out injured too.
So do we have a case to apply again to get Frans Steyn? I know we were denied the first time round but think we have a better case this time. Worth a try I think. Bosman is actually registered as a fh. So worth a try I think to apply again.
24 Jul 2012, 08:35 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-30:
And here I thought it was Barry White?
24 Jul 2012, 08:36 am
@ Puma
Are you one of those okes that thinks NO actually means YES?
@Puma-32:
It’s not going to happen…
@Blokkies-34:
24 Jul 2012, 08:37 am
@Blokkies-34: Yip…
Worth a try though. They can only say bugger off…. or yes
24 Jul 2012, 08:38 am
@WP Till I Die-35: hahaha. You never know pal.
24 Jul 2012, 08:39 am
In other news, the Stormers still can’t score tries.
24 Jul 2012, 08:40 am
@kaksioek-39:
24 Jul 2012, 08:41 am
@WP Till I Die-33:
Quite possibly. Barry is the perfect ‘fit’ for all of Fern’s ‘alleged’ encounters with the ladies. Candles, Barry White, cheap wine, faulty condoms….(I actually imagine him being one of those twats who dances for his ladies – Magic Mike he ain’t, of that I am 100% certain.)
24 Jul 2012, 08:41 am
@Jinx2-16: “I think the Stormers will be conservative, if not boring, for the first 30 …” What will they do for the other 50 minutes – sit on the sidelines?
24 Jul 2012, 08:42 am
I want to see Tiaan cry again.
Bissy make it happen…
24 Jul 2012, 08:45 am
“No doubt they will be looking for another strong start in this weekend’s semi-final, as it will put the Stormers into a position where the Cape side will need to chase the game.”
Yes, they would have to go on an all out place-kicking rampage. Hide your women and children.
24 Jul 2012, 08:47 am
Sharky fanboys (and hangers on from other unions) in PR overdrive…. Boom, Bang, Boom, Bang. This is something to behold.
24 Jul 2012, 08:50 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-41:
is jy rerig n vroumens?
“one of those twats who dances for his ladies”
24 Jul 2012, 08:52 am
The Stormers have been hiding their playoff game planning brilliantly the whole year.
The subtle signs have been there, but most armchair supporters are too faak to have noticed.
We will abandon the conservative approach and run the ball from all quarters.
Brock has peaked at the perfect time to take his true position of flyhalf. He is going to run over the Frenchman every chance he gets, and offload to a flying Bekker who will make a speedbump out of Bosman before skip passing to Tiaan on the wing who is a demon at scoring in the corner with 4 defenders hanging on him….
Oh and I almost forgot, Gio is gonna secure all our lineout ball when Andries lifts him 4 meters in the air.
You Guppies aint gonna know whats hit ya
24 Jul 2012, 08:53 am
Sadie to Cheetahs on a two year deal just read it now on the SA rugby mag page on Facebook (via EWN sport)
24 Jul 2012, 08:54 am
@blokkies
very snaaks this morning
24 Jul 2012, 08:54 am
@ kaksioek
LOL @ “an all out place-kicking rampage” hehehe
24 Jul 2012, 08:59 am
@kaksioek-44:
@Sasuke-48:
he will dissapear into mediocrity
another meyer bosman in the making
24 Jul 2012, 08:59 am
@kaksioek-44: funniest post of the week.
Look, all the Sharks need to do is score 4 tries and they should win. The Stormers haven’t scored more than 3 tries in a game all season.
24 Jul 2012, 09:00 am
Hmmm
24 Jul 2012, 09:02 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-46: As a woman, I am more than qualified to guess that Fern is the type to do just that
We women have all had to deal with a ‘no-hoper’ or two in our lives at some stage.
24 Jul 2012, 09:03 am
@Blokkies-47: Good one……………..
24 Jul 2012, 09:05 am
@wooden spoon-52: Stormers havent conceded four tries in a match this season so Sharks should be worried. They will get two at most.
24 Jul 2012, 09:11 am
@Sasuke-56: Look, if the Rebels can outscore your team 3 tries to 2 I’m sure the Sharks can do better.
24 Jul 2012, 09:11 am
@Te Rangatira-4: imitation: the highest form of flattert mate…
24 Jul 2012, 09:12 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-54:
So what you saying is that my friend Fernly reminds you of Jim from American Pie………..” She’s gone! Oh my God, she used me. I was used. I was used! Cool! “
24 Jul 2012, 09:13 am
Sorry Sharkies… imo Stormers will walk this one…
24 Jul 2012, 09:15 am
@Transformation-58:
Whats wrong with these people, that guy was useless.
24 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
@Te Rangatira-61:
24 Jul 2012, 09:23 am
@Te Rangatira-59:
Bloody right my friend.
He also happens to remind me (and I’m sure any other woman who blogs here) of that ONE mistake you make in your dating life, when you are young and innocent…….the one that haunts you for years afterwards. The one that makes you thank all the gods for your husband.
@Transformation-62: They will only imitate those they find threatening
24 Jul 2012, 09:27 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-46: hi gallileo
eish those canterbury “cheats” made mince meat of your bulle!
didn’t I TELL YOU, your team will lose if you have to go to christchurch for a playoff game? hehehehe
you suck in christchurch!
when the score was 16 – 0, justin marshall or nisbo reminded us that the last time the bulls were around those parts the game ended 27 – 0 nc nc nc
“The Stormers and the Sharks are the African title contenders I had expected the Bulls to be. Instead, this year’s Bulls proved to be cumbersome plodders obsessed with kicking the ball to the opposition.
The street savvy Crusaders lapped it up, setting their line, running good blocking lines and punishing a Bulls outfit for their tactical naivety. The Bulls didn’t offer a shot all night. “ – justin marshall
24 Jul 2012, 09:29 am
Barry “the Shark” Manilow is a ******* genius.
24 Jul 2012, 09:29 am
Only a seriously deluded fool can see a sharks win on Saturday.
24 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-63:
Excessive self-promotion is such a dead giveaway for a deep rooted feeling of insecurity or self doubt.
24 Jul 2012, 09:36 am
Fernley said he is just like Ernie Els.
Humble and down to earth.
He is a national treasure.
(Fernley not Ernie).
Well I guess its tickets for Stormers, they will be beaten to a pulp, the all conquering Sharks have already booked their flight to NZ, the availability of Etzebeth, Bekker and Vermeulen won’t add zilch to that side that got a whoopass at Kings Park.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-65:
Barry Manilow?
The other day you called Jim Reeves a genius too.
Who is next? Charles Jacobie?
24 Jul 2012, 09:38 am
@Robzim-67: Or a dead giveaway for a deep rooted, small and totally ineffective ‘joystick’…. When I read Fern’s words on here, I see Michael de Pinna in the earliest Vodacom ads for some reason. Oiled up torso, combed and plaited chest hairs, medallion dangling, leopard print g string manties…..
Back in a bit – have to go and puke (repeatedly)
24 Jul 2012, 09:38 am
@Robzim-70:
Hank Williams.
legend.
24 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
Checked the Sharks game last night for the first time and Turnstile Bosman tackling himself definitely the highlight.The Sharks probably going to play an injured Jordaan after that histrionics .
24 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
Sharks won’t win on Saturday, purely because they’re performance has mentally shifted the Stormers, if they weren’t already there, to be ably prepared for this semi.
The Stormers, though they haven’t scored 4 tries, have consistently shown how prepared they are mentally for play off games especially in winning games they shouldn’t have.
I said last week its all about the mental aspect at this stage and that the Sharks would win and Bulls lose.
The Sharks will lose as well as the Saders
24 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
HMMM, you know what Pedigree, I enjoy your posts and I remember your first post under your infamous nick, when I think about it , you did have something different, perhaps your women’s intuition,rather refreshing if I must say.
Fernly is a mate to me and I know he has said some unkind things to women on this blog but he has toned it down somewhat and is on the road to recovery, but I know you will keep him on his toes.
24 Jul 2012, 09:41 am
Jim Reeves recorded an album of Afrikaans songs while here in SA shooting a movie about a washed up country singer. That moves him up several notches on the coolness scale.
24 Jul 2012, 09:43 am
@>^..^< katman-76:
The original… Kalahari Kid
24 Jul 2012, 09:45 am
@XhosaKid-69:
haven’t you got some textbooks to deliver?
24 Jul 2012, 09:47 am
Think the movie was called Kimberly Jim..
of iets
24 Jul 2012, 09:48 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-78: No, I didn’t my greedy paws on this particular tender.
24 Jul 2012, 09:48 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-72:
Bruce Springsteen once introduced John Fogerty as the Hank Willams of our generation so I guess old Hank must have been ok.
24 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
@Robzim-81:
all three are… OK…
24 Jul 2012, 09:50 am
Just tried to google Freedom Furniture in NZ and google China threw me out, gotta love this country.
24 Jul 2012, 09:52 am
@stormerforlife1-73: It was the best tackle he has made all season. A try saving tackle on himself.
Blades would have been ecstatic in commentary: “a telling tackle by Bosman on ummmmmmmmmmmm himself, Joel, this can’t be right?”
@>^..^< katman-76:
Did Ivan Redbroff not also once recorded an Afrikaans song?
The first Afrikaans “rock song” I ever heard was “Vat hom Dawie” by the Bats (Rock with a concertina).
the only thing that could save the stormers in my opinion is sharks jetlag.
if the stormers can somehow blunt the sharks 1-4 they are in with a shot.
the sharks backrow is very light and rely more than any other side on the frontfoot provided by the heavies.
24 Jul 2012, 09:54 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-78: He’s already delivered them to the corner of Stormwater Drain and Bridge Underpass.
@Te Rangatira-75: Fern is an irritant, not a danger (except to himself..) Harmless
@the artist formerly known as gunther-68: i am tired of fernly’s pathetic attempt to reach my levels of arrogance! i really hope it’s case of a multinic nonsensical nob gobbler trying his luck!
and anyone hoping for a French style explosion from Freddy this sat, dream on, that cute little frenchie will be kissing my asss post match and i really hope his tongue is of KISS proportions, you get my drift!
24 Jul 2012, 09:55 am
@XhosaKid-80:
Are you saving yourself for the interior decorating tender for Inkwazi II?
@Brigadier Van Zyl-86:
the sharks are going to neutralise the stormers front row by putting a Bar One Cheesecake in their dressing room before the game.
24 Jul 2012, 09:55 am
@Robzim-85:
didn’t the Bats also do a New Zealand rock song too…???
Shabby Lower Hut or something…?
24 Jul 2012, 09:56 am
just teasing, kiwi posters…
was a song called Shabby LIttle Hut…
nothing to do with NZ…
24 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@ufo-82:
For about 2 years John Fogerty was nearly untouchable- then he just seemed to lose that creative spark or inspiration to turn out a hit song nearly every month.
