Sharks tops in Newlands streetfight

JON CARDINELLI writes the Sharks were tactically and physically superior in their epic 26-19 semi-final win over the Stormers on Saturday.

The result means that the Sharks will battle the Chiefs for the Super Rugby title next Saturday.

The Sharks will journey to Australasia for the decider, but on the back of a spirited showing in the semi-final, you wouldn’t rule out the possibility of Keegan Daniel lifting that coveted trophy.

They’ve have shown themselves to be the side for the big occasion in 2012, winning the crunch league match against the Bulls in Durban and then smashing the Reds in Brisbane in the qualifying play-off.

They were deserved winners in Saturday’s semi-final, and again it was the way they finished that proved decisive to the outcome. They absorbed a tremendous amount of pressure, picked their moment, and then Daniel made the turnover that killed the contest.

That is not to say that there was anything wrong with the way they started. There was always a danger that the Sharks would run out of puff in the final quarter, and so they needed to put the Stormers under pressure from the outset.

There were some moments when it seemed as if the Stormers would get on top. Lock Eben Etzebeth bulldozed Bismarck du Plessis early in the piece, and for a few seconds the Springbok hooker looked a punch-drunk boxer, teetering and swaying, and many would have anticipated a plunge to the proverbial canvas.

But like his team, Du Plessis not only recovered from the early knock, but soldiered on powerfully. The backlash was quite a thing to behold.

Those who had come to Newlands expecting a clash of styles must have been bitterly disappointed. The Sharks played clinical, smart rugby.

Just as their physicality at the collisions and power at the scrums were highlights, their halfbacks used that possession expertly to force the Stormers into costly errors.

Charl McLeod was on target with his box kicks, and Freddie Michalak produced a virtuoso performance from the flyhalf position. The Stormers battled to deal with the aerial bombardment, dropping a number of high balls or in some cases completely misjudging the garrowen.

A late change to the Sharks’ line-up saw Riaan Viljoen starting at fullback, and his cannon of a boot was expertly utilised. The Sharks had troubled the Stormers for much of the first half, but it was Viljoen’s mortar bomb that allowed the visitors to strike a telling blow. Viljoen put the ball up and Louis Ludik beat Stormers fullback Joe Pietersen in the air, and evaded the cover defence to score.

Michalak kicked the conversion to stretch the Sharks’ lead to 10 points. Peter Grant managed to narrow the deficit right before half-time to leave his side trailing by seven, but the Stormers would have been bitterly disappointed with that first-half return. They had enjoyed numerous visits to the opposition’s 22, but shocking handling and decision making had let the Sharks off the hook.

Some may call it a choke, but the Stormers never got themselves into a position to win this match. They failed to take their opportunities early in the game, and then were forced to play catch-up rugby in the second half.

The Sharks changed tack in the third quarter, keeping it close and striving to build on their seven-point lead.

After sending two drop-goal attempts wide, Michalak nailed a penalty. Grant answered with one at the other end, but it was the Sharks who had the better of territory during this period and made the most of another key opportunity, with JP Pietersen scoring on the hour.

At 23-9 the game looked to be over, but as anticipated, the Sharks started to feel the negative effects of travel. The Stormers took advantage, with Gio Aplon crossing the tryline in the 67th minute.

Grant goaled a further penalty to make it a four-point ball game, but it was here that the Sharks showed their defensive mettle. For the Stormers, it was a period where they showcased their attacking impotence, and lack of composure.

The Stormers were well placed in the opposition 22 but their attack was too lateral. And the Sharks never panicked.

They maintained their discipline on defence, and again, when the big opportunity arrived, they took it.

This time it was the captain who made the big play: a breakdown steal that won the game. The Sharks counter-rucked and Daniel latched onto the ball, wrenching it away and hacking it into the crowd.

898 Comments

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All

• 801.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Couldn’t watch the game yesterday, so only caught it this morning. Well done to the Saarkies – they were about 30% more intense than the home team, and that was the difference.

JPP is surely the form wing in world rugby at the moment. Hope he does this for the Boks too.

And how good has Louis Ludik been the last three games?

Wouldn’t it just be magic if they can travel to the arse of the world and keep this up for 80 more minutes?

• 802.cab: Reply to this comment

The best side can also lose 6, or is it 7, times and get a drilling by the last placed team in the comp – tell me bout that side.

No doubt it’s a great effort of gees and positive play – plumtree always Bern a great coach and the sharks have always played great positive offload rugby chucking it round with *** abandon (like the stormers of old but combining some forward power) – but greatest team – pah – spin me another – u sound like the Iraqi spokesmen just before bagdad was overrun..

• 803.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

The jury is still out on Kolisi and Coetsee. Their true worth can only be measured against the AB’s and Aussies.

My 6, 7 & 8 combo has always been Brussow, Alberts and Vermuelen. If Vermuelen is not fit then based on current form Kanko has to be in the mix.

