Duane spared as Deon starts

MARK KEOHANE writes sanity has won the day and Duane Vermeulen has not been considered for the Stormers Super Rugby semi-final against the Sharks.

The Stormers management all week have hinted at Vermeulen playing, even though his last match was three months ago.

Vermeulen’s knee, like that of Schalk Burger and Nick Koster’s, has taken a beating in this year’s competition and it would have been unfair on the player to expect him to play a semi-final.

Deon Fourie, who started the season at hooker, will start at No 8.

Earlier today I wrote: Duane Vermeulen should be a Springbok. He should have been picked two years ago. He should have been picked for the Rugby World Cup. He should have … should have … would have finally had injury not prematurely ended his participation in the league stages of this year’s Super Rugby competition.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer, in private conversation, and publicly made no secret about his admiration of Vermeulen’s play. The player, said Meyer, had the kind of physicality suited to Test rugby but he also had a composure Meyer believed would blossom in the Test environment. The initial Bok Test plan was to start with Vermeulen at No 8 and introduce Pierre Spies from the bench. Vermeulen then got injured. So did Ryan Kankowski and with neither Schalk Burger nor Juan Smith available the Bok coach went with convention and with a player familiar in Spies.

The Stormers, without Burger, Vermeulen and Nick Koster for most of the season, have severely been tested in this department. Siya Kolisi has grown from boy to man with regular playing opportunity, but playing the likes of hooker Deon Fourie at No 8 is a short-term holding job and is no replacement for a player like Vermeulen.

I can understand the management’s haste to have Vermeulen play against the Sharks and, if successful, in the final a week later, but I also fail to see how a player who has been injured for so long can be expected to start a Super Rugby semi-final? I don’t care who it is, there is no way he can be physically or emotionally up to the demands of a match of this nature. We know that Saturday’s semi-final against the Sharks is going to be played at a frenetic pace and the opening 40 minutes is going to be taxing, brutal and, if you are sitting in the stands, bloody amazing to watch.

But who can expect a player to produce anything of substance in such circumstances if he hasn’t even had a club match to test the knee.

There was a similar rush to get Juan Smith back for the World Cup a season ago and all it did was add an additional six months to his rehabilitation and also potentially end his international career. We still don’t know if Smith will play again or if he will ever play to the ability that made him one of the best in the game.

I’d hate to see Vermeulen injure the knee again because of a selfless act in believing he has to play. I’d hate to see a player’s year ended because of the potential of a Super Rugby final at home. There is a bigger picture for Vermeulen, and it includes playing Test rugby this season and making a contribution to the Springboks in the Rugby Championship and on the end-of-year tour.

I don’t think he will be any better than what has been playing for the Stormers in the last month, purely because of his lack of match conditioning and because of the doubts concerning his knee in contact. To expect him to play and to play to the standard he has set in the last few seasons is unfair and unrealistic.

The Stormers management should have written him off as a possibility, as they have done with Koster and Burger, and focused on those fit and available.

I am sure it is what it will come to. At least I hope so because Vermeulen, the unluckiest player when it comes to Bok selection, needs a bit of luck and he needs someone to put his personal aspirations first.

Not to mention his long-term contribution to rugby in the Western Cape.

84 Comments

• 1.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

This is typical Coetzee, look what he did to Bekker last year where he played him know full well that the guy was carrying an injury, causing him to miss out on the world cup. Knee injuries need a lot of time and you can’t expect the player to be fit within a couple of months.

To bring Duane on now would be a massive disaster. Especially since he hasn’t played a single game in four months.

• 2.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@kingcorn-1: We need him for the Championship! If the stormers play him now we will be forced to use Spies, the Stormers need to think about the biger picture here.

• 3.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

Agree.

The fact that his knee was apparently swollen on monday and he sat out practice to wait for the swelling to go down just shows he is not ready, in addition to the other points made in the article.

Give him 15 mins at the end of the game.

• 4.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

The Stormers can do it with out Vermeulen, they have done it all season.

• 5.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Nice to see Keo getting back on the straight and narrow and knuckling down to some work.

He even manages to slate Toettie.

