Sharks are victims of a flawed format
30 Jul 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says Saturday’s Super Rugby final will be a farce instead of a real contest the tournament deserves.
Can the Sharks win in Hamilton and claim a first Super Rugby title?
Of course they can.
Are they good enough, individually and as a unit, to beat the home team?
Of course they are.
Will they win it?
Never.
The competition structure in Super Rugby finals has always been flawed because of the need to cram as much as possible into the year calendar, make the various administrations as much money as possible and give the broadcaster as much product as is possible.
A final should be about a contest and the definition of a contest is that the winner should not be predetermined.
Finals in which one team travels more than 19,300km and is given one training run before the season climax are finals only in name.
You play at home, you win. You play away, you lose. Occasionally a very good side wins away from home in another country in Super Rugby. In the history of the tournament, this was the exclusive right of a very talented and special Crusaders squad.
Officials argue that this is to reward consistency and the team placing top of the league gets all the play-off advantages. Cool, then why have a final? Win the league and you should be the champions.
The moment a play-off structure was introduced, which guaranteed each of the three Sanzar countries a play-off spot, it nullified any justification of rewarding league form.
Australia is the weakest conference. The Reds would have placed sixth on league strength. They won the Australian conference and got third on the overall league.
It is all a lie. From the outset, league form is not rewarded.
There should be three titles: a trophy and cash for the respective conference winner. It is a reward. It is an achievement. You, for example the Stormers, are the best South African team in the conference.
Then there’s the overall league winner and a very huge cash incentive and a big trophy. You are consistently the best team of the season, for example, the Stormers this year.
Now, your winners get a heads-up in the six-team play-offs, which is another tournament within a tournament. The heads-up is you get to host a play-off match which puts you in a position to play in the final, which is at a neutral venue and whose only purpose is revenue for the two respective teams and the competition organisers.
And there is a fortnight break between the play-off and the final. Then you have a tournament, in which there is merit, there is reward and there is logic.
Why have a climax to a tournament in which the format determines the winner? We play at home, we win. We play away, we lose. Why bother?
I have heard all the crazy arguments that if a team is that good they win anywhere. Crap.
The Crusaders’ campaign a year ago had a Hollywood script but a real ending, not that which sells to a dummy audience.
The same applies this coming Saturday. The Chiefs have to win because they are rested, at home and well prepared. The Sharks, in Brisbane a fortnight ago, in Cape Town last week and in Hamilton this weekend, have spent more time travelling than on the field.
Greed is the only motivator of the current system. There is no reward to any player, team or supporter.
Invariably the losing team in the final is lambasted by a disappointed supporter, and before there is time for proper analysis it all gets repeated in a league format at a national level.
Why no final here? The draw again influences the final standings.
The Sharks have confirmed their class in beating the Stormers. They were good enough. And they got the result. The Stormers, given the class of player, overachieved in winning the league and hosting a semi-final through consistently winning and they did not choke. A choke is when there is no way a team should lose. There was always a chance that they could lose because of the limitations within the available match 22 and the lack of try-scoring potency in the game plan.
The Chiefs, in New Zealand, were deserving winners and a Crusaders’ victory would merely have added to the illusion of the brilliance of a Crusaders team that relies on the extraordinary talents of Richie McCaw and Dan Carter and a historical dominance that has long not been a reflection of their rugby in the tournament.
The seven-times tournament champions have now lost five successive semi-finals and that is more relevant than the seven titles won by another generation.
We play at home, we win. You play at home, you win.
If it works for you, cool, but then add a bit of perspective to the illusion and see the tournament as a money spinner and not a representation of a team’s ability.
Both semi-finals were great value for New Zealand and SA respectively. Both national squads will be strong. Both will teams be extremely difficult to beat at home.
Don’t confuse national with regional and provincial. No bloke in Canterbury wants the Chiefs to beat the Sharks because the latter are South African. On the contrary. The same applies here. Unite behind the Sharks? Tell that to the Bulls and Lions supporters, as just two examples. Unite behind the Boks yes, but the Sharks are not a representation of Cape Town or Johannesburg.
National is national. Provincial is provincial. League is league. Knockout is knockout. Cash is all that motivates the administration. If it was about the contest, they wouldn’t force one team to spend 48 hours travelling across the world and then make them play 48 hours after touchdown.
