Super Rugby preview – Semi-finals
28 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI and RYAN VREDE analyse the key match-ups and pick the winners at the weekend.
Both Vrede and JC are calling an away win in New Zealand and a home victory in the South African derby. The Crusaders’ should improve on what is an intimidating play-off record, and we’re sure that not many punters will disagree with that assumption.
The coastal clash at Newlands should be more tightly contested, although it is the Stormers who should win through and host the final at the same venue next week.
KEO.CO.ZA SUCCESS RATE
VREDE: 88/122 (72%)
JC: 91/122 (75%)
CHIEFS vs CRUSADERS, HAMILTON, FRIDAY 09:35
HOW CHIEFS CAN MAKE THE FINAL:
VREDE: The Chiefs were bested physically on attack and defence the last time these sides met in Hamilton, and they’ll have to improve significantly if they hope to oust the tournament’s play-off kings. They’ve selected their most abrasive pack to duel the Saders’ bruisers, who comprehensively out-muscled the Bulls’ heavies last week. There is significant beef and industry among their forwards, but they will have to produce their best, most cohesive and sustained effort in set (they were awful at the lineout when last they met) and general play to overcome their more refined counterparts. In this regard they’ll benefit from the absence of Kieran Read, who was immense in the aforementioned contest.
They must force the Saders to run from deep, or pressure their clearing kicks in a bid to force broken field situations. Pressing, accurate defence is essential. In general play, their backline’s success has been facilitated by the pack’s strength, and if the big fellas get a roll on, flyhalf Aaron Cruden has the ability to expertly conduct affairs. His eye for vulnerabilities in a defensive line is well known, but he has added impressive and intelligent distribution and a solid tactical and goal kicking game to his armoury. His defence hasn’t lacked either but he must brace for his sternest examination. Outside of him, Sonny Bill Williams will want a statement performance. His temperament is unquestionable, masterclasses in last year’s semi-final and final testament to that. Whether they are able to engineer the time and space for Williams and others on his outside will be decisive to the outcome.
JC: New Zealand writer Marc Hinton got it right when he referred to the Chiefs as Super Rugby’s ‘Moneyball Men’. There are few superstars in this squad, and the team that fronts the Crusaders will be more than just the sum of its parts. They do the basics very well, and what will help their forwards is that they’ve enjoyed a respite of two weeks while the Crusaders’ pack have just battled the Bulls. If their forwards can make an early physical statement, then Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Cruden and Sonny Bill Williams should make inroads into the Crusaders defence. I’ve always felt that Crusaders midfield is vulnerable, ever since Williams defected to the Chiefs, and Ryan Crotty and Robbie Fruean will struggle this Friday if the Chiefs’ inside backs receive front-foot ball. The Chiefs’ underrated forwards hold the key to success, as without a platform, their star-studded backline will battle to breach the visiting defence.
WHY THE CRUSADERS ARE A GOOD BET:
VREDE: Their vastly superior experience is key. The bulk of the Saders players have been through the mincer and have the mental aptitude for the big occasion, which cannot be said about the Chiefs. There is an incredible understanding of the game plan and roles within that game plan, with Dan Carter the fulcrum of their attack. He has steadily risen in influence since his return from injury and was impeccable against the Bulls in the quarters. He and Richie McCaw set the standard which others then pursue. They’ll do so once more to guide their side to the final.
JC: I have been waiting for the Crusaders to be exposed in the back row, but McCaw has surprised me with some masterful performances at No 8, and as a combination the loose trio has been effective against some of the more physical teams in the competition. Their tight five was massively influential in the demolition of the Bulls, and I suspect those five men will be at the heart of yet another play-off victory. Apart from their set-piece superiority, the Crusaders are the kings when it comes to the collisions, and to top it all, they are more than proficient in the dark arts of breakdown play. All in all, they’re a powerful and tactically astute team. I can’t see the Chiefs outplaying the Crusaders in a tactical arm-wrestle. The bad news for the Chiefs is that Carter’s radar is finally working after an early season malfunction, and I expect him to nail every kickable opportunity on offer.
VREDE’S CALL: Crusaders by 5
JC’s CALL: Crusaders by 8
Chiefs – 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Subs: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Jackson Willison, 22 Lelia Masaga.
Crusaders – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Adam Whitelock, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Richie McCaw (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Subs: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Owen Franks, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 Luke Whitelock, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Tom Taylor, 22 Sean Maitland.
STORMERS vs SHARKS, CAPE TOWN, SATURDAY 17:05
HOW THE STORMERS CAN WIN:
VREDE: Everything rests on their kick-chase tactics and pressure defence. When allowed to settle into their groove, the Stormers have systematically and clinically suffocated their opponents, pinning them in their territory and forcing them to take risks. From there they’ve forced infringements and consistently profited from Peter Grant’s goal-kicking accuracy (30/31 penalties).
In these sides’ previous meetings this season, the Stormers failed to impose their will. This was primarily due to being forced to execute their game plan without a platform to do so, given the Sharks’ immense physicality in defence. Their primary strike runners must front against a defensive unit with the personnel to bully them if their confidence is fuelled. The Stormers haven’t exhibited the capacity to transition between approaches which makes it essential that their preferred method is on point. They also need to overcome what appears to be a propensity for mental freezes in knockout matches in front of their home supporters. They must be favourites, particularly since the Sharks have had a taxing travel schedule and demanding clash with the Reds. A fold, like the one against the Crusaders at this stage last year, would have serious implications for their psyche in knockout matches going forward.
JC: I’ve said it more than once over the past couple of weeks, and I’ll say it again; it’s incredible that the Stormers have come this far given the injury setbacks they’ve suffered over the course of the season. But that statement should not be misread as an excuse or a precursor to another play-off loss. The Stormers have coped admirably and their second- and third-choice players have made a stunning impact. What’s been particularly impressive about this side is the way that they have stuck to the plan, and managed to guts out some ugly wins. It will surely stand them in good stead for what will be another brutally physical encounter, and immense battle of wills. In the black and white corner is a side stacked with Springboks, but the Stormers have the more settled unit that has proven itself capable of outbullying even the most hard-nosed teams. Expect more rolling mauls and a collective refusal to concede to a defensive inch.
They should be able to hold their own at the collisions, and it is that 9-10-12 combination that should give them a much needed edge. Grant may not boast the greatest line-kicking game, but his temperament in front of goal has allowed the Stormers to win some tight clashes, and one that stands out was the 15-12 victory over the Sharks at Newlands this year. Jean de Villiers has a big responsibility not only as a leader, but as a midfielder capable of winning the collisions in midfield. It would have been a more interesting battle had Frans Steyn been eligible for this clash, but Meyer Bosman is short on confidence, and has been dominated by De Villiers in previous clashes. In recent years, De Villiers has proven himself to be a big-match player, and I expect he will take his game to another level this Saturday.
