Breaking the mould

MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Sport Monthly, says Sonny Bill Williams, far from being a sell-out to rugby union, is a pioneer.

Williams could play his last rugby union match in New Zealand when the Chiefs host the Crusaders in the first Super Rugby semi-final and Keohane argues that those with unique sporting talent should not be financially punished because of the limitations of those around them.

The only surprise in Sonny Bill Williams’ professional sporting career was the abruptness with which he left the Sydney Bulldogs, the only team he has played for where there was an emotional attachment. Williams loved the Bulldogs in a manner Dan Carter loves the Crusaders, Jean de Villiers the Stormers and Victor Matfield the Bulls.

Williams left New Zealand as a 15-year-old to take up an apprenticeship with the Bulldogs, made the senior squad before his 18th birthday and won the grand final with the Bulldogs in his first season proper as a 19-year-old.

The Bulldogs is the team which Williams associated with sporting ambition. He was a rugby league player who never had aspirations of playing for the All Blacks.

In effect he was more Australian than Kiwi when he signed with the New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) in 2010. Williams has never attempted to disguise the motivation behind his decision to test himself in rugby union. It only came about because of former All Blacks captain Tana Umaga’s influence when Umaga played alongside and coached Williams at the French club Toulon four years ago.

Williams stunned Australians when he quit the Bulldogs midway through his contract. The shock turned to anger and the sporting public voted him the most hated man in Australia.

Those suggesting Williams has turned his back on the All Blacks and on New Zealand rugby are emotional and have not considered that Williams never chased the All Blacks jersey – the chasing was done by the NZRU bosses and it was because of Umaga’s belief that the player could be massive for the All Blacks and an inspiration to New Zealand rugby.

Williams was good for the All Blacks in his first season in November 2010 and brilliant in the three-Test series against Ireland. His performance in the third and final Test was his best for the All Blacks and at the final whistle he could rightly claim to be the form international No 12, not just in New Zealand but in the world.

De Villiers, generally considered the best inside centre in the game in the past five years, is playing outside centre for the Springboks and the imposing Welshman Jamie Roberts did not play against Australia because of injury.

Anyone who disputes what Williams has achieved in rugby is deluded. His impact in the New Zealand domestic game was as dramatic and immediate as that of Jonah Lomu in 1994, and probably even more remarkable because his first introduction to rugby union was a 15-month spell at Toulon in the south of France after he quit rugby league.

Williams was a revelation in the 2011 Super Rugby season for the Crusaders. He was so different to anyone who had played professional rugby at inside centre. He did things no other player has ever done in that position in a sport he had been playing for just 15 months.

Those who dismiss his qualities on the field can only do so out of disappointment that he won’t be playing rugby union in 2013. But the New Zealand public has not seen the last of him in an All Blacks jersey because he is good enough to return in 2014 or even as late as the 2015 Super Rugby season and make the All Blacks World Cup squad.

Williams never tried to con the New Zealand rugby public about his motives for leaving France. He said Umaga had planted the seed in the form of a challenge to the player to take himself out of the comfort zone in France and test himself against the best in rugby union. Umaga was adamant Williams had the qualities to succeed, but more than that he saw first-hand the unique skills that no other current inside centre possesses or has ever possessed.

When he did play for the All Blacks, Williams was good and in his 17th Test he was exceptional. He is that good and if he committed to rugby union until his sporting days ended the potential of him being acknowledged as an All Blacks great would no doubt have been realised. His decision to put on hold that possibility means the traditional New Zealand rugby supporter will never afford him that, but again that has never been the motivation for Williams.

When he arrived in New Zealand he stated that he had a year to make an impact and prove to himself that he could play the sport at the highest level. He has certainly done that.

He has achieved his goal, even if the rugby public’s goals were something quite different.

Williams has never disrespected the All Blacks jersey and he has never asked for a handout. So many have been quick to condemn the decision but significantly there has been nothing but praise for the player from his team-mates at the Chiefs and the All Blacks and from his former team-mates at the Crusaders.

Carter, who was so important to Williams’ rugby union development in the 2011 Super Rugby season, said anyone engrained in rugby union would want Williams to stay because of his qualities as a player. Wayne Smith, the former All Blacks backline coach and the man who continued the mentorship of Williams at the Chiefs, said it had been astonishing how quickly Williams had matured into a world-class rugby union player.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie added that the public perception was that Williams was a law unto himself because of the unique nature of his contract with the NZRU, which made provisions for him to continue his professional boxing career, but that it was not the case among those who worked with him on a daily basis.

Williams, far from being a sell-out to rugby union, is a pioneer. Think about it. He has never settled for comfort or convenience. He has said he has another five years as a professional sportsman and he wanted to maximise his earning potential, be it through boxing, rugby union or rugby league.

He initially had not planned to stay in New Zealand’s domestic rugby union competition this year and he has only ever operated on short-term contracts since leaving the Bulldogs. The attitude of the New Zealand rugby bosses towards Williams has been nothing but positive and it would be a surprise if he didn’t find inspiration in the challenge of a starring role in the 2015 rugby union World Cup in England.

Why begrudge a player his right to maximise his income? Why make him choose one or the other? All Blacks coach Steve Hansen’s primary goal will be to defend the World Cup and he will want to select the best possible squad. If Williams commits to a year in rugby union in 2015 he would be an asset to the campaign.

The disapproval of Williams’ way among traditionalists of the sport is not dissimilar to what I heard so many South African supporters say when Frans Steyn signed a three-year contract to play in France after being instrumental to the Springboks’ 2007 World Cup success.

Steyn won a World Cup as a 20-year-old, yet was accused of lacking loyalty to the Boks because his talent allowed for a better deal in Europe than he could ever be offered playing domestically in South Africa.

I can’t wait for the game to finally grow up professionally where a player is selected for his country because he is the best. Isn’t that why it is called Test rugby? The best should play the best? Rugby is a business and it is a profession for those who earn a living from playing. Why punish those with exceptional talent?

Steyn challenged the status quo because he backed his ability to perform on the biggest stage. There wasn’t a heck of a lot of support for his inclusion in the 2011 World Cup squad. He was also accused of chasing the money. Which professional in any other business doesn’t chase the bigger payday?

Supporters and many within the rugby media need to mature and accept the reality of the game’s evolution to something far more significant than those who support rugby and will always only ever see it as a sport.

Steyn was outstanding in New Zealand in the 2011 World Cup and the Boks, as we saw in the World Cup quarter-final and in the third Test against England in June, are a weaker unit when he does not play. The same will be true of Williams’ absence from the All Blacks squad.

Good teams become great teams because of the depth in the squad. Williams, like Steyn, has something most who play the game don’t have, yet there is such a reluctance to acknowledge a player’s right to earn the most he can.

Steyn and those who manage his career were labelled the villains and lacking loyalty to South Africa. In New Zealand similar accusations have been levelled at Williams, among the public and within the media; simply because neither he nor his manager Khoder Nasser conform to what is really an outdated view on the sport.

If Williams is good enough to command the kind of money he will earn from a five-month stint in rugby union in Japan, a season in Australia’s National Rugby League (NRL) and however long his professional boxing career can last, then it is something to be admired and applauded.

Williams and Steyn are the risk takers, which could explain why they are also among the best in what they do. The majority of the sport’s players want the comfort of three-year contracts because of the supposed need for job security.

But the nature of this business is that there is always a conveyor belt of emerging employees and often players are still on national contracts but aren’t good enough in the third year to be making the squad on performance.

Williams demands the highest possible financial reward every year but accepts he won’t have a job if he doesn’t perform. I’d rather have that kind of mindset among players than the collective safe haven of settling on one price and one code because that is the way it has always been done.

Williams says he has no regrets about the decision because he made a commitment to return to the NRL when he walked away and the emotion of playing for the All Blacks and the enjoyment he got from being a rugby player in New Zealand could not override the practical business decisions of what was best for his professional career.

Players who are willing to challenge themselves are the loyalists to excellence. Williams has unfinished business in rugby league. Not so in rugby union.

He never said he wanted to be remembered as a great of the game. He said he wanted to prove to himself he was capable of playing Test rugby and through that performance earn the respect of his team-mates, coaches, the opposition and those who support the All Blacks and the game in New Zealand.

He has more than done that. The story of Sonny Bill Williams is what he has achieved in less than two years in New Zealand rugby; not the fact that he may never feel it a motivation or challenge to return to the code.

Brad Thorn, now regarded as an All Blacks great, also returned to rugby league after the 2003 World Cup. He didn’t play in the 2007 World Cup but peaked as a rugby union player at the World Cup in 2011.

Carter and Richie McCaw have made their decisions to stay in New Zealand out of choice and not necessity. The NZRU leaders applied business practice to their two most prized assets, signed them until the end of their careers and allowed for a sabbatical between now and 2015, be that in the form of a break or a spell overseas playing club rugby.

Many who support the game deemed it a radical decision and the accusation was of preferential treatment to individuals in a team sport.

But those sporting codes that are businesses are no different to any other business, where the ethos of one company should not be confused with the individual value of those who make up the business.

Williams has an individual worth that does not need to be limited to making the choice of one code for the next five years. If he returns to New Zealand as a union player they will get a better result out of him than had he stayed for the wrong reason.

Steyn will be a greater asset to the Springboks now than had he stayed out of supposed loyalty and lost out financially in 2008. He would have been out of here now, probably never to return.

If Williams had stayed because of the feel-good factor at the Chiefs I doubt he would have been around in rugby union in 2015. I reckon he’ll be back for the All Blacks because he may just feel he wants to start in a World Cup final and not just make the match 22.

And if he doesn’t he should be remembered for doing more in 18 months than most players do in a decade.

– This article appears in the latest issue of Business Day Sport Monthly, on sale now at selected retailers. The magazine is distributed FREE with Business Day newspaper on the second last Friday of the month.

411 Comments

• 1.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Sharks 2012 Super 15 champions dragons !

• 2.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

“De Villiers, generally considered the best inside centre in the game in the past five years, is playing outside centre for the Springboks…….”

