Michalak’s mojo key for Sharks
31 Jul 2012
RYAN VREDE writes Frederic Michalak has emerged as a central figure in the Sharks’ drive to the Super Rugby title.
The Sharks are finally starting to see an expected return on their significant investment in the 29-year-old Frenchman, who arrived in 2008 and has had a regular association with the franchise since. Some would question the accuracy of that assertion, arguing that he was instrumental in leading them to the 2008 Currie Cup title and was key in their surge to the final last year.
However, you don’t recruit a player of his calibre and standing to win domestic prizes. It should be a pleasant by-product of having his ilk at your disposal. Fundamentally, Michalak was brought in to help the Sharks end their Super Rugby drought. And now, after a series of inspiring performances since being installed at flyhalf about halfway through their campaign, he is on the cusp of doing just that.
Michalak’s aptitude for Super Rugby was displayed in 2008 before he seriously injured his knee and missed the remainder of the tournament. Certainly he was still adjusting to some of the tournament’s unique demands, particularly against elite opposition, but he always seemed comfortable fit.
Now, after being granted an extended run (somewhat fortuitously in light of an injury to Pat Lambie) Michalak is thriving. His performance against the Stormers on Saturday was composed, intelligent and near faultless in execution. This was in keeping with the expectation of a 56-Test veteran and a player who has won a French Top 14 championship and two European Cups (with Toulouse). The Sharks must hope Michalak displays those qualities in an even higher measure come Saturday.
That said, it would be remiss to ignore the correlation between his impressive form and the upswing in the forwards’ displays. Sterile and impotent for half the tournament, the heavies were then galavanised by the return from injury of Beast Mtawarira, Willem Alberts and to a lesser extent, Ryan Kankowski. Michalak has subsequently had a platform that would be the envy of all 10s.
And he has taken full advantage, orchestrating attacks with consummate skill and sharp decision making, while also giving them an unpredictable dimension with his natural flair. It is incumbent upon his forwards to best the Chiefs’ powerful pack in general and set play in order to give him a reasonable opportunity to engineer the victory they so desperately crave.
With a taxing travel schedule that has seen them clock up nearly 35000 km in the last three weeks, there are legitimate questions about their capacity to achieve this.
Sharks coach John Plumtree has spoken of his players’ deeply rooted self-belief and their refusal to allow fatigue to be used as an excuse for failure to play at their optimum level. Plumtree’s coach-speak is admirable but rests on the hope that the Sharks’ forwards in particular will have something left after their heroic performance at Newlands.
If they do, Michalak, on current form, has the potential to be the fulcrum around which a Sharks victory is built.

174 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
31 Jul 2012, 19:55 pm
@fitz1ella-99: So glad I dont know you
31 Jul 2012, 20:27 pm
nah bullshit i go for sharks over chiefs, but shouldve been stormers, i reckon sharks could get pomped but if they take it, gotta be one of the greatest comebacks of alltime.
31 Jul 2012, 20:29 pm
wtf this crapass swimming on for, why they not play rugby, then maybe they get a few spectators…horseshit of the highest order.
31 Jul 2012, 20:33 pm
Looks the the sale of anti depressents (sp) is going to BOOM when Sharks beat the Chiefs, am loving it.
31 Jul 2012, 20:37 pm
@cab-103:
Ja, Stormers at Newlands woukd have had a better chance than the sharks in Hamilton but nothing we can do about it now. You better watch the swimming- U boykie Chad le Clos is in the 200m butterfly final at 19.48.- do it for volk and vaderland.
31 Jul 2012, 20:41 pm
@Robzim-105:
yip without doubt RobZ – hopeless, but they tried hard – put too much pressure on themselves.
watched the v d berg worldrecord – suppose its impressive, but i got no interest. when the cricket starting, amla for another triple ton or the poms gonna show why they no 1?
31 Jul 2012, 20:50 pm
@cab-106:
The Poms will be desperate- as you know a person can never say what’s going to happen in cricket, so i am not making predictions. I just hope they get 5 days of play with no rain interference.
31 Jul 2012, 20:54 pm
Wowwwwww!!!!!!!!!!
31 Jul 2012, 20:55 pm
Chad you beauty.
31 Jul 2012, 20:55 pm
yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssc
31 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
Unfarkinbelievable.He fippin got it! Phelps got the timing wrong at the end . Unreal!!!!
31 Jul 2012, 20:57 pm
What a fantastic swim, after 100 i said to the wife he is pacing himself brilliantly
31 Jul 2012, 20:58 pm
yoh le close wins, the scots cry when they lose, the saffas when they win – wtf?
31 Jul 2012, 20:59 pm
GOLD.
Well done Chad.
Huge mistake by Phelps.
31 Jul 2012, 20:59 pm
What an amazing swim. This kid has balls like bricks.