WHY THE SHARKS SHOULDN’T BE DISCOUNTED:
VREDE: They are one of the few teams with the tactical intelligence, calibre of players and defensive punch and discipline to beat the Stormers. They showed this at Newlands early in the campaign (a 15-12 defeat) and more recently in their 25-20 victory at Kings Park in May. Their response to the Stormers’ barrage of kicks was superb, which ensured they weren’t trapped deep in their territory for extended periods.
Furthermore, they were devastating with ball in hand, consistently crossing the gainline, which was central to their ability to score three tries. The responsibility for unsettling the Stormers’ defensive line in this manner once more will rest primarily with Willem Alberts, Bismarck du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira and Marcell Coetzee. Their halfback pair of Charl McLeod and Frederic Michalak have shown themselves to be adept at playing for territory, taking on the line, or setting the back division in motion – giving the Sharks an air of unpredictability. They’ll miss Pat Lambie and Paul Jordaan though, the duo possessing a skills range their deputies can’t boast. Still, they do have the white-hot JP Pietersen, who will be a threat if offered space and time to plot their demise.
JC: Nobody should discount the draining effects of travel. Taking this into account, the Sharks should look to replicate their most recent performance in Brisbane, and pile on the points in the first half. They will tire in the second stanza, and if the scoreline is still tight at that stage, the Stormers will be favourites to win. Indeed, the Stormers aren’t a side that’s enjoyed a great deal of success at chasing the game. If they’re well behind at half-time, they will be forced to change their game plan and play more expansively in an attempt to narrow the gap, and this will suit the Sharks. As seen last week, the Sharks are the masters in using turnover ball to score points. So if the Sharks enjoy a good first half, it will spell trouble for the Stormers.
Their scrum has been one of the best in the tournament, and will be favourites in this particular contest. They will want to use this platform to play the game at a lively tempo, and they certainly have the personnel to breach even the best defence. How the Stormers handle the surge after a Sharks scrum will be critical. Their defence has been excellent to date, but they must stall the Sharks’ momentum early in the movement. The Sharks will also be mindful of a tactic that has fractured the Stormers in the past: the tactical kick. A probe, grubber or even a high bomb could create scoring opportunities. It’s a big ask of Charl McLeod, who isn’t the most accurate kicker in the competition, and again the Sharks would have preferred to have had Steyn on board for this clash. But in Michalak, they have a wily international campaigner, and he represents the biggest danger and will ask the most questions of what is an impressive but not unbeatable Stormers defence.
VREDE’S CALL: Stormers by 7
JC’s CALL: Stormers by 6
Stormers – 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Deon Fourie, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Don Armand, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.
Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Odwa Ndungane, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

196 Comments
26 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
Dragons!!!
26 Jul 2012, 11:58 am
I’ve gone the same way with my picks. Both games though are 50/50 and def hard to pick a winner as so much depends on the start the teams make. The Chiefs are a try scoring team and can hurt you badly very quickly. If the Crusaders slow it down apply the strangle technique they should come out tops, or I hope they do. Stormers won’t let too many tries in and I think the Sharks will run out of steam after last weekend’s pure display. Sharks also don’t want to travel again do they? Surely it’s in the back of their minds? The outcome of the Saders Chiefs game will have an impact on the second game….looking forward to some cracking rugger!
26 Jul 2012, 12:00 pm
sharks bench lacking some backline depth. but jeez that forward pack is awesome.
26 Jul 2012, 12:01 pm
Pressure on the Sharks, overwhelming favourites if you go by posters here. They even have the backing of Mr “2 years” Whoopass – that is suppose to mean something right.
@XhosaKid-1: Aarg beat me to it
26 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
The Keo scribes have backed the Stormers – it’s in the bag!
26 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
i have bet on stormers by 12 or less, and chiefs by 12 or less.
26 Jul 2012, 12:15 pm
Yeah, Stormers to take it.
If Jordaan was fit, I would say the Sharks had a good shot, but Bosman kills our backline.
Stormers by 5-10.
Chiefs will beat the Saders.
26 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@heboric-4:
Pressure from bloggers hardly affects the actual team.
The VIBE in the whole of SA is that the Stormers should take it.
26 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
Both games super close, but I’m betting against both calls… Chiefs and Sharks in 2 humdingers!
26 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-8: All the expert are saying its a Crusader vs Sharks Final, even the guys on Reunion don’t give the Stormers a chance
26 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@NicG-9: Agree both games will be close. Think Saders will take the Chiefs though.
Sharks by 3 or 5
Saders by 5 or 7
26 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-8:
Really?
Not here in KZN that I can promise you that.
26 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
Saders all the way – our trophy cabinet is ready
26 Jul 2012, 12:31 pm
STORM SAAM
26 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@stew-13: And starting to get a bit dusty?
26 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@Puma-11: They’ve got the finals pedigree, but the Chiefs have had a totally different approach and attitude this year and they have players in key positions to take them over the line.
To be honest – i just hope they smash each other to hell and back in that game. the Sharks just have to keep the tempo up and if the really rock up then I don’t care how good the Stormers are on the day… The only niggle in my mind is that in game 2 of the season our kickers pinned the Stormers back and that allowed us to bully them a bit (the score was pretty flattering for them in the end). We now miss Lambie and FS in that dept. so territory may be a bit more even (Grant is rubbish out of hand, but Joe Pietersen has a very handy boot).
Go the Sharks!
26 Jul 2012, 12:34 pm
Both matches are too tough to call with any certainty. Can’t wait to watch these games!
26 Jul 2012, 12:38 pm
@NicG-16: Before I get ribbed by the stormers fans – you guys have had an awesome season (despite the borefest at times). This game’s result lies more with what the Sharks do though, as you guys are a known entity… whereas we have shown the full spectrum this season, sublime to abysmal (Read: Sharks V Bulls & Sharks V Reds as opposed to Sharks Lions). Let’s hope everyone stays injury free for the Boks.
Black & White!
26 Jul 2012, 12:51 pm
@NicG-16: Honestly Nic, the Bok laden Sharks should smash the unworthy Stormers.
All season we have heard how kak Brok, Tiaan, Bekker, Elstadt, Deon Fourie, Grant, Duvenage, Jean Div, Juan, Bryan and Gio are. (There have been kind words for Eben, Siya, Joe P, Steven K) but that’s it.
Heyneke Meyer seems to agree with you Sharks and Bulls fellows that the Stormers players are wayyyyyyyyyyyyy off the Bok mark, so why on earth are you Sharks even worrying?
Its BOK men vs 3 kak Boks, a few 20 year olds, 3 ‘jokes’ and a chap with a popgun boot.
Can the result be in ANY doubt?
26 Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
Someone else on this blog said it well: The semi in SA is the X factor versus the Zzzzz factor.
26 Jul 2012, 12:55 pm
Coin toss in both games.
