Sharks tops in Newlands streetfight
28 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the Sharks were tactically and physically superior in their epic 26-19 semi-final win over the Stormers on Saturday.
The result means that the Sharks will battle the Chiefs for the Super Rugby title next Saturday.
The Sharks will journey to Australasia for the decider, but on the back of a spirited showing in the semi-final, you wouldn’t rule out the possibility of Keegan Daniel lifting that coveted trophy.
They’ve have shown themselves to be the side for the big occasion in 2012, winning the crunch league match against the Bulls in Durban and then smashing the Reds in Brisbane in the qualifying play-off.
They were deserved winners in Saturday’s semi-final, and again it was the way they finished that proved decisive to the outcome. They absorbed a tremendous amount of pressure, picked their moment, and then Daniel made the turnover that killed the contest.
That is not to say that there was anything wrong with the way they started. There was always a danger that the Sharks would run out of puff in the final quarter, and so they needed to put the Stormers under pressure from the outset.
There were some moments when it seemed as if the Stormers would get on top. Lock Eben Etzebeth bulldozed Bismarck du Plessis early in the piece, and for a few seconds the Springbok hooker looked a punch-drunk boxer, teetering and swaying, and many would have anticipated a plunge to the proverbial canvas.
But like his team, Du Plessis not only recovered from the early knock, but soldiered on powerfully. The backlash was quite a thing to behold.
Those who had come to Newlands expecting a clash of styles must have been bitterly disappointed. The Sharks played clinical, smart rugby.
Just as their physicality at the collisions and power at the scrums were highlights, their halfbacks used that possession expertly to force the Stormers into costly errors.
Charl McLeod was on target with his box kicks, and Freddie Michalak produced a virtuoso performance from the flyhalf position. The Stormers battled to deal with the aerial bombardment, dropping a number of high balls or in some cases completely misjudging the garrowen.
A late change to the Sharks’ line-up saw Riaan Viljoen starting at fullback, and his cannon of a boot was expertly utilised. The Sharks had troubled the Stormers for much of the first half, but it was Viljoen’s mortar bomb that allowed the visitors to strike a telling blow. Viljoen put the ball up and Louis Ludik beat Stormers fullback Joe Pietersen in the air, and evaded the cover defence to score.
Michalak kicked the conversion to stretch the Sharks’ lead to 10 points. Peter Grant managed to narrow the deficit right before half-time to leave his side trailing by seven, but the Stormers would have been bitterly disappointed with that first-half return. They had enjoyed numerous visits to the opposition’s 22, but shocking handling and decision making had let the Sharks off the hook.
Some may call it a choke, but the Stormers never got themselves into a position to win this match. They failed to take their opportunities early in the game, and then were forced to play catch-up rugby in the second half.
The Sharks changed tack in the third quarter, keeping it close and striving to build on their seven-point lead.
After sending two drop-goal attempts wide, Michalak nailed a penalty. Grant answered with one at the other end, but it was the Sharks who had the better of territory during this period and made the most of another key opportunity, with JP Pietersen scoring on the hour.
At 23-9 the game looked to be over, but as anticipated, the Sharks started to feel the negative effects of travel. The Stormers took advantage, with Gio Aplon crossing the tryline in the 67th minute.
Grant goaled a further penalty to make it a four-point ball game, but it was here that the Sharks showed their defensive mettle. For the Stormers, it was a period where they showcased their attacking impotence, and lack of composure.
The Stormers were well placed in the opposition 22 but their attack was too lateral. And the Sharks never panicked.
They maintained their discipline on defence, and again, when the big opportunity arrived, they took it.
This time it was the captain who made the big play: a breakdown steal that won the game. The Sharks counter-rucked and Daniel latched onto the ball, wrenching it away and hacking it into the crowd.

898 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 18 » Show All
28 Jul 2012, 22:25 pm
@fitz1ella-498: I must admit i’m not so clued up about Roux. Judging on THAT pass he has some ball skills, but is he quick/agile enough? Is he fit enough to play 8? Has he played there before?