Good effort.

• 6.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

The Stormers don’t rely on individuals, but rather on the team. Group effort within a system designed with no individual brilliance in mind :)
    That is why the Stormers have been so successful this year – the team carry the individuals and not the other way round.
    If Duane is not 100% fit, don’t play him – even though I am sure he will desperately want to play.
    Facts are, the Boks need Duane more than the Stormers do (although a fit Duane would be a bonus)
    If I see Spies, his headband, that wristband in a Bok jersey again, I will not be held responsible for my actions.

• 7.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-6:

I cant wait to see Duane dominate in the Championship.

• 8.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

I’m sure I read somewhere that AC said he won’t play him unless he gets 100% clearance from the medics.

• 9.Robzim: Reply to this comment

I doubt very much whether he will play even if his knee is fine.
    It’s probably only mind games.

• 10.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-7:

Alongside Alberts and Coetzee he’ll thrive.

Kolisi off the bench.

Jir lately it’s been a female dog trying to post a message on this site.

• 11.keo: Reply to this comment

I hope it is mind games because it seems clutching at straws to me. At this stage you go with what got you there.

• 12.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-11:

you are posting comments too quickly.

slow down.

• 13.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@keo-11:

Yes I thought it’s a bit of gamesmanship as well.

Not that Sharks would be too bothered with who plays and who doesn’t, but it does mess with the journos’ minds a bit :)

• 14.keo: Reply to this comment

You okes wanted me back and now I am back. Sports writing, rugby writing and more of the same. No more corporate 8 hour meetings to take my focus off rugby.

• 15.keo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-10: have there been problems with posting of messages? If so let me know so I can alert the webmaster.

• 16.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Great player and should be Bok 8… Spied should not even be on the bench… Kolisi on Bench and all bases are covered…

• 17.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-7: And I can’t wait to see him prove a few of you fellows wrong :)
    Speaking of dominating, what has Spies ever dominated? (apart from missed tackle stats)

@wpstormerbok-10: agree. With Duane at 8 and Alberts at 7, Heyneke INC Pty Limited, might even be convinced to play Brussow at 6.

• 18.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-12: :)

• 19.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-17:

i’m looking forward to seeing him dominate.

@THE MAULER-16:

His name is Spies.

Spied is what you did when your sister had her friend over.

• 20.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The “posting too fast” warning is perhaps aimed at making people reconsider about what they have just posted in a moment of anger or madness. Makes me think of the Paul Simon song:

“Slow down, you post too fast
    You got to make the morning last
    You got no deeds to do
    No promises to keep
    Life I love you, all is groovy”

or something like that.

• 21.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-12:

• 22.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Gunther lol… Fingers too big for iPhone keypad…

• 23.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER-22:

I also have very big fingers.

I am the Dirk Diggler of ifoons.

• 24.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-17:

Maybe your nic does not allow you to be objective but …

Given Marcel Coetzee’s superb S15 form and given that he did a decent job against England it would be a travesty to drop him (esp out the 22).

Having said that I agree the Vermeulen is the best 8 we have)

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i’m just waiting to see who is going to give keo s.hit about you know what… :lol:

• 26.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Pmsl

• 27.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@keo-14:

Did we ask for you back?

Seriously welcome back, I prefer you as a rugby writer (rather than a PR, businessperson) that pees off the suits in power.
    Sometimes I agree, sometimes not, but we can rely on you to scratch that scab (SARU, Franchise Management, transformation, playing)

• 28.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-25:

Don’t be naar.

I think it’s awesome of Keo to make some life changes in order to spend more time with us.

• 29.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@keo-15:

If you don’t refresh or reload keo.co.za after posting a message you get a ‘warning’ from the site that you’re posting too fast.

• 30.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit-24: I don’t think I mentioned dropping the very talented, gifted and on form Marcel from the Match 22 at all? Young Marcel is many things, but he is not yet a specialist 6 – he is a jack of all trades (surely you noticed this at times in the Pom series? Times where he was a bit headless at 6?)
    After Brossuw’s 1st half performance against the Sharks, are you in ANY doubt that he STILL has a valuable role to play in the Bok setup? He single handedly made all 3 Sharks loosies look a little dim for 40 minutes.

