Sharks tops in Newlands streetfight
28 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the Sharks were tactically and physically superior in their epic 26-19 semi-final win over the Stormers on Saturday.
The result means that the Sharks will battle the Chiefs for the Super Rugby title next Saturday.
The Sharks will journey to Australasia for the decider, but on the back of a spirited showing in the semi-final, you wouldn’t rule out the possibility of Keegan Daniel lifting that coveted trophy.
They’ve have shown themselves to be the side for the big occasion in 2012, winning the crunch league match against the Bulls in Durban and then smashing the Reds in Brisbane in the qualifying play-off.
They were deserved winners in Saturday’s semi-final, and again it was the way they finished that proved decisive to the outcome. They absorbed a tremendous amount of pressure, picked their moment, and then Daniel made the turnover that killed the contest.
That is not to say that there was anything wrong with the way they started. There was always a danger that the Sharks would run out of puff in the final quarter, and so they needed to put the Stormers under pressure from the outset.
There were some moments when it seemed as if the Stormers would get on top. Lock Eben Etzebeth bulldozed Bismarck du Plessis early in the piece, and for a few seconds the Springbok hooker looked a punch-drunk boxer, teetering and swaying, and many would have anticipated a plunge to the proverbial canvas.
But like his team, Du Plessis not only recovered from the early knock, but soldiered on powerfully. The backlash was quite a thing to behold.
Those who had come to Newlands expecting a clash of styles must have been bitterly disappointed. The Sharks played clinical, smart rugby.
Just as their physicality at the collisions and power at the scrums were highlights, their halfbacks used that possession expertly to force the Stormers into costly errors.
Charl McLeod was on target with his box kicks, and Freddie Michalak produced a virtuoso performance from the flyhalf position. The Stormers battled to deal with the aerial bombardment, dropping a number of high balls or in some cases completely misjudging the garrowen.
A late change to the Sharks’ line-up saw Riaan Viljoen starting at fullback, and his cannon of a boot was expertly utilised. The Sharks had troubled the Stormers for much of the first half, but it was Viljoen’s mortar bomb that allowed the visitors to strike a telling blow. Viljoen put the ball up and Louis Ludik beat Stormers fullback Joe Pietersen in the air, and evaded the cover defence to score.
Michalak kicked the conversion to stretch the Sharks’ lead to 10 points. Peter Grant managed to narrow the deficit right before half-time to leave his side trailing by seven, but the Stormers would have been bitterly disappointed with that first-half return. They had enjoyed numerous visits to the opposition’s 22, but shocking handling and decision making had let the Sharks off the hook.
Some may call it a choke, but the Stormers never got themselves into a position to win this match. They failed to take their opportunities early in the game, and then were forced to play catch-up rugby in the second half.
The Sharks changed tack in the third quarter, keeping it close and striving to build on their seven-point lead.
After sending two drop-goal attempts wide, Michalak nailed a penalty. Grant answered with one at the other end, but it was the Sharks who had the better of territory during this period and made the most of another key opportunity, with JP Pietersen scoring on the hour.
At 23-9 the game looked to be over, but as anticipated, the Sharks started to feel the negative effects of travel. The Stormers took advantage, with Gio Aplon crossing the tryline in the 67th minute.
Grant goaled a further penalty to make it a four-point ball game, but it was here that the Sharks showed their defensive mettle. For the Stormers, it was a period where they showcased their attacking impotence, and lack of composure.
The Stormers were well placed in the opposition 22 but their attack was too lateral. And the Sharks never panicked.
They maintained their discipline on defence, and again, when the big opportunity arrived, they took it.
This time it was the captain who made the big play: a breakdown steal that won the game. The Sharks counter-rucked and Daniel latched onto the ball, wrenching it away and hacking it into the crowd.

898 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 » Show All
29 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@Heavens Game-743:
I’m sure Etzebeth (with a Z not S) convinced you after he pumped Bissy out of the way.
If Bekker remains injury free he should walk any Bok team.
29 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-749: Very well and you Fern?
Feel awesome for Sharks making the final. Jeez they are now the “Travelling Sharks” … haha.
29 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
@sharks_lover-693: Truely hope that Kanko gets the 8 jersey. He has been outstanding. Deserves to start for the Boks.
29 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
@Puma-744: Glad you liked it Pooms
These young Sharkies of Plum have made everyone believers…. Great for the Boks…
29 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-747: Change your nic and STFU, loser. The most low-class nic on the entire site and now you want to tell us that you predicted a Sharks win. Sies.
29 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
@Puma-753: Congrats on a great victory by your team.
Well done.
All the best for next week.
29 Jul 2012, 10:10 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-745: Etsebeth and Kruger for me, with Kanko running the lineouts…
29 Jul 2012, 10:14 am
@Puma-753: Kanko is used correctly by Plum… has grown in stature and runs the Sharks lineout… Element of steel to Kankos game that was never there before the England series… I put that down to the Heyneke effect and the fact Plum has trusted in him giving him more responsibility…
29 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@kaksioek-755: Hollow man. Go back and read.