28 Jul 2012, 22:27 pm
@goyougoodthing2-497: the decent Stormers supporters have gone to bed already soaking their heads in their teams losses..
its only the rabble left here calling a spade a goddamn shovel…
Stormers played poorly . under a coach that don’t have the wherewithal to put a strategy together that works in all facets of what comprises winning rugby…
So whats it to you.. Sharks beat a team that played poorly .. the week off actually didn’t favor Stormers at all.. they were rusty under the high ball and played with a limited attack strategy.. and under a coach that couldn’t put the correct play together when it counted .. in short Stormers didn’t deserve to win under such cowardly conservative conditioning… so I’ll still be here rooting for these dumb fools next year.. thank God I’m not a sanctimonious Sharkshit supporter who eggs on a bunch of bought in mercenaries…
28 Jul 2012, 22:27 pm
@Robzim-499: ha ha. Robzim you know what I mean… I just want to talk rugby to be honest, but on KEO that’s hardly possible anymore.
28 Jul 2012, 22:29 pm
@TooMuchRugby-493: you sound like a person who gives a gift with a proviso attached buddy.
the flag raised at the lineout was for the stormers pulling bresler down in the ait.
but you want to make out like you were hard done by?
grow up man, the sharks were the better team.
either say “well done” without any qualification or keep your congrats to yourself ok?
28 Jul 2012, 22:30 pm
not gonna go back through all comments, but see some comments on ref. I think walsh was excellent.
until the stormers get a decent halfback combo and learn to create space for players to run through rather than crashing it up all the time they will always remain bridesmaids. their game is only good enough to get them this far and this has been highlighted all season.
not that i wanna take anything away from this sharks team. got some of my favorite bok players in it!
28 Jul 2012, 22:33 pm
@fitz1ella-502: The beauty of pro sport and a decent CEO means we can bring in the best and we CAN AFFORD THEM.
Sharks have money in the bank, have a few CCups lately, loads of fans worldwide and loads of Boks… a happy place to be I think.
WP is in a mess, it is not good for SA rugby at all. Someone needs to sort it out pronto.
@goyougoodthing2-497: What did you expect?
It from being snoekvreters and papsak drinkers that we is like we is, isn’t it?
@munkiboi-500: ah, ah real rugby man, cheers bud.
it was a nail biter of note.
the last ten minutes nearly killied me, congrats to the stormers on a great season.
28 Jul 2012, 22:35 pm
@TooMuchRugby-501: Far better to play a big mobile lock who’s already proved he can handle a rugby ball with some degree of thought and dexterity than a little attack minded hooker who is playing WAY out of position at No.8 and is at least 6 inches too short for the role..
Roux would have made a HUGE difference to Stormers efforts today.. unlike that wasted space on the bench in Francis who was purely there as a stupid insurance policy..
thats the difference between Plumtree and Coetsee.. its adventurous vs conservative cowardice..
a 5/2 attack mode bench compared to a cowardly 4 / 3 option with at least one bench option not going to be used unless called for.
Roux should have at least been on bench if he wasn’t going to start at 8.. but I would have had him or Armand at 8 and Fourie at 2 with Liebenberg on bench… with option of Fourie to 6 at a worst case scenario.
And I would have played a 5 / 2 bench .. Francis is a luxury which at best is a regressive call not a pro active one.
28 Jul 2012, 22:37 pm
@TooMuchRugby-507: ag shampies, really are you feeling sorry for yourself?
just be happy your team had an awesome season and got this far. you dont have to bring other team sor fans down to make yourself feel better surely?
the sharks were simply the better side.
its tough i know but once you accept it you will feel better.
28 Jul 2012, 22:37 pm
What was that noise?
The Dynamite “BOOM” ?
Or
The Stormers “POP”?
28 Jul 2012, 22:38 pm
@TooMuchRugby-507: That’s not my style, I don’t call people that.
My point is, the referee cannot be blamed, although I thought he missed loads (as it seems they all do, week and and week out).
The injuries can’t be blamed either, every team has them and has to manage what they have – imagine Lambie in, imagine if Frans Steyn were elligiable… if buts and maybe.