Crusaders probably edge NZ game (form, big game temperament)
Stormers probably edge SA game (consistency, belief in game plan, home game, Sharks travel schedule).
But 1 moment of brilliance / inaccuracy can decide either encounter.
26 Jul 2012, 12:58 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-19:
26 Jul 2012, 12:58 pm
@kaksioek-20: what you talkin – you prefer the kick and hope rugby of SA … must admit far attractive and exciting – please !
26 Jul 2012, 12:59 pm
@kaksioek-20: Or in your case, the missing Y chromosone factor. As in “Y did your parents not rather watch TV that evening?”.
26 Jul 2012, 13:01 pm
@stew-13:
@Mongril-15:
when they put the VC cup in the Newlands trophy cabinet…
it collapsed like a mummies’ bones from non-use…
had to have another one made that actually had wood inside the coats of varnish…
26 Jul 2012, 13:02 pm
@Mongril-24:
26 Jul 2012, 13:05 pm
All I can say is that I’m going to have fun on Saturday, regardless of the score, I know we (The Sharks) are up against it, I would just like to see a game that the Ref doesn’t f@ ck up and this goes for both teams. Let the loser lose because they were beat, not because they we’re playing against Player 23. Steve Walsh caught on k@ k in our Round 2 game, and I don’t want to see that k@ k again. FFS I am gat vol of watching games that are won and lost by the poe pol in the middle. I honestly don’t know what to think. Sharks camp looks completely at ease and rested, even flying into Cape Town earlier. Stormers camp, is well rested too and also amped for the game. So I honestly have no idea who’s going to prevail. I have read every Rugby blog and as much as everyone wants to make predictions, we all know, the team that wins, is the team that shows up and is blessed with the kiss from lady luck. The bounce of the ball I say.
26 Jul 2012, 13:07 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-19: Jeez, you’re jaded man (or deep down you really believe that). I’m a Sharks supporter through and through, so if I didn’t apply a bit of heart over head there would be a problem.
I haven’t mocked the Stormers – go back and read my post fully. If I offended you by calling the Stormers boring, then stop being so sensitive, for the most part they have been…
Go through the starting teams and tick off man-for-man how many players from either side would make 1 team from the 2. If your weighting is Stormers biased then your heart may also cloud the ‘head’ call.
Good luck to the Stormers, it will take the best from the Sharks BUT that’s what I always expect.
SHARKS FOREVER!
26 Jul 2012, 13:13 pm
@WP Till I Die-22: BOOMBOXBABY
Watch how Sharks fans start wriggling and falling back on D when one starts looking at this game logically. Logic says: The Boks should beat the provincial team of pretenders. Yet they aren’t prepared to admit to this?
So what does it say about the Sharks and the Boks if the Stormers win? I wonder if NicG will stick around to answer me.
BOOM FOREVER?
26 Jul 2012, 13:15 pm
@kaksioek-20: Nope, it’s the Bok factor vs those not deemed good enough to be Bok factors.
26 Jul 2012, 13:16 pm
The oods makers Ladbrokes already decided
Sharks odds to win 4:7
Stormerst to win: 7:5
Steve Walsh’s the Stormers most valuable man, he will deliver the Finals for them without too much controversy, in doing that he will have to control Jonker for not carried away with his calls
Only Pro Legota is missing
26 Jul 2012, 13:22 pm
@Puma-11:
Puma, the odds makers – you know, those who encourage people to put their money where their mouth is – give the Sharks 4:7 to win, Stormers 7:5 to win
Money talks, not much about rugby as Waynad Claassen once observed.
26 Jul 2012, 13:25 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-29:
POP goes the world!
26 Jul 2012, 13:28 pm
Stormers 10
Chiefs 3
26 Jul 2012, 13:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-29: Logic says the consistent Stormers (top of the log) and with the far easier route to finals (no travel), face a resurgent Sharks, who have travelled, re-jigged their backline and are away from home…
No need to answer you – if your team wins, then we haven’t rocked up or you played a blinder. the beauty of the competition is that almost anyone can win on any day. I just happen to think the Sharks will beat the Stormers. Deal with it!
26 Jul 2012, 13:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-19: Well put, that’s the really sentiment out there, probably why the Sharks have already booked their flight to NZ to face the Crusaders, Stormers have no chance
26 Jul 2012, 13:38 pm
stormers have no BMT….
Sharks are gonna bully them big style….sharks by 5
26 Jul 2012, 13:38 pm
@AssassinWP-14: Waantoe kakhuis toe?
26 Jul 2012, 13:43 pm
@stew-23: Whatcha talkin bout, Willis?
X factor = Sharks
Zzzzz factor = Stormers
The mighty Sharks will deal with you Kiwis the week after
26 Jul 2012, 13:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-30: Just admit it: Your team plays dire, scratch your eyeballs out anti-rugby.
26 Jul 2012, 13:45 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-19:
I like how you summed that up because that is in essence what many people on this blog have been saying all season about the Stormers. This game should be a friendly warmup for the Sharks en route to the final.
26 Jul 2012, 13:47 pm
Sharks: 12 international players in their starting line up. (11 Boks and 1 Frog). A few more Boks on the bench.The form team who can play total rugby. The best front row in SA and also the best back row. Their 8th man the “best Super rugby player in SA” according to Reunion. “The best wing in the world” in JPP according to their supporters. An in form fly half and a scrummy who is playing with confidence.
The only possible weakness they have is in the 2nd row and in the midfield.
Stormers: 8 Boks in the starting line up. A hooker playing at 8. A jellybaby at TH. A lock with a crocked back their go to man in the line outs. 3 forwards in their 1st year of senior rugby, still only 20/21 years old. No experience of play off rugby at senior level. A boring gameplan with a even more boring back line. An average scrumhalf and a flyhalf with a pop gun boot. Two selfish centres who don’t like to pass.A right wing past his sell by date and two midgets at left wing and full back.
They are just weak all over the park except for some individual brilliance here and there.
That is what some would have us believe but come Saturday, the weak one will once again moer the strong one.
All these Shark supporters reminding us how they dominated the Stormers in Durbs shy away from telling us that Stormers outscored them in the 2nd half, despite their so-called dominance throughout the match.They also don’t tell us when last they’ve won at Newland in Super rugby or CC.
26 Jul 2012, 13:55 pm
@nama1-42:
“3 forwards in their 1st year of senior rugby, still only 20/21 years old. No experience of play off rugby at senior level.”
3 forwards in their 1st year of senior rugby, still only 20/21 years old with no experience of play off rugby at senior level.
Before some people misinterpret what I’m trying to say and tell me that the Stormers played in play-off matches in 2010 and 2011.
26 Jul 2012, 13:56 pm
the team with the k@kkest quotas will lose … sorry J De Jongh you are the weakest link!