I think many of us outside the Cape would agree Jean is good but far from being the best in the game especially when there is literally no backline play when he is at 12.

• 3.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie-2:

Bah keo making up stuff as he goes along again, closest to the truth may be that 5 years ago JDV was generally considered the best inside centre…even that may well be off the mark.

As for SBW, sorry but I just don’t buy into the hype, can’t tackle, can’t pass (shoulder charges and offloads don’t as tackling and passing), so outside of him making the NZ commentators cream their pants every time he touches the ball, I am not sure what he does to make him great.

• 4.whatever: Reply to this comment

Ho hum, another money bill article, yawn!

• 5.whatever: Reply to this comment

There are gonna be some seeeriooouusly sad guppies come Sunday :)

• 6.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Good morning all
    Here is a tune dedicated to poppa
    if he is on keo today please point him to this post.
    have a great day all
    heaps of light and love
    Chunt du Fernly
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yOGD1WkJJok

• 7.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Keurboompark’s chick ditched him.
    Here is a song for him/it and Dawn
    I think they are a perfect match
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yHlZVwAZSB8

• 8.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

What a long-winded ramble, even for a SBW fanboy. When it takes more than 2000 words to justify the bloke’s actions, you can be sure the bullshit detectors are going beserk all over the place.

• 9.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-6:
    Good morning Fernly.
    @Slartibartfast-3:
    What the heck you been watching when Sbw takes the field? He has become more than a match for any second five out there and when he lifts the Super Trophy I will post these words again……please let it be
    ” so outside of him making the NZ commentators cream their pants every time he touches the ball, I am not sure what he does to make him great.”

• 10.JL1: Reply to this comment

Keo should write when he has something to write about
    Pioneer, my backside is a pioneer, Ollie Le Roux did this way back in the days.Was it not Squash, water polo and ruby.Playing in SA and in Ireland.
    He just likes SB money, shoulder charge player

Tell you what Keo, at least you stopped writing those stupid Kings stories

• 11.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@ Te Ranged
    Morning
    This must be my favourite afrikaans song at the moment
    Check this out.
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=A8y6RhgktNc

• 12.go104realz: Reply to this comment

“In effect he was more Australian than Kiwi” There is a s**t load of kiwis playing for Australian NRL teams, that does not make them Australian. NSW in the State of Origin tried to entice SBW to play for them over the Kiwis, and even though there were financial gains and accolades assured, he still chose the Kiwis. I don’t think you realize how connected kiwis and rugby league are. For example I support the Brisbane Broncos with a passion on par with the All Blacks, even though I was born and raised in NZ – that does not make me Australian. Many of my friends would attest to doing the same.

• 13.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-9:

Thehehe ja I am just not a fan, he is big and he is fast but I still won’t put him in a class of his own yet.

• 14.Papoose: Reply to this comment

What DRIVEL just to continually re-inforce in our minds that Steyn has had as much impact as SBW, we ALL know that’s not true and it doesn’t matter how many times you say it Keo, it doesn’t make it true

• 15.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-13:
    Each to his own aye Slarti………I’ve followed his career since he went to Oz and to where his now, its been entertaining.
    @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-11:
    I’l listen to it when I get home, my speakers have gone.
    .@go104realz-12:
    Howzit…..what you say is the truth….Keo has no flippin idea, Sbw wore the Kiwi jersey with pride and for Keo to say he was probably more Australian when he came back to Nz is a joke.

• 16.Papoose: Reply to this comment

I sincerely hope this article does NOT make it into the Business day sport in its current format! I know sometimes they float out articles here to get a feel before publishing but this has to be 1 of the worst “rants” disguised as journalistic content we’ve seen in awhile.

• 17.Papoose: Reply to this comment

My 2 cents…while SBW has undoubtedly change the way Union is played, I still feel he hasn’t achieved his goal of testing himself amongst the best.
    He didn’t end up contributing much in the WC.
    He didn’t win S15 title yet and while destroying the Irish this year deserves plaudits the real test would’ve been in this years 4 Nations where he’d have established himself as a centre and HAVE to reproduce his talent againts the Boks!
    We ALL know the only other team to challenge the All Blacks are the best and this would’ve been a fitting end to having sufficiently tested himself…Now we can’t really judge how “great” he really is…

• 18.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-15:

Well we know NZ is but another province of Australia…but keo won’t understand that either :shock:

PS Part of my problem is my dislike of league, it is all over the TV, papers, news so it is hard to get away from it but I just can’t get a handle on it.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I stole this copy from the boss’ Business Day

I know a lot more about Robey Leibrandt now

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And Marit Safin!

• 21.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-19:

You are a cert for employee of the month.

• 22.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-21: Employee of the day! there’s lots of room at the top and the bottem, apparently

• 23.Simon: Reply to this comment

@Papoose-16: Wow, you really don’t know how things work in publishing, do you? Maybe try reading the paragraph at the end? The image of the published article is also a clue.

• 24.BuckT: Reply to this comment

was i dreaming or did I hear one of the NZ commentators mention the other day that this isn’t league, so the TMO can’t review further back than the in goal area. has this been tried in league and if so, how successful has it been?

• 25.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@go104realz-12: i think he was referring to his love for fighting :)

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hear hear…sbw is the real deal.

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Old Leibbrandt once went on an 18 day fast, consuming just water, charcoal and sand. He never slept on a bed as a youngster, preferring to lie on the floor.”

• 28.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-27: was he sh!tting diamonds and pearls towards the end?

• 29.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Papoose-17:

william williams junior “undoubtedly changed the way rugby union is played…”

come on… talk about smoke n mirrors…

all the expectant hullaballoo about the youngster has certainly not been realized… sure he’s played okay but he never even nailed down a starting spot for the ABs…

the reality has certainly not matched the hype… which i think has more to do with his leaving union than anything else…

• 30.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-27:

What’s the big deal.

I often sleep on the floor.

Especially when I’ve had a few.

As for charcoal and sand, Fuckadilly has been cudding on that for years without any discernible side effects.

Well not many.

• 31.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How can you people make gaai of Robey.

He is spartan!

• 32.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-8: Keo must get paid by the word and has an expensive habit to fund. How these coke-fueled rants make it past the Business Day editor, I don’t understand

• 33.go104realz: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira
    Chur bro, yeah it was an out of it statement! Who do you support in the NRL?

• 34.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Anyway.

This is another of Keos kiwi play area articles.

Expect my buddy in China to pop a little wood when he reads this.

• 35.ufo: Reply to this comment

the offload has been part of rugby since forever…

even as a kid we were taught to get your arms above the tackle to pass… or ‘offload’…

it is nothing knew and not something as defined by sonny bill…

it has become his trademark though because that is just about all he does and seems the only thing sonny does effectively… other players have been offloading as a part of their game… but unlike sonny bill they also do other things like tackle, kick etc…

sonny’s ‘tackles’ are either shoulder charges or he waves players through quicker than turnstile bosman

• 36.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@29 UFO
    If you pay attention to how Union has changed in Southern Hemisphere especially ito of support players putting themself in position for that offload, before called pop pass, and thereby adding continuation to play there’s no1 else to credit besides SBW.
    Funny thing is his game has evolved so much further than that this year ito when he chooses to offload or take the gap etc.
    He just draws the eye of soo many defenders as they don’t know what he’s gonna do next.
    But in the end…he WILL break you down!!
    Give credt where its due

• 37.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Simon-23: That could be your next poll- who managed to read this right through to the last paragraph?

• 38.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

I know who Robey was, a Nazi f ** k when you strip away all the rest. But who is fuckadilly?

• 39.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-38:

Captain Cunteye.

• 40.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-39: Still have no clue? Blogger or journalist?

• 41.keo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-37: I did a few times. Educational read

• 42.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Vegan toilet encloser.

• 43.William Webb Ellis is now at home: Reply to this comment

@Papoose-36: he has grown as a player, but is one or two years too short of realising his potential imo… and with Conrad out its a real shame, a SBW/Nonu centre pairing would have been interesting..

• 44.keo: Reply to this comment

So Stormers have 2 days left in comp and then Sharkies are back off to NZ

• 45.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@keo-41:

Who gets the keo kiss of death this weekend?

Stormers and Crusaders?

• 46.keo: Reply to this comment

Hello dawn dearest … how is the kingdom? I must say it is great to be back. Have missed everyone

• 47.keo: Reply to this comment

Sadeers to win Sharks to win and Saders to win at home in final

• 48.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

SBW is a gold digger and thats it. No loyalty no backbone and will always be remembered as a potential great who passion for the game was eclipsed by his passion for money.

• 49.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-42: I am going to ask Dawn. Vegan toilet enclosing fuckadillying captain cunteye – poor fellow, whoever he is.

• 50.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@keo-46:

The Monarch is back

Let me get to my knees.

• 51.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-49:

Skop!

• 52.rewa hard: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-24: They use the TMO for every try scored thru a kick toward the tryline and there are plenty of those, to check for onside and any try scored the refs feel may have been dodgy thru whatever reason and can go back 100 meters if need be.

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-35: you last sentence is so far-fetched :D

• 54.keo: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-48: who must he be loyal to and why can’t he come back to union in two years time and rock?

Rugby needs to get over itself as to where players play out of … it is a professional game. How can you punish the best players for not going where the money is the best

• 55.keo: Reply to this comment

Dawn you have been on your knees since 2004 … surely time to rise

• 56.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I like this new, more accessible keo.

It’s like when your favourite rogue uncle gets out on parole.

Naaice.

• 57.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@keo-55:

FFS ever since you said that you have tainted me with the mark of the cheap and ****** beast.

Take it back.