If HM selects either Tarzan Potgieter or Spies then somethings definitely wrong.

• 804.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-797: boet, i know we have alreaady done x y z,have said so too, and i aint saying we cant win, just being honest of the tsk ahead,

Remember to stay gracious boet, i didnt have to say much walking through tygervalley mall this morning with my Sharks jersey on, that said it all :lol:

• 805.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-799: Bluff scruff… lol

• 806.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Am over and out for now… I reckon the sky just fell on my head… Farkenell

• 807.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-803: Vermeulen on what form??

Coetzee again yesterday according to the stats outplayed Kolisi?

so Coetzee must be dropped for what reason??

you and Cabby make me laugh with this whole Stormer loose forwards have to play

Sharks loose forwards according to the whoe S15 stats are tops, so why must they be dropped??

And i can tell you this. Alberts, Kanko,Coetzee, Daniel,will be in the Squad i mentioned some posts back, PSDT is the Bolter you will see in the squad.

there will be 12 Sharks and 6 Stormers, fact just remember when its announced, you saw it here first :wink:

• 808.cab: Reply to this comment

Jerald, kanko? Liewe fok nee, not another spies at test level asb – granted he’s playing like a prancing lipozono stallian at present with plenty spring in his step..

Katman is 100% right, difference us sharks brought the intensity and that is that as they say

I think that’s sa’s chances up in smoke but shark fans are justifiably delirious.

• 809.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-805:
    put up or shut up
    you are a honorary bluff boy btw
    i have high people in places

• 810.nama1: Reply to this comment

@cab-802:
    Comical Ali!!! :lol:

Good comparison.

• 811.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-809: If you are a bluff boy I believe moreso that you have High People in Places rather than people in high places :-)

• 812.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

You gotta love these okes comming on here trying to tell us how KAK the Sharks players are, and how much better the Stormers players are BWAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHA

OH *** ME THATS FUNNY

• 813.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2-811:
    Church
    It is what it is.

• 814.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab-785: Cabbie,

I think this is a better side than the 2007 Sharks team. Sure we lost some games this year but we had some of our players out injured for the first half of this tourney. Kanko also only got a start in the Bulls game and he has been brilliant. Beast missed a huge part of our early games too. Chadwick just not at the same level as Beast. Once we got Beast back and Alberts we started to win our games and win them well. Only against the Lions we came short.

Everyone has said of this team if they get all their players back from injury and hit form they will be just too good for most teams.

Now we have this horendous travel again waiting our team but think the adrenalin is flowing well and THAT will take us through. I honestly believe we can beat the Chiefs. If there are no injuries we have the team that could do it.

If we do beat the Chiefs I can tell you this Sharks team will do down in history as the best EVER Sharks team.

• 815.cab: Reply to this comment

You gotta love these okes who get so up in arms whenever they are not seen by all as the greatest – where’s this great team been all season – are they great or just lucky to have scraped into 6th spot?

It’s the fa cup rather than tge league, plenty of glory and excitement but everyone knows the greatest team is the one at no1 on the log…

• 816.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-807:
    I said the jury is out on Coetsee and Kolisi and they will only be tested against the big boys.
    Which means Coetsee hasn’t convinced me yet.
    HM should start with Brussow and play Coetsee off the bench.

Vermuelen “in a perfect world” complete’s the combo. But Kanko deserves a go.

Lets see what HM comes up with. It might just be Potgieter, Potgieter and Spies.

• 817.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@cab-815: dude, seriously, scraping the barrel now.

• 818.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-816: like i said earlier, you will see what i said today,, there will be 12 Sharks and 6 Stormers in the squad, they already know who they are

• 819.cab: Reply to this comment

Puma

if you beat the chiefs, it will go down in a drunken haze of babanaboy reminiscing bliss as the greatest team ever but in reality it would be tge greatest comeback ever – tho I agree you have a handful of absolutely outofthisworkd good players – that does not include kanko who is a v good s15 player, not for bike thankyou I rather have vermeulen and kolisi but each to their own.

• 820.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-818: Well, if they do then SARU has again tried to derail the Sharks by telling them they are in the squad.

Same before the Lions game.

If it’s true expect some major issues.

• 821.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

PSDT
    Daniel
    Coetzee
    Kanko
    Doc Dup
    Bismark
    JPP
    Beast
    Lambie
    Mvovo
    Steyn

This will be the 12 Sharks players in the Bok Squad a few weeks from now

• 822.cab: Reply to this comment

gyg2

what u mean? I always said plum good, was it not you who wanted to can him early on after loss no 5?

• 823.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-807: And yes those players deserve to be in the Bok squad. Kanko deserves to get the 8 jersey as well.

Now really hoping like crazy none pick up a injury from here on. The Boks play in a few weeks time.