@Transformation-64:
ag its all dust in the wind to me, transie… dust in the wind…
i’m moving on from super rugby, will only follow cc and internationals not involving new zealand (spit).
until the irb/sanzar sort this shitt out and rid rugby of this blight, its just not worth losing sleep over.
bulls played badly and the crusaders played well enough to win.
they are still dirty though and there was enough of their play on show in the game.
i wish the chiefs best of luck.
@Robzim-85: Indeed, he did. Two full albums. Here’s a little RuskieDutchie gem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LiAyFStYa8c
24 Jul 2012, 09:58 am
@ufo-79: Yes, that rings a bell.
24 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-94:
the Bulls infringed (cheated) all night and Steyn provided the comedy act
24 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-88:
“We’ll just tell your mother that… we ate it all”
24 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
@Robzim-93:
yeah i know bud… one of the greats… rocked to car in my youth…
used to have a record for most number ones in two years or something… which is just about as long as their recording career lasted…
john did an excellent song a few years back about the iraq war called ‘deja vu all over again’… excellent song could’ve been one from the early 70s like who’ll stop the rain…
24 Jul 2012, 10:02 am
rocked to CCR….
%^&*$%^& autocorrect….
And now we’re going to take it down a notch. Kick back and relax with this little number by the evergreen Jim Reeves. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOZjIMJS_jc
@NZINCHINA-97: and now hes not going to follow super rugby anymore..
the toy has officially been cast from the cot..
hilarious stuff, now if we talked of players like he talked of them on here (e.g calling reid a filthy cheat scum) hooboy, we’d have tough guys telling us to fck off from the blog..
got to love the beaten Saffa, they are priceless…
24 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
johnny cash
nuff said….
24 Jul 2012, 10:03 am
@ufo-91:
don’t be like that.
Caner has just put a new astroturf carpet on his Airstream’s patio.
24 Jul 2012, 10:05 am
@NZINCHINA-97:
you keep believing that…
24 Jul 2012, 10:06 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-102:
i’m presuming thats Houston we have a problem? yip he’s been made to look very foolish the Bulls were slowing the ball down ,late/high tackles and entering the ruck from behind Ellis, isn’t that what he calls cheating?
24 Jul 2012, 10:06 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-104:
24 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-94: hahahaha
ja, let’s isolate ourselves AGAIN
cane, poppa, NZiC, hurricane all got good sense of humor…
@wait for it, wait for it…-103: Nasir Jones….enough said
24 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-94: Bud, seriously. The bulls were dire. The only reason they lost is because they sucked. I was hoping they would pitch up, but they didn’t. And they were the ones playing spoiling negative rugby, not the saders.
24 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-103:
Pooper was named after one of his songs.
24 Jul 2012, 10:11 am
@Atreides-111:
he bit the head of his Ritchie voodoo doll half way through the 2nd half
24 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-112: A boy named Sue?
24 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-112: big john? awww shucks Gunther, you do look at other blokes when in the conveniences huh? I thought it was only a rumour…
@NZINCHINA-106: Im waiting for the ref cheating post from our man with the love for bakkies… that ne should be highly entertaining
24 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
@>^..^< katman-114:
24 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@Transformation-110:
i googled him.
he cannot possibly be as famous or musically good as johnny cash?
@Atreides-111:
agreed, it was a woeful, inept performance by the bulls and they deservedly lost. crusaders were at their usual though, watch the game again.
and watch the game against the chiefs, see how that goes.
and if they win then watch the game against their finals opponent, see how that goes.
i wont watch the nz game but will enjoy the stormers – sharks clash.
24 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
Gunther, i think this new found revelation has actually led me to understand your fixation with the “canon on my canoe”…
e noho ra gentleman, and goodbye for now to you Saffas too..
24 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-118:
Bye Sue.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-112:
sue..?.
that explains a lot
@NZINCHINA-106:
Houston has gone into hibernation for a one week sabbatical, he will return with more allegations of onfield injustices perpetrated by us conniving kiwi………I’m beginning to love that shitt and I think Houston is the shizz.
@William Webb Ellis is now at home-118: Don’t forget your hairnet.
24 Jul 2012, 10:20 am
@>^..^< katman-114:
snap
@the artist formerly known as gunther-119:

i think it’ll stick
24 Jul 2012, 10:22 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-119: f uck, finally. Whatawanker
24 Jul 2012, 10:22 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-117:
The Bulls cheated all night very cynical, they made your prop an honourary Crusader after the match.
24 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
@Te Rangatira-121:
he must have rented a cave in Pretoria
24 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
@Te Rangatira-121:
no, its really just the crusaders and anyone who supports that sort of thing in rugby. even the chiefs are nowhere near as bad and the other nz unions are still within reason.
crusaders rugby is filthy, dishonest, cheap shot, cheating rugby…
and then there’s the refs amd TMO’s, i wont even go there…
24 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@NZINCHINA-125:
cynical..?
ha
haha
hahahahaha
24 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-127:
you’ve been there a thousad times before one more time won’t hurt
24 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-127:
Houston you are here, HG is right need to have the former nic posted, well my friend you are obviously not going for the Crusaders…….join me in supporting the Chiefs……they will take down those “Cheats” for us, whattayousay.
24 Jul 2012, 10:47 am
@NZINCHINA-129:
cant you get no satisfaction…
@Te Rangatira-130:
i mean no offense but i dont think i can stomach to watch the chiefs – crusaders game, rangy. i do support you along with the chiefs though.
anyone to keep those people out, is a good thing.
24 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-131:
Yeah I understand……oh well Houston all the best and I will look out for your new nic. Peace out
24 Jul 2012, 11:26 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-117: different strokes for different folks.
24 Jul 2012, 11:27 am
@Transformation-133:
‘n Voël in die hand is beter as twee voëls in die bos.
24 Jul 2012, 11:39 am
@WP Till I Die-134: is that jackparow?
24 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
I see Sportingbet has the Stormers as favourites at 3/5. Sharks are still at 6/4.
24 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
@Transformation-135:
No, Fern.
24 Jul 2012, 11:43 am
@WP Till I Die-136:
the stormers have always been the saffa favourites.
nothing new there.
24 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-138: maybe deep down in your subconscious mind, but weren’t the sharks and stormers both initially listed as initial favourites…? bookies place a huge emphasis on home ground advantage, but one can’t deny the sharks ‘momentum’. who are you supporting this Sat? be honest
24 Jul 2012, 12:00 pm
i am loving all the “oh the sharks are the greatest and the stormers mustnt even bother” posts from stormers fans.
so sarky, so tender, such sensitivity.
you must wake up.
24 Jul 2012, 12:00 pm
@BuckT-139:
Gunther will be washing his Kia Picanto on Saturday…
24 Jul 2012, 12:01 pm
@BuckT-139: howdy buckt, long time mate.
we are in for a ripper this weekend.
i am very keen to see how the sides match up and i am already proud of both teams players (saffas one and all now that jeb is gone).
a true saffa derby.
24 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
@WP Till I Die-141:
with the bass turned up.
24 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
This site is going to the dogs…what’s up with the “posting too fast” comments?
24 Jul 2012, 12:04 pm
@rangerman-143:
He might even turn convention on its head entirely and accompany Mrs Gunther to Canal Walk…
24 Jul 2012, 12:04 pm
Katman – Caddies fees are tax deductable, so unless he received a special ‘bonus’ from Ernie, I think his credit this month is still good!
in ’97 when Ernie won the US Open, there was a Major bonus clause from Taylor Made that paid out $2Million so he gave the first prize of $500K to Ricky
24 Jul 2012, 12:05 pm
@rangerman-142:
Ahem.
I know Tendai Mtawarira got his SA citizenship.
But I’m pretty sure Freddie Michalak is here on a work permit…
24 Jul 2012, 12:06 pm
@WP Till I Die-144: Ryan V and John C have to re-type all the comments from the little text box to the space under our names. Sometimes they struggle to keep up. Luckily Fuckadilly has taken a minor sabbatical. His posts are a fcken nightmare.
24 Jul 2012, 12:06 pm
@WP Till I Die-141: you think the ‘wash cloth’ might be of a pink variety?
24 Jul 2012, 12:07 pm
@WP Till I Die-145: haha, kanalia walk?
@WP Till I Die-147: haha, true that. forgot about the frog.
typical sharks breaking the mold again.
we are like that here in durbs.
24 Jul 2012, 12:07 pm
@BuckT-146: No wonder Ricky’s gold chain just gets phatter and phatter.
24 Jul 2012, 12:08 pm
@rangerman-143: @WP Till I Die-141: Mrs G will be soooo happy
a pair of hands to shift furniture.
24 Jul 2012, 12:09 pm
@Transformation-152: Shift furniture? That’s a euphemism for something, right?
24 Jul 2012, 12:10 pm
@Transformation-152:
Maevis is overjoyed.
No more heavy lifting for her.
24 Jul 2012, 12:11 pm
chiefs have as good a chance of beating the crusaders.
but for me…it’s going to be the crusaders against the stormers in cape town.
the travel will hurt the sharks in the last few minutes.
traditionally the crusaders have taken a spanking against the bulls in playoffs in SA. The Stormers are different, they poep their pants.
24 Jul 2012, 12:11 pm
@rangerman-142: yes, without sounding to sarky, the sharks are impressing at the moment and even though i still don’t think we are going to see ‘that game’ from the Stormers we have been waiting for the whole season, if they can keep possession and play with confidence, it could go either way. how big was the snoek you shot anyway and did you just aim at a school and let fly or what??
24 Jul 2012, 12:12 pm
@>^..^< katman-153:
Some (door)***** need polishing.
@WP Till I Die-157:
Doorknobs.
@BuckT-146: You still playing, or has daddyhood finally sunk your hopes of an Open qualifier wildcard?
I’ll be playing my first game in months next weekend at Devonvale. Even hit the range a few times recently to make sure I can still advance the ball forward more often than not.
24 Jul 2012, 12:13 pm
@rangerman-150:
it was nice to see your Sharks offloading in the tackle, its not really that difficult so im not sure what all the fuss is about but they looked very good
24 Jul 2012, 12:14 pm
@BuckT-139:
there is no room for debate here.
finish and klaar.
@rangerman-143:
after market sound system from my friends at rad temple of sound in athlone.
piccanto’s have very good accoustics.
pump up the jam.
@WP Till I Die-145:
Mrs Gunther does her shopping in New York not Canal Walk.
She does have her car serviced there though.
@BuckT-149:
yeah… lot’s of pink loslappies in pretoria now…
@>^..^< katman-153: i think it will be automatic from the hand brake
24 Jul 2012, 12:15 pm
@BuckT-156:
No man.
You don’t shoot snoek.
The only time this has happened was when Snoek Dog was gunned down in Lavender Hill in 1997.
(But he was very big.)
24 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@WP Till I Die-154:
heavy lifting?
please man.
