‘Sharks can win Super Rugby final’
1 Aug 2012
Sports scientist Ross Tucker says the Sharks have a realistic chance of beating the Chiefs in Hamilton.
While there is still a Super Rugby final to be played on Saturday, many would agree that the Sharks have already exceeded expectations.
After a stuttering start to their league campaign (which included five defeats in their opening nine fixtures), a strong finish saw them finish in the top six. They did the job during the wildcard qualifier in Brisbane, powering to a 30-17 victory over 2011 champions the Reds. They defied odds in the semi-finals by travelling across the Indian Ocean for the second time in a space of week to give the Stormers their first defeat at Newlands this season with a 26-19 victory.
Astonishing.
So how do we rate the Sharks’ chances in the final? Sure, they’ve hit a purple patch of form, but how much does all the travelling really affect this?
Tucker’s analysis, which includes Super Rugby records from the past seven years, states that playing at home gives a team a five-point advantage, while travel overseas gives you a five-point disadvantage. This study puts the Sharks at a 15-point disadvantage, considering their travel to Hamilton was their third trip across the Indian Ocean in two weeks.
‘I don’t mean 15 points in the literal sense, which many people have interpreted it.’ Tucker told keo.co.za. ‘But theoretically … in the sense that the Sharks would have to perform that much better than they would’ve if they were playing at home. There’s no absolute rating as anything can happen on the day, but this study gives a fan some view to weigh the odds.
‘Guess the score for Saturday’s match, then guess it again, but this time, try to do the hypothetical exercise of imagining that the Sharks are not away from home and that they haven’t had to travel three times in two weeks. If your score is different, then you have factored in the travel effect. How much of an effect is found in how different your answers are. The history of the tournament says it is about 15 points. Think of it as a “cost” of traveling.’
Some pundits have already written the Sharks’ chances off as the Super Rugby title decider is seen as a step too far.
Seven-time champions the Crusaders fell short in a similar scenario last season, after they beat the Sharks in the wildcard play-offs in Nelson before downing the Stormers in the semis in Cape Town. They went on to lose the final 18-13 to the Reds at Suncorp Stadium.
However, Tucker believes the Durban franchise can defy the odds once more.
‘The win over the Stormers was a major psychological boost,’ he said. ‘The Stormers were favourites as they were playing at home and had rest, while the Sharks had the setbacks of travel. But you can never discount form. The Sharks’ players are playing superb rugby individually and their combinations are gelling really well. This will give them the belief that they can do it again … one more time… in Hamilton. The Super Rugby title will be a huge motivator.
‘But while form can’t be discounted, you have to admit that travelling back and forth and such great distances will take its toll. Players have to adapt to certain time zones, then re-adapt, and re-adapt again. It’s a tiring process. [Head coach] John Plumtree will need to manage his players really well and allow them enough rest. He will also need to focus on sleeping hours and diets – those 1% factors that can make a difference.
‘In terms of preparation, Plumtree doesn’t have to develop anything new heading into the final, so he shouldn’t use training drills that will drain his players during the week. With the correct management plan, the Sharks can surprise many people.’
However, Tucker stressed that a strong start to the match will be needed.
‘Against the Stormers, the Sharks began to tired in the last 15-10 minutes of the match. That’s when the Stormers started cutting the deficit and nearly came back. Against the Chiefs, the Sharks will need to build a lead. It will be a tough task, but it would put them in a strong position.
‘At the end of the day, the Sharks will know that they only need to get through 80 minutes. They might discard certain factors, but at the end of the day, this is what sportsmen live for. They can’t avoid the challenge, they can only overcome it. In the final, they’ll try and set the tempo early on and follow through with it.’

190 Comments
1 Aug 2012, 14:26 pm
this ross tucker dragon is everywhere!
just read his column in the herald and now this…
1 Aug 2012, 14:29 pm
Well we got hope. So lets see what we can do : )
1 Aug 2012, 14:30 pm
Good luck Sharks.
We can do it. Only 80min or so left. Give it your all.
Bring it home boys!
1 Aug 2012, 14:38 pm
@Transformation-1:
He is indeed. He’s the new Tim Noakes it seems.
1 Aug 2012, 14:40 pm
I honestly think if the Sharks can stop SBW, they stop the Chiefs.
He’s the glue in the team. The guy that gives everyone else their self belief.
1 Aug 2012, 14:48 pm
Who is Strauss?
If ANZAR doesn’t take blood tests in their drug screening then it’s simple: it called EPO which multiple the amount of red blood cells, the substance itselfe disappears within 19 hours
Trouble is it has to be injected so difficult to hide such a large scale operation especially when crossing foreign two border controls, I assume the Sharks won’t use it
Probably why the Ladbrokes betting house put them at a 2:1 payout to win
1 Aug 2012, 14:53 pm
The Sharks are on a roll and i think that is the motivator to focus on, for them and fans.
I agree with this Tucker fellow, the Sharks shouldn’t need to do that much training this week. They seem to know exactly how to play their game plan!!!
I wish them all the best!!
1 Aug 2012, 14:54 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-5: oooooooooooooo if they leave aaron cruden, they’re dead, moer toe, doodpoes, file, kaput…
1 Aug 2012, 14:56 pm
@Hondo-6: just admit your anal-ysis was flawed and you lost money betting on the stormers
1 Aug 2012, 15:08 pm
Well,on paper the Sharks have more Springboks than the Chiefs have All Blacks I think so that should sort’ve even things out a bit..but go Chiefs..!
]
1 Aug 2012, 15:16 pm
Until I see a published paper on this then Tucker is just like any of us. Seems like to much guess work in here and at the end of the day what he is saying is that the form team will win. Now if he published a paper based on that then I want to go to that ‘prestigious’ school as well because they are clearly handing out freebies.
‘Against the Stormers, the Sharks began to tired in the last 15-10 minutes of the match’ Sure, but maybe the Stormers realized that they were ten minutes away from blowing their season therefore they lifted their game? Or perhaps the Sharks realized that they had done just about enough for a win and were conserving their energy?
See there Tucker, just like you I can also use speculation to get some column inches. Now where the hell is my other PhD?!?!?!?!?
And Gareth, for a journalist you really are pathetic. You must have finished stone last in your college (yes college, because there is no way you have a degree) Quoting people out of place, throwing in a Strauss (who the fk is that??) And then quoting fk knows who in your last paragraph. Pathetic guy
1 Aug 2012, 15:20 pm
who is strauss?
haha hilarious, professionalism at its finest
1 Aug 2012, 15:32 pm
Of course they can… But so can the Chiefs… Sharks need to dominate upfront and keep Cruden and SBW from getting front foot ball…
1 Aug 2012, 15:35 pm
My starting team for SAt with subs at around 45 to 50 minutes.
1. Beast
2. Craig Burden
3. Jannie Dup
4. Steven Sykes
5. Bresler
6. Botes
7. Deysel
8. Kanko
9. McCleod
10. Michalak
11. Lwazi
12. Lambie
13. Jordaan
14. Ludik
15. Riaan Viljoen
16. Wiehann Herbst
17. Bismarck (bring on fresh at 45 -50)
18. Willem Alberts (bring on fresh at 45 -50)
19. Marcell Coetzee (bring on fresh at 45 -50)
20. Daniels (bring on fresh at 45 -50)
21. Bosman
22. JP Pietersen (bring on fresh at 45 -50 and shift Ludik to fullback)
Guys like Burden, Sykes, Deysel, Botes, Ludik on wing can more than hold their own to at least keep the Sharks kneck and kneck with the Chiefs.