31 Jul 2012, 21:00 pm
HELL TO THE YEAAAAH.
The Americans are soooooo pissed off with South Africa now.
31 Jul 2012, 21:03 pm
@>^..^< katman-115:
At final turn, I thought ok that’s a bronze sewn up. Then upgraded to silver with about 10m to go. And then Phelps mistimed his finish. What a swim. Still got a massive future.
31 Jul 2012, 21:05 pm
@IAAS-117: Natal produces another champ
31 Jul 2012, 21:05 pm
cant understand what they get so emotional for, he goes for a little dip, wins the thing and then goes off on one — this is not the world cup ekse??!
31 Jul 2012, 21:06 pm
@sharks_lover-118:
I just saw a seffrican there by the pool.
31 Jul 2012, 21:09 pm
@IAAS-120:
boet i know, just teasin a bit,
31 Jul 2012, 21:09 pm
Excellent performance by your boy….
I would swear his Dad looked like a Blue Bull supporter!
2 Gold Medals in the pool, how fantastic.
31 Jul 2012, 21:10 pm
@cab-119:
Cute seeing a tough Saffa with a wobbly bottom lip!
31 Jul 2012, 21:11 pm
117 – all along I thought he had the beating of the japanese swimmer but I honestly thought phelps had the gold sewn up. He looked pretty focused though. Not intimidated at all.
31 Jul 2012, 21:14 pm
@>^..^< katman-124:
He was totally focussed. Having Phelps next to him must have psyched him up even more. Hope we do something now in the relay.
31 Jul 2012, 21:14 pm
@carol-123:
please god no more of that – they shoulda interviewed the bluebull walrus old fella – would just been fok fok en meer fok…
31 Jul 2012, 21:24 pm
@IAAS-125: Actually just so you know boet, both our gold medalists from Westville boys high
so 2 Natal Boys
31 Jul 2012, 21:25 pm
king Le Clos
That was the most phenomenal swim by Any South African Ever-
Better even than Vd Berg because Le Clos came at Phelps from the dead. From 3rd off the turn if pulled both the Japanese AND took out Phelps at the wall.
That was sheer killer temperament like no South African has EVER shown to come back at the world record holder like that
31 Jul 2012, 21:28 pm
Ai the bodies.
31 Jul 2012, 21:29 pm
@cab-126:
Not sure exactly what that means, but I have a very good idea!!
31 Jul 2012, 21:29 pm
@Dawn-129:
i dunno those tannies are pretty hefty, u see the shoulders on that unit from uzbekistan?
31 Jul 2012, 21:30 pm
@Dawn-129:
Something spooky about a man in a swimming hat!!
31 Jul 2012, 21:30 pm
@fitz1ella-128: agree with you
31 Jul 2012, 21:31 pm
@Dawn-129:
Do any of them have hairy chests?
31 Jul 2012, 21:31 pm
@sharks_lover-127:
Good stuff. The school can be proud. Give the boys a day off tomorrow.
31 Jul 2012, 21:33 pm
@fitz1ella-128:
You are in your element here skop!
Did you enjoy the Three Day Eventing?
31 Jul 2012, 21:34 pm
Noooooooo
They look sort of alien like human fish
31 Jul 2012, 21:37 pm
@IAAS-135:
boet true,they should
31 Jul 2012, 21:39 pm
Ahh your anthem now….
31 Jul 2012, 21:40 pm
Now way is that Dad a sharks man!!
All those early mornings and training were all worth it!!
Chad is your man!!
31 Jul 2012, 21:41 pm
the old bugger;s hilarious, he should have his own tv show, uh-oh he also shedding the crocodiles, almal huil..
31 Jul 2012, 21:42 pm
@cab-141:
the BBC have grabbed Dad, hope he is interviewed soon on our TV
31 Jul 2012, 21:44 pm
His Dad is priceless…. Hope you are getting this!!
Excellent TV !!
31 Jul 2012, 21:44 pm
Bert, take a bow!
We like you too!!
31 Jul 2012, 21:46 pm
@carol-143: Yes he is a big Sharks fan Carol
31 Jul 2012, 21:47 pm
@carol-142:
fk me they did interview him too… and he was vloeking gevaarlike, but he did say thank you madame to the lesbo at the end..polite.
31 Jul 2012, 21:51 pm
No, we’re seeing images of blokes tying up little strings of flags over the pool. Way to go, Supersport.
How emotional was that medal ceremony. Well done, young man. You and Cameron are the Bokke of the pool.
31 Jul 2012, 21:54 pm
Can we medal again?
31 Jul 2012, 21:57 pm
Come on, boys!
31 Jul 2012, 22:05 pm
Michael Phelps.
Legend.
19th Olympic medal.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All