Maevis has had a doctors note for that since 2001.
The only lifting she does is coffee and sugar from my pantry and the remote control to change from Oprah to the Wrestling.
24 Jul 2012, 12:19 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-155: it’s defintely going to be close and going on the results this season, Chiefs have out played the saders, could have so easily been 2-0 in their favour, plus the home ground advantage….it’s almost as if the Saders reputation precedes them these days, even with a few strange results this season….plus I think Reid is a massive loss, so going to back the Chiefs.
24 Jul 2012, 12:20 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-165:
Was it not a sangoma note?
24 Jul 2012, 12:21 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-165: Why those are still two separate channels is beyond me. It’s the same market, so why not combine them? TV Show Wrestling could see Oprah take on Noleen and Jerry Springer up against Debora Patta.
Of course, I’d only tune in to watch Jeanne D take on anyone.
24 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
@NZINCHINA-160: in SA one has to fuss as the coaches kill that kind of game at U20 level!
24 Jul 2012, 12:24 pm
@WP Till I Die-167:
I don’t know.
His name is Dr Moosha MD (University of Lagos)
His business card says he specialises in spells, manhood problems and “things that are bad in your head”.
I think I should pass his details on to Poep.
24 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@>^..^< katman-168:
Just add Juju to the mix – his signature move can be the Moët & Chandon Smackdown – and we have some real potential here.
24 Jul 2012, 12:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-170:
Ah, he’s the one who keeps making criminal cases disappear from the Cape Town Magistrates Court’s roll.
24 Jul 2012, 12:26 pm
@>^..^< katman-168:
it would certainly save Maevis some much deserved aggravation.
I want to see Noleen sit on Jeannie D’s face.
That’s payperview s.hit right there.
24 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
@WP Till I Die-171:
Deborah Patta’s signature move – the Tongue Lash.
24 Jul 2012, 12:28 pm
Did I say that out loud?
24 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@WP Till I Die-174: Or old Riaan C’s signature move, where he lifts the opponent’s feet off the ground, leaving them helplessly propped up on their hands, and then runs around the ring with them.
It’s called the Kruiwagen.
24 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
@>^..^< katman-159: i manage a couple of rounds a month, keeps the rust off, but been a very fair weather golfer of note lately! we must organise a game at the Jewel of the north (aka durbanville) best greens in the Cape at the moment. lets wait until the fairways dry out first though!
24 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-175: Yep. And I now need a brainscrub.
24 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@WP Till I Die-164: You are posting comments too quickly. Please slow down.
@>^..^< katman-178: You are posting comments too quickly. Please slow down.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-175: You are posting comments far too f u ck ing quickly. Log the f kc u off.
@BuckT-177:
the jewel of the north.
a rof diamond.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-170: does he also guarantee no cheaty cheaty from wife with other manhood?
24 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@BuckT-177: Funny that. D’urbanville always has the “best something” in Cape Town. You guys are truly privileged.
But yes, we must arrange something. Maybe drag Bod back onto the tee box.
24 Jul 2012, 12:35 pm
@>^..^< katman-182:
if only to mow it.
24 Jul 2012, 12:37 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-180: there are definitely a few cubics in the rough!
24 Jul 2012, 12:42 pm
@>^..^< katman-182: yes, apparently best heroin dealers as well, if some stats are to be believed.
what has happened to bod these days, made a short return then dropped off the radar…
@the artist formerly known as gunther-183: hehe i thought you were still talking about Noleen sitting on Jeannie D’s face
24 Jul 2012, 12:43 pm
@BuckT-177:
“lets wait until the fairways dry out”.
Do you need that extra bit of rolly polly Buck.
24 Jul 2012, 12:45 pm
@cane-186: He doesn’t like mud splatter on his cream slacks.
24 Jul 2012, 12:48 pm
@cane-186: And the short answer is no. Buck gets more carry with his 8-iron than I get with my best topped driver – roll included.
24 Jul 2012, 12:51 pm
@cane-186: Pinnacles these days bounce through the mud…plus the greatest big bertha can still do the biznis!
24 Jul 2012, 14:27 pm
baie baie snaaks vandag
24 Jul 2012, 14:37 pm
@BuckT-189:
The greatest big Bertha?
Don’t tell me yours has a Doctors note as well ?
24 Jul 2012, 14:49 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-191: you were speaking on itenders earlier
nom nom nom
R8bn ‘green building’ for Pretoria
| 20 July 2012
Construction began on the Environmental Affairs Department’s new R8-billion “green building” in Pretoria on Thursday, illustrating South Africa’s determination to move towards a low-carbon economy.
It serves as a “green and bold step” which signals a new era in South Africa’s response to climate change, Environmental Affairs Minister Edna Molewa said at the sod-turning ceremony.
Molewa predicted it would change the face of the construction industry.
“Through this green building we will propel the department above the construction industry players, setting a good example for other organisations and of course for the benefit of the environment and future generations,” she said.
http://www.southafrica.info/about/sustainable/green-200712.htm
24 Jul 2012, 14:58 pm
@Transformation-192:
R8 BILLION!!!!!!
24 Jul 2012, 15:04 pm
@Transformation-192: @WP Till I Die-193: A healthy lifestyle is expensive.
24 Jul 2012, 15:05 pm
Gunther @ 72.Hank senior
24 Jul 2012, 15:07 pm
@WP Till I Die-193: I think that amount includes the building of a life size replica Chapman’s Peak mountain – all these new buildings must be on one.
24 Jul 2012, 15:13 pm
Gunther @ 72.Country music that made sense.Not this “Baby make my blue jeans talk walk”****.
Johny cash @ Patsy Kline also great.
24 Jul 2012, 15:13 pm
I may have missed it but I don’t see too much of Tac around here…
I told him before the time that the Bulls 10-12 axis = their Achilles; unfortunately I did not see that game but was not surprised when I saw the final score; ironically Wynand Olivier’s try in that match will secure him his place in the Bok side
The bad news is that when Dan Kara departs then Tom Taylor will take over; now he comes from stock that offloaded in the tackle in the early 80s so it will be more of the same…
Meanwhile I’m afraid the Stormers will not triumph but the Sharks will then end up runners-up; you have to admire how the plan their season
24 Jul 2012, 15:15 pm
Admire how the Crusaders plan their season…
24 Jul 2012, 15:31 pm
Admire how you arrange your easy listening jazz collection.
24 Jul 2012, 15:35 pm
R8 billion?
What he means I’d that his mates and family will feel the lasting effects for generations to come.
24 Jul 2012, 15:41 pm
Sharks training sessions apparently going very well. Guys are in a good mental place too.
Is tjulle reg Stormas ?
24 Jul 2012, 15:41 pm
Al Jarreau!
And a bit of Salt n Pepa for when the joint is really moving.
24 Jul 2012, 15:44 pm
Anyone who thinks green comes cheap cannot be a true environmentalist. You can’t put a price tag on the earth. To make an omelette you must break some free range eggs. When it comes to saving the planet through your new offices, you get what you pay for. And anyway, haters gonna hate.
24 Jul 2012, 15:45 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-203: Stick on Al Jarreau and you make da lady’s day. Stick on George Benson and you make her whole week.
24 Jul 2012, 15:50 pm
@>^..^< katman-205: Al Jarreau “the man with an orchestra in his mouth”
i “missed” his performance in ’09 @ CTIJF and went to the famed Mavericks instead.
24 Jul 2012, 15:51 pm
Hahahana
Sies.
24 Jul 2012, 15:52 pm
@Transformation-206: As opposed to Kenny G, the man with the organ in his mouth.
24 Jul 2012, 15:54 pm
@Transformation-206: is it any good?
24 Jul 2012, 15:55 pm
@>^..^< katman-205: lol siff
24 Jul 2012, 15:58 pm
I guess the key word in sport is ‘composure’ ; Amla scoring 300, the Proteas making sure that they get there and Sharks executing their game plan and surprising the Reds
Federer winning a 7th and so on…
So there is another opportunity for the Stormers… but will they keep their composure or will the moment be too big yet again?
You have to have the ability to shut out the broader implications ie don’ worry about winning the entire tournament, just win the game and then enjoy the fruits of your labour
24 Jul 2012, 16:06 pm
Katman 208
Very Good.Lol.
All of my immortals are dead.Ray Charles
Elvis Hank Patsy Kline,Johnny Cash.The list
goes on.(An oxymoron in there)
24 Jul 2012, 16:08 pm
Geez you guys over-complicate things on these blogs, and I must tell you it amuses the players greatly. I would love to hear Percy comment on whether all this kak really affects the players.
On Saturday, Sharks will play the Stormers at Newlands. The team that runs faster, finds gaps to run into, tackles more accurately and perhaps gets a little ‘rub of the green’ will win. Simple as that. Yes, the Sharks will be negatively influenced by their travel – that is a physiological fact that cannot be avoided.
But all this mental stuff is a crock of bull.
It is two rugby teams going up against each other….that’s how the players see it. Some might have some mental demons that come back to haunt them in pressure situations like this, but in general these boys are just going to do what they have done since school.
Go out onto a rugby field on Saturday and play rugby to try and win.
Just chill guys. Whoever is going to win….is going to win….
24 Jul 2012, 16:09 pm
@Sheriff-211: Not just sport. We’ve got a great composure in the corner of the garden. All our veggie offcuts, eggshells, garden clippings go in there. It really is super.
24 Jul 2012, 16:11 pm
@Sheriff-211: Another Federer supporter ? Are you also one of those that believes Federer gives a flying f$%k about his South African heritage ?
Personally, I support Rafael Nadal. At least he doesn’t look like a ballerina when he plays tennis.
24 Jul 2012, 16:13 pm
@Atreides-209: it’s aaaaight
24 Jul 2012, 16:16 pm
@Dusky-215: he might not give a “flying f$%k” but he puts his money in south african charities, which is more than a weasel like you has ever done…
24 Jul 2012, 16:17 pm
@Transformation-217: Heita….fokkoff….
24 Jul 2012, 16:18 pm
@Transformation-217: In other words, he pours money into some corrupt ‘big chiefs’ pocket ?
24 Jul 2012, 16:18 pm
@Dusky-213:
No doubt if they play the way you write then there can only be one outcome: defeat
I was amazed just recently when I stumbled on a documentary where they interviewed the AB u20 side; they focused specifically the captain I forget his name
I was amazed at the technical detail they discussed, the individual support and know-how; you may argue but they lost the game – let me tell you those players will re-appear in Crusaders, Chiefs jumpers in years to come and play with maturity beyond their year
This becomes the basis for refined thinking later on in their careers, no wonder they are able to manipulate defences because its in their culture of thinking about the game
24 Jul 2012, 16:19 pm
@Dusky-215: He is a huge Springbok supporter.
Does that answer your question?
