Coetzee: Stormers have made strides
29 Jul 2012
Allister Coetzee has lamented a wasted opportunity following the Stormers’ semi-final exit but still considers the 2012 campaign a relative success.
The Cape side went into the play-offs with a 14 from 16 record, an unbeaten record at Newlands, and the South African conference title. It was a run of form that created an expectation, and it’s fair to say that the Stormers failed to live up to that expectation on Saturday.
In the game that mattered, the Stormers weren’t accurate enough on attack. They failed to take their chances in the first half, and were forced to play catch-up rugby in the second.
Saturday’s semi-final defeat is the Cape side’s fourth play-off loss in three seasons. It’s a damning record if you take it at face value, but as Coetzee has pointed out at various stages of the season, there have been some significant setbacks in 2012. In a way, it’s a surprise that the Stormers have got this far.
The Stormers played the Sharks on Saturday without Schalk Burger or Duane Vermeulen. Three players, namely prop Steven Kitshoff, openside flank Siya Kolisi and lock Eben Etzebeth were playing in their first knockout game. The Stormers’ injury situation at loose forward had also forced Coetzee to field Deon Fourie, a specialist hooker, at No 8.
Coetzee didn’t try to make excuses for Saturday’ performance. Indeed there were some unforgivable mistakes made by the Stormers, and not all of those were made by the rookies.
‘The Sharks put us under pressure, especially in the first half,’ said Coetzee. ‘We did not respond well. It’s very disappointing.
‘There were too many mistakes. Our kicking execution was poor and they did well to put our set piece under pressure. We struggled to get out of our own half.’
The Stormers coach wasn’t, however, completely displeased with the performance or the manner in which the team has conducted itself this season.
He conceded that it may be difficult for people to accept – and the Cape rugby public has been waiting since 2001 for a major title – but he doesn’t believe this side has underperformed.
‘If you take the emotion out of it, we are one of the three sides that have improved this season. The other two have been the Sharks and the Chiefs.
‘I think we’ve taken a big step in the right direction,’ he said. ‘It was a setback losing those players to injury, but then we did manage to win some close games throughout the season without them. I’m flipping proud that we were so close tonight, we almost forced it to go into extra time. We stood up to them physically and were never lacking for effort.
‘I know that at some franchises they won’t get that much criticism if they win just three games in a season, but the standards in Cape Town are very high. I respect that, and to all those fans out there, we are hurting just like you. But we will never stop fighting, we are going to get into a final and win that cup. We believe in this group and we will take a lesson from this.’
While Coetzee offered some perspective, captain Jean de Villiers was absolutely inconsolable. The Springbok centre produced one of the best performances of his Super Rugby career and still it wasn’t enough to help the Stormers progress to the final.
‘It’s a very tough one to swallow,’ De Villiers said. ‘We couldn’t have prepared better, and we had the attitude and commitment, but we just didn’t take our opportunities.
‘Believe me when I say, I’m starting to doubt myself and my own captaincy, I’ve been in this situation so many times,’ he added, alluding to the semi-final against the Crusaders at Newlands last year. Burger went down with an injury early in the second half, and De Villiers led the team in his absence. The Stormers ended up losing 29-10.
‘We want to get answers, but it’s tough. I don’t know what to say. We’ve been through some dark times this season and have still managed to pull through, and in that way I’m proud of this team. It’s just a pity about tonight.
‘It’s a feeling that won’t go away easily, and I’m sure we will still be feeling it next week. But I suppose we have to look at the positives.
‘A year ago I sat here talking to you after a loss to the Crusaders. It’s a different situation on this occasion, as we weren’t really in that Crusaders game. We came close [against the Sharks], so we are getting there with very small steps.’
By Jon Cardinelli, at Newlands

185 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All
29 Jul 2012, 20:40 pm
OK im off, take care everyone, have a good one
29 Jul 2012, 20:42 pm
@Puma-146:
Yeah, Bissy is a warrior for sure- imo he is the best rugby player in SA- our only player to walk into a world team. The guys are probably in the air at the moment – I think it is good that they will stop over in Aus for a few days and then cross the Tasmanian only on Friday- going to be a massive match.
29 Jul 2012, 20:43 pm
they better come back with the cup after beating the stormers out of a home final.
29 Jul 2012, 20:47 pm
@sharks_lover-150: They sure have.
