Sharks tops in Newlands streetfight
28 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the Sharks were tactically and physically superior in their epic 26-19 semi-final win over the Stormers on Saturday.
The result means that the Sharks will battle the Chiefs for the Super Rugby title next Saturday.
The Sharks will journey to Australasia for the decider, but on the back of a spirited showing in the semi-final, you wouldn’t rule out the possibility of Keegan Daniel lifting that coveted trophy.
They’ve have shown themselves to be the side for the big occasion in 2012, winning the crunch league match against the Bulls in Durban and then smashing the Reds in Brisbane in the qualifying play-off.
They were deserved winners in Saturday’s semi-final, and again it was the way they finished that proved decisive to the outcome. They absorbed a tremendous amount of pressure, picked their moment, and then Daniel made the turnover that killed the contest.
That is not to say that there was anything wrong with the way they started. There was always a danger that the Sharks would run out of puff in the final quarter, and so they needed to put the Stormers under pressure from the outset.
There were some moments when it seemed as if the Stormers would get on top. Lock Eben Etzebeth bulldozed Bismarck du Plessis early in the piece, and for a few seconds the Springbok hooker looked a punch-drunk boxer, teetering and swaying, and many would have anticipated a plunge to the proverbial canvas.
But like his team, Du Plessis not only recovered from the early knock, but soldiered on powerfully. The backlash was quite a thing to behold.
Those who had come to Newlands expecting a clash of styles must have been bitterly disappointed. The Sharks played clinical, smart rugby.
Just as their physicality at the collisions and power at the scrums were highlights, their halfbacks used that possession expertly to force the Stormers into costly errors.
Charl McLeod was on target with his box kicks, and Freddie Michalak produced a virtuoso performance from the flyhalf position. The Stormers battled to deal with the aerial bombardment, dropping a number of high balls or in some cases completely misjudging the garrowen.
A late change to the Sharks’ line-up saw Riaan Viljoen starting at fullback, and his cannon of a boot was expertly utilised. The Sharks had troubled the Stormers for much of the first half, but it was Viljoen’s mortar bomb that allowed the visitors to strike a telling blow. Viljoen put the ball up and Louis Ludik beat Stormers fullback Joe Pietersen in the air, and evaded the cover defence to score.
Michalak kicked the conversion to stretch the Sharks’ lead to 10 points. Peter Grant managed to narrow the deficit right before half-time to leave his side trailing by seven, but the Stormers would have been bitterly disappointed with that first-half return. They had enjoyed numerous visits to the opposition’s 22, but shocking handling and decision making had let the Sharks off the hook.
Some may call it a choke, but the Stormers never got themselves into a position to win this match. They failed to take their opportunities early in the game, and then were forced to play catch-up rugby in the second half.
The Sharks changed tack in the third quarter, keeping it close and striving to build on their seven-point lead.
After sending two drop-goal attempts wide, Michalak nailed a penalty. Grant answered with one at the other end, but it was the Sharks who had the better of territory during this period and made the most of another key opportunity, with JP Pietersen scoring on the hour.
At 23-9 the game looked to be over, but as anticipated, the Sharks started to feel the negative effects of travel. The Stormers took advantage, with Gio Aplon crossing the tryline in the 67th minute.
Grant goaled a further penalty to make it a four-point ball game, but it was here that the Sharks showed their defensive mettle. For the Stormers, it was a period where they showcased their attacking impotence, and lack of composure.
The Stormers were well placed in the opposition 22 but their attack was too lateral. And the Sharks never panicked.
They maintained their discipline on defence, and again, when the big opportunity arrived, they took it.
This time it was the captain who made the big play: a breakdown steal that won the game. The Sharks counter-rucked and Daniel latched onto the ball, wrenching it away and hacking it into the crowd.

898 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 … 18 » Show All
28 Jul 2012, 20:20 pm
796.fitz1ella:
22 Jul 2012, 13:18 pm Let Kankalowitz come to Cape Town we see what a grand spanking pirouetting No.8 he has become…
28 Jul 2012, 20:22 pm
Now I’m really outta here…
Cheers guys play nicely…
28 Jul 2012, 20:22 pm
SHARKS SHARKS SHARKS SHARKS SHARKS SHARKS
SHARKS FOR EVER. WE ARE BLACK WE ARE WHITE WE ARE DYNAMITE!