26 Jul 2012, 13:57 pm
@nama1-42: Nama if the sharks disrupt 35% of the Stormers posession they are moer toe.
Sharks has built up a nice momentum but I fear the travelling might start to take it’s toll. Sharks forwards outclass the Stormers completely on paper and I have been saying it for some time now, the so called old heads in the Stormers team will not have the ability to calm the youngsters down if the game becomes realy tight.
26 Jul 2012, 13:58 pm
@nama1-42: The Sharks last beat the Stormers at Newlands in 2009. So the Sharks are due a win there – Boom!
And if you really want to talk about the CC then the Sharks beat Problems there last year
26 Jul 2012, 14:01 pm
@grant10-44: Ooooo fok Mr Saturday night fever himself.
26 Jul 2012, 14:02 pm
@grant10-44: You sound fat, white, bitter and single.
26 Jul 2012, 14:04 pm
katman, nope boet, i don’t support the Lions !!
26 Jul 2012, 14:07 pm
@grant10-44: http://i.imgur.com/OWmdm.gif
26 Jul 2012, 14:10 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-45: @kaksioek-46:
Well, you guys are confident about your teams chances. Good to see.
Don’t like it when people say you are arrogant just believe your team will win because I strongly believe that the Stormers will beat the Sharks on Saturday. Not by a few but like last year with something like 20 points.
26 Jul 2012, 14:11 pm
I have went with Chiefs and Stormers to win, purely because that’s the final I’d like to see. But I could equally see a Crusaders vs Sharks final, or Chiefs vs Sharks or… or.. you get the idea.
Either way, I’m just glad there’s no Aussie teams still in the mix
26 Jul 2012, 14:12 pm
@nama1-51: 20 points – impressive, that’s a lot of penalty kicks.
26 Jul 2012, 14:18 pm
@kaksioek-53: Especially since the Stormers haven’t beaten any side this year by more than 15 points.
26 Jul 2012, 14:19 pm
@nama1-51: I am actually a Bulls man and I went Stormers by 6 on SB because of the Sharks travelling and the game is at Newland. Sharks has got the ability though to shift up a gear and then they become a whole different animal.
What all you clever Rugby guru’s forget is that if you dominate 1-5 with 1-3 in scrums its goodnight nurse.
The Strompies like the Bulls are weak in the scrums ,and with the potential of the best locks in competition , neither of their hookers can trow the ball in under pressure.
Yes the strompies have not missed their injured stars, why cause they don’t need any skills to tackle 80mins , all you need is commitment.
You need a flyhalve with a clever head to break the Strompies defence, the Frenchie could do that with Mc Cloud breaking around the phases.
Jp is in the best form of his life.
But the key for me is that the Sharkies pass the ball before/in contact , not like my Bulls that ran into the Strompies. Other teams that play like that, are Saders and Chiefs and we know that Saders beat Strompies and they did not play Chiefs….
@Tartan-52: I think you are right.
26 Jul 2012, 14:29 pm
Nowhere to hide saakies! Jean vs turnstile Bosman…
26 Jul 2012, 14:31 pm
@kaksioek-54:
Well, like you said earlier, they “are due” to beat a team by a big margin and also sue to score four tries.
26 Jul 2012, 14:34 pm
@nama1-59:
sue = due
26 Jul 2012, 14:34 pm
@nama1-59: i don’t know who Sue is, but it sounds like she is the attacking threat the Stormers have been missing the whole season
26 Jul 2012, 14:41 pm
@grant10-44:
He isn’t bad technically, he simply lacks size by 20kg and 10cm height
He is no more than 75kg in his shoes on, send him against SBW or Nonu can result in a ‘Basson’ type injury and that ain’t funny
26 Jul 2012, 14:42 pm
@kaksioek-61:
think Johnny Cash.
26 Jul 2012, 14:55 pm
@Slappes-58: You actually have to play, to achieve what you suggest , if you only tackle , this will not happen.
26 Jul 2012, 14:56 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-63: So he’s got gravel in his guts and spit in his eye – but was he signed before the April 1 transfer deadline?
26 Jul 2012, 14:59 pm
ooooooo……kak……’Everything rests of their kick chase tactics’ ?
Jissus Vrede……dont you get enough abuse ?
I really hope the Stormers use ‘kick and chase’ tactics. I really, really hope they do !
26 Jul 2012, 15:01 pm
@Tartan-52: Spot on Tartan. That is the final we want to see. I reckon the Stormers and Sharks contest will go down to the wire but I have put money on the Chiefs to win by 10+
26 Jul 2012, 15:04 pm
Yoh! So the Keo predictors are not giving the Sharks a win. Eish! Kiss of death isn’t it, or does that only work when Keo does the predictions.
26 Jul 2012, 15:06 pm
@rossoneri-68:
Yes, Keo has predicted the Sharks to take the win…
26 Jul 2012, 15:09 pm
@rossoneri-68: There you are. I asked your mate Transformation about you and he got all tearful like a little schoolyard girlie. You should say hello to him.
Vrede has an amazing ability to describe exactly how the Sharks win games, but just as an exact mirror image of what he says about how their opposition will win. Watch the Sharks win this using kick and chase rugby. In fact, the Sharks kick and chase rugby has been very effective. Little piekinien Joe Pietersen is going to get his memo with his namesake that weighs 20 odd kg more than him chasing down those up and unders all the time.
Remember what Vrede says – and if the Sharks win – come back and check. You will be amazed.
26 Jul 2012, 15:13 pm
@kaksioek-65:
26 Jul 2012, 15:14 pm
@WP Till I Die-69: Nope – he didn’t. Sorry buddy.
If the Sharks do win – come back and read Vrede’s summation of how the Stormers will win this game again. Its uncanny ! And he has done it twice before. Perfectly !
26 Jul 2012, 15:17 pm
@Dusky-70: all “tearful” you say
backyard breker…
26 Jul 2012, 15:19 pm
Isn’t it marvellous that even after all of O’Neill’s swaying, tampering, tweaking and influencing the Aussies still haven’t even managed to get a team as far as the semis?
26 Jul 2012, 15:20 pm
@Dusky-72:
“44.keo:
26 Jul 2012, 09:07 am
So Stormers have 2 days left in comp and then Sharkies are back off to NZ”
26 Jul 2012, 15:21 pm
@Transformation-73: Ja….it seemed like you had a little wobbly…..Rosso break your heart ? Or….perhaps Rosso is you ?
26 Jul 2012, 15:27 pm
@WP Till I Die-75: That’s keo ? We are talking RYAN VREDE here chap….that’s the important part. He is a savant at predicting exactly how the Sharks win. Especially and strangely enough – only when he predicts an opposition win.