Beast and Kanko relatively less hammered due to their injuries this season.
Lambie and Jordaan fresh after injury and able to go the 80 minutes. Riaan Viljoen also limited game time making him fresher and with the boot to keep Chiefs pinned back in their half for the first half.
Bring on a slew of replacements at 45-50 with the bug guns like Bismarck, Alberts, Daniels, Marcell, JP Pietersen to give a massive last 30 minute boost to the Sharks. if they can can hang in till then the new energy should trump the Chiefs. Reckon its a worthwhile plan. Otherwise the above starting subs can all be valuable subs in the last 20 if Sharks have a small lead, but could be very close then.
1 Aug 2012, 15:53 pm
@Slumtown-14: That makes a lot of sense mate. LIKE IT.
1 Aug 2012, 16:01 pm
@Slumtown-14: Not so sure about that bud. We had Bissie and Alberts on the bench for the Chiefs game and we had to play catch up. We did once Bissie and Alberts came on. We fall behind like that against the Chiefs we will be a gonna. We have to go in withour best side possible and try and get a lead first. Then let the bench come on later in the 2nd half when the legs will tire no doubt.
I feel we definitely need a lead early on like we got against Reds and Stormers to hold on later.
1 Aug 2012, 16:02 pm
@Transformation-8:
Cruden leeches confidence from his big brother at 12. Take out the big fella and AC will battle.
1 Aug 2012, 16:04 pm
@Slumtown-14:
Mmmm, nice idea, but you need your big guns for the full 80. Else it’s gonna be catch up.
Bismark is fit enough to go the 80, as is Beast, Kanko and JPP.
Alberts can go off after 60.
1 Aug 2012, 16:06 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-18: they were tiring in the last 10 to 15 against Stormers so possibly the Chiefs game could be one too much for them? Guess we´ll find out on Sat. Dont think they can all last the full 80.
1 Aug 2012, 16:08 pm
@Puma-16: Sorry typo there. NOT Chiefs meant Cheetahs game.
1 Aug 2012, 16:08 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-17: no, cruden is an under-rated phenom…overlook him at your peril…when he fluffs it the chiefs faulter, when he’s on song, jy moet skrik wakker!
1 Aug 2012, 16:09 pm
@Slumtown-19:
Maybe the Stormers upped their game while the Sharks took their foot of the gas a bit. Hard to tell.
The Sharks need to play for corners too. There’s no better way to save on energy than smart tacticle kicking.
1 Aug 2012, 16:10 pm
@Puma-16: Yeah tend to agree with that – but in a way this game plan is that in reverse. And if the guys can at least hold them out so we dont have to play catch up then it can work. Burden might struggle at scrumtime a bit but in the loose he will be a big asset when you need rabid energy in the first half. Who knows he might even score a breakaway try? Sykes has been there before and is a decent enough player – if their captain Clarke is injured.
Like I said I agree with you but not going to be much use having a bit of a lead at 60 minutes and then flaking as the Chiefs are an 80 minute team. Tough one.
1 Aug 2012, 16:11 pm
@Transformation-21:
Yeah, the kids good. But he’s a confidence player (IMO). With the Chiefs pack going forward and SBW dominating the gain line, Cruden is brilliant.
But like any 10, you take away his support and the cracks start to appear.
1 Aug 2012, 16:12 pm
Only two teams can win…the two teams in the final…of course the sharks can win it!
1 Aug 2012, 16:13 pm
@Slumtown-19: I don’t think they will all last the 80min either. Then who knows adrenalin could be in over drive and they just may. Doubt it though. So rather we get a lead first. Well if we can that is. By that we have to start with our best and bring the bench on later when we tire. We can’t play catch up against a team like the Chiefs. We had to do that against the Cheetahs and we only caught up once we brought Bissie and Alberts on.
1 Aug 2012, 16:13 pm
Has SBW ever been hurt?? Seriously, 2 years of rugby, the guy hasn’t even tweaked a hammy.
1 Aug 2012, 16:14 pm
@wallabie.-25: Howzit Walla. How you doing mate? Jeez you up late?
1 Aug 2012, 16:20 pm
@Transformation-1:
He sounds full of it.
Travel fatigue is worth give points.
Wait no it’s isn’t.
Maybe it is.
Sound like we have another Nokesy.
1 Aug 2012, 16:28 pm
Sports scientist Ross Tucker can confirm that the Sharks and Chiefs both have a chance of winning the 2012 Super Rugby title, while the other 13 sides do not
1 Aug 2012, 16:29 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-27:
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/super-rugby/4575403/Sonny-Bill-Williams-downplays-leg-injury
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/super-rugby/5007049/Sonny-Bill-Williams-joins-Crusaders-injury-list
1 Aug 2012, 16:31 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-27: http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/super-rugby/5139264/Hip-keeps-Sonny-Bill-off-Ma-a-Nonus-radar
1 Aug 2012, 16:32 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)-27: he was hurt, he hobbled off at half-time in bloem last year after several crunching tackles form barry geel.
1 Aug 2012, 16:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-29:
He confuses people when he mentioned motivation and form and should have concluded that based on the statistical history of the tournament there is a “cost” to overcome when a team plays away from home and overseas.
1 Aug 2012, 16:34 pm
@Transformation-33: Come on Transie, cite your sources – up your game pal
1 Aug 2012, 16:34 pm
@Golden Boy-11:
Gotta Love Google …..
http://www.essm.uct.ac.za/ross_tucker.htm
1 Aug 2012, 16:35 pm
Wow this Tucker guy sounds like a genius going by this quote “Against the Chiefs the Sharks will need to build a lead. It will be a rough task but it will put them in a strong position” what an astute analysis. Where did u dredge up this rent a quote Gareth?
As for the Guppies. Of course they can win. The motivation of winning the trophy and to be called the best champions ever should be more than enough to make up for the travel fatigue.
1 Aug 2012, 16:38 pm
@Robzim-34:
We know this.
So what’s new?
1 Aug 2012, 16:38 pm
Jarre, why couldn’t the Stormers play in the final on Saturday at Newlands.
The team was so convincing during the league phase.
It would’ve been so lekker.
1 Aug 2012, 16:43 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-38:
The only new thing is that he tried to quantifiy it based on historical results (5 points for an away from home game, 5 points for overseas travel). It is only hypothetical though.
Bradley Wiggins is doing some serious low flying at moment in London.
1 Aug 2012, 16:45 pm
@Jeraldjay-39: Because they were not good enough?
1 Aug 2012, 16:46 pm
@Transformation-1:
Yes. It seems he is building up his profile nicely.
PA mentioned his name two years ago already if I remember correctly.
Wanted PdV to draft him, along with Cheryl Calder, into the Bok management team or at the very least, use them as consultants.
1 Aug 2012, 16:51 pm
@kaksioek-35: why should i cite sources when i can vividly remember watching the game and sbw hobbling off?
1 Aug 2012, 16:52 pm
And this, a letter to the Stormer fans, from Jean de Villiers. Even the Stormers haters have to admit he is a class act as a captain and person.