• 58.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-48: He’s not leaving for money – he turned down twice the salary in Toulon to come to NZ. Now he’s going back to league…his first love!…for less than he’d make in Japan or Europe. He wants to win a rugby league cup medal to go with his rugby union one

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@keo-54: don’t worry, jaque fourie was apparently “loyal” to the Stormers when he left them in the lurch to take R22 millions from the japanese :roll:

• 60.keo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-56: the key is that the uncle stays out on parole

• 61.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@keo-46: come noe Keo, why do you have to put the kiss of death on my Sharks??? you know you very seldom predict right :lol:

• 62.keo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-57: Okay I guess that was you standing all along. I take it back

• 63.keo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-61: I was right last week when I said they’d whip the Reds

• 64.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Papoose-36:

I have given credit where it’s due… his offload is the most effective part of his game…

but to suggest the whole game has changed due to him is giving him waaay too much credit…

if he was so good why was he not a regular automatic starter for the ABs…?

a little reality check would do you and sonny the world of good…

• 65.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@keo-55:

Besides.

I only rise on Monarch’s command.

• 66.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@keo-63: This is true boet, maybe your luck has turned lol

• 67.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@keo-63: Well i’ll sure be hoping ur right thins weel and wrong next week

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@keo-55: is she now a dame?

• 69.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@keo-54: Maybe I am still old school but in this regard hats off to the Carters and McCaws of the world who can earn most probably triple somewhere else but they are sticking to their team. That still counts a lot in my books but hey different strokes I guess.

• 70.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-48: how “loyal” has cj stander been to the union that took him as a baby bok and molded him? as soon as the paddies flashed the cash he was gone, even with heyneke meyer picking him in his wider bok group…is stander a gold digger for spurning the bulls speculated R800k for munster’s R2.1 bar?

• 71.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68:

Knight of the Highest HM Order.

• 72.keo: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-69: As I said in piece SBW only sporting emotional loyalty was to Bulldogs where he apprenticed from age of 15.

I hear you, but the Matfields, Carters, McCaws, Burgers will become less and less in next 5 yrs as players search for 1 year contracts and the highest bidder

• 73.keo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68: In this kingdom she is of the founding royalty variety

• 74.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-69: was francois steyn a golddigger for leaving the sharks and taking racing metro money, leaving the sharks with donkeys like andries strauss & riaan swanepoel @ centre? old school is no more.

• 75.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@keo-72: That is and was always going to be the case, We are just lucky League is not big in SA, coulda been far worse

• 76.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-68:

Queen Mother.

Substitute Famouse Grouse for Dubonnet.

• 77.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-53:

and saying sonny has changed rugby union is not far fetched…? you should be in politics or pr…

@Transformation-59:

‘straw-manning’ again…

sigh…

cast your line in more fruitful waters…

• 78.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@keo-72: Sad but true. If this is the trend the days where we ‘label’ a player ala ‘Louis Schmidt the original blou bul’ are long gone.

• 79.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-69: well in 2009 when carter wanted to go and be a “gold digger” ar perpignan the NZRU bent its own rules and said they giving his a “sabbatical”.

• 80.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-75: I’m surprised the league scouts don’t target union youngsters in SA like they do in NZ. Might be happening already but in the last few years rugby has had more cash than league….which is what i keep saying, SBW will earn less in Australia than he could playing rugby in Europe

• 81.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo-77:

He is igovernments rugby social media advisor,

Starting salary R 1 76500 plus benefits.

• 82.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-77: it is equally far-fetched i agree but you don’t have to follow suit to counter the claim :D

• 83.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-74: IMO yes Trans but read my post 69 again. I can understand a player moving for playing oppertunities but If money is the only factor thats just plain kak in my books but as gonzo said SBW had bigger offers but as with everything in life we do not know what goes on behind the scenes.
    Like I said before..different strokes….

• 84.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-69: Those 2 have sponsorship deals that ensure they aren’t missing out on much in terms of $$$ by staying in NZ. The 2 most marketable players in the world, for a good few years already (IMHO). And they are gods in NZ (and elsewhere…)
    I just think Richie and Dan pull in more than enough from other sources. They have no need to leave NZ to make more at this stage. Unlike other players who possibly don’t enjoy the same $$$$ from sponsorships and advertising.

• 85.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-76:

Get off your queen mother high horse

• 86.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-81:

figures…

@Transformation-82:

yet you did not think to tell papoose it was far fetched…? mmmmm… wonder why…?

be honest now transport… tackling is not a strong point of sonny’s game…

• 87.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The Joan of Arc of Keohane

• 88.Robzim: Reply to this comment

It fascinates me why so many local bloggers on Keo are very anti SBW. Is it because of jealousy (he is kiwi) or because they do not like players who do things a bit different than the norm or what?

Based on what i have read he is a nice bloke- even went to the Protea dressing room after them beating the black caps to congratulate them and to pose for pics with a beaming AB dr Villiers.

What does it matter whether he chase money or not-it is his good luck that he is mult-talented and a charismatic person- many people are chasing money these days in all spheres of life and that even includes local rugger heroes like Jaq Fourie, John Smit, Bakkies Botha, Bryan Habana and a lot more.

• 89.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Keo, so you don’t proof read either?

Werent you saying the other day that the Sharks wouldnt have the legs in the last quater to win, now above you’re calling a Sharks win?

(Mixing with Vim might extend the holding, but its not worth it!)

• 90.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Transport?

• 91.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-51: Ai tog. I have seen a few people give fitzella a right go. Just wasn’t aware of all the names….

• 92.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@keo-54: Everyone always fall back on the tired old “it’s a professional game defense” when justifying the mercenaries. But what they fail to recognise is the one thing that sets rugby apart from most other sports: the fierce loyalty and sense of identity that comes with each unique team. Fans (most of them, at least) are fans for life, and so they expect a similar commitment from the team. This is probably truer for Currie Cup, but even Super Rugby franchises have inherited the region’s quirks and traditions, and certainly their fans. So to just bin all of this in favour of professionalism because you’re a “modern thinker” is short sighted. From there it’s a slippery slope.

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-81: :lol:

• 94.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-85:

Easy with the handbag.

• 95.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-88:

rob… i have no ill-feeling for sonny bill wiliams as a person or player… and have praised him before on keo for his athleticism and skills…

but i do have a problem with him being credited by sycophantic fans for changing the way rugby is played…

he does not deserve to share shelf space with the greats of the game…

IMO of course… however far-fetched it may be… :wink:

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-94:

OK your maj.

• 97.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-91:

He is that old ballie in the gym that thinks its ok to floss his crack with his gym towel.

• 98.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-88:

Actually he wanted to meet Hashim.

• 99.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-90:

quicker and easier than transformation… in sport… (among other things…)

abbreviated to TranSport…

i know everyone calls him transie but the images of a strapping young black dude in revealing women’s couture is all a bit too much for me… and not showing the respect our TranSport deserves…

again… in my own far-fetched opinion…

• 100.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-97: Fukkof. That’s even siffer than your recent Noleen comment.

• 101.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo-95:

Personally I am sorry that he is leaving- i really enjoyed it to watch him except the one sad day at newlands last year when the saders demolished the stormers.

Sonny was not so cool that day imo :)

• 102.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-86: i didn’t read papoose’s post i apologise…the clamour about sbw was kiwi hype and not “world” hype, the NZRU needed him to cash in on the RWC and he did wonders for them, on the playing field he has done admirably imo for a league player to come in and compete at super rugby and test level in the manner he has done. whether he is better than whoever i couldn’t be bothered, to me sbw is a great athlete qha.

• 103.Robzim: Reply to this comment

On the issue of money and players chasing money I read the other day that (according to research) approximately 84% of South African professional rugby players will struggle financially soon after they retire from the game. International statistics show that 68% of players lose 70% of their income within 3 months after they stopped playing. Scary stuff.

• 104.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@ufo-99:

Jason Stratham then.

• 105.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-101:

don’t remind me…! :wink:

actually i am sorry to see him go too…

i love rugby and love watching it being played by talented players… i would have love to have seen young will fulfilling his potential in union…

personally, i believe he has left the puzzle picture incomplete… the glass half empty…

pity…

• 106.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-97: Oi vey. I’m trying to enjoy my cornflakes here…..

• 107.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-103: That’s a good time to buy their houses and cars (if the mileage is still good).

• 108.BuckT: Reply to this comment

is it just me who thinks this new ‘keo’ is a fake? there’s a distinct lack of the over excited font in his responces and i seriously doubt Heyneke braai’s with memebers of the Bolivian Marching Powder army…?!

• 109.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-108: Could be part of Meyer’s CSI commitments. A kind of outreach programme.

• 110.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-100:

So I wont tell you about his Bruce Fordyce running shorts that let his prunes hang out like Zsa Zsa Gabor’s earrings?

• 111.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-103: They always seem to get sucked into all sorts of dodgy investment deals, and 2nd rate restaurants and coffee shops….

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-99: hehehehe gentleman and a scholar :D

• 113.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-110: No, don’t. Also nothing about the discoloured areas under his moobs that haven’t seen the sun since 1972. Not a word.

• 114.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-108:

Keo disguises it with aromat, offers him a heavily laced chop and then suggests they pick the bok team together.

@Robzim-103:

Why would that be?

They are earning more than ever?

Mediocre CC players are getting 7 figure salaries in Eutope and Japan.

Five years of that is more than they would have earned on a lifetime as a mechanic at Bloemfontein Toyota.

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-108: so where you think Keo heard meyer say Sadie would be his world cup bolter if not Keo’s braai?

• 116.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-107:

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-111:

Most interesting (from the same article I read) is that 76% of players who played for Australia between 2008 and 2010 were graduates and that 90% of all professional rugby players in NZ also study while they play rugby and that 84% will eventually complete a worthwhile qualification.

This is in sharp contrast to South Africa where 70% of all professional rugby players does not do ANY form of studying.

They only seem to play rugby, watch TV, play golf and hang out with friends and chase women.

The last sentence was not from the article- i have added it :)

• 117.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-103: sounds like it’s a wild 3 months post retirement! but seriously, you think it’s a financial planning issue or were they living a life style that suddenly became unaffordable..?

• 118.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-113:

Or the time he shorted the Fishoek Virgin Active when one of his dingleberries got sucked into the communal hair drier?

• 119.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-116: And just over 65%* end up selling insurance or repping for Nashua.

