Sonny’s surpassed the hype
31 Jul 2012
JON CARDINELLI says Sonny Bill Williams has become a more rounded player and will trouble the Sharks’ depleted midfield in Saturday’s final.
2011 was the year of the Sonny Bill offload. Backyard games would have seen kids imitating that signature move, a back-of-the-hand pass that ensured the attacking team’s momentum didn’t die with the ball carrier. It was a move that brought Williams and the Crusaders tremendous success in their march towards the Super Rugby final. It was also a move that demanded an astronomical number of column inches in the press.
One year on, and Williams’ offload is no less effective. The difference this year is that his offload is sparingly used and rarely highlighted as the definitive strength of his game.
The Sonny Bill Williams of 2012 is a far more rounded player than the centre who debuted for the Crusaders in 2011. And it is the less glamorous and less imitable side of his game that could floor the Sharks in the upcoming final in Hamilton.
Credit must go to Chiefs coach Dave Rennie and the ethos he has installed since arriving at the franchise. Credit should go to the forwards for embracing that ethos and producing some dominant performances that have allowed the Chiefs backline a platform to excel.
And to say Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Aaron Cruden and Williams have excelled as a 9-10-12 combination is an understatement. Cruden has matured as decision maker, and has also played with a physical determination that has belied his size. Kerr-Barlow has been a threat on attack and defence, as has the robust Williams, who doesn’t get enough credit for the way he reads the game or the impact he makes in contact.
Williams was one of the standouts in last Friday’s semi-final battle against the Crusaders. There is always the possibility that he will unleash that trademark offload, but not enough is made of his strength in the tackle and how this compromises the opposition’s defence. He broke the line on just one occasion last Friday, and on the one occasion he unleashed an offload, the Chiefs went on to score.
The hype around the Sonny Bill offload may have died down in 2012, but the rugby fraternity’s obsession with the idea of offloading certainly hasn’t. Indeed, some have pointed to the Sharks’ offloading game as the reason they have surpassed every other South African team in this tournament.
What those people neglect to appreciate, however, is the fact that the Sharks have also dominated the collisions in the matches where their offload count has been high.
It reminds me of a conversation I had with Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer during the three-Test series against England. I asked him about Willem Alberts, who had just come off two strong performances in the first two Tests. It was clear that Alberts was offloading a lot more and thus perpetuating South Africa’s attacking momentum, and so I asked Meyer if it was something Alberts had worked on.
Meyer explained that Alberts was able to offload in those Tests because he had dominated the collisions. He added that players should not become obsessed with the idea of offloading, and that winning the collision should always be the first objective.
In Meyer’s mind, you can’t risk offloading if you aren’t in a strong position, ie well beyond the gainline, to do so.
There were times in 2011 where Williams was guilty of offloading unnecessarily. There were moments when he threw the ball back after he had lost the collision and had been driven backwards in the tackle. Many said the opposition had worked him out, while others accused him of overplaying the tactic.
2012 has witnessed a more powerful and circumspect display. Williams’ performance at the gainline has been a highlight of the Chiefs’ campaign, and his decision making has improved immensely. The Chiefs don’t waste attacking opportunities, and neither does Williams.
Some will call him a glamour boy who is chasing the big payday, or denounce him as an over-hyped player. But on the basis of his performances in the 2012 Super Rugby competition, Williams is already one of the best players in world, and there is as much substance to his game as there is a marketable style.
The odds are against a Sharks victory this weekend. The Chiefs have shown themselves to be an 80-minute team. The forwards will also be fresher than their Sharks counterparts, who recently made their third overseas journey in the space of as many weeks.
The Sharks’ defence will struggle to repel Kerr-Barlow, Cruden and Williams. They’re also down to their third-choice No 12, with Frans Steyn ineligible for selection and Tim Whitehead ruled out with a broken hand.
At the end of the league stage, Steyn showed why he is rated the best inside centre in South Africa. Whitehead has managed to provide a spark that’s been lacking in previous seasons. Those men will certainly be missed.
Meyer Bosman seems likely to fill the void, and while he has the talent and ability to play a Steyn-like game in midfield, he doesn’t have the form or confidence. It is surely something the Chiefs, and particularly that dangerous axis of Cruden and Williams, will look to exploit.

329 Comments
31 Jul 2012, 05:48 am
Overrated no pace shoulder charging DRAGON
31 Jul 2012, 05:53 am
What a pity that richard kahui has missed most of this season & a chance to play in the final. The name might not be familiar to some, but there aren’t many players I’ve watched who are more talented than him. I’d pay more money for a ticket to see kahui than a ticket to see SBW
31 Jul 2012, 06:46 am
@Golden Boy-1:
Did a sense this was written while you were crying?
@viewer-2:
I wouldnt pay to watch Kahui play for 25 mins only to collapse in a heap with a broken hip.
Sure he is a good player but he so injury prone, he can be more of a problem to take on tour anywhere than just to leave him at home. But still a very good player
31 Jul 2012, 06:47 am
Really JC? 2011 was the year of the Sonny Bill offload? I have been playing and watching rugby for a while now and as far as I remember the offload has been around for a bit longer than ‘The Hype’. All he brought with him is a media circus, a very bad hairstyle and the shoulder charge which he copied from Butch.
He is the Kiwis very own Juju. Built up by the media to fool the masses in to believing what clearly is a bunch of spin.
31 Jul 2012, 06:56 am
3: Kahului, the snake and nonu are much better players than SBW. He is like David Beckham. Built up by the media to sell an image and nothing else.
31 Jul 2012, 07:11 am
@Golden Boy-4:
The only thing i stir this early in the morning is coffee.
31 Jul 2012, 07:13 am
@Golden Boy-1: @Golden Boy-4: @Golden Boy-5:
You know Farkall. You make me sick actually……….Golden Idiot.
31 Jul 2012, 07:15 am
morning te ranged
i know you will support the chiefs on saturday,but who is normally your team?
31 Jul 2012, 07:17 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-8:
Kia ora Fernly,
The Blues.
31 Jul 2012, 07:25 am
@Te Rangatira-9:
The blues will be back,just like we will win the next RWC.
31 Jul 2012, 07:31 am
another sbw article.
its f u k king boring.
this oke is such a no one or rather an everyman really. he could never be a wilkinson, a larkham, a lomu or a schalk.
never.
but if the kiwis want to hang on his balls thats fine, hope they dont get hurt in his offload.
31 Jul 2012, 07:33 am
@rangerman-11:
morning
I cannot wait for Saturday
I think it is going to be epic and very close.
31 Jul 2012, 07:34 am
i would just like to see him punished as any other player normally would be
for those filthy shoulder charges
heaven knows the world sure got into a twit when butch hit a few guys a little late… with too little arms in it…
31 Jul 2012, 07:38 am
@viewer-2: i got the chance to see both last year, kahui is class just unlucky.
sbw on the other hand is a talented, versatile media magnet & it is clear to see why the so-called union fans are icy towards him.
in most sport the confident t exuberant characters are alwaus frowned upon. the masses want “humble” players & stars or players that pretend to be humble.
in SA it is worse, most prefer the players who thank the herre after the game, funny enough i’m yet to hear francois hougaard thank the herre for a good game…
31 Jul 2012, 07:41 am
@rangerman-11: Disagree One of the most exciting players in the last 2years. He has brought a fresh spririt into the game. I love to watch him play if it is not against my team. Glad to see him go (from SA perspective). Sad to see him go from a rugby perspective
31 Jul 2012, 07:43 am
@Transformation-14: Come on. No need to mock someones convictions. Especially when they are good..
31 Jul 2012, 08:12 am
@Transformation-14:
tranSport…
they only thank the almighty after a game… when they win…
I have yet to hear one of the holy joe’s go praise the lord when they lose…
wouldn’t it be refreshing to hear one of them say…
“first I would like to thank my personal savior who blessed me with all this talent… but chose to back the other team today… because he obviously feels i’m not deserving of his support today… but he is still a great god even though he was not on my side today… the other team must have done more good during the week than i did… i will try harder this week so that my personal savior will be on our side next week…”
31 Jul 2012, 08:19 am
no surprise the white card incident has been conveniently swept under the carpet by the kiwis.
there sure was a lot of punches thrown judging by the replays.
who is the commisioner.
not a whisper of a mention
no honour and no shame these kiwis
reminds me of the bottling incident by a blues supporter against a sharks player
when their interests are on the line
anything and everything will do
31 Jul 2012, 08:22 am
SBW is a very very talented sporting individual, no one can deny that, and yes, he is a much better rounded player than he SBW of 2011, but what actually has he done to merit him having all this media hype? Boxing against guys that can easily be planted to the ground by a Boere laaitjie any where on the platte land does not mean you are a great boxer. Playing centre behind a dominant pack and next to brilliant flyhalf can even make Bosman look great. I just really cant understand the whole SBW show?
31 Jul 2012, 08:23 am
@Transformation-14: I have noticed that the Lord is only thanked when winning. The Lord gets zero credit when losing.
Thank you for outing the stupidestcocktoeverstealanic in the history of blogging. I hadn’t pegged Dusk for an academic, but the scale of moronity he exhibited yesterday was something scientists might want to take a closer look at.
Who steals a name and then forgets to change back to his own name when answering a question?
Dusky, that’s who
31 Jul 2012, 08:26 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-18: my god youre a bitter old fool… seriously, rugby would be a lot better if you didnt support it….
31 Jul 2012, 08:27 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-18:
waaaaaa waaaaaa waaaaaa
Someone give this baby a bottle
31 Jul 2012, 08:29 am
@SA rugby is k@k-21:
Bakkies is not a supporter.
whinger of the highest order.
Thats my first 2 lines to my new song. Its going to consist of alot of crying, gnashing of teeth.
31 Jul 2012, 08:30 am
@optiplay-16: no mockery from my side, just an observation of south african players. they start them young too, william small-smith didn’t thank the herre after the babyboks beat england but the liebenberg boytie slipped in there after we won the final but it was missing when we lost to ireland.
@ufo-17: ek weet.
i see you enjoyed the Dusky show last night.
31 Jul 2012, 08:32 am
@Transformation-24:
yeah… it was very entertaining…
31 Jul 2012, 08:32 am
@ufo-17: SNAP!!!
31 Jul 2012, 08:35 am
@Transformation-24: Dusky is the 3rd *whatadoos* to steal my nic. Surely the site can prevent this from happening? There must be something they can do.