The Sharks and Chiefs are bloody good sides. There is little between the two. It should be the dream final.
Instead it is a farce. It was when the Chiefs travelled to Pretoria a few years ago.
Can the Sharks win?
Of course they can.
Will they win?
They’ve won already if you are judging their rugby.

469 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
30 Jul 2012, 13:02 pm
@stew-91: The Chiefs,with not many All Blacks in their team,will be worthy winners.Just loved it how they showed the proverbial middle finger at the so-called Gods of super rugby on Saturday past.
30 Jul 2012, 13:05 pm
@Heavens Game-27: You haven’t won anything yet.
30 Jul 2012, 13:08 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-86:
I suggest you go to D’Aria. They make a very good Shiraz but the bonus for you is that the Blue Bull fan club (western cape chapter) operates from the farm. Their club house is a old Opel Monza with a huge blue bull stickers – the leader is a bloke called Denvor- If you can convince him that you support the bulls he can arrange a good deal – they “bottle” their own wine in the back of the Monza specially for Bull fans – it’s called Bull de sweet harvest- not sure whether it is legit but apparently very popular amongst the elite Cape Bulls.
30 Jul 2012, 13:18 pm
I was cheering for the Sharks on Saturday. Well played. Sorry for the Stormers. Hard luck. As for the finals. CHIEEEEEEEEEFFFFFFFFFS!
@Robzim-103: “elite Cape Bulls” ?
Well done Sharkies, you beat us and deserve your spot in the final. I have this Shark supporter at work who can’t take the grin off her face, it’s a sad reminder of
the painfull experience we had to endure on sat. my take, after first diabolical scrum, we never showed any authority and probably the reason we took the 3 points in front of the posts instead of pushing for the try. After a momentum shifting tackle from Estebeth, Dewald, oh Dewald, kicked it out on the full and we spent another 15 minutes in our half. but the main reason we came up short for me was the selfishness of the back line players, who do not play to offload and contine the movement, but are all glory seekers looking to enhance their own reputations. They never look to run into space with the intention of creating an opportunity for another player running off them. they all go to ground to easily and waste 99% of our attacking possession. I heard AC say this morning on the radio that they might have to look at playing a more attacking style next season, for this to happen he needs the players to put the team first I am afraid…rant over! go Saaaaarks!
30 Jul 2012, 13:20 pm
Finals memory steels Chiefs
Bitter memories of the 61-17 loss suffered at the hands of the Bulls in their only other final appearance in 2009 will steel the Chiefs as they prepare to host the Sharks in Hamilton in the Investec Super Rugby 2012 final on Saturday.
That was immediately obvious in the aftermath of the 20-17 win over the Crusaders on Friday as celebrations were subdued.
Flanker Liam Messam said the memory of the disappointments associated with that hiding by the Bulls was behind their subdued approach.
“We probably celebrated a bit too much when we made the final [in 2009], enjoyed the occasion too much,” he said.
It was now a case of making sure they had a bit of steel about themselves as they prepared this time, he said.
“This group of men are willing to do whatever it takes for each other,” he said.
“We know the job’s not done. There’s still a little bit of steel and edge to the boys which is good. We know we’ve got a big week ahead of us.”
Messam said the semi-final had been exhausting, an 80-minute effort. But that was something the Chiefs had expected.
“It was pleasing to finish the way we did. They had the ball in our 22m [area] and we pushed them back into their own half,” he said.
Putting the pressure on the Crusaders from the outset by getting into them defensively was the only way to beat them, he said.
“You’ve got to get stuck into them – it starts at the kick-off. The boys flew in from there and it just snow balled effect into the last minute. It’s important to set the tone from the start and have strong body language.”
Messam was able to put his running game into stunning effect, several times charging through the defences on effective angles in powerful surges.
“The whole week we broke down their game and saw opportunities where we could get our attack going and that’s down to Dave Rennie and Aaron Cruden having a great plan to attack the Crusaders and as you know that plan worked,” he said.
It was now a case of getting back to work on Monday, going through the preparation and being ready for the Sharks on Saturday.
The combination of new blood in the team and older hands building the team culture had made him proud as the longest-serving member of the side.