Read his prediction above….now you know exactly how the Sharks will win this game. Just substitute Sharks for Stormers. Here, I will do it for you;
‘Everything rests on their kick-chase tactics and pressure defence. When allowed to settle into their groove, the Sharks have systematically and clinically suffocated their opponents, pinning them in their territory and forcing them to take risks. From there they’ve forced infringements and consistently profited from Fred Michalak’s goal-kicking accuracy (82%)’
There you have it.
26 Jul 2012, 15:31 pm
@WP Till I Die-75: Sorry – that is not really accurate. Wait, let me change it a bit -
‘Everything rests on their kick-chase tactics and pressure defence. When allowed to settle into their groove, the Sharks have systematically and clinically suffocated their opponents, pinning them in their territory and forcing them to take risks. From there they’ve forced infringements and consistently profited by scoring 27 tries in the tournament (11 in their last 3 games) which is 19 more than the Stormers.’
That sounds much better now.
26 Jul 2012, 15:46 pm
@Dusky-76: hahahaha
26 Jul 2012, 15:48 pm
@Dusky-77: Actually WP was talking about Keo, so was Rossi who he was responding to.
Who, as WP pointed out, has backed the Sharks for this weekend.
Don’t jump the gun.
26 Jul 2012, 15:48 pm
Kolisi Man of the Match Stormers by 10
26 Jul 2012, 15:49 pm
@Transformation-79: Who is this dude?
Subconsciously shifting him into the Fern and HG category…
26 Jul 2012, 15:51 pm
@AssassinWP-81: I like.
26 Jul 2012, 16:00 pm
@Bagel-80: I see now – my apologies.
26 Jul 2012, 16:04 pm
@Bagel-82: Dusky is alright he is just exuberant that’s all…it’s all the steroids he takes to be buff for MMA… don’t get on his wrong side though cos he is also know to invite bloggers to fist fights in mall parking lots as he claims to be an MMA brekgat
26 Jul 2012, 16:04 pm
@Transformation-79: You do realize that portraying two separate personalities, especially if they are different sexes…..ticks off a big box in the ‘mental illness’ checklist ?
26 Jul 2012, 16:06 pm
@Transformation-85: Booo hooo little Transie. Are you sad because I haven’t invited you yet ? Do you want a fist fight in a parking lot ? Problem with me moering you, is I will most likely end up in prison.
26 Jul 2012, 16:08 pm
@Dusky-87: Nothing quite as pathetic as threatening someone over the internet… Real tough behind that keyboard hey?
Compensating for something perhaps?
26 Jul 2012, 16:14 pm
@Dusky-87: lol “little”?
26 Jul 2012, 16:15 pm
@kaksioek-61:
Hahaha…we don’t always know what some of these rugby players are up to when no one is watching.
Hoover apparently loved to dress up, if you get my drift.
26 Jul 2012, 16:16 pm
@Bagel-88: Hey, I have offered to meet up. Gaylord even offered me a tattoo, but suddenly became all coy when I tried to set up an appointment.
I have told everyone here that I am actually a 48kg IT nerd – that has played Tekken a few times and now I think I am a MMA fighter. I admitted to that – so nothing to worry about. And I think that might be a bit more pathetic than threatening someone over the internet – but what is even more pathetic than that is Transie claiming that I threatened anyone – and you eating it up like his little *****.
26 Jul 2012, 16:18 pm
@Dusky-87:
And you will meet Frontendloader, Transies 350 pound Zulu brother in law with hands the size dinnerplates.
26 Jul 2012, 16:19 pm
@Transformation-89: Tell us Transie…..tell us…personally I think you’re a skinny little poefter with a big chip on your shoulder and a female side personality. Tell us how you are different from that.
26 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-92: Not worried. I am so unthreatening – they will feel bad beating me – even his fat Zulu brother in law.
If its Transvie, I doubt he knows someone called frontendloader. More likely backendloader.
26 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-92: He has gone in search of the thread now where I threatened someone. He’ll be back with 3 or 4 copy and pastes in just a moment.
26 Jul 2012, 16:29 pm
@Dusky-91: Oh sh y te. Here we go again…. Mr “Forget about your girlfriend and meet and me in the hotel room”.
You seem to be in Norway? How will you klap any of us? Or will it be a SKYPE takedown?
You are the finest interweb fighter ever.
26 Jul 2012, 16:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-96: I am in SA at the moment. I told you that gaylord, when you promised my tattoo. But I am only here for another 2 weeks. Still a chance for us to meet if you want.
26 Jul 2012, 16:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-96: And nobody is taking anyone down. How old are you ? 15 ?
26 Jul 2012, 16:37 pm
@Dusky-93: why would i try and counter your oobviously drug-fuelled wild imagination?
26 Jul 2012, 16:39 pm
@Transformation-99: Oooo…eish…marra I dont know….anyway, other than the fact that you have your female side personality you are extraordinarily boring. So – if you dont mind, I am going to run along now. As you have multiple personalities, I am sure you are able to talk to yourself too. So – enjoy your chat.
26 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
@Dusky-98: Takedown, breakdown, shakedown. 13, pigeon chested, size 4 shoe. Easy pickings for tough guys unfortunately.
26 Jul 2012, 16:51 pm
Anybody who can help me out here, it will be appreciated.
Distances between:
George – Port Alfred
Port Alfred – Port St John
Port St John – Durban
Busy putting a holiday package together driving along the coast from Port Nolloth to Durbs. Internet is playing up and I’m struggling to access Google earth.
Thanks in advance.
26 Jul 2012, 16:55 pm
@Transformation-99: Now I am on drugs as well. You heard someone say that, and now you repeat it.
So I reckon I am going to perpetuate things about you too on this blog. If I say or refer to it enough times, like you have done about me – people will start to believe it too. Lets see what you think about that.
Ey Transvie ?
26 Jul 2012, 16:56 pm
@nama1-102: **** me – are you Transie as well ? So, Transie is now 3 people on here ? Oh my word….
26 Jul 2012, 16:58 pm
@Dusky-103: knock yourself out…
now i own you too tl tl tl
26 Jul 2012, 16:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-101: Wait man – I am uncovering something here. Transie, Rosso and Nama…..all the same oke.
And I reckon I know who Nama is…..so, by logical deduction…..
26 Jul 2012, 17:00 pm
@Transformation-105: If you think so dimwit.
26 Jul 2012, 17:03 pm
@Transformation-105: Tell me does your boss know you come talk kak on here to clients of the company you work for ?
26 Jul 2012, 17:28 pm
@Dusky-106:
You reckon you know who I am?
Enlighten me, my good man.
26 Jul 2012, 17:28 pm
@nama1-102:
George-Port Alfred 474km
Port St John-Durban 271
I used one of the Map distance calculators, but PA to PstJ kept bombing!!
26 Jul 2012, 17:34 pm
@nama1-102:
Port Alfred to Port St John between 380 to 413 km depending on route.
26 Jul 2012, 17:35 pm
@nama1-109: hmmmm……..