31 Jul 2012, 08:37 am
@Hurricane-23: the boy who cries wolf, much like his beloved Bulls when they accused the Saders of eye-gouging…
claims unsubstantiated by proof, yet Bakkies is quite willing to label kiwi players filth and scum and the like… do all SA supporters think this way? Im beginning to believe so..
imagine if we called their players drug cheats, filthy scummy Saffas etc the majority on here would be in uproar..
bakkies tirades are boring, they highlight someone who has lost his grip on reality and are the mad rantings of a senile old fool who sees the shadow of the tokoloshe looming ever larger…
31 Jul 2012, 08:38 am
Prefer to avoid the religious stuff
The average SA rugby supporter is still quite PMS – Pale, Male and Stale (stale being conservative and traditional) (Disclaimer: There is nothing wrong with this and this is not an attack on those)
Sonny Bill is by contrast cutting edge, exhuberant and styling. Rugby for the new global generation. Those whom view rugby as more just another form of entertainment and less cultural symbolism
Had unassuming Meyer Bosman had Sonny Bill’s abilities and limited it to purely rugby, he would be worshipped by the current average local supporter. As it is, this is not the case, so Sonny Bill is scorned
Put somewhat differently, the current average SA rugby supporter prefers their rugby personalities (the personality’s actual opinions aside) more Arnold Geets (baggy chinos, roomy old golfer, simple hairstyle and shave, etc) and less Ryan Vrede (slim fit shirt, flat front pants, flicked hair and groomed, etc).
Francious Hougaard gets honourary exemption cause, as Transie has mentioned before, he has received an endorsement from that local icon Fourie Du Preez
(Further Disclaimer: References to Arnold and Ryan are purely for illustrative purposes)
31 Jul 2012, 08:39 am
@rangerman-11:
You are correct.
SBW will never be as good as those players that are not playing his position.
But dont SA have the best in the world, the player that says he is.
Isnt it Jaque Fourie, the bet ever?? lol
Stuck up fool
31 Jul 2012, 08:46 am
@Hurricane-30: SBWs has only played the game for four years approximately, his learning curve has grown exponentially.. i.e he has progressed in four years to the point that if he had stayed in NZ, he could quite easily have snared the starting position away from nonu…
Ranger girl is still hurting from when SBW tore them a new one in England, and will be just as angry at SBW when he runs through the Sharks midfield often this coming weekend..
31 Jul 2012, 08:52 am
A pops under any name is still a pops…
SBW may be good but does not deserve the worship he is currently getting from mostly NZ commentators and now keo.
31 Jul 2012, 08:53 am
@SA rugby is k@k-21:
@Hurricane-22:
could you at least stay on point and make mention of the white card incident i complain about
oh
thats right
chops…
31 Jul 2012, 08:53 am
@KingRiaan-19: you’re comparing sbw to meyer bosman, really?
in his first year of paying rugby, sbw killed the stormers (newlands – offload to maitland tackled by 2 players for the crockett try), sharks (twickenham – that’s all i have to say) and bulls (27 – 0, that’s all i have to say too)
for a guy who jumoed into union at 25 years old, he is special and the hype, although on overdrive, is justifiable to an extent…
31 Jul 2012, 08:55 am
@Hurricane-23:
consistency
thats all i’m asking for
a rule for one should be the same for another
but thats not the case is it
31 Jul 2012, 08:57 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-20: no sweat, his tricks aren’t new…been there dealt with his kind on this blog…
31 Jul 2012, 08:59 am
Oh and people thinking the Lord is being thanked for winning or losing shows a lack of understanding which puts the rest of their post in perspective.
31 Jul 2012, 09:00 am
@Slartibartfast-32: so youre saying he has made no improvement in his play? that he hasnt started to look more comfortable and hjas a greater understanding of the position he plays? I bow to your superior knowledge..
@wait for it, wait for it…-33: what did the judiciary make of the white card incident? surely if there was a problem they would have punished him? are we to be held personally responsible for their decisions? but you continue with your hate campaign against anything NZ…
31 Jul 2012, 09:01 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-35:
No, consistency means a Bok win or a bulls win.
If that does not happen then the ref cheated or the other players.
AS you have said, Bok or South African teams win means they earned. A kiwi or AB teams wins they cheated. From the mouth of a deluded person
31 Jul 2012, 09:02 am
Waar is al die stompies?
31 Jul 2012, 09:03 am
Ross Tucker says in a news24 article today that he stands by his assessment that the Sharks had about an 8 point disadvantage against the Stormers, given their travel schedule.
Hence, he says the Sharks were actually at least 15 points better than the Stormers, in truth, and you could see the travel starting to kick in in the last quarter, resulting in the Stormers closing the gap slightly.
31 Jul 2012, 09:05 am
@SA rugby is k@k-28: you trip off your sand pedestal when you type s.hit like this “do all SA supporters think this way? Im beginning to believe so..”
have a dig @ i lovebakkies if you want but don’t court kak by generalising, it comes across as attention-seeking.
@SA rugby is k@k-38:
I remember one time where these guys complained about a kiwi being let off and it was in fact a South African that had the last say, who let him off. Another time when a Kiwi player did wrong and nothing happened, these guys complained and blamed eveyone else about it only to find there own team didnt put the complaint in.
@Hurricane-39: consistency? from the nation that gave Schalk 8 weeks for eye-gouging? compared to the 6 months Loe got?
the only thing consistent about SA is the quality of their whinging and the proportion of the conspiracy…
31 Jul 2012, 09:06 am
@Tacitus-41: what is he saying about the famed “home advantage” points?
31 Jul 2012, 09:07 am
@Transformation-42:
And that is fair enough too. I would go bananas if i was put in the same boat as Bakkies.
Only time i would jump overboard….stuff the life jacket.
31 Jul 2012, 09:09 am
How can a Super Rugby final be played at a stadium with a capacity of only 25 000 ppl???? shocking! hamilton is a kak place anyway …. its like having a Linkin Park concert in Putsonderwater. Everytime a star player from the Sharks p!sses or kaks in Hamilton, the property price of the “squatter camp look a like” houses goes up by 15% … NZ rugby should nominate a decent stadium & city before super rugby starts, and if a NZ team makes the final, the final has to be played at that stadium/venue – regardless of the team involved!
31 Jul 2012, 09:10 am
Hey guys.
I heard today on talk back radio that there was 3 people killed in SA where the two parents were killed and the 12 year old kid was put in a bath with hot water and drowned.
They said that alot of South Africans have been shocked at this, did you guys here about it?
I know it is off topic and murders happen everywhere but just want to know if you heard anything?
31 Jul 2012, 09:11 am
@Transformation-42: no pedestal here Trans, why dont you gather some of my posts from 3 or 4 years ago to make your point more salient?
I see I reeled one in with that comment, but is it any worse than Bakkies generalisation about all kiwis? he goes on and on but you never call him up for it Trans, why is this the case Mr keo cop? I make one generalisation and youre all over it..
consistency Trans, isnt that the catchcry at the moment
31 Jul 2012, 09:13 am
@grant10-47: because the NZ team finished higher than the SA team..
its been in the rules all year, strange you havent learned this in that time, are you really this slow and stoopid?
31 Jul 2012, 09:14 am
@grant10-47:
145,000 live in Hamilton.
60,000 live outside in the larger territory.
Work it out.
The stadium can hold 25000. Sounds fair to me. Hold more per population than any South African stadium.
But if you have a problem with playing in NZ, how about your teams win more games, simple really.
31 Jul 2012, 09:15 am
@Hurricane-51: shhh dont tell him that, hes still fixated on the “squatter camps” in NZ, while being blissfully unaware of the townships in SA..
must not step outside his gated community all too often…
31 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
@capetown-29: look at pierre spies, what the hell has that guy done to get endorsement, book deals etc deals and have such hype behind him when most south africans who don’t support the bulls think he is nowhere? surely it is not his RUGBY!
31 Jul 2012, 09:16 am
@Te Rangatira-7:
Shame. Did I touch a nerve? Go back to building sandcastles little boy. If you have to resort to name calling and insults you have already lost the contest.
31 Jul 2012, 09:17 am
@Tacitus-41:
Yes, Ross is a scientist and he has used a certain methodology to calculate the 8 points “handicap” and he will stand by it.
But that is sport- anything is possible- science cannot predict everything.
Take for example the Blues who travelled to SA and beat the Bulls at Loftus- using the same metyhodology that Ross used, the Bulls must have had an even bigger advantage than the Stormers had (the effect of altitude must be added), but they still loss by 5. Thats how it goes.
31 Jul 2012, 09:19 am
it doesn’t matter who finished above who … its a disgrace for a Super Rugby Final to be played at a place like Hamilton. I bet the Sharks players will take 1000 showers a day when they return to SA …
31 Jul 2012, 09:20 am
@Robzim-55:
That’s because the Bulls are kak this season.
The argument is that not enough Stormers fans are willing to admit that their team – in terms of quality – was also barely mediocre this season.
31 Jul 2012, 09:21 am
@SA rugby is k@k-21:
Says the guy with a nick like yours.. hehehehehe, priceless
31 Jul 2012, 09:22 am
@SA rugby is k@k-49: ask bakkies how many times i’ve called him on his “cheats and scum” rhetoric…even last monday he was still trying to convince me that the bulls wings “were targeted for injuries”. as hurricane just said above, if you want to share a waka with bakkies then fine just don’t cry when it gets torpedoed with you still in it..
31 Jul 2012, 09:23 am
@grant10-56:
” it doesn’t matter who finished above who ”
I think it does and probably like that in most sports.
And the 1000 showers a day comment really makes me question, how old you really are.
31 Jul 2012, 09:25 am
@grant10-56: dude, pipe down!
31 Jul 2012, 09:27 am
@Golden Boy-58: so you dont agree that SA rugby is kiak? 8th equal at the WC, an all time win percentage that has been dropping since coming back from isolation (must be neutral refs) and is currently ranked only 3rd in the world?
my mistake
:
31 Jul 2012, 09:28 am
@Hurricane-48:
You are starting to sound like Pooper.
And that’s not good.
31 Jul 2012, 09:29 am
@ 48 Hurricane it is true… Happened in a smallish town called Vereeniging… Monsters… They still laughed about it in court…
31 Jul 2012, 09:30 am
Speaking of Poep.
Here he is.
With another name change but still the same stench.
31 Jul 2012, 09:31 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-63:
didnt mean to but it was all over the radio on talk back.
They were saying even the South Africans are appalled by it etc etc.
I just asked if you heard about it or is it our useless media again?
Dont get all defensive, was not an attack on the great people of SA, that even incudes you Gunther…….sometimes
There will be 23 000 more people between EP KIngs & the Leopards in the CC first division final in PE than there will be at the Super Rugby Final… LOL thats just F*cked up!!!!