Coetzee is 21, and will be a Bok for MANY years. I just believe a Vermeulen, Alberts and Brussow trio would cause damage. I won’t weep if Coetzee starts at 6 for the Boks – but I would prefer Brussow in certain games.

• 31.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-30: Don’t you see any place for Schalla or Juan Smith?

• 32.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-31:

I think they are both gooners.

@Robzim-20:

great all we need now is a device to stop drunk sexting and the world will be a better place.

• 33.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-30:

Agreed , against Pocock and McCaw I would like to see us have a specialist fetcher , Brussouw is the best in this country by a mile when it comes to that.

• 34.RefuGSpot: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-30: Brussouw is the second name I’d write down, after Goosen

• 35.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@keo-15: Yes, Keo, there have been big problems with the site recently.

• 36.keo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-28: Don’t mention it … life change is a good thing (lol)

• 37.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Ratel must be in the bok team for sure… But have to ask if you are dominating the Game do you need a fetcher? I see what HM is trying to do but against top teams you won’t dominate completely…

• 38.willievz: Reply to this comment

Brussow is still key.

Not only for his fetching.

But for his allround ability the mental impact his presence has on his teammates.

This is one player the ABs genuinely fear, along with Bismarck.

• 39.RL: Reply to this comment

Slow down keo, limit the amount of white powder in the intake pipe.

Have you not heard the rumor about Duane heading off to France. Why would Heineken pick a mercenary over a local?

• 40.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-31: I don’t think Schalk will be playing for a while and Juan I don’t think will ever play international rugby again. For now, neither is available, and with what we have, I would roll with Alberts, Vermeulen and Brussow. (I’m not sure I wouldn’t roll with Alberts, Vermeulen and Brussow even if Juan and Schalk WERE fully fit and available, must think about that for a while)

• 41.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-32: You may be right but I really hope not, both are such great players. Especially JS, I think with the last few years of rest he can still play a part.

• 42.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Brussouw definitely must be at least in the Bok squad.

J.Potgieter & Spies gotta go. We have more than enough quality loosies to carry these 2 along.

Heyneke’s game plan will succeed against most teams but will falter against the 2 teams that it really matters.

• 43.willievz: Reply to this comment

@keo-36: Welcome back.

I doubt that Dr. Spike Erasmus will allow Duane to play if he is not fully fit.

• 44.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-36:

indeed cuzzie.

take some time to smell the roses.

@Skeppie-41:

seriaas?

in a few years Juan will have a free busspass.

• 45.keo: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-35: maill me (markkeo@mweb.co.za) and I can attend personally to them.

thanks,

• 46.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I get the whole Vermeulen clamour. He’s the closest thing the Stormers have had to an Alpha Male in years. But I agree it’s silly to rush him back.

And besides, didn’t the Stormers invoke the Exceptional Circumstances clause again, like they did with Schalk Britz? Doesn’t this clause allow them to play the Canuk or Luke or Dalaglio or whatever?

• 47.keo: Reply to this comment

@RL-39: when Heyneke braais at my place we do chat about a few things. So slow down on the assumptions bud.

• 48.realkenyan: Reply to this comment

@RefuGSpot-34: must be talking about the cheetahs teamlist

• 49.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-47:

how does heyneke like his sosaties?

• 50.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-49: Well, if he’s braaing with keo, he’s clearly part of the high sosatie crowd.

• 51.thesaint: Reply to this comment

No article on Bryce Lawrence being sacked from international rugby? I thought there would maybe be just a little something?

• 52.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-51: Let me do the honours:

The International Rugby Board (IRB) removed Lawrence from its elite panel of referees for future test matches, according to EWN Sport.

Lawrence became a hugely unpopular figure in South Africa last year after refereeing the World Cup quarterfinal between the Springboks and Australia. The Wallabies won the match, helped by Lawrence’s peculiar calls.

Bray confirmed the news by stating, “His time is over at [test] level.” He also added that it “would be a huge ask” for Lawrence to return to the test fold.

