Stormers must handle first-half heat
24 Jul 2012
Allister Coetzee believes the Stormers will need to dominate the forward exchanges and bank early points if they’re going to stall the rampant Sharks.
The Stormers have produced some commanding first-half performances over the course of the 2012 season. If there has been one period of the game where they have consistently flagged, it’s been in the third quarter, and it is that lack of concentration that has often allowed the opposition back into the contest.
That being said, it’s interesting to note that the Stormers are not a team that excels at chasing the game. Indeed, in their two losses to the Crusaders and Sharks this season, they have trailed at half-time.
The Sharks won that derby in Durban 25-20 after leading 20-6 at the break. They also made a massive statement when they went to Brisbane last Saturday and scored 17 unanswered points in the first half hour.
No doubt they will be looking for another strong start in this weekend’s semi-final, as it will put the Stormers into a position where the Cape side will need to chase the game.
The Stormers coach believes there are lessons to be taken from the Stormers’ earlier defeat to the Sharks, and that the first-half showing will be important to the outcome.
‘It’s always a tight affair when these two teams play,’ he said. ‘There was three points in it in the first match, five points in the second and I’m sure it will be similarly close this Saturday.
‘[In the Durban fixture] they did well in the first half, they really looked to attack our set piece. When you can’t get lineout or scrum ball on your own terms, it can make life very difficult.
‘We were really unhappy with our first-half performance in that game. We lost a lot of ball in contact and made errors which they duly punished. It’s something the Crusaders did to us in last year’s semi-final, where they really pressured us at the set pieces.
‘We are looking for a good start but we are also looking to sustain that for 80 minutes.’
The Sharks boast an all-Springbok front row and have been one of the leading scrummaging teams in 2012. Their lineout is competitive, which as Coetzee suggests makes it very difficult for opponents to secure good set-piece possession.
They have some powerful ball carriers capable of dominating the collisions, as well as several players who are exceptionally good when it comes to turning the ball over at the breakdown.
Coetzee again highlighted the need for a top set-piece effort this Saturday, as well as an accurate breakdown performance that will limit the Sharks’ turnover opportunities. The Stormers boast the best defence in the competition, but that defence is more susceptible on turnover ball.
‘You can’t give them turnover ball, they use it very well,’ said Coetzee in reference to the Sharks’ performance against the Reds. ‘That’s what happens when you lose the collisions and you don’t look after your possession. And by looking after your possession, I mean winning clean ball at the set pieces too.’
The Sharks won’t be as fresh as their Cape counterparts, having had to fly to Australia and back within the space of a week. Coetzee, however, insists that the Stormers wouldn’t be taking anything for granted this Saturday.
The Stormers coach said the prospect of hosting a final at Newlands would serve as extra motivation to beat the Sharks.
‘This is what we’ve worked for all season, and knowing that we could have a home final is also a massive incentive. We are really close to achieving that. That’s why we view this weekend’s game as a big opportunity.
‘There’s going to be pressure, but we’re going to embrace it. We’re not just going to absorb it, but handle it.’
By Jon Cardinelli

428 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All
24 Jul 2012, 16:43 pm
@Skeppie-243: haha, i wasnt a great rugby player bud.
in fact i was terrible.
but i did play with a few lads from the old boys 1st div reserves and then 4ths over the last few years.
i left it all behind for spearfishing and beer
brett is a magic guy.
but i digress, i dont really want to have my name on this site, too many wackos like me around lol.
24 Jul 2012, 16:44 pm
@Dusky-250: a little more for you:
Federer backs Boks at RWC
2011-01-26 13:11
Email | Print
Roger Federer (File)
Related Links
French back All Blacks at RWC
Money rolls in for All Blacks
Latest Australian Open news
Melbourne – Roger Federer will be closely following this year’s Rugby World Cup – just don’t ask him to support the All Blacks.
The Swiss tennis great, now at the Australian Open halfway towards his 17th Grand Slam, On Tuesday revealed he is a keen rugby fan – but backs the Springboks.
He was aware of the tournament set to kick off in October, but told the NZ Herald website he would not be backing the men in black.
“(I’ll support) the Swiss,” he joked. “I think they are starting to get into it a bit.”
Indeed Switzerland, who have about 2 000 registered players, have made progress in recent years but are still ranked 63rd in the world.