The Sharks won, after a long trip, and it hurt the Stormers and their fans, that is obvious… falling like that is tough, we have been -4 minutes from a SuperCup before that same ref… well blew it
Man up.
28 Jul 2012, 22:39 pm
CONGRATULATIONS,
AND CELEBRATIONS,
CAUSE HAPPY TIMES ARE HERE AGAIN….or is it???
Congrats Sharks and their supporters.
You beat us.
Sterkte vir volgende week.
PS: How is that petition against Plum going?
28 Jul 2012, 22:39 pm
@rangerman-504: Sure the Sharks were the better team, but I was hoping the Stormers could still pull it through if things didn’t go against them at crucial times. After all the Stormers have been winning games against better teams all season.
You might be correct about the reason for the flag, since they don’t normally raise a flag for a knock-on.
Seriously though, did you not see the knock on.
28 Jul 2012, 22:40 pm
@rangerman-508:
Ja, the sharks were the better team….. no doubts….. mot nice to admit, but thats how it was..
The Stormers will never winn a trophy as long as they have Grant/duvenhage and the current front row (Kitshoff excluded)
Do u reckon the sharks will go all the way against all odds?
anyway that me out
well done Sharkshits.. the better SA team is going to NZ to face the better of the NZ outfits .. as it supposed to be.. the best team in the comp faces the best …
all aspects considered.. even if the reffing and the comp structures are flawed.. ultimately the 2 best teams meet in the final
and the best team will win it in the end… whatever the far flung ulterior reasons.
@fitz1ella-509: How are you going to pin this one on Smitty?
28 Jul 2012, 22:42 pm
@fitz1ella-509: yes yes, quinn roux was the difference.
if the sharks had had brussow or maybe even dan carter things would have been different too.
but they didnt.
two team took the field, one team won on the day.
another day and a different team may win so lets all stay calm shall we?
28 Jul 2012, 22:43 pm
@trupisero-511: you another Stormers supporter that gone retrograde.. they all eloped to that Bullshark site called RT.. what you still doing over here?
@Robzim-515: why you blaming the half backs when its the coaches that fcked it all up holy..!??
28 Jul 2012, 22:45 pm
@TooMuchRugby-475:
as a lock he did exactly as expected. he tackled like a demon, got over the advantage line, kept his ball in contact and hit rucks all day long. he was the most effective lock on the park in my opinion.
Sharks won the territorial battle as well. michalak, mcleod and viljoen totally outkicked grant duvehage and peterson.
in fact i am not sure how stormers kept it to 7 points thats how much better sharks were. i reckon if sharks had been fresh and at home, they’d have pummeled the sharks.
anyways, i’ll be betting on chiefs next week. the two teams are probably even. so take home ground and travel into account the sharks will need immense luck to win that one.
28 Jul 2012, 22:46 pm
@trupisero-517: Smitty fck’d up the WC.. or didn’t you notice how much more effective Bismark is to that huge piece of overrated self centered lump of pathetic useless lardarse…
This one was lost by Coetsee and his non evolved JW trash rugby strategy which is at least about 10 years stale… or I guess you still unable to fathom that much either…
28 Jul 2012, 22:48 pm
@goyougoodthing2-512: Not blaming the referee in the same way that Bryce was blamed for RWC, just saying that marginal calls at crucial times was PARTIALLY the reason for the Stormers losing today. But hey, I played the game also and accept that some calls go against you and some don’t and you just have to accept it.
I don’t think there is anything wrong in pointing in out though
28 Jul 2012, 22:48 pm
@goyougoodthing2-506:
WP a mess? that’s a bit of an exaggeration. we lost a semi final. as did crusaders. is canterbury rugby a mess?
28 Jul 2012, 22:49 pm
@nama1-513: shame, another bitter stormerfan.
suck it up nama, plum is cool and thanks for the wishes,
happy days are here again
@TooMuchRugby-514: the flag was raised for stormers foul play buddy. go check it. bresler was pulled down in the air.
thats why play went on and no, there was no knock.
@Robzim-515: bud, i dont reckon they will. i backed them tonight even when all my mates (really staunch sharks supporters) didnt.
but i think the travel will kill us.
sadly.