26 Jul 2012, 17:37 pm
@nama1-109: Did you know that Transformation has several alter egos. Not just on this blog, but on multiple others on the internet including sharksworld.co.za ?
He is at least 3 different names on here. One of them female.
Did you know that ?
26 Jul 2012, 17:54 pm
@David-110:
Thanks David.
So many discrepencies, depending where you look.
I have so far found the following also:
George – Port Alfred – 415km
Port Alfred – port St John – 361km
Port St John – Durban – 271km
According to the map I am using, the distance between Cape Town and Durban is 1712km. Now if you add the distance between Cape Town and George (432km)to those that I have above, the sum does not add up.
That was why I turned to somebody on here for help. Maybe here is somebody who travel that road regularly and will know it off the cuff.
26 Jul 2012, 17:59 pm
@Dusky-113:
Well, you don’t have proof of that, do you?
From what I understand Transie has met quite a few of the bloggers he “met” on here, in real life. Even invited G10 and JR to stay over at his possie when the All Blacks played in PE last year. Do you really think that a trol would be inclined to meet up with a fellow blogger in real life?
I don’t think so.
26 Jul 2012, 18:11 pm
@nama1-115: He’s not a troll. I didnt say that. He just has multiple names.
@nama1-114: You need to know it to the kilometer ? Ask someone with a GPS to check for you.
26 Jul 2012, 18:16 pm
@Dusky-113:
> He is at least 3 different names on here. One of them female.
I’ve always though Transie was a young gym-dwelling Xhosa warrior
Now Dusky said he’s RuPaul doing impromptu Donna Summer impressions
26 Jul 2012, 18:23 pm
I’ll take three Transformation personas over one Dusky any day.
26 Jul 2012, 18:26 pm
@kaksioek-118:
With the multi nics he/she/they can change his name to “The Transformers”
26 Jul 2012, 18:30 pm
@victoriabok-119: I think Dusky is talking out of his ***, actually. Transie may have other nics, but I doubt nama1 is one of them.
26 Jul 2012, 18:32 pm
@kaksioek-120:
Transie’s a good guy
Does he work for Keo, pushing up visitor numbers to the site?
26 Jul 2012, 18:34 pm
@victoriabok-119: Which is exactly why he has that nic.
@victoriabok-121: Who knows? All I know is that he is less annoying than Dusky – and that’s enough for me.
@kaksioek-118: Ahhhh….that’s sweet. Which one do you prefer ? His male or female personas ?
26 Jul 2012, 18:37 pm
@Dusky-124: I like the imaginary one where he’s your mother, having you aborted.
26 Jul 2012, 18:48 pm
And Dusty is actually also Dawn.
26 Jul 2012, 18:51 pm
@David-110: @Dusky-116:
I’m sorted.
Thanks guys.
26 Jul 2012, 18:54 pm
@kaksioek-120:
I can guarantee you that I am not.
He is trying to sound like baasspeurder Faber. Not doing a good job of it.
26 Jul 2012, 18:55 pm
@nama1-127:
You’re from Calgary if I recall correctly?
26 Jul 2012, 19:01 pm
@nama1-127:
Enjoy the trip. I’ve travelled various parts of your route at different times. Although not in one go. The old Transkei is the most interesting, as opposed to just scenic, with what appears to be idyllic picture postcard villages in the valleys the epitome of heart breaking poverty.
Also, if you travel the dirt roads beware of goat herds and mad drivers in the opposite direction.
26 Jul 2012, 19:03 pm
@kaksioek-125: Sick dude….very sick….
26 Jul 2012, 19:35 pm
Dusky have you gone stark raving mad
26 Jul 2012, 19:42 pm
@Dawn-132:
Too much Lutefisk would do that to you
26 Jul 2012, 19:44 pm
Heeltemaal bevok
26 Jul 2012, 20:00 pm
@Dawn-134:
Hallo Dawn, hoe gaan dit?
26 Jul 2012, 20:30 pm
The Stormers fans haven’t been this nervous about a semi since they watched Brokeback Mountain
26 Jul 2012, 20:44 pm
@nama1-115: thanks nama…it’s amazing how far some of these characters will go to get sone traction
you’re quite right, i’ve met grant, jr, robzim, dawn, xhosakid – we grew up in the same neighbourhood.
dusky is desperate & thus unstable but it is to be expected considering it is thursday & saturday is D-Day
26 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
@shark4life-136:
26 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
How does every thread, without fail, manage to degenerate after the 100th post away from Rugby??
26 Jul 2012, 21:13 pm
@Papoose-139: Perhaps rugby is really only about a 100 posts interesting?
Or perhaps these articles tend to rehash the same topic over and over, and any relevant discussion has long since been exhausted.
26 Jul 2012, 21:15 pm
@Papoose-139:
I agree.
There’s only so much you can say about the Stormers.
No one is really interested in what happens with the Sharks or the Bulls.
So minds do tend to wander.
26 Jul 2012, 21:48 pm
@nama1-102: Hey Nama, distances can be deceiving. George to PA fairly easy but depends after PE can be slow depending on route. PA to PSJ is slow – narrow roads, no fences, up & down in parts. PSJ to Durbs v quick once you pass Marina Beach. Time of day/night also affects time. Gotta be mellow & enjoy the scenery, wave to Tata Madiba when you pass his possie ???? Beautiful part of the world, stay over where u can
26 Jul 2012, 22:24 pm
@nama1-128: hi nama.
i dont think durbs-port st johns at 271 kms is accurate at all but if it is, be aware that its at least a 4 hr 30 min drive depending on how quick or slow you are going.
the road has really improved over the last ten years but watch out for the busses and taxis, they have no regard for the rules of the road as we know them.
try not to travel after dark in the kei, especially in winter as domestic animals seek the warmth of the tar after dark and can be a real hazard.
beautiful drive though, enjoyh and drive safe.
26 Jul 2012, 23:20 pm
got nothing to do with kick-chase, grant is not a kicker, they play kick-chase and they will lose, they have a dynamic pack that can go longer and harder than most others (starting to sound like that corn pornopenis ad thats on this site), and that is how they will win with grant and de jong hitting it up flat and taking it to them – defend and they will lose. they gotta get the momentum – thats the key, give it to the sharks and kiss your *** bye bye.
26 Jul 2012, 23:35 pm
puhlease trrransie is a contentious-git-twat-troll.
contrntious-argumentative-palooka-of-note.
:smileyfortrrrransie:
27 Jul 2012, 00:48 am
Nice sunny Winters day here in Aotearoa and expecting good conditions for tonights game in Kirikiriroa (Hamilton). Therefore if Chiefs can get parity at set piece time, they will win and win convincingly by 14.
27 Jul 2012, 05:03 am
Nice sunny day here in new Zealand as well
27 Jul 2012, 06:40 am
Nice sunny day here in Pretoria as well.
Sun almost up!!!