Hope when the SharkBoks are back they get a full week or more off to rest up.

• 824.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-821: They all deserve to be there. Feel for Breseler he has been top class this year.

• 825.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Puma-823:
    our side has the chance to re write history
    maybe another tony watson moment?

• 826.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Cabby, I give credit when it is due.

Kanko, is on a different level compared to the last couple of years.
    The Sharks locks have been their achilles this season but because of his form his allowed Plum the option of playing Alberts at 4 which has made a huge difference to their campaign.

• 827.cab: Reply to this comment

True boks – Beast, Bismark, Alberts, JP, Frans

Maybes – Coetzee, keegan, and jannie

• 828.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2-820: boet all those players played for the Boks recently accept PSDT, so it’s not like its a sudden surprise

What i wonder is if the selecters will revisit the situation and maybe give someone like Ludik a look in??

I feel for Bresler as Puma said, but no doubt Bekker and Etsebeth will be the Locks with JM of course and also Alberts a backup for lock

• 829.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-797: The Saders already did two away knockouts to win the comp.

• 830.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-825: We do have a chance to do just that Fern. Would be the greatest win of all time by a Sharks team.

• 831.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-828: Not the point.

• 832.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab-819: Kanko is the reason our lineouts are working top class now Cabbie. Our lineouts was one of our weakest points at the start of this tourney. Kanko has made a massive difference and not only there he does the hard graft too bud. He is playing the rugby of his life right now.

• 833.nama1: Reply to this comment

Maak die Haaie almal Bokke!!!

Perspective boys…perspective.

PS: How is this conference system working for you okes now? You think we should get rid of it?

• 834.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2-831: Boet i know what ur trying to say, but i dont fully agree

These players are professionals and they know what they have to do, i dont believe SARU will in any way try derail the Sharks

Also like i said 95% of those players know they will be playing Boks, and their concentration as you saw yesterday is with the Sharks and the task at hand

• 835.nama1: Reply to this comment

Bresler and Ludik must now sommer also be made Bokke!!!

You got to be kidding me.

• 836.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-834: Didn’t help against the Lions… but this is different.

Sharks all the way. It’s up to their minds now, and as they are rugby players, they don’t have any :-)

• 837.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1-835: Nama just saying I feel for Breseler. He has been superb for us. I think Etzebeth is world class though and he would always be my 4 Bok lock. Ludik too has been brilliant in the last few games. I personally still rate Lambie at fb but think Lambie is a better fh. So just have to wait and see. Meyer would not have missed watching Ludik I can tell you that. He is better than Zane for sure.

• 838.Puma: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2-836: The players want this and it showed after the win last night. Even Bissie was crying….hahaha. It means a lot to this team. If we in that mind frame we could pull of the biggest win of the century next week…..lol.

Go Sharkies! Just do it…. :)

Weather looking good for Hamilton so far too.

• 839.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-837: Plum has also stated he still thinks Lambie should be 10 and not 15 as is the want from the Bok team at the Moment

• 840.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Puma-838: Really? Rain and highs of 13 the whole week.

• 841.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Bresler has been one of the Sharks best players… Going about his business un- noticed…

• 842.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Sharks will draw a Non Saffa referee for the final, it well might be the ‘Australian’ Steve Walsh, can’t see a Saffa referee appointed by SANZAR
    Keith Brown might be a better selection,

• 843.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I disagree about the Sharks only need to think about playing the winning rugby for the next 80 minutes…………how many times have we lost a game in extra time…….make 85 minutes of body on the line rugby left in the comp for them.

• 844.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1-833: I personally don’t like the conference system. Would love for us to go back to the old format. It worked better and less travel if you make it in only a semi.

We never asked for this system bud. It was the format we had to play.

• 845.Puma: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2-840: Looked at the forecast yesterday morning. Said clear for Saturday. Then the weather could change often does.

• 846.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Puma-837:
    Lambie gets injured at 15, he should compete with Grant on the 10 position
    Candidates for the tests now are Styen and Ludik but then Styen will only play at 12, so it’s Ludik by default,

• 847.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-803: Coetzee has been the player of our conference. I think he could well win player of the year come the end of the RC. He has been outstanding. Kiwis rate him the best player too. Say he is much like Burger BUT better and can off-load as well. Aussies also rate him the player of the season so far.

So if our Bok coach don’t select him then there is something really wrong. I have complete faith he will select him though. Meyer just too smart.

• 848.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Puma-844:
    Forget it
    The new format has designed to cut on cost including traveling and accommodations. Use of local referees ditto

• 849.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-842: Don’t think it would be fair to have Keith Brown him being a kiwi. Walsh is now a Aussie so it could well be him.

• 850.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Puma-849:
    Walsh nearly won it for the Stormers yesterday single handed, he is like Joubert in this regard: these rugby games are business opportunities.

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.