28 Jul 2012, 22:49 pm
@rangerman-518: yeah Quin Roux would have made a HUGE difference.. unlike that WASTE of bench space Burton Francis.. but the dumb idiot coaches couldn’t realize this.. so its too late for what if’s.. but it still remains fact… that Stormers coaches cannot read the tale of the tape at who to play where.. at least some of us supporters could teach them a whole lot about what it takes to WIN rugby matches..
good night.
28 Jul 2012, 22:50 pm
Just two silly defensive mistakes.
One allowing Ludick to score (JdV) and the other allowing JPP to score(haven’t seen yet who the culprit was).
I thought the Stormers played very well. Can always stomach a lost when my team play well and lose, It just mean that the other team played better on the day. Tonight was one of those unfortunate (for me) times.
28 Jul 2012, 22:51 pm
@munkiboi-523: Dude, I don’t mean on the field, I mean in the ledgers… where the money talks.
WP are in some distress…
28 Jul 2012, 22:51 pm
Good on the Sharks, they have stamped their brand of Rugby on the latter part of the Competition and it has delivered them a Super Final. I awoke to get a glimpse of the last ten minutes. it looked epic. The Stormers can be proud of their season, their consistency throughout the year has been outstanding, but in retrospect some of those close wins did paper over some weaknesses in their attacking game.
On to the final and you can not go past the Chiefs, they tick most of the boxes except experience in big matches and a tendency for ill discipline at key moments. A lot will revolve around their ability to win clean ball and the form of Cruden and Sbw to open up the Sharks defence. The Sharks have a mountain to climb, but if they can replicate their form over the last two weeks then they will take it, or come very, very close.
28 Jul 2012, 22:52 pm
@TooMuchRugby-522: what marginl calls?
the penalty count hugely favoured the stormers.
but two tries to one tells the story.
thats all, as you were.
28 Jul 2012, 22:53 pm
just returned from Newlands. Great game. Great spectacle. Better team won. Sharkies outplayed my boys without doubt. Game was won up front, as we expected it would be. Travel fatigue was not a factor as anticipated. That aside, with the best will in the world, it was nonsense we were going to outdo a pack like the Sharks. I mean, get real. This Sharks team has the potential to go all the way, if it were not for the fact that a small ocean was in the way. I rate them a class act but not miracle-makers in the sense they can make three 10,000km trips in 2 weeks and win a major tournament? Don’t think so. Not a second time round. IIf the Sharks beat the Chiefs it will rank as one of those small miracles never to be repeated. At least not in my lifetime I suspect.
28 Jul 2012, 22:54 pm
@TooMuchRugby-522: Quite right, there is nothing wrong I agree.
You are speaking to referee hater of the 33rd order here, I hate seeing them turn a game as they often do.
Today though, Walsh just blew his usual way… poorly.
As Nick Mallet said “walsh does like the camera’
And so does Joubert, and Kaplan and the orange Mark Lawrence.
Let’s see the referee for the final… this could be interesting. I hope not.
28 Jul 2012, 22:56 pm
@Te Rangatira-528: Well summed up Sir
28 Jul 2012, 22:57 pm
@rangerman-524:
What indicates that I am “bitter” or is that just “tongue in cheek”
A “thank you, Nama” would have been in order, you know!!!
I did congratulate your team if you actually read what I said.
Did you support the petition?
28 Jul 2012, 23:00 pm
Talking about marginal calms.
There were two highly suspicious passes leading up to Aplon’s try.
Great game though and the Sharks were full value for the win.
28 Jul 2012, 23:01 pm
SA Men playing beach volleyball now if anyone cares… women at 11:30
28 Jul 2012, 23:03 pm
“You are posting comments too quickly. Slow down.”
TROND MET STREPE, MAN.
I only posted THREE comments in about 30 minutes.
Mark Keohane!!!
I know that you sold this website to SAFIKA some years ago but it still carries your name. You were on here during the week and said that you will resolve the problem.