@Tacitus-57:
We will gladly admit that they were barely mediocre. At least they can only improve. And after finishing top after the regular season and contesting a semi final with a ‘barely mediocre’ team, we are really excited about the next 4/5 years.
31 Jul 2012, 09:32 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-65: hey rock spider, hoe gaan dit?
:
31 Jul 2012, 09:33 am
@THE MAULER-64:
wow thats meesed up.
Do you guys have the death penalty over there and how long is life in prison.
Over here in NZ its rubbish, life is like 14-19 years i think.
31 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
@grant10-67:
You have to much of a problem with stadium capacity buddy. Would you prefer that they build an 80 000 seater and only pull in 25 000? Will that make you happy? Oh no, then you will complain that they cant even fill the stadium. Besides, most of the money generated is from tv takings anyway. The only ones losing out on gate receipts is the home union.
31 Jul 2012, 09:35 am
Hurricane… Some days a guy gets 10 years then 20… And some days they get a slap on the wrist… No death penalty at all…
31 Jul 2012, 09:37 am
@Hurricane-70: some days Hurri, they buy their way out of prison altogether, much like Bees Roux did…
31 Jul 2012, 09:38 am
@Hurricane-66:
There are monsters everywhere.
Nothing special about South Africa.
Despite what Pooper might tell you.
I think he was denied the breast.
31 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@Transformation-53:
You know the reason, its because Pierre matches a certain perception of what a fantastic rugby player should be – father’s legacy, beeeg muscles, square features, conservative, etc
Humble Hashim is another example, took time for him to be accepted. If can recall that terrible article by Simon, lamblasting Hashim for not endorsing alcohal sponsorships whilst Hashim is such a fine ambassador, individual and player for our country. A reflection of the strength in embracing our diversity
With time as south african society evolves these perceptions will also change and broaden. See the US. It took decades. We getting there. Hell who knows, in 10 years time we may have our own Dennis Rodman of rugby
31 Jul 2012, 09:39 am
@THE MAULER-72:
So its really inconsistent like NZ.
A drunk driver can get caught 7 times then the 8th goes to jail for 3 months while a before him in court another person will get 6 months after being caught 3 times. Terrible.
31 Jul 2012, 09:40 am
@SA rugby is k@k-62:
I don’t know why I am wasting my team replying to the troll but anyway. “my god youre a bitter old fool… seriously, rugby would be a lot better if you didnt support it….” and your nick…clearly you have to see the irony in that statement.
31 Jul 2012, 09:42 am
Very inconsistent here… People who defraud get higher sentences than Murderers and rapists…
31 Jul 2012, 09:43 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-74: oh poor Gunther, there just seem to be more monsters in SA then in other places….as the internet tells us so… why is this?
perhaps if your ancestors had had more decency, it wouldnt be the case now would it?
anyways, time to go, had my fun, Im sure Gunther will come up with some other thing aimed at me thats equally unfunny, but god love him he keeps trying..
31 Jul 2012, 09:45 am
@Golden Boy-77: obviously, it is a play on this sites chief correspondent and a tweet he posted before the 2011 WC, around the start of 2010 actually..
are you a little upset that I am throwing it back in keos face?
31 Jul 2012, 09:46 am
Hansen not onside with Henry’s claims
30/7/2012 2:58 AM Emma Stoney
Former coach Sir Graham Henry may believe the All Blacks were cheated by officials in the 2007 quarterfinal loss to France, but Steve Hansen is shying away from his former boss’ claims.
Henry, in his book ‘Graham Henry – Final Word’ said the All Blacks were “sawn off” by match officials – referee Wayne Barnes and his assistants Jonathan Kaplan and Tony Spreadbury – highlighting the lopsided penalty count, where France were not penalised in the final 50 minutes of the match, and the forward pass that led to France’s match-winning try.
The World Cup-winning coach even contemplated the possibility the match had been fixed and urged the New Zealand Rugby Union to pressure the International Rugby Board to launch an inquiry into the performance of the match officials.
But Hansen, who was assistant coach at the 2007 and 2011 World Cups, has distanced himself from Henry’s claims.
“I think everyone in the world knows that the referee and officials didn’t have a great game that night. But that wasn’t the reason why we lost that game I don’t believe,” said Hansen.
“There are a lot of things that we did that caused us to lose it as well. We’ve been lucky enough to be given the opportunity to have another crack.
“We reflected on all the things and worked hard on them and we got our stuff right and it allowed us to win the World Cup last year.
“For me it’s dead and gone. I’m looking forwards not backwards. It’s all about the future. I’ve let it go. I let it go quite a long time ago.”
Former IRB referee selector Bob Francis, the man responsible for appointing Barnes to that quarterfinal, believes Henry’s reputation will be tarnished by the claims
But Hansen refused to be drawn into that debate.
“It’s irrelevant what I think in that regard. I’ve got no comment to make about any of that,” he said.
“You’ve asked me what I thought about 2007. I’ve told you I don’t believe it was just the referees.
“I think it’s a lot of things that we did as well. We were lucky enough to get the opportunity to re-visit those things that we didn’t do well and get them right and be good enough to win in 2011.
“For me, 2007 allowed us to win in 2011. Yes it hurt losing it (the quarterfinal). But it was 2007 and we are now in 2012. It’s time to get on the horse and keep moving forward.”
31 Jul 2012, 09:48 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-74:
Yeah it was talk back and a quite a few South Africans rung the radio station and had a talk about the life in SA and why they left. 90% loved the country but they moved for their kids. They wanted a safer place to bring the children up in.
We have about 30-50 murders a year. You guys have about 44 murders a day.
We over here just cant get our head around it. The talk back persenter just could not get over it.
In one year, the amount of people murdered in SA is the same population as the place i grew up in.
Wow,you guys must have big balls
31 Jul 2012, 09:48 am
yes Hashim doesn’t endorse the Castle logo – which is fine, i respect that .. but he does accept the money from them etc ….. its chick who saves herself for the honeymoon night, but goes and blows every tom, d!ck & harry before her marriage … (cause she is still a virgin come honeymoon night) hahahaha!
31 Jul 2012, 09:49 am
@Transformation-81:
Yeah i saw Hansen on the news talking about it.
He did not want anything to do with it.
But whats the bet at the time, his thoughts would have been the same a GH.
31 Jul 2012, 09:50 am
@SA rugby is k@k-80:
‘Obviously’ a tweet that was posted a year ago….hehehehehe…sorry but unlike you I do have a life. Which means that I do not waste my time following ‘rugby writers’ on twitter. And really, if you have to justify your nick based on that then I really feel sorry for you.
No really, I am being sincere here.
31 Jul 2012, 09:53 am
@Hurricane-82:
Sadly life is very cheap here.
Equally disturbing is the dehumanised element of some of these crimes.
There are very few people whose lives have not been touched by tragedy in some way.
It’s only amusing to psychotic malcontents like pooper.
I guess it’s nature vs nurture and in his case he was let down by both.
31 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@Hurricane-70: At the moment it feels as though the sociopaths are starting to outnumber the sane.
Many blame ONLY the socio-political landscape, but that is a very blinkered view and only tells part of the story. (White, black, pink and yellow carry collective guilt in this dawn of Mad Max like violence, and I kid you not, that is exactly what some of this kak can be compared to)
I for one am no longer buying much of the BS peddled to us re: sadistic violence, that psychologists, criminologists and the like are selling.
We have problems, serious problems, and it’s about time the researchers started moving away from their more traditional ‘opinions’ and started working out what is really going down.
Just my opinion of course.
31 Jul 2012, 09:57 am
@Hurricane-82:
Unfortunately this is what happens when you are raised in an environment where police had the authority to hit your fathers brains in at two in the morning in his own home while you as a 3/4 year old had to witness it. Unfortunately this is what the majority of South Africans had to endure under apartheid and the psychological scars are only being seen today.
31 Jul 2012, 09:58 am
@capetown-75:
@grant10-83:
He probably endorse only bacon and eggs?
31 Jul 2012, 09:59 am
@Hondo-89: not bacon, macon – he is muslim
31 Jul 2012, 10:00 am
@grant10-47: We could select a neutral venue where we can be guaranteed the local team won’t be in the final. Cape Town perhaps?
31 Jul 2012, 10:01 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-86: Who is Pooper? And why would this person find what happnes in SA in terms of sadistic violence and death, funny? You joking right?
31 Jul 2012, 10:02 am
@Tacitus-57: Well, our barely mediocre, beat your kak twice. That’s enough for most of us.
31 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
simple really – leave Bosman on the bench.
Play Lambie 12 and Jordaan 13. No other way really. Or start with Bosman and hit the panic button at his first slip up.
Would definitely consider starting players like Riaan Viljoen with Ludik at 14 and bring JP on later to have hi fresh. Riaan and Ludik provide ample cover as we could see on the weekend.
Same with Bismarck, Alberts and Marcell Coetzee. Start Deysel, Sykes and Burden – none of those players will let the team down and they will be fresh and have a lot of first half energy. Then roll on the heavies after the first half. The injection of Bismarck, Alberts, Marcell, JP Pietersen at 40 to 50 minutes could easily upset the Chiefs if the others can hold the fort in the first half.
31 Jul 2012, 10:04 am
Golden Boy … afrikaner boys and girls endured the same in concentration camps … you dont see them raping women with broken bottles,burning their victims with irons or cutting up teenage girls into thousands of pieces …
31 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
with Lambie and Jordaan not having played they will be fresh for the most part of the game. Kanko hasnt played much this year so he should handle better than most – your main problems are props, and Michalak and McCleod in this case. Something one can try and deal with if the other 3/4 of the team is fresh after 40.
31 Jul 2012, 10:07 am
@grant10-95: I see what you are trying to do. But it’s an epic fail. Context and timing are everything. You suck at both.
31 Jul 2012, 10:08 am
@grant10-95:
In concentration camps 80 years ago bud. They they had their chance to vent all their frustration during apartheid.
31 Jul 2012, 10:12 am
Wow.
Honestly to me this has been an eye opener.
The talk back host started to get himself into hot water, asking the question since a black government, has SA got worse?
Now thats when i turned the radio off, had to work but i am sure he would have got a few angry replies to even suggesting that.
Anyway all countries have there problems but makes you wonder are those problems anything over what you guys have to endure.
Proves how much pride some of you guys have with sticking to where you live.
Hats off to the brothers of South Africa
31 Jul 2012, 10:15 am
@Golden Boy-98:
110 years ago.