Man words just can’t express the awesome feeling I feel right now for my awesome team. A little choked up really. Why oh why did the journos not give my team some credit during the week? All we read was the only team to have a chance to win this for SOUTH AFRICA I might add was Stormers. NONE ever gave credit to the Sharks ever. Why did none say Sharks probably were the best bet for us to win it? Why not get behind probably the best team in South African? I will never know but was disappointed to read all that. Yet had hope for my team all the same. Travel and the tiredness sure, but when the adrenalin sets it it sure dose in a magnificent way. We may be jet lagged after the next Indian Ocean crossing, ut heck I think Sharks have the team to beat the Chiefs. All in the mind right now. AND yes we will be jet lagged no doubt but ALL in the mind. It can be worked on.
Just wished we hit our straps a bit earlier in this tourney and had a home final. Would have been better for our players and in the end of the day for our Boks in the team. Anyhow we THERE AND I AM LOVING EVERY MINUTE OF IT.
SHARKS FOREVER. WE ARE BLACK WE ARE WHITE WE ARE DYNAMITE!!!! BEST TEAM IN SOUTH AFRICA RIGHT NOW… All you okes out there, let us Sharkies have enjoy in this banter. We deserve it.
Sooooooooooooooooooooo very proud of my team. No words can describe it.
SHARKS FOREVER. BLACK AND WHITE NOTHING ELSE MATTERS.
Good luck to my Sharks next week. So proud of them.
28 Jul 2012, 20:23 pm
@wooden spoon-346: and so they should have.. if they had enough balls to do it.. but the coach capitulated before the game even started… chicken arse coward who dunno how to WIN rugby matches… just like when he was 2IC to the other fake being a nice guy don’t COUNT..
Stormers need to wake up and realize what it takes to win at the top level and cowardly ‘defense wins games garbage’ Does NOT..!!!
28 Jul 2012, 20:24 pm
#331 WIILY WEBB Your stats might be wrong after next weeks final but i think you will be right as i think the travelling will eventually tell next week on the sharks.I hope i am wrong and the sharks kick the chiefs arses.I will be rooting for the sharks again come saturday.
28 Jul 2012, 20:24 pm
I think stormers were looking to the final against onecof the kiwi sides and halftgought this was in the bag – whereas sharks bust a gut – I’d say sharks played to 100% of their potential and stormers at about 40%
dissapointing but they looking fatigued last 3 games – injuries taken their toll – told u that kickchase **** not gonna work and they still told grant to play it. Kickchase us whenever pack is fatigued.
28 Jul 2012, 20:25 pm
@Puma-353: awesome Puma!
28 Jul 2012, 20:25 pm
@wooden spoon-351: and so he was the grand spanking pirouetting prancing prima donna was nowhere all game long.. it was Beast and Alberts and Pietersen and Michalak and Ludick who won the game for you.. where was Kankowski.. I didn’t see him ONCE..?
28 Jul 2012, 20:26 pm
@Puma-353:
Lol, Puma, take it easy… those knees of U, lol.
Well done to the sharks though, good luck for the final…..we got “smashed” today..
I might just support the sharks next week— still contemplating , lol.
@blueboy-355: Sharks have a kiwi coach bru, so regardless of who wins a kiwi coach will win the super 15
Bresler was HUGE! How many tackles did the oke make?
28 Jul 2012, 20:28 pm
Lambie and Jordaan coming back from injury may just inject some fresh legs into the equation next week.
28 Jul 2012, 20:29 pm
#360 WIILY WEBB Drat i forgot all about that double drat and you just had to remind me.
28 Jul 2012, 20:30 pm
@Puma-353: Sorry for the English up there. Just too much wine celebrating my team. They ARE WORTH IT. ALL OF THEM. SO DAMN PROUD OF THEM.
Go Sharks.
@wooden spoon-357: For sure bro. For sure. So choked up right now. Every rugby blog I have read had written us off. Jeez I feel proud of our boys bud. Anyhow only the Reunion rugby show said we would win. So cudos to them.
I feel so awesome right now. If we win or lose, to come back the way we done is just magnificent.
Best team in our conference by a long, long way. So sad though we woke up so late. This final should have been played next week at Kings Park. Anyhow not to be but we live another week and bugger the travel, who cares we are there!!
Sharkies forever…
28 Jul 2012, 20:31 pm
@cab-356:
No my friend. The truth is that the Sharks had just flown back from Aus, while the Stormers had a week’s rest and a home game in their favour.
If both teams had similar amounts of rest and travel behind them, the Sharks victory margin would have been even higher.
28 Jul 2012, 20:31 pm
Gumboots
it’s a great effort but I’m sorry a side that’s lost 6 times does not deserve to be crowned s14 champions. In 2007 yes, 2012 no, they have my support but not going to happen – chiefs completely different animal to reds.