“(No) I’ll probably support the South Africans,” admitted Federer, “because my mum is from South Africa. So I always support them.”
Though rugby is irrelevant to most Swiss, the 29-year-old immediately recalled the 2007 World Cup and how he had enjoyed watching the Springboks triumph in France.
24 Jul 2012, 16:46 pm
@rangerman-248: A ‘p’ word that is the same as;
A ‘quim’, a ‘gwar’, a ‘steak wat grond toe kyk’, a ‘wolbeursie’, a ‘guava’……get the picture ?
24 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
@rangerman-251: Fair enough…..I know Angus Powers is quite the sports writer these days……
24 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
shame that poor chick in the back of the keotv pic with the keo crowd looks like an anorexic alien with that hairstyle.
or is it the chubbiness of ryan and keo that cause this effect.
she has a nice smile though.
24 Jul 2012, 16:49 pm
@rangerman-252: Aaahhhh man – isn’t that sweet. Have you ever been to Switzerland ? Worked with the Swiss in any business capacity ? Or had any Swiss friends ?
I want to see Federer stand up at a formal cocktail party, at one of his mansions – perhaps in Genevre and preach out about his African heritage….LOL….
But – if you like Federer – good for you. Great tennis player, I just think (much like the Stormers) he plays effective yet extremely boring tennis.
24 Jul 2012, 16:49 pm
@Dusky-253:
no worries bud, i am ambivalent towards tennis players.
@Skeppie-254: haha, angus is a cracker, he was here the other day.
ba s t a rd gets to go on blerrie sports illustrated shoots with the swimwear models.
he always was a cleva that angus lol.
who were you mates with at school?
24 Jul 2012, 16:52 pm
@Dusky-256: ze swiss and ze ranger have not really crossed paths besides for the swiss chap i had to advise to lance a weeping sore on his leg in mexico and then squeeze (i was sure he had a passenger onboard after dealing with putsi fly).
he popped out a wem.
he was an unhappy switzi
24 Jul 2012, 16:54 pm
@Skeppie-254: then again, angus came from that beachlands (or something?) school with their torn clothes and their scruffy demeanour.
he turned out ok though
24 Jul 2012, 16:54 pm
@rangerman-257: Garth Parsons who was with you in 2E1…Bretty….Martin Connor……Grant Swan, Brad Hancock etc.
24 Jul 2012, 16:55 pm
Gunther
if i really told you what i thought of zooma and his bunch of pirates i would probably have to go underground
24 Jul 2012, 16:56 pm
@rangerman-240:
24 Jul 2012, 16:57 pm
@Skeppie-260: @Skeppie-260: dont talk k uuuuuuuuuuu k!
what position you play at school and for what team
@NZINCHINA-262:
@rangerman-258: hawu….a wem ? From her leg ? From the fly ? eish !! aikona wena…..I kant belief….
24 Jul 2012, 16:58 pm
dusky:
He’s Swiss, plays tennis and backs the ‘Boks
25 January, 2011
Roger Federer will be closely
following this year’s Rugby World
Cup – just don’t ask him to support
the All Blacks.
The Swiss tennis great, now at the
Australian Open halfway towards
his 17th Grand Slam, yesterday
revealed he is a keen rugby fan -
but backs the Springboks.
He was aware of the tournament
set to kick off in October, but told
the Herald he would not be
backing the men in black.
“[I'll support] the Swiss,” he
joked. “I think they are starting to
get into it a bit.”
Indeed Switzerland, who have
about 2000 registered players,
have made progress in recent
years but are still ranked 63rd in
the world.
“[No] I’ll probably support the
South Africans,” admitted
Federer, “because my mum is
from South Africa. So I always
support them.”
Though rugby is irrelevant to
most Swiss, the 29-year-old
immediately recalled the 2007
World Cup and how he had
enjoyed watching the Springboks
triumph in France.
“It’s a great sport. I just like good
matches. So especially World Cups
and stuff, I try to follow those.”
Earlier some British journalists,
still smug from the recent Ashes
triumph, had asked the world No 2
if he had “noticed” cricket during
his frequent visits to Australia
over the years.
“I do follow cricket. I did see a bit
of the Ashes at the very beginning
and I always like to watch cricket
when I’m down here.”