27 Jul 2012, 06:51 am
@Gumboots-148:
Ja it was actaully raining a little while ago here in Brisbane…
I don’t think our weather is going to affect the two games though!
27 Jul 2012, 06:53 am
@Slartibartfast-149:
Who you think is going to take the game tonight?
27 Jul 2012, 07:00 am
@Te Rangatira-150:
Just posted on the other side about the odds TR, I don’t get it. I think it will be a tight affair with home ground swinging it towards the Chiefs. I understand the Chiefs had a horrid run in their final few games but the last two the ref had a massive impact. Game against the Saders should have been a draw at the very least so I think they are underestimated.
I was listening to the boys talking on the Rugby Club last night and they looked very focussed and said all the right things. I put my few pennies on the Chiefs to win by 8.
27 Jul 2012, 07:01 am
Chiefs for me Te Rangi, or at least I hope so, they deserve it!
27 Jul 2012, 07:03 am
@Slartibartfast-149:
Seems like the weather is good in CT as well…
Good morning chaps!!!
27 Jul 2012, 07:03 am
@Slartibartfast-151:
I hope the Chiefs win! A trip to Newlands will be great!
27 Jul 2012, 07:05 am
@Slartibartfast-151:
Yep. Money well spent. Chiefs Victory is on the cards.
@whatever-152:
Yep again, want to see that Crusaders frontrow crushed and debilitated.
27 Jul 2012, 07:08 am
@Te Rangatira-155:
Kia ora! Yes a Chiefs win would be great Te Ranga
27 Jul 2012, 07:11 am
@Gumboots-156:
Kia ora Boots, a Chiefs win tonight will do wonders for the competition as a whole, need some new blood.
27 Jul 2012, 07:19 am
The puzzle to break was whom did SARU instruct Joubert to get to win?
Carter knows too well how to win at Newlands, the physicality of the PIs dominated Chiefs might be far too much for the Stormers to handle, think SBW vs De Jongh
The wagers are in line with the odd makers’ choice: the Chiefs by 7 points
27 Jul 2012, 07:23 am
@Te Rangatira-157:
some new blood to take out the comp, be it Chiefs,Stormers or Sharks……sharing the love.
27 Jul 2012, 07:38 am
@Te Rangatira-159:
I go with that, different Chiefs and Stormers teams from prior years. I had the Chiefs as overall winners but not if they travl to cApe Town.
27 Jul 2012, 07:38 am
Hondo, how is the physicality of “PI’s” any different to anyone else ?
27 Jul 2012, 08:02 am
Chiefs and Sharks.
Chiefs won the 1st game against Saders and lost the last one due to a SBW brainfart.
Sharks lost with a depleted team in CT by a late Popgun penalty, and comprehensively outplayed them in Dbn, albeit a fairly depleted Stormers team as well.
SInce then the Sharks have showed great form and if they play the way they did against the Reds it should be theirs.
Will they be able to get for a final in NZ? May be a bridge too far but a tremendous achievement if they do.
27 Jul 2012, 08:03 am
@whatever-161: PI vs PDI ?
27 Jul 2012, 08:06 am
Saders by 8 – ready for some kick a*s*s forward domination …. SBW who ?
27 Jul 2012, 08:18 am
@trupisero-162:
Well, you might be right , but according to Ross Tucker the Sharks will have to be 8- 10 points better than the Stormers on Saturday in order to beat them (hometown and travel) . If they are therefore 7 points better it will not be enough as they will start with a 8-10 points “defecit”.
IMO the Stormers are about 2 points better than the Sharks in general and if I add Ross’s 8-10 points and build in a safety factor of say 30% I reckon the Stormers will win by 7.
It’s so straight forward…. let’s get the champagne
27 Jul 2012, 08:21 am
@whatever-161:
It called ‘coconut tackles’
ever heard of it?
27 Jul 2012, 08:22 am
@Robzim-165:
As far as the other match is concerned the Chiefs will only have a head start of 5 points (only hometown advantage as travel does not play a role) but as I reckon the Saders are about 10 points better than them on any given day (like today) the saders should win this match by about 5.
27 Jul 2012, 08:24 am
@Robzim-165: hahahahaha……its going to be war out there, who will be left standing after 80 mins (or even longer)?
Sharks need to be ahead by 8-10 at the break methinks. Clearly going for a forward dominated battle. Lets hope the penalty count is somewhat less than against the Reds.
27 Jul 2012, 08:25 am
@trupisero-162:
Sharks travelled all the way from Brisbane, Stormers going to bore them to sleep and then score a surprise try
Stormers by 7.
27 Jul 2012, 08:26 am
anyone but that filthy team of cheap shot cheats.
27 Jul 2012, 08:27 am
OK I admit, I made up the bit about the Stormers scoring a try, they will win by 2 penalties…
27 Jul 2012, 08:27 am
The Stormers’ only chance of beating any team is to bore them to death. All hail the log-topping Zzzz factor.
27 Jul 2012, 08:29 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-170:
Err you will have to be more specific…
27 Jul 2012, 08:29 am
@Slartibartfast-171: U on form again today, I see!
27 Jul 2012, 08:31 am
@BrumbiesBoy-174:
Only the truth from me
27 Jul 2012, 08:40 am
@kaksioek-172:
i have actually found it quite engaging and very compelling watching the stormers this season. most of their games have been helluva arm wrestles with scorelines that could’ve gone either way for the teams involved.
yes, a few more tries would make it that much better but this is more than compensated for by the looming question of whether their defense will hold the opposition out as the clock ticks away and the teams under siege just out from their try line.
think battle of stalingrad type grinding no inch surrendered struggles. this is just as entertaining as breath taking blitzkrieg length of the field breakout assaults.
27 Jul 2012, 08:41 am
@Slartibartfast-173:
you’re kidding, right?
27 Jul 2012, 08:43 am
just like bulls fans of the past, and boks fans who had to endure similar taunts after 2007 – I call it winning rugby. it is the losing fans who call it boring rugby. and i find winning more attractive and a lot less boring than losing personally. perhaps if stormers had a squad like the sharks they could afford to play a little more expansively. you gotta do the best with what you have got!
has any team ever had an 87% success rate after pool phase? 14 out of 16. that’s not boring in my opinion.
27 Jul 2012, 08:45 am
i’m worried about the mental state
of my friend grant10 if the stormers choke tomorrow and i reckon he’s not the only one who i need to be concerned about, a lot of the kaapies are freaked out about tomorrow hehehe…
27 Jul 2012, 08:48 am
F*&^%$#!?!! typing to fast…with one finger on each hand?! You kidding right? Time to pay up your account keo, this is going down the drain very quickly…
27 Jul 2012, 08:49 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-177:
Was saying that I was just puller yer socks….
27 Jul 2012, 08:52 am
@Slartibartfast-181:
oh i see
their reputations do, after all, precede them.