24 Jul 2012, 16:20 pm
you know it really would not surprise me in the least if those new zealanders had put something into the bulls team’s food at the hotel they were staying in.
nothing, nothing is impossible with these people.
something sedatative perhaps, just enough to leave the team slightly lethargic on the pitch.
anyway
bygones
24 Jul 2012, 16:21 pm
@willievz-221: Where do you see that ? I have never heard Federer say or allude to anything that has to do with his South African heritage.
Vamos Rafa ! Give the ballerina a hiding !
24 Jul 2012, 16:21 pm
@>^..^< katman-214:
Well done, do you throw it in there yourself or does Ben-Lucius?
24 Jul 2012, 16:22 pm
@Sheriff-220: Believe what you like. I have have been fortunate enough to chat to a few guys in my time, and its much simpler than this.
They definitely dont complicate matters in their minds as much as we do on this blog. Thats for sure.
24 Jul 2012, 16:22 pm
very snaaks comments today
rwl
24 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
@Dusky-215:
Yeah. And Djokovic.
I thought Federer is Maori.
24 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
haha, 8 billion for a green building is such utter bs.
green doesnt have to be ultra expensive.
unless you are an anc tunc lead by that fuckinglyingpig of a president rapist arseholethieffraudcorruptuncaringfuck.
its like a bunch of pigs just stealing every penny they can lay their hands on before the public really sees what is going on behind the scenes and votes them out.
by that time we will have the currency of zambia.
zuma (that smilingfuckinglyingthievingrapist) was quizzed in a radio interview this morning by listeners and claimed that “many of the people found guilty of corruption had already paid the money back” but then couldnt name a single example of this happening?
ffs, he is a liar. our president is a liar.
thankfully the sharks are going to win on saturday so i will have something to be happy about.
24 Jul 2012, 16:24 pm
@Dusky-225: @Dusky-225:
You talked to the 3 wrong guys; surely you see your mistake now?
24 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
@rangerman-228:
did a zulu tell you that?
24 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
@Dusky-215: At least Federer doesn’t scratch his a.ss and b.alls on court all the time, or suffers from OCD
24 Jul 2012, 16:26 pm
@Dusky-219: south africa, contrary to your strongly-held delusions, does not have monopoly on corruption.
watch your money up there in Norway, a plaas japie like you might get swindled
24 Jul 2012, 16:26 pm
@Dusky-223: I am sure you know how to use Google?
Federer’s mom is a Saffa. That alone makes him more Saffa than Andy Murray is English.
Yet all the English support Murray during Wimbledon?
24 Jul 2012, 16:27 pm
@Dusky-225: Well, they were not chosen for their mental abilities…….
24 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
wow, that was extreme.
apologies peeps, i was just getting my anger out in advance for when my kids have to share a textbook with 12 other kids at school one day.
24 Jul 2012, 16:29 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-222: Sorry my friend, but that doesn’t explain how Pierre Spies and Morne Steyn have been playing with veins full of Ketamine all season. Unless someone has been doping them in Tswane….(Oom Wynie was confused by the candy labels?)
24 Jul 2012, 16:29 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-230: tell me what?
24 Jul 2012, 16:30 pm
@rangerman-228: Ranger, are you Wayne Holroyd?
24 Jul 2012, 16:30 pm
@willievz-221: You mean as opposed to the Swiss rugby side?
24 Jul 2012, 16:32 pm
@willievz-233: hi willie.
is federer seriously even aware of rugby?
thats pretty cool.
then again, the boks dominated world rugby for close to 100 years and have also had a hollywood movie made about them.
unlike teams from small backwaters floating on the edge of the arseend of antarctica.
24 Jul 2012, 16:34 pm
@willievz-233: Federer is Swiss. The Swiss look at us ‘Africans’ with great disdain. I know people in Switzerland that wouldn’t admit that their mothers had Italian heritage. I dont find anything on google, which is what I expected.
Federer has never mentioned anything about his South African heritage, nor could he or his mom care less about South Africa. Which is exactly how my kids would be too. I can hardly blame them.
I know South Africans will support anyone, even if they just had a groen onderbroek on – which is kind of sad.
24 Jul 2012, 16:34 pm
@Skeppie-238: haha, howdy skeppie.
no bud, i see wayne at umhlanga from time to time.
do you have a french surname?
24 Jul 2012, 16:36 pm
@rangerman-242: Nope…..dude there were not that many rugby nuts in 2E1…I would ask if you are Brett Harris but I know you aren’t…..hhmmmm?
24 Jul 2012, 16:37 pm
@rangerman-237:
the sharks will win..
24 Jul 2012, 16:37 pm
Jeez Ranger.
Tell us how you really feel about the guy.
24 Jul 2012, 16:38 pm
@Dusky-241:
From Federers book:
South Africa was always a special place for Roger Federer. He held a South African passport since birth and became endeared to his mother’s native country. He routinely traveled there with his family when he was little. “South Africa is a haven for him away from the world of tennis to find fresh inspiration,” his mother explained once. “It has a certain openness to it. You grow up with a lot of space in South Africa, which is something different compared to the narrowness of a mountain landscape. South Africans are more open, less complicated. Roger had taken on these characteristics.”
Roger Federer
Meanwhile, Federer acquired a valuable piece of property along the picturesque Garden Route on the western coast of South Africa at the luxurious Pezula Resort. After the exhausting 2000 season, Federer vacationed in South Africa, where he went on safari with his godfather, Arthur Dubach, a work colleague of Federer’s father during his work days in South Africa. They even experienced a rare site for tourists—a group of leopards killing and eating a gazelle.
24 Jul 2012, 16:38 pm
The Fed actually holds South African citizenship.
We’re claiming him.
Fuc.k what a quisling like dusky says.
24 Jul 2012, 16:40 pm
@Dusky-241: from da intranets bud:
Personal Began playing tennis at age eight… Mother, Lynette, is South African and father, Robert, is Swiss and they met on a business trip… In 2003, initiated Roger Federer Foundation which supports disadvantaged children in South Africa and promotes sport for young people… Named ATP Player of Year, Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship award and ATPtennis.com fans’ favorite in 2004…. Federer spends his off-court time playing cards, cricket, ping pong, other sports and sitting on the beach… Speaks English, German, Swiss German, French and some Swedish and Italian… In 2005, worked part-time with Aussie coach Tony Roch
24 Jul 2012, 16:41 pm
@David-246: LOL…ok David. A group of Leopards ? eating a Gazelle ?
What a load of kak. GO RAFA !
24 Jul 2012, 16:42 pm
@rangerman-248: I think he’s a gwat.
24 Jul 2012, 16:43 pm
@Skeppie-243: haha, i wasnt a great rugby player bud.
in fact i was terrible.
but i did play with a few lads from the old boys 1st div reserves and then 4ths over the last few years.
i left it all behind for spearfishing and beer
brett is a magic guy.
but i digress, i dont really want to have my name on this site, too many wackos like me around lol.
24 Jul 2012, 16:44 pm
@Dusky-250: a little more for you:
Federer backs Boks at RWC
2011-01-26 13:11
Email | Print
Roger Federer (File)
Related Links
French back All Blacks at RWC
Money rolls in for All Blacks
Latest Australian Open news
Melbourne – Roger Federer will be closely following this year’s Rugby World Cup – just don’t ask him to support the All Blacks.
The Swiss tennis great, now at the Australian Open halfway towards his 17th Grand Slam, On Tuesday revealed he is a keen rugby fan – but backs the Springboks.
He was aware of the tournament set to kick off in October, but told the NZ Herald website he would not be backing the men in black.
“(I’ll support) the Swiss,” he joked. “I think they are starting to get into it a bit.”
Indeed Switzerland, who have about 2 000 registered players, have made progress in recent years but are still ranked 63rd in the world.
“(No) I’ll probably support the South Africans,” admitted Federer, “because my mum is from South Africa. So I always support them.”
Though rugby is irrelevant to most Swiss, the 29-year-old immediately recalled the 2007 World Cup and how he had enjoyed watching the Springboks triumph in France.
24 Jul 2012, 16:46 pm
@rangerman-248: A ‘p’ word that is the same as;
A ‘quim’, a ‘gwar’, a ‘steak wat grond toe kyk’, a ‘wolbeursie’, a ‘guava’……get the picture ?
24 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
@rangerman-251: Fair enough…..I know Angus Powers is quite the sports writer these days……
24 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
shame that poor chick in the back of the keotv pic with the keo crowd looks like an anorexic alien with that hairstyle.
or is it the chubbiness of ryan and keo that cause this effect.
she has a nice smile though.
24 Jul 2012, 16:49 pm
@rangerman-252: Aaahhhh man – isn’t that sweet. Have you ever been to Switzerland ? Worked with the Swiss in any business capacity ? Or had any Swiss friends ?
I want to see Federer stand up at a formal cocktail party, at one of his mansions – perhaps in Genevre and preach out about his African heritage….LOL….
But – if you like Federer – good for you. Great tennis player, I just think (much like the Stormers) he plays effective yet extremely boring tennis.
24 Jul 2012, 16:49 pm
@Dusky-253:
no worries bud, i am ambivalent towards tennis players.
@Skeppie-254: haha, angus is a cracker, he was here the other day.
ba s t a rd gets to go on blerrie sports illustrated shoots with the swimwear models.
he always was a cleva that angus lol.
who were you mates with at school?
24 Jul 2012, 16:52 pm
@Dusky-256: ze swiss and ze ranger have not really crossed paths besides for the swiss chap i had to advise to lance a weeping sore on his leg in mexico and then squeeze (i was sure he had a passenger onboard after dealing with putsi fly).
he popped out a wem.
he was an unhappy switzi
24 Jul 2012, 16:54 pm
@Skeppie-254: then again, angus came from that beachlands (or something?) school with their torn clothes and their scruffy demeanour.
he turned out ok though
24 Jul 2012, 16:54 pm
@rangerman-257: Garth Parsons who was with you in 2E1…Bretty….Martin Connor……Grant Swan, Brad Hancock etc.
24 Jul 2012, 16:55 pm
Gunther
if i really told you what i thought of zooma and his bunch of pirates i would probably have to go underground
24 Jul 2012, 16:56 pm
@rangerman-240:
24 Jul 2012, 16:57 pm
@Skeppie-260: @Skeppie-260: dont talk k uuuuuuuuuuu k!
what position you play at school and for what team
@NZINCHINA-262:
@rangerman-258: hawu….a wem ? From her leg ? From the fly ? eish !! aikona wena…..I kant belief….
24 Jul 2012, 16:58 pm
dusky:
He’s Swiss, plays tennis and backs the ‘Boks
25 January, 2011
Roger Federer will be closely
following this year’s Rugby World
Cup – just don’t ask him to support
the All Blacks.
The Swiss tennis great, now at the
Australian Open halfway towards
his 17th Grand Slam, yesterday
revealed he is a keen rugby fan -
but backs the Springboks.