The Fleet St smiles dipped slightly
with his next comment.
“Yeah, I know it’s big news [but]
you should be happy that you
have it,” he said. “It’s not always
going to be like that, you know.”
As the sporting vein continued, he
said he would have opted for
soccer, basketball or skiing if he
hadn’t chosen tennis. “Just not
swimming for sure. I can swim
well, but I wouldn’t want to – too
hard.”
Federer switches seamlessly from
English to French, then Swiss-
German and Italian. He always
finishes with a couple of German
answers and can also handle
Spanish if necessary.
For this reason the French and
Germans have adopted Federer as
one of their own, and it is not
uncommon for his post-match
media commitments to take
longer than his games.
Federer’s recall is impressive. He
is able to precisely remember
details from any of the more than
900 career matches he has played
- as well as the best moments
from the 2007 Rugby World Cup.
Rugby
24 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
@Transformation-266: Yes, I got that one already. Ranger found it quicker than you. See my response at 256.
24 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
@Dusky-265:
he was paler than your average swiss gent.
and thats pale.
24 Jul 2012, 17:00 pm
@rangerman-263: Now that would be a bit too much detail…
24 Jul 2012, 17:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-236:
ag you know this is exactly the kind of opportune circumstances under which people blow up world trade centres and then allow ‘conspiracy theorists’ to fuel their own ‘cuckoo’ fires.
24 Jul 2012, 17:02 pm
@rangerman-268: ooooo….sorrie ne…..
Seriaaas ? Jy’t home gevat darrie wem van die been ?
24 Jul 2012, 17:03 pm
@Skeppie-269: hahaha, ok man.
but i was with Brad at cape Vidal this weekend spearfishing.
he shot a snoek, i shot a snoek.
we ate my snoek, we froze his snoek.
24 Jul 2012, 17:03 pm
@rangerman-264:
Your Sharks could go all the way with their new off load game, JPP voted the best winger in the world on the KEO poll, the stars are aligning
24 Jul 2012, 17:06 pm
@rangerman-261: is insulting someone for something that hasn’t happened – your daughter sharing a book with 16 other kids – referred to as a pre-cursor?
*you know mu command of the eeengggileeesh is not good so help…
24 Jul 2012, 17:06 pm
@NZINCHINA-273:
did you vote ‘no’ ?
24 Jul 2012, 17:09 pm
@NZINCHINA-273: haha, dont bait me you cunning fellow.
@Transformation-274:
nah, it wasnt. he already presided over it happening now so nothing pre about it.
gotta go. skeppie, chat laters bud stay well.
24 Jul 2012, 17:09 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-275:
didn’t vote but he looked good on the weekend
24 Jul 2012, 17:10 pm
@rangerman-272: Andrew Macdonald?
24 Jul 2012, 17:11 pm
@rangerman-276:
I’m a Shark this weekend if thats ok.
24 Jul 2012, 17:11 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-270:
24 Jul 2012, 17:14 pm
@rangerman-261: I could say what I think of Zooma. He can do fokkol to me here where I am.
I think Zooma is a typical African chief. He got the position because the people liked him, but he has no flippin clue what he is doing. This oke wakes up every morning wondering how he ended up being president of a country but still has no idea what he is doing. Absolutely no clue, which makes him more dangerous than if he actually did because he can be easily manipulated into talking about things like the ‘second phase of the transition’ which international business sees as ‘seizure of land without compensation’ and ‘nationalisation of banks and mines’.
Eish…I wonder how many international contracts were scrapped after the ANC’s clever ‘second transition’ idea ?
The rest of the government. From the pressure to cut costs at local municipalities (how on earth with the minimal funding they already get), etc. etc. I think the amount of money available for embezzlement has dried up to some extent. I think even with Malema out the picture, the ANC are still over-spending on the lavish lifestyles of the guys that said they would bring ‘Ubuntu’ to our country.
Also, there is complete ignorance of the issues, or development of scenarios that will cost South Africa’s economy heavily in the longer term. But that is a long conversation and I have no interest in entertaining a debate from our resident village idiot on that.
Its a circus – or rather a zoo….