* the katman’s own stats.

• 120.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-110:
    I like the cut of your jib, keep it up.

@>^..^< katman-113:
    Agreed.

Also, please, no one must mention his catastrophe bag.
    (he sometimes empties it here online, plaas van in the loo.)

• 121.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-114:

I think they just don’t know how to work with money and probably get some bad advice and are too used to live the high life to stop spending when the stream of income becomes less.

If Elton John could have nearly lost his fortune and went bankrupt I guess Francois Hougaardt for example can do the same.

• 122.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-110: Or as Ashley Schaeffer would say, “his plums”…

• 123.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-117:

I think it is both. Luckily there are success stories too like Francois Pienaar, Corne Krige, Skinstad etc.

• 124.willievz: Reply to this comment

Come now gents.

The guy used to play for the enemy.

I am not sorry he is leaving. And neither should you.

• 125.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-118: Or the time he pulled a Jerry Collins and tried to pee down the side of his leg onto his turquoise hand towel so he wouldn’t lose his place on the spinning bike.

• 126.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-114: who’s this heavily laced chop, surely not Ryan?

@Transformation-115: ryan probably stuck the wrong shredded bits of paper from the garbage together…

• 127.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-121:

They share a love for cut flowers, pink champagne and Waterford Crystal.

The writing is in the wall for Frankie.

@>^..^< katman-122:

They were plums 30 years ago.

• 128.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-125:

The spinning instructor thought a molesnake had escaped.

• 129.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-127: Ashley Schaeffer can feel it in his plums… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzRNrS5MPOw

• 130.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-125:
    Thats not entirely true. It was a mauve hand towel.

• 131.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

thanks keo good article , i wonder how does this bullshit spewing outta these conservatives outchea tastes like . SBW is our bra ekse

• 132.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-131:
    HUH?

• 133.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-130: No, he alternates them. Mauve is yoga, turquoise is spinning and dirty peach is for his Thursday morning interpretive modern dance class.

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-131: awe ma se kind, hoezit?

• 135.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-129:

Fakefuck is well passed that stage.

His is firmly in the prune era.

On the threshold of walnuthood.

• 136.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-132: That’s Khoi-san for Sakkie..

• 137.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-133:
    I stand corrected.

• 138.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-131:

Were you one of those phoning his hotel at three in the morning when the Saders played here last year?

Pretending to be his long lost cousin Jamail?

All you wanted was a signed All Blacks Jersey and flights to watch the Workd Cup in New Zealand?

• 139.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-121: maybe Elton could write a song about FH, mullet in the wind?

• 140.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-116: I spoke to Neil Hugo earlier this year. His son, Reniel played Varsity Cup this year for Stellenbosch. Reniel played Craven Week, attended WP rugby institute and represented WP U/19 and U/21, but he realised that he was not going to make the grade as a professional player (my words not his). He is currently studying accountancy and is doing very well. Some of his friends that played SA Schools’ etc. thought that they would make the grade but did not: therefore some of them have only now started to study, realising rugby will not provide an adequate income. I guess this is to a certain degree the problem – a number of youngsters don’t think about the future. There are only so many (or should I say few) players that will qualify as professional rugby players. In Australia, rugby union, as we all know, is not big and therefore quite a number of rugby players study while playing.
    The study to which you refer was done by Ross van Reenen who used to play for Free State in the late 70s, early 80s. It was part of his MBA thesis if I’m not mistaken

• 141.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-139: Never knowing where to turn to when the ball popped out…

• 142.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-134: ncaah and you transie

• 143.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-138: chief , i dont like your tendencies

• 144.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-132: whats wrong ,bra

• 145.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-135: sultana’s and worm wood?

• 146.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-143:

Tune me ekse?

• 147.H: Reply to this comment

SBW isn’t a patch on Lomu. Lomu changed backline play forever. Also, running over 7 players is way more impressive than a fancy offload.

• 148.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@keo-44:

Another ‘expert’ and his great opinion. Wow I wish I got paid to pull predictions out of my a-hole.

hehehehehehe…so the 6th ranked team went and beat the 7th ranked team (on points) and now they are suddenly favorites and the ‘best team in SA’ according to the NZLND ‘experts’ who are all favoring the Sharks. hehehehehehhe…the only reason they support the Sharks is because they want an easy home final for the Kiwi teams. I can understand the Shark supporters being excited about their ‘wonderful’ display against the mid table Reds who only just squeaked in from the weakest conference but do you honestly think that the top of the table side who has not lost a game at home all season (3 in two seasons if I remember correctly and without the use of Google) will just role over like the Reds did? If the Stormers do manage to lose this weekend it should definitely be seen as a choke and nothing else because they should go in to this game as the overwhelming favorites. I will be the first one on here to congratulate the Sharks if they do pull it off but like I said, it’s the Stormers’ game to lose on Saturday.

• 149.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-139:

lol… ja, the mullet is trying hard to be a “Honky cat”

• 150.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-142: lekker, lekker my outie…

• 151.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-146: FJ :D

• 152.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-140:

Yes, it is the same study. Some other local players who did study include Gio Aplon (as far as i know he is only a few credits away from a B. Accountancy degree at Stellenbosch), Peter Grant who completed his B. Com, bismark, Jannie etc.

• 153.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-116: That’s depressing. Then again, if one looks at the ‘type’ of player most likely to be selected by Meyer for long Bok careers, I can’t see this stat changing anytime soon :)
    Our lot have yet to learn that being the Duke of Danville in rugby terms, does not guarantee one riches in the rugby afterlife….

A fellow like Schalk has nothing to worry about: he will make wine….

But yes, there isn’t much focus on the ‘then’ in these parts, it’s all about the now.

• 154.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-144:
    Nooit ek sê.
    Wat sê jy?

• 155.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-151:

Footjob?

• 156.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-155:
    Jobs a dirty word.
    Refrain.

• 157.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-153:

Poor example.

Schalk has made more cash out of Rugby than just about anybody.

He is in the Carter McCheat league.

• 158.stew: Reply to this comment

New Zealand Rugby Union chief Steve Tew has revealed that Williams could make an unexpected swansong after fellow All Black centre Conrad Smith was injured and ruled out for the opening two rounds.

Williams was believed to be out of contention for the All Blacks following his announcement earlier this month that he had signed for a stint in Japanese club rugby and then planned to return to Australia’s National Rugby League.

But Tew said selectors were considering the 26-year-old because Smith had been sidelined for six weeks after eye surgery for a detached retina.

• 159.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

khwelo lityala , crusaders lets win the cup in Kapa and watch the media and its followers catching feeling.

• 160.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-154: niksie , ek blom hie stil

• 161.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@stew-158:
    stew, are you Steve Tew?

• 162.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

They all think they’re going to land jobs like Kobus, Ashwin and Naas at Supersport. But those okes aren’t going anywhere soon, and they need Owen there for the tender scorecard. At most, someone could one day replace Bobby as the touch screen analyst and Bros could do with an update too. But that’s about it.

• 163.stew: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-161: yes

• 164.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-157: But if spends that money in 3 months after retiring, he has a plaas and a future. Others don’t have that luxury :)

• 165.willievz: Reply to this comment

It’s funny how people think the “limited” Stormers will struggle against the Sharks, who the same people perceive as better equipped for finals rugby due to their ability to score tries.

Yet, when it comes to the Boks, the same people think the “conservative” gameplan would have fared well against NZ in a possible WC semi final.

Doesn’t make sense.

• 166.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-162:

It is my firm belief that Bros has some smut on somebody in the upper echelons of Supersport Management.

• 167.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

I’ve seen on sport24 that Sadie is not guaranteed a starting place in the Cheetahs team: but he is fine with that “because one wants to make the team on merit”. LoL – he was the one that left the Stormers because he was guaranteed a start at the Bulls (and not at the Stormers) !!

• 168.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-153:

The “Duke of Danville” lol— for a moment I thought you said “Duke of Durbanville”

Another ex player who is currently doing very well for himself (financially) outside the game is Werner Greeff. He has however never been part of the “high living” brigade as he has learnt early in life not to take things for granted.

I better start doing some work here before I also end up in Danville and nobody is going to make me the Duke of the place :)

• 169.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-165:

Yep..people see what they want to see. What gets me is that even the experts are claiming the Sharks should walk it. In any other sport the table topping team playing at home would be the overwhelming favorites against the mid-table opponents. Seems like rugby and their ‘expert analysts’ know something that the rest of the world is missing.

• 170.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@stew-163:
    Good.
    Some questions:

Why did you make Bryce Lawrence ref of the year?
    When will the Crusaders play by the same rule book as the other 14 teams?
    Is McCaw really going to be the next NZ Prime Minister

• 171.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-168:

Danville D’urbanville

Tomato Tomatoe.

• 172.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stew-158: yeeehaaa hansen knows what an asset he has in sbw, blimey the whole NZRU know that!

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

tony johnson :D

“Of course we are now guaranteed a New Zealand-South Africa final, because the winner of that game will play either the Chiefs or Crusaders in the decider. The Stormers have to win for that game to be in South Africa, if the Sharks win they will be back to New Zealand again.

And that’s the problem in this competition. It brings together the three highest-ranked nations in world rugby, but in terms of travel, we are half a world apart, and until someone invents a new system of transport, like the ability to send a team great distances via the internet, then it will continue to play too big a part in deciding this great tournament.”

In conclusion, if I had to place a bet, it would be on a Sharks-Crusaders final, but we will see!

Footnote: I am off to London now for the Olympics. It’s a tough life but someone’s gotta do it! Rest assured I will be able to watch the semis and finals from our studios, so I will post next week from the UK. Tally ho!

• 174.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-170: Does NZ have a Prime Minister? I thought they decided a Mayor was sufficient?

• 175.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-166:
    Does Bros even watch the game when he commentates, because sometimes he puts such huge emphasis and excitement into events that dont warrant it.

Example:

Bros: “…and THERES Ludik on the bench!”

• 176.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-170:

Only after he knights himself.

• 177.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-155: Toyota FJ

@nkqo6-159: how about some poetry?