Lawrence was not given any Six Nations matches to officiate this year after his poor performance in the Wold Cup – despite being named New Zealand’s referee of the year.

Lawrence was also denied a chance to take charge of any matches in South Africa, with Sanzar fearing a public backlash in the rugby-mad country.

Lawrence has even been questioned in his home country this year. Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder lambasted Lawrence for his calls as the TMO during the Super Rugby match against the Hurricanes.

Blackadder criticised Lawrence after two botched calls – both of which led to Hurricanes tries and resulted in a win for the Wellington-based team.

“To me that was not a try. If there was a TMO like rugby league, they wouldn’t have allowed it,” Blackadder said.

“Even the second one [was dubious], when they had a guy in our defensive line as obstruction.”

• 53.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

So much for “The Bryce is Right”.

• 54.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-50:

In terms of Cape Town Braai Society keo is a wors to be reckoned with.

• 55.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Sharks team announced… Jordaan out… Advantage Stormers…

• 56.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-53: Someone always has to be fcked before the something is done…and then it’s too late.

• 57.RL: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER-55: who is in Bosman, he who sufferd from white line fever.

• 58.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

RL yes… Haha… Hope he doesnt do that again…

• 59.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-56: And to be fair, they chopped Kaplan too.

• 60.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-54: Around the braai fires of the Atlantic Seaboard, they respectfully call him The Lawyer.

(he specialises in de wors)

• 61.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-53:
    No one ever said that Bryce was right
    Bryce had the assignment from the NZRU to derail the Boks and he did just that, he had been assured financial compensations in advance, only a fool like Jonker does it for free.

• 62.keo: Reply to this comment

I see sanity has won and Duane not considered

• 63.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-59:
    For the opposite reason: Kaplan doesn’t follow instructions to swindle games which made him a thorn in the backside of SARU

• 64.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-62:

What have you done with Nikita?

I miss her astute insightful commentary.

• 65.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-64: Hey, at least he left her pic. That’s a nice touch.

• 66.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-61:
    or criag joubert

• 67.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-64:
    i just miss her

• 68.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@keo-62: I dont believe for a minute it had anything to do with sanity, He was never ready to play and it is all about the mind games, same from the Sharks side,

Lambie and Jordaan were never for to play

• 69.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-65:

It rubs the lotion on it’s skin or else it gets the hose again.

• 70.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-69:

It does this whenever it is told.

• 71.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Sharks have a very kak centre combination……very kak with Meyer Bosman there…..kind of negates the Vermeulen injury quite heavily. Unless Plum is playing games.

• 72.keo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-65: she will be back

• 73.Finfan: Reply to this comment

The Sharks team was announced at the same time as the Stormers team. I’m sure it will eventually also appear on Keo – but only after three+ articles analysing and agonising about the Stormers team. Makes me wonder what, if anything, will be on Keo, should the Sharks beat the team that is number one on the log…

• 74.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-72:

Has she gone to the Olympics?

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-74: have you seen stormersboy? he’s been laying low or maybe bloggin more on “rugby focussed websites”…

• 76.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-75:

We had a keo captains of industry chat the other day.

He is busy propping up the economy.

I am busy saving the planet and googling topless pictures of Pixie Geldof.

• 77.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@keo-72: Jolly good. That one is a keeper.

• 78.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-75:
    well he dissapeared round about the same time that nikita did.

break out the investigative journalism and solve this hot and cold case, transie

• 79.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-76:
    how does a topless picture of pixie geldof save the planet?

this sounds revolutionary

can we patent ?

• 80.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-76:
    supposedly if google switched from white to black for their browser page / homepage it would cut global warming by 0.75 tenths.

• 81.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-79:

I’m multitasking.

It’s what separates me from apes like a boy named Sue.

• 82.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-81:
    well keep your one good hand free for that.
    if you’re a lefty then dont use your right and vice versa.
    it never works properly otherwise.

• 83.Papoose: Reply to this comment

its possible it all could’ve been mind games…

• 84.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-78:

She plays hockey, Keo gave her intensive short stick training before the 2012 Olympics

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.