If the Spring sharks had NOT beaten the Stormers, there is no way in hell they would
beat the AB’s come rugby championship. Thems the facts
Now I dislike 85% of the Sharks fans, and as a rugby union the Sharks are (whether
you fellows like it or not) the Johnnies. It is a sad fact, that until now, just like US
you have not won a Super rugby title. 4 Attempts – no prize. Until you actually
WIN IT – you are wannabes, yes, just like all the other teams who haven’t won it.
Your team’s victory was well deserved, but the heightened state of grace you fans
elevate your union into, is not.
29 Jul 2012, 10:17 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-747: It rings true… truly… the dumbest mofo on this site… You actually dont have to post a thing…. the nic says it all
29 Jul 2012, 10:19 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-759: Sour and weak. Your obsession with the Sharks is understandable, given their superiority to your own team, but still unhealthy. Concentrate on your own team and keep your advice and childish criticism of Sharks fans to yourself.
29 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
Imagine some fool Stormers supporter parading this Nic: “The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions”…
Imagine… Credibility… zero…
Farce… Priceless
Hold on…. Imagine is nothing… There is someone…
Farken hilarious….
29 Jul 2012, 10:23 am
@Heavens Game-760: Yet here you are, defending your union against my ‘nic’.
@kaksioek-761: Yet here you are as well, defending your union against my ‘nic’.
Heightened state of grace indeed.
29 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
@Heavens Game-762: Yet here you are again, defending your union against my nic. Do I own you?
29 Jul 2012, 10:25 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-763: You really do have delusions of grandeur, don’t you? Nobody is defending the Sharks – they do a pretty good job of that themselves. We’re just pointing out how stupid you look.
29 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
So yesterday the Sharks played at 09:00 based on the week before against the Reds (Brisbane is 8 hours ahead) and will play the Chiefs at 03:00 (Hamilton is 10 hours ahead).
Fark if you pull this off.
29 Jul 2012, 10:26 am
Keep posting Doggy… Not under your other Multinics… Just the Sharks Pedigree one…
Actually why dont you go back to your old one: You know, the Dogfood one?
It truly makes for good farce in light of Sharks “lucky” two Dogfood Pedigreed wins on the road… against the Defending champs and the “Top” side nogal…
Luvving it…
29 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@kaksioek-765: Yet here you are again……
29 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
@Heavens Game-762:
how long ago did you predict the bubble to pop?
I told you to preach it from the first time you said it.
Charge of the Light Brigade
29 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-768: Maybe there are some poor, simple Sharks fans getting lost in big, scary Cape Town that desperately require your gracious assistance. Perhaps you should go and look … who knows, maybe some of their class will rub off on you.
29 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-764: No defence needed… Sharks performance yesterday says it all…. I am merely enjoying the Farce… and busy owning it
29 Jul 2012, 10:33 am
so etsebeth elbows bissy
any player would have knocked that kid out
bissy?
the gentleman he is lies on his back for a couple of seconds,does some yoga to centre and calm himself as to not monster this kid
gets up and play
legend stuff.
29 Jul 2012, 10:34 am
@Heavens Game-767: Yet here you are again…..
Imagine my nic if the Sharks don’t win the title on their 5th attempt.
Have a ^5ving day Big daddies.
29 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
@Heavens Game-771: and again…
29 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-769: Ag, Fernly we all saw the bubble… King Heyneke included… But you know what, its not about them… never was…. Its about the best damned Saffa side in Super Rugby…. No, the best damned side in SUper Rugby this season fullstop… Its about the Sharks and whether they can do the Impossible….
Impossible is nothing for Plums boys…
29 Jul 2012, 10:36 am
@NZINCHINA-689: Same analysis of the quarter last year… and referee of the year, for a blatant cheat. Explain that.
Not disputing 2007, I actually didn’t even watch the game that’s how much I cared.
29 Jul 2012, 10:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-773: A gift that keeps on giving…
29 Jul 2012, 10:38 am
@Heavens Game-775:
That post is so on point.
Respect
29 Jul 2012, 10:39 am
@goyougoodthing2-776: Goody, how the boys today…. Plum must be one happy farker?
29 Jul 2012, 10:40 am
646 transformation
that was a gdam thunderous hit – I think deysel thought he’d just hit a bus..
I go 6. Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Kolisi
or
6. Kolisi 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen
play elstadt at 4 and etsebeth at 5
fourie off bench to cover 2 or flanker – what a replacement for bismark.
29 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
@Heavens Game-777:
How good was our frenchie
They just love the Sharks and Deben and thrive there
First international I saw was Piere Bebizier at the flea market close to the beach back in the day.
29 Jul 2012, 10:41 am
@Heavens Game-777: I feel like a spiritual leader preaching on the summit. Little followers hanging onto every word.
Last lesson of the day: Remain humble and honest.
PS: Rangerman – congrats dude.
29 Jul 2012, 10:43 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-782: Go do the washing or something – try to be useful. Run along now.