To the Faithful.
Having ridden the high of taking the Conference trophy for a 2nd consecutive year as SA’s top side and finishing top of the overall log, we were devastated not to make it through to the final, even more so given the exceptional support we have enjoyed this season. The change-room was a dark place after the game and there huge emotion from even the most senior players and coaching staff. Such was the desire and belief. On reflection, we gave it our all and left nothing on the park. Whilst we are still hurting, we understand the disappointment out there and that you are hurting to.
That said, it has been a good three years at all levels, with undoubtedly the best run of any Stormers team bar winning the main trophy. A trophy that Allister, myself, all the players and all involved, remain totally committed and focussed on winning. This year everyone believed and to fall just short again was heart-wrenching. It is however undeniable that major strides have been made at every level and that the structures and plans in place are bearing fruit – just that final step. Without destroying the plan, it is evident that tweaks are required. We recognise this and will make the changes deemed necessary.
Through all of the emotion, thank you for your unwavering support, through all the highs and the lows. That is what makes the Faithful special. We will be back to fight another day together! Thank you for the season.
Jean De Villiers
Your DHL Stormers Captain.
1 Aug 2012, 16:55 pm
Alle sportoë is tans op die Olimpiese Spele gerig – die mededingendste sportarena wat die mensdom ken.
Suid-Afrikaners hou uiteraard duim vas vir ons eie deelnemers, veral in die lig van die SA Olimpiese Komitee se teiken van 12 medaljes.
Of dié teiken hoegenaamd realisties is, is debatteerbaar. Die realiteite van Olimpiese mededinging en die ongelooflike wedywering vir die drie top-plekke laat dit dalk ’n bietjie optimisties klink.
DIE WAARSKYNLIKES
Sunette Viljoen: Spiesgooi is onvoorspelbaar, maar Viljoen was tot dusver gereeld onder die beste ter wêreld. Haar beste gooi kan ‘n medalje in Londen wen.
Burry Stander: Dié bergfietsryer is iemand om mee rekening te hou. Hy is buitengewoon goed voorberei en het die vermoë en die selfvertroue.
Cameron van der Burgh: Die enigste negatief is dat sy sterkste nommer, die 50 m-borsslag, nie ‘n Olimpiese item is nie. Hy neem in die 100 m deel.
Amerika se Olimpiese Komitee het onlangs ’n insiggewende ontleding gepubliseer van die gemiddelde verskil tussen die wentyd en die tyd van die deelnemer wat vierde gekom het. Dertig jaar se Olimpiese rekords is nagegaan en daar is gevind in baannommers is die gemiddelde verskil tussen ’n goue medalje en ’n vierde plek slegs 0,5%.
Dink ’n bietjie hieroor na: In ’n 100 m-wedloop is 0,5% die ekwivalent van 0,05 sekonde. In ’n 800 m-wedloop is dit 0,72 sekonde.
Die verskil tussen ’n sportlegende en die anonimiteit van ’n deelnemer wat “slegs” vierde kon kom by ’n Olimpiese Spele is korter as ’n oogwink.
Vierde is vergete. Dít terwyl die kleinste van foutjies, een misstap of ’n splitsekonde se verlore konsentrasie die hele prentjie kon verander het. As ’n mens só oor die Olimpiese Spele begin dink, besef ons wat ’n enorme taak op die skouers van ons deelnemers rus.
As ons nie in ons voorbereiding op dié nano-sekondes fokus nie, begin ons die wedloop met ’n agterstand.
Die belangrike vraag is dus: Het ons genoeg gedoen om daardie voorsprong van ’n splitsekonde te kry?
DIE HOOPVOLLES
LJ van Zyl: Hy sou een van die gunstelinge gewees het in die 400 m-hekkies as dit nie vir ‘n seisoen vol beserings was nie.
Caster Semenya: Haar verlede dui daarop dat sy ‘n medaljewenner in die 800m is, maar 2012 was tot dusver vol probleme.
Khotso Mokoena: Olimpiese ondervinding, medaljes op die wêreldverhoog en die feit dat enigiets moontlik is in verspring, gee Mokoena ‘n realistiese kans.
Richard Murray: Dié driekampatleet is een van die beste hardlopers in die sport. As hy ‘n taktiese goeie wedloop het, het hy ‘n kans.
Bridgette Hartley: Dié Pretoriase kajakroeier vaar goed oor 500m, maar sal moet uithaal wanneer dit die nodigste is.
Roei: Sowel die liggewig-vier mans en die vrouepaar is goed voorberei en kan die eindronde haal.
4x100m wisselslag: Goeie diepte en ‘n paar uitstekende individue beteken ons kan dalk net ‘n medalje hier wen.
4x400m-mansaflos: Hulle het verlede jaar op die Wêreldbekerkampioenskap gewen, maar die Olimpiese kompetisie sal waarskynlik baie sterker wees. Hulle sal goed vaar om die eindronde te bereik.
In Beijing in 2008 het ons enkele silwermedalje ons tot die skokkende besef gebring dat ons ons deelnemers oorlog toe stuur sonder enige wapentoerusting – met ketties eerder as masjiengewere.
Ons ding mee teen deelnemers van lande wat staatmaak op professionele, heeltydse stelsels wat massiewe hoeveelhede geld belê in die soeke na daardie ontwykende 0,5%.
Ons kom te staan teen lande soos Kenia en Jamaika wat ongelooflike langafstand- en naellooptalent het en wat voordeel trek uit sterk skolestelsels, uitstekende afrigters en ’n kultuur van sukses.
Brittanje se roeispan het in die vier jaar vóór Beijing R315 miljoen uitgegee. Dit beteken één Britse sport het vyf keer meer aan voorbereiding bestee as die hele Suid-Afrikaanse span! (Wat net R59 miljoen gehad het.)
Ons weet geld belê in ’n formele, goed georganiseerde stelsel lei tot medaljes. Daarom moet ons verwagting van 12 medaljes getemper word deur dít wat ons belê het.
By die Olimpiese Spele kry jy waarvoor jy betaal.
Voor Beijing het die Olimpiese reuse soos Australië, Brittanje en Nederland meer as R1 miljard elk uitgegee. Dit beteken elkeen van hul medaljes het sowat R64 miljoen “gekos”. In vergelyking het ons dus heel goed gevaar met een silwermedalje met ’n begroting van R59 miljoen.
Die versoeking is dus groot om te sê meer geld sal al ons probleme oplos.
Die probleem is egter dat die netjiese verhouding tussen geld en medaljes nét werk as jy ’n formele en professionele sportstelsel het.
Ek vergelyk dit altyd met ’n supermark. As jy R100 het, weet jy jy kan sê 14 brode daarmee koop. Maar jy weet dit net omdat daar ’n formele stelsel is wat die prys van brood bepaal. As jy egter jou brood op die swartmark moes gaan koop het, het daardie sekerheid verdwyn.
Een dag kan jy 20 brode met R100 koop, ’n volgende dag sukkel jy om agt te kry.
Dis presies hoe sport in Suid-Afrika funksioneer. Soms is ons gelukkig om ongelooflike sportmanne en -vroue te ontdek soos Penny Heyns, Josia Thugwane of ons swemmers van 2004.