He was aware of the tournament
set to kick off in October, but told
the Herald he would not be
backing the men in black.
“[I'll support] the Swiss,” he
joked. “I think they are starting to
get into it a bit.”
Indeed Switzerland, who have
about 2000 registered players,
have made progress in recent
years but are still ranked 63rd in
the world.
“[No] I’ll probably support the
South Africans,” admitted
Federer, “because my mum is
from South Africa. So I always
support them.”
Though rugby is irrelevant to
most Swiss, the 29-year-old
immediately recalled the 2007
World Cup and how he had
enjoyed watching the Springboks
triumph in France.
“It’s a great sport. I just like good
matches. So especially World Cups
and stuff, I try to follow those.”
Earlier some British journalists,
still smug from the recent Ashes
triumph, had asked the world No 2
if he had “noticed” cricket during
his frequent visits to Australia
over the years.
“I do follow cricket. I did see a bit
of the Ashes at the very beginning
and I always like to watch cricket
when I’m down here.”
The Fleet St smiles dipped slightly
with his next comment.
“Yeah, I know it’s big news [but]
you should be happy that you
have it,” he said. “It’s not always
going to be like that, you know.”
As the sporting vein continued, he
said he would have opted for
soccer, basketball or skiing if he
hadn’t chosen tennis. “Just not
swimming for sure. I can swim
well, but I wouldn’t want to – too
hard.”
Federer switches seamlessly from
English to French, then Swiss-
German and Italian. He always
finishes with a couple of German
answers and can also handle
Spanish if necessary.
For this reason the French and
Germans have adopted Federer as
one of their own, and it is not
uncommon for his post-match
media commitments to take
longer than his games.
Federer’s recall is impressive. He
is able to precisely remember
details from any of the more than
900 career matches he has played
- as well as the best moments
from the 2007 Rugby World Cup.
Rugby
24 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
@Transformation-266: Yes, I got that one already. Ranger found it quicker than you. See my response at 256.
24 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
@Dusky-265:
he was paler than your average swiss gent.
and thats pale.
24 Jul 2012, 17:00 pm
@rangerman-263: Now that would be a bit too much detail…
24 Jul 2012, 17:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-236:
ag you know this is exactly the kind of opportune circumstances under which people blow up world trade centres and then allow ‘conspiracy theorists’ to fuel their own ‘cuckoo’ fires.
24 Jul 2012, 17:02 pm
@rangerman-268: ooooo….sorrie ne…..
Seriaaas ? Jy’t home gevat darrie wem van die been ?
24 Jul 2012, 17:03 pm
@Skeppie-269: hahaha, ok man.
but i was with Brad at cape Vidal this weekend spearfishing.
he shot a snoek, i shot a snoek.
we ate my snoek, we froze his snoek.
24 Jul 2012, 17:03 pm
@rangerman-264:
Your Sharks could go all the way with their new off load game, JPP voted the best winger in the world on the KEO poll, the stars are aligning
24 Jul 2012, 17:06 pm
@rangerman-261: is insulting someone for something that hasn’t happened – your daughter sharing a book with 16 other kids – referred to as a pre-cursor?
*you know mu command of the eeengggileeesh is not good so help…
24 Jul 2012, 17:06 pm
@NZINCHINA-273:
did you vote ‘no’ ?
24 Jul 2012, 17:09 pm
@NZINCHINA-273: haha, dont bait me you cunning fellow.
@Transformation-274:
nah, it wasnt. he already presided over it happening now so nothing pre about it.
gotta go. skeppie, chat laters bud stay well.
24 Jul 2012, 17:09 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-275:
didn’t vote but he looked good on the weekend
24 Jul 2012, 17:10 pm
@rangerman-272: Andrew Macdonald?
24 Jul 2012, 17:11 pm
@rangerman-276:
I’m a Shark this weekend if thats ok.
24 Jul 2012, 17:11 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-270:
24 Jul 2012, 17:14 pm
@rangerman-261: I could say what I think of Zooma. He can do fokkol to me here where I am.
I think Zooma is a typical African chief. He got the position because the people liked him, but he has no flippin clue what he is doing. This oke wakes up every morning wondering how he ended up being president of a country but still has no idea what he is doing. Absolutely no clue, which makes him more dangerous than if he actually did because he can be easily manipulated into talking about things like the ‘second phase of the transition’ which international business sees as ‘seizure of land without compensation’ and ‘nationalisation of banks and mines’.
Eish…I wonder how many international contracts were scrapped after the ANC’s clever ‘second transition’ idea ?
The rest of the government. From the pressure to cut costs at local municipalities (how on earth with the minimal funding they already get), etc. etc. I think the amount of money available for embezzlement has dried up to some extent. I think even with Malema out the picture, the ANC are still over-spending on the lavish lifestyles of the guys that said they would bring ‘Ubuntu’ to our country.
Also, there is complete ignorance of the issues, or development of scenarios that will cost South Africa’s economy heavily in the longer term. But that is a long conversation and I have no interest in entertaining a debate from our resident village idiot on that.
Its a circus – or rather a zoo….
24 Jul 2012, 17:14 pm
@NZINCHINA-277:
yes, he did.
its a clash of unstoppable forces and immovable objects in the saffa playoff on the weekend. wonder which will give.
respectfully, i wont comment on the kiwi one.
24 Jul 2012, 17:26 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-282: you’re going to give yourself ulcers hating keewees!
relax and enjoy the game
it’s only sport
24 Jul 2012, 17:27 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-282:
I’m hoping the Sharks win for obvious reasons, think the Crusaders might take the NZ game although Read is a huge loss. I doubt the Sharks could travel to CHCH and win. Will Steyn still play 10 for the Bokke later in the year?
24 Jul 2012, 17:28 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-282: imagine mandela felt about the springboks the same way you do about the crusaders when he was on robben island
24 Jul 2012, 17:37 pm
@Transformation-285: Ahhhh…..imagine…..
24 Jul 2012, 17:40 pm
Daai Theuns Jordaan klong klink baie keer soos Petrus Padda van Wielie Walie faam in die 80s
Maar hy’t nogal ‘n lekker song nou ‘appel en ‘n ui’
24 Jul 2012, 17:42 pm
@Transformation-285: I don’t think Mandela felt about the Nat government the way Galileo feels about the Crusaders.
24 Jul 2012, 17:45 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-288:
surely Mandela wasn’t that bitter even after decades of incarceration
24 Jul 2012, 17:48 pm
katman
Net vir jou
http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_339699&feature=iv&src_vid=LTa16SFpfXM&v=O1dEX2HpuNo
24 Jul 2012, 17:52 pm
@NZINCHINA-289: In other countries, the death penalty has been used for crimes involving the planning of terrorist acts which result in the death of 19 people. 27 years is a bargain.
Sorry – I said it….
24 Jul 2012, 17:56 pm
@Dusky-291: You are a right ray of conservative f u cking sunshine aren’t you?
24 Jul 2012, 17:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-292: Am I wrong ? If this guy in Colorado gets 27 years for shooting 13 innocent people including a 6 year old, would you think that would be suitable justice ?
I am just being real. Or has the braaivleis smoke and the tears during the anthems before a Springbok test blinded you as well ?
24 Jul 2012, 18:03 pm
Still giving this to the Stormers by a whisker.
No doubt my Sharks friends will be happy given my record on jinxing teams but then again, I believe Keo with a worse record than mine is backing the Sharks?
24 Jul 2012, 18:05 pm
@PissAnt-294: Actually it is a bit scary. In 2010 Ryan Vrede predicted exactly how the Bulls would beat the Sharks in the semi-final, and it was spot on except it was exactly the way the Sharks beat the Bulls.
He then went on to describe to an absolute tee how WP would beat the Sharks in the final, and what was extremely uncanny is that for a second week in a row he described exactly how the Sharks in fact beat WP.
So – this positive talk of how the Sharks will dismantle the Stormers is very disturbing. It could be the exact reverse.
24 Jul 2012, 18:09 pm
@Dusky-293: That “Joker” was strung out on fantasy and psychosis…Comparing his totally fe cked in the head inspired rampage to an armed struggle (which began only after repeated attempts at peaceful resolution) for the right to walk down a road, visit a bathroom of your choice and vote is like comparing Kurt Darren to Muse or Linkin Park – worlds and contexts apart.
You do realise that if there was no armed struggle, the highlight of your sporting year would still be a Currie Cup final or the Comrades marathon, with permed haired meisies saaing uit van die SAUK kantoor in Auckland Park?
24 Jul 2012, 18:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-296:
Don’t forget the Lion Cup and the North South rugby game
24 Jul 2012, 18:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-296: I can recognize the positives that Mandela brought to our country, but I am not going to worship him. I am afraid I am too much of a realist for that.
Google ‘church street bombing’ and go and look at some of those images ? Have you read ‘Long walk to freedom’ ? He admits signing off on this. Regardless of what right you’re fighting for – You think 27 years is unjustified ? Just the right amount ?
24 Jul 2012, 18:22 pm
@Sheriff-290: nice one… speaking of old adverts, for years i’ve been looking for an old Simba peanuts advert with this song about this kid Bantula, who happens to be the coolest ever, but to no avail.
24 Jul 2012, 18:23 pm
@Dusky-298: What would you have done were you in his position all those years ago?
24 Jul 2012, 18:29 pm
Happily, people’s predictions have no bearing on what will happen on Saturday – for example, they can’t change the fact that the Stormers are extremely limited and attempt to win games by avoiding playing rugby wherever possible.
24 Jul 2012, 18:31 pm
@victoriabok-297: Yes! The Lion Cup and Benson and Hedges night cricket
@Dusky-298: If you read what I wrote the other day, you would see that I don’t worship Mandela either. He is a mortal, not a God. His capacity for forgiveness and nation building however separates him from mortals like you and I.The only question you have to ask, when you look at those images you suggest I ‘google’ is the following: Would the SA government of the day have taken ANY notice, or even acknowledged just the MOST fundamental rights of the ANC if the ‘spear of the nation’ hadn’t taken up arms? Quiet diplomacy didn’t work with the Nats, they were far too arrogant for that. Google a few images of the Nats war crimes, and tell me if that alone was not reason for an armed struggle, once all else had failed?
Tragic that there were casualties in the armed struggle of course (and I’m sure many of the comrades developed a taste for blood born not out of freedom fighting, but out of bloodlust – so I am NOT saying MK and APLA etc were all innocent)
What I am saying is this: If someone denies you the right to move freely, or holds you hostage in your own home (never mind country) I guarantee you right now, that you Dusky, will take up arms if dialogue fails.
24 Jul 2012, 18:32 pm
@kaksioek-301:
That is exactly how Jake won the RWC in 2007.
24 Jul 2012, 18:32 pm
@kaksioek-301: They don’t attempt to win games.
