Clarke fit for final

The Chiefs have been bolstered ahead of their showdown with the Sharks with news that skipper Craig Clarke will play in the final.

Clarke injured his knee in the semi-final and the medical team has been working furiously to get him ready for Saturday’s final. His inclusion in the starting side means the Chiefs are unchanged.

Chiefs assistant coach Wayne Smith said it is imperative that they rise to the level of performance which they displayed against the Crusaders last week.

‘We’ve got to, otherwise we’re not going to win it and not too many teams are able to back up two great performances in a row,’ said Smith.

‘The Crusaders haven’t been able to do it all year really. We’ve done it once – Blues and Crusaders in the second and third weeks – and maybe another time around the Bulls game we did well for two weeks in a row. But that’s our challenge and we’ve got to step up from where we were at last week and do even better – that’s what it’s going to take.’

Smith was liberal in his praise of the Sharks. ‘We’ve been watching them win eight of their last nine matches, they’ve had quite a number of sudden-death performances so they’re used to it, while we haven’t had to go down the same road.

‘So they will have forged a really good spirit and while they will be trying to battle that travel factor and have come a long way, you can win away from home and they’ve shown that,’ he said.

‘We’ve just got to go out expecting them to be at their best, just as we expected the Crusaders to be at their best. They’re physical and probably the most talented team on paper if you look at them among those other South African teams.

‘We weren’t at our best [the last time they met] and they weren’t at their best – this will be a different kettle of fish.’

Chiefs – 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Subs: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Jackson Willison, 22 Lelia Masaga

69 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Well done Clarke.!

• 2.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

there’s something happinin here
    what it is aint exactly clear
    theres a man with a white card there
    tellin people they’ve got to beware

• 3.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Glad he is able to take the field, thought he made a big difference for the Chiefs in the semi in regards to correcting a wobbly lineout from last time they met the Crusaders, where they got anihilated in that facet.

• 4.viewer: Reply to this comment

Wayne Smith has made a big difference to the Chiefs. The Crusaders should have snapped him up in a similar role post WC11. After all he’s their ex head coach

• 5.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ok cheers to all Sharkie supporters – and i hope it’s all of us in SA at this moment!. On our way – will try and post from the final.

Will scream like a grazy person! :lol: – you might hear me on TV! :lol:

• 6.ufo: Reply to this comment

I see Josh has quit as Lions captain…

to focus on his own game…?

• 7.ufo: Reply to this comment

JC Janse van Rensburg interim cappy

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah… i know this thread is about clarke… but the keo boys a bit slow today…

great thing clarke’s fit… always best to see the strongest possible sides plaing in such a VIP match…!

• 9.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

Olympics: NZ third on alternate medal table

Don’t be fooled by the official Olympic medal table showing New Zealand in 37th place.

An alternative table reveals the Kiwis are actually in third, ahead of superpowers China, the US and Australia.The Statistics New Zealand table measures medal strike rate relative to population.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10824114

• 10.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@ufo-6:
    i have no faith in the mtn lions doing anything of not or significance in super rugby, ever…. at all.

will follow the golden lions cc team though. that is where they are competitive and where they belong.

• 11.mako: Reply to this comment

@ufo-8: Agreed, If we are to win, let us win against the best possible side. No excuses for the Chiefs if they lose this. In fact that alone puts a certain pressure on them. If the Sharks were to win on saturday the Chiefs would be very embarrassed. Go Sharkies!

• 12.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

still no response from saru or sanzar on the white card incident.

is this too much to ask for? yes, i know the kiwi’s have fixed the outcome but at least give us the bullshit- article cover up story?

• 13.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-10:

would be great for sa rugby if the lions really found their mojo again… like pienaar’s team…

@mako-11:

yeah… gonna be a great game i think… if both teams live up to the form this could be a classic SuperFinal… one we’ll talk about for years…

especially if the sharks win…!! :wink:

• 14.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

As a Sharks supporter i can only be proud of what this team has achieved. From almost missing the play-offs, overcoming the challenge of the Reds and then The Stormers and now in the Super Rugby Final. There are very few, including me that would have ever thought we could be in this position, considering the Start to the season.

But here we are, facing the biggest challenge yet, standing on the verge of making history. Something that no team has ever achieved, and this would probably be the most epic victory in Super Rugby history, if achieved.

There is no doubt in my mind this is a special Sharks side with the best Captain and Loose forward in SA (argue if you must). He is the type of captain, that would much rather die on that field for the cause than giving up and losing. True leader.

The odds are firmly stacked against the Sharks, and some Chiefs supporters feel its not worth watching as their final was last week against the Crusaders and that the Sharks will just be the final icing on the cake. So did the Reds and Stormers…but hey what do i know.