Ander tye is selfs die passie van ons beste deelnemers nie genoeg om daardie 0,5%-verskil te oorbrug nie – soos wat in Beijing gebeur het.
Die grondoorsaak bly ons onvermoë om doelgerig te belê in die administrasie van sport in ons land.
Ons s’n is steeds ’n vrywillige stelsel waar toegewyde (maar deeltydse) afrigters en bestuurders met beperkte hulpbronne moet klaarkom.
Hulle kom te staan teen mense van oor die wêreld heen wat die afgelope vier jaar net een ding geëet en geslaap het: Hoe kan hul deelnemers verder spring, vinniger fietsry, beter verdedig of sterker word?
Ons dring daarop aan dat net ons beste sportlui die groen-en-goud dra. Wat ons vergeet, is dat hul ondersteuningsnetwerk – die afrigters, bestuurders, medici en wetenskaplikes – óók van wêreldgehalte moet wees. Nie net moet hulle goed wees nie, dit moet ook hul heeltydse taak wees om maniere te bedink om die mededingers te klop.
In nie een van ons Olimpiese sportsoorte is dit al vermag nie. Ons bly ’n korttermyn-nasie wat in vierjaar-siklusse beplan met geen sekerheid of daar volgende jaar genoeg geld gaan wees om klaar te maak waarmee ons begin het nie. Met sulke beplanning gaan meer geld nie noodwendig meer medaljes beteken nie.
Wat ons nodig het, is ’n paradigma-skuif waar ons besef die ware deurbraak sal net kom as administrateurs, afrigters en deelnemers op één gemeenskaplike doel begin fokus.
Dr. Ross Tucker is ’n sport-fisioloog verbonde aan die Instituut vir Sportwetenskap in Kaapstad.
LET OP: Geen Chad Le Clos onder die WAARSKYNLIKES of HOOPVOLLES nie.
Dis wat gebeur as ‘n wetenskaplike voorspellings probeer maak. Jy slaan jou naam met ‘n vokken plank.
Los die voorspellings vir ons ploerte, Ross.
1 Aug 2012, 16:57 pm
@Slumtown-23: I think we are going to need Bissie for the full 80min. Don’t think Alberts will stay on for the full 80min though. Deysel is a good replacement. Though he won’t play at 4 lock where Alberts is playing right now for the Sharks.
Plum just has to be very smart with the subs. Subs cost us in 2007. Also Walsh cost us in the very end. We messed up by not getting the kick over and not kicking out but in the end it was Walsh that should have penalised the Bulls and he never. So he too could be a big factor. Just hope he has a good and fair game for both sides.
1 Aug 2012, 16:58 pm
@nama1-42: @nama1-42: yeah i know PA mentioned his 3 years back and he also blogged here once or twice as well, he was involved with the Blitzbokke the year they won the World Series
1 Aug 2012, 17:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-44: he gets no kudos from me when he is the one who said in a post match interview after they scraped a win against the cheetahs, that ” we won’t win this competition if we keep playing like this”
they never CHANGED anything! now he wants to speak about “tweaks”
look at the sharks team for example (and i hate making a positive examples of these guppys)…from where they started – belligerent forward dominated strategy, to where they are now – varied multi-pronged attacking team that mixes power with lethal backline width…
this is just PR designed to keep the “masses” coming.
1 Aug 2012, 17:07 pm
I strUggled with the Afrikaans but fully agree with the last bit. Scientists should stick to theory when it comes to sport. How the hell will they explain a 16 year old winning at the Olympics?
1 Aug 2012, 17:08 pm
I strUggled with the Afrikaans but fully agree with the last bit. Scientists should stick to theory when it comes to sport and not make wild predictions. In that case they just another lay man sucking their thumbs.. How the hell will they explain a 16 year old winning at the Olympics in the pool cOmpetition?
1 Aug 2012, 17:10 pm
There is a reason that the superugby log/system rewards consistency. Gonna stick my neck out and say chiefs by 15-20,,,,,Support all RSA teams albeit Stormers supporter,,,,,,,but lets get onto planet earth!
1 Aug 2012, 17:11 pm
@nama1-45: Transie – Cant read dutch – sorry.
I see there is a strong call from the WP/Stormers fans for Alistair Coetzee to resign. My guess is that he cant be fired or there will be a riot with rocks being thrown at police and media in the streets outside Newlands so sorry boys – you are stuck with him as long as he wants to hang around.
1 Aug 2012, 17:13 pm
@Transformation-48: He and Allistair are both very stubborn individuals, that I can concur with. BUT: Jean’s character and passion for his franchise and province have always been legit and real.
As long as the tweaks he mentions include getting rid of Fleck, the masses will be ‘all in’ again.
The Sharks improved once they were coached by Meyer at the Boks it seems….There is a helluva lot less of Plumtree in the Sharks play now than what there was pre-internationals.
But again, Jean Div IMHO, remains a gent and stand up captain.
I wonder what Keegan’s letter might say?
“Sorry for wasting everyones time?”
Off for a run
Have a good one.
1 Aug 2012, 17:13 pm
@connie99-51: Ummmm…you don’t have to lie. I doubt there are many Stormers fans hoping the Sharks take the title. That much is clear.
Its understandable. The Sharks gouged a wire brush through a deep, septic wound caused by no major titles in 12 years last weekend. It’s still hurting a bit in Cape Town.
To be honest, if it were the other way around I would also be supporting the Chiefs.
So dont worry – just be honest.
1 Aug 2012, 17:15 pm
@Robzim-40:
Ja.
In is electric onnerpant.
Have you hooked your Y-fronts up to a AAA battery yet?
1 Aug 2012, 17:15 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-53: That is probably what Keegan’s letter would say, you’re right and it would be precisely spot on.
Not the ‘defeated politician’ letter that Jean wrote. Did he get a template off a website somewhere ? Probably not, because there are some grammatical errors in it.
1 Aug 2012, 17:19 pm
@Dusky-56: Don’t steal my nic whilst I am out jogging!!!!!!
1 Aug 2012, 17:19 pm
This is the same dude who gave the Stormers an 8-10 point advantage over the Sharks last weekend? His last 2 paragraphs are frikkin’ pearlers! Master of the Bleeding Obvious!
1 Aug 2012, 17:20 pm
Has Beast cut his hair into a bit of a Mohawk….nice ! BEAAAASSST !!!!
1 Aug 2012, 17:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-57:
1 Aug 2012, 17:25 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-53: hey Keegs is a EC boytjie with proper manners and gravitas – geez where is Tac?
1 Aug 2012, 17:26 pm
@Dusky-52: i’m going to gym Dusky, don’t steal my nic!!!!
1 Aug 2012, 17:26 pm
Just watching some replays of the game with a box of tissues. It is actually so funny to hear the turncoat Bob Stinkgat reversing as the game wore on.
1 Aug 2012, 17:27 pm
@Transformation-62: Don’t worry, I cant possibly sound as thick as you.
1 Aug 2012, 17:29 pm
The key moment for the Stormers was when Etsebeth ran over Bissy
They should have capitalised on that but instead retreated psychologically and waited for the Sharks to win the game
1 Aug 2012, 17:29 pm
“At the end of the day, the Sharks will know that they only need to get through 80 minutes”…..
I was thinking if the Stormers score in their last effort of last week’s game, there going to be extra time, and then the Sharks would be dead.