More often than not (14/16) they DO win games
24 Jul 2012, 18:34 pm
The sharks should just give it up already! Coz surely they not going to win the S15 in NZ. Which makes the stormers SA best chance of winning theS15.
24 Jul 2012, 18:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-302: What you said
24 Jul 2012, 18:41 pm
@Skeppie-300: Lets leave this discussion on a rugby forum.
Who do you think will win on Saturday ? Both games ?
24 Jul 2012, 18:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-302: I mostly agree. Actually, its in defense of South Africa that I usually raise this argument. When criticized for Madiba’s imprisonment the opposite question is also pertinent – ‘What would any other government have done under the circumstances ?’
Anyway – enough of that. Moving right along. Shouldn’t have raised the topic in the first place.
24 Jul 2012, 18:47 pm
@Dusky-307: Fair enough. I reckon the saders will pump the chiefs who just don’t have the pack to win a play off game and as a sharks supporter I reckon the sharks will take the stormers…..only problem there is as a saffa if the sharks win, asking them to go back and play the saders in Christchurch in the final will be like rugbys everest.
24 Jul 2012, 18:49 pm
@PissAnt-303: I think the Bok success in 2009 is a better example, but yes – I’m thinking along the same lines. Either way, it’s a regression.
24 Jul 2012, 18:49 pm
@Skeppie-309: But can you imagine if they make it to the summit ? It would be the dream Super 15 season. The absolute cherry ! They would have done it from 6th position, something that might not be repeated for some time to come – perhaps never.
I have to admit that from a SA rugby perspective the Stormers have a better chance of taking the trophy right now.
24 Jul 2012, 18:51 pm
@Skeppie-309: Much like the world cup in New Zealand, winning a Super 15 trophy in the Crusaders back yard would be something very special. I can’t help but dream a bit….:-)
24 Jul 2012, 18:59 pm
I see no one here is giving the Chiefs any chance of lifting the trophy.
Interesting.
24 Jul 2012, 19:01 pm
@willievz-313: I have no idea who will win the semi between the Chiefs and Crusaders – it could go either way. I think the Sharks will beat the Stormers though. In the final, who knows?
24 Jul 2012, 19:04 pm
@kaksioek-314: That’s the beauty of knock-out rugby. You never know.
I don’t think the Sharks will make it on Saturday, but if they do manage to go all the way I will ask Transie to archive all the posts at the beginning of the season when I was punting the Sharks as a dark horse this tournament.
Needless to say, I got a lot of stick for my prediction.
24 Jul 2012, 19:06 pm
@willievz-315: I’ve put my money where my mouth (and heart) is, so I’m hoping your early prediction was right
24 Jul 2012, 19:11 pm
Does this site have a BlackBerry app???
24 Jul 2012, 19:11 pm
@kaksioek-316:
Rather bet with your head.
Support with your heart and your big mouth.
It’s called an emotional hedge.
That way you won’t be disappointed.
24 Jul 2012, 19:12 pm
Watsup with Dusky talking up the Stormers
24 Jul 2012, 19:14 pm
@willievz-313: I reckon the Chiefs will beat the Crusaders. SBW will want to make up for that glory boy moment that cost them a draw in the last meeting. I think he will look to his outside this time round if the opportunity presents itself
Nothing the Crusaders did (apart from DC’s distribution) against the Bulls points to them being this ‘unbeatable’ team some hype them up to be. The Chiefs backline is superior to the Saders IMHO, and their forwards as a unit have been rough,tough and potent against ‘better rated’ packs. They have no need to take one step back for the Saders. Chiefs coaches are also more astute than their Cantabrian counterparts
They will be ready, and up for it, and will win it….
24 Jul 2012, 19:15 pm
@IAAS-318: I took the bet because the odds were against the Sharks winning – that made the bet attractive, because if the Sharks somehow pull it off the reward is great. Last weekend’s performance has convinced me that the Sharks can do it.
24 Jul 2012, 19:19 pm
@kaksioek-321:
Obviously I’m going the other way. But there will only be a handful of points in it. There’s a lot going for both sides. This weekend and next couldn’t have been scripted better.
24 Jul 2012, 19:23 pm
@willievz-315:
C’mon Willie, at the start of the season the Sharks were the favourites to head the SA Conference.
24 Jul 2012, 19:35 pm
If the Sharks win this weekend then they will win the comp. They would have beaten both attacking and defensive minded teams to get to the final and away from home, this would put them in a good position and mindset for the final. Its not impossible
24 Jul 2012, 19:37 pm
@kaksioek-310:
Don’t underestimate how desperate the Stormers are…
I do think the Sharks have the momentum but I reckon the Stormers are just that much more desperate. The team that keeps calm upstairs (psychologically) will take this. Stormers will not change their way of playing one bit and they have been doing it for 15 games in a row now so they are very well versed in their roles and responsibilities. That’s why I give it to them.
24 Jul 2012, 19:39 pm
@David-323:
Yup, they were my personal pick
24 Jul 2012, 19:41 pm
On the other hand the Stormers have been playing knock out style rugby the entire season and wont deviate from this. They could end up capatilising on errors from the Sharks
24 Jul 2012, 19:42 pm
@PissAnt-325: Why are they more “desperate”? They are at home having rested while the Sharks flew to Australia and back and if they win they play the final at home. If the Sharks win they have to fly to New Zealand. If they lose then the trip to Australia and back was for nothing. If either team deserves to be desperate, it is the Sharks.
24 Jul 2012, 19:42 pm
Coetsee is going to make a mistake playing Fourie at 8.. this is not the Cheetahs or Rebels this weekend its the Sharks
Fourie should start at 2 and we should flood the 2nd row and back row with enforcers
Roux, Elstadt, Kolisi Bekker, Etsebeth, Harris, Fourie, Kitshoff .. That should be our starting 8
with
Carstens, Liebenberg, Malherbe, Steenkamp, Armand or Vermeulen on bench..
we only need Schreuder and Vd Heever as reserve backs, Grant will see out the 80 .. and if he don’t then Duvenhage or Pietersen can go to 10.. we don’t need Francis on the bench but we do need a full army of front row, 2nd row and back row back ups..
24 Jul 2012, 19:45 pm
@kaksioek-328:
I think we are on different frequencies wrt to desperate.
Stormers have not won a trophy of any significance in over a decade. Every year the Cape press reminds them of this. They cannot be in a better position to do it than right now (home semi and final if they win). Failure now will end some careers.
24 Jul 2012, 19:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-320: There are not many teams out there that can match the Crusaders’ effectiveness at counterrucking.
But then again, the Bulls were their own worst enemies on the weekend.
The Bulls did not protect their ruck ball sufficiently on the offense. This was partly due to the fact that they did not know what to do with ball in hand – carriers and support runners alike. The strike runners attacked from too deep and with too little support going into collisions.
The Sharks are far better in this regard. They trust their offensive game a lot more and their supporting lines are well defined.
The Stormers are also protecting their offensive ball a lot better this season by staying upright in the collisions a little more. Their defense is at a different level though – I cannot believe that Nienaber is not involved with the Boks.
24 Jul 2012, 19:47 pm
@PissAnt-330: Fair enough, but I don’t think that sort of desperation helps – it hinders.
24 Jul 2012, 19:50 pm
Stormers are way more desperate .. Sharks got far less to lose because Sharks are playing catch up rugby coming from the pack while Stormers got to defend their higher log position as well as their home town status.. but that kind of desperation can backfire like it did when Schalk took the team to Durban and Soweto and got done in on the premise of far too much expectation.. the expectation is what is the biggest burden to carry.. it weighs heavier than a ton of bricks on a team and coaching staff and captains minds…
This time they got to shake all that burden of expectation off before they run on the field else it going to play straight into Sharks hands who have relatively zero expectancy bearing down on them in comparison…
Sharks got everything to play for.. Stormers got everything to prove to their supporters and to themselves and to defend their so called home town advantage….. Its far easier to come in as underdogs on a momentum high than as home town favorites carrying the burden of a sound defensive system and huge expectation from your home fans every and anytime..
24 Jul 2012, 19:51 pm
With Bekker back the Stormers backline has an extra dimension;)
24 Jul 2012, 19:55 pm
Stormers do NOT want to run on the field having to prove to themselves they belong at the back end of the competition.. they do NO want to run on under a huge cloud of desperation and over arching expectancy.. if that is how they going to run on then their own psychological expectation is going to be a bigger threat to their own game than Sharks physicality or Sharks potential power and offload game.
24 Jul 2012, 20:00 pm
@fitz1ella-335: The Stormers aren’t going to win because the Sharks are the better team – simple, really. Just sit back and dream of Africa and it will soon all be over
24 Jul 2012, 20:02 pm
@kaksioek-332:
It has been hindering them for 10 years now. The difference this year in the Stormers team is they overcame adversity through sheer balls and mental toughness to end where they did given all the injuries. If they can apply that in a play off situation then they will win – but that remains to be seen and I am not overly convinced.
But they have the advantage going into this semi.
24 Jul 2012, 20:05 pm
I said on keo after the world cup that the senior wp players had got together and decided to all come back and give it their all to win the super15 trophy… was told by someone involved and that they had all committed to it and worked right throughout the off season to ensure they were ready and the evidence has been the turn around by bryan… and in their attitude and determination to play for each other and win… no matter what… and the reason for the huge spirit in the team… this came from the players… i’m sure they were all as shocked by jaque’s departure as we were but don’t think anyone holds it against him due to the huge money they dangled…
but yeah pissant… you’re right… people are underestimating the sheer will of these guys to finally do it and win the comp…
but as i said the other day… one of the things that has assisted the stormers is the fact that fans (in particular) and other teams keep looking at their lack of tries and bonus points and underestimate them and say ‘we will show these stormers’… but there is huge gees and determination to win… which everybody bar them is not taking seriously enough…
make this underestimation continue for another two weeks…!!
24 Jul 2012, 20:06 pm
@PissAnt-337: Watch the game between the Sharks and the Reds again – I am. The Sharks can play like that and the Stormers can’t, therefore the Sharks will win. In the end, rugby will be the real winner
24 Jul 2012, 20:08 pm
Coetsee going to play straight into Plumtree’s hands if he plays Fourie at 8 again.. which is what I think he’s going to do… He should play Fourie right up there at the cutting edge and challenge Bismark right from word go with Fourie’s tenacity and low center of gravity pit bull strength.. he should not put Liebenberg up against Bismark.. he should play Fourie as his pity bull in the trenches to counter Bismark..
then he should flood his 2nd row and back row with big enforcers to negate all that flowy pacy Sharkshit attack around the fringes… Power the Sharks 2nd row and back row out the game
Play Roux at 8, Vermeulen off bench only if fit enough.. and if not then save him for a possible final.. don’t risk Vermeulen if he’s not ready for it…
And then with Elstadt, Kolsisi, Bekker, Etsebeth, Steenkamp and Armand we go for broke to take out the lighter Sharks 2nd row and back row out the game… Stifle and power them out the game … negate Daniel, Coetsee and Kankowski by sheer power and shut down the offensive at inception… don’t give them the latitude that Reds did with their wide open game which is why they found themselves 17-0 down after 15 minutes.