27 Jul 2012, 08:56 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-182:
Yip, on par with the ‘defencive’ blocking they set up at rucks and mauls…
27 Jul 2012, 09:08 am
@Transformation-179:
Don’t worry.
I’m sure Just Buggery will give him a consolation rub down.
Goodnight nurse.
27 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
@nama1-102:
George to Port Alfred is around 470km, nama. Nice drive on the N2, then turning off onto the R72 passing through Alexandria and Kenton-on-Sea. Good roads.
Port Alfred to Port St Johns is the stretch going through Transkei, as rangerman says, rather do this during the daytime due to the number of livestock. R72 to East London, then back onto the N2, into Transkei, at Umtata you take the R61 towards Port St Johns. This is a very pretty stretch, beautiful green rolling hills.
Port St Johns to Durban is about 360km, via the R61 and later back onto the N2.
27 Jul 2012, 10:13 am
Its amazing how statistics and history are abused to forward someone’s subjective viewpoint.
We hear about tries scored constantly yet the Stormers have the best win record and are unbeaten at home.
We are told that the Sharks have a better win record in semis yet they have never won a Super Rugby semi away from home.
Steve Walsh is in the Stormer’s pocket yet two years ago (not sure of the updated stats), the stormers had a record of one victory from 8 with Steve Walsh as a ref. He was the most hated referee for Newlands locals.
After the Stormers-Bulls game this year Craig Joubert hated the Bulls and lover the Stormers. I seem to remember a final a few years ago in Soweto where Craig Joubert was enemy number one down south. I don’t think any, but the most biased supporter would say he lost the Stormers the game, but he was no fan favourite by the end of the final whistle.
I may be a sometimeneutral, but I will admit that this weekend I am a Stormer to the core. It will be an epic clash, probably low scoring, but my heart and head say Stormers by a few points.
Fatigue, Stormers played valiantly against the Crusaders a few years back after doing a similar trip as the Sharks two weeks in a row. We were close and in it for the first 60, but with 20 minutes to go the last of the gas ran out.
The Sharks game rests primarily, in my opinion, on two factors. Whether they can bash the Stormers up front and build momentum and whether Michelak carries on playing as well as he has. This is semi rugby and the Stormers won’t hold back, that plus fatigue and the inevitability that Michelak won’t perform. This is a guy that hasn’t had more than three great games in a row in his life, he is now up to four already. Just don’t see him performing again especially with the pressure that a full house Newlands will bring. 9 from 9 at the end of the final whistle this week.
28 Jul 2012, 09:08 am
Many (not all but many) Sharks fans have told the Stormers fans week after week that the Stormers are useless. At the beginning of the season many (not all but many) Sharks fans told them that the Sharks would win the Super Trophy this year and that the Stormers would prop up the SA conference even the Lions would be better they told them. Many (not all but many) Sharks fans told them the Sharks were the best travelling team with the best travelling record and posted endless stats to prove their point that they had won more away games than the any other SA team. Even before the Sharks qualified many (not all but many) Sharks fans said the Sharks would qualify and go on to win the trophy and that the Stormers would lose their first play off.
The Sharks now are proving their fans right and they are the momentum team and have more Springboks than an other SA team and are playing brilliant allround rugby by contrast Stormers are lucky to be in the playoffs.
So what do many (not all but many) of the Sharks fans do and say? They suddenly get all coy and shy and ‘humble’ and ‘reasonable’ and say they are the underdogs? How disappointingly hypocritical. Where is the bravado they have beaten their chests with all season? If they meant what they have said during the season they can not possibly be being honest now.
Then you get this genius WoodenSpoon one of the most windgat of the Sharks fans who when some Stormers fans acknowledge the mountain the Stormers have to climb today gets angry with said fans, and then when some fans suggest in their own opinions that the Stormers will win it this WoodenSpoon gets angry at them for that too.
Seems this whining whinging WoodenSpoon character is so stressed and angst ridden and uptight and nervous that his pea brain is pinging around inside his cranium with the random instability of a superball bouncing in a urinal. This keyboard warrior is handling the pressure of playoff rugby with all the aplomb of a stutterer giving a speech to a group of ADD children.
To all the decent Sharks and Stormers fans on Keo.co.za this is your day may the best team on the day win. May the winning and losing fans accept the result with equal measures of goodsportmanship and dignity.
28 Jul 2012, 09:41 am
@SometimeNeutral-186: I stopped reading your long post at the 3rd sentence, because you lost all credibility by being highly inaccurate.
“We are told that the Sharks have a better win record in semis yet they have never won a Super Rugby semi away from home.”
WRONG!
And *whooooosh* just like that goes your entire credibility. No need to read the rest of your biased dribble.
28 Jul 2012, 09:45 am
“sometimeneutral” and “dirty harry” clearly the same biased and “not so neutral” bitter stompie.
Love how the Sharks carve a swathe of multinics through the Cape!
28 Jul 2012, 10:29 am
@wooden spoon-189:
Well I notice you did not question the veracity of my comments about you WoodenSpoon but then again it is impossible to deny the truth. You really are a feeble minded little man are you not. You need to get meds because paranoia is an ugly illness and leads to schizophrenic tendencies if you keep seeing agents and ‘multinics’ behind every keyboard you are such a joke your standard response when debated into a corner is ‘multinics’ like that excuses your stupidity.
There is a song by a band called Dope they wrote this for you. I see others posting songs so sing then when looking in the mirror in your ballet classes.
You say I’m paranoid
Isn’t that what you said
You say it’s my imagination
And I’m fucked in the head
P-p-p-paranoid
And it’s easy to see
Well is it really paranoia
Or is somebody after me
Is this going down
Or is it
Parafuckinnoia driving me insane
Parafuckinnoia ripping up my brain
Is it parafuckinnoia making me believe
It’s either parafuckinnoia
Or somebody’s after me
P-p-p-paranoid
And don’t believe what you hear
You say I’ve miscommunicated
And it’s all in the clear
Like a Polaroid
And it’s so easy to see
Well is it really paranoia
Or is somebody after me
Am I freaking out
Is this going down
Or is it
Or somebody’s after me
Parafuckinnoia
Somebody’s after me
Parafuckinnoia
Or somebody’s after me
I am off to bed to get up in time for the game but just remember my feeble minded pet psycho – I am watching you. So maybe you are not so paranoid after all.
:mockingsmileyfuckinface:
28 Jul 2012, 10:32 am
Whoops did I just uncover the mental issues?
Weirdo alert!
28 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
Dirty Harry, lol what nonsense. Say howzit to your mother for me.
28 Jul 2012, 13:23 pm
Eeish!
28 Jul 2012, 13:27 pm
STORMERS by 10
28 Jul 2012, 22:45 pm
What pathetic predictions again by the keo team. Couldn’t even pick one finals team.
30 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@nama1-51:
what a tonsil