Only if they won it in that extra time… there job for this week would’ve been evene crazier.
Now,,,, what if they get through 80 minutes – which inevitably will happen.
But let’s say the scroes are tied…. then they have to get through more than 80 minutes geniuses…
1 Aug 2012, 17:31 pm
What people dont seem to understand is that Tucker has not made any predictions at all. Everybody knows that hometeams have an advantage and that travelling overseas across timezones have a physiological effect on the human body.All he did was to try quantify it by using the statistical history of the tournamens (results between teams over 7 years at home versus away from home) as a basis.
Basically he only reported the historical results.
@Sheriff-65: I am just watching the game again. Truth is, Etsebeth got his backside handed to him for the rest of the game. He got so erect from that incident with Bismark, he forgot there was still a game to play.
He also has severe butterfingers.
scores/ scroes.
the scroes would be loose and the scores tied.
1 Aug 2012, 17:32 pm
@shooter-66: LOL
1 Aug 2012, 17:34 pm
@Dusky-68: no dude. maybe he lost a little track on what else he should do, which we don’t know what that is in the Stormers gameplan. But he basically kept going… how many times did he get the ball in that game. plenty. and he worked hard to get some gain line advantage, only, too often, with nobody with/ behind him.
1 Aug 2012, 17:38 pm
Havent seen anyone mention that partly why the Stormers lost was because Jean Pant cant pass when he plays 12 – which is really put well into perspective how he markedly improved when playing 13 for the Boks. He wasnt killing it for th rest of the backline all night long. I cant believe that a pro player like him can not see that by watching games he has played in over again? I mean really.
Secondly his dumb call for going for posts with that last penalty blew any chance they had of levelling the scores. Fact is Stormers were a couple of points behind throughout the game so they never really deserved to take it at any point. But they stood a slim chance of levelling at 72 min. Talk about stupid captaincy. Did Jean really think that at that stage the Stormers still had enough in the tank to pop over the penalty and come back for a try to cinch the game? At no point did they show they were capable of doing that during the match.
1 Aug 2012, 17:39 pm
@shooter-71: Dude – go watch the game. I am watching it again. He made several mistakes in that game. Remember the long range penalty which Rian Viljoen missed ? That penalty was given as a result of Estebeth. He was also stripped of the ball a few times in that game.
Don’t be like a typical Stormer and not be able to take criticism. Truth is – his only good moment was coming off the stronger in the clash with Bismark.
Without bias, Anton Bresler had a better game than him. Definitely. But I know the Stormers lot will kak themselves before admitting it.
1 Aug 2012, 17:41 pm
@Dusky-68:
The flaw in the SA rugby psyche is that they have an obsession to break the adv line with forwards
I’m advocating that the primary line break must come from 10-12; they are faster which gives the defence less time to organise; if tackled then form the ruck but aim to go all the way
The game is about continuity – you have to ensure that the ball keeps on moving to the man in the better position; the instinct has to be to create, to score
1 Aug 2012, 17:42 pm
@shooter-71: Pietersen’s try – missed tackle from Etsebeth.
1 Aug 2012, 17:44 pm
@Dusky-73: Ja, ok if you say so.
I only watched the game once.
I’m only saying he did a lot of work that nobody else put their hand up for.
Giving away a penalty, getting the ball ripped ‘a few’ times [how many?] does not = getting his bum handed to him.
I’m not a Stormer supporter.
1 Aug 2012, 17:46 pm
@Sheriff-74: The Sharks aren’t using 10 – 12 buddy. Go watch the game – it isn’t too difficult to pick up their game plan. Their game plan is based on recycling 3 or 4 ball carriers (Coetzee, Alberts, Bismark, Beast) that each take 2 to 3 opposition players to tackle coupled with quick recycling and patience. They have figured out that if they can execute a move involving those 4 players playing in tandem 10 times in a game – they will score tries from it. Against the Stormers, they scored 1 from that exact tactic.
They know they have something special, and they knew they would overcome the Stormers. JP Pietersen even said it after the game – they knew if they could hold the scores close for 20 minutes – that they would take the game.
1 Aug 2012, 17:47 pm
Meanwhile the Sharks will have to be mindful that the Chiefs employed an aggressive tactic against the Kroesaders.
They targeted McCaw and one wonders who they will target in the Sharks. Bissy or Keegan?
Sharks must go in with an opportunistic mindset; go and steal the game from the Chiefs
One can only hope that the Kiwis will not use underhanded tactics; lets hope and pray that rugby will be the winner at the end of the day
1 Aug 2012, 17:49 pm
@Sheriff-74: There’s a difference in making a break, and breaking the advantage line, but you knew that.
1 Aug 2012, 17:49 pm
@shooter-76: Oh, the kid is enthusiastic and a hard worker. The new class as I call them and the class is filling up quickly. Guys like Lambie, Etsebeth, Kolisi, Coetzee are all part of the ‘changing of the guard’ without a doubt.
Etsebeth is hugely talented so I am not saying he is kak overall. He just didn’t have a good game if he has to be really honest with himself. Some of his runs were good and he gives it all, but he made some handling mistakes in critical phases of attack for the Stormers.
Not trying to deride him – just keeping it real.
1 Aug 2012, 17:51 pm
@Sheriff-78: Just like I said the Stormers will have a big problem on their hands if they are expecting the Sharks to play ‘finals rugby’ – the Chiefs are making a big mistake if they are planning to target one specific player – especially in the Sharks loose forwards.
But hey maybe I shouldn’t say anything just in case the Chiefs coaching staff are reading this. Please Chiefs – target a specific Sharks player. That would be very much appreciated just as the ‘finals rugby’ from the Stormers was.
1 Aug 2012, 17:51 pm
67 aaahhhh, so he is stating the obvious then. They could have asked any muppet on here and he would have said the same thing. U don’t need a phd to see that.
1 Aug 2012, 17:52 pm
@shooter-79:
1 Aug 2012, 17:53 pm
@Dusky-77:
Listen son, you’re assumption is that the Sharks have the perfect game plan
I’m saying that attacking from 10-12 is the way to go; the Sharks got away because Grant just did not take control
The key players for the Chiefs will be: Cruden, SBW, the prop (forget his name) and be very careful of Robinson the 15
1 Aug 2012, 17:54 pm
@Dusky-75: nobody was going to tackle him
1 Aug 2012, 17:55 pm
I tell you who got bliksem’d hard at the rucks and mauls a few times was Tiaan Liebenberg.
He is the biggest c$nt in rugby, so I enjoy watching that.
1 Aug 2012, 17:58 pm
@Sheriff-84: Did I say anywhere that the Sharks have a perfect game plan ? How do you know what my assumptions are – are you the internet blog mind reader ?
The Sharks have a very good game plan however and it would be very silly of the Chiefs to target one player. But hey – you seem to know better.
The Stormers also had some standout players. But like Peanut butter, anchovies and marshmallows are all wonderful ingredients – you dont bake a cake using them together.
Sharks strength lies in their ball carriers. Strong ball carriers with Keegan running behind them waiting to f$ck up any turnovers the opposition might think of getting. Its by no means perfect – but its very good.
1 Aug 2012, 18:02 pm
I think the bubble pop came and was indicated by the look on Andries Bekker’s face just after Freddie’s drop goal at 75 minutes…..’POP’
1 Aug 2012, 18:04 pm
@Dusky-75:
Check the replay to see where was De Jongh who supposedly was the player to mark JP?