• 178.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-174:

Its just a different blazer for the various occasions.

• 179.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173:

Gunthers solution is simple.

Play your domestic games at home.

Top two teams from each country go through to a mini tournament that is held each year in a different country.

Same with the rugby championship.

Hold it in a different country each year.

• 180.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-168: Werner Greeff owned 2 pizza restaurants and take – aways when he was still playing. One in Parow, One in Stellenberg. Funny thing with him was, rugby was never his 1st love, it just paid for his golf clubs :)
    I am the Duchess of Durbanville (in my own humble and honest, HG inspired opinion)

• 181.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-179:

Will never work. The loss of revenue will cause it to collapse before the first TV deal comes to an end. Compare a 60 000 sell out in SA guaranteed versus a packed 20 000 for the odd game.

• 182.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-179: Or… stage it in Mauritius. That’s as close as you’ll find to halfway, and lord knows the island economy could use a boost. Saw a fantastic vid on rugby in Madagascar recently (the hosts beat Namibia in the final of a Div 1 competition) so Antananarivo is another option.

That’s the kind of out-the-hotbox thinking the katman is known for.

• 183.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-170:

How much is it to rent a cave in Pretoria?

• 184.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-179:
    The Stawm concurs

• 185.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-183: About 40 million bowls of chow mein. Best you get wokking.

• 186.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-183:
    I’m not sure.
    I think its cheaper than an old miners hut in NZ.

• 187.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-181:

The tv rights are the cornerstone of the deal in any case.

It doesn’t actually make too much difference.

Half those games you would never have hosted anyway and every three years you get them all.

Besides the format needs shaking up.

• 188.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-182:

It’s a hell of a pitch.

I want a jingle by lunchtime.

@NZINCHINA-183:

Dead cheap.

About the same as you pay your babysitter for a handski.

• 189.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-175: Bros is on some cheap crack. He and Capistagno together are enough to make me self mutilate. Andy: Young Lambie is soooooooooooooooooooo hot, I wish I was his mother…..and I know his grandfather, there he is in the stands…
    Bros: My wife choreographs all the Bulls Babes dances, I am so proud, but I still support the Sharks.

No, that is a combo sent straight from the depths of hell.

• 190.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-187:

SA should have an IPL type tournament for rugby to be held once a year. Get all the top players from around the world to play in a 6 week ‘winner takes all’ knockout tournament.

That way we will be guaranteed of all the tv revenue and for 6 weeks the whole rugby world will be focused on us. We could also state that each team should have at least two under 23 SA players in their squad so that we could develop our top juniors on a higher stage.

• 191.ufo: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-167:

hey charles…

faxed you earlier bud…

no takers from my side… everyone sorted or made alternate plans…

enjoy the rugby…

i’m lelik nervous for this game… but gonna go early cause parking’s gonna be like for a test match…!

• 192.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-189:

Andy Cap was a Postie before he arrived here in the land of milk and honey.

His claim to fame (and employment) is that Vernon Pugh (exIRB bigswingingdick) is his father in law.

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-189: you sound like Rossoneri…

• 194.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-192: how much money do postmen make in the UK that the Pugh woman would marry Capo?

• 195.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173:

they have invented a way for making it fairer…

it’s called being the most consistent and winning the most games and topping the log…

• 196.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-194: it’s not like Andy Capo is ripped like SBW or anything, so what could’ve compelled the lady?

• 197.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-192: From such humble beginnings to where he is now, The Mayor of George (the lovely Outeniqua mountains blah fecking blah).
    He irritates the plasma out of me, and positively destroys my immune system in the process.

YOU HEAR ME SUPERFUCKINGSPORT?

50 Off the wagon Blades before 1 postman.

@Transformation-193: Not a fan either? :)

• 198.ufo: Reply to this comment

i guess it’s all about the kind of ‘post’ the andy delivers…!

• 199.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-197: she shares every detail of your rant.

• 200.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-199: I like her already :)

@ufo-198: I am trying to find a picture of his wife, as that might answer a few questions.

• 201.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-188: take a trip to marvelous Mauritius
    the rugby championship is certainly auspicious
    the local fruit is nutritious
    and the rugby viewing delicious
    don’t be suspicious
    the rumours are loquacious

• 202.stew: Reply to this comment

For Stawm

Why did you make Bryce Lawrence ref of the year?

Australias cheque cleared

When will the Crusaders play by the same rule book as the other 14 teams?

Only when the rest of the 14 sides achieve the playing quality of the Saders

Is McCaw really going to be the next NZ Prime Minister

It is a toss up between PM and head of IRB

• 203.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-194:

I don’t know.

Maybe they married young before he was a big wig.

Maybe she’s a ginger and can’t be fussy.

• 204.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-203: right…

• 205.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@willievz-165: @Golden Boy-169:

What the fk are you two on about?

No one is saying the Sharks should walk it. Specifically because ALL journos(including aus and Kiwis) are saying the Stormers play a type of rugby more suited to finals.
    Check the other thread for Vrede and Cardinelli’s take on it.

People are saying that the only way Sharks can win is if they front up to the abrasive, conservative style played by the Stormers and perhaps be a little more creative when the opportunity presents itself.

• 206.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@ufo-191: Thanks man, it seems that I’m going to be stuck with the 2 tickets – and I’m only asking the Union’s prices.
    I’m quite nervous as well – pity Duane isn’t ready to go !!

• 207.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-201:

Very good Buckie.

Treat yourself to a celebratory PenisColada.

• 208.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-204:

Gingers can’t be choosers.

• 209.ufo: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-206:

will keep asking around… but will be people I can’t necessarily vouch for…

what are the price of the tickets…?

• 210.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

How many current Boks are there in this Sharks outfit? Jannie, Bissie, Beastie, Kankie, Keegie, Willie, Marcie, JPPie, Lwazie? (Bambie out for this count)

How many current Boks in the Stormers? Jean, Bryan, Eben and late call up 3rd choice Gio?

This should be a massacre on paper should it not? The Boks should smash the Stormers, travel and all. If they don’t…..

It’s like a visiting Bok team playing an English club team mid week :)

• 211.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-208: i’m trying to think of a GILF? mmmhhh :roll:

• 212.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-208: Neither can morbidly obese spectacle wearing posties.
    Win win.

• 213.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@stew-202:

Come now Steve.
    Are you saying SARU’s cheque bounced? Typical SARU, showed have mailed that ‘Golden’ cheque earlier.

• 214.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-205:

You must have missed Reunion then guy. If you can, go and have a look at what the Nzlnd pundits are saying about the Stormers chances against the ‘mighty’ Sharks. Hell, just read further up on this very thread to see what South Africa’s own ‘expert’ have to say on it.

• 215.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-206:

You still have the tickets? What are you selling it for? Which stand is it? I’m looking for two.

• 216.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@ufo-209: It’s R350 per ticket – I know it’s expensive but it is the price charged by the Union. It’s between the 22m and 10m lines on the northern side of the Grand Stand, lower gallery: really excellent seats. I’ll give you a cell no. 079 4588 184 – I’ll be available until 2.45 pm and then again from 6.00 pm. If I’m not available, send a sms with an email address and I’ll get back to you or whoever is interested. (I have had the tickets for close to 20 years already)
    Thanks for the effort !!

• 217.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-215: See 216

• 218.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-217: I have 2 available

• 219.ufo: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-216:

for a semi at home… not expensive at all bud…

@Golden Boy-215:

cool stuff… these are great seats…

• 220.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-208:
    Saw a hot ginger at the Ladies Mile Engen last night.

Freckle free.

• 221.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211:

If you say Drew Barrymore I’ll be very disappointed.

Scarlett Johanssen?

Is Hermione from Harry Potter a Ginger?

I’ve always wanted to show her my magic wand.

• 222.Transformation: Reply to this comment

J.esus loves you…………..

horrifying thing to hear in a mexican prison.

• 223.stew: Reply to this comment

To all wonderful Stormers supporters will be lookin for 2 tickets for the Final in Cape Town if it is a Stormers / Saders final ….. Come now and offer the olive branch to your NZ breathren

• 224.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-221: Christina Hendricks?

• 225.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-222: :)

• 226.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-224:

From Mad Men?

A contender certainly.

@Jeraldjay-220:

Did you offer to fill her up with unleaded?

• 227.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-226: Absobuxomlutely

• 228.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-224:
    that woman puts wowsers in my trousers without fail, every time.

• 229.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-226:
    Wife was with.

Will find an excuse to go back tonight. Maybe suggest getting some of those delicious muffins.

• 230.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Amanda Righetti – another ginger worth chucking on the google.

• 231.willievz: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-205:

From what I’ve read, most journos seem to be punting the Sharks as causing an upset.

Keo included.

• 232.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@ufo-219: It seems that Golden Boy is interested. I have mailed him – thanks for the effort !

• 233.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-229:

They’ve got an excellent carwash there.

• 234.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-210:
    Dont be a cockallyourlife please.

We’ve been through this.

Had sicknote 1 and 2(Vermuelen and Bekker) been fit they would also be there.

This will be a great contest so stop lining up next weeks comments when and if the Stormers win please.

• 235.ufo: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-232:

You’re welcome bud… happy you’re sorted… thanks for letting me know…

enjoy the game…

gonna be epic…!!!

• 236.Horings: Reply to this comment

Steven Gerrard, Richie McCaw, Victor Matfield, etc vs Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Sonny Bill Williams, Francois Steyn, etc

It is Keohane’s opinion to maximize short term income, but Keohane is a follower of Mammon himself, so his opinion is quite predictable.

My opinion is that a guy such as McCaw will rather be invited as a guest on Reunion. He will rather be invited to attend a rugby development program. He chose to chase respect and will probably get at least as much money from sport as SBW over a 40 year period.

If you have the potential to become a legend you should chase respect. Players such as Watson, F Louw, etc should probably chase money.

I sure have more respect for Juan Smith than Johann Sadie.

• 237.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-234: Why do you fish fingers get upset when I question the Stormers ever fading chances against a Bok laden (with one French international for good luck)Sharks team?

