Stormers must handle first-half heat

Allister Coetzee believes the Stormers will need to dominate the forward exchanges and bank early points if they’re going to stall the rampant Sharks.

The Stormers have produced some commanding first-half performances over the course of the 2012 season. If there has been one period of the game where they have consistently flagged, it’s been in the third quarter, and it is that lack of concentration that has often allowed the opposition back into the contest.

That being said, it’s interesting to note that the Stormers are not a team that excels at chasing the game. Indeed, in their two losses to the Crusaders and Sharks this season, they have trailed at half-time.

The Sharks won that derby in Durban 25-20 after leading 20-6 at the break. They also made a massive statement when they went to Brisbane last Saturday and scored 17 unanswered points in the first half hour.

No doubt they will be looking for another strong start in this weekend’s semi-final, as it will put the Stormers into a position where the Cape side will need to chase the game.

The Stormers coach believes there are lessons to be taken from the Stormers’ earlier defeat to the Sharks, and that the first-half showing will be important to the outcome.

‘It’s always a tight affair when these two teams play,’ he said. ‘There was three points in it in the first match, five points in the second and I’m sure it will be similarly close this Saturday.

‘[In the Durban fixture] they did well in the first half, they really looked to attack our set piece. When you can’t get lineout or scrum ball on your own terms, it can make life very difficult.

‘We were really unhappy with our first-half performance in that game. We lost a lot of ball in contact and made errors which they duly punished. It’s something the Crusaders did to us in last year’s semi-final, where they really pressured us at the set pieces.

‘We are looking for a good start but we are also looking to sustain that for 80 minutes.’

The Sharks boast an all-Springbok front row and have been one of the leading scrummaging teams in 2012. Their lineout is competitive, which as Coetzee suggests makes it very difficult for opponents to secure good set-piece possession.

They have some powerful ball carriers capable of dominating the collisions, as well as several players who are exceptionally good when it comes to turning the ball over at the breakdown.

Coetzee again highlighted the need for a top set-piece effort this Saturday, as well as an accurate breakdown performance that will limit the Sharks’ turnover opportunities. The Stormers boast the best defence in the competition, but that defence is more susceptible on turnover ball.

‘You can’t give them turnover ball, they use it very well,’ said Coetzee in reference to the Sharks’ performance against the Reds. ‘That’s what happens when you lose the collisions and you don’t look after your possession. And by looking after your possession, I mean winning clean ball at the set pieces too.’

The Sharks won’t be as fresh as their Cape counterparts, having had to fly to Australia and back within the space of a week. Coetzee, however, insists that the Stormers wouldn’t be taking anything for granted this Saturday.

The Stormers coach said the prospect of hosting a final at Newlands would serve as extra motivation to beat the Sharks.

‘This is what we’ve worked for all season, and knowing that we could have a home final is also a massive incentive. We are really close to achieving that. That’s why we view this weekend’s game as a big opportunity.

‘There’s going to be pressure, but we’re going to embrace it. We’re not just going to absorb it, but handle it.’

By Jon Cardinelli

428 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.ufo: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-350:

you think..?

it’s waaaay too long for me…!! :lol:

• 352.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

A colleague of mine ask me today whether the Sharkies will target Vermeulen injured knee if he starts on Saturday.
    I told him not at that level and especially not the Sharks. :lol:

• 353.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-352:

• 354.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-352:

blank was not a mistake…

lost for words….

at the thought even…

• 355.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-351: More time for banter …

• 356.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-354: It’s a professional sport with a lot of money on the line and careers in the balance, not a game of touch rugby.

• 357.ufo: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-356:

this we know…

so what are you saying/suggesting…?

• 358.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo-354:
    Ja ufo, looking forward to Saturday.

Folks at WP Rugby want a home final so that they can get some extra cash and the player receive incentive bonuses for reaching the final.

But the fans want the title………..

• 359.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Yawn

• 360.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-357: If you can gain an advantage by doing something within the rules, you probably will.

• 361.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-358:

bud… the players want the title more than the fans…!!!!

this is fact

• 362.ufo: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-359:

off to bed then… :wink:

• 363.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

If Duane Vermeulen isn’t 100%, he shouldn’t play – or he might not be 100% for quite a while.

• 364.ufo: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-360:

don’t speak for me…

what are YOU saying…?

• 365.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-363: Was exactly what I was going to say. Not a good idea to go into this game if you aren’t 100%. Going to be outright, high paced warfare for 80 minutes.

• 366.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-364: Jissus, I am going to try and make this simple: If Duane has a booboo on his knee and he gets on the field, the Sharks will give his knee a fitness test. Because this isn’t tiddly winks.

• 367.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@ufo-362: Nag ou grote

• 368.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo-361:
    Jean, Andries and Gio haven’t won anything for their province yet, so I’m sure they would want to give something back.

But I’ll call it even.

• 369.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-366: :-) Indeed, but I get a feeling the Sharks will be giving the Stormers a fitness test anyway. I think the Sharks should be tested, because its like they took some crazy pills or something. They really are rampant. If they played like that since the beginning, they would have ended top of the log and they would be playing a home semi-final and they would be clear favourites for the trophy. The only thing thats a problem for them is the travelling and winning 3 tough away games in a row.

• 370.ufo: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-366:

yes… i know it’s simple…

just wanted YOU to say it…

@Jeraldjay-368:

i don’t think any of them have won anything for their province… hence the desire to do so…

but sure… let’s just say players and fans… we all want this BADLY…!! :wink:

@TooMuchRugby-367:

cheers bud…

i’m out too…

JeraldJay and kaksieok… good chat… next time…

• 371.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-368: I would love to see Jean De Villiers afforded the opportunity of lifting a trophy in his provincial colours. He deserves it, a loyal servant to both WP/Stormers and the Bokke. I would have liked to see Schalk stand next to him though.