24 Jul 2012, 20:09 pm
Watched Bosman tackle himself again – priceless! Man, I hope Jordaan is fit to play on Saturday.
24 Jul 2012, 20:09 pm
@kaksioek-339: Surely the Stormers’ defense is a superior unit than the one of the hapless Reds?
The Sharks will need to find a way to establish an attacking platform of note.
24 Jul 2012, 20:10 pm
In th?s week a lot depends on the sen?or players l?ke De V?ll?ers, Bekker and Habana vs B?smark, JPP and Alberts and whether can have a calm?ng effect on the youngsters.
24 Jul 2012, 20:12 pm
@Jeraldjay-343: Why your i can like to be a ?
24 Jul 2012, 20:14 pm
@kaksioek-339: You will not get a Reds team this Saturday.. you are meeting the Stormers.. Reds played straight into Sharks hands from opening kick off.. and second half reds were ALL over Sharks like a rash dominating entire territory and momentum until Genia made the poor decision to go for 3 points instead of keeping the pressure on.. which had he done so I doubt you would have gotten the intercept try and Reds could easily have won….
Stormers are not the Reds.. you won’t get the open sesame opportunities like you did last weekend.. and in Durban earlier in the season you got some lucky bounces going your way…. which resulted in early tries… but like Reds came at you so did Stormers second half and almost took the game back again…
This time if you don’t get a flying start.. we take the game.. your best hope is you come flying out the blocks again like you did at Loftus and Durban and Brisbane….. when you got caught behind in Ellis Park all your 2nd half efforts couldn’t win you the game…
24 Jul 2012, 20:14 pm
@willievz-342: Conversely, the Reds pose a greater attacking threat than the Stormers – so the Sharks don’t need to score as many tries against them. Pop Gun Pete needs to be in spitting distance of the poles for the Stormers to get on the board.
24 Jul 2012, 20:20 pm
@fitz1ella-340:
> He should play Fourie right up there at the cutting edge and challenge Bismark right from word go with Fourie’s tenacity and low center of gravity pit bull strength
Last time Bismarck gave him a little b-itch slap and he ran to the ref, imagine if Bismarck gives him a real PK this time?
24 Jul 2012, 20:21 pm
@fitz1ella-345: Ja, ja, if Bosman didn’t tackle himself it would have been 34-10 (or even 37-10 after Michalak’s later penalty) instead of 27-10 going into the final 10 minutes and perhaps the Reds would have given up and never scored their consolation try after the Sharks had a man sent off. If the Stormers weren’t so boring perhaps everyone wouldn’t be betting against them. If your uncle didn’t have balls he could be your aunt. You get the picture.
24 Jul 2012, 20:22 pm
@kaksioek-346:
i’ve never been a fan of peter grant… can’t wait for our youngsters like tim swiel to come through…
but…
credit where it is due…
grant was only a pop gun kicking out of hand… he’s long been able to convert from the halfway line… hence his ability to pop them from the sidelines too…
this year however he is much improved with his kicking out of hand and on many occasions is getting superb distances…
the only spitting distance will be in your eye when the ’95 percenter’ keeps ‘popping’ them over the posts…
as i said people keep underestimating them…
24 Jul 2012, 20:27 pm
@ufo-349: Well, we don’t have long to wait to find out
24 Jul 2012, 20:30 pm
@kaksioek-350:
you think..?
it’s waaaay too long for me…!!
24 Jul 2012, 20:30 pm
A colleague of mine ask me today whether the Sharkies will target Vermeulen injured knee if he starts on Saturday.
I told him not at that level and especially not the Sharks.
24 Jul 2012, 20:33 pm
@Jeraldjay-352:
24 Jul 2012, 20:36 pm
@Jeraldjay-352:
blank was not a mistake…
lost for words….
at the thought even…
24 Jul 2012, 20:37 pm
@ufo-351: More time for banter …
24 Jul 2012, 20:39 pm
@ufo-354: It’s a professional sport with a lot of money on the line and careers in the balance, not a game of touch rugby.
24 Jul 2012, 20:42 pm
@kaksioek-356:
this we know…
so what are you saying/suggesting…?
24 Jul 2012, 20:43 pm
@ufo-354:
Ja ufo, looking forward to Saturday.
Folks at WP Rugby want a home final so that they can get some extra cash and the player receive incentive bonuses for reaching the final.
But the fans want the title………..
24 Jul 2012, 20:44 pm
Yawn
24 Jul 2012, 20:46 pm
@ufo-357: If you can gain an advantage by doing something within the rules, you probably will.
24 Jul 2012, 20:46 pm
@Jeraldjay-358:
bud… the players want the title more than the fans…!!!!
this is fact
24 Jul 2012, 20:47 pm
@TooMuchRugby-359:
off to bed then…
24 Jul 2012, 20:48 pm
If Duane Vermeulen isn’t 100%, he shouldn’t play – or he might not be 100% for quite a while.
24 Jul 2012, 20:48 pm
@kaksioek-360:
don’t speak for me…
what are YOU saying…?
24 Jul 2012, 20:51 pm
@kaksioek-363: Was exactly what I was going to say. Not a good idea to go into this game if you aren’t 100%. Going to be outright, high paced warfare for 80 minutes.
24 Jul 2012, 20:52 pm
@ufo-364: Jissus, I am going to try and make this simple: If Duane has a booboo on his knee and he gets on the field, the Sharks will give his knee a fitness test. Because this isn’t tiddly winks.
24 Jul 2012, 20:52 pm
@ufo-362: Nag ou grote
24 Jul 2012, 20:55 pm
@ufo-361:
Jean, Andries and Gio haven’t won anything for their province yet, so I’m sure they would want to give something back.
But I’ll call it even.
24 Jul 2012, 20:58 pm
@kaksioek-366:
Indeed, but I get a feeling the Sharks will be giving the Stormers a fitness test anyway. I think the Sharks should be tested, because its like they took some crazy pills or something. They really are rampant. If they played like that since the beginning, they would have ended top of the log and they would be playing a home semi-final and they would be clear favourites for the trophy. The only thing thats a problem for them is the travelling and winning 3 tough away games in a row.
24 Jul 2012, 21:00 pm
@kaksioek-366:
yes… i know it’s simple…
just wanted YOU to say it…
@Jeraldjay-368:
i don’t think any of them have won anything for their province… hence the desire to do so…
but sure… let’s just say players and fans… we all want this BADLY…!!
@TooMuchRugby-367:
cheers bud…
i’m out too…
JeraldJay and kaksieok… good chat… next time…
24 Jul 2012, 21:01 pm
@Jeraldjay-368: I would love to see Jean De Villiers afforded the opportunity of lifting a trophy in his provincial colours. He deserves it, a loyal servant to both WP/Stormers and the Bokke. I would have liked to see Schalk stand next to him though.
Unfortunately, though the Stormers wont make it through the semi-final
So they will have to weer probeer next season.
24 Jul 2012, 21:01 pm
@Transformation-283:
true, true
i shouldnt let things work me up as much. my blood pressure has been off the charts lately and its affecting my health, i think.
@NZINCHINA-284:
yes, for the same reasons i’d prefer the stormers to win. read is a significant loss for the crusaders, he was busy in the chiefs game. i cant remember if he played the whole game or was injured during?
as a betting man i would say yes, morne will play flyhalf for the boks in the 4 nations.
@Transformation-285:
madiba’s a great man.
amazed he’s still kicking it.
24 Jul 2012, 21:02 pm
@Dusky-369: Yes, it took them a long time to gel. I’m not sure what did it, but whatever it is they need to keep it up. Doing it the hard way will make it that much more memorable.
24 Jul 2012, 21:03 pm
@kaksioek-366: Nej….tdjy moet die rigte taal praat mej bra…..anderste kan hulle tjou nie verstaanie….
24 Jul 2012, 21:03 pm
@ufo-370: Cheers, go well.
24 Jul 2012, 21:09 pm
@Dusky-371:
The Stormers are not a provincial side.
24 Jul 2012, 21:10 pm
I’m also out.
Kaksioek. You right, rugby is not tiddly winks but there are to many camera’s at this level and I doubt whether any player will risk his career and reputation by deliberately injuring an opponent.
24 Jul 2012, 21:13 pm
@Jeraldjay-377: There’s nothing in the laws of rugby against tackling a player’s knee – nothing at all.
24 Jul 2012, 21:25 pm
Stormers just hotta keep it tight and get ready to take on the 3 monster gamebreakers beasty, bismark and alberts at own game – keep it tight and mow their backrow right down – don’t look left nor right just keep mowing – but they must also attack grant must hit tge adv line with de jong on his shoulder and go for it for 80 mins – no defense kak, take it to to them, if u let that backrow play they will outrun you – instead play it like a test
24 Jul 2012, 21:32 pm
@kaksioek-378:
In Spike Erasmus, the Stormers have one of the best knee surgeons in the country- he will for sure not allow vermeulen on the field if his knee is not 100% and even stronger than before – the problems with Vermeulen (if he takes to the field) could be a lack of fitness or match sharpness and not a weak knee so to target his knee will be plain stupid. You should give your team and their leadership more credit than what you just did.
24 Jul 2012, 21:51 pm
Bismark never gave Fourie a b1tch slap.. if Bismark reckons he gonna try a bitchslap on Fourie he gonna come off second best.. Fourie should play hooker this weekend .. not 8th man….
and like cab says Stormers must just grind these okes out.. smack them sideways from first whistle till last.. not let up one second just keep smacking that advantage line with gusto.. Play Fourie right up in Bismark’s face and take on Beast and Alberts at their own game
With Etsebeth, Elstadt, Kolisi and even Roux and Armand we can take these okies out.. with Grant hammering away at first center all game long and De Jongh right there with him.. JdV should play further out at 13 and De Jongh right up close with Grant hammering away at that advantage line all game long and we’ll crack these sardines wide apart…
Don’t make the mistake that Reds did of playing open sesame rugby.. keep it tighter than a nuns whatsit and Sharkieshits won’t have anywhere to run to..nowhere to duck and hide.
24 Jul 2012, 21:54 pm
@Robzim-380: Happy to hear it bud. The Stormers have got far bigger problems to worry about than Vermeulen’s knee – I’m just pointing out that if he gets on the field, he will be tested. Ever had a knee injury? It isn’t much fun. And your knee often isn’t the same afterwards.