31 Jul 2012, 10:16 am
regarding last weeks semi – no insults intended… i heard this chirp..
Grant was the senior player who consoled the players on the field after the final whistle… he knows how, he’s had practice cause he’s been there before… a few times…
31 Jul 2012, 10:17 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-86: when have I ever found it amusing rock spider????? I just like to point it out when some of you start in about NZs own problems, and then people like you get all precious and twist the truth….
but what to expect from someone as racist and bigoted as yourself Gunther?
31 Jul 2012, 10:18 am
@David-100: Thanks David..I was looking at a ball-park figure.
31 Jul 2012, 10:21 am
@grant10-95:
Idiot
@Golden Boy-98:
I truly hope you are not trying to justify violence.
31 Jul 2012, 10:22 am
@Golden Boy-103:
Pleasure.
31 Jul 2012, 10:24 am
Hi keo friends in Cape Town
I need a bit of help with directions: how would you drive in peak hour traffic from Pinelands to Rondebosch – say Campground Road
Your objective would be get there as soon as possible
Don’t drive out there now, I’m not there – I will be there on a future date
31 Jul 2012, 10:27 am
@Mr Black-104: That deserves a WTF!?!?!?!?
Where did I come across as justifying violence? If I did then I am sorry. I was pointing out that when one grows up in a violent society then it becomes part of you. This is even more so when you witness violence first hand on a daily basis. No justifying anything there. Just pointing out what studies have shown for years now.
31 Jul 2012, 10:28 am
From what I can see on a map:
Drive down Forest Drive which becomes Raapenberg
Then at the T-junction turn right into Klipfontein/Durban Road
Then 1st left into Liesbeek Park Road which becomes Campground…
Will that do the trick?
31 Jul 2012, 10:31 am
@Sheriff-108:
Forest Drive yes…it crosses n2. If that does not work then take the offramp to Cape Town and then the 2nd offramp which will take you to Liesbeek Park. Stay on that road for 5 minutes…
31 Jul 2012, 10:34 am
@Hurricane-99: We do a lot of blaming in this country (instead of working out what the real causes are). We would SMOKE your Kiwi asses if there was a Blame Championship Cup in the offering.
We aren’t good at taking responsibility here in SA, but feck me, we are the undisputed world champs in blaming others and passing the buck.
It’s Apartheids fault. No, it’s the ANC’s fault. No, it’s Anglo Boer war’s fault. No, it’s Jake White’s fault.
And all of those shifting blame, are probably breast feeding the next generation of sociopaths as they go about their blaming…
31 Jul 2012, 10:35 am
@Golden Boy-107:
Ok, cool.
31 Jul 2012, 10:39 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-92:
Who can say why.
He finds Aids, Rape and Vilienve towards children hilarious.
He used to call himself Pooper69 but now he ha predictably morphed in sarugbyiskak.
He doesn’t really need a name though, his poisoned mind makes him stand out like a chinese swimmers lap times.
I blame the parents.
31 Jul 2012, 10:43 am
@Sheriff-108: @Sheriff-108: If you carry on with Klipfontein / Durban, you’ll get to a strange looking T-junction / fork in the road: you join at a 45 degree angle -carry on to your right and you’ll eventually reach Liesbeek rd where you should turn left.
31 Jul 2012, 10:47 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-112: Eina. One without empathy is a Dahmer by any other name.
Maybe this fellow is a troll though, and would never be able to unite his persona on here, with his real life persona. It happens.
31 Jul 2012, 10:52 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-114:
Poops has had more breakdowns here than a 1972 Lancia.
He’s apologised, wept, ranted and says that this blog has changed who he is.
However he’s made more comebacks than Barry Manilow.
He is a poster boy for the maladjusted and pathologically psychotic.
31 Jul 2012, 10:55 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-115:
HEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHE..I love his breadowns!!!!! Right up there with Skops rants and the Groot Trek of a few years ago
31 Jul 2012, 10:58 am
Hurricane – There are actually about 44 murders/rapes a day in SA. Many of them don’t even get mentioned in the newspaper.
I would say it is obviously an apartheid hangeover coupled with ANC spin doctoring. The ANC promised all sorts of things to their people once they got in power, which they knew they never would be able to make good on.
It is common knowledge that people/workers from Zimbabwe and further afield are very hard working, but alot of the people/workers in SA are lazy becoz the ANC drilled into them loads of FREE promises and pay backs etc.
31 Jul 2012, 11:00 am
@Golden Boy-116:
It’s like watching a car accident in slow motion where only the drunk driver gets hurt.
31 Jul 2012, 11:03 am
The disgusting violence which many South Africans have to endure has very little, if anything to do with apartheid. It has to do with the fact that we have some of the most aggressive, psycho tribes in Africa living here. They were doing this stuff to each other before any europeans arrived in Africa. They were quick to embrace slavery and sell their own to the first europeans that did get here. Violence breeds violence. The more that it is around, the more it is accepted as the norm.
31 Jul 2012, 11:06 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-115: @Golden Boy-116: Ok, I obviously don’t have the luxury of the the full picture here. But I do know that some of the inappropriate and offensive kak dribbled out on blogs and forums would never make an appearance in the non-interweb world
Sadly, I also know that a lot of the inappropriate and offensive kak dribbled out on blogs and forums is a very real reflection of the shattered and warped personalities of some….
31 Jul 2012, 11:09 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-114: The saddest thing is the dumb twat doesn’t even realize how offensive it is when he gleefully cuts and pastes crime statistics or newspaper stories of rape and murder on here….it doesn’t cross his mind that a lot of people on here may have experienced violent crime or had it happen to friends or family, and that those statistics are actually real people. He’s just a sick twisted freak who gets off on getting a rise out of people, now matter how low he has to stoop….and then ironically enough he acts the martyr when people give him his own medicine back.
I wouldn’t p*ss on him if he was running down the road on fire.
31 Jul 2012, 11:09 am
poops is an angry man.
very angry.
and he is devoid of filters.
an angry filterless man.
i would never have a beer with him because the occasion would alternate between extreme anger and then cry-on-your-shoulder remorse.
as fun as it sounds, its a little disturbing too
31 Jul 2012, 11:10 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120: so here you go, a glimpse into Poops
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-114: ok, before you try pyscho-analyse popps, stop righ there.
poppa started out decent (well the all blacks were klapping the boks year-on-year & the blues were competitive) then 2009 came and the all blacks lost in bloemfontein – poppa’s dark side emerged that day. the boks won the tri-nations having whitewashed the all blacks, saffas were crowing and poppa lost his s.hit and decided to embark on a “jihad” referred to on keo as “returning serve”
“returning serve” entails mocking any and everything about SA eg violence, aids, rape etc
he has tried his hand at faux remorse and even “leaving the blog” but it is always shortlived – note the dates of the post below.
16.poppa69: Reply to this comment
12 Jul 2011, 07:26 am
this will be my final post on this blog..
the very sagacious Puma made a valid point a week or two ago, and having had time to consider it I believe he is 100% correct. The longer I stay here the more I am moving away from my true nature.
So I offer a heartfelt, sincere and unconditional apology for anything Ive ever said that has been offensive or worse. It was only ever to rile and elicit reaction.
I wish you all future success in whatever endeavour you may choose, and hope that you all continue to enjoy rugby because it is the best game going..
Hei Konei Ra
Poppa.
116.poppa69:
28 Sep 2011, 09:21 am @WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-85:
look, Ive been projecting my anger due to personal reasons onto you guys and realise its been completely abhorrent, disgusting, inflammatory and wrong… I wish I could take things back but I cant, its something Im definitely not proud of and I will have to live with it… for that I truly am sorry..
31 Jul 2012, 11:11 am
@Atreides-121: he is simply returning serve though bud (he says).
its like hating everyone who is black/white/different because of a bad experience with a few members of that demographic.
personally i blame kobus kitty for mind-k no bb ing poops.
31 Jul 2012, 11:13 am
@Hurricane-99: Hey bud. When saffers say Africa’s not for sissies, it’s not just machismo!
It’s a constant worry, especially when you have a family and small kids.
I’d personally have little worry about them breaking in and stealing some stuff, but it’s the horrific and senseless violence inflicted on women, kids and the elderly that gets to me.
31 Jul 2012, 11:14 am
@rangerman-124: What did he do to him?
31 Jul 2012, 11:15 am
If people simply ignore him he will be chatting to himself and go away in silence.
The more you reply the bigger his ego gets
31 Jul 2012, 11:16 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120:
He is a bit of a sad case really. As you can see by the comments, not many here like him. Personally I think he is just a troubled teen who needs a bit of love. His hands must be full of callouses by now.
31 Jul 2012, 11:16 am
@Transformation-123: And of course, this being the interweb, he is baited constantly. Unfortunately he doesn’t have the emotional intelligence to deal with it and goes postal. Every. Single. Time.
31 Jul 2012, 11:17 am
@rangerman-124: ja, kobus kitty and whatever are the catalysts of this nutjob we have, fark me they were relentless in ’09
31 Jul 2012, 11:20 am
rangerman – Well what name is poops using now? Was he formerley poppa69?
31 Jul 2012, 11:20 am
WOW! Ok, so he is just a harmless chap, giving back some of what he gets? I think Hitler, Molosevic and George W Bush all said the same at some stage.
31 Jul 2012, 11:21 am
SBW to run over the little lamb this weekend.
31 Jul 2012, 11:21 am
@rangerman-124:
He violated him one time.
Reminiscent of a Cougar on crack.
It was like bad 80′s porn.
31 Jul 2012, 11:24 am
@NZINCHINA-133: Think we will have Bosman starting there. SBW was taken care of in Durbs with Bosman at inside centre.
Now if we could have had Fransie….. It would be SBW who?????
Seriously though wish we could get back up if we have injured players. Such a daft rule not to be allowed too.
31 Jul 2012, 11:25 am
@Atreides-125: You know how bad things have got when people are relieved that ATM bombings are picking up. Why? Because at least “no people were harmed in the bombing of this ATM”.
Bloody sad.
@rangerman-124: I did congratulate you on your teams fine win over the weekend. (in case you missed it…)
31 Jul 2012, 11:27 am
@Tacitus-57:
Ja, you have a point- the Stormers probably performed above themselves taking into consideration the quality of the individual players who were available for selection for most of the season.