Enjoy your stay in London for the Olympics, whether on your own account or that of SASCOC but I ask you PLEASSSSSE, have a look at the kak that is going on here.
This site s making your name gat.
28 Jul 2012, 23:05 pm
@rangerman-529: Jeez give it a rest man. What more do you want me to say? I have admitted in various posts now that the Sharks were the better team.
By the way isn’t a “buddy” someone appointed to watch over you by Alcoholics Anonymous. That would explain a lot… I haven’t received the memo yet.
I’ve known a lot of Natal boys and Sharks supporters in my time and all of them were decent guys that I could have a healthy conversation about Rugby with. I do not know which hole you crawled out, but please go back and continue sucking your thumb.
28 Jul 2012, 23:06 pm
@Te Rangatira-528: pretty wel summed up I’d think. The biggest obstacle to the Sharks would be the travel. I’d hate to do it. Most would. They certainly will.
28 Jul 2012, 23:06 pm
Howzit Te Ranged
Go onto the interwebs and search for youtube.
When there search “mark haze idols audition”.
He came second,listen to the pipes on him,he is a rocker aswell
Report back asasp
28 Jul 2012, 23:07 pm
@rangerman-529:
You starting to sound like Tac when the Bulls lose a game. Difference tonight is that your team won.
Not a good image, boet.
Keep perspective. You have not win anything….YET!!!
28 Jul 2012, 23:09 pm
It wasn’t that big margin victory, and the Stormers were squatting on the Sharks line last 4 minutes, it could have gone the other way easily, especially if you look closely at some of Walsh decisions on the replay it might make the Sharks winning a stuff of miracle.
Walsh must be the preferred choice for the Final though, he will be less anti Sharks ‘biased’ there than today so the Sharks do have a good chance, traveling EAST though means they may not recover fully in time.
He might be asked to pay back at least a portion
28 Jul 2012, 23:09 pm
@nama1-533: i have no idea about the petition?
as for soft tries thats bs buddy.
the tries came as a result of pressure. jpp’s in particular. when two forwards are left defending your line, all your defenders have been sucked in through previous phase play.
do you understand how rugby works?
congrats to your team for making it this far but we warned you chaps that when they came up against a team that could unlock their defense they would be fooked.
p.s. aplons try was fro forward pass AGAIN.
28 Jul 2012, 23:10 pm
@TASSIES-538: That is the worst flight I have ever done. Shattered when I got there. Can’t imagine doing it 3 times in 2 weeks.
Much younger than me, that’s for sure, I would be dead.
If the Sharks pull this off, it would go down as the greatest win ever, never to be repeated. The odds are stacked, but those crazy kids actually believe they can do it.
Sometimes having no brains can be good for you
28 Jul 2012, 23:11 pm
@rangerman-542: I thought so too, that’s two Aplon tries from forward passes… against the Mighty Sharks…
28 Jul 2012, 23:12 pm
Why are the Shark supporters on here blogging at this time of night and not having a party to celebrate the win?
28 Jul 2012, 23:13 pm
……and chill out guys. Sharks won. Disearvedly. Stormers lost. The way it goes.
Now to back the Sharks to tske out the Chiefs against all odds. They’ve got my support.
28 Jul 2012, 23:15 pm
@fitz1ella-521:
We’ll have to tolerate him and his “play without the ball” game plan for another three years, I believe.
Did he not signed earlier in the year for an extension?
28 Jul 2012, 23:15 pm
Sh it got real for the stormers
Feckin
Black
And
White
Dynamite
Pop!
Naais:-)
28 Jul 2012, 23:17 pm
@goyougoodthing2-543: ditto your sentiments mate. I’ve done similiar a few times and never get used to it. Admitedly I travel cattle-class but the distance is the same. Can’t personally think of anything worse under the circumstnces. It will be a miracle if the Sharks prevail. Huge handicap.
28 Jul 2012, 23:17 pm
@TooMuchRugby-537: ok so no marginal calls can be cited?
you sound upset and i know the feeling buddy, i was at the 2007 final.
have a good evening ok?
@nama1-540: i take that as a compliment nama.
hope you get over it soon bud.
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 18 » Show All