24 Jul 2012, 21:57 pm
@fitz1ella-381:
> Bismark never gave Fourie a b1tch slap
The game at Kingspark
24 Jul 2012, 22:08 pm
Yep stormers gotta be on their game for 80 not the **** they dished up v rebels – plumtree has been psyching beast up the whole week – kolisi elstadt and all need to play hard frenetic rugby like they capable of – kitshoff also needs to reproduce early season form – bekker better not get lost at centre again – fkme I never seen a lock make so many linebreaks.
24 Jul 2012, 22:09 pm
Gdam that boy rivals sbw with the offload – pity he’s a gdam lock gdam
24 Jul 2012, 22:30 pm
@cab-385: Pity he has a back that makes Skop look sprightly
24 Jul 2012, 22:37 pm
Gdam what a beauty – time out
24 Jul 2012, 22:40 pm
386 kaksoeker – apparently ou doosie fancies himself as a sprinter – all I know is must’ve been a long fkn time ago
24 Jul 2012, 22:41 pm
@kaksioek-386:
Humping energetic young student girls in the park does that to your back
Bekker’s that is not Skops
24 Jul 2012, 22:43 pm
@cab-388:
Maybe he fancies himself a Mercedes Sprinter?
You can pick up and load a s-hitload of discarded half bricks from building sites around the Cape with one
24 Jul 2012, 22:47 pm
VB is that from Ozzie or Canada victoria?
yep dunn much about cars but that mercedes t wing or whatever from the 60s is a thing of beauty.
24 Jul 2012, 22:49 pm
@victoriabok-390:
24 Jul 2012, 22:54 pm
@victoriabok-389: at least he is not humping old hags like your bulletjies hougaard & helberg
dries had a fresh varsity chikita on that park bench.
24 Jul 2012, 22:57 pm
Nothing wrong with hougaard they’ve ruined him with that up&under **** – let him run ffs – fdp was fdp – hougaard completely different fish
24 Jul 2012, 22:57 pm
Now now.
There is something to be said for experience.
An old head on young shoulders.
24 Jul 2012, 22:59 pm
@cab-391:
Canuckistan
Mercedes Sprinter panel van
24 Jul 2012, 23:02 pm
@Transformation-393:
Maybe, 20 goes into 40 something a lot more than thirty goes into 20
That’s why he and his back is f-ucked
24 Jul 2012, 23:02 pm
@cab-394: Church.
24 Jul 2012, 23:03 pm
@cab-394:
Hougie should concentrate on rugby, not fashion, flogging hair products and fast cars
And old ladies like Jacquie Fish, a name (or smell?) that suits het to a “t”
24 Jul 2012, 23:05 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-395:
Or old legs wrapped around young shoulders?
24 Jul 2012, 23:14 pm
Tomorrow is national tequila day.
#letsripit
24 Jul 2012, 23:18 pm
Yep I reckon the Stormers have this game wrapped.
- home ground advantage
- fully rested
- motivation of knowing a home final will follow
- best defence in the tournament
- 14 wins from 16
I would say the Stormers are 70% likely to win.
There is always the prospect of an upset but I reckon this game will be one hurdle too far for the Sharks.
24 Jul 2012, 23:23 pm
Yep, just as I was saying… the odds are very firmly stacked in the Stormers favour.
Even the experts agree (from Sport 24):
Well renowned South African sport scientist, Ross Tucker, believes the Stormers will have an 8-10 point head start over the Sharks in their Super Rugby semi-final at Newlands on Saturday.
Tucker, who works at the Sports Science Institute in Cape Town, predicts the Sharks will be exhausted after travelling to Australia to beat the Reds last Saturday and then back to South Africa for their semi-final.
“The competition’s history shows that home ground advantage is already worth five points,” he told Die Burger.
“With the physical toll of the overseas flight, combined with the bumps and bruises they have to recover from, I’ll speculate that the Stormers will start with an 8-10 point advantage.
“Some guys don’t get affected by jet lag, but it’s very tough if most of your players’ sleep patterns are disturbed for four nights over a two-week period,” said Tucker.
However, Sharks coach John Plumtree is adamant that the travel factor can’t be used as an excuse.
“We’ll be up for it alright, but we’ve got to be smart about our preparation this week,” he told the Sharks website.
“Everyone will be talking about the travel factor, but we knew we’d have to travel again if we got through our playoff. We’ve had to come back to South Africa and the players are positive, at least they can sleep in their own beds and spend time with family. It’s always nice coming home.”
Should the Sharks prove Tucker wrong they’ll nevertheless remain heavy underdogs to lift the trophy as they’ll then have to travel back to Australasia to tackle either the Chiefs or the Crusaders – who clash in the other semi-final on Friday.
24 Jul 2012, 23:34 pm
“Well renowned South African sport scientist Ross Tucker,” hey? Tickles will be delighted to have someone new to add to his Christmas card list. Noakes hasn’t been returning his calls recently.
24 Jul 2012, 23:35 pm
The Sharks are going to rewrite the record books.
Nighty night.
24 Jul 2012, 23:35 pm
Lol. Do you remember that “Prof Noakes takes on The Tackler” thread?
24 Jul 2012, 23:37 pm
@kaksioek-405: dude, no need to preach to me. I am a believer.
Unfortunately I am also a realist. If my life depended on it my money would be on the Stormers.
I hope for a very pleasant surprise though.
24 Jul 2012, 23:41 pm
Sharks r riding high – I still reckon stormers will stop them at source even with vermeulen and schalk injured it’s still a better pack
24 Jul 2012, 23:46 pm
Jirre you can’t argue with Beast, The Bis-ness, J-Doop, Alberts, Coetzee, Deysel these guys don’t stand back to anyone.
I highly doubt the packs are going to be outmatched.
24 Jul 2012, 23:49 pm
In fact it was men vs boys at the Kiings Park fixture a few rounds ago. Sharks raced into a 20-6 lead remember?
Nah, it’s not the packs.
It’s the weary legs. I don’t expect the Sharks to keep the intensity up for the full 80.
The Stormers, on the other hand, are fully rested and will be champing at the bit to go.
I will say it’s likely to be close for 60 minutes.
25 Jul 2012, 00:01 am
@wooden spoon-410:
It is of course possible that the Stormers might be rusty.It often happens that a team is a bit “off the boil” after a 2 week break.I hope Ross has taken this into consederation when he worked out that the Stormers have a 8-10 points advantage.
25 Jul 2012, 00:02 am
@Robzim-411: the Stormers won both games immediately after their two byes this year.
Being “rusty” after a week off hasn’t been a problem for them before.
25 Jul 2012, 00:13 am
@wooden spoon-412:
The fact that they won both games does not mean they were at their best or played well– anyway, I am not saying they will be rusty, just pointing out that it often happens to teams and could be a factor.
Re the game in Durban, the Stormers were shocking that day- it was their worst game of the season – i am not taking anything away from the Shartks as they did play well and placed the Stormesr under pressure but it was one of those days that everything went wrong for the stormers- – i remember the Canadian dropped a sitter with no pressure on him from a kickoff, someone lost the ball when diving over the line to score , passes went astray, Kolisi withdrew just before the game……..
It is very unlikely that the Stormers will be as bad as that day again.
My prediction taking everything into consideration is Stormers by 7.
25 Jul 2012, 00:14 am
Anyway, let’s just hope there are no ref controversies– i am out.
25 Jul 2012, 01:32 am
As long as the Stormers score more points than the Sharks we should be able to pull the win off.
25 Jul 2012, 08:45 am
Sports Scientist Ross Tucker says the Stormers have a head start of 8-10 points because of home advantage and Sharks’ travel (Die Burger)
25 Jul 2012, 08:46 am
@Robzim-413: We missed Kolisi big time in that game!
25 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
@Sasuke-417: And Bekker was playing with an obvious back injury at the time, he called the line outs but took 2 balls at most. He was on the field, but absent in body.
That schooling the Sharks forwards gave our lads, might have been a blessing in disguise, as it truly was the ONLY game of the year in which we were utterly and totally bossed in all facets for 40 minutes.
I’m not buying the travel fatigue kak but what I am buying, is the 122 tackles the Sharks made in the 2nd half in Brissie last week. They were outstanding on D, but it is NOT something they have focused on and ‘played’ week in and out.
I don’t think that sort of D is something mere mortals can handle, week in and out, unless you are the Stormers and your body is used to the recovery in the way the Stormers bods are.
Travel fatigue is a factor, but those 122 tackles in the 2nd half might contribute more to the ‘exhaustion’ theory than what Singapore airlines does.
25 Jul 2012, 09:25 am
@Sasuke-416: so the prediction is Sharks by 30 minus 8-10 = 22 to Stormers 20?
25 Jul 2012, 09:25 am
@shooter-419: sorry. maths.
Sharks 30 minus 10-8 = 21 vs 20 Stormers.
25 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@kaksioek-404: That was damn funny how a few cyber snipes by a blogger got Tim Noakes to come out snorting and get his own article to rubbish Tickle balls.
25 Jul 2012, 09:51 am
@SuperStirrer-421: Yes, old Noakes is clearly rather insecure. Tickles won that one in straight sets if you ask me.
25 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@SuperStirrer-421: @kaksioek-422: “I read with great interest the claims by The Tackler that I am the “pseud and mouthy charlatan” who is responsible for this burnout issue. These are certainly complex words for a blog on rugby matters. Although the word mouthy does not appear in my Illustrated Oxford Dictionary, pseud as an adjective refers to someone who is intellectually or socially pretentious and not genuine; the noun defines a poseur. Similarly a charlatan is someone who falsely claims a special knowledge or skill. The word apparently originates from the Italian meaning a ‘babbler’.”
25 Jul 2012, 10:02 am
@Transformation-423:
25 Jul 2012, 10:05 am
Come back Tickles, we have another sports scientist for you to tackle!
25 Jul 2012, 10:09 am
@kaksioek-424: @kaksioek-424: can you say “precious” hehehehe
28 Jul 2012, 01:37 am
@Dusky-298:
‘church street bombing’
The fact that the PAC accepted resonsibility for that, does not bother you at all.
They are ALL black and therefor they are the same.
I get you. They ALL look alike.
For some, all whiteys look alike also, you know. So, when the Supreme Court find a whitie guilty of high treason, don’t be surprised when some sommer start moering any “whitey” who they see on the street.
You guys should think before you talk any kak that runs through you’re head.
It goes both ways!!!
Just saying.
Lekker om in ‘n ander land te bly en kak te praat, ne!!!
28 Jul 2012, 01:49 am
@kaksioek-405:
“The Sharks are going to rewrite the record books.”
Rewriting the record books?
What do you mean? By beating the Stormers at Newlands?
How the **** is that “rewriting” the record books?
You do that ALL the time, don’t you? Beating the Stormers at Newlands.
Hahahaha……
How delusional can one fucked up Shark supporter be?
A 3kg snoek will devour a 5kg “sandhaai” tomorrow, boet.
Deal with it. You will be in the same state of snot en trane like the Saders supporters.
Thanks for coming.