Underdogs is a tag the Sharks will relish…and could surprise many a rugby supporter. It will not be easy and we may even fall short, but that is still open for speculation. Whatever happens….Sharks for ever!!!!

Note: Lets Say the Sharks do win. I hope SARU will realise, that it does not matter how bad the Lions performed this season. They did manage to beat the Super Rugby Champions. They day the Kings beat THIS Sharks team. Well then let them play. But Aint going to happen!!

• 15.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

chiefs by 40
    mockers..

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-9:

:lol: Is that like saying poeps d*ck is by far the longest just because he is a midget? I think that is stretching the 2 inches a little far…

• 17.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-12: I think theyre still deciding on Peypers ruling that allowed the Sharks to take the lead against the Cheetahs, the blatant kncok on, much like Jonkers for the Bulls against the Brumbies.. one indiscretion at a time ok..

must be hard trying to find an honest SA witness though..

@Slartibartfast-16: should I be concerned that a raging queen like yourself is concerned about the length of my d*ck? no wonder you left SA, we all know how that type of thing is corrected huh? mamparra..

• 18.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

good to see Clarke will be playing, has had a wonderful season and would not look out of place in a Black World Champions jersey…

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

kanko on current form will be jumping circles around clarke & retallick like he did with kruger, simmons & bekker!

• 20.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Ag pops, just give up. You lost your touch many moons ago and hardly worth the few words I now posted in reply.

PS Won’t happen again.

• 21.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16:
    its amazing the ‘lengths’ to which our kiwi friends will go to emphasise their ‘oh we is so wittle but we’ll do our best!’ stature.

• 22.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Very good team… Sharks will have to lift their game by 30% from last weekend to beat this team… Go Sharks… Make history…

• 23.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16:

in pops case its ‘all about the top two inches’ :lol:

• 24.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@SA rugby is k@k-18: @Transformation-19: Who will/should start for the AB’s in 9, 10 and 12? SBW is available for 2 games? Will Kerr Barlow get a look in? I hope so, as he is fast turning into an absolute menace at 9 (a position that the AB’s IMHO of course, have been sukkeling with for some while)

• 25.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@SA rugby is k@k-17:
    hey?
    was this an indiscretion duly noted by the refereeing officials and then determined to warrant further investigation and possible sanction?

the ref issued a white card in order for an incident involving deliberate, repeated and sustained punching to the face between a number of players to be reviewed the relevant judicial officials..?..

i would just like to know the outcome of this specific judicial process.

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-24: aaron smith @ 9, carter @ 10 & sbw @ 12

• 27.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-25:
    im sure bismark would have got at least 5 weeks if he ever got white carded
    regardless of the offense…
    NZ run the judiciary, how and why i cant wrap my head around?

we (south africa) are the only country keeping the southern hemisphere comps together
    with the amount of financial clout- we have we should be running everything

ie India in the cricketing world

• 28.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-26: So you don’t reckon they will play a Kerr Barlow/Cruden combo in any of their matches? Only asking because Hansen seems like a form selector, and yes Smith and Carter are all that, but you don’t think there is room for testing the other combo in one or two of their matches (as a starting combo)

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-28: TKB was in the wider group but didn’t make the squad for the irish series, i expect hansen to stick with fat piri piri so that leaves no room for TKB… cruden is the de facto back up to carter so he’ll get a shot…the all blacks will name a 28-man squad for the RC so let’s wait and see.

• 30.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-29: Yeah it’s because he didn’t make the squad for the Irish tests that I thought he might certainly be with a look in now, his form honestly warrants a selection (maybe that’s just me).
    Sticking with Piri makes no sense to me (with all due respect to Piri).
    Keen to see what they do. Their squad announcement will be way cooler than ours (because if anyone is going to stick to tested/found wanting/kak, it is our coach.

• 31.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-24:
    I think Smith will be our starting halfback, with Weepu (dont think he should be selected, but Shag will want the security of experience there), TKB will imo make the EOYT squad.. we have been poor at 9 since Marshall finished, so it is nice to have some good talent coming through.. there is also Perenara to consider as well.. good for us that we suddenly have so many options, similar to lock which did seem a problem when Thorn was leaving..

Carter will be 1st 5/8 in games against SA and Aussie, Cruden may start against Argentina imo..

SBW may play 13 against Aussie in the two games, with Nonu inside him until Conrad comes back, then probably Nonu/Smith… I would be happy to see Ellison get a start, but think he will warm the wood..

• 32.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-25:
    tell me, what is the procedure and timeframe once a white card has been issued? and was a white card issued against SBW? when? in the semi final? I dont recall it is all, so just want some clarification..

• 33.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-21: What’s with the NZ hate? We’d hardly come back from the Olympics depressed because we won less golds than US and China. As long as we hold our own for a country of our size, we’ll be happy.