They had also been under additional pressure as a result of the Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic winning the ANZ Championship. Captain Casey Williams spoke to the team ahead of the Crusaders game and reinforced that the Chiefs needed to believe in themselves
30 Jul 2012, 13:21 pm
@blueboy-68:
I think hate is a bad word. There were Bulls supporters at Newlands over the weekend and the bantering and camaraderie among them and the Sharks and Stormers supporters were great to see. We were all having beers under the stands before the game and I never saw anyone hate any other person because of the teams they support.
I know it is similar in Durban where we regularly have drinking sessions in the parking lot with the Sharks supporters and the ‘Soweto Toilets’ flow in earnest at the Point boat club when the Sharks and Stormers play and I am the only WP supporter.
There will always be a fierce rivalry in SA rugby and I think its a great thing and barring some overzealous inbreds who have no social life, the majority of us just enjoy watching a good game of rugby with some booze and BS thrown in for fun.
30 Jul 2012, 13:22 pm
@BuckT-106: As a sharks supporter I am left scratching my head as to why the Stormers have not been better on attack, their defence is admirable but with the personel at hand the Stormers should have one of the best attacks in the Comp. Grant plays nice and flat, JDV and JDJ have great attacking abilities, Habana and Aplon on the mix etc..
30 Jul 2012, 13:22 pm
@Robzim-103: don’t forget there is the Muskabul late late harvest and the old brown cherry, for the reminiscing parties
30 Jul 2012, 13:23 pm
Poll of the day ought to have more options.
30 Jul 2012, 13:27 pm
@Robzim-103: Surely Gunther has heard of Altydgedacht, D’aria and the sort?
Poplars restaurant might ring a few more bells for the man?
My fave Shiraz however is produced by the good people of Durbanville Hills.
30 Jul 2012, 13:28 pm
@Skeppie-109:
Many of us noted on Saturday that Grant was playing at half pace. He was slowing everything down and he was taking an eternity to make up his mind.
Duvenage was just poor..I lost count of the number of times he made the wrong decision with his entire backline waiting for the ball and on more than one occasion we had a three or four man overlap only for him or Grant to kick the ball away.
Between Grant and Duvenage the ball and the Stormers season died a painful death.
30 Jul 2012, 13:28 pm
@rossoneri-111: Only really needed the top option.
30 Jul 2012, 13:30 pm
@Skeppie-109: the decision making is poor. when they finally try a ‘move’ it’s normally in the wrong field position, the opportunity has past, it’s almost as if they call a move irrespective of what happens in front of them. after the first c.ockup they try and ‘force’ the play, it’s as if they can’t read the game in front of them and rather cut inside without support when there is an overlap on the outside. it’s as though they can’t grasp the fact that the indiviual with the ball needs to set up the next player, who by then should have some idea what the guy is going to do….where’s willievz, he can explain it better
30 Jul 2012, 13:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-112: you don’t think the Meerendal Shiraz is better?
30 Jul 2012, 13:35 pm
@Golden Boy-113: I suppose you can put it down to a bad day at the office but the Stormers really do have the quality to be an attacking force. For me as well the Stormers pack has been excellent this year at all the basics, first phase, in the tight collisions etc but I do think they lack the same attacking ability as other packs (the Sharks have Daniel, Bissie, Beast, Coetzee and Alberts who are all offer a lot on attack). It’s not to say they can’t but I am not sure their pack is offering enough on attack either.
30 Jul 2012, 13:37 pm
@Skeppie-109: For me it all comes down to coaching.. Hell I never played any provincial rugby in my day but even my school coach would slap me as a centre when we ran like crabs! You either “maak reguit en pass” or you were forced to do another lap!!
these days everyone drifts in the stormer team and kills any space on the outside.. Players never put other players in a better position like Naas like to say… they kill all the space and then just offloads to get rid of the ball…or they go to ground..
30 Jul 2012, 13:39 pm
@Golden Boy-108: it’s only those individuals who harbour some sort of resentment towards a team, their supporters etc that normally feel the need to vent their hatred on an anonymous blog and within close-knit groups where the women are usually in the kitchen. often stems from some insecurity and you will hardly ever hear them mention this in public.
30 Jul 2012, 13:40 pm
Chiefs vs Sharks over the years. Home team first.
