Fearsome Chiefs within reach of crown

RYAN VREDE reports on a compelling semi-final in which the Chiefs explored new depths in their game to beat the fancied Crusaders 20-17 in Hamilton.

These teams produced an epic three weeks ago at this venue, and, fittingly, considering the magnitude of the occasion, elevated their games to deliver one of the tensest (most tense) semi-finals in Super Rugby history.

It lacked for nothing, not technical skill, tactical intelligence, brutality, breathless passages, breathtaking individual skills. Neither the intangibles, like inspiring resilience and the desperation that accompanies that a deeply-rooted desire for victory, reflected in the pursuit of attacking and defensive inches. Nothing. Ultimately the Chiefs were marginally better, but that’s all they needed to be.

The big name players had their moments, Cruden exhibiting once more that he is fast evolving into a flyhalf of the absolute highest quality, Williams showing his fire-proof temperament and McCaw valiantly attempting to rouse his men through deed and words. But tellingly the Crusaders’ fulcrum, Dan Carter, fell well short of his high standards, making fundamental errors and lacking presence. He can’t be blamed for the defeat, but his struggles undoubtedly contributed to it.

The Chiefs’ line speed, physicality and accuracy in defence rocked the Saders, who uncharacteristically made numerous handling errors and regularly made themselves vulnerable to being turned over by runners isolating themselves. The Saders were never allowed to settle into their pattern and were made to look decidedly ordinary for the bulk of the contest.

By contrast the Chiefs buzzed on attack for much of the first half and then sustained their defensive effort and discipline through the next 40. With regards to the former, their back division profited from the potency of the strike runners in their pack. Cruden and Carter traded penalties to get the scoreboard rolling, but Williams ignited the contest with a scything break in a move that culminated in prolific prop Sona Taumalolo burrowing over from close range. The Chiefs extended their lead in the 25th minute when Robbie Robinson blitzed the defence before Williams sniped around an unguarded ruck fringe to set up Liam Messam. Cruden converted for a comfortable 17-6 lead.

The match situation called for a rebuttal from the seven-time champions and it came just before the break, Ryan Crotty darting through a depleted defensive line to score. Carter missed the conversion but trailing by just six the Saders would have felt confident given their pedigree and superior experience.

The arm-wrestle continued after the restart, with neither side able to impose their will. Carter kicked two penalties to Cruden’s one, taking the match into the final quarter with the hosts ahead by three.

Understandably neither side were prepared to take risks with the stakes as high as they were, pragmatic play marking the closing stages. This of course was not uncharted territory for the Saders, but they were met by an irresistible force that absolutely refused to relinquish the inches the Saders sought, first to breach the tryline, then, in one final act of desperation, to set up Carter for the game-levelling drop-goal.

With every phase you could see the Chiefs’ resolve deepen. Not here. Not now. Smash. Get up. Smash. Get up. There are varying things in sport that inspire people. The determination the Chiefs showed in those dying minutes holds universal appeal. Every tackle drove the Saders further away from their goal until finally the ball was grassed under pressure.

Massive celebration. The kings are culled. The Chiefs now have to ensure they complete their ascent to the throne.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

518 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 301.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@whatever-294:

In KZN the Police vans use it for shopping parking. Bloody farkers

• 302.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I didnt expect this to be the result.

On a different note the Olympic starts today.

I see they have armed police to guard the events.

Apparently at the paralympic games the police were unarmed.

• 303.rangerman: Reply to this comment

keo get his kicks
    watching muppets
    posting to and fro
    when do they ask him
    what the f u k?
    he say, i want your money bro

• 304.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-302:

I see what you did there.

• 305.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-302: :lol:

• 306.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@whatever-294: @Mr Black-301: Eish you two, that went right over the top didnt it?? It was a joke i copied and pasted ffs :lol:

• 307.rangerman: Reply to this comment

so the other day in the pub i was laughing at a mates retelling of the old joke, what do you do if an epileptic throws a fit in the bath? throw your washing in!

a big guy tapped me on the shoulder and said “thats not very funny, my brother was an epileptic and he drowned in the bath during one of his fits”

i said “sorry mate, did he drown?”

“no” he said “he choked on a sock”

• 308.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ufo-292:

Its working buddy!!!! :shock:

• 309.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-307: hahahaha sies!

• 310.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-306:

I got you joke, very funny.

I was serious though.

And Whatever is very sensitive.

@rangerman-307:

• 311.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-302:

Lol…. I also did not expect this to be the result. Based on history I seldom predict the results of 2 big games wrong in succession so things are looking good for tomorrow.

• 312.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-311: ja i also lost points on this one.

Hopefully Ill get it 50% right this weekend ;)

• 313.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-311:

I hope you are right! Right!…

Very funny jokes indeed…

• 314.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-310:” he must have been a stormer” i said :lol:

• 315.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-302: Lol yes i saw your pick on superbru. I got mine spot on!

• 316.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@David-290:

I would support moving the Currie Cup and thus making it the intra Conference portion

However the round robin would have to be increased to being against all the sides. I really dont like that we miss 2 of the overseas sides (1 Aus, 1 NZ)

Dont think we will get it right though.
    Of course there could be an overhaul in 2016 and its likely to change to Super 18. Maybe our 6th side plus Japan, Islands and Argentina

• 317.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-293: no it was a gmail addie

@Mr Black-295: no, but i have a feeling you’re about to tell me :D

• 318.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-311: Based on my Superbru history, my next one should be wrong, as I had the Chiefs to win by 5. History will be repeating itself for one of us, and I hope to hell it is you.

• 319.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-312: I also went with Stormers by 10. I think you went for the same pick right

• 320.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-317: Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh :) I still hope someone emailed him. Gunther was whinging in his ear when he was online.