For the sake of the argument the starting 15 on Saturday can be categorized as follows :
Superstar –
World class – Jean, Habana, Bekker
Nearly world class – Etzebeth
Above average super 15 – Kolisi, Elstadt. Kitschoff
Average super 15: – de Jongh, Joe P, Aplon
Below average: – Grant, Duvenhage, Brok, Fourie, Liebenberg
They were therefore probably just not good enough to win a super 15 specially taking into consideration that they had below average players in positions as important as halfbacks and the front row. The Sharks for example will be more top heavy with one superstar and 4 or 5 world class players.
Hats off then to the coaching staff (and fighting spirit of the players) who managed to get them to win 14/17 this season.
31 Jul 2012, 11:32 am
@Puma-135:
Hi Puma, two teams peaking at the right time its going to be a superb contest. I suppose the rule is to stop wealthy teams buying star players for just a few games if they make the finals. Conrgats to your Sharks I was on record as saying I thought they would have folded by now as they have done in previous seasons, it will be a fantastic achievement if they can get up for this one.
31 Jul 2012, 11:41 am
@rangerman-124:
Knobus Kitty was a plague on here. A poster that i had little time for.
Lier to boot and the fact he called Spies the best #8 in the world showed how much he knew about the game.
31 Jul 2012, 11:42 am
@NZINCHINA-138: Thanks bud. Very proud of my team.
Should be a great game Saturday.
Yes I do understand the rule they can’t just bring in player, but really if a team has both centres out injured then there is a time that rule can be relaxed to allow for that team to bring in a player. NOT a overseas based player that is unfair, only another player that is already signed in your union. Then yes, they should be allowed too. If a Bok player gets injured we allowed to replace him with another. Anyhow it will not happen. We done well with Bosman there the last time we played the Chiefs.
31 Jul 2012, 11:44 am
@Robzim-137: I would add Etzebeth to world class Rob. He is a magnificent player.
31 Jul 2012, 11:44 am
Two things: Pooper69 is low class scum, and not even the Kiwis here will deny this.
And Sunni Bin is not all that, as will be seen against a fired up Sharks. His good press vs actual accomplishments is even more lopsided than Richie McCheat’s.
31 Jul 2012, 11:50 am
@Atreides-125:
hey mate.
Yeah, South Africa seems to be the place where you have to be on guard.
Hard to live like that i think but suppose if you have been bought up in it,really not that hard.
31 Jul 2012, 11:53 am
@>^..^< katman-142:
Poppa was given cr@p on here a number of times. Dont go down the road of he asked for it.
Dont want to hear but he started it. Some poeple on here have no respect at all.
As for SBW, we shall see. And if he runs though the Sharks, well you come back and eat that post?
31 Jul 2012, 11:54 am
Mate of mine staying in Hamilton says the office has already been celebrating the Chiefs as Superugby champs… Even the pub etc… Sharks love being the underdogs…
31 Jul 2012, 11:57 am
@Hurricane-144: Mate, you don’t have to stand up for him just because he’s a Kiwi. He’s scum, and you don’t want that sht rubbing off on you. Just step away – no one will judge you for it.
31 Jul 2012, 11:58 am
@Robzim-137:
Estebeth is world class Bekker not.
31 Jul 2012, 11:58 am
@Puma-140:
Yip good luck mate
@>^..^< katman-142:
yes we know you don’t like him it wouldn’t matter what he did it wouldn’t be good enough for you now would it ,now is this the part where you come back and say i’m not fit to deliver logs to your house or I could drive you around if I was a taxi driver?
31 Jul 2012, 12:04 pm
@SA rugby is k@k-38:
can we agree the judiciary has made nothing of the incident?
can we agree this sort of thing happens ‘rather coincidentally’ all to often when kiwi players and judicial officers, commisioners, administrators are concerned?
why is this the case?
@Hurricane-39:
my rant was about a ‘certain’ white card incident and an unpunished and conveniently covered up instance of a sharks player being bottled by a blues supporter.
what are you on about?
31 Jul 2012, 12:07 pm
@NZINCHINA-148: Are those riddles? You got me.
And he’s scum, regardless of whether I like him or not. And I don’t.
31 Jul 2012, 12:09 pm
@>^..^< katman-150:
what does he actually have to do on the park to impress you, you don’t rate him so where is he going wrong, i’d be interested to know?
31 Jul 2012, 12:10 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-149:
I am on about the now.
Do you really think us kiwis are that bad?
Do you believe your own management is straight up, do you always believe whats SARU says?
Is the problem is that you do not like Kiwis, we all can see this. Its ok, just be straight up, is it really that hard to tell the truth?
31 Jul 2012, 12:13 pm
@NZINCHINA-148:
What’s the matter with you?
When you aren’t kissing someone’s fundament you’re trying to Hopoate them.
Are you bipolar?
31 Jul 2012, 12:13 pm
@Hurricane-152:
I think he might be related to old Gerty.
31 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-153:
lets wait for funny guy II’s detailed analysis of where SBW is going wrong on the park , this should be good
31 Jul 2012, 12:16 pm
@NZINCHINA-151: Hang on, we’re not talking about Pooper, are we?
If you mean SBW, i don’t have a problem with him. I don’t even dislike him – why would I? I just don’t think he’s as good as all the column inches in the (mostly) Kiwi press make him out to be. I think he’s a great marketing opportunity, and he and his agent have exploited this to the full.
By the way, I’m fully aware of how the PR wheels turn. Very little of the SBW hype is accidental.
31 Jul 2012, 12:17 pm
@Hurricane-152:
hurricane, i like you and i like cane.
poppa on the other hand, while i do not dislike or despise him i do think he is most often way off base in his posts and is mostly responding in a knee jerk emotional fashion to criticisms people make of kiwi rugby.
i say kiwi rugby because, quite honestly, if you checked back to the time are first started blogging here you will see my gripe is only about rugby related issues and kiwis involved in these issues.
the one or two times i posted articles about nz other than rugby was in response to things poppa was saying about sa’s crime rate and stuff like that.
i just replied with a host of articles showing similar stuff happening in nz.
for the rest it is and has been about rugby.
nz has a dirty history in rugby over the last ten years
is this my fault?
when i justifiably bring up this dirty history.
31 Jul 2012, 12:19 pm
i know, it is actually more than ten years but i am trying to be reasonable.
31 Jul 2012, 12:20 pm
sorry
afk
30 min
31 Jul 2012, 12:21 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-157:
What is this dirty history?
Do you think SA are the bench mark of how teams should play like and be like?
31 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
@NZINCHINA-148:
Why are you such a sour pr.ick?
If somebody doesn’t rate or like your heroes (SBW or McCheat or Pooper) what’s it to you?
Seriously you sound like someone who is unhappy with the life choices they have made.
31 Jul 2012, 12:22 pm
@>^..^< katman-156:
thats great you’re in the PR game, was just hoping you could have told me what part of his game wasn’t up to par
31 Jul 2012, 12:25 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-159:
lol AFK
Sounds like you play World of Warcraft
31 Jul 2012, 12:27 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-161:
when you bag somebodies game you have to be able to tell us why, when I exposed old Gerty on here the other night there were facts galore
31 Jul 2012, 12:29 pm
@NZINCHINA-162: I’m not in PR, but I deal with them often enough to know their tricks.
About SBW.. He doesn’t have a good pass, apart from the backhand offload. Have you ever seen him fling a long, skip pass out? Not to mention passing to the right. If you want to play at 12, you must be a playmaker. And this involves more than taking on the defense and hoping to offload. There are many other weapons he simply does not possess. Like stepping. Or real pace. He’s good at crashing the ball up, and keeping the move alive through the tackle, but that’s about it.
31 Jul 2012, 12:30 pm
@NZINCHINA-164:
Seriously.
I’m interested to know what made you like this.
31 Jul 2012, 12:31 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-166: The oppressive People’s Republic of China.
31 Jul 2012, 12:32 pm
@>^..^< katman-165:
ok fair enough
31 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
@>^..^< katman-165:
You’ve left out the shoulder charge.
31 Jul 2012, 12:33 pm
I’m popping out for a hot pot, catch you boys later.
31 Jul 2012, 12:39 pm
@>^..^< katman-165:
Understand what you are saying but og those players that can skip pass and sidestep, how many can take 2-3 player outs of the backline like he can?
He is a different player to what we all have grown up with and know what a #12 should be like.
He can step, his pace is lacking but so is Conrad smith and i think he is probably the best #13 now, showed BOD a thing or 2 last time they met. Pace isnt everything.
31 Jul 2012, 12:39 pm
@NZINCHINA-170: Ah, the hot pot pop. Chow, mein.
31 Jul 2012, 12:40 pm
SBW is the truth. Period. Keep hating haters.
31 Jul 2012, 12:42 pm
@Hurricane-171: Maybe it’s just a perception thing, but I think Smith is considerably quicker than SBW.
I just would like a 12 to have more tricks up his sleeve. SBW is good, make no mistake. But he’s not on par with either BOD or Jean at the top of their games. I’d even prefer Nonu over Williams, particularly if Smith is playing outside him for the AB’s
31 Jul 2012, 12:43 pm
@rossoneri-173:
Lilly
Anybody who describes a person as being “the truth” has already swallowed the Koolaid.
31 Jul 2012, 12:45 pm
@rossoneri-173: Stop being such a fangirl, rossi. It’s not very becoming. Way too Bieber-esque.
31 Jul 2012, 12:46 pm
Where are these sorts of player for 2012?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=Hf9Elzj7ZPU&feature=endscreen
31 Jul 2012, 12:47 pm
Witness the Boom! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCHFsHlKpoo&feature=share
31 Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
@>^..^< katman-178:
Bismark looked a bit lost.
31 Jul 2012, 12:56 pm
I see china has the hot pot excuses he has added to the greentea one to leave when someone touches a nerve.
31 Jul 2012, 12:58 pm
@grant10-47: A bit rude mate we have property in Hamilton and i can assure you it is not a squatter camp and is twice as expensive as the average SA home
31 Jul 2012, 13:01 pm
@Hurricane-144: “Dont want to hear but he started it.” – how convinient, when poppa himself says he is “just returning serve”…poppa had a pop at south africans WAAAAAAAY before KKK & Whatever went defecated on him.
31 Jul 2012, 13:02 pm
@Hurricane-179: I thought he was fcked for the game, but he actually did alright after that. I’d still be in the ICU if it were me.
But that Etsebeth boy certainly ate all his porridge as a youngster.
31 Jul 2012, 13:05 pm
@Transformation-182:
Good to see you agree, The serve is the start and the return is after.
KKK is pathetic poster. Yet most of you let him carry on with his dribble yet Poppa says the same thing, you guys come down on him like a tonne of bricks, dont you think thats a bit odd?