2012 Sharks 12 - 18 Chiefs
2011 Chiefs 15 - 9 Sharks
2010 Sharks 18 - 19 Chiefs
2009 Chiefs 15 - 22 Sharks
2008 Sharks 47 - 25 Chiefs
2007 Chiefs 35 - 27 Sharks
2006 Sharks 30 - 21 Chiefs
2005 Chiefs 40 - 5 Sharks
2004 Sharks 27 - 34 Chiefs
2003 Chiefs 25 - 31 Sharks
2002 Sharks 21 - 18 Chiefs
2001 Waikato Chiefs 8 - 24 Sharks
2000 Sharks 31 - 44 Chiefs
1999 Chiefs 32 - 19 Sharks
1998 Coastal Sharks 52 - 18 Chiefs
1997 Chiefs 15 - 33 Natal
1996 Natal 63 - 25 Waikato
Played : 17
Chiefs: 8
Sharks: 9
In the last 6 games they’ve played in NZ (since 2001), the Chiefs have won 3 and the Sharks 3. The Chiefs however, boast 3 consecutive victories over the sharks since 2010.
This final will be epic.
30 Jul 2012, 13:44 pm
@nama1-120: Chiefs by 20!
they will not get cuaght out by Plum playing a different team than the one he anounces..
They have by far the better backline.
They have enough grunt upfront.
They are at home….
Number 2 plays number 6… luck only takes you that far!!
30 Jul 2012, 13:45 pm
@Skeppie-117:
I think our pack was the one bright light for the Stormers considering that they were missing the 3 starting loosies for the season and that many of them are still under 23. I am not only talking about this game but throughout the season they have performed well above expectations and with the additions of a decent TH I think they will be OK next season.
My biggest concern is the 9/10 axis where the Stormers lack serious quality. Of all the backline players in the Stormers team it is only Duvenage and Grant who have not played for the Boks (I could be wrong. They may have had a cameo here and there).
Duvenage has always had question marks over his game and Grant has never been a quality FH. Until they fix those areas, the Stormers will always struggle against the better teams. We probably have the weakest 9/10 in the country. And I am including the Lions here.
AND FFS KEO FIX THIS SHITTTTT SITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
30 Jul 2012, 13:50 pm
@BuckT-119:
Yeah I agree. I sometimes wonder how some bloggers on here make it in real life. But then again on an anonymous blog you can show your true colors without fear or prejudice. But then again most of the posts on here are tongue in cheek, but fark me there are some left field bloggers on here.
30 Jul 2012, 13:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-112:
D’urbanville Hills?
Isn’t that the wine that’s always in The Budget section at ethnic restaurants?
30 Jul 2012, 13:51 pm
@BuckT-116: Meerendal’s hospitality is better
(Then again wine is like perfume….tastes differ something manic!)
The other region’s wines I enjoy – The Swartland. Some lovely boutique cellars and some special wines.
I wonder what bloody wine routes and dongas Gunther hits if he has no knowledge of these… (the older, more traditional ones possibly)
30 Jul 2012, 13:52 pm
@Golden Boy-122: Phew I don’t think Grant is that bad, hence my earlier comment. Michalak for EG gets a lot of ball with momentum due to the sharks pack’s ability to offload and ply into space, whereas Grant is usually confronted with a set defensive line….the Stormers pack is genuine quality but I do think they need a bit of an attacking mindset added to their game.
30 Jul 2012, 13:57 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-124: Nah, wrong plonk. You’re talking about the cheap kak I only pull out when darkness and gloom threaten. (I sadly had none in my hand bag at Newlands at approx 18:45 Saturday evening). I found some beyond the stadium city limits though.
Nothing wrong with Durbanville Hill’s wines – they have a few good uns.
30 Jul 2012, 13:58 pm
some very good estates in durbanville area… and great thing is they’re close and easy to get to too…
but gunther knows all this… he just be yankin’ da chain
try klein roosboom for a small quality estate… a k or two beyond durbanville hills…
30 Jul 2012, 14:00 pm
@Provvas-121:
I have the Chiefs by 11 on bru.
Thinking the Sharks may stay within 6 till late in the game before the Chiefs score the clincher in the corner near the end.
@Golden Boy-122:
The thing is that Schreuder has always done well whenever he came on. He even outperformed DD on occasions, Saturday being a case in point. However, that kick to the touchline in the 78minute, with Stormers needing to play with ball in hand in order to score a converted try to even things up, convinced me that he is not the answer either.