Fact is Duane and Schalk are not playing for the Stormers on Saturday – all your Boks are (bar Bambie)

As I said on another thread it is the BOK’s plus 1 Frog VS a donkey Jean, a deer in the headlights Eben, the kak Habana, 3rd choice speedbump Gio, a few 20 year olds, 3 fatties, an out of form Bekker, the kakkest 9 in the tournament and a fellow with a pop gun boot.

I have resigned myself to the fact that my Stormers are going to be smashed, as all the global experts and scribes predict.

• 238.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Horings-236: Do you have any idea how much Steven Gerrard gets paid?

• 239.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo-235:
    I love giving extra tickets away to people waiting in the ticket queue. Would target specific people especially when I could clearly see they were less fortunate.

The look on their faces are priceless.

• 240.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@willievz-231: Keo has come out in support of the Stormers as has Solomons, Rob Houwing and every other scribe and “kenner” so not sure where you get that idea. Also think its logical that folks expect the Stormers to win, but us Sharkies are hoping for an upset and hanging onto the performances in the last 4 or 5 games (apart from the Lions).

• 241.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-237:
    You think no one can see what you’re doing? You blithering amateur.

If and when the Stormers win, you’ll be on this site blabbing on about how the weak Stormers pummeled the best team in the country bulshitbullshit.

You’re lining your chirps up already.
    How about jsut not stooping to the level of some other bloggers here and say what you really think.

• 242.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-241:

Bloggers like Heavens Game, perhaps?

• 243.cane: Reply to this comment

50.Dawn said:
    26 Jul 2012, 09:12 am
    @keo-46:
    “The Monarch is back
    Let me get to my knees”"
    While you’re down there Dawn……………………………………………..

• 244.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-237: Want me to pull out all the so-called “scribes predictions” for you? – Alan Solomons, ROb HOuwing, JC, Vrede, Mallet etc. Your sarcasm aint working and all because 1 blogger has really gotten up your nose (HG), you have to leave him be, he’s ruling you judging by your responses. :wink:

• 245.cane: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-239:

St. Jerry, (the Patron Saint of Randon Acts of Kindness).

• 246.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

The bookies have the Air Punchers as favourites.

Finish en klaar.

@cane-243:

Caner did you know that Nikita is at the Okympics?

Hockey no less.

Go fetch your tissues.

• 247.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-246: :lol: you couldnt wait to get that one in huh?? :lol:

• 248.cane: Reply to this comment

Nice to see Keo back,
    making a few comments on page one.

Whooores, drugs, booze, sexual harassment…………………………………………we all have our demons…………………………………………..don’t we.

And if you have demons…………………………………these are much more fun than greed, avarice, sloth and gluttony.

Not that I would know mind you.
    just a wild guess.

• 249.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-246: You’re making that up to torment us.

• 250.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-236:
    johan sadie did not chase money.
    all he wanted was a starting place.

• 251.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Sharks Unveil Medical Facilities

26 July 2012 (13:16) – The Life Healthcare Sharks Medical Centre was officially opened on Wednesday evening, a centre of medical excellence providing the same care to the public as that received by The Sharks players themselves.
    “When an injury occurs, the latest advances in sports medicine can greatly reduce the long term damage and recovery time of sportsmen and women,” says Dr Glen Hagemann, former Sharks team doctor and current president of the SA Sports Medicine Association who heads up this medical facility. “The Sharks have become masters at managing injuries and their rehabilitation to get players back onto the field, and it is exciting to be able to make that expertise available to the general public through The Life Healthcare Sharks Medical Centre.”

With the slogan `be treated like a professional’, rugby players, sports enthusiasts and patients requiring rehabilitation after orthopaedic surgery or cardiac procedures can be assured of the same world-class facilities and medical expertise as those available to The Sharks. With the muscle of home-grown rugby super brand, The Sharks, behind them, The Life Healthcare Sharks Medical Centre now brings global best practices in sports medicine within reach of the public in KwaZulu-Natal.

The newly-opened sports medicine facility integrates an enviable talent of experts to provide a fully-integrated service which includes diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation of sport injuries, as well as their prevention.

One of the major objectives of the medical centre is to provide a single, standardised and integrated medical management structure which provides services to The Sharks, The Sharks Academy, schools and clubs. Hagemann and The Sharks current team doctor Ewoudt van der Linde handle the consulting, with specialist services in the form of biokinetics, physiotherapy, sports massage therapy and sports dietetics also offered.

In addition to being a centre of rugby medical excellence, cardiac and orthopaedic rehabilitation as well as Kinderkinetics and executive wellness assessments are available. The facility is the “nerve centre” for other satellite clinics around the province, the first of which has recently opened in Hillcrest. It also forms the administration hub for the established Discovery SharkSmart injury prevention and performance programme.

Life Healthcare is the official hospital group of choice of The Sharks Medical Centre. “This is a winning partnership,” says Hagemann. “Athletes of all ages and active at all levels now have access to the best technology and thinking in sports medicine through the association with The Sharks Medical Centre and Life Healthcare.”

“Our association with The Sharks Medical Centre aligns perfectly with our commitment to the provision of medical excellence,” says Leanne Nyiri, Regional Marketing Manager for Life Healthcare, KZN.

“This is the first healthcare sporting collaboration of its kind at Life and we are both excited and proud to be associated with The Sharks who are internationally recognised and regarded as one of the country’s top sporting brands.”

Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl lauded the innovation, saying, “I would like to thank Life Healthcare for their valued contribution and partnership, your sponsorship and that of other sponsors is greatly appreciated. I would also like to wish Dr Hagemann and the rest of the medical practitioners everything of the best in this endeavour.

“This is a culmination of an idea that was hatched in 1999, taken further by Rudolf Straeuli when it became a gym a few years later, and now we have this world class facility.

“We demand excellence from the players on the field and the medical team – without exception – make sure they are in the right shape to achieve that. We’re thrilled that an extension of excellence in our brand has been made available to the public.”

The Life Healthcare Sharks Medical Centre is located in Isaiah Ntshangase Road (the old Walter Gilbert Road) via the entrance to the ticket office and The Shark Cage. The centre can be contacted on 031 3127506 or 031 312 1136 / email admin@sharksmedical.co.za

• 252.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-249:

I hope not katman.

• 253.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Typically the Sharks one step ahead of the other unions

• 254.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-252: I’ve never seen her with the SA team, so I think Goenta is yanking chains here.

• 255.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-254:

That’s a shame.
    Hockey Babes are the best.

• 256.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@cane-255: According to Fern the NZ chicks are tops. Apparently they give n trilsmul like no other

• 257.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-256:

Vleisdas.

• 258.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-255: Don’t get me started on them.

• 259.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@cane-255:
    the black sticks team is prettier than sa’s womens hockey team.
    also, i dont think our team has a nickname.

• 260.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-222:
    10/10

• 261.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-254:

She’s definitely not part of the official Olympic team.

• 262.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-244: If the BOKS want to beat NZ in one months time, they should start by beating the Stormers on Saturday – simple. No HG in the equation, it’s logic.

Best players become Boks (or so most on here said when Meyer announced his squad, and we were told to stop whinging because the Sharks and Bulls players selected were superior). Team with most Boks, means team with best players – as per the consensus round here.

The Half Boks want to beat the AB’s – they better beat the Stormers. :)

(Sharkies can’t keep changing their minds re: the quality of their players and how this should influence a result)

• 263.cane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-259:

Our Badminton Team has the best name.

The Black *****.

• 264.Horings: Reply to this comment

@willievz-238: Yes, McCaw also gets a lot as Matfield did, but they could have chased more.

@wait for it, wait for it…-250: He probably did, but he could have played his way to a starting spot. He had a chance to play his way into the Bulls team in the Currie Cup where Pine Pienaar will start with the likes of Fouche, Venter, Serfontein, etc.

• 265.nama1: Reply to this comment

“greek athlete kicked out of olympics because of racist tweet …”

…Keo on twitter.

Is Mark in London? I thought he resigned from his position at SASCOC or is he there on his own account?.

• 266.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-259: Our team are in with a shout of winning a medal I reckon – womens hockey team.
    @sharks_lover-253: That’s why Beast comes to CT for his cardiac care of course. You chaps being so far ahead and all and all and all and all.
    Sports Science Institute big daddy – heard of it?
    Just because they have put the Sharks name on the centre, doesn’t make what the centre DOES groundbreaking.
    You are such a Sharks pimp.

• 267.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@cane-263: shuttles?

• 268.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-257: Hehehehe

• 269.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-264: My biggest wish for this year’s Currie Cup is for Fouche, Arno Botha, Venter and Serfontein to be the standouts. This will put pressure on Steyn, Spies and Olivier to be dropped. Ludeke does not have the vision to do this without being forced into the decision.

We all know Botha, Venter and Serfontein’s potential, but if Fouche can add consistency to his kicking game he could be a perfect fit for the Bulls. He takes the ball up flat, he has a huge boot on him, he is physical enough and his defense has got potential. Steyn’s game filtered through our entire backline.

• 270.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-11:
    Sounds good ferny, even though Afrikaans not my first languge but i get the idea, sounds good really.
    Check this out, one of my favourites NZ songs.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5HLKSCTdLo

• 271.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Overheard at the Olympic Village

“Are you a Pole Vaulter?”
    “No, I’m German…
    and how do you know my name?”

• 272.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@cane-248:

I find life is much more exciting if you mix and match your demons, like:

drugs and booze work well with greed.

etc

• 273.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-270: Whats the name of that latest Kiwi band, haev a bit of rap in their songs?

• 274.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@cane-263:
    are any of them big boys?

@Horings-264:
    i agree mostly and do get the point you were making.
    the only constant in life is change. thing, times, people… everything changes…
    i would like rugby to remain rooted to some of its old school aspects, but suspect it wont.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-266:
    well good luck to them. hope they do.

• 275.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-273:
    Dont know mate, have you heard them somewhere?

• 276.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

That’s the beauty of Twitter Nama.