To think about it we have no played 3 knock out games and come away with a good win. That is pressure and we have also travelled to Oz and back in a week between the last game. I take my hats off to the players, really they have made me proud. You could just see how much it meant to them after they won. Bissie was crying. Damn man, shows how much it means to the players. Their adrenalin will be pumping for the final. Hope the ref don’t spoil though. Also the weather. See it is clear for Saturday in Hamilton.
29 Jul 2012, 20:49 pm
@Puma-154: no played = now played
29 Jul 2012, 20:51 pm
143@Robzim……..lol loved watching that Etzebeth hit on Bissie, was so unexpected, we actually jumped up and sort went whoaaaa ! Had to watch it again this morning.
I think that hit would have broken every bone in my body.
29 Jul 2012, 20:52 pm
@cab-153: Cabbie,
Stormers played only one knock out game and they got knocked out. Sorry but that is the way it works. They would never have beaten the Chiefs bud. Sharks have a better chance even being jet-lagged and tired. Then we may not but you can never blame them for playing to win and play in a final for themselves.
29 Jul 2012, 20:54 pm
@cab-149:
ja… u make some very valid points.
For me the key is to get some new players- we need a real ugly hardebaard prop to “help out” in the scrums and I really hope the rumour that Jantjes is coming to CT is true.
Are you going to watch some life Olympics being based so close to the action?
29 Jul 2012, 20:55 pm
@Robzim-152: For sure.
I also think it is a good thing to stop off in Sydney. Gives them a break before taking another 3 and a half hour flight.
Clever thinking by Plumtree.
29 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
@Robzim-158: I think the Stormers would do a whole lot better with Elton. I don’t really rate Grant that much. Should have used Carstens yesterday too. Stormers struggled bad in the scrum.
29 Jul 2012, 20:59 pm
@Treehugger-156:
Eben comes from a …… let’s say “very hard” family….. the type of blokes u dont want to meet in a dark alley
U must be so happy bout u team … and with good reason….. lets hope they can overcome the travel and stuff and do it on Saturday.
29 Jul 2012, 21:06 pm
@Puma-160:
same here… Grant is too predictable and just does not have the “vision” that top flyhalves should have – brilliamt kicker for posts at short distance and thats where it ends.
I am out for a bit now- want to watch the Olympics swimming… talk later..
29 Jul 2012, 21:08 pm
@Robzim-162: Elton is a brilliant kicker for posts too. Also Elton’s all round game is better. Would be a good buy if they got Elton.
Cheers Rob. I am out of here too.
29 Jul 2012, 21:14 pm
@Robzim-158:
think u right on the props, could do with a haardebaarde one at TH, but they got a v good selection of young props. malherebe must improve quickly if he gonna be used as scrumming TH, but i like his aggro in tightloose, kitshoff played well today, will be v good in couple years.
i think grant is better than jantjies but should be used in abrasive honiball mode with stormers attacking teh gainline using their traditionally running strengths allied to their new-found forward competitiveness.
olympics dont really do it for me, but yeah keeping an eye on the womans 100m breastroke here – not exactly a spectator sport ekse.
29 Jul 2012, 21:16 pm
Cameron !!!!!!!!!
29 Jul 2012, 21:17 pm
what a swim, fark !!!!!!!
29 Jul 2012, 21:20 pm
@Puma-157:
Pumes, i reckon u may be talking thru your hol following the booze gister, sharks lost to chiefs in durban nogal – stormers were unbeaten at home before yesterday – stormers wouldve been favoruties to beat chiefs at home, sharks are heavy underdogs now.
29 Jul 2012, 21:21 pm
If the shars pick lambie over ludick they will lose
ludick is ten times the player lambie is
29 Jul 2012, 21:24 pm
@saru1983-168:
i agree
I think Ludik give 200% and rarely lets his team down and is one of SA most under rated players
29 Jul 2012, 21:40 pm
@cab-167: Cabbie,
Not sure what you going on about bud. Stormers were the favourites to beat the Sharks yesterday too and the lost bud. They can’t hold a final if they lose the semi. Or were you wanting Sharks to throw the game so Stormers could win? Because I have no idea what you going on about. Sharks wanted to be in this final as much as the Stormers did. They came to play and came to win. Jeez Cab give the players credit bud. They travelled all the way from Oz too and still went on to beat the Stormers.
Sharks played the Chiefs without Alberts and Beast. This time round we have both those players. We only just lost to them and we also had a kiwi ref reffing us against a kiwi side at the Tank. We were the better side that game but we lost.