1 Aug 2012, 18:06 pm
@Slumtown-72:
JdV seemed pretty good at forward passes?!
1 Aug 2012, 18:08 pm
@Dusky-87:
I think you’re right; I probably know better
The Chiefs understood that McCaw needed to be rattled and so they targeted him in the initial stages of the game; similarly they understand that the Sharks will look to someone for inspiration – maybe Michalak?
And so while they go about executing their own game, simultaneously one or two players will give the identified target a hard time
I’m worried about Wayne Smith there
@Hondo-89: Where was he ? Making a knife ?
Rattle Michalak and you cripple the Sharks attack. He was the main difference on Saturday.
1 Aug 2012, 18:11 pm
Dofsky…
You at it again…?
trying to trash Etzebeth…
Most runs in the game Etzebeth, 17, 112m gained…
“Remember the long range penalty which Rian Viljoen missed ? That penalty was given as a result of Estebeth. ”
Etzebeth gave away ZERO penalties…
check rugbystats.com.au
so you talking out your cloaca…
again…
1 Aug 2012, 18:14 pm
@Dusky-92:
JdJ was running across to the left away from JP line, most likely was looking for an interception
So much so for the much praised ‘defensive guru’ Nienaber
1 Aug 2012, 18:16 pm
That prop is Sona Taumalolo
1 Aug 2012, 18:20 pm
@ufo-94: Etsebeth was in front of the ball knocked on by Habana and handled it. The penalty was given for off side, and the commentators both said it was Etsebeth.
I knew you mountain **** wouldn’t be able to look at it objectively. What was I thinking. He had a kak game. One good hand off catching Bismark on the throat – well done. Thats it.
1 Aug 2012, 18:20 pm
@David-93: You think the Stormers didn’t know that ? Were they too busy choosing their victory party outfits and hairstyles to take notice ?
1 Aug 2012, 18:22 pm
@Hondo-95: I think he was running away, because if you look at physicality, JP would be a tour bus and JdJ would be a Ford Fiesta. Even if JdJ was standing in that channel, I think JPP would have run clean over him.
1 Aug 2012, 18:24 pm
@Sheriff-91: I like how you talk on others behalf. First I was claiming the Sharks have the perfect game, which I wasn’t and now the Chiefs know which Shark to target.
Are you in all of our heads ? Have you phoned the Chiefs to get this information ?
I actually dont think you know a thing about rugby if you mix up a line break with breaking the advantage line.
1 Aug 2012, 18:24 pm
Fast forward to Bok rugby
Jean will have to make similar ‘lost captain post match speeches’ if they – that will be Heyneke and crew don’t address our obvious problems at 8-9-10-12
Now those players are:
* Pierre Spies (Bulls)
* Francois Hougaard (Bulls)
* Morné Steyn (Bulls)
* Wynand Olivier (Bulls)
Those are the players who should make the attacking calls and I’m afraid it’s very one-dimensional there; we are in for a TOUGH time this year
1 Aug 2012, 18:27 pm
@ufo-94: Losersky – why are you hanging around here anyway ? Isn’t your rugby watching season over ? Didn’t the Sharks finish it off for you last weekend ? Or are you living in denial ?
1 Aug 2012, 18:29 pm
Dofsky…
you knew hey.. get over yourself…
there you go generalizing again…
us questioning your bullshitstats has got nothing to do with objectivity… it has everything to do with your dishonesty…
not you shift the blame to the commentators…? whimp… are commentators always right…? didn’t you watch the game several times…?
i would rather go with a professional stats organisation that sells its data to progressional rugby organizations and media and has a commercial interest in getting git as right as possible…
than a subjective fan like yourself…
the whole rugby world rates Etzebeth (yes, a generalization too)
all except Dofsky…
it figures…
1 Aug 2012, 18:30 pm
@Dusky-99:
You got it, Aplon too could be seen clearly reluctant to cover across
JP was like Moses spliting the Red Sea with the Stormers’ Midgets Defence opening up, Little Joe also went AWOL
1 Aug 2012, 18:32 pm
no Dofsky…
unlike you serial mutlinioc stealer/user/abuser…
i don’t disappear when my team loses…
i’ll be supporting the sharks on saturday hoping they do south africa proud…
1 Aug 2012, 18:33 pm
@Sheriff-101: Spies’s tannie bakes koeksusters and melktert for Meyer, and goes there on a Sunday for bible study. I have heard she has forgotten her false teeth there a few times.
Hougaard – Best 9 in the world. He is the only good part of this rotten area.
Steyn – Steyn’s oom owns a Toyota dealership, and Meyer can go get all the upgrades imaginable for a Hilux. Also his mom bakes Hertzog koekies and delivers them together with a few copies of the latest Afrikaans music and a bag of potpourri to Meyer’s office on a weekly basis.
Wynand – Well, Wynand has always just been that special, blonde haired, blue eyed boy. Nobody really knows what Meyer’s fascination is with Wynand is but apparently he likes him…..A LOT….
1 Aug 2012, 18:33 pm
@ufo-105: Good for you.
1 Aug 2012, 18:34 pm
sheesh… mobile keys too small
1 Aug 2012, 18:36 pm
@ufo-103: Geez…I went with the commentators….why are you so wound up ? Did your team get thrashed at home in a semi-final for the second year running or something ?
And I said I rate Etzebeth – read the whole thread (sorry I have been misspelling his name) – I am just saying he didn’t have a great game.
Jirre – moet net nie in jou broek kak nie….
1 Aug 2012, 18:38 pm
@Hondo-104: Jissus…Aplon would have kakked if he tried to tackle Pietersen coming at him full speed. He would have been knocked clean out again…..
1 Aug 2012, 18:38 pm
@ufo-108:
More like your dog paws are too large.
1 Aug 2012, 18:39 pm
@Hondo-104: I have seen a guy actually kak in his pants from a knock in a rugby match. I think Aplon has too – that’s why he didn’t try to tackle JPP.
1 Aug 2012, 18:44 pm
@Dusky-112:
1 Aug 2012, 18:48 pm
@Dusky-106:
Maori Hougaard is not the best 9 in the world; he may be the most explosive 9 but certainly not the best
That said he has all the potential to become that; I would suggest he watch footage of Justin Marshall, George Gregan and even Joost at his best
Btw I’m a Stormer and I expected them not to advance
I’m very concerned about the upcoming series against NZ and Aus; they really isolate your weaknesses and expose you
Will Heyneke begin to believe in Jantjies and Basson and give them a run or will he persist with those 4 guys?
1 Aug 2012, 18:50 pm
dusky
not wound up at all…
unlike you calling into question the objectivity of all stormers fans…
of course you’re entitled to your opinion… as are we who disagree with yours…
markyfinewanker…?
good to see i’ve got under the skin of another mutlinic-tjop…
1 Aug 2012, 18:50 pm
@sharks_lover-113: Seriously, the oke soiled himself and swallowed his tongue. He also went into the decorticate posture indicating that the concussion was very severe.
I was too scared to stick my fingers in his mouth because I have heard people with concussion can bite with immense force – enough to bite off a finger at least. It was an opposition player, but I also stopped playing and just supported his neck.