You can tweet news from all over the world.

Die Groot information superpad.

• 277.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-273:

Smashproof?

• 278.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-275: yeah in the top 10 here in Holland, quite a cathcy tune and even a line in the song about being a Kiwi.

• 279.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-278:

Or maybe Upper Hutt Posse?

• 280.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-271: is reggae big in NZ hurri? i was watching a programme on NZ the other day and they showed this reggae group from the waikato area, they had nice beats.

• 281.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-278: Piet Peester en die sewe swanger susters……………….

• 282.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-270: is reggae big in NZ hurri? i was watching a programme on NZ the other day and they showed this reggae group from the waikato area, they had nice beats.

• 283.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-278: The only band apart from Smashproof I could find on google, is a Maori rap group from 1992 called, Moa and the Moahunters. Hope that helps :)

• 284.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-279: MWA..

• 285.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-280: No, but shampoo in NZ is like fresh beef on Marion Island. So they do give off a little jah rastafari vibe.

• 286.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@cane-255: Rug munchers. Which is fine, if they let you watch. But they don’t usually.

You are posting comments too quickly. Slow down.
    FFFFFUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!

• 287.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-282:
    yeah, we have a few reggae bands here, Maybe the one you saw was Katchafire
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmWNkenPncs

• 288.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-280:

why are you asking me?

I don’t like reggae or new zealand.

• 289.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-284:
    maoris with attitude?

• 290.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-288:

• 291.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-288:
    Oh no, Gunther does not like New Zealand, wow what will we do?

• 292.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Got it, its Babysitter Circus with their number “everythings gonna be alright.” – great song.

• 293.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-284:

Hobbits with Atittude.

straight outta auckland.

• 294.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-288: :lol:

• 295.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-292:
    Yeah good song that. I believe it was released last year.

• 296.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Wow.

New Zealand has more rap and hip hop bands than they have spectators at an average rugby match.

• 297.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-292: i’ll check it out if you say it’s dope…

have you checked out The Robert Glasper Experiment’s Black Radio?

• 298.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-296:
    Oh, if your takling about an average match then that would have played by a South African team, about as average as you get :-)

• 299.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-297: Its more pop and feel good Transie, will check out Robert Glasper as well.

• 300.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-297:
    You must check out Bob Marley’s concert in NZ on DVD.

I have never seen so many bongs at one gathering.

• 301.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-291:

what are you going to do?

I dunno but you can start by drying off your p.ussy and hardeningthefuckup.

Further instructions to follow.

@WP Till I Die-296:

google is SO amazing.

• 302.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-297: Quite enjoy that Afro Blues reminds me a bit of Sade.

• 303.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-296:
    Something for you to think about.
    Average Attendence figures for 2015 Super 15.
    NZ ave : 16,862
    OZ ave : 18,642
    SA ave : 26,651

Not really to much of a difference really when you take into the size of cities, Stadiums and popualtion.
    In fact NZ not doing to bad there.
    Whats the big one is tv View, which of course SA having a huge population compared to NZ,have huge TV numbers.

• 304.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-303:

I was being flippant.

• 305.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-303:

You have to bear in mind the population group that mainly supports rugby in SA, or maybe better to say that can afford to go watch live matches.
    Thats means an average attendance figure of 26,651from about 3 mil supporters in SA.
    Same applies to TV audience, since all Super Rugby and test Rugby is shown only on Sat TV.

• 306.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-304:
    Hurricane will flippant wind you!

• 307.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-303: A HUGE population of very poor people who will never, ever attend a match, or subscribe to pay TV. You do know this about SA, don’t you?

• 308.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-301:
    wow thats so funny, even bordering on maturity.
    Maybe one day you will get that elusive pu$$y you dream off and become a man.
    Until then keep doing what you going, posting funny stuff on keo.
    Gunthers world….excellent

• 309.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-302: yo, i been bumpin Afro Blue for months now, erykah badu kills it…but the genius is RG…

him and his band accompanied Mos Def when he came to SA in ’09 @ the Cape Town Jazz Festival…dopeness :D

they went through a lot if J Dilla’s tracks, it was heavenly

• 310.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-307:

If he doesn’t, poppa69 will be along shortly to educate him.

• 311.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-305:

you must remember that kiwis respond to any criticism with a plaintive ” but I is only likkle”..

• 312.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-305:
    Fair enough, unlike you i dont know the figures on viewers in SA.
    But 39 million people have tuned into the games in South Africa.
    You think only 3 million supporters? That really does not add up.

• 313.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-307:
    Well its not me that normally has a go at crowd figures.
    I just pulled up some stats and you guys jump on the defensive.
    Wasnt meant to point fingers but i thought the stats were quite interesting.

• 314.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-311:
    Like your response in post # 301
    Why get all angry and fly off the handle?
    No need really is there?

• 315.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-308:

hoohaaaa.

good on you for finding a pair.

just don’t forget to put them back where you got them.

• 316.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-315:

• 317.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-312: @Hurricane-312: just understand that MAJORITY of the population (read black people) couldn’t be bothered about watching Super Rugby, not even a stitch, not because they don’t like it, they don’t know it, rugby is like badmington in some parts of SA.

• 318.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-317:

did you see what they call their badminton team in Kiwilia?

@Hurricane-314:

nobody is angry,

I was kidding earlier.

I should have realised you were feeling sensitive.

I really don’t mind reggae.

• 319.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-317: badmington? It that like a lot of bad minge?

• 320.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I don’t like reggae.

• 321.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I love it.

• 322.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-319: It = is, of course.

• 323.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-317:
    badminton? really transie, really?
    wow, you can really stretch the credulity sometimes.

• 324.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-320:

I draw the line at Toots and the Maytals.

• 325.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-312:
    “But 39 million people have tuned into the games in South Africa.”

Where did you get that figure?

The money is made and generated by the paying audience, and that figure is actually even less than 3 bar. It equates to the number of subscribers DSTV in SA has on their books, who all have the Sports bouquet activated.

The only time a test match or Super Rugby match is played on free to air TV (which is what probably about 36 Mil people are watching) is hours or days after the event, and in any case, no money is made there.

• 326.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-319:
    I dont like bad minge.

• 327.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

My love for reggae is limited to Bob, Steel Pulse, Yellowman, Thirdworld and Aswad.

• 328.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-317:
    True, and really we cant blame those people for not being interested in rugby can we.
    Shame really. Imagine the stadiums SA would need to have to accomodate the surge in numbers.
    Although it wouldnt help as rugby maybe out of there grasp when it comes to funds and money.
    I cant believe it here on how much it can cost to take your family out for a match.
    I just wait for the freebies from work.
    Few years ago one of my Toll reps asked me if i wanted tickets to watch a Saders game, it was dinner in the Hadlee stand and then watch the game. What she didnt tell me it was dinner with Robbie Deans, his last year as Saders coach. We all sat around the Table ( 10 of us ) and Robbie stood up and started talking about the game thats going to be played, his stats and how he thinks the opposition will play and aim for there weaknesses. He was spot on with what he said as the game wwas played. Anyway when Robbie sat down after his huge speech,the rep who took me asked who that guy was talking lol.

• 329.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-318:
    I was being sensitive, sorry bout that.

• 330.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-327:
    Oh and Linton Kwesi John (LKJ) and Burning Spear.

• 331.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-325:
    http://www.greenandgoldrugby.com/community/threads/2012-super-rugby-crowds-tv-viewer-numbers.11153/

• 332.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-323: i said “in some parts of SA”, yes badminton!

• 333.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-328:
    And to add, this same rep was shopping in a supermarket, she tripped over and drop some of her things she was holding. A guy went over and helped her up, asked if she was ok, picked up some of her things, had a laugh and walked off. As she went to the check out, a lady goes “OMG do you know him?”
    My friend she says ” Who ”
    Checkout lady says “Richie McCaw”.
    Yep, she is Blonde.

• 334.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-330: i don’t like a lot of reggae, a lil ragga is cool though, shabba ranks, chaka demus & pliers, beenie man, yellow man, buju banton, maxi priest

• 335.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-330:
    Never forget Peter Tosh

• 336.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Burning Spear is pretty cool. Fittest of the fittest is a good album.

• 337.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-334:
    I think Bob set a high standard and all other reggae artist have always been compared to him (in 1st world countries)

Funny thing is in Jamaica they don’t listen to Bob.

• 338.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-336:

Burning spear?

You sounded like Zoomer’s urologist there.

• 339.Stawm: Reply to this comment

LKJ for the hard core reggae fans I reckon.
    Street 66
    Get your licks!

• 340.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-331:

Keyword there is “cumulative total”!

• 341.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-338:
    Nonsense.
    I dont think he ever needs a urologist. He showers.

• 342.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

dawn is going to be sore she missed this.

she puts the I in ire.

• 343.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-338: ha ha. I know a herbalist who can prescribe an ointment for that.

• 344.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-336:
    Saw Burning Spear at Canal Walk a few years back. in a big marquee tent.

Kak venue but great show.

Damn, if some mothers saw their children that night.

• 345.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-339:

All I need,
    the scene moving right,
    when all on a sudden,
    bom bom bom,
    a knocking on the door.
    who dat?
    The police, come on open up
    yeah, step right in and take some licks!

• 346.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-339: Now you’re talking. Ridim of a tropical electrical storm…

• 347.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-344: Awesome. I saw LKJ at the Wittebome Hall on Rosmead Avenue a couple of years back. Also saw him in Newtown, Joburg, years ago with the Denis Bovell Dub Band. Great performer.

• 348.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-346:
    Cant get it out of my head now.

So I’m standing in rain
    again
    Loraine
    hoping to see you again

• 349.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-347:
    IMO LKJ is one of the greatest poets of the modern era.

Mama is one of my favourite tracks.