28 Jul 2012, 20:32 pm
@wooden spoon-362:
Did U retire from keo this morning or was it an imposter using your nick?
28 Jul 2012, 20:33 pm
@wooden spoon-362: I saw them both sitting there with the team. They are probably both flying out tonight with the team. Great that. We done this without some of our best.
Damn I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooo proud of our team.
They are awesome….
no other words can describe it. Best team in our conference, only woke up a bit late but we are there where we should be.
Go MY SHARKS…
28 Jul 2012, 20:34 pm
Skoppie i posted earlier i do not know if you read it,JPP completely outplayed your little bunny jdj,i think i heard de jongh`s name mentioned twice in the whole game, Petersen is deffinately the better outside centre between the two that is obvious after todays game.
28 Jul 2012, 20:36 pm
Tacitus – stormers were nearly done by rebels 2 weeks ago at home after they Bren kicking everyones *** away – team was done before playoffs. I still reckon they were by far sa’s best chance if a trophy – 60/40 chance of stormers beating chiefs at newlands, 70/30 chance of chiefs beating sharks in hamilton
28 Jul 2012, 20:36 pm
Ludick and Viljoen are both FAR better option to Lambie.. Sharks are lucky that both Lambie and Jordaan weren’t up to it today.
was a Plumtree master stroke to play Pietersen at 13 and bring in Viljoen to FB.. was the Viljoen – Ludick combo which unlocked the sharkshits first lucky try…
Stormers don’t know how to COMBINE their talents they play single dimensional rugby as individual game breakers but do NOT know how to attack TOGETHER as a unit COMBINED.. that is the difference in the approach.. its not down to any single player like either Grant or Duvenhage .. its the COMBINED mindset that is flawed as a NON working formula.. which does NOT work at higher stakes rugby.. and Coetsee has got NO clue whatsoever..
28 Jul 2012, 20:37 pm
@Robzim-367: There was a nic thief who used my nic but I am hanging up my boots this evening! Just on to greener pastures, no time to post, etc etc.
28 Jul 2012, 20:39 pm
I am done here. I try post something and its tell some to slow down and then I refresh it and it deletes the post
Keo fix the godam site or lose bloggers
Cheers all
Well done Sharks
@Robzim-367: Come on Rob,
Why should Spooner retire from this site? I know why he said so, because just too many trouble makers. So many have left because of that. Spooner is here to stay. We all at sometime just have enough of the trolls. If us Sharkies go then what? All the Bulls supporters left.
Anyhow enough of that. Sharks were awesome. So pleased we won. A team playing the best rugby in our conference finally has got its award. So pleased about that.
Chad Le Clos just finished 5th in the 400m indiv medley final.
28 Jul 2012, 20:40 pm
@blueboy-369:
De Jongh was NEVER in the game because he is playing in the WRONG position at outside center.. should be a Combined effort of Grant together with De Jongh attacking advantage line and pick and drive off that.. Not hope and a prayer one on one individualism that wins rugby games today.. its COMBINED cohesive effort from players attacking together and NOT solo efforts like Stormers do at the breakdown and advantage line..
@wooden spoon-372: Kak man. It was you who said you were retiring but might be back if the Sharks won. Let’s be honest here.
Truth if the matter is sharks got 4 outright worldchamp gamebreakers – but those 4 carry the sharks who could not survive like stormers have with all their injuries. Put vermeulen in and move bekker to center and stop tge kickchase kak and attack tge gainline – and stormers a far superior team which is why they were unbeaten at newlands before this game
28 Jul 2012, 20:41 pm
@fitz1ella-371: So you say. Bitter again about some players you just don’t rate hey? If we had those two players we JUST may have scored more tries. Who knows we just may have.
Anyhow we in the final that all that counts right now.
28 Jul 2012, 20:42 pm
@kaksioek-377: and thats exactly what I said. Read it again.
28 Jul 2012, 20:43 pm
@fitz1ella-371: You are wrong about Lambie and Jordaan just as you were wrong about the Stormers beating the Sharks and how you have been wrong about the Sharks the whole year.
And stop saying the Sharks tries were “lucky” just because you, as a Stormers fan, aren’t used to seeing tries being scored.
Show a little class.
28 Jul 2012, 20:44 pm
Freddy IMercury) Michalak’s song for our Springbok captain: The Great Defender.
@wooden spoon-148: No, we have won 1 and lost 2 home semis.
I hope the Sharks can finally win a Super final again; you guys have played in enough.