Mind you, we did place in the top ten countries in 1984. But RSA wasn’t there back then so it doesn’t really count as a real Olympics i guess

• 34.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-33: he is not going to watch super rugby anymore after this season, the conspiracy has sunk that far into his brain he cant bring himself to watch the game anymore..

sounds like someone who was never a fan if you ask me..

• 35.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-25: The outcome was that no sanction was necessary it seems. Do you have a link to footage of punch up and who was involved? Looked like handbags to me

• 36.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@SA rugby is k@k-31: i read somewher Fossy talking about nonu& sbw as 2nd 5/8s and ellison & ben smith as 13s…so we’ll see how select…perenara is out until next year i think…

sam whitelock is a definite with romano putting his hand up & retallick not far behind…i’m not convinced ali williams still has it which means tom donnelly would have to join the training group imo.

• 37.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-33:

’84 doesn’t count as much when compared with other olympics….and it’s not because SA wasn’t there but because the Soviet Union wasn’t.

• 38.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@SA rugby is k@k-31: So both you and Transformation think Piri will be there. Would be a pity that as he honestly p#ssed me off no end this season for the Blues. So SBW is definitely available for you guys, but will miss playing against SA then.I like Ellison, and I don’t think he would let you folk down at test level.
    Kerr Barlow and Cruden to me have been pretty special this season, and I would enjoy seeing them as a starting combo for the AB’s at some stage, maybe as you say somewhere on the EOYT. I hope so.
    At the very least you folk are rid of Ellis. (Not one of my fave AB’s of all time that’s for sure)

• 39.Puma: Reply to this comment

Chiefs played their game last Friday giving them a extra day rest. They don’t travel and play on their home ground. They the favourites for sure. We played our semi on Saturday and only travelled out on Sunday. Bodies will be seriously tired after the horendous travel. Such a short space of time between games and travelling again. We the underdogs for sure, but only one more game, just 80min left, they can and will get up for this one.

Come on my Sharks just do it.

Go Sharks … Make history boys. Bring it home!

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-38: not because he “should” be there but because boofhead hansen, like pdv, is convinced that he needs piri and nobody is going to sway…

you have to admit though, fat piri calls a lekker haka :D

• 41.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-36: Donnelly has been very poor this season, and for the life of me I cant understand why Williams is in the training squad? must have shag photos :D

Retallick AND Clarke will be added to the training squad imo, as I thought Ali was out for the Aussie games?… hopefully Shag and Fossie will realise he is not the player he was before the repeat injuries and put him out to pasture (wish my Blues had culled him a while ago)..

• 42.SA rugby is k@k: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-38: have to go at the moment, will catch up to your comment in about an hours time..

• 43.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-36: Ali is in Mornesteyn form. Another one who fecked with my mind throughout the S15, on a Piri scale. One of the great entertainers though, and a personal favourite.

• 44.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-40: :) Oh yes, as Haka leader, Piri becomes a thing of beauty….

• 45.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@SA rugby is k@k-41: I KNEW you had to be a half decent fellow, underneath the other stuff. A Blues man, and an Aucklander.

• 46.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-27:
    my feelings too.
    i can only imagine the shock and horror which have followed if bakkies was involved in anything of the sort.

@SA rugby is k@k-32:
    well, we do know the game in question took place on the 27 July and its now the 2 august so six days is clearly not required timframe in which white cards are resolved.. or it would have been by now..?..

it was not against sbw, it was a white card to review the entire incident involving punching between a number of chiefs and crusaders forwards and hapened during an attempted driving maul by the crusaders.

the ref and assistant ref were not sure who exactly had started it and how many players were involved but what was undoubtedly certain was that players were punching and a chiefs player had puched first.

is it far out to ask what the outcome of the ostensibly normal judicial proccesses involved has been?

• 47.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-46:

the citing commissioner looked at the incident and there was nothing to answer, move on mate or you’ll blow a gasket, get behind the Sharks and enjoy the game

• 48.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

when you look at the players SA has at it’s disposal this season I definately think we have a match against nz in every position and better in some.

only real concerns are 10 and 12. I believe Frans is as influential to us as Sonny bill is to nz only real concern is Dan Carter and even Cruden.

Morne has been the match of Dan on past occassions but is currently pants. That’s a real concern. For me, if fit, it’s Elton.

but then, so much of how our 10′s perform is determined by our 8 and 9.

• 49.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-47:

look, i could careless if anyone gets cited or not for the final but there definately is something to answer for and explain after that scrapup. Especially when you consider that Cooper got suspended for nothing tackle in my opinion.

• 50.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-48:

you are no match for the Ab backs, weak at 9 10 15 , JDV at 13 is ok but no more, you aren’t concerned with your 8?

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.