31 Jul 2012, 13:09 pm
@>^..^< katman-183:
Bismark wouldnt last long in this game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_B0iLQAabc&feature=related
31 Jul 2012, 13:12 pm
@Hurricane-160:
the way nz has been playing rugby has been really low. ab’s employ very similar strategies to what the crsaders use. the extent to which your teams behave this way has become off putting and distasteful to watch or like.
this is against the spirit of the game and is in fact rightfully described as cheating.
that is why there are rules against this sort of actions and behaviour. i can only guess that the choking label had affected your national psyche perhaps and lead to your players, coaches and admin adopting a greater degree of ‘dirtiness’ in your play and behaviour? i dont know? its my attempt at an answer?
the extent to which you guys flout the rules and the degree to which you engineer cover ups for your rugby behaviour at the highest level is indicatve of something?
you are making rugby ulikeable and not fun to watch.
i have stopped watching the ab’s against any team a long time ago.
at worst i watch them when the boks are playing… because the boks are playing.
rugby should not be this way..?..
@Hurricane-163:
no, i heard it somewhere.
31 Jul 2012, 13:21 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-169:
to be fair he does try hard not to instinctively pull off a few in every game.
but sometimes his nature takes over.
the real conundrum is how he never gets pinged for it, NEVER, yet its plainly clear to any fool watching what he’s just done.
now see a saffa pull a hint of a charge and it all over rover
good night nurse
31 Jul 2012, 13:23 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-186:
So headbutts and eye gouging allowed? How about pitch invasions.
You honestly think we cheat every game?
Dont SA have the best refs?
You blame the Kiwis yet seem that the Bulls get away wiht alot of mauls that have broken and turned into truck and trailor but thats ok?
Ozzie are better than the boks so far, going on the last few years and IRB table, do they cheat?
How about your beloved teams, do the Boks cheat?
Alot of questions i know but your post is one sided and it seems you are trying to paint an ugly picture of the ABs. Maybe it makes you feel better when you lose but in real life, you name one team that does not bend the rules
31 Jul 2012, 13:24 pm
@Hurricane-160:
honestly hurricane, i can tell you i enjoy watching oz play. that’s positive rugby, and fun to watch.
31 Jul 2012, 13:31 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-189:
“”…..you (NZ) are making rugby ulikeable (sic) and not fun to watch.”
Then DON’T watch it Bakkies.
One less whining Saffa here would be a bonus.
Do us all a favour.
P.S. Our Hockey Babes are giving your Hockey Babes a pasting. (are they cheats too).
31 Jul 2012, 13:32 pm
@Hurricane-185: Ja, I can see where SBW learnt to “tackle”. Those are all carbon copies of his style of hit.
31 Jul 2012, 13:32 pm
@Hurricane-188:
show me where headbutts or eye gouging is allowed?
on the contrary, i can show you where any and every bok player ever involved in such incidents has been roundly punished and i can even show you incidents in which bok players have been punished yet were completely innocent of the charges.
i challenge you to name a single instance in which a saffa got off lightly in the last ten years for such behaviour?
pitch invasions? show me a single instance in which a pitch invader in sa has not been seriously punished for such behaviour?
criminal charges
life time bans
is what saffas get here for such stuff
thats the point.
we actually follow through with doing what is right… because its right….
no hurri, this is not about ‘bending the rules’.. nz has gone way beyond that a long time ago…
31 Jul 2012, 13:33 pm
@cane-190: Is Bryce reffing this one?
31 Jul 2012, 13:36 pm
@cane-190:
i do not watch the ab’s anymore, cane.
and i have decided to stop watching super rugby from next year.
i will follow cc and all international not involving nz.
our hockey babes had a very, very high opinion of themselves it seems. and to think they made such a fuss about being good enough to go to the olympics.
i dont know if your babes are cheats but they are good looking girls.
31 Jul 2012, 13:38 pm
same for our hockey men
31 Jul 2012, 13:40 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-187:
if he does get pinged he just tells the ref to fukkoff.
that’s why kids everywhere love him.
31 Jul 2012, 13:41 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-192:
“criminal charges
life time bans”.
The murderer Tromp.
31 Jul 2012, 13:42 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-189:
Strange, last year you called the Ozzies cheats.
Did you enjoy how Pocock cheated you out of a RWC semi?
You may blame the ref but it was Pocock doing it.
Now i know there is double standards here with you.
Here is the example.
Pocock cheated big time in RWC 2011, Brucie cheated.
McCaw does the same thing,hes a cheat and the worst ever….ref is not mentioned. In fact the whole AB team cheats. Do you even see some of the South African bloggers on here think you are a bit over the top with everyone cheating but the team you follow?
NOw can you see why i think you have issue with losing?
31 Jul 2012, 13:43 pm
@cane-190: I think they should all have a good long shower together afterwards.
31 Jul 2012, 13:45 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-192:
Didnt PDV say its rugby, they dont wear tutus etc.
I thought Burger got away with a blantant eye gouge or attempted gouge?
31 Jul 2012, 13:45 pm
@Atreides-199:
31 Jul 2012, 13:46 pm
Anyway, i am out, catch ya all later.
31 Jul 2012, 13:49 pm
Hockey girls showering together. I can’t breathe. Help. O dear.
31 Jul 2012, 13:51 pm
All nations cheat where and when they can. Some are better at it than others. The End.
Our hockey crew talked a good talk…but forgot how to walk.
31 Jul 2012, 13:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-204:
they be finding it hard to walk after the ***** the Argies gave them.
That was a wasted plane ticket.
Along with our archer who looked like Roseanne Barr.
31 Jul 2012, 13:59 pm
@Atreides-199:
31 Jul 2012, 14:01 pm
@>^..^< katman-203:
I can breathe katman,
but the breaths are deep.
31 Jul 2012, 14:05 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-192: Bakkies got away with the headbutt during the game. He was banned later but should have been carded if one of the three refs were watching.
31 Jul 2012, 14:06 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-205:
Even the boy… i mean girl called Pietie could not stop that massacre.
31 Jul 2012, 14:10 pm
@Robzim-209:
or women cyclists were no better.
I shall be sending them to you for intensive training around the wine routes of D’urban Ville.
31 Jul 2012, 14:11 pm
You’re lucky, Cane. Mine comes in short pants.
31 Jul 2012, 14:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-205: Well the male model and his 3 friends didn’t do badly in the rowing A/B semi-finals
Go team SA!
Look, contrary to what SAsCock have been saying, I reckon 5 medals would be a huge achievement. Their 12? *notonyourfuckinglifeandonlyintheirPRbuildup*
31 Jul 2012, 14:27 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-196:
exaclty
@cane-197:
how long ago was that cane? i can also dredge up nz’s blights from yesteryear?
my point was about the last ten years?
@Hurricane-198:
come on hurri, you know our beef was soley with the ref in that game. he was responsible for controlling their bad behaviour.
but yes, that was one game in which the ozzies went out to win at all costs no matter how dirty. but for the most part they play a positive style of rugby which is a lot more enjoyable than what the ab’s dish up.
@Hurricane-200:
so an ‘attempted gouge’ is equal to a gouge is it.
31 Jul 2012, 14:28 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-210:
Does Robzim also cycle in the valley of the Gods? Small world.
31 Jul 2012, 14:29 pm
@gonzo-208:
and thats my point
saffa players, rightly, do get penalised for rule transgressions.
31 Jul 2012, 14:30 pm
@Robzim-209: She is a hockey ‘hall of famer’ – true story. I think she holds a scoring record or two.
31 Jul 2012, 14:33 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-213: @wait for it, wait for it…-213:
An Attempted punch to the face is illegal, maybe this will remind you
http://www.rugbydump.com/2010/07/1531/schalk-burger-alleged-eye-gouge-on-david-pocock
31 Jul 2012, 14:34 pm
besides, it wasn’t even a gouge.
it was correctly desribed as ‘his hands making contact with the face area’
which, incidentally, is exactly what reechie’s hand did when he ‘grabbed’ schalk in the face for throwing the ball away in tri nation 2010.
didn’t see a word said about that during or after or ever….
31 Jul 2012, 14:34 pm
@Robzim-209:
nikita must be crushed
31 Jul 2012, 14:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-212:
the point is that a country like south africa should be looking at 20+ medals.
those thieving cnuts at Sascockup should be made to eat their own feces for the rest of time.
Robbo is one of D’urban Ville’s finest sons.
31 Jul 2012, 14:36 pm
@Robzim-209: Not only Pietie Coetzee, but also Dirkie Chamberlain. I sht you not.
31 Jul 2012, 14:38 pm
@Hurricane-217:
wow, hurri
pocock slams the player to ground head first by the head?
and you’re moaning about a punch in retaliation?
which is worse?
31 Jul 2012, 14:39 pm
he’s also interfering with the ball when clearly he had no right to.
31 Jul 2012, 14:40 pm
looks like an elbow to the throat type throttle too
31 Jul 2012, 14:41 pm
Sonny Bill will carve the Sharks open
Between him and Aaran Cruden they will cause havoc
Cruden is extremely deceptive and while the Sharks keep a close eye on SBW he will mesmerize them with his accel
31 Jul 2012, 14:41 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-222:
Hang, i thought you enjoyed the way the Ozzie play.
Fact is like most people think, hands should not go anywhere near the eyes.
Remember when Smit pushed Thorns head into the dirt and thorn got up and made smit his bit.ch.
Retaliation is not allowed, correct?
31 Jul 2012, 14:42 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-210:
Don’t be so hard on them. Cycling is a tough sport- and our team is also still a bit behind the times and must still catch up with the latest technology like the “battery-powered hot pants” that the British women track team will use in an effort to “fire” their bid for Olympic medals.
Our poor team still does normal lycra and has a huge disadvantage as a result.
31 Jul 2012, 14:44 pm
@Sheriff-225:
Spot on.
Alot of people have been looking at SBW lately, forgetting what Cruden can do.
Cruden is a very good runner with good acceleration.
If hes allowed to run, might as well pass the trophy over.
31 Jul 2012, 14:44 pm
but my point is
it should be punished
as should any player who transgreesses the laws
can we say this for nz?
31 Jul 2012, 14:47 pm
@Hurricane-226: is an “accel” some type of wand? i know gunther has one too he’s been dying to show it to Hermione…
31 Jul 2012, 14:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-216: @>^..^< katman-221:
I have just googled Pietie Coetzee- it seams it is her real name, her friends call her “Pieta”. Apparently SA’s best female hockey player ever- i dont have much interest in hockey and probably would not even have known about her if it was not for the name Pietie that draw my attention.
31 Jul 2012, 14:52 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-222:
you know you are farked when you start using Aussies to make your points.