@wooden spoon-380: Whatever, dude. You tried to imply someone else said you were leaving the site.
28 Jul 2012, 20:45 pm
@cab-378: Cabbie,
Come on you better than that boet. Sharks had plenty injuries at the start bru. We finally got our players back late in the tourney. AND it showed. WE a damn awesome side when we have them all back and especially if we play to our own game plan. WHICH we really never did tonight, but we won anyhow.
Sharks have most of the Boks bud and we are still in it for another week. Hope we end it with a win. Then this would be the best Sharks team ever.
Okay out of here.
Cheers everyone.
SHARKS FOREVER!
28 Jul 2012, 20:46 pm
@kaksioek-384: **** off twat. You’re being a clever **** and you’re wrong. Read my post again.
I said it, I am going to do it, someone (Grant 100) used my nic after that, now **** off.
@Michael-383: sorry dude – you have lost 3 home semis – Highlanders, Crusaders and Sharks.
28 Jul 2012, 20:47 pm
Beast was gdam collosal today – sharks actually benefitting from his layoff and maybe deysel as well. Who knows maybe … Surely not – my head says chiefs to win by 40 but sharks got nothing to lose – bok rugby probably fkd this year for 4n and here I was thinking we wud beat tge ABs – keep dreaming..
28 Jul 2012, 20:48 pm
@cab-378: What a crock of horse manure…
28 Jul 2012, 20:49 pm
@kaksioek-377: So what boet. Leave Spooner alone man, really there are so many that attack us Shark Supporters all of the time. Some just have had enough. I really don’t want Spooner to leave, he has been blogging here for a very, very long time. Probably before you or I. Sharkies should stick together bud. Just leave it okay. Spooner is here to stay.
Okay out of here now.
Catch up tomorrow or during the week.
Sharkssssssssssssssssssssssss…
28 Jul 2012, 20:49 pm
@fitz1ella-376: Jirre maar jy moan soos ‘n ou vrou met ‘n nat pantie jong….
@cab-378: Fact is the Stormers are chokers deluxe. Add the Hulk, Superman and Captain America to their lineup and they would still see their backsides. You sound a bit sour hey ?
28 Jul 2012, 20:50 pm
@Michael-383: There was also the famous Highlanders semi…
28 Jul 2012, 20:51 pm
That’s true Pumes sharks had plenty of injuries but they lost – stormers leroy winning which is my point -despite having their entire backrow decimated (vermeulen, schalk, koster, carr with season-long injuries) and reserves decimated as well as bekker
@Puma-389: cheers Puma. I did “retire” and I’m going to! Enjoy the final boet!
Kaksioek has simply misread my post above, don’t worry about the guy!
@wooden spoon-386: Any time you’re ready bud. Any time at all … You just let us know when you’re ready to leave.
28 Jul 2012, 20:52 pm
@cab-392: Stormers lost the one game that mattered. Nothing more to be said really.
@cab-387: Why ? Don’t worry, Meyer has a whole list of justifications now why he shoudlnt pick Stormers players so we’ll be ok. WP might do well in the Currie Cup.
Just before I go.
Yes we can finally puff our fists up with pride.
WE ARE WHITE WE ARE DYNAMITE ……. SHARKS FOREVER!!!
So very, very proud to be a Sharks Supporter tonight. Well done to all the players. Travel safe to Hamilton boys. Checked the weather earlier today and it will be all clear for next week.
Okay out of here.
Cheers everyone.
SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
28 Jul 2012, 20:53 pm
@kaksioek-394:
Don’t get all aggro on the crowd just because you’re a thicko who can’t read properly!
28 Jul 2012, 20:53 pm
Stormers had the beating of Sharks but didn’t know how to put it together.. basically Stormers coaching is way behind and their psychology is kaput.. they lose before they even run on the field.. [playing catch up rugby is exactly that.. playing catch up.. which is NOT winning rugby…
Next week you see what winning rugby is about.. its ATTACKING rugby.. NOT defensive rugby.. winning rugby is attack mode rugby..and that is how rugby competitions should be won…
cab is correct.. SA’s best hope was Stormers winning .. but between Coetsee not knowing how to win.. and Walsh secretly orchestrating a NZ final.. its now a 75 – 25 chance that Chiefs take it.. which they deserve to do. because 2 of their last round robin games were fixed by TMO at the death…
28 Jul 2012, 20:54 pm
Dusky – yip I was sour when sharks lost in 07 and now that stormers lost in 2012
I don’t think it’s right that a side who slips into 6th place is a deserved champion.
Call me old-fashioned
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 … 18 » Show All