29 Jul 2012, 10:45 am
jp lifting his arms at the final whistle,blood on the face
trojan
29 Jul 2012, 10:46 am
Sharks no ways best side in super rugby – they are playing with massive heart and commitment in coming from behind and will probably be tge greatest victory in tge history of s15 should they win against chiefs – but they been turned over more times in this campaign than a tannie from the bluff. Compare them to 2007s unbeatables – not even close ekse… However they do have 4 absolute worldclass gamebreaks who the best in their positions in the world.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-778: @Heavens Game-779: @goyougoodthing2-776: @kaksioek-770: @Puma-753: GOOOOOOOOOO SHARRRRRRRRRRRRRKSSSSSSSSSSS,
Boys what a game of rugby!!!
Now for next week guys we can only hope, this will be far harder a match to win, travelling back again will surely take a lot more out of us?
I have it the Sharks have taken a larger medical team with, one concentrating on getting rehydration on the players done before they even land, not sure how that all works, this is part of how they are winning the jetlag battle
But we will have to lift our game another 20% if we want to beat the Chiefs, their 9 and 10, is superior to that of the Stormers, not to talk about the rest of their backline, i think our forward pack is better, to we will have to finish them upfront first, CAN WE DO IT? Yes of course but i reckong our chances if it was 45% at Newlands?? gonna be 25% in Hamilton, Also not sure who the ref is? anyone know??
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-772: Beast giving Broken Harris a loveshove after the first of many Stormers capitulations at scrum time… Priceless…
And to think this site reckoned that the Stormers will “target” the Sharks front row…. You cant get better comedy
29 Jul 2012, 10:47 am
This crowing will probably go on for this whole week
Enjoy it.
29 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
@cab-780: You farken on Mountain Cabbage, well and truly….
29 Jul 2012, 10:48 am
@Heavens Game-779: Indeed. They are young enough to actually think that they can win this – all the players belief and you know what belief can do.
Going against the grain and packing before Cape Town means that they can leave this afternoon (superstition aside they actually had not choice given the travel so don’t read too much into that).
80 mins left, that is all they are thinking of. Going to be interesting if Walsh gets the final… he does leave a lot on the park and to say that the chiefs are ‘vigorous’ at contact is putting it mildy.
Will be a huge smash up and the Chiefs have been getting away with murder at the offside line so the Sharks will need to counter this. Given their renewed energy I think that they can, but it’s a long long way to go to play rugby.
At least you can fly direct to Hamilton from Sydney.
Get to Sydney tomorrow 13:30 their time (5:30am) and chill. Stay there for 2 days and then do the 3.5 hour to Hamilton on Thursday.
29 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
@sharks_lover-786:
Charge of the Light Brigade
Brothers playing for brothers
Nuff said
29 Jul 2012, 10:50 am
HG 789 – impressive effort for you to be crowing so early – that babelaas must be killing you – I expected you to be so comatosed u’d only surface round about thursday of hoe ?
29 Jul 2012, 10:51 am
@goyougoodthing2-776:
If you didnt watch the game, why put a link up about it?
29 Jul 2012, 10:52 am
Well done to the Sharks. It was a deserved victory.
Now go out and win the thing.
Good luck to them in the final.
29 Jul 2012, 10:53 am
@cab-785: I tell you about the best side in Super Rugby…
The best side in Super Rugby can put 4 tries past two teams to actually stay in the comp after the worst schedule out of all of the Saffa sides in the 1st half of the comp…
The best side in Super Rugby can travel to Brisbane and shikka the defending champs six love in their own back yard….
The best side in Super rugby can the travel back to Cape Town from Brisbane via Durban and then beat the “Top” side who havent lost at home the whole season on their home turf….
And then the best side will now travel to Hamilton to play the next best side in Super Rugby on their home turf….
Thats the Best Side in Super Rugby… Simple.
29 Jul 2012, 10:54 am
@Hurricane-793: Because Henry’s a little whinger that’s why.
Lady Graham Henry, he is a Laaaaydy and he complains as such.
29 Jul 2012, 10:54 am
@sharks_lover-786: The Sharks have already made history by winning two away knockout games in a row – why not three? Of course it will be extremely tough, but they believe they can do it – and so do I. Either way, they have already made some people – who will go unnamed because they have already received too much attention – look very silly.
29 Jul 2012, 10:56 am
@IAAS-794: Thanks boet, and tough luck on the loss, trust me we been there so we know how hard it is
@Heavens Game-787:
Fark
Last nifgt at OR dropping of a friend I said to these 5 people walking in front of me “excuse me can we please pass”
they parted and this obese dhoos chirps “another inglish south african”
Ispun around and told him in afrikaans that i am afrikaans and bluff scruff
bravado gone
nee maat nie so gemeen nie yadada
ek het n vriend wat se soms in die lewe moet jy maar vir n ou se “luister hier chop,jou ma se phoes”.hy gaan jou of moer od pepepepepe hakkel met jou jou.
nie so taai saam met die fam nie nie?
@goyougoodthing2-790: Thanks…. Eish that makes my heart warm…
80 mins to Glory… Bench will be crucial…. Wonder if Lambie and Jordaan will be okay… They will make a difference if only to the bench.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 » Show All