31 Jul 2012, 14:53 pm
Which is the best website to watch the rugby on saturday via live streaming?
31 Jul 2012, 14:53 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-229:
watch again. Burger had a crack at Pococks head first ( 6 seconds in ), tried to rip his ears off. Pocock decided to drive Burger out the way ( ref called through the middle) and fell on him, Burger hated being man handled went for the eyes, simple. Do you not see that?
Anyway, we have been down this road before. You think NZ cheats all the time and the Boks dont.
Bulls play perfect rugby and dont cheat, all the other teams do, do you a pattern here at all?
31 Jul 2012, 14:54 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-232:
31 Jul 2012, 14:55 pm
@Hurricane-228: yep, the dave rennie/cruden combo has a long history, manawatu, baby blacks and now super rugby…i’m sure they’re cooking something up…
if the 10-12 combo plays anything lke they did for the all blacks against ireland, freddie & meyer are in for a torrid time, coetzee too.
31 Jul 2012, 14:56 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-220: I read an article over the weekend, can’t remember where, how or why – BUT: it boils down to the British (read English..) rowing team, spending more than 315 million Rand (equivalent of) in their preparation. Now that is more than what we have spent in development AND preparation, in all codes and disciplines since the prodigal son returned at the Barcefuckinglona Games in 92.
Sadly, these athletes need financial backing, and in SA, it is far more fashionable (and correct on some levels) to donate 5 incubators to the Red Cross Kiddies hospital, than what it is to help Roseanne Barr prepare for her shootout…(she probably has 3 jobs and little practice time with access to zero back room support)
Watching the weightlifting, a country like Mexico has a team of 4 back room peeps for their lifters. Our poor chap is lucky if he gets his skoene paid for.
And then you get a special Sascock moment where they tell an equestrian athlete he is in the team. He gets his colours, fecks off to London, only to be called back to SA because someone else will be competing in his place, as the other fellows horse is better
Tis a Tiny Tim Xmas miracle that we are even there, never mind medals.
31 Jul 2012, 14:57 pm
@Hurricane-228:
The Sharks only hope will be if Michalak can rise to the occasion; he has to stand up
His eccentric and thus quite difficult to know what to expect
His a man for the big occasion so the Chiefs better beware
31 Jul 2012, 15:00 pm
@Robzim-227:
jjjajajaja.
battery operated hot pant.
I sure you have three pairs.
31 Jul 2012, 15:00 pm
@Robzim-231: She retired, came back and honestly is recognised the world over as one of hockey’s finest, ever. I watch here and there, as an old school connection is in the SA team. Our hockey though, is one of the sports that is actually starting to beenfit from sponsorship. I think Investec and Spar throw money into the ladies game.
Our men also suck the short end of the stick on terms of $$$$$$$$$ – and once again, it’s a small miracle that they are even able to compete.
31 Jul 2012, 15:02 pm
@Transformation-236:
Yep exactly.
Actually forgot about how long those two have been playing together.
@Sheriff-238:
Yep, he has grown into the Super rugby SH style quite nicely. Still a bit iffy though.
He sure does need to step up in this game really.
This is going to be an epic battle if both teams play at there full potential.
31 Jul 2012, 15:03 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-232:
@Hurricane-234:
good lawd
is none of what pocock does registering with you?
31 Jul 2012, 15:04 pm
OH well, i am logging, nice talking guys. And Bakkies thats you as well, always a pleasure
31 Jul 2012, 15:04 pm
@Transformation-230:
I want to see her hogwarts.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-237:
I saw that stat too.
The commnetators at the opening ceremony said the same thing.
Good article by Chris Gibbons in the daily maverick about it.
31 Jul 2012, 15:05 pm
His should be ‘He’s’ in post 238
The thing I admire about Sonny Bill is his ability to pop up in spaces at the right; then he makes the break and when tackled gives the most kind passes to his mates; they literally just have to run into it – his timing is also perfect
He is a bit of a freakish athlete
Cruden has surprised me with his confidence and option taking
31 Jul 2012, 15:06 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-242:
Yep, he fell on him, like when you guys said Quade Cooper did not kneee richie in the head, he fell on him accidentally.
Anyway read post # 243, have a good day
31 Jul 2012, 15:07 pm
sacock is a case of ineptness and gravytrain’ers
nothing more
nothing less
never would have amounted to anything more
its a shame
saru is a case of a bit of the above as well a group of men knowing better.. a lot better
there’s the real shame
31 Jul 2012, 15:07 pm
they could and should amount to so much more
31 Jul 2012, 15:08 pm
@Hurricane-243:
@Hurricane-246:
cheers and good day to you too, sir
31 Jul 2012, 15:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-237: Couldn’t they pair the good rider with the good horse?
Also, they could have taken two middle distance runners for every one of those archer ladies.
31 Jul 2012, 15:11 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-244: It’s actually a disgrace. And from what I can see, the only back room support our athletes are getting over there, is from about 150 members of P who seem to be enjoying the festivities.
On another note, has anyone else noticed how an Irishman, Welshman or Scotsman representing Great Britain, only seems to represent Great Britain if he does well. If he bombs out badly, commentators immediately ‘remind’ listeners that John Oates is a Welshman…..
31 Jul 2012, 15:11 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-240:
are you shirting me?
the men and womens teams got their rectums released by arg and oz
and you say they benfit from sponsorships?
only in sa…
31 Jul 2012, 15:12 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-239:
It’s not on the local market yet- this is Africa (even in D’Urban ville).
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-240:
Good luck to them – The female hockey team probably has a better chance to succeed then the soccer team – i watched a bit of their first game and they were so outclassed that it was not even funny even if they only played against Sweden who also did not look like anything special.
Lets hope Le Clos has a good swim tonight- will probably not get a gold but certainly has a chance for at least a bronze.
I do not have much hope tghat we will get more than 3 medals in total- the target of 12 is totally unrealistic.
31 Jul 2012, 15:12 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-233:
http://www.vipbox.tv/
31 Jul 2012, 15:13 pm
@>^..^< katman-250:
from what i’ve read
the kak rider with the good horse is also a doos- of the highest order
not very likeable
31 Jul 2012, 15:15 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-251:
quite right too.
they need to know their.place.
it’s been quite a drought for ther poms so far.
I’m waiting for Princess Zara to fall of her horse and my Games will be pretty much complete.
On another note, how horrible are our tracksuits?
Which also happend to be our uniforms for the opening ceremony?
I want to know which cabinet minister’s wife made them.
31 Jul 2012, 15:18 pm
@>^..^< katman-250: Couldn’t I wave a wand and bring about world peace?
I think they struggle to wipe their asses without smearing gravy all over the toilet seats, so making the tough (yet actually logical) calls might be asking a little too much. Bless them.
31 Jul 2012, 15:21 pm
I see keo has made a *** of himself on twitter.
Again.
that dude needs a twittersitter.
31 Jul 2012, 15:22 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-256:
a ministers wife made them?
thats a larfable assertion to make
how dare you
that would’ve been the work of maevis, the ministresses PA come seamstress come houshold executive
31 Jul 2012, 15:23 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-256:
Maybe scotsman Andy Murray will do it for them this time unless the man some likes to claim as a South African throws a spanner in the works
Mind you, Djokovich is also playing….
31 Jul 2012, 15:23 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-252: The players still hold down jobs and fight all sorts of other internal battles my good man. The Investec sponsorship is recent, and probably about 2% of what a Super rugby team works with. Only with sustained, and HEAVY sponsorship can things improve.
I really do admire 85% of our Olympic athletes – no support, no cash, no glory, yet they are there, for the love of their sports (and it doesn’t have to be that way) P#sses me off.
@wait for it, wait for it…-255: He should have refused to go IMHO. *anothercockforthesarecordbooks*
@the artist formerly known as gunther-256: Those tracksuits were designed and made in Durban or Pretoria, of that I’m pretty certain
31 Jul 2012, 15:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-261:
well, when you put it that way
it makes me feel a bit of a doos
still cannot stomach 6 nil and 7 – 1 though
31 Jul 2012, 15:29 pm
@Robzim-253: And yet in our female soccer team, we also have a world class player, I think her surname is Modise. She is one of the ‘stars’ in international soccer, yet…..
Chad for a bronze possibly, silver, don’t think so. He is already helluva close to his PB, and I’m sure 1, 2 and 3 from the semis are storing an extra .33333333 of a second somewhere.
A bronze would be a great achievement for him – he will rock in 2016.
31 Jul 2012, 15:30 pm
@Robzim-260:
the dude has south african citizenship.
like i said before Benoniism comes through your mothers bloodline.
I expected him to be carrying our flag at the opening ceremony.
i expect the tracksuits put him off.
@wait for it, wait for it…-259:
maevis is too busy making counterfeit chiefs jerseys to sell at the robots in time for saturday.
besides she says the olympics is for pussies.
WWE is where its at.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-261:
I don’t think we can rule Jehaan’s Exclusive at Access Park out.
31 Jul 2012, 15:34 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-258: What twaddle did the twat tweet now?
31 Jul 2012, 15:38 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-264:
not your maevis
the ministers maevis
31 Jul 2012, 15:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-261: nope, those were made in china.
31 Jul 2012, 15:39 pm
@>^..^< katman-265:
well firslty it seems he upset the Muslimes by attempting a funny using the M word.
never a good idea during Eid.
They are touchy fellas at the best of times.
And last night he twotted jubilantly that Chad had won silver.
failing to realise it was a semi.
probably not the first time keo’s mistaken a semi for the real thing, in tha respect he is like a stormer.
the some other twotter (probably a blogger here) got in his face and the Jonny Kaplan (the real one) had to step in and issue a white card.
Honestly Keo is like a cross between Ian Paisley and Mark Thatcher.
31 Jul 2012, 15:43 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-268: Ha ha, just saw it on his twitter feed. Keeps on blaming the fact that he was also busy boiling a kettle at the time. Which makes an awful lot of sense.
31 Jul 2012, 15:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-263: portia modise is in her mid 30s, she’s way past her prime, she’s only there by name and because the team were depleted and the thought she could help – kind of a plod situation…at her peak she was a good striker and dabbled for arsenal and other european clubs but not in 2012!
31 Jul 2012, 15:46 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-264: the itender for itracksuits was given to a company of ama-china!
31 Jul 2012, 15:46 pm
@Transformation-267:
Then I am surprised they are still in one piece. My brother made a comment that half of the Olympic equipment and apparatus is made in China…which probably works for the Chinese team, as they ensure they ‘go first’. (Leaving the poor pole vaulter from Belarus flat on his jack as the equipment starts to do what most made in China stuff does).