The paramedics came running on and got his tongue out his throat, after which he woke up. For one, he didn’t know where he was and afterwards when he could speak he says it felt like he slept for 8 hours and had several dreams.
That is what happens when a scrumhalf tries to tackle a lock that can run the 100m in under 12 seconds.
1 Aug 2012, 18:53 pm
@Dusky-116: ouch
1 Aug 2012, 18:55 pm
Have to dash mates, take it eezy
Dusky – are you perhaps not changing the roleplayers here; you seem to know a lot about the player who ‘soiled himself’?
1 Aug 2012, 18:56 pm
cheers sheriff…
howzit sharkslover… you getting excited for saturday…?
1 Aug 2012, 18:56 pm
1 Aug 2012, 18:58 pm
The only reason bissy got bumped out of the way is because eben was storming and bissy standing and was a bit of balance. It like newtons law…
1 Aug 2012, 18:58 pm
@Sheriff-118: I do ***** – I was there.
1 Aug 2012, 19:00 pm
@ufo-119: Hiyas boet, you well?
Yeah just very nervous and insure re our chances
1 Aug 2012, 19:03 pm
@Dusky-122: I was there too
1 Aug 2012, 19:03 pm
@Gazelle-121: Etzebeth is a big strong unit – no doubt, but his turn will come too. He also caught Bismark in exactly the right place – right on the side of the neck. Good shot !
1 Aug 2012, 19:04 pm
@Dusky
You know there is a big difference between a StormerChief and a Capesader. The latter supports the Saders.
The StormerChief publicly say one thing,like support the Sharks, but in the quiet of his mind does the opposite and shouts Chiefs this Saturday. Many of them on this site this week.
1 Aug 2012, 19:04 pm
@sharks_lover-124: Have you had a reefer ?
1 Aug 2012, 19:06 pm
always good thanks SL…
yeah… i really don’t know which way it will go…
if sharks play as they have the last few weeks they could very well take it…
chiefs a classy side too… so gonna be an awesome game imo…
pretty sure the vast majority os south africans will be cheering the sharks on… even if they don’t admit it here,,,
anyway gotta go too… mobile way too slow to use
cheers all
1 Aug 2012, 19:09 pm
@Gazelle-121:
What did the damage was the illegal right bony elbow of the attacker being gored into the largely unprotected neck of Bissy. The cervical plexus(unprotected) was shuddered hence the delayed response.
1 Aug 2012, 19:13 pm
@Dusky-110:
Your concerns are unfounded, he wouldn’t even contemplating it
:
1 Aug 2012, 19:13 pm
@Antiviral-129: Yep….he pulled a ‘Mr Spock’ on him. Connected in the perfect place.
1 Aug 2012, 19:17 pm
@ufo-128: Cheers mate, i know if stormers had won i would have been supporting them,
@Dusky-127: Nope boet
1 Aug 2012, 19:18 pm
@Antiviral-129: exactly
1 Aug 2012, 19:22 pm
Was shuddered?
Is that a medical term extrabollock?
1 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-134: By the looks of the clash, everything shuddered including Bismark’s bollocks…I must admit I got a sinking feeling when that happened. It certainly looked like the Stormers were up for the challenge.
Good on Bismark for shaking it off and carrying on though.
Etzebeth a good find for the Boks. He could very possibly become our next Bakkies Botha type enforcer.
1 Aug 2012, 19:41 pm
Moer hom Eben
1 Aug 2012, 19:43 pm
@Dawn-136: As long as you had your false teeth in when shouting that….:-) And as long as you weren’t suiping from a dooswyn papsak.
At least there was one highlight for the Stormers.
1 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
Put your snout away Dusky.
Dawn has all her teeth.
And she drinks the kind of scotch you dream about stealing from your grampies liquor cabinet.
However I agree Bismarck did very well to shrug off Eben’s attentions.
And yes he is Bakkies 2.0
1 Aug 2012, 19:58 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-134:
I think it means that Bissie didn’t know whether it was New Year or New York.
1 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm
@IAAS-139: What it means it he needs to made sure to get his head positioned in the right place in the tackle, he normally does but on that occasion he got it wrong, ouch
1 Aug 2012, 20:21 pm
@Antiviral-126: Oh f u ck. And it’s all downhill from here. It’s the Ebola virus.
1 Aug 2012, 20:24 pm
@Sheriff-78: That’s a very good point – far better than any made by the now apparently resident rent-a-quote Ross Tucker. The Chiefs will target someone – probably Bismarck, because he is an almost guaranteed yellow card for retaliation. Plum should be making the whole team aware of this tactic and explaining that if they let the Chiefs get under their skin they will lose the game. The response should be to ignore the provocation, point it out to the ref, and bank the penalties on offer.
Also, WTF happened about the white card in the semi between the Chiefs and the Crusaders? This has been conveniently swept under the carpet by the Kiwis. Disgraceful.
1 Aug 2012, 20:31 pm
@IAAS-139:
He stripped Etzbeth of 2-3 possessions afterward, just pulled the rugby ball from Etzbeth hands with some help from Coetzee and Daniel, a real loss of face that was
Or should have been
1 Aug 2012, 20:38 pm
@kaksioek-142: It was quietly swept under the carpet, as expected really
1 Aug 2012, 20:45 pm
@Dusky-137:
Your racist remarks towards Dawn and stereotypes are both disgusting and juvenile at best. I suggest you ask her for forgiveness for your crass comments.
1 Aug 2012, 20:51 pm
@David-145: Dusky is an over inflated condom, a racist, a nic stealer, an internet tough guy and a low class BamBam (with an even lower EQ).
I doubt Dawn would want an apology from him, as it wouldn’t be sincere.
Are blogging serial killers not banned round these parts? Warned? Blocked?
1 Aug 2012, 21:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-146:
I just get sick and tired of these idiots who believe that racial stereotyping jokes are acceptable for some reason.
Anyway I’m off, and respects for your stand.
1 Aug 2012, 21:23 pm
@David-147:
These ‘jokes’ are beyond pathetic.
1 Aug 2012, 21:59 pm
@Antiviral-129: Tri-testes, is that you?
1 Aug 2012, 22:16 pm
Trieballe in all his testicular glory.
1 Aug 2012, 22:21 pm
Here to regale us with wonderful tales of his forensic proctology exploits. Just super, really.
1 Aug 2012, 22:30 pm
Anti-retroviral.
1 Aug 2012, 22:37 pm
Please no… !
1 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
@carol-153: Hey carol, you lot are putting on quit a show. I’m really enjoying the Games so far.
Don’t fck it up.
1 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
What happened about that white card from the semi finals-I was sure a chiefs player would have to sit this one out.
1 Aug 2012, 23:13 pm
@kaksioek-142:
So you think we erased the white card do you.
Facts first clown. Seems you have em, please share.
1 Aug 2012, 23:21 pm
@Hurricane-156:
Okay, well please enlighten us with the facts……………..instead of being a faaken dipsh it. You becoming a joke just like poppasoos!
1 Aug 2012, 23:23 pm
Sharks have no chance in this game, there is no ways they can overcome the travel and run on the park with Meyer “turnstile” Bosman at 12 and think they can win.
Pigs will fly first!
1 Aug 2012, 23:26 pm
@Hurricane-156: That’s just it, fucknut: there’s nothing; not a peep about the white card. Odd, isn’t it?