30 Jul 2012, 14:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-10: exactly … you want a good game of rugger … that’s about it. This politically correct **** about all unite all the time when it is not at a national level is laughable. When I say few Bulls, Stormers etc fans will be donning their Sharks strip it is not a case of them willing the Chiefs to victory but rather being indifferent. When Man U get knocked out of Champions League but Man C go through you won’t find those supporters wearing Man C strip out of support for the club being based in England. National is National. Club is Club. We were all once tribles. This is just a sophisticated tribal dance and when your tribe gets rolled you don’t just roll into the next tribe.
And a person who isn’t singing the praises of whoever from the rooftops isn’t unpatriotic. It is like when you get to another country and someone says ‘hey I have a South African friend. You are from South Africa so you two will get along.’ Why make the assumption.
Now let’s all unite behind Pirates cos Chiefs are out? ****. Let’s all unite behind Bafana YES. Boks YES. Proteas. YES.
30 Jul 2012, 14:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-125: I tend to agree with Gunther here, I kind of put Durbanville Hills in the Roberston wine category, probably unfairly as they have improved in recent years, but it will take a while to shake my perception of them. I might even put Diemersdal, Nitida and Hillcrest above them on the pecking order….oh and there’s that thing where they like to entertain the Aussie rugby team when they tour here
30 Jul 2012, 14:04 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-125:
I have being exploring wines from the Swartland region recently.
Top marks to the wines the Badenhorsts and Sadies are making.
The Columella in particular was superb.
Santa Cecilia chenin blanc was also superb, particularly with food.
The Lammershoek Roulette also very good as was the Sir Henry Charles Darling from Darling Cellars.
30 Jul 2012, 14:04 pm
@No.5-15: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-10: exactly … you want a good game of rugger … that’s about it. This politically correct **** about all unite all the time when it is not at a national level is laughable. When I say few Bulls, Stormers etc fans will be donning their Sharks strip it is not a case of them willing the Chiefs to victory but rather being indifferent. When Man U get knocked out of Champions League but Man C go through you won’t find those supporters wearing Man C strip out of support for the club being based in England. National is National. Club is Club. We were all once tribles. This is just a sophisticated tribal dance and when your tribe gets rolled you don’t just roll into the next tribe.
And a person who isn’t singing the praises of whoever from the rooftops isn’t unpatriotic. It is like when you get to another country and someone says ‘hey I have a South African friend. You are from South Africa so you two will get along.’ Why make the assumption.
Now let’s all unite behind Pirates cos Chiefs are out? ****. Let’s all unite behind Bafana YES. Boks YES. Proteas. YES.
30 Jul 2012, 14:05 pm
@ufo-128: De Grendal and diemersdal 2 of those great estates, BTW thats for the cingrats boet, and comiserations!!! you actually did call a Sharks victory because of their form,
30 Jul 2012, 14:08 pm
@keo-130: yes, but Man City are made up of how many England Internationals? At least if we support another South African side, like the Sharks for example, there is the patriotic aspect of the game to enjoy. The rivalry that exists between SA and NZ is far greater than Barcelona and Man City.
30 Jul 2012, 14:08 pm
@No.5-15: It is not a whinge but an observation that when two teams contest a final you pay for something not predetermined in result – and Sup Rug finals are you play at home against a team from another country you win as they have to travel in the same week and play 3 days after getting off a plane.
The Chiefs had no price when having to fly to Loftus on a Tues 2 take a pumping, as an example.
You want the final to be a contest and give both teams a crack at it. If not then don’t have a play-off structure. Just a league system and team that ends top wins and you reward consistency. Knockout rugby very different.,
30 Jul 2012, 14:09 pm
@Skeppie-126:
I agree, they definitely need an attacking mindset, but Grant for me is really just poor. I was watching the game with CharlesM and some others and Grant was literally standing still at first receiver which meant that every backline player had to step back in order to receive the ball thereby losing all momentum.
He has never been someone to dominate a game. The frog brings with him his unpredictability and a great read of the game. Grant is slow and he thinks slowly and the little show of the ball he does before gunning for the half gap is so predictable and ineffective and yet he keeps on doing it.
Honestly, for a franchise who has one of the biggest support basis in the country (the world) we really should be attracting the best FH and SH around. For many people, Grant ranks behind Elton Jantjies, Pat Lambie, Steyn and even the young kid from the Lions who has not even played a full season of Super Rugby. For me having the 5th best FH in the country is simply not good enough if you have any serious ambitions and ditto for SH where Duvenage may battle to make it in to the Lions squad but yet, season after season he is good enough for the Stormers. The mind boggles.