31 Jul 2012, 15:47 pm
Those tracksuits have Margate ’89 written all over them.
31 Jul 2012, 15:47 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-268: you know mark thatcher personally?
31 Jul 2012, 15:48 pm
@Transformation-267:
They’re beauts aren’t they?
Honestly, if prisoners were made to wear those they would go on a hunger strike.
The rest of the world is rocking Adidas, Nike, Ralp Lauren, etc and we are wearing china’s finest no name brand.
Creamofsomeyunguy Originals.
31 Jul 2012, 15:49 pm
@Transformation-270: But she is or was, a ‘star’, was she not? She still plays professionally? Where do our other ladies play and are they locally based? Compared to Modise, what have they achieved? And where is the next Modise?
31 Jul 2012, 15:51 pm
@Transformation-274:
Is this a trap?
31 Jul 2012, 15:56 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-277:
31 Jul 2012, 16:01 pm
do you know mark thatcher personally
how could it not be a trap
31 Jul 2012, 16:06 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-279:
he’s very sneaky that one.
next think he will be asking which Kennedys I know.
31 Jul 2012, 16:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-276: as i say, she was a good striker, not up to the pace any more. her strike partner nanko matlou recently won the african female footballer of the year, between then they’ve score 132 goals for SA. Nompumelelo Nyandeni is a star, i don’t know where she plays though…
SAFA has no league for women so most of these girls play socially except for the ones that have been snapped up by US and canadian universities like kylie an louw, tobyn moodaley and our goalie
31 Jul 2012, 16:13 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-280: Or on a more e-news note, which actors from the Wild you hang out with…
31 Jul 2012, 16:15 pm
@>^..^< katman-273:
I suspect they were made by Gotcha and are reversable.
31 Jul 2012, 16:18 pm
@John Galt-283:
Dude.
Even the Sarks have better kit than that and they buy theirs from Monsieur Pricee.
@Skeppie-282:
none.
But Jeannie D has a restraining order against me.
@John Galt-283: Ja, I looked for the flag carrying sharkhead surfdude, but maybe he’s easier to spot when you wear it yellow side out.
This 10m platform synchronised diving is sick. I would rather walk around in a Team SA tracksuit than even attempt this.
31 Jul 2012, 16:19 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-284: Hmm ok but you must at least know one of the Campbell’s then?
31 Jul 2012, 16:22 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-280:
did you say kennedy’s or kenny kunene’s..?..
31 Jul 2012, 16:22 pm
@Skeppie-287:
You mean apart from Naomi?
31 Jul 2012, 16:23 pm
@Transformation-281: Thanks for that info! I did hear one of the commentators mention that the USA women’s league was also boomed, so all the top female players moved over to the various European leagues.
It is a shame, there is no professional womens league here. Surely to Isis that is something worth looking at from a SAFA perspective. Then again…….
31 Jul 2012, 16:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-290:
honestly, i really dont think theres a market for it.
31 Jul 2012, 16:24 pm
stripball on the other hand….
31 Jul 2012, 16:25 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-284:
Ha, the Sarks.
Played a drinking game on Saturday and every time Ashwin said the word Sarks, we had to down half a beer.
Sounds like fun but I assure you that drinking whilst hysterical is more deadly that drinking and driving.
31 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-288:
the kunenes are their xhosa cousins.
they drink milk stout intsead of guiness.
31 Jul 2012, 16:28 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-289: Yup I was talking about those cool BoereCowboys
31 Jul 2012, 16:31 pm
There’s also the possibility of a Bronze in the lightweight rowing final, although it’s a slim one.
31 Jul 2012, 16:34 pm
@Skeppie-295:
The only Boer Cowboy I know of is Louis Botha?
31 Jul 2012, 16:34 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-291: There isn’t much of a market for Korfbal either, but they be playing it!
Problem in this country is we focus only on the big 3: soccer, rugby, cricket (which is fair to an extent) but feckit man. When you see a country like Angola doing pretty well with their women’s basketball etc, you have to ask why SA doesn’t at least pretend to care about other codes that could bring us glory at some stage in the future….(women’s soccer, water polo, any other).
Stripbal? Sounds like a Hollywood wax for men.
31 Jul 2012, 16:36 pm
@David-296: Is that the male model with his mates? They came second to Denmark in the semis? That the one?
They kicked on in the last 500. Nearly caught those bastads.
Or is this another final?
31 Jul 2012, 16:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-290: yoh, forget it, SAFA president Kirsten Nematandani recently told the gender commission to butt off and why can’t WE as the public start the league on their ourselves!
Banyana woes blamed on media
ANDILE NDLOVU | 29 June, 2012 00:16
SA football Association president Kirsten Nematandani was forced to accept some harsh truths about his organisation’s policies as he was grilled by the Commission for Gender Equality yesterday at a public hearing on gender transformation in the local game.
The commission had sent soccer’s governing body 12 questions about what it was doing to prevent gender inequality, discrimination and the reinforcement of stereotypes against women in the game.
Nematandani was asked why there was no professional women’s league, why more attention was given to the under-performing Bafana Bafana than to resurgent Banyana Banyana, and about Safa’s internal policies.
He accused the media of not covering Safa’s development programmes and complained of poor funding. He said the R1.5-million grant from the government for Banyana’s participation at the London Olympics was not nearly enough.
He hit back, saying: “Maybe one should pause and appeal to members of the public, including the commissioners.
“You all come from a particular area, be it a village, or township or town, and the question is, What role are you playing where you come from?”
During his presentation, he sounded embarrassed to admit that only 8.25% of the organisation’s budget was allocated to women’s football.
The commission received a complaint from the SA Women’s Football Association in 2008 before conducting an investigation.
The commission’s chairman, Mfanozelwe Shozi, said: “We’re satisfied that they answered all the questions that we asked, though we’re not happy with some of the responses.
“They only rely on resolution, and they don’t go back and develop policies that are going to ensure that women’s sport is developed.”
The commission, a Chapter 9 institution, is expected to table a report in parliament within the next three months.
31 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-299:
I don’t know about male model. It’s a 4 man crew of Lawrence Ndlovu, John Smith, Matthew Brittain and James Thomson. But yes, that’s the one.
31 Jul 2012, 16:47 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-294: nooooooooooooo kunenes are NOT xhosa! hayi
31 Jul 2012, 16:52 pm
@David-301:
I think the kiwi’s are favourites to win the that event.
Saw the heats on Saturday. Argies are also in the mix.
31 Jul 2012, 16:54 pm
@Jeraldjay-303: kiwis have an unfair advantage as they use wakas constantly to get around…
31 Jul 2012, 16:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-298:
fair enough.lets agree that sascock could do with a bigger budget as well fund more sports but lets also agree sascocks are a class bunch.
ja, francois could sell it. tagline: ‘stripbal, do it for de ladies’…
but serioulsy, the world would support a stripball league… we’re just that pathetic…
31 Jul 2012, 16:55 pm
@Transformation-302:
hay suga wena!
are you disowning them?
31 Jul 2012, 16:56 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-294:
bruthas from other muthas
31 Jul 2012, 17:00 pm
@Jeraldjay-303:
Are you sure. This from News 24
They will come up against Britain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Denmark and Australia in the finals.
Ndlovu and his teammates came into the Olympics having won a silver medal at the World Cup regatta in Switzerland.
31 Jul 2012, 17:01 pm
@Transformation-304:
oh no!
just like the gift of ‘giving’ us a haka before the match
naughty hobbits
31 Jul 2012, 17:02 pm
I hope Le Clos at least gets a bronze to in the butterfly tonight. This is one of Phelps’ stronger events but I see his struggling.
Must be cutting back on the good stuff.
31 Jul 2012, 17:04 pm
they use cultural weapons and get away with it
flip man
there isn’t a building or site in sa where you dont see a sign saying ‘no spears, no assegais, no pangas, no….’
we’ve got this front over arse
31 Jul 2012, 17:04 pm
@Jeraldjay-310: puff and pass
31 Jul 2012, 17:06 pm
@David-308:
I know the kiwi’s won their heat and the Swiss was 1st and SA second in their heat.
The kiwi’s must have peaked to soon and choked in the semi’s.
31 Jul 2012, 17:06 pm
@Jeraldjay-303: Are you not talking about the duo’s? They also raced their semi finals this morning? The Argies won their semi and the Kiwi duo came 2nd. The reigning champs, the Aussie pair, didn’t even make it through to the final – they sucked.
Our Saffa’s are in the 4 ball final
@wait for it, wait for it…-305: You are correct, stripball would kick it at the box office
31 Jul 2012, 17:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-314: did you see my post @ 300?
31 Jul 2012, 17:10 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-297: No no no, there are plenty more….like John Wayne Koekemoer
31 Jul 2012, 17:19 pm
@Transformation-315: Just read it now. And in that 8.25% of their budget that is allocated to women’s soccer lies the feck up that is South African sport in general.
Kirsten Nematandani anothercockinthecabinetofsasporttherearesomanythecabinetisburstingbutihopetheyhaveroomforafewmore
31 Jul 2012, 18:14 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-314:
Run out of things to talk about since the Stormers saw their arse?
31 Jul 2012, 19:32 pm
Is this site all gone bust all of a sardine .. like the Guppies gonna be feeling after the weekend.
31 Jul 2012, 19:45 pm
Jirre
1 Aug 2012, 05:33 am
Meyer Bosman biggest game of his career
1 Aug 2012, 08:01 am
@fitz1ella-319:
Bwaaahaaahaaaaaaaaaa! Another Stormsader showing their true colours. Black and red.
1 Aug 2012, 10:28 am
There way these mofos fear SBW though, typical saffa fans bitching and moaning for eternity. STFU and let our bra Mesmerize yall FFS
1 Aug 2012, 10:47 am
@nkqo6-323:
put the crack pipe down and sober up.
quit pretending you are from the ghetto.
mofo.
1 Aug 2012, 10:53 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-324: dont even go to the ghetto part you might regret it ,chief .you speak fluent fuckery i must say
1 Aug 2012, 10:56 am
@nkqo6-323: I’ll be the first to admit that your bra is indeed mesmerising. Anything that can handle those moobs must be special.
1 Aug 2012, 11:03 am
@nkqo6-325:
that s.hit is off the hizzo.
bra.
1 Aug 2012, 11:05 am
@>^..^< katman-326: sho ***** kat
1 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
@nkqo6-328: I don’t mind being called p.ussy cat. At least my name doesn’t mean “6cm” in Khoi-San.