1 Aug 2012, 23:45 pm
The Sanzar website has a section for news related to judicial decisions in the Super 12:
http://www.sanzarrugby.com/superrugby/news/?categoryID=846452DC-98FB-D0A7-0A3DBBCEFD2C9E9C
They used to publish regular judicial wraps, but the most recent one is for Round 16. The most recent article in the judicial section is “REDS AND COOPER CONSIDER APPEAL” published on July 18.
Incidentally, note that in the sidebar on the right there are sections for NEW ZEALAND NEWS and AUSTRALIAN NEWS, but none for SOUTH AFRICAN NEWS!
The AUSTRALIAN NEWS is:
Chiefs looking to become third Kiwi Super champion
Western Force announce Michael Foley as new coach
Williams keeps lid on Chiefs rugby finale
Waratahs to appoint new coach
Injured backs added to Sharks Super squad
WTF?!
You have to laugh
How do you like them facts, Hurricane, you doos?
1 Aug 2012, 23:51 pm
I don’t know who’s getting all their panties in a twist over this mediocre rugby spectacle about to transpire on Saturday..
I mean the REAL world of sporting lovers are transfixed to the REAL codes of relatively real sporting achievements as are happening by the minute by the hour by the day in London presently..
World records tumbling and heroics of all manner of extenuated endeavors being performed by real athletes both male and female on the real sporting arena which really matter.
1 Aug 2012, 23:56 pm
@kaksioek-160:
Exactly !
1 Aug 2012, 23:58 pm
@fitz1ella-161:
What? sh it like table tennis, fencing, archery, shooting, sycronised swimming and all the good stuff like that? Riverting stuff……………..not
Load of BS!
1 Aug 2012, 23:59 pm
@kaksioek-159:
Yeah, no mention of the white card over here, probably lost in the system,will likely surface on Monday
@whatever-158:
I am not expecting to see any winged porkers after this game too.
2 Aug 2012, 00:02 am
In some of those sports the so-called “athletes” don’t even break a sweat?? Where’s the heroics, performance endeavor in that?
May as well have f uking darts as well boet!
2 Aug 2012, 00:03 am
@Te Rangatira-164:
Hehe, me neither ……………only more restuarants with shark on the menu
2 Aug 2012, 05:39 am
@Te Rangatira-164: “culminating in all players being issued a white card (effectively placed on report) on the recommendation of Kaplan when he said he could not say who had started a couple of individual punchups, although Waikato players appeared to be … ”
Possibly they just threw it out as it really was just a big brawl with no one really getting hurt.
2 Aug 2012, 06:12 am
@kwas-167:
It seems with these blanket white cards that it is easier to get off, or rather nothing seems to come of it. Waste of time imo.
2 Aug 2012, 06:30 am
There was something reported a few days back in the paper saying the sighting commisioner had looked at it and there was nothing to answer, looks like this one will also be added to the SAFFA conspricay chronicles.
2 Aug 2012, 06:32 am
Looks like this Keo site is the main source of night time entertainment for a number of strange people.
Sad!
2 Aug 2012, 06:45 am
@NZINCHINA-169:
Howzit China
Have decided to venture into Chiefs territory this weekend…..be it Rotorua and party with the locals, a victory party……Rotovegas style…
2 Aug 2012, 06:51 am
@Te Rangatira-171:
very well mate, Rotovegas should be going off after a Chiefs victory this weekend and together with the Magic win it will have been a very good sporting year for the area. I’m hoping the Chiefs run over them on Saturday they’ll be so pumped it could be a cricket score ( the bait is set)
2 Aug 2012, 07:02 am
@NZINCHINA-172:
Yep, the people down there are a happy lot, just wont mention to them I’m from Auckland and everything will go good. Yes I’m expecting a Chiefs victory and the town should be going off…..hehe think I might change my surname for the night to a good Ngapuhi one, like Lattimer, even though the locals are wary of us northern iwi.
2 Aug 2012, 07:07 am
@NZINCHINA-169:
point us to your sources, porker.
we have google too.
just tell us and we’ll pull the article up..?..
hmmmmm..?..
2 Aug 2012, 07:09 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-146: @>^..^< katman-149: @kwas-167: @the artist formerly known as gunther-150:
As grand initiates in the field of divinatory arts(we felt Stormers would lose) we must be hugely bored to get so excited by a harmless rugby call.
Images of drooling dogs of bore at the sound of Pavlov’s gong frightens me.
Better leave this and get on out.
2 Aug 2012, 07:09 am
you’re not dealing with a couple ‘a chow meins here, you chop.
2 Aug 2012, 07:19 am
@NZINCHINA-169:
You are correct.
A reference to it being overlooked was made on Monday in one of the Kiwi threads.
Ignore the boeremag bully.
2 Aug 2012, 07:22 am
@oogle-177:
sources, cupcake…sources…
simple question
2 Aug 2012, 08:01 am
Oh, really – nothing to report, hey chaps? A bit of punching in the face is nothing to get excited about? If it’s Kiwis punching Kiwis and some of the Kiwis have a final to play then we should all just turn a blind eye. Of course, silly me …
BS!
Where was it mentioned that the citing commissioner said no further action was required? I have seen no such thing – not a peep.
But keep on keeping on – the rules are different for Kiwis.
2 Aug 2012, 08:08 am
@Te Rangatira-173: Jafa’s not welcome there?
2 Aug 2012, 08:09 am
science rubbish
Cheifs will win and I have feeling win big
too many Big Game players.
2 Aug 2012, 08:56 am
you are correct im dealing with a caveman
2 Aug 2012, 09:02 am
have you stocked up on valium for the weekend as its going to read NZ 11 titles SA 3 late Saturday night
2 Aug 2012, 10:42 am
Chowmein, u taking over from poppadoos?
2 Aug 2012, 10:46 am
Or you and hurridoos gonna fight it out for prime tw at?
2 Aug 2012, 11:14 am
@kaksioek-160:
The White Card decision probably went the same way as the Bulls gouging allegations. Ive seen less practised choreography in the Synchronised Swimming events than I did from van der Merwe and Ralepelle that day. And not 1 blemish in sight.
My guess is they were gouging each other. When in Sth Africa…
2 Aug 2012, 11:58 am
@The Donkeys Egg-186: Odd – I could have sworn I saw Chiefs players punching Crusaders players and vice-versa. It must be part of some dream I had where the SANZAR rules apply to players from New Zealand.
2 Aug 2012, 14:15 pm
@kaksioek-187:
Sadly, there is only 1 thing worse than gouging. And thats pretending youve been gouged, twice, in a fraudulent and ultimately unsuccessful attempt to massage a result in their favour.
Given that it seems to be behaviour exclusive to Sth African rugby, I presume SANZAR apply these gouging rules only to players from Sth Africa.
Players scuffling with handbags at 10 paces pale in comparison to the choreographed Synchronised Gougers of Pretoria.
2 Aug 2012, 14:22 pm
@kaksioek-187:
Good to see the Crusading Gougers get a good fisting.
2 Aug 2012, 22:52 pm
@trupisero-180:
Nah…Saffas more than welcome….Rotovegas is a tourist town…..the only thing is that my ancestors went on a rampage down there and knocked off quite a few of the locals, something they have never forgotten.