• 350.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-348: Love that song. Also this one

Inglan is a *****
    dere’s no escapin it
    Inglan is a *****
    dere’s no runnin’ whey fram it

• 351.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Dem thump him him in him belly and it turn to jelly
    Dem lick ‘im pon ‘im back and ‘im rib get pop
    Dem thump him pon him head but it tough like lead
    Dem kick ‘im in ‘im seed and it started to bleed

Mama, I jus couldn’t stan up deh, nah do nuttin’

So mi jook one in him eye and him started fi cry
    Me thump him pon him mout and him started fi shout
    Me kick him pon him shin so him started fi spin
    Me hit him pon him chin an him drop pon a bin
    - an crash, an dead

• 352.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-239:

hey JJ…

left immediately after my last post do didn’t see this one of yours…

respek…

very very cool bud…!!

• 353.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Fuckadilly will also be pissed.

he will try and tell you that Joe Cocker is the finest reggae artist of all time.

• 354.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-351:
    F&^% yeah!

Thats the one I’ve been trying to remember.

Truly classic hard core reggae.

Now thats in my head!

• 355.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-344: why is always like that? at a Talib Kweli/Dead Prez concert in joburg the host, Bad Boy T, says “the cops have just told me if they smell any weed in here they’ll shut down the show” the crowd went F U

Dead Prez got on stage and rocked one track and the M1 (one half of the duo) said “yo i head the cops want to shut this place down if they smell weed, i say f,ck em” produced a bigass joint from his pocket, asked for a light from the crowd and sparked it to LOUD cheers :lol:

• 356.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-353:
    i dont understand

joe cocker IS the finest reggae artist of all time

• 357.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-355:
    Performers love lighting up on stage. Saw Jay Kay of jamiroquai do it and Skin of Skunk Anasie.

• 358.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I am at OR Tambo and some SA singer is being interviewed for tv.Black SA dude going by the name of Martin PK.
    Anyone heard of him or know what the PK stands for?
    PhoesKlap is my best guess?

• 359.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-356:

Toots Hibbert.

• 360.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-353: Ja, I’m afraid I’ve got some bad news for Herr Skoppenshyte. I’m almost done watching a 7 part BBC series called the 7 Ages of Rock. And Cocker gets no mention whatsoever. Even Dylan only gets some passing mentions, and mostly for his influence on Hendrix. Springsteen, however, gets a bucketload of coverage, and Skoppie will not like this one bit.

• 361.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-356:
    Joe Cocker greatest moment was when he did “With a little help from my friends” at Woodstock.

Youtube it, its farkin awesome.

• 362.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-358:

put your snout away Fernley.

@>^..^< katman-360:

sounds like a cockerup to me.

• 363.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-361: Kind of puts his legend into perspective, when his best moment was a Beatles cover. In fact, just about every hit of his (except that sentimental duet with that Warnes chick) was a cover. So basically, he’s a fantastic pub singer.

“Hey Joe, how about Living Next Door To Alice?!”

• 364.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Seems Grunter is on the rag.
    Bwhahaha
    Born in the USA acoustic version is brilliant as is Should I fall behind done live in Dublin during the Seeger Sessions tour.Go and youtube,def worth it.

• 365.ufo: Reply to this comment

how can you guys be reggae fans and no one mentions jimmy cliff…!!!???

• 366.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-362:

Reminds me of an episode of The Thin Blue line – Rowan Atkinson.
    His superior k akking him out after he made a mistake:
    “Your C.ockup, my a rse!”

• 367.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@ufo-365: Sipho “Hotsticks” Mabaso

• 368.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-340: I doubt anyone really knows how many rugby fans there are in each country. But the IRB knows how many rugby players there are…4x as many in RSA as NZ. You’ve think you’d have 4x as many fans, viewers, tri-nations trophies.

But you do have better refs…we’ll give you that :)

• 369.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-359:
    ja, i dont really mean that.

@Jeraldjay-361:
    yes,
    i know it well. i found that little gem all on my own when browsing the interwebs some time back.
    absolutely brilliant!

i try not to watch it in any company as it gives me the emotions all over.

• 370.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-367:

only know burn out…

excellent song…

• 371.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-368: You’re being a bit hard on yourself aren’t you? You have pretty good refs…

• 372.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-363:
    Doesnt he drive a VW Polo?

• 373.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-368:
    SARU steals our money before we can bribe the IRB.
    NZRU doesnt have this problem!

• 374.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-360:
    springsteen is really good
    but overated

i do like his soundtrack single for ‘the wrestler’ movie

a movie character i picture as being skop, only smaller.

• 375.ufo: Reply to this comment

jimmy cliff wrote THE song for cape town…

they should use it in all the cities marketing…

Mama look at the mountain
    Papa look at the sea
    Mama look at Mountain
    Papa look at the Sky…
    Going up there… I’m going up there…
    Who’s coming with me…?

Gotta love Jimmy… been doing it since the 60s… (skop’s seal of approval is a gimme…)

and Jimmy’s STILL touring…

what a man…!!

• 376.ufo: Reply to this comment

look in the encyclopedia britannica…

it says you can’t overrate the boss…

• 377.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-374: I’m not a massive Springsteen fan, but I certainly think he was and still is a huge figure in rock. His old albums like Born to Run, Darkness on the Edge of Town and Nebraska had some amazing songs on them, and helped guide rock music away from some pretty dubious avenues that were threatening at the time.

• 378.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-374:

Never been a huge fan of Loose Bedspring.
    I think it was that dance he did on stage in one of his videos from the 80′s with his bandana etc. Put me off.

A few of his songs are really great though.

• 379.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

fark this is a harrowing story:
    http://www.beeld.com/Suid-Afrika/Nuus/2-het-kind-verdrink-in-kookwater-20120724

somedays reading the news just leaves me dead inside

• 380.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-377: Huge figure in rock = Eddie Vedder!

• 381.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@ufo-376:
    go on… tell us how much you love ‘the boss’ :lol:

@>^..^< katman-377:
    yip, agreed
    he was good for rock.

@Stawm-378:
    those bandanas were naff.
    but some of his songs are great, as you say.

somedays i feel like a one trick pony… and some days skop’s a one trick pony too…

• 382.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-373: No need to bribe the IRB – you just need one or two rogue agents, like Brycie, who come cheap

• 383.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-380: Eddie is okay, but he’s not HUGE. Or I guess that depends on what you judge it on. For me, Pearl Jam was just okay. They rode a wave that was already well formed.

• 384.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-381:

don’t need to… let his sales and concert figures speak…

• 385.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-382:
    Thats not what good old Brycie is saying from his penthouse overlooking the Med!

• 386.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-385: Yeah, he wasn’t really fired, he just needed a cover story to explain early retirement

• 387.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-386:
    Dont forget, prime minister elect, Richie Mccaw, has also given Brycie the keys to the country.

• 388.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-383: Katman….my esteemed colleague…….PJ were pioneers! Eddie must be the best rock frontman of the 90′s!

• 389.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-379:

Wasn’t Tony Viana the racing driver who raced BMW’s in the eighties against Sarel vd Merwe?

• 390.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-374:
    > a movie character i picture as being skop, only smaller.

Skop would have to eat a 1400 bakkie full of chickpeas daily to be big enough to wrestle

I’ve always imagined him to look like a grumpy Allan from Two and a Half men

Or Woody Allen on crack

• 391.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I think of Skoppie as George Costanza’s dad, and I reckon I’m pretty damn close.

• 392.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-391:

Hell yeah, spot on!

Skop’s just even more pissed (if that’s possible) and grumpy, chronic constipation would do that to you

• 393.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-388:

I agree, Eddie was the Roger Daltrey/Robert Plant of the nineties.
    And he is friends with Kelly Slater and Ben Harper so he must be very cool.

• 394.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-391:

Woody Allen on Tik.

• 395.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-389:
    ja, but thats not him.
    he would be a lot older looking by now.

@victoriabok-390:
    woody allen on crack
    only a slightly scarier woody

@the artist formerly known as gunther-394:

• 396.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-394:

He’ll only use Organic Tik

• 397.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Scuse me Gunther I don’t miss nuttin

And who the fool who mentioned Woodstock

• 398.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-391:

100%

Hes Castanza Senior alright.

• 399.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Let the GAMES begin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMgmYutL9W0&feature=player_detailpage

• 400.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

I hear Sbw may play the first two games of the Championship v Australia
    @>^..^< katman-383:
    Layne Staley was the man from that era, Alice in Chains dominates Pearl Jam.

• 401.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-400:
    Alice in Chains all the way.
    The song Nutshell says it all really.

• 402.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-401:

in a nutshell…

• 403.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-401: @ufo-402:
    “Down in a hole” does it for me

• 404.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-403:

Down in a hole?! Dangerous to come across a final post like that…

• 405.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-404:
    A beautiful song that, Slarti, I think it was Jerry Cantrell who wrote it, talks of his girlfriend giving him the flick.

• 406.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-405:

Hehehe I assumed we talking songs but reading down in a hole does it for you was a little strange :shock:

I see the bookies made the Saders overwhelming favorites for tonight, I don’t get it.

• 407.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-406:
    The Crusaders reputation preceeds them, every bookie seems to fear them,but tonight they are going down and the bookies will still come out on top, I think.

• 408.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-400:

Hi,

I guess it’s a matter of taste. As far as a general wider popularity was concerned (sales and accolades/rewards) Pearl Jam dominated Alice in Chains and was arguably THE American band of the 1990′s even outselling Nirvana in the process. Eddie is …well he is Eddy and Mike McCready is imo one of the most underrated lead guitarists ever.

And even today they are still “Alive”…….

• 409.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I didn’t mean to put Pearl Jam down earlier. I think they’re a great band and Vedder is really good. I just don’t think they were THE band of the era. In terms of impact and dominance, it would have to be Nirvana. And in terms of creativity and changing genres (and sheer awesomeness), it would absolutely have to be The Pixies. And that’s the final word on the matter.

• 410.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-409:

Is it Black Frank or Frank Black or Black Francis or who, lol ?
    Pixies (specially Frank) were awesome indeed…and that includes Frank’s later work too.

• 411.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-410: It’s been both, on and off. And yes, he’s fantastic. But so is Kim Deal, and her band The Breeders.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.