Unfortunately, though the Stormers wont make it through the semi-final :-)

So they will have to weer probeer next season.

• 372.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-283:
    true, true
    i shouldnt let things work me up as much. my blood pressure has been off the charts lately and its affecting my health, i think.

@NZINCHINA-284:
    yes, for the same reasons i’d prefer the stormers to win. read is a significant loss for the crusaders, he was busy in the chiefs game. i cant remember if he played the whole game or was injured during?

as a betting man i would say yes, morne will play flyhalf for the boks in the 4 nations.

@Transformation-285:
    madiba’s a great man.
    amazed he’s still kicking it.

• 373.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-369: Yes, it took them a long time to gel. I’m not sure what did it, but whatever it is they need to keep it up. Doing it the hard way will make it that much more memorable.

• 374.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-366: Nej….tdjy moet die rigte taal praat mej bra…..anderste kan hulle tjou nie verstaanie….

• 375.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@ufo-370: Cheers, go well.

• 376.David: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-371:
    The Stormers are not a provincial side.

• 377.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I’m also out.

Kaksioek. You right, rugby is not tiddly winks but there are to many camera’s at this level and I doubt whether any player will risk his career and reputation by deliberately injuring an opponent.

• 378.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-377: There’s nothing in the laws of rugby against tackling a player’s knee – nothing at all.

• 379.cab: Reply to this comment

Stormers just hotta keep it tight and get ready to take on the 3 monster gamebreakers beasty, bismark and alberts at own game – keep it tight and mow their backrow right down – don’t look left nor right just keep mowing – but they must also attack grant must hit tge adv line with de jong on his shoulder and go for it for 80 mins – no defense kak, take it to to them, if u let that backrow play they will outrun you – instead play it like a test

• 380.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-378:

In Spike Erasmus, the Stormers have one of the best knee surgeons in the country- he will for sure not allow vermeulen on the field if his knee is not 100% and even stronger than before – the problems with Vermeulen (if he takes to the field) could be a lack of fitness or match sharpness and not a weak knee so to target his knee will be plain stupid. You should give your team and their leadership more credit than what you just did.

• 381.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Bismark never gave Fourie a b1tch slap.. if Bismark reckons he gonna try a bitchslap on Fourie he gonna come off second best.. Fourie should play hooker this weekend .. not 8th man….

and like cab says Stormers must just grind these okes out.. smack them sideways from first whistle till last.. not let up one second just keep smacking that advantage line with gusto.. Play Fourie right up in Bismark’s face and take on Beast and Alberts at their own game

With Etsebeth, Elstadt, Kolisi and even Roux and Armand we can take these okies out.. with Grant hammering away at first center all game long and De Jongh right there with him.. JdV should play further out at 13 and De Jongh right up close with Grant hammering away at that advantage line all game long and we’ll crack these sardines wide apart…

Don’t make the mistake that Reds did of playing open sesame rugby.. keep it tighter than a nuns whatsit and Sharkieshits won’t have anywhere to run to..nowhere to duck and hide.

• 382.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-380: Happy to hear it bud. The Stormers have got far bigger problems to worry about than Vermeulen’s knee – I’m just pointing out that if he gets on the field, he will be tested. Ever had a knee injury? It isn’t much fun. And your knee often isn’t the same afterwards.

• 383.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-381:

> Bismark never gave Fourie a b1tch slap

The game at Kingspark

• 384.cab: Reply to this comment

Yep stormers gotta be on their game for 80 not the **** they dished up v rebels – plumtree has been psyching beast up the whole week – kolisi elstadt and all need to play hard frenetic rugby like they capable of – kitshoff also needs to reproduce early season form – bekker better not get lost at centre again – fkme I never seen a lock make so many linebreaks.

• 385.cab: Reply to this comment

Gdam that boy rivals sbw with the offload – pity he’s a gdam lock gdam

• 386.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@cab-385: Pity he has a back that makes Skop look sprightly :lol:

• 387.cab: Reply to this comment

Gdam what a beauty – time out

• 388.cab: Reply to this comment

386 kaksoeker – apparently ou doosie fancies himself as a sprinter – all I know is must’ve been a long fkn time ago

• 389.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-386:

Humping energetic young student girls in the park does that to your back

Bekker’s that is not Skops

• 390.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-388:

Maybe he fancies himself a Mercedes Sprinter?

You can pick up and load a s-hitload of discarded half bricks from building sites around the Cape with one

• 391.cab: Reply to this comment

VB is that from Ozzie or Canada victoria?

yep dunn much about cars but that mercedes t wing or whatever from the 60s is a thing of beauty.

• 392.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-390: :lol:

• 393.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-389: at least he is not humping old hags like your bulletjies hougaard & helberg :lol:

dries had a fresh varsity chikita on that park bench.

• 394.cab: Reply to this comment

Nothing wrong with hougaard they’ve ruined him with that up&under **** – let him run ffs – fdp was fdp – hougaard completely different fish

• 395.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Now now.

There is something to be said for experience.

An old head on young shoulders.

• 396.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-391:

Canuckistan

Mercedes Sprinter panel van

• 397.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-393:

Maybe, 20 goes into 40 something a lot more than thirty goes into 20 :-)

That’s why he and his back is f-ucked

• 398.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@cab-394: Church.

• 399.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-394:

Hougie should concentrate on rugby, not fashion, flogging hair products and fast cars

And old ladies like Jacquie Fish, a name (or smell?) that suits het to a “t”

• 400.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-395:

Or old legs wrapped around young shoulders?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.