30 Jul 2012, 14:09 pm
@sharks_lover-134:
you’re welcome bud… and thanks…
now let’s hope the guys take it all the way… gonna be hard but is doable…
will be a shark for two hours on saturday…
(but don’t let anyone know….!)
De Grendal is also excellent… but hardly a small boutique estate… has great view of cape town and great for a novelty photo with your glass or bottle ‘on’ table mountain… but need a good camera with plenty depth of field…
30 Jul 2012, 14:12 pm
@sharks_lover-134:
We have already complimented De Grendel.
Pay attention
30 Jul 2012, 14:14 pm
@nama1-129:
How is your bru looking Nams?
30 Jul 2012, 14:15 pm
Once again,correct Keohane!Some of the plonkers like Buckt simply don’t understand the concept.
30 Jul 2012, 14:16 pm
@keo-130: Huh but Pirates and Chiefs do not play in an international tournament? If Stormers or Bulls supporters don’t support the Sharks this weekend that’s their choice but for me personally I 100% disagree with you, I reckon when it’s a saffa team vs. an overseas team we should always back the saffa team regardless.
30 Jul 2012, 14:16 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-139:
my bad
30 Jul 2012, 14:17 pm
@munkiboi-43: Yes it would have because you want a contest for a final … that is the point of the article. I have written all season Stormers would not win the tournament as their approach was one of no risk based on squad player limitations and I had the Sharks to beat them on Saturday in any case.
This isn’t an anti-Chiefs, pro-Sharks piece.
The Chiefs were in similar position a few years back, played some sensational rugger to come from behind and reach final but then had to travel 2 Pta 4 a final. They arrived on Tues and took 60 on Sat. They had nothing left in last 40.
When I watch a final I want to believe one of two teams has a chance; not one is just there to ensure the game can start. Then give the title to the most consistent team or have a finals play-off structure that gives any team that has to travel abroad a decent crack at it.
30 Jul 2012, 14:18 pm
@stormerforlife1-141: Or once again incorrect Keohane!
30 Jul 2012, 14:19 pm
@keo-133: Exactly it! By not shouting well done to the sharks in a blog does not mean I think they did not play well. They deserved the win as they made plans to beat a stormers side that had none on the day. Nowhere did Ac try and attack Michalak or put presure on him, nowhere did they expose Mvovo for always shooting up in defense… they just hoped that the gameplan would pan out on Saturday… here in lies the problem. Nothing done in the week of the build up to say wait: How can we beat the Sharks… no they just relied on the kick chase to go their way and Grant to kick 7 penalties for enough points
Lastly:when you look at the stormers scorelines this season… they usually score between 17 – 23 points.. and still win… which was not good enough on saturday..
30 Jul 2012, 14:20 pm
@Golden Boy-137: Fair enough, I don’t think he is as bad as you say but I do agree that he is not one of the countries top 10′s, definitely behind Lambie and Goosen. I am glad we both agree that the sharks have the biggest support base in the comp (you were talking about the sharks weren’t you?) but It is a fair comment that the Stormers should have more in the cupboard at 9 and 10.
30 Jul 2012, 14:21 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-132: Oh my hoed! You are obviously (courtesy of the free dictionary) a : A person with expert knowledge or training, especially in the fine arts. 2. A person of informed and discriminating taste: a connoisseur of fine wines.
@BuckT-131:
Their wine has grown on me over the last few years, it honestly has. My hound enjoys Ntida….(and they have a half decent chardonnay)
Hillcrest, I prefer the olives to the wine
We actually don’t have a bad setup this part of the world do we?
30 Jul 2012, 14:21 pm
@Skeppie-142: Get real Skepie.Go check on all rugby and media forums how the Stormers team are being mocked for the defeat on Saturday by Sharks supporters.Only an extremely naive Stormers supporter will support the Sharks on Saturday.Keohane is absolute right on this one.
30 Jul 2012, 14:23 pm
@Mongril-49: What has Coetzee done with Stormers. There has been an absolute regression from side that played in final 3 seasons ago. They play no risk league rugby and in last 2 years have had the most impotent attack in the competition and in succese home semi-s were comprehensively beaten by two teams that flew across the world in the same week.
Can you enlighten me as to what Coetzee has done with team that so impresses you?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All