Look we gonna be tired for this game make no mistake but if we can get up for it like we have for our other 3 knock out games we could win. We have a good chance to beat the Chiefs.
Okay now I am out. Cheers buddy.
29 Jul 2012, 21:58 pm
Pumes u been taking lessons from comical Ali aka HG – alberts was there – they lost in Durban. Forget the refs. You okes becoming more one-eyed than anyone else – maak al die saarks bokke ekse – ouja they already are.
I got no problem ppl backing their team but they def not the best sa team.
29 Jul 2012, 22:09 pm
@cab-171: You right Cabbie. Just checked we had Alberts for that game. Coetzee was on the bench and Keegan at 8 with Botes on at 6. We now have a much more balanced loose trio with Kano at 8 Coetzee at 7 and Daniel at 6. We never had Beast. Once we got Beast back our scrum was working very well. Also remember with Kanko there our lineouts are sorted and working well. Our lineouts was our weak point before Kanko started against the Bulls.
Just have to see how we go. We have a good chance with the team we have.
haha. We in the final bru. That says a lot. We done it the hard way. Had to win all our games since the Bulls with 4 tries we did. Had to beat the Reds away and then the Stormers after the travel too. We did. Odds were against us for 4 weeks now and we just kept on winning. Next week will be tough after the return flight over the Indian Ocean. BUT we can and I am hoping we do.
We started our season without some of our best players. Once we got them back things started to go well for us.
Okay now definitely out of here.
29 Jul 2012, 22:15 pm
Cameron Vd Berg what a champ
Gold medal AND WR
How’s that for big temperament on the biggest stage of them all
And SA 4 x 100 men’s relay came in 5th behind
France who took out the USA dream team and Russia took out Aussie for bronze
So France, Usa, Russia, Australia, SA in that order are the 5 fastest free style swimmers in the world.
France showing all the favorites the way in the Olympic pool so far, all the favorites being blitzed by the plucky French girls and boys.
29 Jul 2012, 22:40 pm
Spain lose the soccer.
Some fairly unpleasant scenes.
29 Jul 2012, 22:41 pm
Cameron what a legend.
Go Waterboks.
29 Jul 2012, 22:47 pm
My nic has been stolen. How do they do that? This is an absolute low for me in the 8-9 years I have been visiting this site. Please realise I last posted on this thread in the very early morning. To my dismay, a foul mouthed impostor has been posting with my nic & possibly harming my reputation. Unbelievable
29 Jul 2012, 23:06 pm
@135; @147 Impostor! You’ve been Busted
29 Jul 2012, 23:22 pm
Yip this nic-stealing going round is complete bullshit and unacceptable – it’s the one rule any blog should have and should not be flouted.
30 Jul 2012, 10:42 am
@35 SDT
Thank you for your interpretation – your sarcasm is a bit OTT as I was clearly seeking an explanation; it probably says more about you than it does about me.
If this is correct as has been pointed out elsewhere, the knock on should have been called. At best then a three point gain, not seven.
Let’s see what the SAReferees website has to say. I find them very informative, very balanced views on events.
30 Jul 2012, 12:02 pm
Well done to the Sharks team. You were the better team on the day.
30 Jul 2012, 13:15 pm
Siya Kolisi is arguably the best tackler in Superrugby
His technique,power in contact and work rate is nothing short of phenomenal.He put Deysel on his peepholes twice with ease,and stopped Sharks carriers at will
At 1.87m 101kgs he may not be the biggest but boy oh boy does he pack a bang!!! Schalk Burger at his peak in the tackle ain’t got sh*t on this kid.
Possibly the best tackler I’ve ever seen,consistently denies carriers the advantage line
31 Jul 2012, 08:34 am
@Robzim-152: What about Spies, Morne and WO? Open your eyes man!
31 Jul 2012, 08:38 am
@mshiniwami-181: Great comment. I am getting fed up with people on this site praising the bejeesus out of ‘lesser’ loose forwards, and permanently saying Siya is overrated.
There is no other who tackles and forces oppo players back yards and yards like he can. He tackled an entire 5 man Bulls “pod” backwards earlier in the season, and was the only one still standing at the end of it – Bulls pod on their jacks. Siya on his legs
31 Jul 2012, 08:51 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-183: Schalk could learn a thing or two from Siya.
31 Jul 2012, 09:00 am
I see Goosen will be playing in the beginning of September. That’s such good news so we don’t have to play Steyn or Grant.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All