• 321.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-319: Yes I did. We don’t need the bonus point this week ;)

• 322.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-310: Yeah jokes aside its pretty carzy how arrogant the police are in thinking they can do what they want.

• 323.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-308:

they should change the message to “you’re clicking too quickly… slow down…”

• 324.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-307: Oscar Pistorius en en sy buddy loop in ‘n bar in.

Sy buddy bestel ‘n dubbel, en hy twee enkels.

• 325.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-324: :lol:

go oscar!

• 326.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Keo, you site is farked.

You Ipad web app is even kakker.

• 327.stew: Reply to this comment

Another year sulk

• 328.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@stew-327:

Keep your chin up, Steve Tew.

• 329.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@whatever-271:
    The odds makers put the Sharks at 4:7 to win while the Stormers are at 7:5 to win
    Go with the money, it’s not all about rugby anymore :-D

• 330.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-326:
    To my experience they down graded the web site to cut on cost, the system cannot handle the volume it used to anymore, transmission’s rather eratic and recovery time probably 5 times slower
    ce la vie :(

• 331.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Well done Chiefs, the mooloo men came through, good to see a change in the winner’s engraving again, keeping the competition healthy

• 332.GermanBok: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-330: No man – Keo is coining it. Popularity is making the site slower. I’m sure it will be sorted now now.
    Well done Chiefs. That was one results us Saffers are happy about. Tomorrow will be extremely tight.

• 333.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@stew-327:

hey Steve
    You should have made the deposit in Craig Jouberts account earlier, you left it too late.
    By the time it went through, there was very little Joubert could do to help the Crusaders.

• 334.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Sonny Bill Williams take a bow!

How good is this guy? At the right place at the right time and the offloads simply sublime

Sharks must pack 2 bags – one for a quick visit to Newlands and then off to Hamilton

• 335.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-334: Sonny Bill is indeed very good. You will be able to go and watch him yourself next weekend.

• 336.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I see the stalker is here

• 337.viewer: Reply to this comment

Re: the e-mail addy that Keo provided yesterday. I recall it as markkeo (at) mweb (dot) co (dot) za. He undertook to alert the webmaster of the numerous bugs afflicting this site

• 338.David: Reply to this comment

@viewer-337:
    I see they’re running WordPress 3.4.1 which was only released 4 weeks ago, and was a bug fix for a version released only 2 weeks before. The web master, like a lot of them, isn’t a genuine IT professional and seems to have made the normal mistake of upgrading without running full tests first and having a rollback plan.
    Like most things, the Golden Rule in IT is, if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it!

• 339.spartan: Reply to this comment

Considering the Chiefs spent most of the night offside I thought the Saders were phenomenal to get so close
    Nevertheless
    you get away with what you can
    so well done Chiefs

• 340.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I wasn’t even aware that this game was today.

Seems a bit unfair that the Chiefs get a whole extra day to recuperate before the final. Oh well, them’s the breaks.

I am pleased with this result, for two reasons.

(1) No way in hell was there going to be two away wins in both semis. Unheard of. So the stars remain aligned for an epic clash in NZ next weekend between 2 of the most exciting teams in the competition.

(2) The Chiefs may argue otherwise, but I reckon any SA team would view their chances as better against the Chiefs than against the Crusaders. It’s just a Crusaders thing. The Sharks have beaten the Chiefs 3 times in 7 games in NZ.

• 341.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I guess now we are going to start seeing more and more Stormerchiefs in the Cape and at Boolands?

• 342.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-341:

I don’t care how many Stormerchiefs there are at Newlands next Saturday.

The more the merrier.

• 343.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-340: Howzit Spooner,

The kiwis on Reunion were not happy that they played their semi today and will only know the result of ours tomorrow night. They felt hard done by that if they have to travel they could not have got off straight away on Saturday morning instead of Sunday morning. Then if Sharks do manage to beat Stormers the Chiefs have a extra day to rest and us less time to recover and we will have to travel.

They were saying something has to be done about that next year. Both semi finals should be played on the same day they felt.

I think they should play the finals on a Sunday. They have played quite a few games this year on a Sunday. That way the team that does have to travel has that extra day. Probably not here or there I suppose.

Anyhow it should be a cracker tomorrow. Really looking forward to this derby.

• 344.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Puma-343: Howdy Puma. But if the Sharks win they have to leave on Sunday morning too…. The Chiefs should simply be grateful for the extra day’s rest.

Tomorrow should be a cracker but I’m nervous. Everything is stacked in the Stormers’ favour, confirmed by the bookies having them as favourites.

• 345.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The only realistic chance for a sa team to win this comp would be if the stormers beat the sharks tomorrow and the chiefs must travel to SA. No need to elaborate on thie reasons as everybody knows why. I hope my shark friends can also see the bigger picture and will not get too upset if their team lose as it will be better for “volk and vaderland”.

• 346.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Super rugby is a provincial/regional competition not an international competition. I only support one team.

If my team lose tomorrow I couldn’t care less who ends up winning it, probably won’t even watch the final.

• 347.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

So I don’t buy the “it’s better for SA if the Stormers win tomorrow” dribble one bit.

Sorry.

If the Sharks win, are you telling me that they have no chance at all? Kak!

• 348.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-346:

Ja, personally I also feel like you but based on many posts here over the last few years it seems as if most bloggers don’t feel the same.

• 349.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon-347:

I think their chance will be remote (nearly zero) to do the timezone’s crossing yet AGAIN and beat a team that plays a high tempo game in NZ.

• 350.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-349:

If they manage to do it and win the comp it will be the biggest achievement in superrugby history but i really do not believe the current shark team has it in them to achieve it.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.