24 Jul 2012, 17:14 pm
@NZINCHINA-277:
yes, he did.
its a clash of unstoppable forces and immovable objects in the saffa playoff on the weekend. wonder which will give.
respectfully, i wont comment on the kiwi one.
24 Jul 2012, 17:26 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-282: you’re going to give yourself ulcers hating keewees!
relax and enjoy the game
it’s only sport
24 Jul 2012, 17:27 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-282:
I’m hoping the Sharks win for obvious reasons, think the Crusaders might take the NZ game although Read is a huge loss. I doubt the Sharks could travel to CHCH and win. Will Steyn still play 10 for the Bokke later in the year?
24 Jul 2012, 17:28 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-282: imagine mandela felt about the springboks the same way you do about the crusaders when he was on robben island
24 Jul 2012, 17:37 pm
@Transformation-285: Ahhhh…..imagine…..
24 Jul 2012, 17:40 pm
Daai Theuns Jordaan klong klink baie keer soos Petrus Padda van Wielie Walie faam in die 80s
Maar hy’t nogal ‘n lekker song nou ‘appel en ‘n ui’
24 Jul 2012, 17:42 pm
@Transformation-285: I don’t think Mandela felt about the Nat government the way Galileo feels about the Crusaders.
24 Jul 2012, 17:45 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-288:
surely Mandela wasn’t that bitter even after decades of incarceration
24 Jul 2012, 17:48 pm
katman
Net vir jou
http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_339699&feature=iv&src_vid=LTa16SFpfXM&v=O1dEX2HpuNo
24 Jul 2012, 17:52 pm
@NZINCHINA-289: In other countries, the death penalty has been used for crimes involving the planning of terrorist acts which result in the death of 19 people. 27 years is a bargain.
Sorry – I said it….
24 Jul 2012, 17:56 pm
@Dusky-291: You are a right ray of conservative f u cking sunshine aren’t you?
24 Jul 2012, 17:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-292: Am I wrong ? If this guy in Colorado gets 27 years for shooting 13 innocent people including a 6 year old, would you think that would be suitable justice ?
I am just being real. Or has the braaivleis smoke and the tears during the anthems before a Springbok test blinded you as well ?
24 Jul 2012, 18:03 pm
Still giving this to the Stormers by a whisker.
No doubt my Sharks friends will be happy given my record on jinxing teams but then again, I believe Keo with a worse record than mine is backing the Sharks?
24 Jul 2012, 18:05 pm
@PissAnt-294: Actually it is a bit scary. In 2010 Ryan Vrede predicted exactly how the Bulls would beat the Sharks in the semi-final, and it was spot on except it was exactly the way the Sharks beat the Bulls.
He then went on to describe to an absolute tee how WP would beat the Sharks in the final, and what was extremely uncanny is that for a second week in a row he described exactly how the Sharks in fact beat WP.
So – this positive talk of how the Sharks will dismantle the Stormers is very disturbing. It could be the exact reverse.
24 Jul 2012, 18:09 pm
@Dusky-293: That “Joker” was strung out on fantasy and psychosis…Comparing his totally fe cked in the head inspired rampage to an armed struggle (which began only after repeated attempts at peaceful resolution) for the right to walk down a road, visit a bathroom of your choice and vote is like comparing Kurt Darren to Muse or Linkin Park – worlds and contexts apart.
You do realise that if there was no armed struggle, the highlight of your sporting year would still be a Currie Cup final or the Comrades marathon, with permed haired meisies saaing uit van die SAUK kantoor in Auckland Park?
24 Jul 2012, 18:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-296:
Don’t forget the Lion Cup and the North South rugby game
24 Jul 2012, 18:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-296: I can recognize the positives that Mandela brought to our country, but I am not going to worship him. I am afraid I am too much of a realist for that.
Google ‘church street bombing’ and go and look at some of those images ? Have you read ‘Long walk to freedom’ ? He admits signing off on this. Regardless of what right you’re fighting for – You think 27 years is unjustified ? Just the right amount ?
24 Jul 2012, 18:22 pm
@Sheriff-290: nice one… speaking of old adverts, for years i’ve been looking for an old Simba peanuts advert with this song about this kid Bantula, who happens to be the coolest ever, but to no avail.
24 Jul 2012, 18:23 pm
@Dusky-298: What would you have done were you in his position all those years ago?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All